DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The instant claims are considered apparatus claims. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114. Also, expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 202963022 U).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao et al. discloses a waste carrying container (i.e., a tank body 1 for carrying kitchen waste; see FIG. 1, translation), comprising:
a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by walls of the tank body 1); and
a steam conducting unit (i.e., a unit comprising steam pipelines 6) installed and positioned inside the chamber, connecting with the chamber and exterior space of the chamber, and comprising multiple steam tubes 6 extending into the chamber and arranged at spaced intervals (see FIG. 1); each of the steam tubes 6 having a first end (i.e., an end of each steam pipeline 6 disposed outside of the tank body 1), a second end (i.e., an opposite end of each steam pipeline 6 disposed inside of the tank body 1), a first opening (i.e., a steam inlet 5) formed at the first end, and a second opening (i.e., a steam outlet, shown); wherein each of the steam tubes 6 connects with the exterior space out of the chamber via the first opening 5 of the steam tube and connects with the chamber via the second opening of the steam tube 6.
The further recitations with respect to the waste carrying container being “adapted for a waste volume expansion stabilization process, configured for carrying a pile of waste” do not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The waste carrying container of Zhao et al. would be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao et al. (see FIG. 1) discloses that each of the steam tubes 6 extends downwardly into the chamber 1; and the first end 5 of each of the steam tubes is located higher than the second end (i.e., the discharge end) of the steam tube 6.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Zhao et al. (see FIG. 1) discloses that the second end of each of the steam tubes 6 is spaced apart from an internal surface of the chamber 1.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Zhao et al. (see FIG. 1) discloses that each of the steam tubes 6 has multiple holes (i.e., ventilation holes 8a) formed through a peripheral surface of the steam tube and connecting with the steam tube 6 and the chamber 1.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2016/0151812 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang et al. discloses a waste carrying container (i.e., a reactor for processing waste, see FIG. 1-2; paragraphs [0020]-[0026]), comprising:
a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by walls of a reaction vessel 110); and
a steam conducting unit (i.e., a unit comprising steam supply pipes 180) installed and positioned inside the chamber, connecting with the chamber and exterior space of the chamber, and comprising multiple steam tubes 180 extending into the chamber and arranged at spaced intervals (see FIG. 2); each of the steam tubes 180 having a first end (i.e., an end which connects to a steam supply manifold exterior to the chamber), a second end (i.e., an end located inside of the chamber), a first opening formed at the first end (i.e., an inlet opening of the steam supply pipe 180), and a second opening formed at the second end (i.e., a hole H formed at the end of the steam supply pipe 180); wherein each of the steam tubes 180 connects with the exterior space out of the chamber via the first opening of the steam tube 180 and connects with the chamber 110 via the second opening H of the steam tube 180.
The further recitations with respect to the waste carrying container being “adapted for a waste volume expansion stabilization process, configured for carrying a pile of waste” do not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The waste carrying container of Hwang et al. would be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang et al. (see FIG. 2) discloses that each of the steam tubes 180 extends horizontally into the chamber 110; the first end of each of the steam tubes 180 is penetrated through a side wall of the chamber 110 to allow the first opening of the steam tube 180 to connect with the exterior space out of the chamber 110.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Hwang et al. (see FIG. 2) discloses that the second end of each of the steam tubes 180 is spaced apart from an internal surface of the chamber 110.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Hwang et al. (see FIG. 1-2) discloses that each of the steam tubes has multiple holes H formed through a peripheral surface of the steam tube 180 and connecting with the steam tube 180 and the chamber 110.
Claims 1, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 110624124 A).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a waste carrying container (i.e., a box body 101 for carrying medical waste; see FIG. 1-2, translation) comprising:
a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by walls of the box body 101); and
a steam conducting unit (i.e., a unit comprising steam injection tubes 102) installed and positioned inside the chamber, connecting with the chamber and exterior space of the chamber, and comprising multiple steam tubes 102 extending into the chamber and arranged at spaced intervals; each of the steam tubes 102 having a first end (i.e., an end connected to the wall of the boxy body 101), a second end (i.e., an end located inside the chamber), a first opening (i.e., an inlet for receiving steam) formed at the first end, and a second opening (i.e., an outlet for discharging steam) formed at the second end; wherein each of the steam tubes 102 connects with the exterior space out of the chamber via the first opening of the steam tube 102 and connects with the chamber via the second opening of the steam tube 102.
