Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 24, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15-17, and 19-24 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s response has addressed all objections previously set forth in the Action mailed June 24, 2025. Examiner further acknowledges amendments to the claims which are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 following further search and consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 9-12, 15-17, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0205043), hereinafter referred to as Huang, in view of Wu et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0110697), hereinafter referred to as Wu, and Ko (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0377514).
In regard to claim 1, Huang teaches a system comprising: a memory device comprising a plurality of management units (Huang, Paragraph 0028, lines 1-2 disclose a memory controller 115 coupled to a memory array 120 (Fig. 1) which can implement superblocks in the flash translation layer. Superblocks are known according to the instant application and prior art as being equivalent to the claimed “management units”), each management unit comprising a plurality of blocks (Huang, Paragraph 0028, lines 2-5 explain superblocks as comprising a set of blocks across multiple planes and die of a memory array), and a processing device, operatively coupled with the memory device (Huang Fig. 1, memory controller 115). The system of Huang is capable of identifying, within the plurality of management units, a plurality of complete management units and a plurality of incomplete management units (Huang, Paragraph 0030, lines 1-5 explain the process of determining “partial” (incomplete) superblocks, and Paragraph 0032, lines 5-7 explain that non-partial (complete) superblocks are established as well), wherein a complete management unit of the plurality of complete management units comprises at least a predefined minimum number of blocks, (Huang Paragraph 0028, lines 1-7 disclose defining superblocks as including one block from each plane of each die of a memory device; this disclosure occurs before defining the structure of partial superblocks in Huang, meaning it implies a complete superblock must have at least that number of blocks). Huang also teaches performing a first operation using one or more complete management units from the plurality of complete management units as well as performing a second operation using one or more incomplete management units from the plurality of incomplete management units. These first and second operations are interpreted as non-sequential as explained in the instant application where the order of the claimed process can be changed unless specified. Huang, Paragraph 0049, lines 3-6 explain the use for complete (traditional) and incomplete (partial) management units (superblocks). Huang establishes exclusively using complete management units for specific data types (e.g. user data, SLC cache, etc.) while incomplete management units are used for storing other data (firmware code, first level translation table, etc.). Huang also teaches this system wherein the second operation comprises writing, to one or more incomplete management units, metadata associated with data stored in complete management units. Huang, Paragraph 0033, lines 4-8 explain using incomplete management units exclusively for data such as logical-to-physical (L2P) mapping of data stored in complete management units (Partial superblocks are disclosed in Huang as storing "at least one" type of data (meaning partial superblocks can be used to exclusively store a single type of data e.g. page tables, etc.) which could be logical to physical mapping. If partial superblocks only store logical to physical mapping data like first level translation tables (Huang Paragraph 0033, lines 7-10), then the mapping data must be directed to data stored elsewhere, which in the disclosure of Huang must be complete superblocks as the storage device is accessed and modified using said superblocks (superblocks are used to access all planes and dies of a memory device, Huang Paragraph 0028, lines 1-5). Huang ¶ 0030 discloses an embodiment encompassing after remapping [blocks between incomplete management units], each of the plurality of incomplete management units contains at least a predefined threshold number of usable blocks and is lacking at most one usable block relative to the predefined minimum number of blocks (¶ 0056, partial super blocks may have a minimum of 3 out of 4 good blocks (3 out of 4 planes containing one good block each) per die; ¶ 0025, lines 2-3 memory array may include any number of die e.g. 1 die; partial super blocks are calculated each time a bad block table changes, so if a bad block is remapped to an incomplete unit, the superblocks would be recalculated according to the threshold previously described (one block in each plane); otherwise the super blocks would still contain the same number of usable blocks, achieving the claimed limitation).
Huang does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the pre-defined minimum number is determined based on a maximum number of parallel memory access operations performable on the memory device. However, Wu teaches a system including a plurality of channels used individually for parallel access (Fig. 1; ¶ 0019) wherein a complete super block spans one block per memory channel (¶ 0021), meaning a person of ordinary skill implementing the disclosure would determine a minimum number of blocks in a complete superblock based on a maximum number of channels (i.e. parallel memory access operations performable) on the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the disclosure of Wu in order to maximize parallel accesses and "simplify flash memory management and fully leverage [a] multi-channel architecture" (¶ 0020, lines 1-3).
The previously cited references do not explicitly teach remapping incomplete super blocks as claimed, however Ko teaches a memory management method including super blocks having multiple blocks (¶ 0009, lines 1-9) wherein one or more blocks from a first incomplete management unit of the plurality of incomplete management units is remapped to a second incomplete management unit of the plurality of incomplete management units (¶ 0070, lines 1-5 disclose that super physical units (management units) are grouped as good and partial good (complete and incomplete management units); line 8 and remaining text discloses remapping physical units between incomplete management units), achieving the claimed limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the disclosure of Ko in order to decrease the probability of having bad erase units in management units and improve the service life of memory (¶ 0012).
As for claim 3, Huang discloses performing the first operation exclusively on complete management units. Huang, Paragraph 0049, lines 3-6 explain the use for complete (traditional) and incomplete (partial) superblocks (management units). Huang establishes exclusively using complete management units for specific data types (e.g. user data, SLC cache, etc.) while incomplete management units are used for storing other data (firmware code, first level translation table, etc.). Therefore, the recited limitation was clearly anticipated by Huang.
