DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks, filed August 18, 2026. The amendment, filed August 18, 2026, is acknowledged, wherein claims 1, 4 – 6, 8 – 9, 14, and 17 – 18 are amended and claims 3 and 16 are canceled.
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 15, and 17 – 20 are pending in this application and are currently examined.
Priority
This application is a domestic application, filed August 24, 2023, which claims benefit of provisional application 63/400,563, filed August 24, 2022.
Withdrawn Objections to Drawings
The objection of the drawings, in particular figures 6A – 6F and 7, in the previous Office Action, dated March 18, 2026, under 37 CFR 1.83(b) is withdrawn in view of the amended drawings.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 3 – 6 and 8 – 13 in the previous Office Action, dated March 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the canceled claim 3 and the amended claim 8.
The rejection of claims 3 – 6 and 8 – 13 in the previous Office Action, dated March 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the canceled claim 3 and the amended claim 8.
The rejection of claims 14 – 20 in the previous Office Action, dated March 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating an infection caused by SARS-CoV-2 in a patient, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of preventing an infection caused by SARS-CoV-2 in a patient has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 14.
The rejection of claims 1 – 2, 7, and 14 – 20 in the previous Office Action, dated March 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bertini et al. has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 1.
The rejection of claims 1 – 13 in the previous Office Action, dated March 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagy et al. in view of Bertini et al. has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 1.
The following are new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment, filed August 18, 2026, wherein claims 1, 4 – 6, 8 – 9, 14, and 17 – 18 are amended.
Maintained Objections to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(b) because they are incomplete.
37 CFR 1.83(b) reads as follows:
When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
The structures are blurry in figure 3.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed August 18, 2026, has been fully considered.
Regarding to the objection to the drawings, Applicant argues that the higher-resolution replacement sheets have been filed with the response. The replacement drawing sheets have been reviewed. However, the objection to figure 3 is maintained because figure 3 is still unclear. Accordingly, Applicant’s submission of a higher-resolution replacement sheets does not fully overcome the previously identified deficiency with respect to this drawing.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 – 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. (Thrombosis and Haemostasis, 2021, Vol. 121, Issue 07, page 944 – 954, PTO-892) with evidence provided by Carroll et al. (Thrombosis and Haemostasis, 2019, Vol. 17, Issue 1, page 31 – 38, PTO-892).
Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. teach a composition comprising sulodexide for use in patients with COVID-19 caused by SARS-CoV-2. In particular, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. state that sulodexide is a compound of two glycosaminoglycans (GAGs): a fast-moving heparin fraction (80%) and dermatan sulfate (20%) (page 945, Left Col., para. 3). Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. further teach administration of a sulodexide pharmaceutical composition by stating that patients receive 250 LRU masked capsules of sulodexide and that the indicated treatment dose is 500 LRU twice daily for three weeks (page 946, Left Col., para. 4). Thus, the sulodexide-containing capsules taught by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. correspond to the recited composition comprising one or more inhibitors and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, wherein the one or more inhibitors include sulodexide. In particular, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. explicitly identify sulodexide as the active material administered in the pharmaceutical composition, thereby addressing the claimed alternative requiring the one or more inhibitors to include sulodexide. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. teach use of the sulodexide composition in the SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 context. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. state that the study assesses sulodexide when used within 3 days of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) clinical onset and reports that participants receive sulodexide orally for 21 days. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. conclude that treatment of COVID-19 patients with sulodexide improves clinical outcomes (Abstract). Accordingly, the teaching of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. regarding administering a sulodexide-containing composition to COVID-19 patients addresses the recitation of a composition “for inhibiting SARS-CoV-2”. Moreover, because claim 1 is directed to a composition, the recitation “for inhibiting SARS-CoV-2” states the intended use or purpose of the recited composition and does not require a different composition from the sulodexide-containing composition taught by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al.
