DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 06/10/2026, claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 12, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-19 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 4, the phrase may be amended as “… including a recess[[,]] and a protrusion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa et al. (US 2018/0304434, hereinafter Sakugawa), in view of Kobata et al. (US 2021/0237224, hereinafter Kobata), Pan (CN 113664720B), and Diao et al. (US 2016/0167195, hereinafter Diao).
Regarding claim 1, Sakugawa discloses, in fig. 1, a polishing-head system comprising:
a polishing head configured to press a substrate against a polishing surface (¶ 0027, a polishing head 30 presses a substrate against a polishing pad 23 on a polishing table 22);
a head shaft coupled to the polishing head (¶ 0029, the polishing head 30 is connected to a polishing head shaft 27 [corresponds to the recited head shaft]);
a head rotating mechanism configured to rotate the polishing head together with the head shaft, the head rotating mechanism including a motor (¶ 0032, the polishing head shaft 27 is rotated through a timing pulley 70 mounted to a polishing head motor 68, and a timing belt 69 to rotate the polishing head 30 as similarly described in specification of the instant application ¶ 0025);
a multi-path rotary joint arranged around at least a part of the head shaft (¶ 0029, a rotary joint 82 [corresponds to the recited multi-path rotary joint] is mounted to an upper end of the polishing head shaft 27);
a fluid supply line coupled to the multi-path rotary joint (¶ 0043 and figs. 1-2, compressed gas line from a compressed-gas supply source is coupled to the rotary joint 82); and
a pressure regulator attached to the fluid supply line (¶ 0043 and fig. 2, pressure regulators R1 to R5 are attached to the compressed gas supply line),
wherein the polishing head has:
a substrate pressing surface configured to press the substrate against the polishing surface (¶ 0046, a membrane 34 [corresponds to the recited substrate pressing surface] can press different zones of a surface of the substrate W against the polishing surface of the polishing pad 23);
a retainer ring arranged around the substrate pressing surface (¶ 0035, a retainer ring 32 is arranged around the membrane 34 [corresponds to the recited substrate pressing surface]); and
pressure chambers formed by elastic material and configured to generate pressing forces for pressing the retainer ring against the polishing surface (¶ 0005 and 0039, pressure chambers C1-C5 are formed by an elastic membrane 34. The pressure chamber C5 directly presses the retainer ring 32 against the polishing pad 23), and
the pressure chambers are arranged along a circumferential direction of the retainer ring (¶ 0039-40 and fig. 2, pressure chambers C2-C5 are arranged along a circumferential direction of the retainer ring 32. The pressure chamber C5 is arranged along with the retainer ring 32 to press the polishing pad), but does not disclose explicitly the head shaft has shaft flow-passages communicating with the pressure chambers, respectively.
Sakugawa discloses, in fig. 2 and ¶ 0043, that the compressed gas line communicates with the pressure chambers C1-C5 through the rotary joint 82, but does not show explicitly whether the line passes through passages in the head shaft.
Kobata teaches, in an analogous polishing-head system field of endeavor, the head shaft has shaft flow-passages communicating with the pressure chambers, respectively (figs. 1 and 16 and ¶ 0147, a polishing head system comprises a polishing head 7, a polishing-head shaft 18, a rotary joint 25, and a pressure chamber 74. The polishing-head shaft 18 has a gas supply line 77 [corresponds to the recited shaft flow-passages] communicating with the pressure chamber. Sakugawa discloses the multiple gas lines for the multiple pressure chambers. By combining with Sakugawa, each of the gas supply lines of Sakugawa can be in communication with the pressure chamber through the shaft flow-passages of Kobata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa to provide the shaft flow-passages in the head shaft as taught by Kobata so that the fluid supply line is not exposed to an environment during a high-speed rotational operation of the polishing head for safety.
Sakugawa as modified by Kobata teaches the multi-path rotary joint is configured to provide a communication between the fluid supply line and each one of the shaft flow-passages (Kobata ¶ 0158, the polishing head 7 rotates while a controller supplies compressed gas to the pressure chamber 74 through the rotary joint 25; Sakugawa ¶ 0042-43 and 0069, the compressed gas line communicates with the pressure chambers C1-C5 through the rotary joint 82 [corresponds to the recited multi-path rotary joint]. A controller 50 regulates pressure of the fluid supply lines, respectively. The controller can open one valve while it closes the other valves. Thus, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata teaches the controller of the polishing head system can be configured to supply the compressed gas to each passage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata to provide communication of the fluid supply line in order to achieve a precise control of the pressure chambers with desired pressure for an effective polishing operation.
