DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to the request for continued examination of 04/28/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9, 11-17, 19, and 21-23, as originally filed 04/28/2026, are pending and have been examined on the merits (claims 1, 14, and 16 being independent). Claims 1, 14, and 16 have been amended and claim 23 has newly added. Claims 10, 18, and 20 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered.
With regard to the rejections of the claims under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments amendments have been considered but are moot as a new ground of rejection has been added and Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Applicant is arguing newly amended claim language. Further as noted in the citation above the prior art and the amendments are addressed by the rejections cited under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the rejections below, where claims are currently amended, this is indicated by underlining.
Claims 1, 7, 11-14, 16, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie Zhen, CN 109064182 A in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith), US Patent Number 11,157,906 B1.
Regarding claim 1:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
A mobile device comprising: (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0044] “the mobile terminal may include: a processor 1001, such as a CPU, a communication bus 1002 , a user interface 1003, a network interface 1004, and a memory 1005.”, and see also [0128])
one or more sensors to capture biometric data describing a condition of a user of the mobile device; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0090] “the mobile terminal receives the pulse information and body temperature information sent by the pulse sensing device, and determines whether the human body is in a sleep state based on the pulse information and the body temperature information.”)
at least one processor; and computer-readable storage media storing instructions that are executable by the at least one processor to: (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0034] “The present invention also provides a computer-readable storage medium, on which a payment verification program is stored, and when the payment verification program is executed by a processor”)
trigger (reads on “If it is determined that the human body is in a sleep state, the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode is triggered.’) an impaired mode for the mobile device based on a determination that the user of the mobile device is in an impaired state based on the biometric data; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0090] “the sleep sensing triggering is that the mobile terminal receives the pulse information and body temperature information sent by the pulse sensing device, and determines whether the human body is in a sleep state based on the pulse information and the body temperature information. If it is determined that the human body is in a sleep state, the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode is triggered.”)
receive (reads on “If the current payment mode of the mobile terminal is a dangerous payment mode, a payment verification interface is displayed, and the user can enter voice verification data through the payment verification interface”) a request to perform a data transfer related to an action on the mobile device; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0076] “when a payment instruction is monitored, it is determined whether the current payment mode of the mobile terminal is a dangerous payment mode. If the current payment mode of the mobile terminal is a dangerous payment mode, a payment verification interface is displayed, and the user can enter voice verification data through the payment verification interface.”)
Xie Zhen does not explicitly disclose the following, however Smith further teaches:
generate (reads on “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired….”) instructions to present a challenge to the user on the mobile device, based at least in part on the impaired mode, the challenge including one or more prompts presented in a user interface of the mobile device to test whether the user remains in the impaired state; (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”))
determine (reads on “For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”) whether the user remains in the impaired state based on one or more responses to the one or more prompts; and (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”)
determine whether to perform the data transfer based on whether the user remains in the impaired state. (Smith: see column 2, lines 45-50: “Further, in instances where the transaction would involve the transmission of data over a network, barring the transaction (when the user is in an impaired state) prevents such a transmission, thus reducing network traffic and freeing bandwidth for other communications.” And column 14, lines 12-21: “For example, a constraint 202 may indicate that action(s) 124 are to be performed if the user 104 attempts, e.g., while in an impaired state, to purchase product(s) for which the total value is higher than a threshold amount. As another example, a constraint 202 may indicate that action( s) 124 are to be performed if the user 104 attempts, e.g., while in an impaired state, to purchase particular types of products such as weapons, tobacco products, alcohol, fireworks or other explosives, and so forth.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include asking to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state, as taught by Smith, in order to provide a spending protection. (Smith, column 1, lines 15-54)
Regarding claim 7:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein to trigger the impaired mode, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to:
present (reads on “the sliding gesture triggering is to obtain the user's sliding gesture and determine whether the sliding gesture is a preset sliding gesture”) a query via the mobile device requesting whether to activate the impaired mode; and (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0090] “the triggering methods of the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode include sliding gesture triggering, physical button triggering and sleep sensing triggering. Specifically, the sliding gesture triggering is to obtain the user's sliding gesture and determine whether the sliding gesture is a preset sliding gesture. If the sliding gesture is a preset sliding gesture, the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode is triggered”)
activate (reads on “If the sliding gesture is a preset sliding gesture, the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode is triggered”) the impaired mode in response to input to the query. (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0090] “the triggering methods of the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode include sliding gesture triggering, physical button triggering and sleep sensing triggering. Specifically, the sliding gesture triggering is to obtain the user's sliding gesture and determine whether the sliding gesture is a preset sliding gesture. If the sliding gesture is a preset sliding gesture, the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode is triggered”)
Regarding claim 11:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein in response to a trigger of the impaired mode and prior to the request to perform the action, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to present, on the mobile device, an option to provide a proactive action. (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0098] “when it is necessary to close the dangerous payment mode, identity authentication is required, that is, the current payment mode of the mobile terminal is set to the normal payment mode only after the collected voice data is verified, to prevent others from closing the dangerous payment mode and improve security.”)