With respect to the recitation that the inhibitor is “configured to bind to spike protein (S-protein) of SARS-CoV-2”, the phrase defines the inhibitor in terms of its functional capability. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. explicitly teach the same recited inhibitor, which is sulodexide. Because Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. teach the same sulodexide recited in claim 1, the sulodexide of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. necessarily possesses the same inherent properties and functional capabilities as the claimed sulodexide. Accordingly, the capability of sulodexide to bind to the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein is inherently present in the sulodexide taught by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. Thus, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. address the limitation requiring an inhibitor “configured to bind to spike protein (S-protein) of SARS-CoV-2”.
Regarding claims 5 – 6, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. explicitly disclose sulodexide as the inhibitor-containing composition discussed above. Carroll et al. provide evidence of the known molecular weight characteristics of sulodexide, teaching that sulodexide comprises approximately 80% heparan sulfate, also known as fast-moving heparin, having an average molecular weight of approximately 7000 Da, and approximately 20% dermatan sulfate having a mean molecular weight of approximately 25,000 Da (page 31, Right Col., para. 3; page 32, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Carroll et al. establish that sulodexide comprises sulfated glycosaminoglycan fractions having molecular weights greater than about 5 kDa and greater than about 10 kDa. These molecular weight characteristics are properties of the sulodexide composition and do not require modifying the sulodexide disclosed by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. Because Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. disclose sulodexide, the molecular weight characteristics necessarily associated with its constituent glycosaminoglycan fractions are inherently present in the disclosed sulodexide. Therefore, the disclosure of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. with support from Carroll et al. address the limitations of claims 5 – 6.
For these reasons, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al., with evidence provided by Carroll et al., anticipates the claimed invention.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 8, and 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. (Thrombosis and Haemostasis, 2021, Vol. 121, Issue 07, page 944 – 954, PTO-892), with evidence provided by Carroll et al. (Thrombosis and Haemostasis, 2019, Vol. 17, Issue 1, page 31 – 38, PTO-892), in view of Harris et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, 2022, Vol. 2022, Issue 39, page 541 – 551, PTO-892).
Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. teach a composition comprising sulodexide for use in patients with COVID-19 caused by SARS-CoV-2. In particular, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. state that sulodexide is a compound of two glycosaminoglycans (GAGs): a fast-moving heparin fraction (80%) and dermatan sulfate (20%) (page 945, Left Col., para. 3). Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. further teach administration of a sulodexide pharmaceutical composition by stating that patients receive 250 LRU masked capsules of sulodexide and that the indicated treatment dose is 500 LRU twice daily for three weeks (page 946, Left Col., para. 4). Thus, the sulodexide-containing capsules taught by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. correspond to the recited composition comprising one or more inhibitors and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, wherein the one or more inhibitors include sulodexide. In particular, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. explicitly identify sulodexide as the active material administered in the pharmaceutical composition, thereby reading on the claimed alternative requiring the one or more inhibitors to include sulodexide. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. teach use of the sulodexide composition in the SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 context. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. state that the study assesses sulodexide when used within 3 days of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) clinical onset and reports that participants receive sulodexide orally for 21 days, wherein the participants are scheduled the earliest for blood tests and RT-PCR SARS-CoV-2 test to determine eligibility for the study. Thus, the study of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. involves identifying a SARS-CoV-2 infection in a participant, which corresponds to the limitation of claim 8. Moreover, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. conclude that treatment of COVID-19 patients with sulodexide improves clinical outcomes (Abstract). Accordingly, the teaching of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. regarding administering a sulodexide-containing composition to COVID-19 patients addresses the recitation of a composition “for inhibiting SARS-CoV-2”. Moreover, because claim 1 is directed to a composition, the recitation “for inhibiting SARS-CoV-2” states the intended use or purpose of the recited composition and does not require a different composition from the sulodexide-containing composition taught by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al.
However, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. do not explicitly teach that the inhibitor is “configured to bind spike protein (S-protein) of SARS-CoV-2” of claims 1 and 8. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. do not teach that the composition is formulated for nasal delivery.
