DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed 08/24/2023, claims domestic priority to U.S. provisional application no. 63/401,327, filed 08/26/2022.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 01/10/2024 is acknowledged and found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed 03/09/2026 is acknowledged. The election of the following specific species is also acknowledged:
Species A: Applicant elects “one or more of visceral pain” (see claim 2)
Species B: Applicant elects “acute pain” as the type of pain (see claim 3
Species C: Applicant elects “transient exacerbation” (see claim 4)
Species D: Applicant elects “interstitial cystitis/bladder pain syndrome, IC/BPS” (see claims 6, 8, 10)
Species E: Applicant elects “suprapubic or pelvic pain related to and relieved by voiding” (see instant claim 11)
In accordance with the MPEP § 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final.
As per MPEP § 803.02, the Examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species do not make a contribution over the prior art of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention and species. Therefore, claims 1-11 read on an elected invention and species and are therefore under consideration in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/24/2023 are found to be in compliance with 37 CFR §§1.121 and 1.84, and are hereby accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3-10 of the instant application claim a method of treating pain or symptoms associated with UCPPS, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof the compound of Formula (I).
It is unclear what “pain associated with UCPPS” or “symptoms associated with UCPPS” refers to and how to determine if a particular pain or symptom is associated with UCPPS. The term “pain/symptoms associated with UCPPS” in claims 1-6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “pain/symptoms associated with UCPPS” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not define how to determine if a particular pain is associated with UCPPS. Thus it is unclear what would be considered associated with UCPPS by a person of ordinary skill in the art. There are a large number of types of pain/symptoms that could be considered to be associated with UCPPS. These types of pain/symptoms can range from bloating pain, to fatigue, mood change, to nocturia, to inability to function socially, according to Hatchett et al. (Health Psychol. Volume, 14, Issue 6, pages 741–750, published September 1, 2010). Moreover, there are types of pain/symptoms that could result from UCPPS that do not directly have UCPPS at the center of the syndrome, for instance, bloating pain or social withdrawal. The claims, as written, do not distinctly claim the pain/symptoms to which UCPPS is associated, or how the association is made—whether it be UCPPS itself or pain which develops as a result of side effects resulting from UCPPS. Thus an ordinary skilled artisan cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention and thus the claims are properly rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Santos et al (Pharmacology, British Pharmacological Society Meeting Poster, published September 7, 2021, cited on Applicant IDS filed 01/10/2024), hereinafter Santos.
Santos teaches the administration of ATB-352 (the compound of Formula (I)) to treat interstitial cystitis/bladder pain syndrome (IC/BPS)— a clinical entity defining urologic chronic pelvic pain syndrome as recited (see instant claims 1, 6-8, and 10). Santos reports the resulting reduction of mechanical allodynia and visceral pain (see instant claim 2) following oral administration of ATB-352. The disclosure teaches the treatment of pain during the acute phase of cyclophosphamide-induced cystitis, with pain assessment occurring within 21 to 24 hours after induction (see instants claim 3-5, see Figures 1 and 2 of Santos), corresponding to a model of time-limited bladder inflammation and pain, i.e. acute pain that is a transient exacerbation less than 3 days from pain onset. Santos further teaches treating impaired bladder contractile function, i.e. a symptom of UCPPS (see instant claim 9). Finally, Santos teaches the treatment of the symptom recited as “suprapubic or pelvic pain related to and relieved by voiding”. This clinical description identifies the characteristic visceral bladder pain of IC/BPS, pain that is generated by bladder filling and relieved by emptying. The descriptor identifies an inherent characteristic of visceral bladder pain, that is the central matter of the disclosure by Santos. As such, it does not impose a functional limitation that the prior art does not already meet.
The teachings as outlined above are herein applied to the claims individually, and the claims stand rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 8,541,398 B2 in view of Santos (see earlier citation). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented application teaches ATB-352, i.e. Formula (I). This disclosure combined with the teachings of Santos, who discloses the use of ATB-352 in treating IC/BPS would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to use ATB-352 in the treatment of UCPPS. Santos teaches acute visceral pain which persists 20-24 hours and pelvic pain related to voiding (see Figure 1). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use ATB-352 to treat UCBPPS, because Santos outlines this very treatment in their disclosure.
Correspondence
No claim is allowed.
/SOPHIA P HIRAKIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/KARA R. MCMILLIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623