Regarding claim 12:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to:
receive further sensor data from the one or more sensors to determine one or more further state conditions associated with the mobile device; and (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0095] “when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface,… The mobile terminal collects voice data during the process of the user reading aloud the verification content, wherein the voice data is voice containing the verification content”)
deactivate the impaired mode by correlating the one or more further state conditions to one or more impaired mode settings. (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0096] “verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode.”)
Regarding claim 13:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to:
receive a request to deactivate the impaired mode; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0095] “when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored”)
present, on the mobile device, the challenge; and (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0095] “a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface… The mobile terminal collects voice data during the process of the user reading aloud the verification content, wherein the voice data is voice containing the verification content”)
determine whether to deactivate the impaired mode based at least in part on a result of the challenge. (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0096] “verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode.”)
Regarding claim 14:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
A method comprising:
obtaining biometric data describing a condition of a user of a mobile device using one or more sensors of the mobile device; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0090] “the mobile terminal receives the pulse information and body temperature information sent by the pulse sensing device, and determines whether the human body is in a sleep state based on the pulse information and the body temperature information.”)
triggering an impaired mode for a user account based on determining that the user of the mobile device is in an impaired state based on the biometric data; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0090] “determines whether the human body is in a sleep state based on the pulse information and the body temperature information. If it is determined that the human body is in a sleep state, the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode is triggered.”)
receiving a request to perform (reads on “a payment verification interface is displayed, and voice verification data is collected through the payment verification interface”) a data transfer related to an action on the mobile device; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0100] “When a payment instruction is detected and the current payment mode of the mobile terminal is a dangerous payment mode, a payment verification interface is displayed, and voice verification data is collected through the payment verification interface.”)
Xie Zhen does not explicitly disclose the following, however Smith further teaches:
generating instructions to present a challenge to the user on the mobile device, the challenge including one or more prompts presented in a user interface of the mobile device to test whether the user remains in the impaired state and applying one or more constraints to the data transfer based at least in part on the impaired mode; (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”)
determine whether the user remains in the impaired state based on one or more responses to the one or more prompts; and (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”)
determining whether to perform the data transfer based on whether the user remains in the impaired state. (Smith: see column 2, lines 45-50: “Further, in instances where the transaction would involve the transmission of data over a network, barring the transaction (when the user is in an impaired state) prevents such a transmission, thus reducing network traffic and freeing bandwidth for other communications.” And column 14, lines 12-21: “For example, a constraint 202 may indicate that action(s) 124 are to be performed if the user 104 attempts, e.g., while in an impaired state, to purchase product(s) for which the total value is higher than a threshold amount. As another example, a constraint 202 may indicate that action( s) 124 are to be performed if the user 104 attempts, e.g., while in an impaired state, to purchase particular types of products such as weapons, tobacco products, alcohol, fireworks or other explosives, and so forth.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include asking to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state, as taught by Smith, in order to provide a spending protection. (Smith, column 1, lines 15-54)
Regarding claim 16:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
A system comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the system to:
receive, at a network device, a notification from a mobile device indicating that an impaired mode is active on the mobile device and that an action involving a data transfer is requested via a user account associated with a user of the mobile device, (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0100] “When a payment instruction is detected and the current payment mode of the mobile terminal is a dangerous payment mode, a payment verification interface is displayed, and voice verification data is collected through the payment verification interface.”)
the impaired mode based on biometric data obtained by one or more sensors of the mobile device describing a condition of a user of the mobile device and a determination that the user of the mobile device is in an impaired state; (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0090] “the mobile terminal receives the pulse information and body temperature information sent by the pulse sensing device, and determines whether the human body is in a sleep state based on the pulse information and the body temperature information. If it is determines whether the human body is in a sleep state based on the pulse information and the body temperature information. If it is determined that the human body is in a sleep state, the activation instruction of the dangerous payment mode is triggered.”)