Harris et al. teach intranasal administration of unfractionated heparin (UFH), a sulfated polysaccharide, for potential prophylaxis against COVID-19 (Abstract). Harris et al. explain that SARS-CoV-2 entry into host cells is initiated by interaction between the SARS-CoV-2 spike glycoprotein and heparan sulfate proteoglycans on host cell surfaces and that exogenously administered sulfated polysaccharides may disrupt viral entry by competing with cell surface heparan sulfate proteoglycans (page 542, Left Col., para. 2). Harris et al. further teach that because SARS-CoV-2 transmission is predominantly initiated by airborne infection of nasal tissues, it is reasonable to consider the design of potentially novel anti-SARS-CoV-2 agents, like UFH, for intranasal administration (page 542, Left Col., para. 3). Harris et al. demonstrate intranasal administration in human subjects using a nasal spray device, wherein UFH is administered for 14 days at doses up to 2000 U/day as one spray per nostril daily (Abstract; page 548, Left Col., para. 2). Harris et al. report that intranasal UFH is tolerable in human subjects and produces no clinical significant systemic distribution or effect on blood coagulation (page 548, Right Col., para. 1). Harris et al. further teach that intranasally administered heparin is retained in the nasal cavity following administration, wherein Harris et al. report a nasal cavity half-life of 39.34 minutes and that approximately 3.2% of the administered heparin remained in the nasal cavity 12 hours after administration (page 548, Left Col., para. 1). Harris et al. conclude that intranasal heparin may provide a high therapeutic window for preventing respiratory viral infections that utilize heparan sulfate as a co-receptor, including SARS-CoV-2 (page 550, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sulodexide composition and treatment taught by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. by formulating and administering the sulodexide intranasally in view of Harris et al. because such a modification constitutes the application of a known technique, which is intranasal administration of a sulfated glycosaminoglycan/polysaccharide, to a similar sulfated glycosaminoglycan composition used against the same disease, SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19, to obtain the predictable result of locally delivering the sulfated glycosaminoglycan to the nasal tissues associated with SARS-CoV-2 infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer the sulodexide of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. intranasally because Harris et al. teach a specific reason for locally administering sulfated polysaccharides to the nasal cavity in the SARS-CoV-2 context. Harris et al. teach that SARS-CoV-2 entry is initiated by interaction of the viral spike protein with heparan sulfate proteoglycans on host cell surfaces and that exogenously administered sulfated polysaccharides may disrupt viral entry by competing with cell surface heparan sulfate proteoglycans. Harris et al. further explain that because SARS-CoV-2 transmission is predominantly initiated by airborne infection of nasal tissues, it is reasonable to design anti-SARS-CoV-2 agent, such as sulfated polysaccharides, for intranasal administration. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have had reason to modify the route of administration of sulodexide of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. to an intranasal route in order to deliver the sulfated glycosaminoglycan directly to the nasal tissues associated with SARS-CoV-2 attachment and infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Harris et al. experimentally demonstrate that a sulfated glycosaminoglycan may be successfully formulated and administered intranasally. In particular, Harris et al. administer UFH solution to human subjects using a nasal spray device at doses up to 2000 U/day, including repeated daily intranasal administration for 14 days. Harris et al. report that the intranasally administered heparin is tolerable, with no clinically significant systemic distribution or effect on blood coagulation, and further demonstrate retention of heparin in the nasal cavity following administration. Thus, Harris et al. provide experimental evidence that a sulfated glycosaminoglycan may be successfully delivered and retained in the nasal cavity using a nasal spray, providing a reasonable expectation that the structurally related sulfated glycosaminoglycan composition of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. may be formulated and administered intranasally.
With respect to the recitation that the inhibitor is “configured to bind to spike protein (S-protein) of SARS-CoV-2”, the phrase defines the inhibitor in terms of its functional capability. Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. explicitly teach the same recited inhibitor, which is sulodexide. Because Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. teach the same sulodexide recited in claim 1, the sulodexide of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. necessarily possesses the same inherent properties and functional capabilities as the claimed sulodexide. Accordingly, the capability of sulodexide to bind to the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein is inherently present in the sulodexide taught by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. Thus, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. address the limitation requiring an inhibitor “configured to bind to spike protein (S-protein) of SARS-CoV-2”.
