Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 7, 8, 15, 16, 20, & 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binkley (USPGPN 2025/0222775 – effectively filed 2021), in view of Sampson et al. (WIPO Publication WO 2017/004078 A1 – published 2017).
Regarding Claims 1 & 17, Binkley (Figs. 3A-4D) teaches a battery system configured for an electric vehicle (¶0002: vehicles with electric motors), comprising:
a first battery module (CM1-CM4);
a second battery module (CM5-CM8) configured to accommodate a plurality of batteries (CM5/CM6/CM7/CM8); and
a switch device (S3A, S4A, S2B, & S1C) coupled to the first battery module and the second battery module, the switch device is configured to switch a first connection configuration between the first battery module and the second battery module (S1C switches the connection between CM1-CM4 and CM5-CM8), and to switch a second connection configuration between the plurality of batteries when switching the first connection configuration (S3A, S4A, & S2B switch the connections between CM5/CM6/CM7/CM8),
wherein each of the first connection configuration and the second connection configuration comprises a series connection and a parallel connection (Fig.3A shows all batteries parallelly connected and Fig.3D shows all batteries serially connected).
Binkley teaches the claimed invention except it does not explicitly teach the batteries as swappable.
However, Sampson teaches an electric vehicle with swappable batteries (¶0163: modular battery strings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Binkley with Sampson to use a second battery module with swappable batteries. Doing so allows for convenient battery swapping as evidenced by Sampson (¶0163).
Regarding Claims 2 & 18, Binkley, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device is configured to switch the second connection configuration to the series connection when switching the first connection configuration to the parallel connection (Fig.3C shows CM5-CM8 as serially connected while parallelly connected to CM1-CM4).
Regarding Claims 3 & 19, Binkley, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device is configured to switch the second connection configuration to the parallel connection when switching the first connection configuration to the serial connection (Fig.4B shows CM5-CM8 as parallelly connected while serially connected to CM1-CM4).
Regarding Claim 4, Binkley (Figs.1 & 2A), as modified, further teaches wherein the electric vehicle comprises a power conversion device (30) for providing energy to a motor (40) of the electric vehicle, the switch device is further configured to be coupled between the first battery module, the second battery module, and the power conversion device (Fig.1 shows the battery 10 feeds the power conversion device and Fig.2 shows the switch device is between the output of the battery 10, TO1 & TO2, and batteries CM1-CM8), and the switch device comprises:
a first switch circuit (S3A, S4A, & S2B) coupled to the second battery module (CM5-CM8) and configured to switch the second connection configuration; and
a second switch circuit (S3A) coupled to the first battery module (CM1-CM4), the first switch circuit (coupled to S2B), and the power conversion device (as mentioned above, the output of the battery TO1 & TO2 feeds the power conversion device), and configured to switch the first connection configuration.
Regarding Claim 5, Binkley (Figs. 2A, 3A, & 3C), as modified, further teaches the first switch circuit comprises a plurality of switch circuit units (S3A and S4A), each of the plurality of switch circuit units comprises a first input point and a second input point and is configured to connect two swappable batteries of the plurality of swappable batteries (S3A connects CM5 and CM6),
the first input point is configured to connect a first electrode of a first one of the two swappable batteries (positive terminal of CM6), and the second input point is configured to connect a second electrode of a second one of the two swappable batteries (negative terminal of CM5),
the first switch circuit further comprises a first output terminal and a second output terminal (S2B outputs to S1C),
when the second connection configuration is in the series connection, each of the plurality of switch circuit units is configured to connect the first electrode of the first one of the two swappable batteries to the second electrode of the second one of the two swappable batteries (Fig.3C, CM5-CM8 in series), and
when the second connection configuration is in the parallel connection, each of the plurality of switch circuit units is configured to connect the first electrode of the first one of the two swappable batteries to the first output terminal (Fig.3A, CM5-CM8 in parallel, positive terminal of CM6 is connected to the positive output of S2B), and to connect the second electrode of the second one of the two swappable batteries to the second output terminal (Fig.3A, negative terminal of CM5 is connected to the negative output of S2B).
Regarding Claim 6, Binkley (Figs.4A & 4B), as modified, further teaches the second switch circuit comprises a second switch circuit unit (S1C), the second switch circuit unit comprises a first input point and a second input point,
the first input point of the second switch circuit is configured to connect to a first electrode of the first battery module (S1C is connected to the negative terminal of CM1 through S1A and S1B), and the second input point of the second switch circuit is configured to connect to an output of the first switch circuit unit corresponding to a second electrode (S1C is connected to the positive output of S2B),
the second switch circuit further comprises a first output terminal and a second output terminal which are configured to connect to the power conversion device (connections to TO2 and TO1),
when the first connection configuration is in the series connection, the switch circuit unit is configured to connect the first electrode of the first battery module to the output of the first switch circuit unit corresponding to the second electrode (Fig.4B, S1C connects the positive output of S2B to the negative terminal of CM1), and
when the first connection configuration is in the parallel connection, the switch circuit unit is configured to connect the first electrode of the first battery module to the first output terminal (Fig.4A, negative terminal of CM1 is connected to TO2), and to connect the output of the first switch circuit unit corresponding to the second electrode to the second output terminal (Fig.4A, positive output of S2B is connected to TO1).