Xie Zhen does not explicitly disclose the following, however Smith further teaches:
generate instructions to present a challenge to the user on the mobile device, the challenge including one or more prompts presented in a user interface of the mobile device to test whether the user remains in the impaired state, via the user account based at least in part on one or more impaired mode settings including applying one or more constraints to the action; (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”)
determine whether the user remains in the impaired state based on one or more responses to the one or more prompts; (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”)
determine whether to perform the data transfer based on whether the user remains in the impaired state; and (Smith: see column 2, lines 45-50: “Further, in instances where the transaction would involve the transmission of data over a network, barring the transaction (when the user is in an impaired state) prevents such a transmission, thus reducing network traffic and freeing bandwidth for other communications.” And column 14, lines 12-21: “For example, a constraint 202 may indicate that action(s) 124 are to be performed if the user 104 attempts, e.g., while in an impaired state, to purchase product(s) for which the total value is higher than a threshold amount. As another example, a constraint 202 may indicate that action( s) 124 are to be performed if the user 104 attempts, e.g., while in an impaired state, to purchase particular types of products such as weapons, tobacco products, alcohol, fireworks or other explosives, and so forth.”)
transmit, to the mobile device, a notification indicating a result of the action in response to the challenge. (Smith: see column 3, lines 53-62: “Based on the determined state of the user, one or more actions may be performed to manage the transaction. Such action(s) may include but are not limited to blocking a transaction, delaying a transaction, notifying the user and/or other individual(s ), and/or subjecting the user to one or more tests to validate the emotional, physical, and/or intellectual state of the user. For example, a purchase, funds transfer, or other financial transaction may be blocked based on a determination that the user is intoxicated when initiating the transaction.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include asking to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state, as taught by Smith, in order to provide a spending protection. (Smith, column 1, lines 15-54)
Regarding claim 21:
Xie Zhen discloses the following:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to perform (reads on “a corresponding payment operation is executed”) the data transfer related to the action in response to determining (reads on “When the payment verification passes, password verification information is received and verified, and when the password verification information passes the verification”) that the user of the mobile device is no longer impaired. (Xie Zhen: See paragraph [0035] “When a payment instruction is monitored and the current payment mode of a mobile terminal is a dangerous payment mode, the present invention displays a payment verification interface, and performs voiceprint feature recognition and emotion recognition on voice verification data received based on the payment verification interface to determine a target voiceprint feature and a target emotion category, and executes a payment verification operation based on the target voiceprint feature and the target emotion category. When the payment verification passes, password verification information is received and verified, and when the password verification information passes the verification, a corresponding payment operation is executed.”)
Regarding claim 22:
Xie Zhen does not explicitly disclose the following, however Smith further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the challenge involves capturing additional biometric data using the one or more sensors to determine whether the user remains in the impaired state. (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include asking to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state, as taught by Smith, in order to provide a spending protection. (Smith, column 1, lines 15-54)
Regarding claim 23:
Xie Zhen does not explicitly disclose the following, however Smith further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the one or more prompts presented in the user interface of the mobile device include a question related to whether the user remains in the impaired state. (Smith: see column 12, lines 57-67: “Action(s) 124 may include administering a test to the user 104, e.g., through the user device 102, to determine whether the user 104 is actually impaired. For example, to check whether a user 104 is intoxicated the user 104 may be asked to speak a phrase which is captured by audio sensor device(s) and analyzed to determine whether the user 104 is slurring their words. As another example, the user 104 may be asked to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include asking to solve a puzzle, answer questions, or otherwise interact with the interface of the user device 102 to determine whether the user 104 is impaired with regard to their physical, mental, and/or emotional state, as taught by Smith, in order to provide a spending protection. (Smith, column 1, lines 15-54)
Claims 2-6, 8-9, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie Zhen in view of Smith in further view of Dayan et al. (hereinafter Dayan), US Publication Number 2016/0232516 A1.