Regarding claims 10 – 11, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. explicitly disclose sulodexide as the inhibitor-containing composition discussed above. Carroll et al. provide evidence of the known molecular weight characteristics of sulodexide, teaching that sulodexide comprises approximately 80% heparan sulfate, also known as fast-moving heparin, having an average molecular weight of approximately 7000 Da, and approximately 20% dermatan sulfate having a mean molecular weight of approximately 25,000 Da (page 31, Right Col., para. 3; page 32, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Carroll et al. establish that sulodexide comprises sulfated glycosaminoglycan fractions having molecular weights greater than about 5 kDa and greater than about 10 kDa. These molecular weight characteristics are properties of the sulodexide composition and do not require modifying the sulodexide disclosed by Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. Because Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. disclose sulodexide, the molecular weight characteristics necessarily associated with its constituent glycosaminoglycan fractions are inherently present in the disclosed sulodexide. Therefore, the disclosure of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. with support from Carroll et al. read on the limitations of claims 10 – 11.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. (Thrombosis and Haemostasis, 2021, Vol. 121, Issue 07, page 944 – 954, PTO-892), with evidence provided by Carroll et al. (Thrombosis and Haemostasis, 2019, Vol. 17, Issue 1, page 31 – 38, PTO-892), in view of Harris et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, 2022, Vol. 2022, Issue 39, page 541 – 551, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1 – 2, 8, and 10 – 12 above, and further in view of Arnold et al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2002, Vol. 91, Issue 7, page 1707 – 1714, PTO-892).
The combined teachings of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. and Harris et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Harris et al. teach the method of claim 8, including intranasal administration of a sulfated glycosaminoglycan for treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Harris et al. further teach that intranasal administration provides therapeutically relevant concentrations of the sulfated glycosaminoglycan locally within the nasal cavity while producing little or no clinically significant systemic bioavailability, and identify the lack of systemic bioavailability as advantageous to the therapeutic window of the intranasally administered composition (page 550, Left Col., para. 1).
However, Gonzalez-Ochoa et al. and Harris et al. do not teach that the effective mount of the composition produces a peak plasma concentration in the patient of less than about 0.5 μg/mL.
Arnold et al. teach the nasal administration of low molecular weight heparins (LMWHs) and unfractionated heparin (UFH), formulated with or without the absorption enhancer tetradecylmaltoside (TDM), and determine systemic absorption by measuring plasma anti-Factor Xa activity as a surrogate marker of UFH and LMWH absorption. Arnold et al. teach that inclusion of TDM in nasal formulations containing LMWH resulted in a significant increase in the Cmax and area under the curve (AUC) of plasma anti-Factor Xa activity compared with LMWH formulated in saline alone (Abstract). In particular Arnold et al. report that nasally administered enoxaparin formulated in saline exhibits a Cmax of 0.07 ± 0.02 U/mL, whereas enoxaparin formulated with 0.25% TDM exhibits a Cmax of 0.46 ± 0.06 U/mL (page 1711, Table 1). Arnold et al. further teach that the absolute bioavailability of nasally administered enoxaparin is only 4.0 ± 0.4% in the absence of TDM and increased to 19 ± 2.5% in the presence of 0.25% TDM. Thus, Arnold et al. demonstrate that the formulation of an intranasally administered heparin may affect its systemic absorption, including its Cmax and bioavailability.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the dose and formulation of the intranasally administered sulodexide of Gonzalez-Ochoa et al., as modified by Harris et al., so as to maintain an effective amount locally within the nasal cavity while minimizing systemic exposure because Harris et al. provide motivation for such optimization by teaching that intranasally administered sulfated glycosaminoglycan may provide therapeutically relevant concentrations within the nasal cavity while exhibiting little or no clinically significant systemic bioavailability. Arnold et al. further demonstrate that systemic absorption following intranasal administration of heparins is affected by formulation, including that the presence or absence of an absorption enhancer significantly affects Cmax and bioavailability. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized systemic exposure, including Cmax, as a result-effective variable and would have been motivated to optimize the intranasal dose and formulation to reduce systemic exposure while retaining the desired local nasal effect. Determining a dose and formulation that provides a peak plasma concentration of less than about 0.5 μg/mL would have amounted to routine optimization of this known result-effective variable, with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teaching of Harris et al. that little or no clinically significant systemic bioavailability following intranasal administration and the demonstration of Arnold et al. that systemic absorption may be varied thought nasal formulation.
