DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on July 6, 2026 has been reviewed.
Claims 1, 7, 13 and 17 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostafa et al. (US 2025/0031119 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mostafa, in view of Kolan (US 2025/0024315 A1), further in view of Cho et al. (US 2021/0105517 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang et al. (US 2017/0019806 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
With respect to claim 1, Mostafa teaches A method, comprising:
generating a classification associated with a device connected to a wireless network through a router (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067);
storing service details for the device (maintaining a list of ICCID values of cellular wireless access credentials, e.g., SIMs, cSIMs 208, and/or iSIMs, associated with the cellular wireless service subscription where determination that the one or more criteria for switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device 502 to the destination wireless device 504 are satisfied includes receiving a selection of the destination wireless device 504, from the list of wireless devices 102, to which to switch the cellular wireless service subscription, para. 0079), wherein the service details correspond to expected wireless network quality of service to be provided by the wireless network to the device and corresponds to the classification (cellular context information can include: established data sessions, such as 5G protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and corresponding quality of service (QOS) flow(s) configuration and state variables, para. 0056; switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079);
obtaining a wireless network of service from the device (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079);
comparing (i) the wireless network of service with (ii) the service details corresponding to the classification associated with the device (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079); and
modifying wireless network of service for the device based on a delta (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079 [switching cellular wireless subscription is considered as modifying wireless network of service for the device based on the delta or difference]),
Mostafa does not explicitly teach
obtaining a current wireless network quality of service from the device;
comparing (i) the current wireless network of service with (ii) the service details associated with the device; and
modifying wireless network quality of service for the device,
However, Kolan teaches
obtaining a current wireless network quality of service from the device (the AF 702 can continue to monitor the current status of the network slice 502 according to existing 3GPP specifications, para. 0109);
comparing (i) the current wireless network of service with (ii) the service details associated with the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109); and
modifying wireless network quality of service for the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108),
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Mostafa in view of Kolan does not explicitly teach
identifying a delta by comparing (i) the current wireless network quality of service with (ii) the service details;
However, Cho teaches
identifying a delta by comparing (i) the current wireless network quality of service with (ii) the service details (for high quality of service (QoS), a current network state may be estimated and a near future network state may be estimated using previous data; the current network state represented using the estimated bandwidth and the transmission buffer configuration and the future network state may be represented using the network stability, the bandwidth delta amplitude, the bandwidth delta, and the bandwidth delta confidence, para. 0068-0069) in order to achieve quality improvement as taught by Cho (para. 0032);
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cho to the method of Mostafa in view of Kolan in order to achieve quality improvement as taught by Cho (para. 0032).
Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho does not explicitly teach
wherein the modifying comprises (i) determining, by a quality of service rules engine, whether to adjust at least one of a wireless network quality of service of a router or one or more slice key performance indicators of a network slice and (ii) instructing, by the quality of service rules engine, a quality of service controller based upon the delta.
However, Huang does not explicitly teach
wherein the modifying comprises (i) determining, by a quality of service rules engine, whether to adjust at least one of a wireless network quality of service of a router or one or more slice key performance indicators of a network slice (the router equipment judges whether the current local QoS strategy is a default QoS strategy; if the local QoS strategy is not a default QoS strategy, it indicates that the local QoS strategy of the router equipment is adjusted according to the preset QoS strategies of other applications; weighted calculation is performed on the preset QoS strategies of a plurality of applications in the application identity set to obtain an adjusted local QoS strategy, para. 0036) and (ii) instructing, by the quality of service rules engine, a quality of service controller based upon the delta (the router equipment provides a program in an application layer to receive the packet from the terminal equipment and parse the packet data to adjust the QoS strategy of the router equipment, para. 0022; the local QoS strategy of the router equipment is adjusted according to the preset QoS strategies of other applications, para. 0036) in order to improve the network QoS and provide preferable network quality of service for a plurality of applications at the same time as taught by Huang (para. 0023).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Huang to the method of Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho in order to improve the network QoS and provide preferable network quality of service for a plurality of applications at the same time as taught by Huang (para. 0023).
