DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected (Non-Final Rejection).
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 24 August 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Examiner’s Note: If Applicant intended to have the prior art of record and Office Actions in U.S. Patent Application No. 18/137,270 also made of record in the instant application, Applicant should file an IDS with PTO-892 separately listing each of those references and/or Office Actions, in addition to listing any references (to be considered) from the instant specification on the PTO-892.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) and 37 CFR 1.84 are required in this application because of the following informalities:
FIG. 2 is blurry and includes at least some unreadable text, and hence does not comply with 37 CFR 1.84(l), which requires “[a]ll drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.”
INFORMATION ON HOW TO EFFECT DRAWING CHANGES
Replacement Drawing Sheet: Drawing changes must be made by presenting a replacement sheet which incorporates the desired changes and which complies with 37 CFR 1.84. Identifying indicia such as the application number (see 37 CFR 1.84(c)) should be written on the drawings in the front (not the back) of each sheet. An explanation of the changes made must be presented either in the drawing amendments section, or remarks, section of the amendment paper. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. However, if a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. The figure or figure number of the amended drawing figure(s) must not be labeled as “amended.” If the changes to the drawing(s) are not accepted by the examiner, applicant will be notified of any required corrective action in the next Office action. No further drawing submission will be required, unless applicant is notified. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UMETANI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0364388 A1).
Regarding claim 1, UMETANI discloses a system comprising: a hardware processor (CPU 102 is the master processor of computer system 100, Para. [0020] of UMETANI); a machine learning (ML) model-based corrector trained to predict a deformation of a velocity field (continuously receives updated velocity field and surface pressure data from machine learning application 235, Para. [0037] of UMETANI; See also in order to construct the training dataset for the neural networks, machine learning application 235 automatically generates multiple variations of a few example shapes of objects that are roughly similar to the shape of the design object … after parameterizing an example shape, machine learning application 235 deforms the example shape by adding random noise to input parameters, Para. [0059] of UMETANI; See also values at grid points of the exterior cubes define the velocity field surrounding the design object, Para. [0043] of UMETANI); and a system memory storing a software code (computer readable storage medium include RAM, ROM and store a program for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, Para. [0113] of UMETANI); the hardware processor configured to execute the software code to: receive a deformation template (parameterization application 230 continuously deforms the volumetric grid on and around the shape of the design object to track the modifications to the design object, Para. [0041] of UMETANI; [Applicant’s specification, at 2nd Full Paragraph of Page 7, indicates a deformation template 132 may be a deformation grid]; [Thus, based on Applicant’s specification, the deformed volumetric grid/template is interpreted as corresponding to the deformation template]) and a deformed velocity field produced based on the deformation template [grid] (values at grid points of the exterior cubes define the velocity field surrounding the design object, Para. [0043] of UMETANI); predict, using the ML model-based corrector and based on the deformation template and the deformed velocity field, a correction to the deformed velocity field (the velocity neural network 330 generates a velocity field {right arrow over (v)} 340 that estimates velocity at grid points of the region that surrounds the design object … the velocity field {right arrow over (v)} 340 is further based on the three-dimensional deforming volumetric grid 320, Para. [0084] of UMETANI; See also minimizing the grid distortion increases the accuracy and feasibility of the corresponding fluid simulation, and increases the quality of the velocity field representation, and reduces the bias in the design object shape representation, Para. [0050] of UMETANI); and correct the deformed velocity field, using the correction, to provide a corrected velocity field (correcting parameterization distortion … perform a fast approximation approach to reduce distortion effects, Para. [0051] of UMETANI; See also the velocity neural network 330 generates a velocity field {right arrow over (v)} 340 that estimates velocity at grid points of the region that surrounds the design object … the velocity field {right arrow over (v)} 340 is further based on the three-dimensional deforming volumetric grid 320, Para. [0084] of UMETANI; See also minimizing the grid distortion increases the accuracy and feasibility of the corresponding fluid simulation, and increases the quality of the velocity field representation, and reduces the bias in the design object shape representation, Para. [0050] of UMETANI).
Regarding claim 2, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein the deformed velocity field is derived from a simulation of a deformation of a fluid or a viscoelastic material (one such fluid simulation technique is referred to herein as “computational fluid dynamics” (CFD) … via techniques such as CFD, engineers and designers can simulate the flow of a fluid, such as a liquid or gas, around an arbitrary object … proper CFD simulation enables the engineer or designer to view the velocity field of the fluid around the design object over a period of time as well as the pressure applied by the fluid on the surface of the object over that same period of time, Para. [0003] of UMETANI; See also one advantage of the disclosed techniques is that CFD simulation of fluid flows is computed at interactive speeds, Para. [0008] of UMETANI).