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 8 – 9, 14 – 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie et al. (Angewandte Chemie International Education, 2021, Vol. 60, Issue 29, page 15870 – 15878, PTO-892) in view of Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. (Journal of Dermatological Science, 2021, Vol. 103, Issue 1, page 25 – 32, PTO-892) and Harris et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, 2022, Vol. 2022, Issue 39, page 541 – 551, PTO-892).
Nie et al. teach that negatively charged polysulfates can bind to spike protein of SARS-CoV-2 via electrostatic interactions and that entry of SARS-CoV-2 into host cells can be blocked via such electrostatic interactions (Abstract). Nie et al. further teach that the receptor binding domain (RBD) of SARS-CoV-2 exhibits a patch of positive charges on its surface and that the essential role of electrostatic interactions in virus entry provides the principle mode of action for highly charged anionic inhibitors (page 15871, Left Col., para. 1). Nie et al. teach that positively charged patches can be a target for the design of viral-entry inhibitors and that inhibitors bound to the positively charged patches can interrupt ACE2 binding, leading to virus entry inhibition (page 15871, Right Col., para. 1). Nie et al. further teach that the presence of electrostatic interactions with cell surface heparan sulfate inspired testing of polysulfates for SARS-CoV-2 inhibition and that heparin-mimetic polymers with higher virus inhibitory activity and lower anticoagulant activity than heparin are needed for COVID treatment at an earlier stage (page 15872, Left Col., para. 2). Nie et al. additionally teach that increasing the degree of sulfation increases inhibitory activity and that the strong influence of sulfation on inhibition highlights the importance of the charge density of the inhibitor for virus binding (page 15872, Right Col., para. 4).
However, Nie et al. do not teach or suggest that the polysulfate inhibitor comprises mucopolysaccharide polysulfate (MPS). Nie et al. also do not explicitly teach identifying an individual as infected with SARS-CoV-2 prior to administering the inhibitor, nor do Nie et al. teach formulating or administering MPS for nasal delivery.
Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. teach that MPS is heparinoid and that MPS contains polysulfated chondroitin sulfate (ChS), a sulfated glycosaminoglycan (GAG) containing repeating units of N-acetyl-D-galactosamine and D-glucuronic acid (page 26, Left Col., para. 5). Thus, the MPS comprises a sulfated glycan having a plurality of repeating disaccharide subunits, as required by claim 14. Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. further teach that MPS, like heparin, has a higher content of sulfation motifs compared with hyaluronic acid (HA) and ChS, and explicitly teach that the negatively charged sulfated motifs in MPS promote electrostatic interactions with various proteins, including ligands and cell surface receptors (page 31, Left Col., para. 1).
