Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the interest of compact prosecution, examiner wishes to respond to specific arguments presented by applicant.
With respect to the rejections under 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b), in light of the amendments made, the rejections are withdrawn.
With respect to the rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(2), the rejections presented in the previous action are moot in light of the amendments made.
With respect to the rejections of claims 4, 10, and 18, with the limitations of now cancelled claims 4 and 18 being incorporated into independent claims 1 and 14, applicant argues that Yamaoka (US 20210040701 A1) in view of Yasuda (US 20190074788 A1) fails to teach or suggest, responsive to the data provided by the current sensor, automatically adjusting the auger speed, impeller speed, or both the auger speed and the impeller speed, further stating that it would not have been obvious to substitute a voltage sensor for a current sensor to arrive at the claimed invention. Applicant further argues that there is no suggestion that Yasuda does not describe using the current detector 20 to control the vehicle speed, only that it outputs, records, and accumulates current data, but does not control the motor based on said current value. Instead, applicant argues that the motor is controlled based on information of the motor angle, not the current value.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. According to Yasuda, the information sent to the learning circuit 70 is directly used in the control of the electric motor; in the specific case of Yasuda, it is utilized in the process of determining the torque of the motor as part of the motor angle calculation, and is therefore directly utilized in the control of the electric motor (Yasuda: Paragraph 34, the current derived from the current sensor 20 is utilized in calculating torque, which is used to control the motor). As such, there is direct teaching in Yasuda of utilizing a current sensor, and a measured current value thereof, to control an electric motor.
Applicant further argues that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to substitute the voltage sensor of Yamaoka with the current sensor of Yasuda, and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed. Applicant cites MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B, specifically the rational “a finding that the substituted components and their functions were known in the art”, alleging that Yasuda’s current sensor does not control the speed of a motor. As detailed above, the argument is moot in that Yasuda does explicitly teach that the current value of the current sensor is utilized to control the electric motor. Further, Yamaoka does teach of an electronic sensor that controls the output of the electric motors of the device, and the modification is regarding utilizing a current sensor as taught by Yasuda in place of the voltage sensor taught by Yamaoka. The application of the current sensor of Yasuda is not the modification being implemented in the modification to Yamaoka; only the type of sensor that is performing the action of controlling an electric motor as described in Yamaoka (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, unnumbered second detection unit is a voltage sensor that receives a voltage input; circuit board assembly 181 is connected to the second detection unit; circuit board assembly 181 receives a signal from the second detection unit, which then controls the rotational speed of auger 151).
Applicant further states that amended dependent claim 10 “includes recitations that further support patentability”, with no explanation or description of how the amended limitations distinguish claim 10 from the presented art.
With respect to the arguments that further supporting art rejections of record do not cure the perceived deficiencies of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda, these arguments are moot in light of the rationale above.
With respect to claims 12 and 13, applicant argues that Yamaoka in view of Schmalz (US 20170015342 A1) does not teach or suggest all elements of the claims; stating that “A plurality of discrete speeds, comprising a neutral speed, a first forward speed, and a second forward speed that is faster than the first forward speed” is not taught by Yamaoka in view of Schmalz’s stepless speed regulation, as the stepless speed regulation is antithetical to the discrete speeds described in the claimed invention.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. There is no requirement by the claimed language distinguishing that these discrete speeds exclude a stepless, adjustable speed control. For example, Yamaoka teaches that the speed regulation may be set between 0 and 1.2 meters per second. As such, setting the speed regulation to be 0.6 meters per second and 1.2 meters per second does constitute two discrete speeds, regardless of if there are more “discrete” speeds being available on a stepless scale between those two speeds, and more discrete speeds being available between 0 and 0.6 meters per second.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of Yasuda.