Regarding Claim 9, Binkley (Figs. 1 & 3A-4D) teaches a power control system configured for an electric vehicle (¶0002: vehicles with electric motors), comprising:
a switch device (S3A, S4A, S2B, & S1C) configured to couple a first battery module (CM1-CM4) and a second battery module (CM5-CM8), the second battery module configured to accommodate a plurality of batteries (CM5/CM6/CM7/CM8); and
a power control unit (20) coupled to the switch device and configured to determine a connection configuration between the first battery module and the second battery module (¶0050: power controller 20 provides control to drive the switch modules 120: S3A, S4A, S2B, & S1C),
wherein the switch device is configured to switch a first connection configuration between the first battery module and the second battery module based on the connection configuration determined by the power control unit (S1C switches the connection between CM1-CM4 and CM5-CM8), and to switch a second connection configuration between the plurality of batteries when switching the first connection configuration (S3A, S4A, & S2B switch the connections between CM5/CM6/CM7/CM8),
wherein each of the first connection configuration and the second connection configuration comprises a series connection and a parallel connection (Fig.3A shows all batteries parallelly connected and Fig.3D shows all batteries serially connected).
Binkley teaches the claimed invention except it does not explicitly teach the batteries as swappable.
However, Sampson teaches an electric vehicle with swappable batteries (¶0163: modular battery strings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Binkley with Sampson to use a second battery module with swappable batteries. Doing so allows for convenient battery swapping as evidenced by Sampson (¶0163).
Regarding Claim 10, Binkley, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device is configured to switch the second connection configuration to the series connection when switching the first connection configuration to the parallel connection (Fig.3C shows CM5-CM8 as serially connected while parallelly connected to CM1-CM4).
Regarding Claim 11, Binkley, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device is configured to switch the second connection configuration to the parallel connection when switching the first connection configuration to the serial connection (Fig.4B shows CM5-CM8 as parallelly connected while serially connected to CM1-CM4).
Regarding Claim 12, Binkley (Figs.1 & 2A), as modified, further teaches wherein the electric vehicle comprises a power conversion device (30) for providing energy to a motor (40) of the electric vehicle, the switch device is further configured to be coupled between the first battery module, the second battery module, and the power conversion device (Fig.1 shows the battery 10 feeds the power conversion device and Fig.2 shows the switch device is between the output of the battery 10, TO1 & TO2, and batteries CM1-CM8), and the switch device comprises:
a first switch circuit (S3A, S4A, & S2B) coupled to the second battery module (CM5-CM8) and configured to switch the second connection configuration; and
a second switch circuit (S3A) coupled to the first battery module (CM1-CM4), the first switch circuit (coupled to S2B), and the power conversion device (as mentioned above, the output of the battery TO1 & TO2 feeds the power conversion device), and configured to switch the first connection configuration.
Regarding Claim 13, Binkley (Figs. 2A, 3A, & 3C), as modified, further teaches the first switch circuit comprises a plurality of switch circuit units (S3A and S4A), each of the plurality of switch circuit units comprises a first input point and a second input point and is configured to connect two swappable batteries of the plurality of swappable batteries (S3A connects CM5 and CM6),
the first input point is configured to connect a first electrode of a first one of the two swappable batteries (positive terminal of CM6), and the second input point is configured to connect a second electrode of a second one of the two swappable batteries (negative terminal of CM5),
the first switch circuit further comprises a first output terminal and a second output terminal (S2B outputs to S1C),
when the second connection configuration is in the series connection, each of the plurality of switch circuit units is configured to connect the first electrode of the first one of the two swappable batteries to the second electrode of the second one of the two swappable batteries (Fig.3C, CM5-CM8 in series), and
when the second connection configuration is in the parallel connection, each of the plurality of switch circuit units is configured to connect the first electrode of the first one of the two swappable batteries to the first output terminal (Fig.3A, CM5-CM8 in parallel, positive terminal of CM6 is connected to the positive output of S2B), and to connect the second electrode of the second one of the two swappable batteries to the second output terminal (Fig.3A, negative terminal of CM5 is connected to the negative output of S2B).
Regarding Claim 14, Binkley (Figs.4A & 4B), as modified, further teaches the second switch circuit comprises a second switch circuit unit (S1C), the second switch circuit unit comprises a first input point and a second input point,
the first input point of the second switch circuit is configured to connect to a first electrode of the first battery module (S1C is connected to the negative terminal of CM1 through S1A and S1B), and the second input point of the second switch circuit is configured to connect to an output of the first switch circuit unit corresponding to a second electrode (S1C is connected to the positive output of S2B),
the second switch circuit further comprises a first output terminal and a second output terminal which are configured to connect to the power conversion device (connections to TO2 and TO1),
when the first connection configuration is in the series connection, the switch circuit unit is configured to connect the first electrode of the first battery module to the output of the first switch circuit unit corresponding to the second electrode (Fig.4B, S1C connects the positive output of S2B to the negative terminal of CM1), and
when the first connection configuration is in the parallel connection, the switch circuit unit is configured to connect the first electrode of the first battery module to the first output terminal (Fig.4A, negative terminal of CM1 is connected to TO2), and to connect the output of the first switch circuit unit corresponding to the second electrode to the second output terminal (Fig.4A, positive output of S2B is connected to TO1).