Harris et al. teach intranasal administration of unfractionated heparin (UFH), a sulfated polysaccharide, for potential prophylaxis against COVID-19 (Abstract). Harris et al. explain that SARS-CoV-2 entry into host cells is initiated by interaction between the SARS-CoV-2 spike glycoprotein and heparan sulfate proteoglycans on host cell surfaces and that exogenously administered sulfated polysaccharides may disrupt viral entry by competing with cell surface heparan sulfate proteoglycans (page 542, Left Col., para. 2). Harris et al. further teach that because SARS-CoV-2 transmission is predominantly initiated by airborne infection of nasal tissues, it is reasonable to consider the design of potentially novel anti-SARS-CoV-2 agents, like UFH, for intranasal administration (page 542, Left Col., para. 3). Harris et al. demonstrate intranasal administration in human subjects using a nasal spray device, wherein UFH is administered for 14 days at doses up to 2000 U/day as one spray per nostril daily (Abstract; page 548, Left Col., para. 2). Harris et al. report that intranasal UFH is tolerable in human subjects and produces no clinical significant systemic distribution or effect on blood coagulation (page 548, Right Col., para. 1). Harris et al. further teach that intranasally administered heparin is retained in the nasal cavity following administration, wherein Harris et al. report a nasal cavity half-life of 39.34 minutes and that approximately 3.2% of the administered heparin remained in the nasal cavity 12 hours after administration (page 548, Left Col., para. 1). Harris et al. conclude that intranasal heparin may provide a high therapeutic window for preventing respiratory viral infections that utilize heparan sulfate as a co-receptor, including SARS-CoV-2 (page 550, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ MPS, as taught by Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al., as a polysulfate inhibitor for treating SARS-CoV-2 infection according to the teachings of Nie et al. because Nie et al. teach that negatively charged polysulfates bind to positively charged regions of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein through electrostatic interactions and thereby inhibit viral entry. Nie et al. further teach that increasing the degree of sulfation increases inhibitory activity, thereby identifying sulfation and charge density as important properties for virus binding, and explicitly indicate a need for heparin-mimetic polymers having antiviral activity for COVID-19 treatment. Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. teach that MPS is a heparinoid having a higher content of sulfation motifs, like heparin, and that the negatively charged sulfated motifs of MPS promote electrostatic interactions with proteins. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking a polysulfate having the properties identified by Nie et al. as favorable for SARS-CoV-2 inhibition would have been motivated to select MPS because MPS is known to possess the negatively charged, highly sulfated characteristics that Nie et al. identify as important for electrostatic interaction with the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using MPS because Nie et al. teach that increased sulfation and charge density promote polysulfate binding to the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein and inhibition of viral entry, while Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. establish that MPS possesses negatively charged sulfated motifs capable of promoting electrostatic interactions with proteins. Thus, the skilled artisan would have reasonably expected MPS to electrostatically interact with the positively charged regions of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein and thereby inhibit spike-mediated viral attachment or entry, providing the predictable result of inhibiting SARS-CoV-2 infection.
It would further have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the MPS SARS-CoV-2 inhibitor resulting from the combination of Nie et al. and Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. for intranasal administration in view of Harris et al. because Harris et al. teach that SARS-CoV-2 entry involves interaction of the viral spike protein with cell surface heparan sulfate proteoglycans and that exogenous sulfated polysaccharides may disrupt viral entry by competing with cell surface heparan sulfate. Harris et al. further teach that, because SARS-CoV-2 transmission begins in the nasal tissues, it is reasonable to consider intranasal administration of an anti-SARS-CoV-2 sulfated glycosaminoglycan, and demonstrate administration of unfractionated heparin directly to the nasal cavity by nasal spray. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the MPS inhibitor of Nie et al. as modified by Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. for nasal administration in order to deliver the sulfated glycosaminoglycan inhibitor directly to the nasal tissues where SARS-CoV-2 infection and transmission begin, thereby permitting local interference with spike-mediated viral attachment and entry. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Harris et al. demonstrate that a sulfated glycosaminoglycan may be formulated and safely administered intranasally by nasal spray and may remain locally available within the nasal cavity. Thus, applying the intranasal delivery approach taught by Harris et al. to the MPS inhibitor suggested by Nie et al. and Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. would have amounted to the application of a known delivery technique to a similar sulfated glycosaminoglycan inhibitor for the predictable result of providing the inhibitor locally at the nasal site of SARS-CoV-2 infection.
With respect to the limitation of identifying that the individual is infected with SARS-CoV-2, although Nie et al. do not explicitly disclose identifying an infected individual prior to treatment, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to identify that an individual is infected with SARS-CoV-2 prior to administering a treatment intended to treat SARS-CoV-2 infection. Nie et al. teach the therapeutic potential of polysulfates for treatment of COVID-10 and demonstrate inhibition of SARS-CoV-2 following infection. Thus, identifying that an individual has the disease for which the treatment is being administered would have constituted a routine preliminary step in determining that the individual is an appropriate recipient of the treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected such identification to permit the SARS-CoV-2 treatment to be appropriately directed to an individual having the infection intended to be treated.