The further recitations with respect to the waste carrying container being “adapted for a waste volume expansion stabilization process, configured for carrying a pile of waste” do not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The waste carrying container of Chen et al. would be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. (see FIG. 1-2) discloses that the second end of each steam tube (i.e., the discharge end) is spaced apart from an internal surface of the chamber 101.
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al. (see FIG. 1-2) discloses that the waste carrying container 101 comprises multiple wheels (shown) installed at the bottom of the waste carrying container.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirschberger (US 2,331,836).
Regarding claim 1, Hirschberger discloses a waste carrying container (i.e., a receptacle l; see FIG. 1-2) configured for carrying waste (i.e., rubber waste), and comprising:
a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by walls of the receptacle l, which is closed at the top by a plate r provided with orifices y); and
a steam conducting unit (i.e., a unit comprising perforated tubes p) installed and positioned inside the chamber, connecting with the chamber and exterior space of the chamber (i.e., the tubes p connect with the inside of the receptacle l and an inner space of an autoclave that surrounds the receptacle l), and comprising multiple steam tubes p extending into the chamber and arranged at spaced intervals (see FIG. 1-2); each of the steam tubes p having a first end (i.e., an upper end), a second end (i.e., a lower end), a first opening formed at the first end, and a second opening formed at the second end; wherein each of the steam tubes p connects with the exterior space out of the chamber via the first opening of the steam tube (i.e., the opening at the upper end of each tube p connects with the inner space of the autoclave) and connects with the chamber via the second opening of the steam tube (i.e., the lower ends of the tubes p are loosely inserted into and removable from cups o disposed at the bottom of the receptacle l, see column 2, line 60, to column 3, line 8; therefore, a connection with the chamber can provided between the second opening and the chamber).
The further recitations with respect to the waste carrying container being “adapted for a waste volume expansion stabilization process, configured for carrying a pile of waste” do not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus. The waste carrying container of Hirschberger would be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 2, Hirschberger (see FIG. 1) discloses that each of the steam tubes p extends downwardly into the chamber (i.e., downward, from the orifices y in the plate r); and the first end of each of the steam tubes (i.e., the upper ends of each tube p) is located higher than the second end of the steam tube (i.e., the lower ends of each tube p).
Regarding claim 7, Hirschberger (see FIG. 1) discloses that each of the steam tubes has multiple holes (i.e., multiple perforations in the tubes p) formed through a peripheral surface of the steam tube and connecting with the steam tube p and the chamber.
Regarding claim 13, Hirschberger discloses equipment (see FIG. 1-2) comprising:
an autoclave (i.e., an autoclave comprising a cylinder a, a base part b, a top part c, and a cover d); and
a waste carrying container (i.e., a receptacle l closed at the top by a plate r provided with orifices y) positioned in the autoclave, and comprising
a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by the receptacle l for containing a waste material, such as ground rubber waste); and
a steam conducting unit (i.e., a unit comprising perforated tubes p) installed and positioned inside the chamber, connecting with the autoclave and the chamber (i.e., the tubes p connect with the inside of the receptacle l and an inner space of the autoclave that surrounds the receptacle l), and comprising multiple steam tubes p extending into the chamber and arranged at spaced intervals (see FIG. 1-2); each of the steam tubes p having a first end (i.e., an upper end), a second end (i.e., a lower end), a first opening formed at the first end, and a second opening formed at the second end;
wherein each of the steam tubes p connects with the autoclave via the first opening of the steam tube (i.e., the opening at the upper end of each tube p connects with the inner space of the autoclave) and connects with the chamber via the second opening of the steam tube (i.e., the lower ends of the tubes p are loosely inserted into and removable from cups o disposed at the bottom of the receptacle l, see column 2, line 60, to column 3, line 8; therefore, a connection with the chamber can provided between the second opening and the chamber).
Regarding claim 14, Hirschberger discloses that each of the steam tubes p extends downwardly into the chamber (i.e., downward, from the orifices y in the plate r); and the first end of each of the steam tubes (i.e., the upper ends of each tube p) is located higher than the second end of the steam tube (i.e., the lower ends of each tube p).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 202963022 U) in view of Chen et al. (CN 110624124 A).
