DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/11/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claims 1 and 20-22 have been considered, but are not persuasive. The new ground of rejection cites “claim 9 and para.10 and 125 of Amin US 20150322270” as teaching the amended claim limitations in claims 1 and 20-22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-14 and 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amin US 20150322270 in view of Kim US 2021/0286106.
1. Amin discloses an article, in at least figs.1-6, 27-32, 38 and 39 comprising: a substrate (110) comprising a first major surface (112), the first major surface comprising a first portion (central portion) and a second portion (edge portion) (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons, so that the edge portion of the substrate can be curved), wherein a first direction that is normal to the first portion of the first major surface is not the same as a second direction that is normal to the second portion of the first major surface (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons); and
an optical coating (120) disposed on both the first portion and the second portion of the first major surface, the optical coating forming an anti-reflective surface and comprising a total thickness (see tables 12 and 13),
the optical coating comprises a repeating period of a layer of a low refractive index material and a layer of a high refractive index material (see tables 12 and 13);
the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the first major surface that is within a range of from 150 nm to 250 nm (claim 9 and para.10 and 125 discloses at least one of the first low RI layer has an optical thickness in the range of from 2nm to 200nm or each of the first low RI layers have an optical thickness in the range from about 2nm to 200nm, which at least includes the range 150nm to 200nm, so that the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate can have the thickness in the range 150nm to 200nm);
wherein the total thickness of the optical coating (i) measured in the first direction normal to the first portion is less than 1000 nm (see tables 12 and 13); and
the optical coating disposed on the substrate exhibits a first surface reflected color characterized by International Commission on Illumination (“CIE”) L*a*b* color space values of: (i) a*, from −6.0 to +4.5, and (ii) b*, from −11.0 to +6.0, under illumination from CIE standard illuminant D65, at all viewing angles within a range of from 0 degrees to 10 degrees relative to a normal of the first major surface at both (i) the first portion and (ii) the second portion (see figs.27-32 and claim 24).
Amin does not explicitly disclose the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion.
Kim discloses an article, in at least figs.1-9, the total thickness of the optical coating (420, 520, 820 or 920) has a maximum value at the first portion (the flat surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910), and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion (the curved surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910) is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion (see figs.4C, 5, 8 and 9, the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is decreasing continually from the first portion, so that it includes the range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion as taught by Kim in the article of Amin for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance.
2. Amin in view of Kim discloses the optical coating disposed on the substrate exhibits a first surface reflected color characterized by International Commission on Illumination (“CIE”) L*a*b* color space values of: (i) a*, from −6.0 to +6.0, and (ii) b*, from −12.0 to +7.5, under illumination from CIE standard illuminant D65, at all viewing angles within a range of from 0 degrees to 90 degrees relative to a normal of the first major surface at both (i) the first portion and (ii) the second portion where the total thickness of the optical coating is within a range of from 75% to 90% of the maximum value of the total thickness (see figs.27-32 and claim 24) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract). The reason for combining is the same as claim 1.
3. Amin in view of Kim discloses the optical coating disposed on the substrate exhibits a first surface reflected color characterized by International Commission on Illumination (“CIE”) L*a*b* color space values of: (i) a*, from −6.0 to +2.0, and (ii) b*, from −12.0 to +4.0, under illumination from CIE standard illuminant D65, at all viewing angles within a range of from 0 degrees to 90 degrees relative to a normal of the first major surface at both (i) the first portion and (ii) the second portion where the total thickness of the optical coating is within a range of from 75% to 90% of the maximum value of the total thickness (see figs.29-32 and claim 24) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract). The reason for combining is the same as claim 1.
4. Amin in view of Kim discloses the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average photopic reflectance within a range of from 0.30% to 1.60% for any incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 30 degrees relative to a normal of the first major surface at both (i) the first portion and (ii) the second portion where the total thickness of the optical coating is within a range of from 75% to 90% of the maximum value of the total thickness (see figs.27-32 and para.90 and 91 and claim 24); and
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average photopic reflectance within a range of from 0.30% to 2.80% for any incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 45 degrees relative to a normal of the first major surface at both (i) the first portion and (ii) the second portion where the total thickness of the optical coating is such as within a range of from 75% to 90% of the maximum value of the total thickness (see figs.27-32 and para.90 and 91 and claim 24) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract). The reason for combining is the same as claim 1.