Regarding claim 19, Harris et al. teach formulating a sulfated glycosaminoglycan for intranasal administration in a pharmaceutical formulation containing additional pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, such as saline. Accordingly, Harris et al. teach the use of pharmaceutically acceptable diluents, excipients, and/or carriers in a composition containing sulfated glycosaminoglycan. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to also formulate the MPS composition resulting from the combination of Nie et al. and Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient in order to provide MPS in a form suitable for pharmaceutical administration. Such use would have amounted to the application of conventional pharmaceutical formulation components for the known purpose, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an administrable MPS composition.
Claims 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie et al. (Angewandte Chemie International Education, 2021, Vol. 60, Issue 29, page 15870 – 15878, PTO-892) in view of Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. (Journal of Dermatological Science, 2021, Vol. 103, Issue 1, page 25 – 32, PTO-892) and Harris et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, 2022, Vol. 2022, Issue 39, page 541 – 551, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1 – 2, 4, 8 – 9, 14 – 15, and 19 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (Machine Translation of WO2021/107067A1).
The combined teachings of Nie et al., Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al., and Harris et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Nie et al. further teach that molecular size is an important parameter affecting the ability of a polysulfate inhibitor to bind to and inhibit SARS-CoV-2. In particular, Nie et al. compare highly sulfated LPGS inhibitors of different molecular sizes and teach that only polysulfates prepared from a 20 kDa starting polymer effectively inhibits the virus, whereas LPGS having a lower molecular weight shows no virus inhibition, which Nie et al. disclose the importance of inhibitor size for binding the spike protein (page 15872, Right Col., para. 5). Nie et al. further identify molecular weight as one of the structural parameters that influences SARS-CoV-2 binding and inhibition and teach that such parameters should be considered in the rational design of SARS-CoV-2 inhibitors (page 15876, Right Col., para. 2).
However, Nie et al., Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al., and Harris et al. do not explicitly teach the sulfated glycans have a molecular weight greater than about 5 kDa or 10 kDa.
Ueda et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising polysulfated mucopolysaccharide (page 1, para. 6). Ueda et al. teach that the molecular weight of the polysulfated mucopolysaccharide may vary depending on the type of polysaccharide and is not limited. Ueda et al. further teach that the polysulfated mucopolysaccharide preferably has an average molecular weight of about 15,000 to 1,000,000 (page 3, para. 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an MPS having a molecular weight within the ranges in view of Ueda et al. in the MPS composition suggested by the combined teachings of Nie et al. and Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. because Nie et al. explicitly teach that molecular size affects polysulfate binding to and inhibition of SARS-CoV-2 and that lower molecular weight LPGS shows no virus inhibition, thereby identifying molecular size as a parameter relevant to spike protein binding and SARS-CoV-2 inhibition. Ueda et al. provide known starting guidance for selecting the molecular weight of a polysulfated mucopolysaccharide, including a preferred average molecular weight of about 15,000 to 1,000,000. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to consider the molecular weight ranges taught by Ueda et al. because polysulfated mucopolysaccharides within such molecular weight ranges are known in the art for pharmaceutical use and has been used in the subjects, thereby providing known and suitable starting guidance for selecting the molecular weight of MPS. Moreover, Nie et al. teach that molecular size affects polysulfate binding to and inhibition of SARS-CoV-2 and that lower molecular weight LPGS shows no virus inhibition, thereby identifying molecular size as a parameter relevant to spike protein binding and SARS-CoV-2 inhibition. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to select and optimize the molecular weight of MPS within the known ranges taught by Ueda et al., including molecular weights greater than about 5 kDa and greater than about 10 kDa, in view of the teaching of Nie et al. that molecular size influences SARS-CoV-2 binding and inhibition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because MPS within the molecular weight guidance provided by Ueda et al. is known for pharmaceutical use, while Nie et al. demonstrate that molecular size is a relevant parameter for polysulfate-mediated spike protein binding and SARS-CoV-2 inhibition. Accordingly, selecting a known pharmaceutically usable MPS having a molecular weight within the ranges taught by Ueda et al. would have been expected to provide an MPS having a molecular size suitable for evaluation as the SARS-CoV-2 inhibitor suggested by Nie et al. and properties suitable for administration to a subject.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie et al. (Angewandte Chemie International Education, 2021, Vol. 60, Issue 29, page 15870 – 15878, PTO-892) in view of Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. (Journal of Dermatological Science, 2021, Vol. 103, Issue 1, page 25 – 32, PTO-892) and Harris et al. (Pharmaceutical Research, 2022, Vol. 2022, Issue 39, page 541 – 551, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1 – 2, 4, 8 – 9, 14 – 15, and 19 above, and further in view of Arnold et al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2002, Vol. 91, Issue 7, page 1707 – 1714, PTO-892).