Sakugawa as modified by Kobata does not disclose the communication between the fluid supply line and each one of the shaft flow-passages is done successively.
Pan teaches, in a metal processing apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the communication between the fluid supply line and each one of the shaft flow-passages is done successively (fig. 1, Pan English translation, p. 2:30-3:12, a rotating metal plate is provided with fluid pipes connected to a negative pressure cylinder. The fluid pipes are connected to a rotating shaft. The negative pressure cylinder sequentially communicates with the fluid pipes. Pan teaches the fluid communication is achieved by successively connecting each fluid pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata to provide the successive fluid communication as taught by Pan in order to achieve maximum fluid communication with high pressure with each fluid passage instead of splitting the fluid pressure into all fluid passages.
Sakugawa as modified by Kobata and Pan does not disclose the fluid communication is done each time the head shaft makes one revolution.
Diao teaches, in an analogous chemical mechanical polishing field of endeavor, the fluid communication is done each time the head shaft makes one revolution (fig. 2 and ¶ 0048, a polishing apparatus includes a system for permitting a substrate to see new fresh polishing fluid with each rotation of a platen. Although Diao discloses the fluid communication occurring at each one revolution of the platen, by combining with Sakugawa and Kobata, it can be applied such that the polishing system can provide the fluid supply for each one revolution of polishing head rotation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata and Pan to provide the fluid communication for each revolution as taught by Diao so that the fluid communication occurs frequently for effective polishing operation control.
Regarding claim 8, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the polishing head further includes an annular pressure chamber located adjacent to the pressure chambers (Sakugawa, fig. 2, the pressure chamber C4 is an annular pressure chamber located adjacent to the pressure chamber C5 which presses the retainer ring).
Regarding claim 10, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising an operation controller configured to control an operation of the pressure regulator, wherein the pressure chambers include a first pressure chamber, the operation controller is configured to transmit a correcting set-pressure-value, which is larger than a set pressure value of fluid in the fluid supply line, to cause the pressure regulator to correct a pressure in the first pressure chamber when the pressure in the first pressure chamber is smaller than a target value (Sakugawa, ¶ 0042, 0046 and 0049, a controller 50 is coupled to the pressure regulators to send each target pressure value to the pressure chambers C1-C5. The pressure chamber C5 can be designated as the recited first pressure chamber. The pressure regulator maintains the pressure in the pressure chamber at the target pressure value. Therefore, the controller can be configured to correct the pressure of the first pressure chamber when the pressure in the first pressure chamber is smaller than the preset target pressure value by transmitting a high pressure).
Claims 2, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa in view of Kobata, Pan, and Diao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Rhee (US 2020/0355247).
Regarding claim 2, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the shaft flow-passages have shaft openings being open in an outer surface of the head shaft, the multi-path rotary joint has a joint flow-passage communicating with the fluid supply line, the joint flow-passage has a joint opening being open in an inner surface of the multi-path rotary joint, the shaft openings are arranged along a circumferential direction of the head shaft, and the shaft openings and the joint opening are located at a same position in an axial direction of the head shaft.
Rhee teaches, in an analogous chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) field of endeavor, the shaft flow-passages have shaft openings being open in an outer surface of the head shaft, the multi-path rotary joint has a joint flow-passage communicating with the fluid supply line, the joint flow-passage has a joint opening being open in an inner surface of the multi-path rotary joint, the shaft openings are arranged along a circumferential direction of the head shaft, and the shaft openings and the joint opening are located at a same position in an axial direction of the head shaft (abstract, Rhee discloses a rotary union 10 for coupling fluid supply paths and a rotating shaft of a CMP apparatus. See annotated Rhee fig. 2 below for the recited components; ¶ 0048, the shaft communicates with a plurality of fluid supply paths 112-115; figs. 1-2, the rotary joint has a plurality of holes 304, 306, 308, 308 communicating with the fluid paths 112-115 in the shaft 100. Thus, the shaft 100 has openings along a circumferential direction of the shaft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao to provide the recited passages and openings as taught by Rhee. The device allows supplying fluid through a rotating shaft. It also allows a vertical motion so that a polishing head’s vertical position can be adjusted with respect to a substrate without utilizing a separate apparatus (Rhee ¶ 0008 and 0028).