As for claim 4, Huang teaches receiving host data from a host device (Huang, Paragraph 0027, lines 1-5 describe receiving instructions from a host) and writing the host data to one or more complete management units. Huang, Paragraph 0027, lines 1-5 disclose that the memory controller 115 of Fig. 1 can write to or erase data from the memory array 120. Huang, Paragraph 0032, lines 5-7 disclose establishing complete superblocks, followed later by Paragraph 0049, lines 3-6 which detail using complete superblocks for varying types of data. Therefore, the recited limitations were clearly anticipated by Huang.
As for claim 5, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 3 set forth above, as it addresses the limitation of claim 5, which is rejected on the same rationale mentioned.
As for claim 8, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 1 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 10, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 3 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 11, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 4 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 12, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 5 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 15, Huang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations (Huang, Paragraph 0028, lines 1-2 disclose a memory controller 115 coupled to a memory array 120 (Fig. 1) which can implement superblocks in the flash translation layer). Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 1 set forth above for remaining limitations of claim 15, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 16, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 3 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 17, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 4 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 20, the previously cited references teach the storage medium of claim 15. Additionally, they teach wherein performing the second operation comprises performing the second operation exclusively on complete incomplete management units. Huang, Paragraph 0033, lines 4-8 explain using incomplete management units exclusively for data such as logical-to-physical (L2P) mapping of data stored in complete management units. Partial superblocks are disclosed in Huang as storing "at least one" type of data, meaning partial superblocks can be used to exclusively store a single type of data e.g. page tables, etc. which could be logical to physical mapping. If partial superblocks only store logical to physical mapping data like first level translation tables (Huang Paragraph 0033, lines 7-10), then the mapping data must be directed to data stored elsewhere, which in the disclosure of Huang must be complete superblocks as the storage device is accessed and modified using said superblocks (superblocks are used to access all planes and dies of a memory device, Huang Paragraph 0028, lines 1-5).
As for claim 21, the previously cited references teach the system of claim 1. The additionally claimed subject matter of a plurality of dies, each die comprising a respective plurality of planes, and wherein the predefined threshold number of usable blocks is equal to difference between (i) a product of a number of dies and a number of planes and a (ii) predefined maximum number of unusable blocks per management unit is supported by ¶ 0048 of the instant disclosure. Huang ¶ 0031 discloses a functionally identical predefined threshold number of usable blocks using a percentage or desired size based on the number of total planes (a product of dies and planes per die). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this would achieve the claimed limitation.
As for claim 22, the previously cited references teach the system of claim 1. Additionally, Huang ¶ 0033 teaches an embodiment wherein the metadata written to the one or more incomplete management units comprises logical-to-physical address mapping table data, achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 23, the previously cited references teach the system of claim 1. Additionally, Huang teaches a system comprising receiving, from a host device, a command to write data to the memory device; determining whether the command refers to host data or to metadata; responsive to determining that the command refers to host data, performing the first operation; responsive to determining that the command refers to metadata, performing the second operation. Huang, Paragraph 0033, lines 4-8 explain using incomplete management units for data such as logical-to-physical (L2P) mapping of data stored in complete management units (Partial superblocks are disclosed in Huang as storing "at least one" type of data which could be logical to physical mapping; superblocks store all other classes of data). In the example of ¶ 0036 lines 1-4, partial superblocks are used to store only translation table data, firmware, and bad block tables, i.e. metadata. This means that host data is written to complete units (first operation) and metadata is written to incomplete units (second operation), achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 24, the previously cited references teach the system of claim 1. Additionally, Huang teaches wherein the second operation comprises at least one of a garbage collection operation or a wear leveling operation. The memory controller 115 of Huang Fig. 1 implements the first-level translation table, firmware, and bad block table in partial super blocks in ¶ 0036 as an example. In ¶ 0037, the included memory manager 125 in the controller 115 may perform management including wear leveling or garbage collection, which would functionally result in metadata updates to e.g. bad block data stored in the partial superblocks, achieving the claimed limitation of an operation comprising both a write of metadata to incomplete management units and a wear leveling operation.
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Wu, Ko, and Sinclair (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0144367).
In regard to claim 6, the previously cited references teach the system of claim 1. Huang does not teach the second operation comprises performing a media management operation comprising writing, to one or more incomplete management units, valid data copied from one or more complete management units. However, Sinclair teaches filling incomplete or reduced size metablocks (e.g. management units, superblocks, etc.) using data copied from original complete metablocks (Sinclair Paragraph 0247, lines 4-10). Sinclair’s disclosure aims to “reduce the effects of logical fragmentation” by configuring metablocks according to their data (Sinclair Paragraph 0016, lines 7-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Sinclair with those of Huang in order to “reduce the effects of logical fragmentation” (Sinclair Paragraph 0016, line 8).
As for claim 13, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 6 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
As for claim 19, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 6 set forth above, as they are directed to the same limitations and therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 24, 2026 (starting page 7 of response) with respect to the rejections of amended claims have been fully considered and are unpersuasive. The cited portions of reference Huang were not explicitly addressed in Applicant’s response, however Huang was found to teach amended limitations, as shown in the updated rejections above.
Conclusion
/ZAKARIA MOHAMMED BELKHAYAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2139
/REGINALD G BRAGDON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2139