DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 12/8/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 2023200276196 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/24/2023 is being considered by the Examiner. Examiner notes that the publication date of the foreign reference CN 213106940 has been corrected according to the copy provided by Applicant.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the insertion block and first slot according to at least claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1:
a “movable blade holder” is recited, but a “movable cutter holder” is also recited; as best understood, these terms are intended to refer to the same structure and are being treated as such for purposes of examination. Examiner notes that claim terms should remain consistent to improve clarity.
a “fixed blade holder” is recited, but a “fixed cutter holder” is also recited; as best understood, these terms are intended to refer to the same structure and are being treated as such for purposes of examination. Examiner notes that claim terms should remain consistent to improve clarity.
Claim 2:
a “first mounting groove” is recited, but “two first mounting grooves” are also recited; only a first mounting groove has been positively claimed. If Applicant intends for two mounting grooves to be claimed, then a “first mounting groove” and a “second mounting groove” should be recited to differentiate the structures.
“mounting portions” are recited, but “the mounting portion” is also recited; it is unclear which mounting portion is being referred to. As best understood, it is interpreted that a “first mounting groove” is formed in a “first mounting portion”, and a “second mounting groove” is formed in a “second mounting portion”
“the insertion direction” lacks antecedent basis and should be amended to read “an insertion direction”
Claim 4: “a guide groove” is recited, but a “guide groove” has already been recited in claim 1. In view of the drawings, it is interpreted that the “guide groove” as recited in claim 4 refers to the same structure as the “guide groove” of claim 1, and has been treated as such for purposes of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20090144988) in view of Kruse (US 20200156271).
Regarding claim 1, Lau discloses a cutter head assembly with a guide structure, comprising: a bottom plate (spring holder 5; see fig. 4), a fixed blade (stationary blade 2; see fig. 4), a movable blade holder (movable blade holder 3; see fig. 4), a movable blade (movable blade 1; see fig. 4), and a torsion spring (spring means 4; see fig. 4), and the movable blade is arranged on the movable cutter holder (movable blade holder 3 is fastened to movable blade 1; see paragraph [0023] and fig. 3), wherein the torsion spring is fixedly mounted on the bottom plate or the fixed cutter holder (spring holder 5 comprises securing means 52 at a rear end which secures coiled portion 41 of spring means 4; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 4), wherein two ends of the torsion spring act on the movable cutter holder or the movable blade (movable blade holder 3 comprises two slots 51, which receive both segments 42 of spring means 4; see paragraph [0024] and figs. 3-4) to enable the movable blade to be attached to the fixed blade (segments 42 exert pressure on movable blade holder 3 so that movable blade 1 is biased towards stationary blade 2; see paragraph [0024]), wherein a transversely-arranged guide rod (driving shaft 511; see figs. 5 and 6) is fixedly mounted on the bottom plate (spring holder 5 comprises a pair of through holes 512 for receiving the middle portion of driving shaft 511; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 3, 5-6), and an end of the movable cutter holder corresponding to the movable blade is provided with a guide groove (movable blade holder 3 comprises a pair of hooked sections 514; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 3) interacting with the guide rod in a guiding manner (driving shaft 511 is received within the pair of hooked sections 514, which allows movable blade holder 3 to move in a lateral reciprocating manner along driving shaft 511; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 3), wherein a portion of the bottom plate corresponding to the movable cutter holder is provided with an avoidance groove (a portion of spring holder 5 comprises a cutout section that abuts movable blade holder 3; see annotated portion of fig. 5 below) for allowing the movable cutter holder to reciprocate transversely (the avoidance groove abuts movable blade holder 3 so that movable blade 1 may reciprocate transversely along driving shaft 511; see paragraph [0025] and annotated portion of fig. 5 below).
Lau does not explicitly disclose a fixed blade holder, and wherein the fixed cutter holder is slidably arranged on the bottom plate, the fixed blade is fixedly connected to the fixed cutter holder.
