DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 07/10/2026 has been entered and fully considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 15, are amended. Claims 8-14, 16, and 21-26 are canceled. Claims 27-34 are added. Claims 1-7, 15, and 17-20 and 27-34 are currently pending in the application with claims 1, 15, and 29 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 15, 17-20, and 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim 1 is directed to an a “method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Claim 15 is directed towards an “apparatus” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a machine.
Claim 29 is directed to an a “method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Claims 1, 15, and 29 are directed to Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One:
Claims 1, 15 and 29 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of a mental process, substantially as follows: monitoring one or more device attributes during a procedure, detecting device manipulations based on attributes including monitoring of relative distances between one or more sensors over time to detect mechanical manipulations and determining whether the deice may be reprocessed for subsequent use based at least in part on the detected device manipulations, updating a total usage capability of the medical device based on type and magnitude of mechanical manipulations and determined whether the device may be reprocessed for use in a subsequent procedure.
In claims 1, 15 and 29, the above recited steps can be practically performed in the human mind, with the aid of a pen and paper or with a generic computer, in a computer environment, or merely using the generic computer as a tool to perform the steps. If a person were to visually examine, i.e., perform an observation, he/she would be able to identify the movements of the device or its erosion over time or the way the device moves or operates visually. He/she would further be able to determine whether the device is usable or suitable for further use or not based on the observations. There is nothing recited in the claim to suggest an undue level of complexity in how the attributes and manipulations are to be detected. Therefore, a person would be able to perform the monitoring, detection and determination steps mentally or with a generic computer.
Prong Two: Claims 1, 15, and 29 do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1, 15, and 29 recite (1) additional steps of receiving location information from sensors, and (2) further an addition step of storing the detected device manipulations.
The steps in (1) represent merely data gathering or pre-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality with conventionally used tools (see below Step IIB for further details).
The step in (2) represents merely notification outputting the data and a post-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality.
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea and to output a notification based on the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on conventionally used tools. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the estimated bio-information is not outputted in any way such that a practical benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims 1, 15 and 29 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims recite additional steps of receiving location data from sensors, and saving the output information. These steps represents mere data gathering, data outputting or pre/post/extra-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality.
Accordingly, these additional steps and tools for measuring the movements and store the results amount to no more than insignificant conventional extra-solution activity. Mere insignificant conventional extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims hence are not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
The following dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons:
Defining the attributes determined (claim 2, 6, 10, 27-28 and 30-34)
defining the bio-information (claim 13).
The following dependent claims merely further describe the extra-solution activities and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for similar reasons:
determining various information bout the device (claim 3-4, 7, 14, 16-20);
details about the device used in the method (claim 5, 12, 13);
details about the sensors used (claims 9, 11);
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0281471) hereinafter “Hunter” in view of Ruffaldi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0227191) hereinafter “Ruffaldi”.
Regarding claim 15, Hunter discloses a data process and analysis system [see [0008]; system of Hunter] including a processor [CPU/DSP 808] and memory for storing instructions executed by the processor [see [0658] of Hunter] to:
receive inputs measured by a plurality of sensors located on an insertable medical device [see [0016] and [0020] of Hunter] during a duration of a procedure in which the insertable medical device is inserted within the patient’s body and ending upon removal of the insertable medical device from the patient’s body [see [0016] of Hunter disclosing: “sensors can be placed in various locations in order to monitor function, physical integrity, wear, performance, potential side effects, of the medical device and its interface with the issue.] the data process and analysis system
determine locations of the sensors located on the insertable medical device based on inputs received from sensors during the duration of the procedure; [see [0096]; the absolute position of the sensor modules that are located on the device can be known],
detect device manipulations associated with the insertable medical device during the procedure based on the determined locations of the sensors located on the insertable medical device; and [see [0016]-[0017] of Hunter and [0019] disclosing that different types of sensors can detect bending, cracking, breaking of the device]
update total usage capability of the insertable medical device base, at least in part, on the type and magnitude of mechanical device manipulations; and [see [0218]; the state of the degradation of the insertable medical device is detected from time to time based on changes in the sensor data (i.e. manipulations); see also [0637] disclosing that the sensor outputs are monitored and displayed over time]
