DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11, 14-16, 19-20, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolante et al (Pat Num 4,490,576, herein referred to as Bolante) in view of Smith (Pat Num 8,274,000). Bolante discloses a cable gland (Figs 1-5), which is capable of assembly quickly and easily both to the cable end and an electrical box, accommodates a relatively wide range of cable sizes while providing a reasonable seal between the electrical box and an outside environment (Col 1, lines 24-31), while mechanically and electrically secures the metallic sheath of the cable to the connector (Col 2, lines 46-48). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Bolante discloses a cable gland (10, Figs 1-5) comprising an entry component (12) including an inner surface (52) with an abutment (54, Col 3, lines 40-52), a backnut (16) removably attachable to the entry component (12, Col 4, lines 40-47), a cavity (34) extending through the entry component (12) and the backnut (16, Fig 1) and a grounding device (14) configured to rest against the abutment (54, Col 3, lines 40-52), wherein the grounding device (14) including an upper rim (60) configured to rest in a fixed position against the abutment (54, Col 3, lines 40-52), an intermediate portion (starting taper portion of 60 & 62) extends below the rim (60) with an inner edge (inside edge of 60, Fig 4), and a plurality of fingers (62) extending inward and downward from the inner edge (inside edge of 60, Fig 4), wherein the grounding device (14) is comprised of a conductive material (Col 3, lines 59-61) and wherein each of the plurality of fingers (62) are configured to flex outward to receive a cable (30) and maintain inward pressure on the cable (30) creating an electrical ground path from the cable (30) to the grounding device (14, Col 1, lines 40-60). With respect to claim 3, Bolante discloses that the cable gland (10) further comprising a seal (18) compressible in the cable gland (10) between the backnut (16) and the grounding device (14, Col 4, lines 12-26). With respect to claim 4, Bolante discloses that the cable gland (10), further comprises a washer (20) between the backnut (16) and the seal (18, Col 4, lines 27-34). With respect to claim 5, Bolante discloses that the cable gland (10), wherein the upper rim (60) has a flat lower surface for resting against the abutment (Figs 2-3). With respect to claim 6, Bolante discloses that each of the plurality of fingers (62) extends downward at an angle of at least 15 degrees with respect to a plane defined by the upper rim (60, Col 3, lines 64-68). With respect to claim 7, Bolante discloses that the cable gland (10), wherein the intermediate portion (starting taper portion of 60 & 62) includes an angled portion adjacent to the plurality of fingers (62, Fig 2). With respect to claim 8, Bawa discloses that the plurality of fingers (62) are substantially flat and has a length and a maximum width (Fig 4), wherein the length is greater than the maximum width (Fig 1, Col 3, lines 64-68). With respect to claim 11, Bolante discloses a grounding device (14) configured to rest against the abutment (54, Col 3, lines 40-52), wherein the grounding device (14) including a upper rim (60), an intermediate portion (starting taper portion of 60 & 62) radially inward of and below the upper rim (60, Fig 2) and defining an inner edge (inside edge of 60, Fig 4), a plurality of fingers (62) extending inward and downward from the inner edge (inside edge of 60, Fig 4), wherein the grounding device (14) is comprised of a conductive material (Col 3, lines 59-61), and wherein each of the plurality of fingers (62) are configured to flex outward to receive a cable (30) and maintain inward pressure on the cable (30) creating an electrical ground path from the cable (30) to the grounding device (14, Col 1, lines 40-60). With respect to claim 14, Bolante discloses that the intermediate portion (starting taper portion of 60 & 62) includes an angled portion adjacent to the plurality of fingers (62, Fig 2). With respect to claim 15, Bolante discloses that each of the plurality of fingers (62) extends downward at an angle of at least 15 degrees with respect to a plane defined by the rim (60, Col 3, lines 64-68). With respect to claim 16, Bolante discloses that the plurality of fingers (60) are substantially flat and has a length and a maximum width (Fig 1), wherein the length is greater than the maximum width (Fig 1, Col 4, lines 40-49). With respect to claim 19, Bolante discloses that the plurality of fingers (62) includes at least six fingers (Fig 4). With respect to claim 20, Bolante discloses that the upper rim (60) has a flat lower surface extending between the outer diameter of the upper rim (60) and the intermediate portion (starting taper portion of 60 & 62) for resting against the abutment (54, Col 3, lines 40-52). With respect to claim 22, Bolante discloses that the distant ends of the plurality of fingers (62) define an inner diameter (Fig 4), wherein the inner diameter increases upon receiving the cable (30, Col 1, lines 40-60).
However, Bolante doesn’t necessarily disclose the grounding device comprising an annular intermediate portion radially inward of the upper rim, nor the conductive material of the grounding device being comprised of spring steel (claim 1 & 11), nor the intermediate portion having an annular outer surface, below the flat lower surface of the upper rim and configured to engage against the inner surface of the entry component (claim 23), nor the intermediate portion having an annular outer surface between the flat lower surface of the upper rim (claim 24).