Kruse discloses a fixed blade holder (bracket 16; see fig. 4), and wherein the fixed cutter holder is slidably arranged on the bottom plate (as modified, bracket 16 is slidably arranged on the bottom plate via adjustment of lever 100; see paragraphs [0044-0049]), the fixed blade is fixedly connected to the fixed cutter holder (lower blade 12 is connected to bracket 16 via bolts 18, 20; see paragraph [0036] and fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lau in view of Kruse to include a fixed blade holder that is slidably arranged on the bottom plate. Lau discloses the opposite configuration, wherein the movable blade holder is slidably arranged via action of push lever 6 (see paragraphs [0026-0030]). The hair clipper of Kruse is designed such that the fixed blade (lower blade 12) is adjustable instead of the movable blade; i.e., Kruse discloses an equivalent configuration that results in the fixed blade holder being slidably arranged on the bottom plate. Kruse discloses that adjustment of the fixed blade holder (bracket 16) allows a user to adjust the cutting depth. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the adjustment of cutting depth corresponds to the length of hair to be cut, which is advantageous because it allows a user to selectively choose what length of hair to cut, thus providing more versatility.
Regarding claim 2, Lau as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Lau as modified further discloses wherein mounting portions are arranged on two sides of the bottom plate corresponding to the avoidance groove (a mounting portion is arranged on both sides of spring holder 5; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above), wherein a first mounting groove (through holes 512; see fig. 5) interacting with an end portion of the guide rod (through holes 512 interact with an end portion of driving shaft 511; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 5) is formed in the mounting portion (through holes 512 are arranged on each side of spring holder 5; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 5), wherein end surfaces of two first mounting grooves (the edge portion of through holes 512; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below) limit the guide rod to move in a direction perpendicular to the insertion direction (the edge portion of through holes 512 prevents movement in a direction other than the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), wherein a limiting protrusion is arranged on the mounting portion (locking tab 513 is arranged at least partially on the mounting portions; see figs. 5-6), and wherein the limiting protrusion limits the guide rod to move along the insertion direction (the front end of locking tab 513 abuts an underside of driving shaft 511, further limiting it so that it can only move in a transverse direction; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Lau as modified discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Lau as modified further discloses wherein an upper end of the limiting protrusion is provided with a guide inclined surface (see annotated portion of fig. 5 above) for allowing the guide rod to be inserted into the first mounting groove (locking tab 513 abuts an underside of driving shaft 511 when it is inserted into through holes 512, limiting driving shaft 511 from moving in a direction other than the transverse direction; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Lau as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Lau as modified further discloses wherein the end of the movable cutter holder corresponding to the guide rod is provided with a first mounting block (end portions of movable blade holder 3; see annotated portion of fig. 3 below), wherein the first mounting block is provided with a guide groove (the end portions of movable blade holder 3 comprise a pair of hooked sections 514; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 3) matched with the outer diameter of the guide rod (hooked sections 514 match with the outer diameter of driving shaft 511 since hooked sections 514 receive driving shaft 511; see paragraph [0025]), wherein the movable cutter holder is inserted into the guide rod through the guide groove and is capable of reciprocating transversely along the guide rod (driving shaft 511 is received within the pair of hooked sections 514, which allows movable blade holder 3 to move in a lateral reciprocating manner along driving shaft 511; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lau as modified discloses the limitations of claim 4 as described in the rejection above.
Lau as modified further discloses wherein a longitudinal section of the guide groove is configured to be a U-shaped structure (since driving shaft 511 is formed as a cylinder and hooked portions 514 are configured to receive it, it is understood that hooked portions 514 have a corresponding U-shaped structure; see paragraph [0025]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20090144988) in view of Kruse (US 20200156271), and further in view of Xie (CN 214818715) and Park (KR 101668754).
Regarding claim 6, Lau as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Lau as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein an oil storage groove is provided at an inner end of the movable cutter holder corresponding to the guide groove, wherein an oil storage sponge is arranged in the oil storage groove, wherein the guide rod is in contact with the oil storage sponge, wherein the oil storage sponge is prevented from falling off from the oil storage groove by the guide rod.