Regarding claim 3, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 2 (as shown above), wherein the hardware processor is further configured to execute the software code to: advect the corrected velocity field to provide a density field of a corrected simulation of the deformation of the fluid or the viscoelastic material (velocity field may be displayed via any technically feasible approach, including, without limitation, streamline visualization or advected particle animation, Para. [0037] of UMETANI; See also parameterization application 230 parameterizes according to a deforming grid, as exemplified by deforming grid 445 and deforming grid 465 … as shown [in FIG. 4], grid point 455 is exterior to design object 450 with a density of 0 and a particular velocity … as the shape of design object 450 transforms into design object 470, the grid deforms from deforming grid 445 to deforming grid 465 … as a result, corresponding grid point 475 is still exterior to design object 470 with a density of 0 and a velocity that is equal or substantially equal to the velocity at grid point 455, Paras. [0064] & [0065] of UMETANI; [in UMETANI (e.g., Para. [0062]), the velocity field indicates the estimated velocity at grid points; in the same vein, FIG. 4 (and Paras. [0064] & [0065]) of UMETANI includes the binary density (of ‘0’ or ‘1’) indicated at grid points of the Cartesian Grid and Deforming Grid, corresponding to a density field]).
Regarding claim 4, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 3 (as shown above), wherein the hardware processor is further configured to execute the software code to: produce, using the density field (parameterization application 230 parameterizes according to a deforming grid, as exemplified by deforming grid 445 and deforming grid 465 … as shown [in FIG. 4], grid point 455 is exterior to design object 450 with a density of 0 and a particular velocity … as the shape of design object 450 transforms into design object 470, the grid deforms from deforming grid 445 to deforming grid 465 … as a result, corresponding grid point 475 is still exterior to design object 470 with a density of 0 and a velocity that is equal or substantially equal to the velocity at grid point 455, Paras. [0064] & [0065] of UMETANI; [in UMETANI (e.g., Para. [0062]), the velocity field indicates the estimated velocity at grid points; in the same vein, FIG. 4 (and Paras. [0064] & [0065]) of UMETANI includes the binary density (of ‘0’ or ‘1’) indicated at grid points of the Cartesian Grid and Deforming Grid, corresponding to a density field]), the corrected simulation of the deformation of the fluid or the viscoelastic material (minimizing the grid distortion increases the accuracy and feasibility of the corresponding fluid simulation, and increases the quality of the velocity field representation, and reduces the bias in the design object shape representation, Para. [0050] of UMETANI).
Regarding claim 5, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 2 (as shown above), wherein the ML model-based corrector is trained using an objective function including a loss term (parameterization application 230 employs projection height as the minimization target because longer projections results in more distortion of the neighboring cubes. Parameterization application 230 minimizes distortion energy W, as given by Equation 1, via a gradient descent technique, Para. [0052] of UMETANI; [minimizing error and/or gradient descent are interpreted as corresponding to minimizing loss/cost term of an objective function]) specified by one or more governing equations of motion for the fluid or the viscoelastic material (for each randomly generated training shape, machine learning application 235 solves the Navier-Stokes equation in a highly detailed spatial grid for many time steps to accurately obtain the time-averaged velocity field and pressure field, Para. [0059] of UMETANI; [Applicant’s original claim 6 indicates that the Navier-Stokes equation is a governing equation of motion]).
Regarding claim 6, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 5 (as shown above), wherein the governing equations of motion are Navier-Stokes equations (for each randomly generated training shape, machine learning application 235 solves the Navier-Stokes equation in a highly detailed spatial grid for many time steps to accurately obtain the time-averaged velocity field and pressure field, Para. [0059] of UMETANI).
Regarding claim 10, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 1 (as shown above), wherein the hardware processor is further configured to execute the software code to: before receiving the deformation template and the deformed velocity field produced based on the deformation template, train the ML model-based corrector to predict deformations of velocity fields (continuously receives updated velocity field and surface pressure data from machine learning application 235, Para. [0037] of UMETANI; See also in order to construct the training dataset for the neural networks, machine learning application 235 automatically generates multiple variations of a few example shapes of objects that are roughly similar to the shape of the design object … after parameterizing an example shape, machine learning application 235 deforms the example shape by adding random noise to input parameters, Para. [0059] of UMETANI; See also values at grid points of the exterior cubes define the velocity field surrounding the design object, Para. [0043] of UMETANI).
Claim 11 has substantially similar limitations as recited in system claim 1 in terms of a method; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1), mutatis mutandis, for the same reasons.
Claim 12 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 2; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for the same reasons.
Claim 13 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 3; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for the same reasons.
Claim 14 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 4; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for the same reasons.
Claim 15 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 5; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for the same reasons.
Claim 16 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 6; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for the same reasons.
Claim 20 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 10; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over UMETANI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0364388 A1) in view of LAVIN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0060986 A1).