With respect to claim 3, Mostafa teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the classifying comprises:
identifying a device name of the device (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067); and
classifying the device as a single purpose device or a multipurpose device based upon the device name (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067; switching of cellular wireless service among wireless devices provides for flexible use of a common cellular wireless service subscription across different wireless devices under different conditions, a cellular wireless service subscription on a mobile cellular wireless device, such as an iPhone, can be switched to a cellular-capable wearable wireless device, such as an Apple Watch, when the wearable wireless device is being actively used, e.g., during an exercise routine, outside a range of a non-cellular wireless connection to the mobile cellular wireless device, para. 0045).
With respect to claim 4, Mostafa teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the classifying comprises:
accessing preconfigured device details from the device (the CSS software on the first wireless device 102A (and on the second wireless device 102B) can be updated to indicate that the second wireless device 102B is now associated with the cellular wireless service subscription, cellular subscription A; when switching the cellular wireless service subscription to the second wireless device 102B, the stored cellular wireless service subscription information can be used (at least in part) to assist with activating (changing the status to an active state) the cellular wireless service subscription, cellular subscription A, at the second wireless device 102B, para. 0065);
classifying the device as a single purpose device or a multipurpose device based upon the preconfigured device details (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067; switching of cellular wireless service among wireless devices provides for flexible use of a common cellular wireless service subscription across different wireless devices under different conditions, a cellular wireless service subscription on a mobile cellular wireless device, such as an iPhone, can be switched to a cellular-capable wearable wireless device, such as an Apple Watch, when the wearable wireless device is being actively used, e.g., during an exercise routine, outside a range of a non-cellular wireless connection to the mobile cellular wireless device, para. 0045);
Further Kolan teaches
accessing preconfigured device details and preconfigured quality of service information from the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109); and
utilizing the preconfigured quality of service information to derive the expected wireless network quality of service (session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 5, Mostafa teaches The method of claim 1, comprising:
in response to detecting a reconnection of the device, querying a (the originating wireless device 102A provides cellular context information to the destination wireless device 102B to allow the destination wireless device 102B to resume the cellular wireless connection previously severed by the originating wireless device; Cellular context information can include: i) non-access stratum (NAS) layer related information, ii) NAS layer security context information, e.g., keys, algorithms, NAS count values, iii) established data sessions, such as 5G protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and corresponding quality of service (QOS) flow(s) configuration and state variables, para. 0056).
With respect to claim 6, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches wherein the storing comprises:
populating a domain name service mapper with an entry for the device, within the entry is populated with a destination IP address, an application identifier, an application type, and the expected wireless network quality of service (Traffic descriptor Description includes OSId and OSAppId(s), descriptors IP descriptors Destination IP 3 tuple(s) (IP address or IPv6 (NOTE 5) network prefix, Domain descriptors FQDN(s) or a regular expression which are used as a domain name matching criteria, para. 0130; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; for applications or services, the UEs 508 can use a different (possibly default) network slice 502; the SD field of the S-NSSAI can be used to indicate the service or application; the GSMA specifies application-based network slicing, where different network slices 502 are provisioned for different apps 506, para. 0162) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 7, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches wherein the modifying comprises:
pushing, by [[a]]the quality of service rule engine, quality of service values to [[a]]the quality of service controller based upon a predefined configuration from a device provider of the device, wherein the quality of service controller utilizes the quality of service values to modify the wireless network quality of service (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; The URSP rules includes traffic descriptors with OS Id and OS App Id components, and corresponding route selection descriptor information with network slices 502 to use, para. 0148) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 9, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches comprising:
populating the service details with a first expected slice quality of service for a first application served by the device and a second expected slice quality of service for a second application served by the device (the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; The URSP rules includes traffic descriptors with OS Id and OS App Id components, and corresponding route selection descriptor information with network slices 502 to use, para. 0148; the UEs 508 can use a different (possibly default) network slice 502. The SD field of the S-NSSAI can be used to indicate the service or application. The GSMA specifies application-based network slicing, where different network slices 502 are provisioned for different apps 506, para. 0162) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 10, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches comprising:
