DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the first flow directing attachment portion … for controlling the flow of blood from a skin surface to a portion of the housing” (lines 1-3) in claim 2;
Regarding “the first flow directing attachment portion … for controlling the flow of blood from a skin surface to a portion of the housing,” attachment is a non-structure term as a modifier to a generic placeholder “portion”, furthermore, a functional limitation “controlling the flow from a skin surface to a portion of the housing” is used, there is no additional claim limitation that provides a sufficient structure, material, or act to perform the entire claimed language of transmitting the temperature measurement values. Thus, it meets the 3 prongs test and involved 112 (f), despite of absence of “means”. Specification discloses “the first flow directing attachment portion may include a variety of designs and structure as shown in Figs. 3-6, that may include hydrophilic surface property to attract the blood and establish a flow path to second capillary section” (see at least [0070] and Figs. 3-6), thus provides a sufficient structure explicitly, so A PHOSITA can perform the entire claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartfeld et al. (US 2009/0259145).
Regarding claim 1, Bartfeld teaches a device for the attached flow of blood (device 2 for collecting a fluid sample, such as a blood sample; Figure 1), the device comprising:
a housing (collector 130) defining a centerline (centerline of collector 130, approximately along line of cannula 160, Figures 3 and 19) and having a first end (a first end 134; Figure 18), a second end (second end 136), a hollow needle (needle cannula 160), and a flow channel having an inlet (collection area 148) and an outlet (distal end 164 of channel 170), a portion of the flow channel offset from the centerline of the housing (Figure 19; the channel 170/172 is offset from centerline of housing 130), the flow channel having a flow directing attachment portion (top portion of the collector 130 to induce the blood flow, including channel member 150 in annotated Figure 18) adjacent the outlet (164), and the hollow needle between the first end of the housing and the flow channel (annotated Figure 18); and
a container (container assembly 10, Figure 1) removably connectable to the housing (Paragraph 0068; ‘collector 130 may be removed from container assembly 10’), the container defining a collection cavity (central bore 36) and having an interior wall (inner surface 38),
wherein, with the container connected to the housing (Figure 3), the outlet (164) of the flow channel is in fluid communication with the collection cavity (36) of the container (10) and the outlet of the flow channel is adjacent the interior wall of the container (Figure 3, the end of channel 170 is adjacent the inner surface 38).
Regarding claim 2, Bartfeld teaches wherein the flow directing attachment portion provides a fluid attachment point for blood to attach to for controlling the flow of blood from a portion of the housing to the collection cavity of the container (collector body 132; Figures 2-3; Channel members 150 and, more particularly, intervening capillary channels 152 form capillary flow channels to guide a fluid sample downward into central bore 142 defined by sidewall 138 of collector body 132 under capillary action. Thus, capillary channels 152 operate generally as fluid guides to guide a desired fluid sample into central bore 142 in collector body 132; Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 3, Bartfeld teaches wherein, with the first end (134) of the housing in communication with a source of blood, the hollow needle, the flow channel (through channel 170), the flow directing attachment portion, and the interior wall of the container provide attachment portions to establish attached blood flow, for a first drop of blood and subsequent blood to follow, from the first end of the housing to the collection cavity of the container (Figure 3, when finger is in contact with channel chambers 150, channels 152 guides the blood to flow into collector body 132, then the blood flows into channels 170, after passing the distal end 168 of the channel 170, the blood flows into capillary channel 40 on the internal surface 38 of the inner member 20; Paragraphs 0052, 0063-0064), for a first drop of blood and subsequent blood to follow, from the first end (134) of the housing (130) to the collection cavity (36) of the container (10).
Regarding claim 4, Bartfeld teaches wherein, with the inlet of the flow channel in communication with a source of blood, the blood fluidly attaches to a portion of the hollow needle and flows through the hollow needle to the flow channel (collector body 132 and channel 170, Figure 3) (Paragraph 0063 ‘capillary channels 152 operate generally as fluid guides to guide a desired fluid sample into central bore 142 in collector body 132’).
Regarding claim 5, Bartfeld teaches wherein the blood is subsequently pulled through the flow channel to the flow directing attachment portion via capillary action (Abstract; Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 6, Bartfeld teaches wherein, the blood fluidly attaches to the flow directing attachment portion and the interior wall of the container to flow from the flow channel into the collection cavity of the container (Figure 3, blood flows from distal end 168 of channel 170 into bore 36 of inner member 20; Paragraph 0064 ‘collector 130 is the provision of an accessing needle cannula 160 at the distal end 1 36 of collector body 132 used to pierce or puncture closure body 72 to gain access to the interior of container assembly 10 and, particularly, fluid sample collection chamber 116).