Regarding Claim 1: Yamaoka teaches of a snowthrower (Fig. 1, snowthrower 100) comprising:
an auger housing containing an auger therein (Yamaoka: Fig. 6, auger 151 is contained within auger housing 112a);
an impeller housing in fluid communication with the auger housing, wherein the impeller housing contains an impeller therein (Yamaoka: Fig. 7, impeller 152 is contained within impeller housing 112e, in fluid connection with auger housing 112a);
an electric motor operatively coupled: to the auger and configured to rotate the auger at an auger speed about an auger axis (Yamaoka: Paragraph 44, second motor 132 drives auger 151 about a first axis 101, which is supplied power by battery packs 121, implying the motors are electric; Paragraph 66, the auger is set to rotate at one of five speeds);
and to the impeller and configured to rotate the impeller at an impeller speed about an impeller axis (Yamaoka: Paragraph 44, second motor 132 drives impeller 152 about a second axis 102; drive shaft 142a, which controls the auger, and drive shaft 142b, which controls the impeller, are connected via gears, directly relating the auger speed and the impeller speed);
at least one sensor (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, unnumbered second detection unit is a voltage sensor that receives a voltage input);
and an electronic controller operatively coupled to each of the electric motor and the sensor (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 is connected to the second detection unit), the electronic controller configured to:
monitor data provided by the sensor;
and responsive to the data provided by the sensor, automatically adjust the auger speed, the impeller speed, or both the auger speed and the impeller speed (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 receives a signal from the second detection unit, which then controls the rotational speed of auger 151).
Yamaoka does not teach wherein the sensor comprises a current sensor configured to detect current to the electric motor.
Yasuda teaches of a motor drive system for an electric motor of a vehicle for the purposes of driving a motor via output control signals, wherein the system includes a sensor, a motor, and an electronic controller connected to the motor and the sensor to monitor data provided by the sensor (Yasuda: the current detector 20, electric motor 3, and control circuit 10 are connected, wherein control circuit 10 monitors data from current detector 20), and automatically adjust the speed of an electric motor, wherein the sensor comprises a current sensor configured to detect current to the electric motor. (Yasuda: Paragraph 29-34, current detector 20 detects the current of the electric motor 3, which is passed to motor control circuit 10 to control the vehicle speed via manipulation of the output torque of motor 3, which is utilized by the learning circuit 70 to control the electric motor 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the voltage measurement sensors taught by Yamaoka with the current detecting sensors taught by Yasuda to control the rotational speed of the auger motor of Yamaoka (Yasuda: Paragraph 29-30, current detector 20 detects the current of the electric motor 3, which is passed to motor control circuit 10 to control the output torque of motor 3). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of adjusting the rotational speed of a motor, in this case the motor that controls the auger and impeller rotational speed, through the detection of electrical current (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 7: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Yamaoka further teaches of the apparatus further comprising:
first and second traction wheels associated with the auger housing (Yamaoka: Fig. 12, wheel assembly 16 includes walking wheels 162; Fig. 2, walking wheels 162 are associated with auger housing 112a);
and an electric traction motor operatively configured to rotate one or both of the first and second traction wheels to propel the snowthrower relative to a ground surface (Yamaoka: Paragraph 44, first motor 131 is configured to drive the wheel assembly 16 and be supplied power by battery packs 121, implying the motors are electric; Paragraph 35, wheel assembly 16 enables the snow thrower 100 to move on the ground),
wherein the traction motor is operatively coupled to the electronic controller (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 operatively controls first motor 131).
Regarding Claim 8: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 7.
In light of the modifications described above in claim, Yamaoka further teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured to, responsive to the data provided by the current sensor, adjust a parameter of the traction motor (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 controls the first motor to move forward or backward, thus driving the walking wheels 162 forward or backward in response to a signal sent by a first detection unit).
Regarding Claim 9: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 8.
Yamaoka further teaches wherein the parameter of the traction motor comprises a speed of the traction motor (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, based on the signal received from the first detection unit, the circuit board assembly 181 controls the first motor 131; paragraph 61, the first speed control switch 261 allows for stepless speed regulation by circuit board assembly 181 altering the voltage signal sent to the first motor 131, and thus the RPM of the first motor 131).