in response to determining that slice key performance indicators for the device are to be modified, determining whether a user of the device is subscribed for a slice through a unified data manager (when the Subscription Information contains only one S-NSSAI in UDR, the PCF needs not provision the UE with S-NSSAI in the Network Slice Selection information. The “match all” URSP rule has one S-NSSAI at most, para. 0131; the electronic device 300 can select a second device profile corresponding to a second network slice in response to identifying that the QoS required for the first application flows is not met; the selection of the second device profile can be based on (i) a capability of the second device profile to provide the QoS required for the first application flows and (ii) a presence of a second application instance corresponding to the first application instance, para. 0211); and
in response to the user being subscribed to the slice, updating network slice selection functionality based upon a proposal provided by an application provider of an application of the device (when the AF 702 sees that the current network slice 502 through which the user is engaging in the service is falling behind on service expectations, then the AF 702 can recommend the UE 508 to switch to a better network slice 502. When the UE 508 receives the recommendation from the network, UE MSH 612 may prompt the user to allow switching to alternate app instance associated with suggested network slice 502, para. 0108) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 11, Mostafa in view of Kolan, in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The method of claim 1 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches comprising:
in response to determining that slice key performance indicators for the device are to be modified, determining that a user of the device is subscribed for a slice through a unified data manager (when the Subscription Information contains only one S-NSSAI in UDR, the PCF needs not provision the UE with S-NSSAI in the Network Slice Selection information. The “match all” URSP rule has one S-NSSAI at most, para. 0131; the electronic device 300 can select a second device profile corresponding to a second network slice in response to identifying that the QoS required for the first application flows is not met; the selection of the second device profile can be based on (i) a capability of the second device profile to provide the QoS required for the first application flows and (ii) a presence of a second application instance corresponding to the first application instance, para. 0211); and
in response to determining that the slice key performance indicators can be modified without changing network slice selection functionality, pushing a configuration change to at least one of a policy control function, a session management function, or an access and mobility management function (URSP rules, provisioned by the PCF, as described in clause 6.6.2.2 of TS 23.503, can assist in traffic detection and route selection of appropriate network slice for application traffic in the UE 508, para. 0199; also see para. 0202) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 13, Mostafa teaches A system, comprising:
one or more processors configured for executing instructions to perform operations (processor(s), para. 0048) comprising:
generating a classification associated with a device connected to a wireless network through a router (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067);
storing service details for the device (maintaining a list of ICCID values of cellular wireless access credentials, e.g., SIMs, cSIMs 208, and/or iSIMs, associated with the cellular wireless service subscription where determination that the one or more criteria for switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device 502 to the destination wireless device 504 are satisfied includes receiving a selection of the destination wireless device 504, from the list of wireless devices 102, to which to switch the cellular wireless service subscription, para. 0079), wherein the service details correspond to expected wireless network quality of service to be provided by the wireless network to the device and corresponds to the classification (cellular context information can include: established data sessions, such as 5G protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and corresponding quality of service (QOS) flow(s) configuration and state variables, para. 0056; switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079);
obtaining a wireless network of service from the device (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079);
comparing (i) the wireless network of service with (ii) the service details corresponding to the classification associated with the device (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079); and
modifying wireless network of service for the device based on a delta (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079 [switching cellular wireless subscription is considered as modifying wireless network of service for the device based on the delta or difference]),
Mostafa does not explicitly teach
obtaining a current wireless network quality of service from the device;
comparing (i) the current wireless network of service with (ii) the service details associated with the device; and
modifying wireless network quality of service for the device.
However, Kolan teaches
obtaining a current wireless network quality of service from the device (the AF 702 can continue to monitor the current status of the network slice 502 according to existing 3GPP specifications, para. 0109);
comparing (i) the current wireless network of service with (ii) the service details associated with the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109); and
modifying wireless network quality of service for the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the system of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Mostafa in view of Kolan does not explicitly teach
identifying a delta by comparing (i) the current wireless network quality of service with (ii) the service details;
However, Cho teaches
identifying a delta by comparing (i) the current wireless network quality of service with (ii) the service details (for high quality of service (QoS), a current network state may be estimated and a near future network state may be estimated using previous data; the current network state represented using the estimated bandwidth and the transmission buffer configuration and the future network state may be represented using the network stability, the bandwidth delta amplitude, the bandwidth delta, and the bandwidth delta confidence, para. 0068-0069) in order to achieve quality improvement as taught by Cho (para. 0032);
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cho to the system of Mostafa in view of Kolan in order to achieve quality improvement as taught by Cho (para. 0032).
Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho does not explicitly teach
wherein the modifying comprises (i) determining, by a quality of service rules engine, whether to adjust at least one of a wireless network quality of service of a router or one or more slice key performance indicators of a network slice and (ii) instructing, by the quality of service rules engine, a quality of service controller based upon the delta.
However, Huang does not explicitly teach
wherein the modifying comprises (i) determining, by a quality of service rules engine, whether to adjust at least one of a wireless network quality of service of a router or one or more slice key performance indicators of a network slice (the router equipment judges whether the current local QoS strategy is a default QoS strategy; if the local QoS strategy is not a default QoS strategy, it indicates that the local QoS strategy of the router equipment is adjusted according to the preset QoS strategies of other applications; weighted calculation is performed on the preset QoS strategies of a plurality of applications in the application identity set to obtain an adjusted local QoS strategy, para. 0036) and (ii) instructing, by the quality of service rules engine, a quality of service controller based upon the delta (the router equipment provides a program in an application layer to receive the packet from the terminal equipment and parse the packet data to adjust the QoS strategy of the router equipment, para. 0022; the local QoS strategy of the router equipment is adjusted according to the preset QoS strategies of other applications, para. 0036) in order to improve the network QoS and provide preferable network quality of service for a plurality of applications at the same time as taught by Huang (para. 0023).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Huang to the system of Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho in order to improve the network QoS and provide preferable network quality of service for a plurality of applications at the same time as taught by Huang (para. 0023).
With respect to claim 14, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The system of claim 13 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches wherein the operations comprise:
receiving, by a quality of service controller hosted within the router, an application provider response to an application call from the device for a quality of service set for an application served by the device, wherein the application provider response defines the quality of service set (the 5GMSd aware application (AA) 608 is an application in the UE 508 (e.g., user app) that receives application service information from external 5GMSd application provider (AP) 610, para. 0087; to help facilitate service continuity for an app 506, the following procedure may be performed by the application provider, para. 0097; Application Provider indicates the slice identifiers of secondary slices that may send the outbound M5 requests on behalf of the primary slice. This value is a list of slice identifiers, para. 0119); and
in response to determining that the device is executing the application, applying the quality of service set at the router for the application (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the system of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 15, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The system of claim 13 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches wherein the operations comprise:
in response to determining that the device is executing a first application, applying a first quality of service set at the router for the first application (the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; The URSP rules includes traffic descriptors with OS Id and OS App Id components, and corresponding route selection descriptor information with network slices 502 to use, para. 0148; the UEs 508 can use a different (possibly default) network slice 502. The SD field of the S-NSSAI can be used to indicate the service or application. The GSMA specifies application-based network slicing, where different network slices 502 are provisioned for different apps 506, para. 0162); and
in response to receiving a notification from the device that the device has switched to executing a second application, applying a second quality of service set for the second application (the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; The URSP rules includes traffic descriptors with OS Id and OS App Id components, and corresponding route selection descriptor information with network slices 502 to use, para. 0148; the UEs 508 can use a different (possibly default) network slice 502. The SD field of the S-NSSAI can be used to indicate the service or application. The GSMA specifies application-based network slicing, where different network slices 502 are provisioned for different apps 506, para. 0162) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 16, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The system of claim 13 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches wherein the operations comprise:
receiving, by a domain name service mapper, a request for the expected wireless network quality of service (Traffic descriptor Description includes OSId and OSAppId(s), descriptors IP descriptors Destination IP 3 tuple(s) (IP address or IPv6 (NOTE 5) network prefix, Domain descriptors FQDN(s) or a regular expression which are used as a domain name matching criteria, para. 0130; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; for applications or services, the UEs 508 can use a different (possibly default) network slice 502; the SD field of the S-NSSAI can be used to indicate the service or application; the GSMA specifies application-based network slicing, where different network slices 502 are provisioned for different apps 506, para. 0162); and
providing the expected wireless network quality of service to an application served by the device for configuring the router to apply the expected wireless network quality of service for the application (the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; The URSP rules includes traffic descriptors with OS Id and OS App Id components, and corresponding route selection descriptor information with network slices 502 to use, para. 0148; the UEs 508 can use a different (possibly default) network slice 502. The SD field of the S-NSSAI can be used to indicate the service or application. The GSMA specifies application-based network slicing, where different network slices 502 are provisioned for different apps 506, para. 0162) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the method of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 17, Mostafa teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed facilitate performance of operations (non-transitory computer readable medium is any data storage device that can store data which can thereafter be read by a computer system, para. 0096) comprising:
