DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claims 1,2,8,9,15,16 recites the generic place holder, “control apparatus” followed by functional limitation without reciting structure to perform the functional limitation. To find support for structure examiner looked in to [0033] and [0071] of the specification where it is recited the control apparatus is a smart meter with switch controlling flow of electricity on the electric wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP39 (JP2010284039A). The reference teaches the claimed invention with words different from the words recited on the claims. That is why the reference anticipate the claims instead of clearly anticipating the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1 JP39 anticipates, a management server (power supply management server, [0007]) comprising:
at least one memory configured to store one or more instructions (a server1 is a computer having memory and processors for processing and managing data and instructions, [0007]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions (a server is a computer having memory and processors for processing and managing data and instructions, [0007]) to:
acquire, from a user terminal (mobile communication terminal used by the user to provide power usage request to the power management server, [0007]), apparatus specifying information specifying a control apparatus (switch units controlled by the control unit) that controls power supply to an outlet (in the power usage request, the user specifies the outlet the user wants to use for charging along with user’s identification information. The control unit can determine the corresponding switch unit associated with the requested outlet, [0007]); and
execute processing of controlling the control apparatus specified by the apparatus specifying information (“…upon receiving the control request from the power supply management server, controls the opening and closing of the switch units so that power is supplied from the outlet corresponding to the outlet identification information included in the control request…”, [0007]).
JP39 teach:
The power supply system according to the present invention comprises a power output
device capable of outputting power supplied from a plurality of (M) power lines from a
plurality of (N) outlets, a power supply management server that manages the power supply from the power output device, and a user management server that manages users of a mobile communication terminal, wherein the power supply management server comprises a communication unit for communicating with the power output device, the mobile communication terminal, and the user management server, and a control unit that, when it receives a power usage request from the user's mobile communication terminal including user identification information that identifies the user and outlet identification information that identifies the outlet used by the user, transmits a control request to the power output device to supply power from the outlet corresponding to the outlet identification information, and the power output device is the plurality of power lines The system comprises a plurality of (M x N) switch units provided between each of the plurality of outlets, a communication unit for communicating with the power supply management server, and a control unit that, upon receiving the control request from the power supply management server, controls the opening and closing of the switch units so that power is supplied from the outlet corresponding to the outlet identification information included in the control request, and controls the system to transmit power usage information regarding the use of power supplied from the outlet to the user management server. The user management server comprises a storage unit for storing user information, a communication unit for communicating with the
power supply management server, and a billing processing unit that performs billing
processing for the usage fee of power supplied from the outlet based on the usage
information received from the power supply management server. In this power supply system, when the power supply management server receives a power usage request from a mobile communication terminal that includes user identification information to identify the user and outlet identification information for the outlet to be used, it performs user authentication processing based on the user identification information and
sends a control request to the power output device to supply power from the outlet
corresponding to the outlet identification information. The power output device controls multiple (M × N) switch units installed between each of the multiple (M) power lines and each of the multiple (N) outlets, so that power is supplied from the outlet corresponding to the outlet containing the outlet identification information included in the control request received from the power supply management server. This ensures that power is supplied to the user's designated power outlet from the power outlet specified by the user. Furthermore, the power output device transmits power usage information regarding the use of power supplied from the outlet to the user management server, thereby charging the user for the power used.
Regarding claim 2, JP39 anticipates, the management server according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions (a power supply management server is a computer having memory and processors for processing and managing data and instructions, [0007]) to transmit a request for starting power supply to the outlet to a control system that controls the control apparatus specified by the apparatus specifying information (upon reeving power usage request from the user, after user authentication, the power supply management server sends the control request to the power output device controlled by a control unit (control system controlling the control apparatus) to supply power from the outlet identified on the power usage request, [0007]).
Regarding claim 8, JP39 teach the claimed management server. Therefore it teaches the management method performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, JP39 teach the claimed management server. Therefore it teaches the management method performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, JP39 teaches a management server with built in different types of memories and processors storing and running programs to process and manage data and instructions. Therefore it teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer ( management server) performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, JP39 teaches a management server with built in different types of memories and processors storing and running programs to process and manage data and instructions. Therefore it teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer (management server) performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5,10-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over JP39 (JP2010284039A) in view of Shin et al. (US 20190381903 A1).
Regarding claim 3, JP39 teaches the management server according to claim 2.
JP39 does not teach the details of acquiring the charging-content specifying information specifying a power amount to be charged, a time required for executing charging processing, or an amount of money to be paid in charging processing, and transmit, to the control system, control content information indicating a charging power
amount or a charging time determined by the charging-content specifying information. However JP39 teaches in [0007] that the power supply management receives the power usage request from the user where the request includes outlet information and user information but nothing related to amount to be charged or time required for charging is specified. After charging is complete, the power supply device sends the power usage information (power used for charging)and time taken information to the power supply management server which determines the power usage and the corresponding billing amount to be charged to the user. All these happens after charging is complete that is the control system transmits the charging power usage and time taken to charge to the power supply management server.
