DETAILED ACTION
This Final Rejection is in response to the Applicant’s claim amendment received on 03/10/2026, in response to the Final Rejection mailed on 01/07/ 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10 and 13 – 20) in the reply filed on 5/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-9,10, 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honorato Ruiz et al. (US 2019/0217536 A1, the examiner uses equivalent US 11,225,015 B2; herein after “Honorato”) and in further view of either one of Kunc et al. (US 2020/0023556) or Graf (US 2016/0059498 A1) and in further view of Lewicki et al. (US 2017/0015060 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Honorato teaches:
a method of manufacturing an article (see Figs. 1 – 5C; abstract; col 1 lines 60 to col 11 lines 35), the method comprising: feeding a polymeric material into an extruder having a nozzle (Fig 1. Item 25 spool of material that includes polymeric material and continuous fiber; Honorato states that materials such as polymeric material and continuous fiber can be extruded either together separately in two different channels in a print head, see col 3 lines 45-65, col 6 lines 35-50, col 7 lines 10-20); feeding a continuous fiber into the extruder, the continuous fiber and the polymeric material together forming a molding compound (see col 4 lines 45-65 discloses using continuous fiber and polymeric material together to form the 3D printed object, see col 1 lines 60 to col 2 lines 65 for additional details on materials); discharging the molding compound from the nozzle onto a deposition surface to form a three-dimensional object (see Fig 1 item 24. 3 is exemplary nozzle that deposits material on a mold 23 to form layered object).
However, Honorato fail to teach forming a mold charge by positioning the three-dimensional preform within a mold, the mold including a top mold component and a bottom mold component; and compression molding the mold charge within the mold to form a finished article.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to 3D printing preforms, Kunc et al. teach rapid manufacturing of a preform (3D printing), the method involves feeding a polymeric material includes multiple elongated fiber reinforcements into an extruder (12) to form a molding compound, and the extruder is provided with a nozzle opening (14). A three-dimensional preform is formed by discharging the molding compound from the nozzle opening onto a deposition surface (18). Multiple discontinuous elongated fiber powders self-align due to shear forces during the extrusion. A mold charge by positioning the three-dimensional preform is formed within a mold, and the mold includes a top mold component (22) and a bottom mold component (24). The compression molding preform within the mold to form a finished article having anisotropic properties due to alignment of the discontinuous elongated fiber reinforcements within a portion of the finished article (see abstract; Figs. 1-5). It is noted that only the preform is shaped without additional of binders (Fig 5).
Also, in the same field of endeavor, pertaining to composite structures. Graf teaches taking a preform (fibrous mat, blank, layered preform, layered structures) (see [0020][0028][0047][0049]) that is previously formed (any known method), and deforming via compression molding using top and bottom shaped compression mold surfaces that uses heating and cooling (Fig. 1 item 3; 0022]-[0024]), for the benefit of achieving desired strength/stiffness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was made to use the 3D printing process and materials as taught by Honorato with forming a preform, as suggested by Kunc et al. and Graf, and further reshaping via compression molding as suggested by either one of Kunc et al./Graf, for the benefit of achieving desired stiffness in the preform that can be then further used to form a final composite structure. By doing so, the preform made, as suggested by Graf can be used in variety of applications for producing fiber-reinforced shaped parts (see abstract; Fig. 1; [0022]-[0028], [0046]-[0048]) or can readily be used as final product (Fig. 1-5; Kunc et al.; abstract).
However, Honorato discloses all the limitations to the claim invention as disclosed above, however, fail to explicitly teach that a volume fraction of the continuous fiber in the polymeric material is great than 0% and less than or equal to 60% or extruder including coaxially aligned channels… as claimed.
Kunc et al. teach the system can provide a multi-material preform having a graded change in the composition of fiber reinforcement and/or length of the fiber reinforcement (see [0021], see Fig. 5). Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, pertaining to 3D printing, Lewicki et al. shows a print head (106) that is used for printing continuous fiber in one channel an the polymer matrix (resin) in another channel (see Fig 2; [0035]-[0040]), which is able to control the continuous fiber to polymeric resin ratio. In the Lewicki et al. system, it presents the nozzle of the extruder including coaxially aligned channel (see Fig. 2).
However, the above Honorato, Kunc et al., Lewicki, fails to explicitly teach volume fraction of the continuous fiber in the polymeric being great than 0% and less than or equal to 60% as claimed.