Regarding claim 2:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the determination that the user of the mobile device is in the impaired state is based on a location of the mobile device and one or more impaired mode settings that identify the location as a high risk location for impairment. (Dayan: See paragraphs [0058] “Device location module 116 may receive location information from one of sensors 92 (e.g., a GPS sensor) and determine the location of computing device 80 at the time analysis module 104 is generating the risk level,…. device location module 116 may determine whether the current location of computing device 80 is a location frequented by an authorized user of computing device 80. if computing device 80 is at a location corresponding to a bar not frequented by an authorized user, device location module 116 may determine that he location does not correspond to a location frequented by an authorized user. Based on this determination, analysis module 104 may increase the current risk level.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 3:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the determination that the user of the mobile device is in the impaired state is based on a time value and one or more impaired mode settings identify the time value as a high risk time value for impairment. (Dayan: See paragraph [0059] “When determining the risk level, analysis module 104 may compare the application usage pattern for a recent time window (e.g., within the last 5 minutes, 30 minutes, hour, 2 hours, etc.) to prior application usage patterns for a corresponding time, day, location, etc. If the current application usage pattern is sufficiently similar (i.e., within a threshold amount different) of the corresponding prior application usage pattern, analysis module 104 may reduce the current risk level, and vice versa.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 4:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the determination that the user of the mobile device is in the impaired state is based on a person detected in proximity to the mobile device and one or more impaired mode settings that identify the person as a high risk person for impairment. (Dayan: See paragraphs [0032] “a user that desires to minimize the potential for abuse by unauthorized persons may select a low risk level and the resolution module 44 and/or a resolution module of secondary device 32 may authorize only transactions where the determined risk metric is below the selected low risk level.” And [0049] “Sensors 92 may be configured to detect one or more objects in proximity to computing device 80, measure the movement of computing device 80, and may collect other information associated with computing device 80. Examples of sensors 92 that detect and/or measure movement of computing device 80 may include, but are not limited to, accelerometers and gyroscopes.”, and see also [0016])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 5:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the determination that the user of the mobile device is in the impaired state is based on a detected motion pattern of the mobile device and one or more impaired mode settings that identify the detected motion pattern as a high risk motion pattern for impairment. (Dayan: See paragraph [0057] “motion module 116 may compare accelerometer data collected while the current user of computing device 80 is walking and compare it to stored accelerometer data of an authorized user of computing device 80 to see if the gait of the current user matches or is within a threshold margin of error of the gate of the authorized user.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 6:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the determination that the user of the mobile device is in the impaired state is based on a combination of two or more of a location (reads on “global positioning system sensors”) of the mobile device, a time value, a person detected in proximity (reads on “proximity sensors”) to the mobile device, or a detected motion pattern (reads on “motion sensors”) of the mobile device. (Dayan: See paragraph [0015] “Analysis module 20 may receive information from one or more sensors 16 and store at least an indication of the information received from sensors 16 in user data 26. Sensors 16 may include motion sensors e.g., accelerometer, gyroscope, compass, etc.), audio and/or visual sensors (e.g., microphones, still and/or video cameras, etc.), or other types of sensors (e.g., pressure sensors, light sensors, proximity sensors, ultrasonic sensors, global positioning system sensors, etc.).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 8:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 1, wherein to generate (reads on “cause UI module 102 to output instructions for the current user of computing device 80 to complete a security challenge and how to complete the security challenge.”) the instructions to change the action via a user account based at least in part on one or more impaired mode settings, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to apply one or more constraints to the action. (Dayan: See paragraph [0064] “In examples where resolution module 106 determining that reauthorization is required, resolution module 106 may cause UI module 102 to output instructions for the current user of computing device 80 to complete a security challenge and how to complete the security challenge. Depending on the security challenge, the user may be required to submit to a facial recognition process, provide a fingerprint for fingerprint authentication, enter a passcode, perform an input pattern, provide a voice sample for voice authentication, move computing device 80 in a particular pattern, etc.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 9:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the one or more constraints comprises one or more of: a maximum spend threshold (reads on “determine that the transaction is a purchase and that the transaction amount is greater than $1,000”); a location constraint; a change in authentication mode; one or more action types; or a change to authentication-related information. (Dayan: See paragraph [0018] “Resolution module 24 may determine whether or not the transaction is authorized based on the risk metric as well as the transaction information. For example, resolution module 24 may determine that the transaction is a purchase and that the transaction amount is greater than $1,000.”, and Notes: the recited claim requires at least one from the listed elements.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 15:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The method of claim 14, wherein:
