DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 09/03/2025
Claims 1, 5, 10 and 13 have been amended
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuchenbecker (US 3,014,632) in view of Adams (US 10,183,777).
Claim 1. Kuchenbecker discloses a construct for providing divider features in the interior of a tray, the construct comprising:
a plurality of panels comprising at least one central panel 90, at least one bottom panel 93 foldably connected to the at least one central panel, and at least one divider panel 95 foldably connected to the at least one bottom panel (fig. 7); and
divider features comprising at least one divider wall 94 extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel and comprising the at least one divider panel (col. 3, ll. 1-37).
Kuchenbecker fails to disclose a connector panel. Adams teaches at least one connector panel 38, 44 foldably connected along a fold line 92 to each of the at least one central panel 34 and the at least one divider panel 32a (fig. 6-7, 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the divider panel of Kuchenbecher to include the connector panels of Adams to assist in further stabilizing the divider panel when placed on a pallet for display.
Claim 2. Kuchenbecker-Adams discloses the construct of claim 1, wherein the at least one divider panel 95 is a first divider panel foldably connected to the at least one bottom panel, the plurality of panels further comprises a second divider panel 98 foldably connected to the at least one bottom panel, the at least one divider wall is a first divider wall extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel, and the divider features further comprise a second divider wall @102 extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel and comprising the second divider panel (Kuchenbecker; fig. 7).
Claim 3. Kuchenbecker-Adams discloses the construct of claim 2, wherein the divider features further comprise a third divider wall @100 extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel and comprising the at least one central panel (Kuchenbecker; col. 3, ll. 18-35).
Claim 4. Kuchenbecker-Adams discloses the construct of claim 3, wherein the first divider panel and the second divider panel are arranged in generally perpendicular relation to each of the at least one bottom panel and the at least one central panel (Kuchenbecker; fig. 7).
Claim 10. Kuchenbecker discloses a blank for providing divider features in the interior of a tray, the construct comprising:
a plurality of panels comprising at least one central panel 90, at least one bottom panel 93 foldably connected to the at least one central panel, at least one divider panel 95 foldably connected to the at least one bottom panel (fig. 7); and
divider features comprising at least one divider wall 94 extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel and comprising the at least one divider wall of the construct formed from the blank (col. 3, ll. 1-37).
Kuchenbecker fails to disclose a connector panel. Adams teaches at least one connector panel 38, 44 foldably connected along a fold line 92 to each of the at least one central panel 34 and the at least one divider panel 32a (fig. 6-7, 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the divider panel of Kuchenbecher to include the connector panels of Adams to assist in further stabilizing the divider panel when placed on a pallet for display.
Claim 11. Kuchenbecker-Adams discloses the blank of claim 10, wherein the at least one divider panel is a first divider panel 95 foldably connected to the at least one bottom panel, the plurality of panels further comprises a second divider panel 98 foldably connected to the at least one bottom panel, the at least one divider wall is a first divider wall for being formed by the first divider panel and extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel when the construct is formed from the blank, and the plurality of panels further comprises a second divider panel for forming a second divider wall @102 extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel when the construct is formed from the blank (Kuchenbecker; fig. 7).
Claim 12. Kuchenbecker-Adams discloses the blank of claim 11, wherein the at least one central panel is for forming a third divider wall @100 extending upwardly from the at least one bottom panel when the construct is formed from the blank (Kuchenbecker; col. 3, ll. 18-35).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735