DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites a “shortened structural ring”. It is unclear to what other structure the ring is being compared to be considered “shortened”. For examination purposes the shortened structural ring is assumed to extend a shorter distance from the lower outer surface of the filter body than the extended structural ring.
Claim 9 is rejected as depending from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. CN 113028100 in view of Yoshino et al. US 2014/0001113.
Claim 1, Lin teaches a replacement filter cartridge comprising: a hollow filter body (see below), having an open upper portion having an annular edge and a partially enclosed bottom portion with a fluid egress orifice (52) therein, a filter element (5) disposed within the hollow filter body, a filter element cover (at 51) configured to cover and secure the filter element, the filter element cover including depressions (51), the depressions form openings such that fluid can flow into the openings, through the filter element and out of the filter body through the fluid egress orifice (fig. 1-2, 8, 10). Lin does not teach the upper annular edge having a series of castellations or the depressions in the outer peripheral edge.
Lin teaches the housing (43) in which the filter cartridge is placed has castellations (contact bumps, see below) that contact the filter cartridge to allow fluid to flow to the inlet of the cartridge (paragraph spanning pg. 11-12). Providing the castellations on the filter cartridge would have been an obvious rearrangement of the parts taught by Lin such that the castellations are located on the cartridge rather than the housing so ensure proper spacing of the cartridge from the housing to allow fluid flow. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Lin teaches depressions in the element cover that form fluid flow openings but does not teach the depressions in an outer peripheral edge forming openings between an inner peripheral surface of the filter body.
Yoshino teaches a filter cartridge comprising a filter element (51) with a filter element cover (60) to secure a filter element, the filter element cover including depressions (64) in an outer peripheral edge, the depressions form openings between the depressions and an inner peripheral surface of a filter body (11) (fig. 1-4). Providing depressions in an outer peripheral edge of a filter element cover is known in the art, as demonstrated by Yoshino, and would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art as a way to provide fluid to flow between the filter element cover and the filter body such that the fluid can reach the filter element (par 33).
Claims 2 and 3, Lin further teaches the filter body has a cylindrical shape and an outer side of the filter body is smooth (fig. 1); and the castellations of Lin would be capable of engaging a tab on an inner upper surface of a filter housing (fig. 8).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. CN 113028100 in view of Yoshino et al. US 2014/0001113 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Tanner et al. US 9,004,290 and applicant’s admitted prior art (aapa) (fig. 1-4 of the instant application).
Lin further teaches an extended structural ring surrounding the egress orifice but does not teach a lower outer surface of the bottom portion of the filter body includes a plurality of radial ribs or a shortened structural ring.
Tanner teaches a filter cartridge comprising: a hollow filter body (131) having an partially enclosed bottom portion with a fluid egress orifice (133) therein, a lower outer surface of the bottom portion of the filter body includes a plurality of radial ribs, the lower surface includes a single extended structural ring (at 133) surrounding the egress orifice and a shortened structure ring, that extends a shorter distance from the lower outer surface than the extended structural ring, that surrounds the extended structural ring (fig. 2, see below). Aapa also clearly shows a plurality of radial ribs with two structural rings (fig. 1-4 of instant application). The recited structure of the lower outer surface of the filter body is known in the art as demonstrated by Tanner (for claims 4-5 and 9) and aapa (for claim 4). The claims appear to be a substitution of the known structures of the filter housing of Tanner for those of Lin. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. CN 113028100 in view of Yoshino et al. US 2014/0001113 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fritze US 2002/0017497.
Lin teaches a filter element but does not teach what kind of filter element.
Fritze teaches a filter cartridge comprising a filter element (188) disposed within a filter body (154), a wrap (186) surrounding the filter element, the filter element comprising a carbon block (par 60) and wrap comprises a fabric sleeve (par 59) (fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the filter element of Fritze because activated carbon block is a well-known water filter material that improves the taste of the water and removes odors by removing chemicals like chlorine and heavy metals and the wrap acts as a prefilter to extend the life of the carbon filter and remove oocysts such as Ghirardia (par 59).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779