DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,548,231 (Patent ‘231, hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the features of current claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 are already included in claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 of Patent ‘231. See tables below.
Table I:
Current Application 18/237724
U.S. Patent No. 12,548,231
1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-17, 19
1-4, 7-11, 14-18, respectively
Table II:
Current Application 18/237724
U.S. Patent No. 12,548,231
1. A graphics rendering optimization system comprising:
at least one processor coupled to at least one memory containing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the system to implement a graphics rendering optimization client, wherein the graphics rendering optimization client is configured to perform processes comprising:
transmitting a client request for graphics rendering settings to a graphics rendering optimization server via an application program interface, the client request including model size data, graphics density data, client resources data, and client graphics rendering settings;
receiving, from the graphics rendering optimization server, via the application program interface, a message containing values for the client graphics rendering settings produced by the graphics rendering optimization server using a trained AI/ML model; and
rendering graphics by the client device based on the values.
1. A graphics rendering optimization system comprising:
at least one processor coupled to at least one memory containing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the system to implement a graphics rendering optimization service, wherein the graphics rendering optimization service is configured to perform processes comprising:
training an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model to predict graphics rendering settings in real time;
receiving a client request for graphics rendering settings from a client device via an application program interface, the client request including model size data, graphics density data, client resources data, and client graphics rendering settings;
retrieving network resources data;
generating values for the graphics rendering settings based on the model size data, the graphics density data, the client resources data, and the network resources data using the trained AI/ML model;
formatting the values into a message formatted for consumption by the client device; and transmitting the message to the client device via the application program interface.
From the tables above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 of Patent ‘231 to be as current claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 since all the features of current claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 are already includes in claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 of Patent ‘231.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 contain so many acronyms, most of which are not well known in the relevant art, that need to be spelled out to avoid ambiguity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 17, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2024/0272917, “Mishra”, hereinafter).
As per claim 1, as shown in Fig. 1, Mishra teaches a graphics rendering optimization system (UX Optimization System 108) comprising:
at least one processor coupled to at least one memory containing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the system to implement a graphics rendering optimization client, wherein the graphics rendering optimization client is configured to perform processes comprising:
transmitting a client request for graphics rendering settings to a graphics rendering optimization server via an application program interface (¶ [28], “In some embodiments, the user may click a hyperlink, press a button, or otherwise navigate or interact in such a way as to cause the user device to generate a request for interface content and/or layout data. In some embodiments, such an interaction may trigger a rendering request to the UX Optimization System 108”. The application program interface is described at ¶ [30]), the client request including model size data, graphics density data, client resources data, and client graphics rendering settings (addressed below);
receiving, from the graphics rendering optimization server, via the application program interface, a message containing values for the client graphics rendering settings produced by the graphics rendering optimization server using a trained AI/ML model (¶ [92] referring to Fig. 4, generating and delivering (see ¶ [66] recited below) to users UX templates having trained parameters for better rendering); and
rendering graphics by the client device based on the values (¶ [66], “In some embodiments, the final UX configuration may be delivered to the user device via the Deployment Interface 122. In some embodiments, the UX configuration may be configured to cause the user device to render a rendering according to the UX configuration, including, e.g., a size, location, arrangement and contents of UI components, a behavior of the rendering (e.g., animations, transitions, interactive features, etc.), among other configuration templates or any combination thereof”).
Mishra does not expressly teach the client request including model size data, graphics density data, client resources data, and client graphics rendering settings. However, as described in ¶ [28], and elsewhere in the specification, Mishra does implicitly teach these features (unless the claim language specifies otherwise), i.e., the client request including model size data (it is not clear what this is referred to, thus broadly interpreted as the device type data), graphics density data (screen size data), client resources data (¶ [56], request for optimizing user engagement metric), and client graphics rendering settings (¶ [29], request for adjusting current rendering). For at least the above reasons, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above features into the claim language since the scope of these limitations is not clear, and therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation addressed above.
As per claim 3, Mishra further teaches wherein the client request is an HTTP request (¶ [111], utilizing HTTP communication protocols).
As per claim 6, Mishra does impliedly teach wherein the client request further comprises network resources data (see ¶ [31], “…the UX Optimization System 108 may be implemented in a hybrid scheme, with the components of the UX Optimization System 108 effectuated by a combination of local resources on the user device and/or remote resources accessed via the Network 106”).
As per claim 7, Mishra also teaches wherein the graphics rendering optimization client is configured to run in a thin client application (¶ [107]).
Claim 8, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 10, which is similar in scope to claim 3 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 13, which is similar in scope to claim 6 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 7 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claim 3 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20, which is similar in scope to claim 6 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 21, which is similar in scope to claim 7 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2024/0272917) in view of Feng et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0041844, “Feng”).
As per claim 2, Mishra does not expressly teach wherein the application program interface is a REST application program interface.
However, in a similar method of optimizing rendering (¶ [110]), Feng teaches the above feature, i.e., the application program interface is a REST application program interface (¶ [101], REST API). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method as taught by Feng and apply to the method as taught by Mishra, the advantage of which is for handling network application (¶ [101]).
As per claim 4, although not explicitly taught by Mishra, Feng does teach wherein the message is a JSON message (Feng, ¶ [58]). Thus, claim 4 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
Claim 9, which is similar in scope to claim 2 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11, which is similar in scope to claim 4 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claim 2 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claim 4 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2024/0272917) in view of Longhurst et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,062,181, “Longhurst”).
As per claim 5, Mishra does not explicitly teach the values for the client graphics rendering settings include at least one of LOD schedule, HTTPThreadCount, GPU Max, or worker thread/pthread count.
However, Longhurst teaches a similar method for optimizing graphics rendering (col. 4,
lines 33-67), and further teaches the above features, i.e., the values for the graphics rendering
settings include at least one of LOD schedule (see col. 4, lines 33-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method as taught by Longhurst to the
method as taught by Mishra addressed above, the advantage of which is to render,
encode and transmit graphics content under resource constraint based on content characteristics
(col. 2, lines 1-4).
Claim 12, which is similar in scope to claim 5 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19, which is similar in scope to claim 5 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAU H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611