Annotated Rhee Fig. 2
Regarding claim 3, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the fluid supply line comprises fluid supply lines, the pressure regulator comprises pressure regulators attached to the fluid supply lines, respectively, the joint flow-passage comprises joint flow-passages communicating with the fluid supply lines, respectively, and the joint opening comprises joint openings arranged along the circumferential direction of the head shaft (see annotated Rhee fig. 2 above, there are multiple joint flow-passages 304, 306, 308, and 310. The joint openings are arranged along the circumferential direction of the shaft 100; Rhee ¶ 0066, fluid is transferred through the hole 304 [corresponds to the recited joint flow-passage] through the fluid supply path 112 [corresponds to the recited shaft flow-passage] into a process chamber 20; Sakugawa ¶ 0040 and fig. 2, the pressure regulators R1-R5 are attached to the compressed gas supply lines. Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee teaches the pressure regulated fluid is supplied to the passages of the rotary joint and the head shaft).
Regarding claim 9, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose a width of the joint opening is larger than a width of each of the shaft openings.
As shown in annotated Rhee fig. 2 above, however, the device comprises the joint opening connected to the shaft opening, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the joint opening of Rhee so that a width of the joint opening is larger than a width of each of the shaft openings. Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. The recited opening sizes render the shaft flow-passage transmits high pressure fluid. The high-pressure fluid may be more effective in controlling the pressure chamber quickly than low pressure fluid. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa in view of Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Tischer et al. (DE 19756101C1, hereinafter Tischer).
Regarding claim 4, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the multi-path rotary joint has: a joint member arranged along a circumferential direction of the head shaft; a joint holder arranged around the joint member, and the joint flow-passage extends through the joint member and the joint holder (see annotated Rhee fig. 2 above, the rotary joint has a middle housing 200 [corresponds to the recited joint member] arranged along a circumferential direction of the shaft 100, and an outer housing 300 [corresponds to the recited joint holder] arranged around the middle housing 200. The joint flow-passage extends through the middle housing 200 and the outer housing 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-path rotary joint of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee to provide the joint member and the joint holder as taught by Rhee. This arrangement may provide rotational and axial motion of the joint simultaneously so that it provides a high degree of mobility for the CMP apparatus (Rhee ¶ 0068).
However, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee does not disclose a spring configured to press the joint member against the head shaft.
Tischer teaches, in a spring joint device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a spring configured to press the joint member against the head shaft (fig. 5 and Tischer English translation p. 4:22-35, a clamping plate 21 and a base body 25 are coupled with a spring joint 7 in a recess of the base body 25. Tischer teaches two bodies can be coupled with a spring between them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-path rotary joint of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Rhee to provide the spring for pressing the joint member against the head shaft as taught by Tischer. The spring provides a buffer between two coupling objects so that it prevents the coupling surfaces from wearing due to repeated contact between them.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa in view of Kobata, Pan, Diao, Rhee, and Tischer, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Hung (US 2022/0186555).
Regarding claim 5, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, Rhee, and Tischer teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 4, but does not disclose the multi-path rotary joint has a positioning mechanism configured to fix a relative position of the joint member with respect to the joint holder in a circumferential direction of the joint member, the positioning mechanism including a recess, and a protrusion configured to fit into the recess.
Hung teaches, in an angle adjusting mechanical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the multi-path rotary joint has a positioning mechanism configured to fix a relative position of the joint member with respect to the joint holder in a circumferential direction of the joint member, the positioning mechanism including a recess, and a protrusion configured to fit into the recess (fig. 2 and ¶ 0033, a mechanical device comprises a driving unit 20 and a driving rod 24. The driving unit and the driving rod can be coupled together wherein the driving rod is disposed outside of the driving unit when they are coupled. The driving unit 20 comprises a positioning protrusion 236 which matches with a positioning recess 245 of the driving rod 24. Hung teaches an inner object and an outer object can be fitted into a predetermined position by engaging the positioning protrusion and the positioning recess as similarly described in specification of the instant application ¶ 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, Rhee, and Tischer to provide the positioning mechanism as taught by Hung in order to engage the joint holder/member at a right position.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa in view of Kobata, Pan, and Diao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Zuniga et al. (US 2021/0402558, hereinafter Zuniga).