generating a classification associated with a device connected to a wireless network through a router (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067) storing service details for the device (maintaining a list of ICCID values of cellular wireless access credentials, e.g., SIMs, cSIMs 208, and/or iSIMs, associated with the cellular wireless service subscription where determination that the one or more criteria for switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device 502 to the destination wireless device 504 are satisfied includes receiving a selection of the destination wireless device 504, from the list of wireless devices 102, to which to switch the cellular wireless service subscription, para. 0079), wherein the service details (i) correspond to expected wireless network quality of service to be provided by the wireless network to the device and (ii) correspond to the classification (cellular context information can include: established data sessions, such as 5G protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and corresponding quality of service (QOS) flow(s) configuration and state variables, para. 0056; switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079);
obtaining a wireless network of service from the device (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079);
comparing (i) the wireless network of service with (ii) the service details corresponding to the classification associated with the device (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079); and
modifying wireless network of service for the device based on a delta (switching the cellular wireless service subscription from the originating wireless device to the destination wireless device are satisfied comprises one or more of: i) the originating wireless device satisfies a critical thermal condition; ii) the originating wireless device and the destination wireless device satisfy a proximity distance threshold; iii) the destination wireless device is being worn; iv) a particular application is initiated on the destination wireless device; v) a battery level of the destination wireless device satisfies a battery level difference threshold relative to a corresponding battery level of the originating wireless device; vi) a maximum battery capacity of the destination wireless device exceeds a corresponding maximum battery capacity of the originating wireless device by a battery capacity difference threshold, para. 0079 [switching cellular wireless subscription is considered as modifying wireless network of service for the device based on the delta or difference]),
Mostafa does not explicitly teach
obtaining a current wireless network quality of service from the device;
comparing (i) the current wireless network of service with (ii) the service details associated with the device; and
modifying wireless network quality of service for the device.
However, Kolan teaches
obtaining a current wireless network quality of service from the device (the AF 702 can continue to monitor the current status of the network slice 502 according to existing 3GPP specifications, para. 0109);
comparing (i) the current wireless network of service with (ii) the service details associated with the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109); and
modifying wireless network quality of service for the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the medium of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Mostafa in view of Kolan does not explicitly teach
identifying a delta by comparing (i) the current wireless network quality of service with (ii) the service details;
However, Cho teaches
identifying a delta by comparing (i) the current wireless network quality of service with (ii) the service details (for high quality of service (QoS), a current network state may be estimated and a near future network state may be estimated using previous data; the current network state represented using the estimated bandwidth and the transmission buffer configuration and the future network state may be represented using the network stability, the bandwidth delta amplitude, the bandwidth delta, and the bandwidth delta confidence, para. 0068-0069) in order to achieve quality improvement as taught by Cho (para. 0032);
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cho to the medium of Mostafa in view of Kolan in order to achieve quality improvement as taught by Cho (para. 0032).
Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho does not explicitly teach
wherein the modifying comprises (i) determining, by a quality of service rules engine, whether to adjust at least one of a wireless network quality of service of a router or one or more slice key performance indicators of a network slice and (ii) instructing, by the quality of service rules engine, a quality of service controller based upon the delta.
However, Huang does not explicitly teach
wherein the modifying comprises (i) determining, by a quality of service rules engine, whether to adjust at least one of a wireless network quality of service of a router or one or more slice key performance indicators of a network slice (the router equipment judges whether the current local QoS strategy is a default QoS strategy; if the local QoS strategy is not a default QoS strategy, it indicates that the local QoS strategy of the router equipment is adjusted according to the preset QoS strategies of other applications; weighted calculation is performed on the preset QoS strategies of a plurality of applications in the application identity set to obtain an adjusted local QoS strategy, para. 0036) and (ii) instructing, by the quality of service rules engine, a quality of service controller based upon the delta (the router equipment provides a program in an application layer to receive the packet from the terminal equipment and parse the packet data to adjust the QoS strategy of the router equipment, para. 0022; the local QoS strategy of the router equipment is adjusted according to the preset QoS strategies of other applications, para. 0036) in order to improve the network QoS and provide preferable network quality of service for a plurality of applications at the same time as taught by Huang (para. 0023).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Huang to the medium of Mostafa in view of Kolan, and further in view of Cho in order to improve the network QoS and provide preferable network quality of service for a plurality of applications at the same time as taught by Huang (para. 0023).
