DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
With respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 112(a), said rejection is withdrawn due to proper amendments.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-7 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground rejection.
With respect to the rejection of claims 9, 11-17, 19, 20 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground rejection.
With respect to the rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gonzalez (WO 2025026564 A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, Gonzalez teaches a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) antenna array (page 1, Background, massive MIMO) comprising:
a first plurality of antenna elements arranged in a first plane (Fig. 3, page 13, Detailed Description, 2nd para, a first radiating element 401a being arranged in a first plane);
a second plurality of antenna elements arranged in a second plane that is different from the first plane, wherein the first plane is positioned to overlay the second plane to increase gain of the MIMO antenna array(Fig. 3, page 13, Detailed Description, 2nd para, a second radiating element 401b being arranged in a second plane); and
at least one separation layer that is positioned between the first plane and the second plane, wherein the at least one separation layers is comprised of a dielectric material (page 14, last para. PCB), and wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of antenna elements are concurrently powered on within a same operating frequency band (Fig. 3(a), page 13, Detailed Description, 2nd para, a common node 403 for being fed with a RF signal).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gonzalez.
Gonzales further teaches the antenna array, wherein at least a portion of antenna elements in the first plurality of antenna elements are connected to at least another portion of antenna elements in the first plurality to form one or more groups (page 1, Background, massive MIMO).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gonzalez.
Gonzales further teaches the antenna array, wherein the first plane is parallel to the second plane, and wherein the first plane overlays the second plane such that a position of at least one individual antenna element in the first plurality of antenna elements is arranged in the first plane to align with a position of at least one other corresponding individual antenna element in the second plurality of antenna elements arranged in the second plane (Fig. 3(a), 401a, 401b).
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gonzalez.
Gonzales further teaches the antenna array, wherein the first plane is parallel to the second plane, and wherein the first plane overlays the second plane such that a position of each individual antenna element in the first plurality of antenna elements is arranged in the first plane to align with a position of an individual corresponding antenna element in the second plurality of antenna elements arranged in the second plane (Fig. 3(a), 401a, 401b).
Regarding claim 9, Gonzalez teaches a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) antenna array (page 1, Background, massive MIMO) comprising:
a first plurality of antenna elements arranged in a first plane (Fig. 3, page 13, Detailed Description, 2nd para, a first radiating element 401a being arranged in a first plane), the first plurality of antenna elements corresponding to a first size (Fig. 3(a) 401a);
a second plurality of antenna elements arranged in a second plane that is different from the first plane and parallel to the first plane, the second plurality of antenna elements corresponding to the first size (401b, the same RF source 403), wherein the first plane is positioned to overlay the second plane (Fig. 3, page 13, Detailed Description, 2nd para, a second radiating element 401b being arranged in a second plane); and
at least one separation layer that is positioned between the first plane and the second plane, wherein the at least one separation layers is comprised of a dielectric material (page 14, last para. PCB), and wherein the first plurality and the second plurality of antenna elements are concurrently powered on within a same operating frequency band (Fig. 3(a), page 13, Detailed Description, 2nd para, a common node 403 for being fed with a RF signal).
Regarding claim 11, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 3. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 12, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 4. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 13, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 5. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (WO 2025026564 A1 ) in view of Schober (US 2022/0140475 A1).
Regarding claim 2, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gonzalez.
Gonzalez does not explicitly teach the antenna array, wherein the dielectric material includes polytetrafluoroethylene.
Schober teaches an antenna, wherein the dielectric material includes polytetrafluoroethylene ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply polytetrafluoroethylene as taught by Schober to the teachings of Gonzalez in order to configure a high-frequency board (Schober, [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 2. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (WO 2025026564 A1 ) in view of Shiueru (JP 6138795 B2, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gonzalez.
Gonzalez further teaches the antenna array, wherein the first plane is parallel to the second plane (Fig. 3(a)).
However, Gonzales does not explicitly teach the antenna array, wherein the first plane overlays the second plane such that a position of at least one individual antenna element in the first plurality of antenna elements is arranged in the first plane to be misaligned with a position of at least one other corresponding individual antenna element in the second plurality of antenna elements arranged in the second plane.
Shiueru teaches an antenna array, wherein a first plane overlays a second plane such that a position of at least one individual antenna element in the first plurality of antenna elements is arranged in the first plane to be misaligned with a position of at least one other corresponding individual antenna element in the second plurality of antenna elements arranged in the second plane (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Shiueru to the teachings of Gonzales in order to reduce the potential interference of antenna array elements (Shiueru, page 3, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gonzalez.
Gonzalez further teaches the antenna array, wherein the first plane is parallel to the second plane (Fig. 3(a)).
However, Gonzales does not explicitly teach the antenna array, wherein the first plane overlays the second plane such that a position of each individual antenna element in the first plurality of antenna elements is arranged in the first plane to be misaligned with a position of an individual corresponding antenna element in the second plurality of antenna elements arranged in the second plane.
Shiueru teaches an antenna array, wherein a first plane overlays a second plane such that a position of each individual antenna element in the first plurality of antenna elements is arranged in the first plane to be misaligned with a position of an individual corresponding antenna element in the second plurality of antenna elements arranged in the second plane (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Shiueru to the teachings of Gonzales in order to reduce the potential interference of antenna array elements (Shiueru, page 3, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 6. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 15, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 7. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 19 and 20 are allowed. Specifically, the independent claim 17 is allowed over the prior arts. The dependent claims 19 and 20 are allowed due to their dependencies to the said independent claim 17.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 17, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a system comprising a multi input multi output (MIMO) antenna array wherein the first plane and the second plane are concurrently powered on within a same operating frequency band such that a user device can switch between the layers, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844