5. Amin discloses the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range of from 0.5% to 2.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 840 nm to 860 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see at least figs.29 and 30); and
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range from 1.0% to 5.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 930 nm to 950 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see at least figs.29 and 30).
6. Amin discloses the article at the optical coating exhibits, for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion, a first surface reflectance of: (i) less than 1.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 625 nm to 820 nm; (ii) less than 1.5% across an entire wavelength range of from 540 nm to 870 nm; and (iii) less than 2.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 440 nm to 900 nm (see fig.29).
7. Amin discloses the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average photopic reflectance within a range of from 0.70% to 1.50% for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see figs.27-32 and para.90 and 91 and claim 24).
8. Amin discloses for an incidence angle normal to the first portion, the article through the optical coating exhibits (i) a two surface average photopic transmittance within a range of from 94.5% to 95.5%, (ii) a two surface transmittance within a range of from 94.5% to 95.9% across an entire wavelength range of from 840 nm to 860 nm, and (iii) a two surface transmittance within a range of from 93.0% to 95.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 930 nm to 950 nm (see at least figs.29, 30, 38 and 39, para.89 and abstract, based on figs.38 and 39, figs.29 and 30 having more flat two surface average photopic transmittance for wavelength range of from 840nm to 950nm).
9. Amin discloses the optical coating comprises nine or less layers (see table 12);
the layer of the high refractive index material of the optical coating disposed furthest from the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the substrate that is greater than or equal to 100 nm (see table 12);
at least 50%, by thickness, of a 250 nm thick portion of the total thickness of the optical coating over the first portion that is disposed furthest from the substrate is high refractive index material (155/250=62%, see table 12); and
the total thickness of the optical coating disposed over the first portion of the substrate is within a range of from 320 nm to 750 nm (see table 12, when the closest low refractive index material with 57nm is replaced with the range of 150nm-200nm),
wherein each layer of high refractive index material of the optical coating comprises silicon nitride or silicon oxynitride (para.11 and 124 disclose each layer of high refractive index material can be SiNx, SiOxNy or SinAlvOxNy).
11. Amin discloses the thickness of the layer of high refractive index material disposed furthest from the substrate, over the first portion of the first major surface, is within a range of from 140 nm to 170 nm (167nm, see table 12).
12. Amin discloses the optical coating comprises:
a first layer (see claim 9 and para.10 and 125, second layer with 57nm is replaced with 150 nm-200 nm) disposed on the substrate, the first layer comprising (i) low refractive index material and (ii) a thickness within a range of from 150nm to 250nm on the first portion of the substrate (see table 12);
a second layer (first layer with 14 nm) disposed on the first layer, the second layer comprising (i) high refractive index material and (ii) a thickness within a range of from 10 nm to 25 nm on the first portion of the substrate (see table 12);
a third layer (fourth layer with 31 nm) disposed on the second layer, the third layer comprising (i) low refractive index material and (ii) a thickness within a range of from 30 nm to 50 nm on the first portion of the substrate (see table 12);
a fourth layer (fifth layer with 167 nm) disposed on the third layer, the fourth layer comprising (i) high refractive index material and (ii) a thickness within a range of from 100 nm to 250 nm on the first portion of the substrate (see table 12); and
a fifth layer (sixth layer with 95 nm) disposed on the fourth layer, the fifth layer comprising (i) low refractive index material and (ii) a thickness within a range of from 60 nm to 150 nm on the first portion of the substrate (see table 12).
Amin does not explicitly disclose the thicknesses of each of the first layer through the fifth layer are less on the second portion of the substrate than on the first portion of the substrate.
Kim discloses an article, in at least figs.1-9, the thicknesses of each of the first layer through the fifth layer are less on the second portion (the curved t surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910) of the substrate than on the first portion (the flat surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910) of the substrate for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thicknesses of each of the first layer through the fifth layer are less on the second portion of the substrate than on the first portion of the substrate as taught by Kim in the article of Amin for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance.