Zhao et al. fails to disclose that the waste carrying container 1 comprises multiple wheels installed at a bottom of the container.
Chen et al. discloses a waste carrying container (i.e., a box body 101 for carrying medical waste; see FIG. 1-2, translation) comprising: a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by walls of the box body 101); and a steam conducting unit (i.e., a unit comprising steam injection tubes 102) installed and positioned inside the chamber, connecting with the chamber and exterior space of the chamber. Specifically, Chen et al. discloses that the waste carrying container 101 comprises multiple wheels (shown) installed at the bottom of the waste carrying container.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install multiple wheels at the bottom of the waste carrying container of Zhao et al. because the wheels would have enabled the container to be easily moved to different locations, as suggested by Chen et al. It has also been held that configuring a device to be portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results. See MPEP §2144.04, V. A.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2016/0151812 A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN 110624124 A).
Hwang et al. fails to disclose that the waste carrying container 110 comprises multiple wheels installed at a bottom of the container.
Chen et al. discloses a waste carrying container (i.e., a box body 101 for carrying medical waste; see FIG. 1-2, translation) comprising: a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by walls of the box body 101); and a steam conducting unit (i.e., a unit comprising steam injection tubes 102) installed and positioned inside the chamber, connecting with the chamber and exterior space of the chamber. Specifically, Chen et al. discloses that the waste carrying container 101 comprises multiple wheels (shown) installed at the bottom of the waste carrying container.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install multiple wheels at the bottom of the waste carrying container of Hwang et al. because the wheels would have enabled the container to be easily moved to different locations, as suggested by Chen et al. It has also been held that configuring a device to be portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results. See MPEP §2144.04, V. A.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Lewis (US 6,867,393 B1) discloses an equipment for processing medical waste (see Figures), comprising: an autoclave (i.e., a sterilization chamber 17); and a waste carrying container (i.e., an open-top bin 15 for carrying medical waste) positioned in the autoclave; wherein the waste carrying container 15 is removably mounted on a cart 13 which comprises multiple wheels installed at a bottom of the cart. During use, steam is introduced into the autoclave 17 to fill the interior of the autoclave and surround the waste in the waste carrying container 15, and the steam is held within the autoclave 17 for a sufficient period of time to sterilize the waste in the container (see column 6, lines 52-57; column 6, line 66, to column 7, line 4). Lewis, however, fails to disclose or adequately suggest the claimed waste carrying container being positioned in the autoclave; wherein the container comprises a chamber and a steam conducting unit installed in the chamber; wherein the steam conducting unit comprises multiple steam tubes extending into the chamber and providing a connection between the autoclave and the chamber; and wherein each of the steam tubes connects with the autoclave via the first opening of the steam tube and connects with the chamber via the second opening of the steam tube.
Yun et al. (CN 103755181 A) discloses a container (i.e., a cage body 1) for processing gypsum and adapted for positioning in an autoclave (i.e., an autoclave kettle, not shown; see translation at paragraph [0006]), wherein the container comprises a chamber (i.e., a chamber defined by the cage body 1, which carries raw materials for producing gypsum); and a steam conducting unit installed and positioned inside the chamber, wherein the steam conducting unit comprises multiple steam tubes (i.e., steam pipelines 2) extending into the chamber and arranged at spaced intervals, with each steam tube 2 having a first end (i.e., an upper end) and a second end (i.e., a lower end), and wherein each of the steam tubes 2 has multiple holes (i.e., pipeline through holes) formed through a peripheral surface of the steam tube and connecting with the steam tube 2 and the chamber. Yun et al. further discloses that a first opening at the first end (i.e., the upper end) of each of the steam tubes 2 connects with a main steam pipeline connection that supplies steam to the interior of the autoclave (see translation at paragraph [0007]). Yun et al. further discloses that the second end (i.e., the lower end) of each of the steam tubes 2 is connected with a bottom plate of the container, such that a second opening at the second end is closed by the bottom plate of the container (see translation at paragraph [0009]). Yun et al. also discloses that the container 1 is provided with multiple wheels (i.e., walking devices 3) installed at the bottom of the container. Yun et al., however, fails to disclose or adequately suggest that each of the steam tubes 2 connects with the autoclave via the first opening and connects with the chamber via a second opening.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774