Smith teaches a cable gland (Figs 1-5) that is simple and easy to use (Col 1, lines 64-67), as well as being easily removable from an electrical metallic tubing (Col 2, lines 1-2), while providing a secure holder for the metallic tubing, and while also providing a good electrical continuity (i.e. ground) and relative low voltage drop across the electrical tubing (Col 2, lines 29-36). Specifically, with respect to claims 1 & 11, Smith teaches a cable gland (10) comprising an entry component (12) including an inner surface with an abutment (42, Col 3, lines 33-34), a backnut (28) removably attachable to the entry component (12, Fig 3), a cavity (32, 34) extending through the entry component (12) and the backnut (28), and a grounding device (20, as shown in Figs 4A-4D), wherein the grounding device (20) including an upper rim (44) configured to rest in a fixed position against the abutment (42), an annular intermediate portion (46) radially inward of the upper rim (44) with an inner edge (48) radially inward of and below the upper rim (40), and a plurality of fingers (50) extending inward and downward from an inner edge (48), wherein the grounding device (20) is comprised of a conductive material, such as spring steel (Col 4, lines 14-17). With respect to claims 23-24, Smith teaches that the intermediate portion (46) has an annular outer surface (Figs 4A-4D), below the flat lower surface of the upper rim (44) and configured to engage against the inner surface (42) of the entry component (12, Col 3, lines 53-67).
With respect to claims 1, 11, 23, and 24, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable gland of Bolante to comprise the grounding device to comprise an annular shape intermediate portion and being made of spring steel as taught by Smith because Smith teaches that such annular shape and material configuration provides a cable gland (Figs 1-5) that is simple and easy to use (Col 1, lines 64-67), as well as being easily removable from an electrical metallic tubing (Col 2, lines 1-2), while providing a secure holder for the metallic tubing, and while also providing a good electrical continuity (i.e. ground) and relative low voltage drop across the electrical tubing (Col 2, lines 29-36). and since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolante (Pat Num 4,490,576) in view of Smith (Pat Num 8,274,000), as applied to claims 1 , 8, 11, & 16 above (herein referred to as modified Bolante), further in view of Bawa et al (Pat Num 5,059,747, herein referred to as Bawa). Modified Bolante discloses a cable gland (Figs 1-5), which is capable of assembly quickly and easily both to the cable end and an electrical box, accommodates a relatively wide range of cable sizes while providing a reasonable seal between the electrical box and an outside environment (Col 1, lines 24-31), while mechanically and electrically secures the metallic sheath of the cable to the connector (Col 2, lines 46-48).
While modified Bolante discloses the plurality of fingers (62) having a width (Fig 4), modified Bolante doesn’t necessarily disclose that each of the plurality of fingers has the maximum width along a majority of its length and a second width at a base portion adjacent to the inner edge, wherein the second width being less than the maximum width (claims 9 & 17), nor the plurality of fingers having a concave distal end (claims 10 & 18).
Bawa teaches a cable gland (Figs 1-9), which mechanically and electrically secures the metallic sheath of the cable to the connector (Col 1, lines 5-13). Specifically, with respect to claims 9 & 17, Bawa teaches a cable gland (10, Figs 1-8) comprising an entry component (12) including an inner surface with an abutment (36, Col 3, lines 36-39), a backnut (18) removably attachable to the entry component (12, Col 3, lines 42-47), a cavity (34) extending through the entry component (12) and the backnut (18, Col 3, lines 29-36) and a grounding device (14) configured to rest against the abutment (36, Col 4, lines 44-49), wherein the grounding device (14) including a rim (42), an inner edge (Fig 3), and a plurality of fingers (60) extending inward and downward from the inner edge (Fig 1), wherein the grounding device (14) is comprised of a conductive material (Col 3, lines 16-19), wherein each of the plurality of fingers (60) has the maximum width along a majority of its length and a second width at a base portion adjacent to the inner edge (Fig 1), wherein the second width being less than the maximum width (Fig 1). With respect to claims 10 & 18, Bawa teaches that each of the plurality of fingers (60) has a concave distal end (located at 62, Fig 1 & 3).
With respect to claims 9-10 and 17-18, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable gland of modified Bolante to comprise the grounding device such that each of the plurality of fingers has the maximum width along a majority of its length and a second width at a base portion adjacent to the inner edge, wherein the second width being less than the maximum width, while the plurality of fingers have a concave distal end as taught by Bawa because Bawa teaches that such configuration provides a cable gland (Figs 1-9), which mechanically and electrically secures the metallic sheath of the cable to the connector (Col 1, lines 5-13) and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11, 14-20, and 22-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various cable glands for grounding electrical cables.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
December 19, 2025