Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “the terminal or providing any computing power service to the terminal. Therefore, Yang does not disclose any "signaling interaction of a native computing power service," or "providing the terminal with a native computing power service satisfying a computing power resource requirement of the terminal," as recited by each of the independent claims.“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. Yang expressly discloses signaling over a control plane between an MME in a core network and a UE. The UE requests a power savings configuration to the MME, and the MME responds with a power savings configuration response (p128-130). The response is a modification of the specific UE’s power configuration which is sent to the MME in the request (p134). Thus Yang discloses “performing signaling interaction of a native computing power service with a terminal through a control plane, and providing the terminal with a native computing power service satisfying a computing power resource requirement of the terminal”.
On page 3 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “Although Ryu claims priority to an earlier Provisional Application No. 63/982,507 (the '507 application), Ryu does not entitle to such priority. The '507 application was filed February 27, 2020, more than one-year statutory bar date before the PCT filing on March 1, 2021. No request to restore priority was filed (and thus never granted) in the PCT application. As a result, Ryu does not entitle to the priority to the '507 application, and Ryu thus does not qualify as prior art under 102(a)(2). For at least the reasons above, Ryu does not qualify as prior art, under either 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2), and thus should be removed as prior art. Because the rejection of all claims 4-11 and 18 rely on Ryu, the rejection should be withdrawn and claims allowed.“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. The Bibliographic Data regarding non-provisional application 17/895,572 claims priority to provision application 62/982,507. Non-provisional application 17/895,572 is published under PGPub US 2015/0282087. Thus the prior art rejection date of US 2015/0282087 is the filing date of the provisional application 162/982,507.
In view of the above discussions the rejection of claims 1-20 still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2015/0282087).
For claims 1, 19, and 20; Yang discloses: performing signaling interaction of a native computing power service with a terminal through a control plane (paragraph 128-130: the user equipment directly sends the power saving configuration request to the MME in the core network CN by using NAS signaling…The UE sends the power saving configuration request to the core network by using the NAS signaling in a RAN transparent transmission manner…The core network CN sends, to the UE by using the NAS signaling, a power saving configuration performed on the UE), and providing the terminal with a native computing power service satisfying a computing power resource requirement of the terminal (paragraph 128-130: the user equipment directly sends the power saving configuration request to the MME in the core network CN by using NAS signaling…The UE sends the power saving configuration request to the core network by using the NAS signaling in a RAN transparent transmission manner…The core network CN sends, to the UE by using the NAS signaling, a power saving configuration performed on the UE).
For claims 2; Yang discloses: performing signaling interaction of a native computing power service with a terminal through a computing service layer (paragraph 125: the user equipment may send the power saving configuration request to the network side; or a user triggers a power saving control application program installed on the user equipment and the power saving control application runs, so that a power saving configuration request is generated), wherein the computing service layer of the terminal is an upper layer of a non-access stratum (paragraph 128-130: the user equipment directly sends the power saving configuration request to the MME in the core network CN by using NAS signaling…The UE sends the power saving configuration request to the core network by using the NAS signaling in a RAN transparent transmission manner…The core network CN sends, to the UE by using the NAS signaling, a power saving configuration performed on the UE), and signaling of the native computing power service is encapsulated in signaling of the non-access stratum (paragraph 128-130: the user equipment directly sends the power saving configuration request to the MME in the core network CN by using NAS signaling…The UE sends the power saving configuration request to the core network by using the NAS signaling in a RAN transparent transmission manner…The core network CN sends, to the UE by using the NAS signaling, a power saving configuration performed on the UE).
For claims 3; Yang discloses: the target network device is configured to implement at least one of the following functions on a network protocol transmission platform: authenticating and authorizing the terminal to access the native computing power service; negotiating computing power quality of service of the native computing power service; scheduling of a computing power resource; routing; or charging (paragraph 113: the network side increases the discontinuous reception period set for the user equipment. In this way, time of listening on a physical downlink control channel when the user equipment in the RRC connected state wakes up can be reduced, so as to achieve an objective of saving power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ryu et al. (US 2022/0408333) (“Ryu”).
For claim 4; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Ryu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein signaling of the native computing power service between the target network device and the terminal is forwarded by an execution entity configured to implement an access and mobility management function (paragraph 204-209: a UE 100 in CM IDLE state may initiate the service request procedure to send uplink signaling messages, user data, and/or the like, as a response to a network paging request, and/or the like. In an example, after receiving the service request message, the AMF 155 may perform authentication…the UE 100 may send to a (R)AN 105 an AN message comprising AN parameters, mobility management, MM NAS service request 1005 …the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Ryu in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
For claim 5; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 4 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Ryu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling of the native computing power service is transparently transmitted between the target network device and the execution entity configured to implement an access and mobility management function (paragraph 204-209: a UE 100 in CM IDLE state may initiate the service request procedure to send uplink signaling messages, user data, and/or the like, as a response to a network paging request, and/or the like. In an example, after receiving the service request message, the AMF 155 may perform authentication…the UE 100 may send to a (R)AN 105 an AN message comprising AN parameters, mobility management, MM NAS service request 1005 …the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request) through a service message of a service based architecture interface (paragraph 163: 5G architecture may be service-based and the interaction between network functions may be represented in two ways. (1) As service-based representation (depicted in example FIG. 1), where network functions within the control plane, may enable other authorized network functions to access their services. This representation may also include point-to-point reference points where necessary. (2) Reference point representation, showing the interaction between the NF services in the network functions described by point-to-point reference point (e.g. N11) between any two network functions). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Ryu in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
For claim 6; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Ryu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receiving a registration request message of the native computing power service sent by the terminal; and performing a registration procedure (paragraph 181: a registration procedure may be performed by the UE 100 to get authorized to receive services, to enable mobility tracking, to enable reachability, and/or the like). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Ryu in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
For claim 10; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action. Yang discloses: obtaining a computing power resource requirement of the terminal; generating a native computing power service policy based on the computing power resource requirement of the terminal, and allocating communication and computing power resources to the terminal; and sending the native computing power service policy to the terminal (paragraph 113: the network side increases the discontinuous reception period set for the user equipment. In this way, time of listening on a physical downlink control channel when the user equipment in the RRC connected state wakes up can be reduced, so as to achieve an objective of saving power).