Shin et al. teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions (server managing vehicle charging process has processors, [0094]) to acquire charging-content specifying information specifying a power amount to be charged (the server receives an entry request from a vehicle for charging. The entry request includes the vehicle’s desired amount to be charged and the also the designated charging start and end points at which the vehicle will enter for charging and leave after charging is complete. The server can determine the time it will take to charge based on the charge amount requested and the designated charging start and end points of the vehicle, [0146] and [0153]), a time required for executing charging processing, or an amount of money to be paid in charging processing (based on the requested charging amount and the vehicle’s designated specific charging start point and charging end point, the server can determine the time it will take to charge the vehicle, [0146] and [0153]), and
transmit, to the control system (the server 100 acting as the control system for charging receives the entry request with desired charging amount and designated charging start and end points, [0153] and [0156]), control content information indicating a charging power amount or a charging time determined by the charging-content specifying information (based on information received from the vehicle entry request, the server 100 determines the target charging level and permits the vehicle to enter the charging lane to charge up to the determined target charging level. Once the target charging level is achieved, the server instructs the vehicle to exit the charging lane, [0153] and [0156]).
JP39 and Shin et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that electric vehicle charging.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the management server acquiring information related to control apparatus controlling power supply to an outlet and executing the controlling of the control apparatus as taught by JP39 by applying the known technique of also acquiring information about amount to be charged and time required for charging the vehicle based on the information received by the request as taught by Shin et al. as an improvement to the management server to yield predictable results for charging the vehicle up to the determined target charge level.
Shin et al. teach:
[0146] Referring to FIG. 12, the target vehicle 200 may designate a forward specific point as the charging start point 10a and designate a further forward specific point as the charging end point 10b.The target vehicle 200 may transmit the entry request signal, which includes the designated charging start point 10a and the designated charging end point 10b, to the server 100.
[0153] The target vehicle 200 may transmit the entry request signal for entering the charging lane 10 so as to charge the internal battery with only a predetermined amount. To this end, the target vehicle 200 may generate and transmit the entry request signal, which includes the target charging level, to the server 100. The server 100 may transmit the entry permission signal to the target vehicle 200 through the above-described process, and the target vehicle 200 may enter and drive in the charging lane 10.
[0156] As the target vehicle 200 drives in the charging lane 10, the battery power level may gradually increase, and, when the battery power level reaches the target charging level2, the server 100 may transmit an exit request signal to the target vehicle 200 (S440). Here, the exit request signal may be a predetermined signal for guiding the target vehicle 200 to exit from the charging lane 10 to the general lane 20. The exit request signal may include a charging completion message which indicates that
charging is completed.
Regarding claim 4, combination of JP39 and Shin et al. teach the management server according to claim 3. In addition JP39 teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to
start power supply to the outlet according to the request (“…upon receiving the control request from the power supply management server, controls the opening and closing of the switch units so that power is supplied from the outlet
corresponding to the outlet identification information included in the control request, and controls the system to transmit power usage information regarding the use of power supplied from the outlet to the user management server...”, [0007]),
stop power supply to the outlet according to completion of charging processing indicated by the control content information (when the control unit detects the power supply to the designated outlet has stopped that is charging is complete, the switch is opened for a confirmed stop of supplying power to the outlet, [0007] and [0008]),
acquire discrimination information of a user (the power supply management server receives user information requesting to charge and the user management server in communication with power supply management server receives the vehicle power usage information for charging from the control unit controlling the power output device, [0007] and [0008]),
acquire, from the control system, a measurement value of a power use amount via the outlet during a period from start of power supply to the outlet to stop of power supply to the outlet (control unit transmitting the power usage information regarding the use of power supplied from the outlet to the user to the user management server in communication with the power supply management server, [0007] and [0008]), and
execute, based on the acquired measurement value, settlement processing for the user (based on the power usage information, the power supply management server in communication with billing server determines the usage fee of power supplied to the user based on the received usage information, [0007]-[0009], see also [0013]).
Regarding claim 5, combination of JP39 and Shin et al. teach the management server according to claim 4. In addition JP39 teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions not to transmit, to the control system, discrimination information of the user (the switch on command signal from the control unit only includes the switch information for open/close and outlet ID as identified on the request from the user. The power output device or the control unit controlling the power output device does not receive any user information other than command for start charging or supplying power to the identified outlet. The power management server receives the user information and performs authentication and sends the permission signal for power supply to the control unit and the power supply device. That no discrimination user information is provided to the control system controlling the power supply, [0026] and [0007]).
Regarding claims 10-12, combination of JP39 and Shin et al. teach the claimed management server. Therefore together they teach the management method performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claims 3-5.