Regarding claim 6, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the pressure chambers communicate with the shaft flow-passages, respectively, and the pressure chambers formed by rolling diaphragms, the rolling diaphragms being arranged along the circumferential direction of the retainer ring (Sakugawa, fig. 2 and ¶ 0039 rolling diaphragm 36 forms the pressure chamber C5 along the circumference of the retainer ring 25. The pressure chambers communicate with the gas delivery lines F1-F5 which pass through passages in the head shaft 27), but does not disclose the pressure chambers comprise pressure chamber groups, and each of the pressure chamber groups includes pressure chambers.
Zuniga teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the pressure chambers comprise pressure chamber groups, and each of the pressure chamber groups includes pressure chambers (¶ 0009, a carrier head for a polishing system includes a plurality of pressurizable chambers. There are two groups of chambers: first plurality of pressure chambers and second plurality of pressure chambers. Additionally, there is a plurality of valves selectively coupled to a different pressure chamber of the first plurality of pressure chambers or the second plurality of pressure chambers. Thus, Zuniga teaches a carrier head may include at least two groups of pressure chambers and each group of chambers comprises different pressure chambers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao to provide the pressure chamber groups as taught by Zuniga. The pressure chambers of Zuniga are independently pressurizable. Thus, it would be possible to press a substrate in a small spot, a small area, or a large area based on particular needs of good polishing outcome.
Regarding claim 7, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Zuniga teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose each of the rolling diaphragms has a cylindrical shape.
Sakugawa discloses the rolling diaphragm, but does not disclose a shape of the diaphragm. Zuniga teaches there can be a plurality of pressure chambers. Thus, the combination of Sakugawa and Zuniga teaches there can be a plurality of pressure chambers formed by rolling diaphragms without designating a shape. On the other hand, specification of the instant application is silent regarding why the rolling diaphragms have to have a cylindrical shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rolling diaphragms of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Zuniga to have any shape as long as the pressure chamber formed by the rolling diaphragm renders a substrate to be pressed against a polishing surface during polishing. The court held that a mere change in shape of a component is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed component was significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa in view of Kobata, Pan, and Diao, as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Shinozaki et al. (KR 20150063931A, hereinafter Shinozaki).
Regarding claim 11, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 10, but does not disclose the operation controller is configured to determine the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber during one revolution of the polishing head and a target pressure during one revolution of the polishing head.
Shinozaki teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the operation controller is configured to determine the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber during one revolution of the polishing head and a target pressure during one revolution of the polishing head (Shinozaki English translation, p. 4:5-14, 5:3-14, and 7:20-8:2, a polishing apparatus comprises a polishing head having pressure chambers. One of the pressure chambers can be designated as the recited first pressure chamber. While a top ring [corresponds to the recited polishing head] rotates, a PID controller generates a valve control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in a pressure chamber. Because the control operation is done by the PID operation (proportional/integral/differential operation), the integral operation is determined based on a deviation between a target value and an actual value. Therefore, the controller of Shinozaki can be configured to determine the correcting pressure to minimize the difference between the actual pressure and the target pressure in the first pressure chamber. Regarding the pressure during one revolution, specification of the instant application does not state why it is necessary to use the pressure data of one revolution. Thus, it appears there is no criticality of utilizing one revolution pressure. Nevertheless, the pressure is acquired during the rotation of the top ring. The rotation includes one revolution, therefore, the pressure chamber pressure and the target pressure of Shinozaki include the pressure data over at least one revolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao to provide the operation controller to determine the correcting pressure value as taught by Shinozaki so that the pressure chamber maintains correct pressure for effective polishing of a substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 10, but does not disclose a pressure sensor configured to measure the pressure in the first pressure chamber, wherein the operation controller is configured to determine the correcting set-pressure- value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber measured by the pressure sensor and a target pressure.