Regarding claim 7, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 5 (as shown above), wherein the objective function comprises … (i) the loss term specified by the one or more governing equations of motion for the fluid or the viscoelastic material (parameterization application 230 employs projection height as the minimization target because longer projections results in more distortion of the neighboring cubes. Parameterization application 230 minimizes distortion energy W, as given by Equation 1, via a gradient descent technique, Para. [0052] of UMETANI; [minimizing error and/or gradient descent are interpreted as corresponding to minimizing loss/cost term of an objective function]; See also for each randomly generated training shape, machine learning application 235 solves the Navier-Stokes equation in a highly detailed spatial grid for many time steps to accurately obtain the time-averaged velocity field and pressure field, Para. [0059] of UMETANI; [Applicant’s original claim 6 indicates that the Navier-Stokes equation is a governing equation of motion]) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose wherein the objective function comprises a weighted combination of a plurality of loss terms including … (ii) at least one loss term based on a user-defined constraint.
LAVIN, however, is in the field of simulation based inference including computational fluid dynamics (CFD) (Para. [0058] of LAVIN) and teaches wherein the objective function comprises a weighted combination of a plurality of loss terms (weights are learned by the neural network … the neural network is trained to learn weights using gradient-based optimizations … the gradient-based optimization comprises one or more loss functions, Para. [0148] of LAVIN) including … (ii) at least one loss term based on a user-defined constraint (a user-defined cost function, Paras. [0084] & [0139] of LAVIN).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine learning fluid flows method of UMETANI to include the user-defined cost function as in LAVIN (to arrive at the claimed features) for the purpose of improving the overall performance of broader data ingestion/modeling system (Para. [0139] of LAVIN).
Claim 17 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 7; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for the same reasons.
Claims 8, 9, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over UMETANI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0364388 A1) in view of ALBERT et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0064802 A1).
Regarding claim 8, UMETANI discloses the system of claim 5 (as shown above), wherein the objective function comprises … (i) the loss term specified by the one or more governing equations of motion for the fluid or the viscoelastic material (parameterization application 230 employs projection height as the minimization target because longer projections results in more distortion of the neighboring cubes. Parameterization application 230 minimizes distortion energy W, as given by Equation 1, via a gradient descent technique, Para. [0052] of UMETANI; [minimizing error and/or gradient descent are interpreted as corresponding to minimizing loss/cost term of an objective function]; See also for each randomly generated training shape, machine learning application 235 solves the Navier-Stokes equation in a highly detailed spatial grid for many time steps to accurately obtain the time-averaged velocity field and pressure field, Para. [0059] of UMETANI; [Applicant’s original claim 6 indicates that the Navier-Stokes equation is a governing equation of motion]) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose wherein the objective function comprises a weighted combination of a plurality of loss terms including … (ii) at least one loss term derived from a physics-defined parameter of the fluid or the viscoelastic material other than the one or more governing equations of motion
ALBERT, however, is in the field of environmental computational fluid dynamics (CFD) is process-driven simulation (Para. [0003] of ALBERT) and teaches wherein the objective function comprises a weighted combination of a plurality of loss terms (re-calculating the loss function with the new updated weights, Para. [0123] of ALBERT; See also calculating the gradient of the loss function with respect to the weights during training of the network architecture, Para. [0128] of ALBERT; See also PSD-based loss can be inserted directly into the overall loss function and used to optimize the network architecture through the iterative process of calculating gradients and updating network weights … physics-based metrics could also be used in the loss function-conservation of mass/momentum/energy/vorticity (rotation), Para. [0128] of ALBERT) including … (ii) at least one loss term derived from a physics-defined parameter of the fluid or the viscoelastic material other than the one or more governing equations of motion (PSD-based loss can be inserted directly into the overall loss function and used to optimize the network architecture through the iterative process of calculating gradients and updating network weights … physics-based metrics could also be used in the loss function-conservation of mass/momentum/energy/vorticity (rotation), Para. [0128] of ALBERT; [Applicant’s original claim 9 indicates that vorticity loss may correspond to the at least one loss term derived from the physics-defined parameter of the fluid or the viscoelastic material other than the one or more governing equations of motion]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the machine learning fluid flows method of UMETANI to include the vorticity loss-based loss/cost function as in ALBERT (to arrive at the claimed features) for the purpose of allowing faster training time and permitting larger batch sizes, thus increasing efficiency, and/or improving convergence of network training and hence making GANs easier to train (Para. [0128] of ALBERT).
Regarding claim 9, UMETANI as modified by ALBERT discloses the system of claim 8 (as shown above), wherein the at least one loss term derived from the physics-defined parameter of the fluid or the viscoelastic material other than the one or more governing equations of motion comprises one or more of a divergence loss, a kinetic energy loss, a vorticity loss, or a density gradient loss (PSD-based loss can be inserted directly into the overall loss function and used to optimize the network architecture through the iterative process of calculating gradients and updating network weights … physics-based metrics could also be used in the loss function-conservation of mass/momentum/energy/vorticity (rotation), Para. [0128] of ALBERT).
Claim 18 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 8; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for the same reasons.
Claim 19 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 9; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KIM et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0112800 A1) discloses “simulating stretching and wiggling liquids using an Eulerian vortex sheet method, which focuses on vorticity at interface and provides a user control for producing visual effects and employing a dense (high-resolution) grid for surface tracking in addition to coarse (low-resolution) simulation grid”.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN P HOCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189