Regarding claims 17-19, combination of JP39 and Shin et al. teach a management server with built in different types of memories and processors storing and running programs to process and manage data and instructions. Therefore together they teach a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer (management server) performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claims 3-5.
Claim(s) 6,13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over JP39 (JP2010284039A) in view of Shin et al. (US 20190381903 A1) and Dalum (
US 20260008472 A1).
Regarding claim 6, combination of JP39 and Shin et al. teach the management server according to claim 4. In addition Shin et al. teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to acquire the
charging-content specifying information (the server with processors and memories as taught in [0094] receives an entry request from a vehicle for charging. The entry request includes the vehicle’s desired amount to be charged and also the designated charging start and end points at which the vehicle will enter for charging and leave after charging is complete. The server can determine the time it will take to charge based on the charge amount requested and the designated charging start and end points of the vehicle, [0146] and [0153]).
Neither in combination nor individually JP39 and Shin et al. teach the charging-content specifying information further specifying at least one of a power type and a
power supply source. However JP39 teaches the request includes information regarding charging outlet ID and charging usage time as taught in [0007] and [0024]. And Shin teaches the request includes charging level desired by the user.
Dalum teaches, the charging-content specifying information further specifying at least one of a power type and a power supply source (when requesting to charge, the user can select either to use 220-240V or 110-120V charging and select whether to use grid power or no external grid power for charging that is the user specifying the power type and power supply source when requesting for charging the vehicle, [0097] and [0098]).
JP39, Shin et al. and Dalum are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is vehicle charging.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the management server acquiring charging content information as taught by combination of JP39 and Shin et al. by applying the known technique of acquiring the information related to type of power source and power supply source from the user’s request as taught by Dalum as an improvement to the charging specifying content information to yield predictable results of charging the vehicle per user specified conditions.
Regarding claim 13, combination of JP39 and Shin et al. teach the claimed management server. Therefore together they teach the management method performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, combination of JP39 and Shin et al. teach a management server with built in different types of memories and processors storing and running programs to process and manage data and instructions. Therefore together they teach a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer (management server) performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over JP39 (JP2010284039A) in view of CN40 (CN111401640A).
Regarding claim 7, JP39 teaches the management server according to claim 1.
JP39 does not teach the details of wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine, based on supply and demand balance information indicating a temporal change of supply and demand balance of power, a time period for recommending charging of power of a first type, and transmit, to a user, advice information recommending charging in the time period.
CN40 teaches, wherein the processor3 is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine, based on supply and demand balance information indicating a temporal change of supply and demand balance of power (the charging station determines the load change trend based on current load and the predicted load change curve that is determining temporal change of supply and demand balance of power, [0018] and [0051]), a time period for recommending charging of power of a first type (optional extended charging plans having specified times for charging the vehicle-first type4, [0018] and [0051]), and
transmit, to a user, advice information recommending charging in the time period (the charging station recommends to the user optional extended charging time plans that is specifying certain times for charging based on the current load change trend, [0067]-[0069]5 and [0034]).
JP39 and CN40 are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is vehicle charging.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the management server managing charging of the vehicle as taught by JP39 by applying the known technique of determining a temporal change in supply and demand balance of power based on supply and demand information and a time period for recommending charging the vehicle and transmit to the user as taught by CN40 as an improvement to the management server managing vehicle charging to yield predictable results of guiding the user with instructions to charge the vehicle without causing load surge as taught by CN40 in [0036].
Regarding claim 14, combination of JP39 and CN40 teach the claimed management server. Therefore together they teach the management method performing the functional limitations of the management server as taught in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cruickshank (US 20210296897 A1) teaches a system and method to perform load shaping for a region based on regional supply and demand information to assist users to perform EV charging when determined suitable by the system and method as taught [0022]-[0025] and [0074].
Whitaker (US 20220414567 A1) teaches coordinating the charging of multiple vehicles based on user profiles and current load of each charging station as taught in [0016]-[0028].
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 It is inherent the server being a computer element has different types of memories and processors in addition to other hardware and software to quickly access active data, applications, and operating system instructions communicated in a network.
2 The server determines the target charging level based on entry request information which specifies a predetermined amount for charging and specified charging start and stop points. And based on the specified charging start and stop points, the server can determine the distance to be travelled. The server can also determine average speed of the vehicles as taught in [0149] in the charging lane to estimate the amount of time to be taken to charge the vehicle requesting to charge by using the formula speed = distance/time where speed and distance are known by the server. Also JP39 teaches in [0039] that request from the user also includes charging usage time that is for how long the user is willing to charge the vehicle for.
3 Server with processor and memories in view of JP39.
4 Claim has no definition of what is “a first type” means. In view of specification and the rest of the claim language examiner interpreted first type is a vehicle.
5 The claim did not mention the recommendation is done before charging or after charging the vehicle.