Regarding Claim 14: Yamaoka teaches of a snowthrower comprising:
an auger housing containing an auger therein (Yamaoka: Fig. 6, auger 151 is contained within auger housing 112a);
an impeller housing in fluid communication with the auger housing, wherein the impeller housing contains an impeller therein (Yamaoka: Fig. 7, impeller 152 is contained within impeller housing 112e, in fluid connection with auger housing 112a);
a motor assembly comprising:
an electric motor operatively coupled to the auger and configured to rotate the auger at an auger speed about an auger axis;
and operatively coupled to the impeller and configured to rotate the impeller about an impeller axis at an impeller speed (Yamaoka: Paragraph 66, second motor 132 drives the auger about first axis 101 at one of five discreet speeds, and the impeller 152 about a second axis 102; drive shaft 142a, which controls the auger, and drive shaft 142b, which controls the impeller, are connected via gears, directly relating the auger speed and the impeller speed);
at least one sensor and an electronic controller operatively coupled to each of the motor assembly and the sensor (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, unnumbered second detection unit is a voltage sensor that receives a voltage input; Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 is connected to the second detection unit and both first motor 131 and second motor 132), the electronic controller configured to:
monitor data provided by the current sensor;
and responsive to the data provided by the current sensor, automatically adjust the auger speed, the impeller speed, or both the auger and impeller speed (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 receives a signal from the second detection unit, which then controls the rotational speed of auger 151).
Yamaoka does not teach of a separate electric motor to drive the auger and an electric impeller motor to drive the motor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to incorporate separate motors to drive the auger and impeller, as it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. There is no clear distinction of innovation or inventive step described that the inclusion of a separate motor to drive the impeller and auger would yield an unexpected result to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed.
Yamaoka does not teach wherein the sensor comprises a current sensor configured to detect current to the electric motor.
Yasuda teaches of a motor drive system for an electric motor of a vehicle for the purposes of driving a motor via output control signals, wherein the system includes a sensor, a motor, and an electronic controller connected to the motor and the sensor to monitor data provided by the sensor (Yasuda: the current detector 20, electric motor 3, and control circuit 10 are connected, wherein control circuit 10 monitors data from current detector 20), and automatically adjust the speed of an electric motor, wherein the sensor comprises a current sensor configured to detect current to the electric motor. (Yasuda: Paragraph 29-34, current detector 20 detects the current of the electric motor 3, which is passed to motor control circuit 10 to control the vehicle speed via manipulation of the output torque of motor 3, which is utilized by the learning circuit 70 to control the electric motor 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the voltage measurement sensors taught by Yamaoka with the current detecting sensors taught by Yasuda to control the rotational speed of the auger motor of Yamaoka (Yasuda: Paragraph 29-30, current detector 20 detects the current of the electric motor 3, which is passed to motor control circuit 10 to control the output torque of motor 3). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of adjusting the rotational speed of a motor, in this case the motor that controls the auger and impeller rotational speed, through the detection of electrical current (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 15: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 14.
Yamaoka further teaches wherein the motor assembly further comprises a gearbox operatively coupled to each of the auger and the electric motor, and wherein the electric motor is configured to rotate the auger about the auger axis via the gearbox (Paragraph 59: the second speed control switch 262 adjusts the speed of second motor 132; Paragraph 66: second motor 132 drives the auger about first axis 101 at one of five discreet speeds, and the control switch 262 exerts speed control over the auger 151 with five speed gears).
Claims 2, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of Yasuda, further in view of Tseng et al as part of US 20210399665 A1, hereinafter referred to as Tseng.
Regarding Claim 2: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Yamaoka further teaches wherein automatically adjusting the auger speed, the impeller speed, or both the auger speed and the impeller speed comprises, responsive to data from the current sensor (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 is connected to the second detection unit; circuit board assembly 181 receives a signal from the second detection unit, which then controls the rotational speed of auger 151).
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda make no mention of the sensor detecting an overload condition.
Tseng teaches of a method for estimating and measuring the rotor frequency of an electric motor, teaching that motors are known to be accelerated or decelerated according to load conditions (Tseng: Paragraph 3, it is common to monitor load and adjust the speed of a motor to avoid overvoltage or overcurrent, which may result in failure or damage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the electronic control system taught by Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to automatically adjust the motor speed in response to the motor being overloaded, as is taught by Tseng, to prevent failure or motor damage (Tseng: Paragraph 3, it is common to monitor load and adjust the speed of a motor to avoid overvoltage or overcurrent, which may result in failure or damage). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of adjusting the motor speed in response to heightened load conditions on the motor to prevent damage.