Regarding claim 7, Bartfeld teaches wherein the housing includes a sloped wall surface between the hollow needle and the flow channel, and the sloped wall surface defines a flow channel entry (inner surface 146; Figure 3A; Paragraph 0061, ‘[A]n inner surface 146 of rim portion 140 has a generally curved or arcuate shape’; Examiner further notes any wall can be considered sloped depending on the perspective as the claim does not define what the wall is sloped relative to)
Regarding claim 8, Bartfeld teaches wherein the flow directing attachment portion is an attachment lip (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Bartfeld teaches wherein the flow directing attachment portion is an extended capillary tube portion (Paragraph 0062)
Regarding claim 10, Bartfeld teaches wherein the flow directing attachment portion is an inward curved lip (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Bartfeld teaches wherein the outlet of the flow channel extends beyond the second end of the housing (it is shown clearly that distal end 164 of channel 170 extends beyond the distal end 136 of the housing 130).
Regarding claim 14, Bartfeld teaches further comprising a flow directing ring around the hollow needle (40; Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartfeld et al. (US 2009/0259145) in view of Sanz (US Patent No. 3623475).
Regarding claim 11, Bartfeld is silent on the flow directing attachment portion being a planar cut lip. Sanz teaches wherein the flow directing attachment portion is a planar cut lip (Figures 1-2 and 4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bartfeld with Sanz because the changes in shape claimed represent a design choice, and so a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have found that the change in shape did not sufficiently alter the device as it was an obvious change motivated by manufacturing parameters or user preference. See re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1996).
Regarding claim 15, Bartfeld is silent on the hollow needle including a lancing blade. Sanz teaches wherein the hollow needle (8a, 8b, and 6 combined) includes a lancing blade (lancet being 8a, 8b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bartfeld with Sanz because Bartfeld teaches the use of a lancet (Paragraph 0061) and thus combining the elements into one integrated unit would only require routine experimentation and engineering skills and since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. (B)
Regarding claim 16, Bartfeld is silent on the hollow needle including a lancing blade. Sanz teaches wherein, with the first end of the housing in communication with a source of blood, a first drop of blood attaches to the lancing blade and flows through the hollow needle to the flow channel (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bartfeld with Sanz because Bartfeld teaches the use of a lancet (Paragraph 0061) and thus combining the elements into one integrated unit would only require routine experimentation and engineering skills and since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. (B)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartfeld et al. (US 2009/0259145) in view of Rostaing (US 2011/0124984).
Regarding claim 12, Bartfeld is silent on the extended pillar structure. Rostaing teaches wherein the flow directing attachment portion is an extended pillar structure (Paragraph 0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bartfeld with Rostaing because Rostaing teaches the pillars assist in locally massaging the finger and thus facilitating the flow of blood from the finger into the device (Paragraph 0035 of Rostaing).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11771352 in view of Bartfeld et al. (US 2009/0259145).
Instant Application 18/237,670
US Patent No. 11771352
1. A device for the attached flow of blood, the device comprising:
a housing defining a centerline and having a first end, a second end, a hollow needle, and a flow channel having an inlet and an outlet, a portion of the flow channel offset from the centerline of the housing, the flow channel having a flow directing attachment portion adjacent the outlet, and the hollow needle between the first end of the housing and the flow channel; and
a container removably connectable to the housing, the container defining a collection cavity and having an interior wall,
wherein, with the container connected to the housing, the outlet of the flow channel is in fluid communication with the collection cavity of the container and the outlet of the flow channel is adjacent the interior wall of the container.
1. A device for attached flow of blood, the device comprising:
a housing defining a centerline and having a first end, a second end, and a flow channel having an inlet and an outlet, a portion of the flow channel offset from the centerline of the housing, and the flow channel having a first flow directing attachment portion adjacent to the inlet and a second flow directing attachment portion adjacent to the outlet, the first flow directing attachment portion provides a first fluid attachment point for controlling the flow of blood that attaches thereto from a skin surface to a portion of the housing; and
a container removably connectable to the housing, the container having an interior wall defining a collection cavity,
wherein, with the container connected to the housing, the outlet of the flow channel is in fluid communication with the collection cavity of the container and the outlet of the flow channel is adjacent to the interior wall of the container, the outlet of the flow channel and the second flow directing attachment portion are configured to provide a second fluid attachment point for attached flow of blood directly from the flow channel to the interior wall of the container,
wherein the first end of the housing includes a sloped wall surface, and
wherein the first flow directing attachment portion is an attachment pillar and extends entirely from the sloped wall surface along the centerline.
The only differences between the instant application and the Patent are that the instant application has a hollow needle and that the flow directing attachment portion is claimed adjacent the outlet versus adjacent the inlet. The adjacent the outlet vs inlet is still taught by the patent give the entire device is one unit and any part of the structure would be considered adjacent any other portion and further it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C). The hollow needle of the instant application is merely a more specific second flow directing attachment portion as recited in the patent. This is taught by Bartfeld as noted in the 102 rejection above. And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the patent with Bartfeld because it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the flow directing attachment portion of the patent with it being a hollow needle as taught by Bartfeld. The dependent claims of the instant application are all either verbatim recited in the patent or only involve minor modifications that would be done through routine experimentation which would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791