However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05(II). It would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success since Honorato, Kunc et al., and Lewicki, specifically teaches control of the polymeric resin in the fiber the 3D printed object (see [0009] [0044], of Lewicki; [0021] of Kunc et al). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method taught by Honorato such that the volume fraction of the continuous fiber in the polymeric being great than 0% and less than or equal to 60%, as suggested by Kunc et al. and Lewicki, as with a reasonable expectation of success in order to produce a 3D printed part having desired mechanical properties (density, stiffness, tensile strength).
As for claim 2, Honorato further teach wherein the nozzle of the extruder includes a single central channel configured to discharge the continuous fiber with the polymeric material (Fig. 1 shows a single central channel configured to discharge the continuous fiber with the polymeric material; see col 3 lines 45-65, col 6 lines 35-50, col 7 lines 10-20).
As for claims 6 - 7, Honorato further teach wherein the continuous fiber is one of a carbon fiber (see 2 lines 60-65) and provides suggestion for continuous fiber unidirectionally in the preform (see Figs 1- 5c, exemplary Figs. 5a-5c).
As for claims 8 - 9, Honorato further teach wherein the polymeric material is thermoplastic including polyamide, PEEK, PAEK, PEKK (see col 3 lines 5-20 which includes thermoplastic material such as PA, PEEK, PAEK, PEKK).
Regarding claims 13-14 and 16-18, Honorato teaches: a method of forming an an article (see abstract; it is noted that broadly any part form a preform as claimed; see Figs. 1-5c; col 1 lines 60 to col 11 lines 60), the method comprising:
feeding a polymeric material into an extruder including a nozzle (col 1 lines 60 to col 2 lines 65, col 6 lines 10 to col 8 lines 55) ; feeding a continuous fiber into the extruder, the continuous fiber and the polymeric material together forming a molding compound (see col 2 lines 60 to col 3 lines 5 disclose using continuous fiber made of carbon or glass forming together with molding compound as per col 3 lines 5-20) ; and forming a three-dimensional object by discharging the molding compound from the nozzle onto a deposition surface (Fig 1 shows deposition surface where material is 3D printed).
Honorato further teaches wherein the continuous fiber is embedded in the polymeric material (Fig 1; col 3 lines 45-65 discloses the continuous fiber can be either supplied via embedded with the polymeric material or separate from the polymeric material via additional channel in the print head), and the continuous fiber and polymeric material are simultaneously discharged together from a same nozzle of the extruder (Fig 1); wherein the continuous fiber is arranged unidirectionally in the preform (Figs 5a-5c various directions the continuous fiber may be arrange);
wherein the continuous fiber is one of a carbon fiber, a glass fiber, a basalt fiber, and a Kevlar fiber (see col 2 lines 60 to col 3 lines 5 which discloses use of carbon or glass fibers); wherein the polymeric material is one of a thermoplastic and a thermoset;
wherein the polymeric material includes at least one of a nylon material, polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), polyetherketone (PEK), polyetherketoneketone (PEKK), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polycarbonate (PC), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyethylenimine (PEI), and polypropylene (PP) (see col 3 lines 5-15 states “According to the invention, the meltable material may be a thermoplastic material such as PA (Polyamide), PEEK (Polyether ether ketone), PAEK (Polyaryletherketone) or PEKK (Polyetherketoneketone), which can be unreinforced or reinforced with short fibers. In a preferred embodiment, the meltable material is in the form of a filament for better storing and handling.”).
However, Honorato fail to teach obtaining a preform via 3D printing and then an article formed via compression molding, wherein the compression molding the 3D preform includes a mold without additional of any additional material to the 3D printing preform.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to 3D printing preforms, Kunc et al. teach rapid manufacturing of a preform (3D printing), the method involves feeding a polymeric material includes multiple elongated fiber reinforcements into an extruder (12) to form a molding compound, and the extruder is provided with a nozzle opening (14). A three-dimensional preform is formed by discharging the molding compound from the nozzle opening onto a deposition surface (18). Multiple discontinuous elongated fiber powders self-align due to shear forces during the extrusion. A mold charge by positioning the three-dimensional preform is formed within a mold, and the mold includes a top mold component (22) and a bottom mold component (24). The compression molding preform within the mold to form a finished article having anisotropic properties due to alignment of the discontinuous elongated fiber reinforcements within a portion of the finished article (see abstract; Figs. 1-5). It is noted that only the preform is shaped without additional of binders (Fig 5).
