DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW 111143783, filed on 11/16/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/24/2023 and 12/22/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11323082 by Huang et al.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a Class-D amplifier (Abstract), comprising:
a loop filter circuit (Fig. 1, 4 #101, 103) configured to generate a first signal according to a first input signal (V_ip) and a first output signal (V_op), generate a second signal according to a second input signal (V_in) and a second output signal (V_on), and adjust a common-mode level of each of the first signal and the second signal according to a first common-mode signal (Fig. 1, 4 signal FS; Col. 2 lines 33-40);
a comparator circuitry (Fig. 1, 4, 6 #105, 603) configured to compare the first signal with a ramp signal (Signal Tr) to generate a first pulse signal (PW_p), and compare the second signal with the ramp signal to generate a second pulse signal (PW_n), wherein a common-mode level of the ramp signal is set based on a second common-mode signal (Fig. 6, Fig. 8 signal FS being combined with V_cmi to generate signal V_cm which eventually becomes signal Tr; Col. 4 lines 44-50);
an output circuitry (Fig. 1, 4, 6 #107, 605) configured to be powered by a power supply voltage (PVdd) to generate the first output signal (V_op) according to the first pulse signal (PW_p) and to generate the second output signal (V_on) according to the second pulse signal (PW_n); and
a common-mode control circuitry (Fig. 4 #109, Fig. 6, 8 #607, 609) configured to perform an AC-coupling operation on the power supply voltage to generate a first noise signal (Fig. 4, 8 signal output from C_HP) and generate a first one of the first common-mode signal (FS signal) and the second common-mode signal according to the first noise signal and a second one of the first common-mode signal and the second common-mode signal (The common mode control circuitry is used to produce the FS signal and the Tr signal as shown in different figures of Huang. Col. 5 lines 41-49. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the different embodiments of Huang to achieve the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the Class-D amplifier of claim 1, wherein the common-mode control circuitry is configured to suppress a DC frequency component in the power supply voltage to generate the first noise signal (Fig. 4, 8 C_HP blocks DC frequency component).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches the Class-D amplifier of claim 1, wherein the comparator circuitry comprises a plurality of comparator circuits, the plurality of comparator circuits respectively generate the first pulse signal and the second pulse signal, and a negative input terminal of each of the plurality of comparator circuits receives the ramp signal (Fig. 4 CM_1 and CM_2).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches the Class-D amplifier of claim 1, further comprising:
a ramp wave generator circuit (Fig. 8 #611) configured to generate the ramp signal (Tr) and adjust the common-mode level of the ramp signal according to the second common-mode signal (V_cm).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches the Class-D amplifier of claim 1, wherein the loop filter circuit is configured to generate the first signal according to a difference between the first input signal and the first output signal, and generate the second signal according to a difference between the second input signal and the second output signal (Fig. 1, 4, 8 feedback path P_1 and P_2 feed the output signal back to the input and combine with V_ip and V_in to generate the first and second signal that is then fed into OP_1).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches the Class-D amplifier of claim 1, wherein the comparator circuitry (Fig. 3 #105) is configured to generate the first pulse signal (PW_p) and the second pulse signal (PW_n) that each have a correction signal component in response to the first one of the first common-mode signal and the second common-mode signal, in order to reduce an impact from a power noise in the power supply voltage on the first output signal and the second output signal (Col. 4 lines 4-20).
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches the Class-D amplifier of claim 1, wherein the comparator circuitry (Fig. 3, 4 #105, Fig. 8 #103)) comprises:
a first comparator circuit (CM_1) configured to compare the first signal with the ramp signal (Tr signal) to generate the first pulse signal (PW_p); and
a second comparator circuit (CM_2) configured to compare the second signal with the ramp signal (Tr signal) to generate the second pulse signal (PW_n).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches the class-D amplifier of claim 1, but doesn’t specify what type of circuitry is in the output circuit, only that it can be well known circuitry (Par. 15).
However, a first driver circuit and a second driver circuit that are powered by a power supply voltage and generate first and second output signals based on first and second pulse signals respectively are well known in the art, as shown in fig. 1 of US 20220278658 by Lesso et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAREH SHAMIRYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843