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Ryu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: after a registration procedure is completed (paragraph 181: a registration procedure may be performed by the UE 100 to get authorized to receive services, to enable mobility tracking, to enable reachability, and/or the like). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Ryu in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
For claim 11; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 10 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Ryu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: generating a native computing power service policy based on the computing power resource requirement of the terminal through a policy control function entity, and allocating communication and computing power resource to the terminal (paragraph 131, 152, 312, 321, 336: policy information from the PCF 135 to the UE 100. In an example, the policy information may comprise: access network discovery and selection policy, UE 100 route selection policy (URSP), SSC mode selection policy (SSCMSP), network slice selection policy (NSSP), DNN selection policy, non-seamless offload policy…where PCF 135 may provide rules for QoS control and charging for the traffic routed to the local data network). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Ryu in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ryu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0021988) (“Park”).
For claim 7; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Park from similar fields of endeavor teaches: obtaining authentication information of the terminal from a subscription management function entity, and performing authentication; when the authentication is successful, obtaining user data of the terminal from the subscription management function entity; and performing third-party registration with a computing service server (paragraph 124: the UE 301 may transmit a request message for establishing a PDU session to the AMF 303. The AMF 303 may perform a process of selecting an appropriate SMF in the network slice designated for updating private network configuration information. The AMF 303 may deliver the information of the request message for PDU session establishment received from the UE 301 to the selected SMF… the SMF 304 may perform additional authentication with the DN AAA being a private network authentication server to establish a communication path between the UE 301 and the private network management server). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Park in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ryu in view of Park as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lau (US 2014/0018039).
For claim 8; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 7 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Lau from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receiving a message for subscribing to a registration event notification from the terminal (paragraph 51: User device 120 may subscribe to registration event notification service with S-CSCF 220 by sending a SIP subscribe message to S-CSCF). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Lau in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ryu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ganguli et al. (US 2022/0103614) (“Ganguli”).
For claim 9; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 6 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Ganguli from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receiving a message of the sent by the terminal through a proxy target network device, wherein signaling between the proxy target network device and the terminal is forwarded by an execution entity configured to implement an access and mobility management function (paragraph 71: the IMS 342 includes a CSCF, which can act as a proxy CSCF (P-CSCF) 344, a serving CSCF (S-CSCF) 346, an emergency CSCF (E-CSCF) (not illustrated in FIG, 3C), or interrogating CSCF (I-CSCF) 348. The P-CSCF 344 can be configured to be the first contact point for the UE 302 within the IMS 342. The S-CSCF 346 can be configured to handle the session states in the network, and the E-CSCF can he configured to handle certain aspects of emergency sessions such as routing an emergency request to the correct emergency center or public safety answering point (PSAP)… I-CSCF 348 can be configured to function as the contact point within an operator's network for all IMS connections destined to a subscriber of that network operator, or a roaming subscriber). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Ganguli in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ryu as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2023/0229215) (“Gu”) in view of Bell (US 2017/0359843) (“Bell”).
For claim 18; Yang discloses the subject matter in claim 10 as described above in the office action.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Gu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the native computing power service policy comprises: an address or identifier of a computing power service server (paragraph 45, 48: the cloud computing power platform 200 may be a server for providing computing power allocating services… a third-party computing power scheduling center 400 and acquire the account information (e.g., URL link address, user ID, user password of the computing power scheduling center)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Park in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Bell from similar fields of endeavor teaches: a gateway address or identifier (paragraph 91: the chosen edge servers may be different for respective communications conducted over different radio access technologies, e.g. over Wi-Fi, cellular, etc. More generally, a network signature may be thought of as collective information representative of a respective network, and may include information representative of the type of the network (e.g. Wi-Fi, cellular, Ethernet, etc.), the network provider, IP addresses, and/or gateway address, among others). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Bell in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
Yang does not expressly disclose, but Ryu from similar fields of endeavor teaches: transmission quality of service (paragraph 313: the wireless device may request offloading based on at least one of a battery power level of the wireless device, computing resources of the wireless device, computing resources for the application of the wireless device, a radio quality with a serving base station, a wireless device capability). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Ryu in the power savings as described by Yang. The motivation is to improve network authorized functions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE-GREGORIO-RODRIGUEZ et al. (US 2024/0389012); DE-GREGORIO-RODRIGUEZ discloses subscription handling and notifications, for instance, with respect to Network Function (NF) management services.THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466