Also, in the same field of endeavor, pertaining to composite structures. Graf teaches taking a preform (fibrous mat, blank, layered preform, layered structures) (see [0020][0028][0047][0049]) that is previously formed (any known method), and deforming via compression molding using top and bottom shaped compression mold surfaces that uses heating and cooling (Fig. 1 item 3; 0022]-[0024]), for the benefit of achieving desired strength/stiffness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was made to use the 3D printing process and materials as taught by Honorato with forming a preform, as suggested by Kunc et al. and Graf, and further reshaping via compression molding as suggested by either one of Kunc et al./Graf, for the benefit of achieving desired stiffness in the preform that can be then further used to form a final composite structure. By doing so, the preform made, as suggested by Graf can be used in variety of applications for producing fiber-reinforced shaped parts (see abstract; Fig. 1; [0022]-[0028], [0046]-[0048]) or can readily be used as final product (Fig. 1-5; Kunc et al.; abstract).
As for claim 10, Lewicki discloses coaxial die for a single polymeric resin and fiber, thus duplication of parts having plurality of channels for applying plurality of fibrous materials and resin would have been obvious in view of Honorato and Lewicki as applied (see Honorato teaches in col 3 lines 45-65, col 6 lines 35-50, col 7 lines 10-20 choosing desired print head; Lewicki discloses at least a print head that includes channel for a resin and fibers separately), for the purpose of making a product of different fibers and polymeric resin.
Honorato provides suggestion for using different type and number of print heads (see col 3 lines 45-55), and Kunc et al. provides suggestion for having different materials (38; chopped fiber), (42-melt extruded pellets) (Fig 5) to be used in multi-head deposition system (44,56), therefore, the examiner takes Official Notice, according to MPEP section 2144.03 (Reliance on Common Knowledge in the Art or "Well-Known"), based on the teaching using prints heads that applies different fibers and resins would have been obvious as result for forming a materially distinct product (see additionally Kunc, [0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued claim 1 (amended, incorporating previous claims 3 and 5 into claim 1) that Honorato Ruiz et al. (US 2019/0217536 A1, the examiner uses equivalent US 11,225,015 B2; herein after “Honorato”) and in further view of either one of Kunc et al. (US 2020/0023556) or Graf (US 2016/0059498 A1) and in further view of Lewicki et al. (US 2017/0015060 A1), fails to teach claim range of “volume fraction of the continuous fiber in the polymeric material is varied between greater than 0% and less than or equal to 60%”.
The Examiner notes that varying the amount of fiber in the polymeric material would have been obvious optimization based on the suggestion provided in the combination. For example, Kunc et al. teach the system can provide a multi-material preform having a graded change in the composition of fiber reinforcement and/or length of the fiber reinforcement (see [0021], see Fig. 5). Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, pertaining to 3D printing, Lewicki et al. shows a print head (106) that is used for printing continuous fiber in one channel an the polymer matrix (resin) in another channel (see Fig 2; [0035]-[0040]), which is able to control the continuous fiber to polymeric resin ratio. In the Lewicki et al. system, it presents the nozzle of the extruder including coaxially aligned channel (see Fig. 2) similar to the instant application.
It is noted that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05(II). It would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success since Honorato, Kunc et al., and Lewicki, specifically teaches control of the polymeric resin in the fiber the 3D printed object (see [0009] [0044], of Lewicki; [0021] of Kunc et al). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method taught by Honorato such that the volume fraction of the continuous fiber in the polymeric being great than 0% and less than or equal to 60%, as suggested by Kunc et al. and Lewicki, as with a reasonable expectation of success in order to produce a 3D printed part having desired mechanical properties (density, stiffness, tensile strength).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0154606 A1 - roll of prepreg material was provided. The prepreg material comprised a fibrous layer of a plurality of non-woven substantially randomly oriented, discontinuous, carbon fibers impregnated with an epoxy resin, with a weight ratio of 50 wt % carbon fibers and 50 wt % epoxy resin. The fibrous layer has a nominal carbon fiber areal weight of 200 grams per square meter.
US 2023/0302687 A1 - the weight ratios of the discontinuous reinforcing fibers and the thermoplastic resin were calculated from the weights of the discontinuous reinforcing fibers and the thermoplastic resin. [0180] Further, when the weight ratio of the thermoplastic resin and the discontinuous reinforcing fibers contained in the thermoplastic prepreg was measured according to (2) above, the weight ratio of the thermoplastic resin was 67 wt %, and the weight ratio of the discontinuous reinforcing fibers was 33 wt %.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743