determine whether the insertable medical device may be reprocessed for use in a subsequent medical procedure based, on the updated total usage capability of the insertable medical device. [see [0028] of Hunter discloses that by getting information from various sensors of the device the integrity (i.e. usage capability) of the device can be determined]
Hunter does not expressly disclose wherein analyzing the monitored location data associated with each of the plurality of sensors relative to one another during the duration of the procedure to detect mechanical device manipulations includes monitoring relative distances between one or more sensors located on the insertable medical device over time to detect mechanical device manipulations, wherein the monitored relative distances between one or more sensors are compared to one or more threshold values to determine a type and magnitude of a mechanical device manipulation;
Ruffaldi, directed towards robotic surgical tool performance monitoring [see abstract of Ruffaldi] further discloses wherein analyzing the monitored location data associated with each of the plurality of sensors relative to one another during the duration of the procedure to detect mechanical device manipulations includes monitoring relative distances between one or more sensors over time to detect mechanical device manipulations [see [0122]-[0137]; the relative distance between two points are determined by the position sensor data], wherein the monitored relative distances between one or more sensors are compared to one or more threshold values [see [0132]-[0137] disclosing comparing the relative distances to a threshold] to determine a type and magnitude of a mechanical device manipulation; [see [0137]-[0139]; the type of anomaly can be determined for example distance above a max distance at rest can indicate structural damage., or twist (angles that are not within threshold); the magnitude of manipulation is the same as the relative distance between sensors which is determined (see [0122]-[0137]) of Ruffaldi)]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Hunter wherein analyzing the monitored location data associated with each of the plurality of sensors relative to one another during the duration of the procedure to detect mechanical device manipulations includes monitoring relative distances between one or more sensors over time to detect mechanical device manipulations, wherein the monitored relative distances between one or more sensors are compared to one or more threshold values to determine a type and magnitude of a mechanical device manipulation according to the teachings of Ruffaldi in order to provide efficient and reliable methods to determine functional integrity of surgical tools [see [0007] of Ruffaldi]
Regarding claim 17, Hunter further discloses that the system is further configured to measure time of use of the insertable medical device, wherein determining whether the medical device may be reprocessed for subsequent use is further based on the time of use of the insertable medical device. [see claims 49-50 and [0026]-[0027] discloses that the integrity of the device is determined over time]
Regarding claim 19, Hunter further discloses that determining whether the insertable medical device may be reprocessed includes calculating a total usage capability of the insertable medical device.[see [0435] disclosing that “Movement between the internal (implanted) sensors and external sensors can be utilized to assess whether anatomical segments have become misaligned, and whether such misalignment might need to be adjusted or corrected in a further procedure” which indicates that the location of various sensors are compared with respect to other ones]
Regarding claim 20, Hunter further discloses that detecting device manipulations during the procedure includes identifying the procedure performed with the insertable medical device by determining at least one of: a path of the insertable medical device; or an overall geometry assumed by the insertable medical device during the procedure; [see [0644] disclosing that the plurality of sensors on the medical device can “provide information on the size, shape, integrity, alignment and location of changes to the medical device, and/or medical device movement/migration. In particular, as noted above the image data can be collected over time, in order to visually show changes (e.g., a “movie” or ‘moving images”, which may be in 2D or 3D”]
Regarding claim 28, Hunter further discloses wherein the determined locations of the sensors located on the insertable medical device comprise three-dimensional locations of respective sensors in a three-dimensional coordinate space during the duration of the procedure. [see [0644] disclosing that the plurality of sensors on the medical device can “provide information on the size, shape, integrity, alignment and location of changes to the medical device, and/or medical device movement/migration. In particular, as noted above the image data can be collected over time, in order to visually show changes (e.g., a “movie” or ‘moving images”, which may be in 2D or 3D”]
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0281471) hereinafter “Hunter” in view of in view of Ruffaldi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0227191) hereinafter “Ruffaldi” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hauck et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0000381) hereinafter “Hauck”.
Regarding claim 11, Hunter in view of Ruffaldi discloses all the limitations of claim 10 [see rejection of claim 10]
Hunter further discloses that the medical device is a curved device[see FIG. 21; the device is a kyphoplasty balloon including a curved section (i.e. balloon)] including a first sensor located on a loop portion of the loop catheter [see [0379] of Hunter], wherein a location of the first sensor located on the loop portion is utilized to determine whether the loop is open or closed[see [0379] disclosing: “ Position sensors and location markers are also useful to monitor the expansion of the vertebral body (by, for example monitoring the position of the balloon walls as the balloon is progressively inflated) to achieve a more precise expansion”]
Hunter in view of Ruffaldi does not disclose that the curved device is a loop catheter.