13. Amin discloses the thickness of the fourth layer on the first portion of the substrate is within a range of from 100 nm to 200 nm (167nm, see table 12).
14. Amin discloses the low refractive index material has a refractive index within a range of from 1.44 to 1.55 (see table 12); the high refractive index material has a refractive index within a range of from 1.8 to 2.5 (see table 12); and the number of layers of the optical coating is six or less (see table 12).
17. Amin in view of Kim discloses the substrate comprises a glass or glass-ceramic composition (para.97), and the substrate is chemically strengthened (para.97 and 101); the first portion of the first major surface of the substrate is substantially planar (para.98); and the second portion of the first major surface of the substrate is curved or faceted (para.98) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract). The reason for combining is the same as claim 1.
18. Amin discloses the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average photopic reflectance less than 1.6% for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 10 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see figs.29-32 and para.90 and 91 and claim 24);
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range of from 0.2% to 1.6% across an entire wavelength range of from 840 nm to 860 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 10 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see figs.29-32); and
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range from 0.2% to 2.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 930 nm to 950 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 10 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see figs.29-32).
19. Amin does not explicitly disclose the article is of a consumer electronic product, the consumer electronic product further comprising: a housing comprising a back surface and side surfaces; and electrical components at least partially housed within the housing, the electrical components comprising a controller, memory, a display, and a sensor, wherein the article and the housing cooperate to separate the electrical components from an environment external to the consumer electronic product, the display is configured to transmit visible electromagnetic radiation through the article to the environment external to the consumer electronic product, and the sensor is configured to detect electromagnetic radiation having a wavelength within a range of from 800 nm to 1000 nm that transmits through the article from the environment external to the sensor.
Kim discloses an article, in at least figs.1-9, the article is of a consumer electronic product (100), the consumer electronic product further comprising: a housing (320 with 380) comprising a back surface and side surfaces (see fig.3); and electrical components at least partially housed within the housing, the electrical components comprising a controller (para.33), memory (para.33), a display (330), and a sensor (104, 116 and 119, para.25 and 27), wherein the article and the housing cooperate to separate the electrical components from an environment external to the consumer electronic product (see figs.1-3), the display is configured to transmit visible electromagnetic radiation through the article to the environment external to the consumer electronic product (see figs.1-3), and the sensor is configured to detect electromagnetic radiation having a wavelength within a range of from 800 nm to 1000 nm that transmits through the article from the environment external to the sensor (see figs.1-7B, para.25 and 27) for the purpose of having a consumer electronic product with an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the article is of a consumer electronic product, the consumer electronic product further comprising: a housing comprising a back surface and side surfaces; and electrical components at least partially housed within the housing, the electrical components comprising a controller, memory, a display, and a sensor, wherein the article and the housing cooperate to separate the electrical components from an environment external to the consumer electronic product, the display is configured to transmit visible electromagnetic radiation through the article to the environment external to the consumer electronic product, and the sensor is configured to detect electromagnetic radiation having a wavelength within a range of from 800 nm to 1000 nm that transmits through the article from the environment external to the sensor as taught by Kim in the article of Amin for the purpose of having a consumer electronic product with an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance.
20. Amin discloses an article, in at least figs.1-6, and 27-32, comprising: a substrate (110) comprising a first major surface (112), the first major surface comprising a (central portion) and a second portion (edge portion) (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons, so that the edge portion of the substrate can be curved), wherein a first direction that is normal to the first portion is not the same as a second direction that is normal to the second portion (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons); and
an optical coating (120) disposed on both the first portion and the second portion of the first major surface, the optical coating forming an anti-reflective surface (see table 12) and comprising: a number of layers that comprise a repeating period of a layer of a low refractive index material and a layer of a high refractive index material (see table 12), wherein (i) the layer of the high refractive index material disposed furthest from the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the first major surface that is greater than or equal to 100 nm (see table 12) and (ii) at least 40%, by thickness, of a 250 nm thick portion of the total thickness of the optical coating over the first portion that is disposed furthest from the substrate is high refractive index material (see table 12); and a total thickness (i) measured in the first direction normal to the first portion that is within a range of from 320 nm to 1000 nm (see table 12),
wherein the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the first major surface that is within a range of from 150 nm to 250 nm (claim 9 and para.10 and 125 discloses at least one of the first low RI layer has an optical thickness in the range of from 2nm to 200nm or each of the first low RI layers have an optical thickness in the range from about 2nm to 200nm, which at least includes the range 150nm to 200nm, so that the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate can have the thickness in the range 150nm to 200nm).