Regarding Claim 10: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
While In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Yamaoka in view of Yasuda do teach of current sensors of electric motors, no specific mention is made of the electric traction motors being monitored by a motor current sensor.
Tseng teaches of a method for estimating and measuring the rotor frequency of an electric motor, teaching that motors are known to be accelerated or decelerated according to load conditions (Tseng: Paragraph 3, it is common to monitor load and adjust the speed of a motor to avoid overvoltage or overcurrent, which may result in failure or damage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the assembly of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to include a current measurement sensor on the traction motor to avoid potential damage to the motor by monitoring the load experienced by the motor, as is taught by Tseng (Tseng: Paragraph 3, it is common to monitor load and adjust the speed of a motor to avoid overvoltage or overcurrent, which may result in failure or damage). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of monitoring the current on an electric motor to prevent damage to the motor.
Regarding Claim 16: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 14.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 14, Yamaoka further teaches wherein automatically adjusting the auger speed, the impeller speed, or both the auger speed and the impeller speed comprises, responsive to data from the current sensor (Yamaoka: Paragraph 67, circuit board assembly 181 is connected to the second detection unit; circuit board assembly 181 receives a signal from the second detection unit, which then controls the rotational speed of auger 151).
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda make no mention of the sensor detecting an overload condition.
Tseng teaches of a method for estimating and measuring the rotor frequency of an electric motor, teaching that motors are known to be accelerated or decelerated according to load conditions (Tseng: Paragraph 3, it is common to monitor load and adjust the speed of a motor to avoid overvoltage or overcurrent, which may result in failure or damage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the electronic control system taught by Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to automatically adjust the motor speed in response to the motor being overloaded, as is taught by Tseng, to prevent failure or motor damage (Tseng: Paragraph 3, it is common to monitor load and adjust the speed of a motor to avoid overvoltage or overcurrent, which may result in failure or damage). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of adjusting the motor speed in response to heightened load conditions on the motor to prevent damage.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of Yasuda in view of Fukano et al as part of US 20200291590 A1, hereinafter referred to as Fukano.
Regarding Claim 3: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 1.
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda does not teach of an angle sensor configured to detect an inclination of the auger housing.
Fukano teaches of a snow thrower apparatus (Fukano: Fig. 1, snow removal machine 10) that comprises at least one sensor and an electronic controller coupled to a motor and the sensor, the electronic controller configured to monitor data provided by the sensor,
wherein the sensor comprises an angle sensor configured to detect an inclination of the auger housing (Fukano: Paragraph 45-49, angle detecting sensor 76 determines the angle relative to a horizontal plane and inputs said data to control section 18, which may adjust the vehicle speed by altering the vehicle speed coefficient based on the detected angle, in this case by controlling the electric motors 54L and 54R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to provide additional sensors to the at least one sensor described, such as the specific angle detection sensor as a method of controlling the motor of the ground engaging members taught by Fukano to create a device that detects the angle of the auger housing and communicates that angle to the electronic controller (Fukano: Paragraph 45-49, angle detecting sensor 76 determines the angle relative to a horizontal plane and inputs said data to control section 18, which may adjust the vehicle speed by altering the vehicle speed coefficient based on the detected angle, in this case by controlling the electric motors 54L and 54R). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of allowing the snowthrower to more efficiently operate on an inclined surface (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, A).
Regarding Claim 17: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 14.
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda does not teach of an angle sensor configured to detect an inclination of the auger housing.
Fukano teaches of a snow thrower apparatus (Fukano: Fig. 1, snow removal machine 10) that comprises at least one sensor and an electronic controller coupled to a motor and the sensor, the electronic controller configured to monitor data provided by the sensor,
wherein the sensor comprises an angle sensor configured to detect an inclination of the auger housing (Fukano: Paragraph 45-49, angle detecting sensor 76 determines the angle relative to a horizontal plane and inputs said data to control section 18, which may adjust the vehicle speed by altering the vehicle speed coefficient based on the detected angle, in this case by controlling the electric motors 54L and 54R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to provide additional sensors to the at least one sensor described, such as the specific angle detection sensor as a method of controlling the motor of the ground engaging members taught by Fukano to create a device that detects the angle of the auger housing and communicates that angle to the electronic controller (Fukano: Paragraph 45-49, angle detecting sensor 76 determines the angle relative to a horizontal plane and inputs said data to control section 18, which may adjust the vehicle speed by altering the vehicle speed coefficient based on the detected angle, in this case by controlling the electric motors 54L and 54R). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of allowing the snowthrower to more efficiently operate on an inclined surface (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, A).