Hauk, directed towards providing location information sensors on a loop catheter [see abstract of Hauk] further discloses that the curved device [see FIG. 2 and [0029]; the catheter 20 is a loop catheter] including multiple position sensors is a loop catheter. [see [0024] and [0027] of Hauk]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the curved device of Hunter in view of Ruffaldi and make it a loop catheter in order to locate each portion of the loop catheter and track its operation. [see [0006] of Hauk]
Regarding claim 12, Hunter in view of Ruffaldi and Hauk discloses all the limitations of claim 11 [see rejection of claim 11]
Hunter further discloses the curved device includes a second sensor, see [0379] of Hunter] wherein a location of the second sensor relative to the first sensor is utilized to determine whether the loop is open or closed, [see [0379] disclosing: “ Position sensors and location markers are also useful to monitor the expansion of the vertebral body (by, for example monitoring the position of the balloon walls as the balloon is progressively inflated) to achieve a more precise expansion”] wherein the second sensor is located proximal to the loop portion or on the loop portion. [see Fig. 21 of Hunter]
Hunter in view of Ruffaldi does not disclose that the curved device is a loop catheter.
Hauk, directed towards providing location information sensors on a loop catheter [see abstract of Hauk] further discloses that the curved device [see FIG. 2 and [0029]; the catheter 20 is a loop catheter] including multiple position sensors is a loop catheter. [see [0024] and [0027] of Hauk]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the curved device of Hunter in view of Ruffaldi and make it a loop catheter in order to locate each portion of the loop catheter and track its operation. [see [0006] of Hauk]
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0281471) hereinafter “Hunter” in view of Ruffaldi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0227191) hereinafter “Ruffaldi” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Elmouelhi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0079883) hereinafter “Elmouelhi”.
Regarding claim 18, Hunter in view of Ruffaldi discloses all the limitations of claim 17 [see rejection of claim 17]
Hunter in view of Ruffaldi does not expressly disclose that the system is further configured to measure ablation time of the medical device, wherein determining whether the medical device may be reprocessed for subsequent use is further based on the ablation time of the medical device.
Elmouelhi, directed towards ablation system [see abstract of Elmouelhi] further discloses that the system is further configured to measure ablation time of the medical device, wherein determining whether the medical device may be reprocessed for subsequent use is further based on the ablation time of the medical device. [see [0052] of Elmouelhi]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Hunter in view of Ruffaldi such that the system is further configured to measure ablation time of the medical device, wherein determining whether the medical device may be reprocessed for subsequent use is further based on the ablation time of the medical device according to the teachings of Elmouelhi in order to determine the integrity of the device for further use [see [0052] of Elmouelhi]
Response to Arguments
Rejection of claims under U.S.C. 101
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has argued that the claims are not directed towards an abstract idea as a person can not monitor multiple sensors during the duration of a procedure, and detect physical manipulations such as bending, or flexing.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the limitation does not require any complex analysis of the sensor readings and can be done mentally, with the help of a pen and paper or with a generic computer. As a result, the claims fail to add significantly more than the abstract idea.
Rejection of claims under U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 07/10/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 29 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-7, 27, and 29-34 has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7, 27, and 29-34 are considered to contain allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claims 1 and 29, the prior art fails to anticipate and/or render obvious either solely or in combination, among other features of the claim: “inserting the insertable medical device into a patient's body for a procedure; monitoring one or more device attributes associated with the insertable medical device while the insertable medical device during a duration of a procedure in which the insertable medical device is inserted within a patient's body during the procedure,; recording the one or more device attributes monitored during the duration of the procedure; removing the insertable medical device from the patient's body at an end of the procedure; analyzing the one or more device attributes monitored during the duration of the procedure to detect device manipulations during the procedure.”
A comparison of the claims with the prior art is presented below:
Hunter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0281471) hereinafter “Hunter”:
Hunter is considered to be the closest prior art to the claims and discloses many aspects of the claims including a method of monitoring total usage of an insertable device including monitoring the device attributes using a plurality of sensors located on the insertable device, analyze the sensor data and update a usage capability of the device. However, Hunter does not disclose detection of device manipulations and type and magnitude of the physical manipulations of the device. Further, the monitoring of the device of Hunter is performed during the time the device is inserted in the body and the device is removed once it is determined that its capability is deteriorated. Therefore, Hunter does not disclose removing the device and then analyzing the result to determine capability.
Ruffaldi et al. (U.S. Publicaiton No. 2024/0227191) hereinafter “Ruffaldi”:
Ruffaldi, directed towards robotic tool performance further discloses detecting physical manipulations of the device and monitoring their capability. However, the monitoring of the device of Ruffaldi is also performed during the time the device is inserted in the body and the device is removed once it is determined that its capability is deteriorated. Therefore, Hunter does not disclose removing the device and then analyzing the result to determine capability
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARJAN SABOKTAKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795