Amin does not explicitly disclose the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion.
Kim discloses an article, in at least figs.1-9, the total thickness of the optical coating (420, 520, 820 or 920) has a maximum value at the first portion (the flat surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910), and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion (the curved surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910) is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion (see figs.4C, 5, 8 and 9, the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is decreasing continually from the first portion, so that it includes the range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion as taught by Kim in the article of Amin for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance.
21. Amin discloses an article, in at least figs.1-6, and 27-32, comprising: a substrate (110) comprising a first major surface (112), the first major surface comprising a (central portion) and a second portion (edge portion) (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons, so that the edge portion of the substrate can be curved), wherein a first direction that is normal to the first portion of the first major surface is not the same as a second direction that is normal to the second portion of the first major surface (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons, so that the edge portion of the substrate can be curved); and
an optical coating (120) disposed on both the first portion and the second portion of the first major surface, the optical coating forming an anti-reflective surface and comprising a total thickness (see tables 12 and 13),
wherein the optical coating comprises a repeating period of a layer of a low refractive index material and a layer of a high refractive index material (see tables 12 and 13);
the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the first major surface that is within a range of from 150 nm to 250 nm (claim 9 and para.10 and 125 discloses at least one of the first low RI layer has an optical thickness in the range of from 2nm to 200nm or each of the first low RI layers have an optical thickness in the range from about 2nm to 200nm, which at least includes the range 150nm to 200nm, so that the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate can have the thickness in the range 150nm to 200nm);
wherein the total thickness of the optical coating (i) measured in the first direction normal to the first portion is less than or equal to 800 nm (see tables 12 and 13);
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range of from 0.5% to 2.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 840 nm to 860 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see at least figs.29 and 30); and
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range from 1.0% to 5.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 930 nm to 950 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see at least figs.29 and 30);
wherein, the article at the optical coating exhibits a maximum hardness within in a range of from 8.5 GPa to 15 GPa (para.72 and abstract).
Amin does not explicitly disclose the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion.
Kim discloses an article, in at least figs.1-9, the total thickness of the optical coating (420, 520, 820 or 920) has a maximum value at the first portion (the flat surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910), and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion (the curved surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910) is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion (see figs.4C, 5, 8 and 9, the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is decreasing continually from the first portion, so that it includes the range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion as taught by Kim in the article of Amin for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance.
22. Amin discloses an article, in at least figs.1-6, and 27-32, comprising: a substrate (110) comprising a first major surface (112), the first major surface comprising a (central portion) and a second portion (edge portion) (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons, so that the edge portion of the substrate can be curved), wherein a first direction that is normal to the first portion of the first major surface is not the same as a second direction that is normal to the second portion of the first major surface (para.98 and 99 disclose a curved substrate and the physical thickness of the substrate may vary along one or more of its dimensions for aesthetic and/or functional reasons, so that the edge portion of the substrate can be curved); and
an optical coating (120) disposed on both the first portion and the second portion of the first major surface, the optical coating forming an anti-reflective surface and comprising a total thickness (see tables 12 and 13),
wherein the optical coating comprises a repeating period of a layer of a low refractive index material and a layer of a high refractive index material (see tables 12 and 13);
the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the first major surface that is within a range of from 150 nm to 250 nm (claim 9 and para.10 and 125 discloses at least one of the first low RI layer has an optical thickness in the range of from 2nm to 200nm or each of the first low RI layers have an optical thickness in the range from about 2nm to 200nm, which at least includes the range 150nm to 200nm, so that the layer of low refractive index material of the optical coating disposed closest to the substrate can have the thickness in the range 150nm to 200nm);
the total thickness of the optical coating (i) measured in the first direction normal to the first portion is less than or equal to 800 nm (see tables 12 and 13);
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average photopic reflectance less than 1.6% for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 10 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see figs.29-32 and para.90 and 91 and claim 24); and
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range of from 0.2% to 1.6% across an entire wavelength range of from 840 nm to 860 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see at least figs.29 and 30); and
the article at the optical coating exhibits a first surface average reflectance within a range from 0.2% to 2.0% across an entire wavelength range of from 930 nm to 950 nm for an incidence angle within a range of from 0 degrees to 6 degrees relative to a normal of the first portion (see at least figs.29 and 30);
wherein, the article at the optical coating exhibits a maximum hardness within in a range of from 8.5 GPa to 15 GPa (para.72 and abstract).