Claims 5-6 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of Yasuda in view of Reddy et al as part of US 20220052633 A1, hereinafter referred to as Reddy.
Regarding Claim 5: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 1.
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda does not teach wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the electric motor.
Reddy teaches of an electric motor torque control system including a plurality of sensors, an electric motor, and an electrical controller coupled to the motor and the sensor which monitors the data provided by sensor (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include operational sensors of the motor 100, which pass data to control component 212), and responsive to the data provided by the sensor, automatically adjust the speed the electric motor (Reddy: Paragraph 36, control component 36 determines the output torque of the motor 100 based on input of sensors 206), wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the electric motor (Reddy: Paragraph 36, the operational sensors of the motor 100 may include stator temperature sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to provide additional sensors to the at least one sensor described, such as the specific temperature sensors for the electric motor as described by Reddy to create an apparatus capable of controlling the output torque of the electric motor based on the input of the sensors (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include operational sensors of the motor 100, including a stator temperature sensor, which pass data to control component 212 to determine torque output of the motor 100). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of utilizing temperature sensor data adjust a parameter of the motor based on sensor (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, A).
Regarding Claim 6: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 1.
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda does not teach wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect an ambient air temperature.
Reddy teaches of an electric motor torque control system including a plurality of sensors, an electric motor, and an electrical controller coupled to the motor and the sensor which monitors the data provided by sensor (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors relating to the motor 100, which pass data to control component 212), and responsive to the data provided by the sensor, automatically adjust the speed of the electric motor (Reddy: Paragraph 36, control component 36 determines the output torque of the motor 100 based on input of sensors 206), wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect an ambient air temperature. (Reddy: Paragraph 36, the sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors, such as temperature sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to provide additional sensors to the at least one sensor described, such as the specific ambient temperature sensors as described by Reddy to create an apparatus capable of controlling the output torque of the electric motor based on the input of the sensors (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors, such as temperature sensors, which pass data to control component 212 to determine torque output of the motor 100). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of utilizing temperature sensor data adjust a parameter of the motor based on sensor (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, A).
Regarding Claim 19: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 14.
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda does not teach wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the electric motor.
Reddy teaches of an electric motor torque control system including a plurality of sensors, an electric motor, and an electrical controller coupled to the motor and the sensor which monitors the data provided by sensor (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include operational sensors of the motor 100, which pass data to control component 212), and responsive to the data provided by the sensor, automatically adjust the speed the electric motor (Reddy: Paragraph 36, control component 36 determines the output torque of the motor 100 based on input of sensors 206), wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the electric motor (Reddy: Paragraph 36, the operational sensors of the motor 100 may include stator temperature sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to provide additional sensors to the at least one sensor described, such as the specific temperature sensors for the electric motor as described by Reddy to create an apparatus capable of controlling the output torque of the electric motor based on the input of the sensors (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include operational sensors of the motor 100, including a stator temperature sensor, which pass data to control component 212 to determine torque output of the motor 100). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of utilizing temperature sensor data adjust a parameter of the motor based on sensor (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, A).
Regarding Claim 20: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 14.
Yamaoka in view of Yasuda does not teach wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect an ambient air temperature.
Reddy teaches of an electric motor torque control system including a plurality of sensors, an electric motor, and an electrical controller coupled to the motor and the sensor which monitors the data provided by sensor (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors relating to the motor 100, which pass data to control component 212), and responsive to the data provided by the sensor, automatically adjust the speed of the electric motor (Reddy: Paragraph 36, control component 36 determines the output torque of the motor 100 based on input of sensors 206), wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect an ambient air temperature. (Reddy: Paragraph 36, the sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors, such as temperature sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Yamaoka in view of Yasuda to provide additional sensors to the at least one sensor described, such as the specific ambient temperature sensors as described by Reddy to create an apparatus capable of controlling the output torque of the electric motor based on the input of the sensors (Reddy: Paragraph 36: sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors, such as temperature sensors, which pass data to control component 212 to determine torque output of the motor 100). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of utilizing temperature sensor data adjust a parameter of the motor based on sensor (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, A).