Shinozaki teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, a pressure sensor configured to measure the pressure in the first pressure chamber, wherein the operation controller is configured to determine the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber measured by the pressure sensor and a target pressure (Shinozaki English translation, p. 28:6-10, a pressure sensor detects a pressure difference between the pressure target value in the pressure chamber and the measured pressure value; p. 7:20-31, the PID controller generates a valve control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in a pressure chamber. Therefore, the controller of Shinozaki can be configured to determine the correcting pressure to minimize the difference between the actual pressure and the target pressure in the first pressure chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao to provide the pressure sensor as taught by Shinozaki so that the controller can regulate the pressure in the pressure chamber for effective polishing of a substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 10, but does not disclose the operation controller is configured to determine the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber and a target pressure.
Shinozaki teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the operation controller is configured to determine the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber and a target pressure (Shinozaki English translation, p. 7:20-31, the PID controller generates a valve control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in a pressure chamber. Therefore, the controller of Shinozaki can be configured to determine the correcting pressure to minimize the difference between the actual pressure and the target pressure in the first pressure chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing-head system of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata to provide the operation controller to determine the correcting pressure value as taught by Shinozaki so that the pressure chamber maintains correct pressure for effective polishing of a substrate.
Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao and Shinozaki teaches determining the correcting set-pressure-value is based on a correlation, which is obtained in advance, between the set pressure value and the pressure in the first pressure chamber (Sakugawa, ¶ 0047, 0051-52, 0061-62, 0073-75, 0088 a controller 50 detects flow rates and pressure of gas deliver lines F1-F5 and determine whether the gas pressure in the gas delivery lines is within a preset reference range which is stored in advance. The controller 50 also checks pressure for each of all pressure chambers C1-C5. The controller 50 regulates the pressure in each of the pressure chambers depending on pressure variation in the gas delivery lines is within the allowable range of variation. Therefore, Sakugawa teaches the controller utilizes allowable pressure values in the gas delivery lines and the pressure of the pressure chambers wherein the allowable pressure values are stored in advance. Regulation of the pressure is determining correcting pressure, and utilizing the stored pressure value for determining the correcting pressure is using a correlation).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa in view of Kobata, Pan, and Diao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Shin et al. (US 2022/0266415, hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 14, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao teaches a polishing method for a substrate with the polishing-head system as in the rejection of claim 1, comprising:
pressing the substrate against the polishing surface while rotating the substrate to polish the substrate (Sakugawa ¶ 0034, while the polishing head and the polishing table are rotated so that the substrate rotates, the polishing head presses the substrate against the polishing surface of the polishing pad); and
during polishing of the substrate, applying pressing forces to the retainer ring to press the retainer ring against the polishing surface by supplying fluid into the pressure chambers through the fluid supply line while providing a communication between the fluid supply line and each one of the shaft flow-passages successively (Sakugawa ¶ 0005 and 0039, a pressure chamber C5, formed by an elastic membrane, presses the retainer ring 32 against the polishing pad 23; ¶ 0042-43 and 0069, the compressed gas line communicates with the pressure chambers C1-C5 through the rotary joint 82. A controller 50 regulates pressure of the fluid supply lines. The controller can open one valve while it closes the other valves. Thus, Sakugawa teaches the controller of the polishing head system can be configured to supply the compressed gas to each passage successively to allow the retainer ring to press against the polishing surface), but does not disclose the pressing forces include at least two different pressing forces.
Shin teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the pressing forces include at least two different pressing forces (¶ 0045, a carrier head comprises pressure chambers, and different pressures may be applied to the pressure chambers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing method of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, and Diao to provide the at least two different pressing forces as taught by Shin so that a substrate can be pressed with different pressures at different locations. A part of a substrate may require pressing with high pressure and another part of the substrate may require pressing with low pressure for the overall effective polishing. The different pressing forces make it possible to result in good polishing outcome (Shin ¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 15, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin teaches the polishing method as in the rejection of claim 14, wherein polishing of the substrate is performed while rotating the polishing surface, and the polishing method comprises regulating pressures in the pressure chambers by the pressure regulator such that a pressing force generated by a pressure chamber, which is one of the pressure chambers, located at a downstream side of the polishing head in a rotating direction of the polishing surface is larger than a pressing force generated by other pressure chamber (Sakugawa ¶ 0034, while the polishing head and the polishing table are rotated so that the substrate rotates, the polishing head presses the substrate against the polishing surface of the polishing pad; Sakugawa ¶ 0042-43 and 0069, the compressed gas line communicates with the pressure chambers C1-C5 through the rotary joint 82. A controller 50 regulates pressure of the fluid supply lines through the pressure regulators R1-R5 attached to the compressed gas supply line; Sakugawa ¶ 0046, a membrane 34 [corresponds to the recited substrate pressing surface] can press different zones of a surface of the substrate W against the polishing surface of the polishing pad 23; Shin ¶ 0045, a carrier head comprises pressure chambers, and different pressures may be applied to the pressure chambers. Therefore, Sakugawa as modified by Shin teaches a controller can regulate pressure regulators so that one pressure chamber applies a greater pressing force than another pressure chamber).