The combined teachings of Nie et al., Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al., and Harris et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Harris et al. teach the method of intranasal administrating a sulfated glycosaminoglycan for treatment of SARS-CoV-2. Harris et al. further teach that intranasal administration provides therapeutically relevant concentrations of the sulfated glycosaminoglycan locally within the nasal cavity while producing little or no clinically significant systemic bioavailability, and identify the lack of systemic bioavailability as advantageous to the therapeutic window of the intranasally administered composition (page 550, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Harris et al. tach the desirability of providing a sulfated glycosaminoglycan locally at the site of SARS-CoV-2 infection while minimizing systemic exposure.
However, Nie et al., Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al., and Harris et al. do not teach that the effective amount of the composition produces a peak plasma concentration in the patient of less than about 0.5 μg/mL.
Arnold et al. teach the nasal administration of low molecular weight heparins (LMWHs) and unfractionated heparin (UFH), formulated with or without the absorption enhancer tetradecylmaltoside (TDM), and determine systemic absorption by measuring plasma anti-Factor Xa activity as a surrogate marker of UFH and LMWH absorption. Arnold et al. teach that inclusion of TDM in nasal formulations containing LMWH resulted in a significant increase in the Cmax and area under the curve (AUC) of plasma anti-Factor Xa activity compared with LMWH formulated in saline alone (Abstract). In particular Arnold et al. report that nasally administered enoxaparin formulated in saline exhibits a Cmax of 0.07 ± 0.02 U/mL, whereas enoxaparin formulated with 0.25% TDM exhibits a Cmax of 0.46 ± 0.06 U/mL (page 1711, Table 1). Arnold et al. further teach that the absolute bioavailability of nasally administered enoxaparin is only 4.0 ± 0.4% in the absence of TDM and increased to 19 ± 2.5% in the presence of 0.25% TDM. Thus, Arnold et al. demonstrate that the formulation of an intranasally administered heparin may affect its systemic absorption, including its Cmax and bioavailability.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and optimize the amount and formulation of the MPS composition suggested by Nie et al. and Fujiwara-Sumiyoshi et al. so as to provide effective local inhibition of SARS-CoV-2 while minimizing systemic exposure, as suggested by Harris et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the administered amount and formulation because Harris et al. teach the desirability of maintaining a sulfated glycosaminoglycan locally in the nasal cavity at potentially protective levels without clinically significant systemic exposure, while Arnold et al. establish that systemic exposure, including Cmax, following nasal administration of a sulfated glycosaminoglycan is affected by formulation conditions. Accordingly, determination of an administered amount and formulation that provides effective local antiviral activity while producing a low peak plasma concentration would have involved routine optimization of known treatment and formulation variables. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Harris et al. demonstrate that a sulfated glycosaminoglycan may be administered intranasally while remaining locally available without evidence of clinically significant systemic bioavailability, and Arnold et al. demonstrate that systemic exposure following nasal administration of sulfated glycosaminoglycans may be altered through formulation. Optimization of these known variables to minimize systemic exposure while retaining effective local administration would therefore have been predictably resulted in low systemic plasma concentrations, including a peak plasma concentration of less than about 0.5 μg/mL.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed August 18, 2026, have been fully considered. In view of the amendments to the claims, the previously presented rejections are withdrawn. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments directed to the merits of those rejections are moot.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693