Regarding Claim 21: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda, further in view of Reddy teaches of the apparatus described in claim 6.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 6, Reddy further teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured to, responsive to the data provided by the temperature sensor indicative that the ambient air temperature is greater than a predetermined baseline air temperature, automatically adjust the auger speed, the impeller speed, or both the auger speed and the impeller speed (Reddy: Paragraph 35-36, sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors, such as temperature sensors, which pass data to control component 212 to determine torque output of the motor 100; where the execution of the control component 212 includes data from ROM 210, which is calibrated based on factors such as operating environmental conditions of the motor 100).
Regarding Claim 22: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda, further in view of Reddy teaches of the apparatus described in claim 20.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 20, Reddy further teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured to, responsive to the data provided by the temperature sensor indicative that the ambient air temperature is greater than a predetermined baseline air temperature, automatically adjust the auger speed, the impeller speed, or both the auger speed and the impeller speed (Reddy: Paragraph 35-36, sensors 206 may include ambient environmental sensors, such as temperature sensors, which pass data to control component 212 to determine torque output of the motor 100; where the execution of the control component 212 includes data from ROM 210, which is calibrated based on factors such as operating environmental conditions of the motor 100).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of Yasuda in view of Schmalz.
Regarding Claim 11: Yamaoka in view of Yasuda teaches of the apparatus described in claim 7.
Yamaoka further teaches further comprising operator controls operatively coupled to the electric traction motor (Yamaoka: Fig. 20-21, operating assembly 20 comprises first speed control switch 261; Paragraph 59, first speed control switch 261 adjusts the speed of the first motor 131)
Yamaoka additionally teaches of a proportionally adjusting the rotational speed of the individual first and second traction wheels (Yamaoka: Fig. 13; Paragraph 46, wheel assembly 16 includes a differential between the first motor 131 and the walking wheels 162 that makes the two walking wheels 162 rotate at different speeds); however, no control methodology to achieve such control is detailed in the disclosure.
Schmalz teaches of a snowthrower, wherein the snowthrower comprises operator controls operatively coupled to an electric traction motor (Schmalz: Fig. 6, handlebar 34 comprises control handles 436 which are coupled to the motors 429 via control transmission 438), the operator controls comprising:
a first traction control configured to proportionally adjust rotational speed of the first traction wheel (Schmalz: Paragraph 71, forward and rearward movement of handle 436L results in the respective forward and rearward movement of traction member 426L);
and a second traction control configured to proportionally adjust rotational speed of the second traction wheel (Schmalz: Paragraph 71, forward and rearward movement of handle 436R results in the respective forward and rearward movement of traction member 426R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified controller of the traction wheel differential taught by Yamaoka in view of Yasuda with the specific user controls for operating two traction wheels at different rotational speeds taught by Schmalz to allow the user to turn the snowthrower during operation (Schmalz: Paragraph 78, independently adjusting one traction member in a reverse direction while the other is driven in a forward direction facilitates sharp turns). Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of providing controls for independently adjusting the rotational speeds of a first and second traction wheel (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka in view of view of Schmalz.