Amin does not explicitly disclose the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion.
Kim discloses an article, in at least figs.1-9, the total thickness of the optical coating (420, 520, 820 or 920) has a maximum value at the first portion (the flat surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910), and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion (the curved surface of 450, 510, 810 or 910) is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion (see figs.4C, 5, 8 and 9, the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is decreasing continually from the first portion, so that it includes the range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value) for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the total thickness of the optical coating has a maximum value at the first portion, and the total thickness measured in the second direction normal to the second portion is within a range of 75% to 90% of the maximum value measured in the first direction normal to the first portion as taught by Kim in the article of Amin for the purpose of forming an article with an antireflective coating with high transmittance and low reflectance.
23. Amin discloses the optical coating comprises nine or less layers (see table 12);
at least 50%, by thickness, of a 250 nm thick portion of the total thickness of the optical coating over the first portion that is disposed furthest from the substrate is high refractive index material (155/250=62%, see table 12); and
the total thickness of the optical coating disposed over the first portion of the substrate is within a range of from 320 nm to 750 nm (see table 12, when the closest low refractive index material with 57nm is replaced with the range of 150nm-200nm),
wherein each layer of high refractive index material of the optical coating comprises silicon nitride or silicon oxynitride (para.11 and 124 disclose each layer of high refractive index material can be SiNx, SiOxNy or SinAlvOxNy).
24. Amin discloses the optical coating comprises nine or less layers (see table 12);
the layer of the high refractive index material of the optical coating disposed furthest from the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the substrate that is greater than or equal to 100 nm (see table 12);
at least 50%, by thickness, of a 250 nm thick portion of the total thickness of the optical coating over the first portion that is disposed furthest from the substrate is high refractive index material (155/250=62%, see table 12); and
the total thickness of the optical coating disposed over the first portion of the substrate is within a range of from 320 nm to 750 nm (see table 12, when the closest low refractive index material with 57nm is replaced with the range of 150nm-200nm),
wherein each layer of high refractive index material of the optical coating comprises silicon nitride or silicon oxynitride (para.11 and 124 disclose each layer of high refractive index material can be SiNx, SiOxNy or SinAlvOxNy).
25. Amin discloses the optical coating comprises nine or less layers (see table 12);
the layer of the high refractive index material of the optical coating disposed furthest from the substrate has a thickness over the first portion of the substrate that is greater than or equal to 100 nm (see table 12);
at least 50%, by thickness, of a 250 nm thick portion of the total thickness of the optical coating over the first portion that is disposed furthest from the substrate is high refractive index material (155/250=62%, see table 12); and
the total thickness of the optical coating disposed over the first portion of the substrate is within a range of from 320 nm to 750 nm (see table 12, when the closest low refractive index material with 57nm is replaced with the range of 150nm-200nm),
wherein each layer of high refractive index material of the optical coating comprises silicon nitride or silicon oxynitride (para.11 and 124 disclose each layer of high refractive index material can be SiNx, SiOxNy or SinAlvOxNy).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim US 2021/0286106 (figs.1-9), Hart US 20210122671 (figs.1-8) can be a primary reference as well. Also, Hart US 20210122671 (para.101) discloses a thickness of the low refractive index material (14B) of the optical coating can be 50nm or greater, or 100nm or greater (para.101) as well.
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871