Claim(s) 1, 7 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al. (USPGPN 2022/0402395 – filed 2021), in view of Sampson.
Regarding Claims 1 & 17, Prasad (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a battery system configured for an electric vehicle (108), comprising:
a first battery module (308);
a second battery module (310, 312, & 314) configured to accommodate a plurality of batteries; and
a switch device (320-327 & 330-332) coupled to the first battery module and the second battery module, the switch device is configured to switch a first connection configuration between the first battery module and the second battery module (switches 330 & 322 switch the connection between the modules), and to switch a second connection configuration between the plurality of batteries when switching the first connection configuration (331 & 332 switch the connections between 310, 312, & 314),
wherein each of the first connection configuration and the second connection configuration comprises a series connection and a parallel connection (330 switches between 308 and 310, 312 & 314 as serially connected, 330 closed, and parallelly connected, 330 open; 331 & 332 switch between 310, 312, & 314 as serially connected when closed and parallelly connected when open).
Prasad teaches the claimed invention except it does not explicitly teach the batteries as swappable.
However, Sampson teaches an electric vehicle with swappable batteries (¶0163: modular battery strings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Prasad with Sampson to use a second battery module with swappable batteries. Doing so allows for convenient battery swapping as evidenced by Sampson (¶0163).
Regarding Claims 7 & 20, Prasad, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device switches the first connection configuration to the parallel connection in a case that a required torque of the electric vehicle is greater than a torque threshold (614 occurs when required/target torque exceeds a predetermined torque level; ¶0104: all battery packs in parallel at step 614).
Regarding Claims 8 & 21, Prasad, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device further switches the first connection configuration to the series connection in a case that the required torque of the electric vehicle is not greater than the torque threshold and a required rotational speed of the electric vehicle is greater than a speed threshold (620 occurs when required/target speed exceeds the first predetermined speed; ¶0105: battery packs are connected in series at step 620).
Examiner’s note: Prasad’s Fig.6 does not explicitly show a 620 occurring when a required torque is not greater than the torque threshold. However, ¶0107 states the operations may be performed in a different order. Therefore, step 610 could be performed prior to step 608 leading to step 620 being executed when a required torque is lower than the torque threshold and the required speed is greater than the speed threshold.
Regarding Claim 9, Prasad (Figs.1-3) teaches a power control system configured for an electric vehicle (108), comprising:
a switch device (320-327 & 330-332) configured to couple a first battery module (308) and a second battery module (310, 312, & 314), the second battery module configured to accommodate a plurality of batteries (310/312/314); and
a power control unit (240) coupled to the switch device and configured to determine a connection configuration between the first battery module and the second battery module (battery management module configures power source 204/302),
wherein the switch device is configured to switch a first connection configuration between the first battery module and the second battery module based on the connection configuration determined by the power control unit (switches 330 & 322 switch the connection between the modules), and to switch a second connection configuration between the plurality of batteries when switching the first connection configuration (331 & 332 switch the connections between 310, 312, & 314),
wherein each of the first connection configuration and the second connection configuration comprises a series connection and a parallel connection (330 switches between 308 and 310, 312 & 314 as serially connected, 330 closed, and parallelly connected, 330 open; 331 & 332 switch between 310, 312, & 314 as serially connected when closed and parallelly connected when open).
Prasad teaches the claimed invention except it does not explicitly teach the batteries as swappable.
However, Sampson teaches an electric vehicle with swappable batteries (¶0163: modular battery strings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Prasad with Sampson to use a second battery module with swappable batteries. Doing so allows for convenient battery swapping as evidenced by Sampson (¶0163).
Regarding Claim 15, Prasad, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device switches the first connection configuration to the parallel connection in a case that a required torque of the electric vehicle is greater than a torque threshold (614 occurs when required/target torque exceeds a predetermined torque level; ¶0104: all battery packs in parallel at step 614).
Regarding Claim 16, Prasad, as modified, further teaches wherein the switch device further switches the first connection configuration to the series connection in a case that the required torque of the electric vehicle is not greater than the torque threshold and a required rotational speed of the electric vehicle is greater than a speed threshold (620 occurs when required/target speed exceeds the first predetermined speed; ¶0105: battery packs are connected in series at step 620).
Examiner’s note: Prasad’s Fig.6 does not explicitly show a 620 occurring when a required torque is not greater than the torque threshold. However, ¶0107 states the operations may be performed in a different order. Therefore, step 610 could be performed prior to step 608 leading to step 620 being executed when a required torque is lower than the torque threshold and the required speed is greater than the speed threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hashimoto (USPGPN 2016/0006377) teaches a system for determining a serial or parallel configuration of batteries based on the required power needed.
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859