With respect to claim 18, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches wherein the operations comprise:
dynamically changing quality of service provided to the device based upon an application call from an application currently executing on the device (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; The URSP rules includes traffic descriptors with OS Id and OS App Id components, and corresponding route selection descriptor information with network slices 502 to use, para. 0148) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the medium of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 19, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 as described above,
Further, Kolan teaches wherein the operations comprise:
pushing quality of service values to a quality of service controller based upon a predefined configuration from a device provider of the device, wherein the quality of service controller utilizes the quality of service values to modify the wireless network quality of service (when the performance of the current network slice 502 falls below expected QoS, the AF 702 can inform the UE MSH 612 that the current media streaming session is suffering because of network slice conditions, and provide a recommendation to switch to an alternate app instance in a different user or device profile 504 so traffic could be sent using a different network slice 502, para. 0109; session context information transferred from the current app instance in current profile 504 to an alternate app instance in a different user profile 504 whose network slice 502 is performing better than the current network slice 502, para. 0112; The URSP rules includes traffic descriptors with OS Id and OS App Id components, and corresponding route selection descriptor information with network slices 502 to use, para. 0148) in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kolan to the medium of Mostafa in order to facilitate automatic migration to a different app instance in a different user or device profile so the new app instance may deliver better user experience as taught by Kolan (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 20, Mostafa teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the classification comprises at least one of a device classification (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067), an application classification, an experience mode classification, temporal information, or location information.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostafa et al. (US 2025/0031119 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mostafa, in view of Kolan (US 2025/0024315 A1), further in view of Cho et al. (US 2021/0105517 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cho, and in view of Huang et al. (US 2017/0019806 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang, and in view of Riviello et al. (US 2020/0036716 A1), hereinafter referred to as Riviello, and furthermore in view of Chang et al. (US 2025/0039823 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chang.
With respect to claim 2, Mostafa teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the classifying comprises:
classifying the device as a single purpose device or a multipurpose device based upon the device details (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067; switching of cellular wireless service among wireless devices provides for flexible use of a common cellular wireless service subscription across different wireless devices under different conditions, a cellular wireless service subscription on a mobile cellular wireless device, such as an iPhone, can be switched to a cellular-capable wearable wireless device, such as an Apple Watch, when the wearable wireless device is being actively used, e.g., during an exercise routine, outside a range of a non-cellular wireless connection to the mobile cellular wireless device, para. 0045).
Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang does not explicitly teach
evaluating a media access control address of the device to identify a manufacturer of the device;
utilizing the media access control address to perform an application programming interface call to a service to obtain device details of the device; and
However, Riviello teaches
evaluating a media access control address of the device to identify the device (the API call comprise an indication of an address (e.g., MAC address, local IP address, etc.) associated with the user device 104; based on the API call, the network device 106 generate an indication that the user device 104 is attached to the network device 106 including the address associated with the user device 104 and a profile associated with the user device 104 which indicate one or more on-network services or one or more types of on-network services that the user device 104 is authorized to access, para. 0026);
utilizing the media access control address to perform an application programming interface call to a service to obtain device details of the device (the API call comprise an indication of an address (e.g., MAC address, local IP address, etc.) associated with the user device 104; based on the API call, the network device 106 generate an indication that the user device 104 is attached to the network device 106 including the address associated with the user device 104 and a profile associated with the user device 104 which indicate one or more on-network services or one or more types of on-network services that the user device 104 is authorized to access, para. 0026) in order to facilitate communication between the computing devices and the network device as taught by Riviello (para. 0014); and
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and in view of Huang, and furthermore in view of Riviello, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Riviello to the method of Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang in order to facilitate communication between the computing devices and the network device as taught by Riviello (para. 0014).
Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and in view of Huang, and furthermore in view of Riviello does not explicitly teach
evaluating a media access control address of the device to identify a manufacturer of the device;
However, Chang teaches
evaluating a media access control address of the device to identify a manufacturer of the device (the MAC address of a device can often be used to identify the manufacturer of the device, which may in turn be used to identify a type of the device, para. 0068) in order to identify a type of the device as taught by Chang (para. 0068);
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, and in view of Cho, further in view of Huang, and in view of Riviello, and furthermore in view of Chang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Chang to the medium of Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and in view of Huang, and furthermore in view of Riviello in order to identify a type of the device as taught by Chang (para. 0068).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostafa et al. (US 2025/0031119 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mostafa, in view of Kolan (US 2025/0024315 A1), further in view of Cho et al. (US 2021/0105517 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cho, and in view of Huang et al. (US 2017/0019806 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang, and furthermore in view of Pateromichelakis (US 2023/0284077 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Mostafa teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the device is classified as a multipurpose device (adding a new wireless device 102 to a cellular wireless service subscription; the cellular wireless service subscription information for cellular subscription A can include an access token, an MNO identifier value, a network identifier value, such as a mobile country code (MCC) value and a mobile network code (MNC) value, a phone number, such as a mobile station integrated services digital network (MSISDN) value, and/or a device type indicator, which can indicate a device type for which the cellular wireless service subscription information is applicable, para. 0067; switching of cellular wireless service among wireless devices provides for flexible use of a common cellular wireless service subscription across different wireless devices under different conditions, a cellular wireless service subscription on a mobile cellular wireless device, such as an iPhone, can be switched to a cellular-capable wearable wireless device, such as an Apple Watch, when the wearable wireless device is being actively used, e.g., during an exercise routine, outside a range of a non-cellular wireless connection to the mobile cellular wireless device, para. 0045), and
Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the method comprises:
performing end to end quality of service management for the device by modifying the wireless network quality of service for the device and modifying slice key performance indicators for the device.
However, Pateromichelakis teaches wherein the method comprises:
performing end to end quality of service management for the device by modifying the wireless network quality of service for the device and modifying slice key performance indicators for the device (the dynamic interaction between the 5GS operator and TSN system, for guaranteeing, by negotiating, the TSC service KPI (or application QoS parameters), subject to network/radio conditions changes, para. 0048; in response of receiving the trigger event, translating the change of network/application QoS conditions to an updated proposed TSN policy, to ensure meeting the stringent KPIs including 1) Update of TSN service attributes (survival time, mobility, TSC service area, automation level); 2) Update of TSN QoS attributes (e.g., requirement for new 5QI for the session), para. 0085; the mobility of the UEs/TSN Devices 201 reduced to allow for meeting the KPIs (e.g., in case of moving towards a congested area), para. 0089) in order to ensure meeting the KPIs as taught by Pateromichelakis (para. 0105).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and in view of Huang, and furthermore in view of Pateromichelakis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Pateromichelakis to the method of Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang in order to ensure meeting the KPIs as taught by Pateromichelakis (para. 0105).
With respect to claim 12, Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang teaches The method of claim 11 as described above,
Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang does not explicitly teach comprising:
updating a transport configuration for modification of the slice key performance indicators.
However, Pateromichelakis teaches comprising:
updating a transport configuration for modification of the slice key performance indicators (the dynamic interaction between the 5GS operator and TSN system, for guaranteeing, by negotiating, the TSC service KPI (or application QoS parameters), subject to network/radio conditions changes, para. 0048; in response of receiving the trigger event, translating the change of network/application QoS conditions to an updated proposed TSN policy, to ensure meeting the stringent KPIs including 1) Update of TSN service attributes (survival time, mobility, TSC service area, automation level); 2) Update of TSN QoS attributes (e.g., requirement for new 5QI for the session), para. 0085; the mobility of the UEs/TSN Devices 201 may be reduced to allow for meeting the KPIs (e.g., in case of moving towards a congested area), para. 0089) in order to ensure meeting the KPIs as taught by Pateromichelakis (para. 0105).
Therefore, based on Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and in view of Huang, and furthermore in view of Pateromichelakis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Pateromichelakis to the method of Mostafa in view of Kolan, further in view of Cho, and furthermore in view of Huang in order to ensure meeting the KPIs as taught by Pateromichelakis (para. 0105).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Contact Information
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
July 13, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447