Regarding claim 16, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin teaches the polishing method as in the rejection of claim 14, further comprising causing the pressure regulator to correct a pressure in a first pressure chamber of the pressure chambers based on a correcting set-pressure-value, which is larger than a set pressure value of the fluid in the fluid supply line, when the pressure in the first pressure chamber is smaller than a target pressure (Sakugawa, ¶ 0042, 0046 and 0049, as discussed similarly in claim 10, a controller 50 is coupled to the pressure regulators to send each target pressure value to the pressure chambers C1-C5. The pressure chamber C5 can be designated as the recited first pressure chamber. The pressure regulator maintains the pressure in the pressure chamber at the target pressure value. Therefore, the controller can correct the pressure of the first pressure chamber when the pressure in the first pressure chamber is smaller than the preset target pressure value).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakugawa in view of Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Shinozaki.
Regarding claim 17, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin teaches the polishing method as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose determining the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between an integral value of the pressure in the first pressure chamber during one revolution of the polishing head and an integral value of the target pressure during one revolution of the polishing head.
Shinozaki teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, determining the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between an integral value of the pressure in the first pressure chamber during one revolution of the polishing head and an integral value of the target pressure during one revolution of the polishing head (Shinozaki English translation, p. 4:5-14, 5:3-14, and 7:20-8:2, as discussed similarly in claim 11, a polishing apparatus comprises a polishing head having pressure chambers. One of the pressure chambers can be designated as the recited first pressure chamber. While a top ring [corresponds to the recited polishing head] rotates, a PID controller generates a valve control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in a pressure chamber. Because the control operation is done by the PID operation (proportional/integral/differential operation), the integral operation is determined based on a deviation between a target value and an actual value. Therefore, the controller of Shinozaki can determine the correcting pressure to minimize the difference between the actual pressure and the target pressure in the first pressure chamber. Regarding the pressure during one revolution, specification of the instant application does not state why it is necessary to use the pressure data of one revolution. Thus, it appears there is no criticality of utilizing one revolution pressure. Nevertheless, the pressure is acquired during the rotation of the top ring. The rotation includes one revolution, therefore, the pressure chamber pressure and the target pressure of Shinozaki include the pressure data over at least one revolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing method of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin to provide the method of determining the correcting pressure value as taught by Shinozaki so that the pressure chamber maintains correct pressure for effective polishing of a substrate.
Regarding claim 18, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin teaches the polishing method as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose measuring the pressure in the first pressure chamber; and determining the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber measured by the pressure sensor and the target pressure.
Shinozaki teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, measuring the pressure in the first pressure chamber; and determining the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber measured by the pressure sensor and the target pressure (Shinozaki English translation, p. 28:6-10, as discussed similarly in claim 12, a pressure sensor detects a pressure difference between the pressure target value in the pressure chamber and the measured pressure value; p. 7:20-31, the PID controller generates a valve control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in a pressure chamber. Therefore, the controller of Shinozaki can determine the correcting pressure to minimize the difference between the actual pressure and the target pressure in the first pressure chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing method of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin to provide the method of determining the correcting pressure value by measuring pressure with the pressure sensor as taught by Shinozaki so that the controller can regulate the pressure in the pressure chamber for effective polishing of a substrate.
Regarding claim 19, Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin teaches the polishing method as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose determining the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber and the target pressure.