Xie discloses wherein an oil storage groove (oil storage groove 122; see fig. 2) is provided at an inner end of the movable cutter holder corresponding to the guide groove (oil storage groove 122 is formed on blade holder 12 at a location that also corresponds to sliding groove 121; see paragraph [0029] and fig. 2), wherein the guide rod is in contact with the oil storage sponge (as modified to include an oil storage sponge, sliding part 142, which corresponds to the guide rod, is in contact with the oil storage sponge; see paragraph [0029]), wherein the oil storage sponge is prevented from falling off from the oil storage groove by the guide rod (as modified, the sponge is unable to be removed from oil storage groove 122 due to the presence of sliding part 142; see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Lau in view of Xie to include an oil storage groove. Xie discloses that incorporating a lubricating system reduces friction between the sliding part and the sliding groove, thereby reducing wear and improving service life of the blade set. Further, such a configuration is inexpensive and easy to clean (see paragraph [0010]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that incorporating the same lubricating system into Lau as modified would yield the same improvements. Therefore, in order to reduce wear and increase the service life of the blade set, it would be obvious to incorporate an oil storage groove into Lau as modified.
Park discloses wherein an oil storage sponge (left and right blocking members 120, which are formed from an elastic sponge; see paragraph [0026] and fig. 3) is arranged in the oil storage groove (as modified, left and right blocking members 120 are located in the oil storage groove so that they may absorb and retain lubricating oil; see paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Lau in view of Park to include an oil storage sponge. Park discloses that the oil storage sponge (left and right blocking members 120) is formed of an elastic sponge which is able to retain and continuously supply oil to each side of the blades (see paragraph [0026]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Lau as modified would receive the same benefits if an oil sponge were to be added. That is, the inclusion of the sponge into the oil storage groove allows oil to be retained for a longer period of time, thus the blade set is kept lubricated even if a user does not add new oil. If the device of Lau as modified did not include an oil storage sponge, it can reasonably be assumed that the blade set would not be kept oiled for as long of a time, since there would be no element dedicated to retaining oil. Therefore, such a modification would be obvious in order to reduce wear and extend service life of the blade set.
Regarding claim 7, Lau as modified discloses the limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Park further discloses wherein when the oil storage sponge is not pressed, an outer end of the oil storage sponge extends out from the oil storage groove (left and right blocking members 120 are able to contract and relax in accordance with the reciprocating motion of movable blade 25. As modified, it is understood that left and right blocking members 120 would contract and relax during interaction with the guide rod, and as a result, would expand past the oil storage groove when no pressure is applied; see paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Lau in view of Park to make the oil storage sponge extend from the oil storage groove when not pressed. Park discloses that the oil storage sponge (left and right blocking members 120) is able to contract and relax in accordance with the reciprocating motion of the movable blade, and as a result, induce smooth operation during a change in direction of the movable blade (see paragraph [0026]). Since Park discloses an oil storage sponge that can contract and relax, it is understood that including it in the oil storage groove of Lau as modified would yield an oil storage sponge that extends out from the oil storage groove if no pressure is applied to it. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that ensuring the reciprocating blade is able to smoothly change direction would result in improved comfort for a user. Since Lau as modified would receive the same benefits, it would have been obvious to include an oil storage sponge as taught by Park.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20090144988) in view of Kruse (US 20200156271), and further in view of Wahl (US 2271053).
Regarding claim 8, Lau as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Lau as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein an insertion block is arranged at the end of the movable cutter holder corresponding to the guide rod, wherein the movable blade is provided with a first slot for interacting with the insertion block.
Wahl discloses wherein an insertion block is arranged at the end of the movable cutter holder corresponding to the guide rod (piece of felt 17 is arranged to extend to each end of cutter blade 10; see fig. 3), wherein the movable blade is provided with a first slot (recess 20; see fig. 3) for interacting with the insertion block (recess 20, in conjunction with recesses 15 and 16, secure piece of felt 17; see pg. 1, lines 32-49 and figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Lao in view of Wahl to include an insertion block and a corresponding slot. Wahl discloses that this slot (recess 20) can be used to secure a piece of felt which is lubricated with a low viscosity oil in order to lubricate the blades (see pg. 1, lines 32-55). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefits of lubricating the blade set including reduced wear due to lower friction, which ultimately leads to a longer service life. The device of Lau as modified would receive the same benefits if modified to have an insertion block and slot as taught by Wahl.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20150209969 to Sablatschan, drawn to a hair clipping device; and US 20190047163 to Lau, drawn to a sandwich-structured cutter and a hair trimmer.
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724