Regarding Claim 12: Yamaoka teaches of a snowthrower comprising:
a frame defining a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1-3, body 10 of snow thrower 100 comprises axis 102 along the longitudinal direction);
a traction assembly supporting the frame relative to a ground surface, the traction assembly comprising at least one traction wheel (Fig. 12, wheel assembly 16 includes walking wheels 162 which support the snow thrower 100 on the ground);
an electric traction motor operatively coupled to the traction wheel and configured to rotate the traction wheel about a traction axis transverse to the longitudinal axis to propel the snowthrower over the ground surface (Paragraph 44, first motor 131 is configured to drive the wheel assembly 16 and be supplied power by battery packs 121, implying the motors are electric; Fig. 12, walking wheels rotate about an axis defined by wheel shaft 161, which lies perpendicular to the axis 102; Paragraph 35, wheel assembly 16 enables the snow thrower 100 to move on the ground);
and operator controls operatively coupled to the electric traction motor (Fig. 20-21, operating assembly 20 comprises first speed control switch 261; Paragraph 59, first speed control switch 261 adjusts the speed of the first motor 131), the operator controls comprising:
a first traction control configured to command rotation of the traction wheel via the electric traction motor (Paragraph 67, based on the signal received from the first detection unit from first speed control switch 261, the circuit board);
and is configured to adjust a rotational speed of the traction wheel via the electric traction motor (Fig. 13; Paragraph 46, wheel assembly 16 includes a differential between the first motor 131 and the walking wheels 162 that makes the two walking wheels 162 rotate at different speeds);
wherein the rotational speed of the traction wheel is adjustable between a plurality of discrete speeds, the plurality of discrete speeds comprising:
a neutral speed; and a first forward speed (Fig. 20; paragraph 61, first speed control switch 261 comprises stepless speed regulation for a forward and neutral speed).
Yamaoka additionally teaches of a adjusting the rotational speed the traction wheels via the electric traction motor (Yamaoka: Fig. 13; Paragraph 46, wheel assembly 16, which is driven by first motor 131, includes a differential that makes the two walking wheels 162 rotate at different speeds); however, no control methodology to achieve such control is detailed in the disclosure.
Schmalz teaches of a snowthrower, comprising first and second shift controls configured to adjust a rotational speed of a traction wheel via an electric traction motor (Schmalz: Paragraph 94/99, control transmission 838 (analogous to control transmission 438) comprises a transmission 902 and steering control portion 908, both of which adjusts the rotational speeds of the individual traction members via electric motors 429; Fig. 10, steering control portion 908 comprising control handles 836R and 836L to control the individual right and left traction wheels respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified controller of the traction wheel differential taught by Yamaoka with the specific user controls for operating two traction wheels at different rotational speeds taught by Schmalz to allow the user to turn the snowthrower during operation (Schmalz: Paragraph 78, independently adjusting one traction member in a reverse direction while the other is driven in a forward direction facilitates sharp turns). Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of providing controls for independently adjusting the rotational speeds of a first and second traction wheel (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Further, while Yamaoka describes a first forward speed and a neutral speed, Yamaoka does not describe a second forward speed that is faster than the first forward speed. Instead, Yamaoka describes the first speed control switch comprising a sliding rheostat for adjustment between neutral and forward gear (Yamaoka: Paragraph 61, the first speed control switch 261 includes a sliding rheostat, which adopts stepless speed regulation of the movement of the snowthrower based on a voltage signal).
Yamaoka details a five-speed gearing system for the auger rotational control system, also comprising a sliding rheostat to allow user control over the auger speed (Yamaoka: Paragraph 66, second speed control switch 262 includes a sliding rheostat, which corresponds to the auger speed control comprises five discreet gears of varying RMP based on a voltage signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to utilize the multiple discreet speed gearing system controlled by a sliding rheostat detailed to the control the rotational speed of the auger in place of the stepless speed regulation controlled by a sliding rheostat described in the control of the rotational speed of the wheels of the snowthrower, as both systems utilize a voltage input to determine the rotational speed of a motor. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of providing at least a second forward movement speed to the snowthrower that is greater than the first forward speed.
Regarding Claim 13: Yamaoka in view of Schmalz teaches of the apparatus described in claim 12.
Yamaoka further teaches wherein the plurality of discrete speeds further comprises a first reverse speed (Fig. 20; paragraph 61, first speed control switch 261 comprises stepless speed regulation for a reverse speed).
Additionally, Schmalz further teaches wherein the plurality of discrete speeds further comprises a first reverse speed (Schmalz: Paragraph 94, transmission 902 allows a forward and reverse input).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Palicki et al as part of US 20170073916 A1 teaches of a snowthrower comprising an auger housing and an auger, an impeller housing and an impeller, a prime mover that may be an electric motor, at least one sensor, and an electrical controller coupled to the motor and the sensor to monitor the sensor data, and responsive to the data provided by the sensor, automatically adjust a parameter of the motor assembly..
/EVAN A BREGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671