Shinozaki teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, determining the correcting set-pressure-value that minimizes a difference between the pressure in the first pressure chamber and the target pressure (Shinozaki English translation, p. 7:20-31, as discussed similarly in claim 13, the PID controller generates a valve control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in a pressure chamber. Therefore, the controller of Shinozaki can be configured to determine the correcting pressure to minimize the difference between the actual pressure and the target pressure in the first pressure chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing method of Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, and Shin to provide the method of determining the correcting pressure value as taught by Shinozaki so that the pressure chamber maintains correct pressure for effective polishing of a substrate.
Sakugawa as modified by Kobata, Pan, Diao, Shin, and Shinozaki teaches determining the correcting set-pressure-value is based on a correlation, which is obtained in advance, between the set pressure value and the pressure in the first pressure chamber (Sakugawa, ¶ 0047, 0051-52, 0061-62, 0073-75, 0088 a controller 50 detects flow rates and pressure of gas deliver lines F1-F5 and determine whether the gas pressure in the gas delivery lines is within a preset reference range which is stored in advance. The controller 50 also checks pressure for each of all pressure chambers C1-C5. The controller 50 regulates the pressure in each of the pressure chambers depending on pressure variation in the gas delivery lines is within the allowable range of variation. Therefore, Sakugawa teaches the controller utilizes allowable pressure values in the gas delivery lines and the pressure of the pressure chambers wherein the allowable pressure values are stored in advance. Regulation of the pressure is determining correcting pressure, and utilizing the stored pressure value for determining the correcting pressure is using a correlation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pan and Diao.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Sakugawa and Kobata do not teach or suggest the claim limitations that the multi-path rotary joint is configured to provide a communication between the fluid supply line and each one of the shaft flow-passages successively each time the head shaft makes one revolution.
Applicant also argues Sakugawa teaches a pressure chamber receives fluid by active control of valves, rather than any structure of the rotary joint itself. However, the claim recites “the multi-path rotary joint is configured to provide a communication between the fluid supply line and each of the shaft-passages”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The multi-path rotary joint of the instant application is intended to provide the communication between the fluid supply line and each one of the shaft flow-passages. Sakugawa teaches the fluid communication between the compressed-gas supply source to the rotary joint 82, and each gas line is in communication with each pressure chamber (see fig. 2).
Further, Kobata teaches the fluid communication between the fluid supply line and each one of the shaft flow-passages (fig. 16 and ¶ 0147). Additionally, Pan teaches the fluid communication of each fluid passage successively, and Diao teaches the fluid communication can be achieved per one revolution.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues Sakugawa, Kobata, and Shinozaki do not teach or suggest the claim limitations that determining the correcting set-pressure-value of the polishing head that minimizes a difference between an integral value of the pressure in the first pressure chamber and an integral value of a target pressure during one revolution. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Shinozaki teaches the PID controller generates a control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in the pressure chamber (Shinozaki English translation, p. 4:5-14, 5:3-14, and 7:20-31). Additionally, the PID control operation utilizes the integral operation. Thus, the integral chamber pressure and the integral target pressures are used in the PID control operation. On the other hand, there is no ciriticality of utilizing the integral pressure value over one revolution. The pressure is acquired during the rotating of the top ring. The rotation includes at least one revolution, therefore, the pressure chamber pressure and the target pressure utilized by Shinozaki for determining control value include the pressure data of one revolution.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant argues the cited references do not teach or suggest the claim limitations that the operation controller is configured to determine the correcting set-pressure-value based on a correlation obtained in advance between a set pressure value and a pressure in a pressure chamber. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Shinozaki teaches determining the control signal for minimizing the difference between the measured pressure and the target pressure in the pressure chamber (Shinozaki English translation, p. 7:20-31). Sakugawa teaches the controller 50 utilizes the stored allowable pressure values and detects pressure in the fluid delivery lines and pressure chamber in correcting the pressure. The use of stored pressure values and comparing the pressure in the fluid delivery lines and the pressure chambers is the correcting the set-pressure-value based on a correlation in advance.
Regarding the 112(b) rejection of claim 15, Applicant has amended the claim and explains downstream refers to a position of a pressure chamber with respect to another pressure chamber. The previous 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ishikawa (WO 0216079A1) discloses a control of polishing pad pressure wherein an integral value of pressure is utilized.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723