determining (reads on “determining that reauthorization is required”) that the user of the mobile device is in the impaired state is based on one or more of a location (reads on “global positioning system sensors”) of the mobile device, a time value, a person detected in proximity (reads on “proximity sensors”) to the mobile device, or a detected motion pattern (reads on “motion sensors ) of the mobile device; and Dayan: See paragraph [0015] “Analysis module 20 may receive information from one or more sensors 16 and store at least an indication of the information received from sensors 16 in user data 26. Sensors 16 may include motion sensors e.g., accelerometer, gyroscope, compass, etc.), audio and/or visual sensors (e.g., microphones, still and/or video cameras, etc.), or other types of sensors (e.g., pressure sensors, light sensors, proximity sensors, ultrasonic sensors, global positioning system sensors, etc.).”, and Notes: the recited claim requires at least one from the listed elements.”, and see also [0064])
the one or more constraints (reads on “determine that the transaction is a purchase and that the transaction amount is greater than $1,000”) comprise one or more of a maximum spend threshold , a location constraint, a change in authentication mode, one or more action types, or a change to authentication-related information. (Dayan: See paragraph [0018] “Resolution module 24 may determine whether or not the transaction is authorized based on the risk metric as well as the transaction information. For example, resolution module 24 may determine that the transaction is a purchase and that the transaction amount is greater than $1,000.”, and Notes: the recited claim requires at least one from the listed elements.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 19:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The system of claim 17, wherein the result of the action comprises one or more of:
whether the action was allowed based on the maximum spend threshold (reads on “determine that the transaction is a purchase and that the transaction amount is greater than $1,000”);
whether the action was allowed based on the location constraint (reads on “device location module 116 may determine that he location does not correspond to a location frequented by an authorized user”);
whether the action was allowed based on the change in the authentication mode (reads on “perform an authentication challenge (e.g., to input security information, such as a password, a personal identification number (PIN), a pattern or biometric data (e.g., fingerprint, voice, image, or the like))”);
whether the action was allowed based on the one or more action types; or whether the action was allowed based on the change to the authentication-related information. (Dayan: See paragraph [0021] “If the transaction was not authorized, payment module 22 may cause user interface device 14 to output an indication as to why the transaction was not approved and may include a request for a user of mobile computing device 10 to perform an authentication challenge (e.g., to input security information, such as a password, a personal identification number (PIN), a pattern or biometric data (e.g., fingerprint, voice, image, or the like)). If the user successfully performs the authentication challenge, payment module 22 may transmit the payment information to payment system 12 and complete the transaction.”, and Notes: the recited claim requires at least one from the listed elements. the claim “the change to authentication-related information” reads on [0021], and see also [0018] and [0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 20:
Xie Zhen and Smith do not explicitly disclose the following, however Dayan further teaches:
The system of claim 16, wherein to generate the instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to:
receive, from the mobile device, an indication of the result of the challenge for the action; and determine whether to allow the action to proceed based at least in part on the result of the challenge for the action. (Dayan: See paragraph [0021] “If the user successfully performs the authentication challenge, payment module 22 may transmit the payment information to payment system 12 and complete the transaction.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, when a closing instruction of a triggered dangerous payment mode is monitored, a verification interface is displayed, and voice data is collected based on the verification interface and verifying the voice data, and after the voice data passes the verification, setting the current payment mode of the mobile terminal to the normal payment mode of Xie Zhen to include performing a risk assessment (e.g., based on the likelihood that an authorized user is the one attempting to make the mobile payment and the relative cost of error if the mobile payment is incorrectly authorized) to determine whether or not the mobile payment should be authorized, as taught by Dayan, in order to reduce a risk of abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss. (Dayan, paragraph [0009])
Regarding claim 17: it is similar scope to claim 9, and thus it is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon herein but pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure is listed in the enclosed PTO-892.
/YONGSIK PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3694
June 10, 2026
/BENNETT M SIGMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3694