DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed May 6th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claim 6 has been cancelled. Claims 17-18 have been added.
The Section 102 rejections over Thierry made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. The Section 103 rejections over Thierry (as the primary reference) made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been maintained and updated to reflect Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Kamo as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Zhou as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Zhu as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Zhu as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Aitharaju as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Eulitz as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. However, upon further consideration, the rejections have been reapplied in view of Remmele and/or Enderich (DE 102010005808 A1).
The Section 103 rejections over Reichart in view of Eulitz made in the Office action mailed February 12th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. However, upon further consideration, Reichart is still usable in view of or modifying Eulitz as recited below.
The double patenting rejections have been withdrawn due to the abandonment of U.S. Application No. 18/276,330. The Examiner reserves the right to reapply these rejections if the Application is revived.
Response to Arguments
Some of Applicant's arguments filed May 6th, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding Thierry, Applicant argues that Thierry is silent to the structural feature of claim 1 as amended. The Examiner disagrees.
Thierry teaches a cellular honeycomb-like panel structure for primarily heat (but also sound) absorption (pg. 12, lines 1-2), wherein each claim element is explicitly set forth except the filling member being “only in a space between the core member that receives heat/sound from a heat/sound source and the faceplate”.
However, Thierry teaches that channels (spaces) may be filled completely or in part by flexible air-permeable material (pg. 10, lines 30-33), wherein air-permeable materials are taught elsewhere to be open-cell foam and/or fiber batting (pg. 6, lines 6-8 & 15-17), wherein in part is understood to mean that the channels may only have part of their volume filled or that only some of the channels may be filled (i.e. such as only space(s) defined between the core member that receives the sound/heat from a heat/sound source and the faceplate), wherein the faceplate may be microperforated or metallized (pg. 12, lines 8-9).
Furthermore, Lu teaches a double layer honeycomb sandwich structure for sound absorption having an upper and lower honeycomb panel layers, wherein the top and middle panels are perforated [0008], wherein the cavities defined by the upper layer honeycomb and the lower layer honeycomb are filled or not filled with porous sound-absorbing material [0013, 0027], wherein the upper honeycomb panel layer faces the noise source and the lower honeycomb panel layer faces away from the noise source, wherein the purpose of the design is to allow more noise to enter the structure convert some of the noise energy to heat energy and dissipate it, thereby reducing noise energy reflected at the panel [0014, 0028], wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to only fill an upper honeycomb panel with sound-absorbing material as this would assist in the primary goal of absorbing the entering noise while only partially filling the cells, wherein the third non-perforated faceplate would have been formed as the internally metallized faceplate of Thierry.
Furthermore, Ehlers (EP 2196308 A1) teaches a sandwich plate, wherein cavities may be selectively filled with sound absorbing material in one or more levels, wherein cavities with added sound absorbing material would be located closest to the sound source, which reduces material usage and cost [0008-0010, 0022-0023], wherein while demonstrated only a regional basis would have also been obvious to perform at the layer level when a sound source is not a point source as recited above. Furthermore, providing a wave-shaped material between two covers to provide a structure comparable to corrugated cardboard resulting in a high flexural stiffness and strength of the sandwich panel while also increasing the number of cavities available for improved sound absorption [0011, 0021], wherein panels subjected to particularly high stress further comprise a second sandwich panel layer, which also creates additional cavities, wherein the filling members usable for each layer may be different [0012-0013, 0029], wherein the sound absorbing material is advantageously foam as it is easy to process and has an adjustable specific gravity which allows for more adaptation and optimization, but may be other materials, either of which can be provided with flame/fire resistance [0014-0016, 0026]. It would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a space between the core member and the faceplate closest to the sound source only to be filled with a filling member, wherein the remaining spaces would be unfilled or filled with a different filling member.
Furthermore, Heifetz (U.S. Patent No. 6,599,850) teaches heat-insulating structures comprising inward-facing metallic layers used to prevent degradation of the low emissivity/high reflectivity surfaces, but that reflective metal layers not provided against an unfilled airspace are greatly decreased in reflectivity/emissivity (col. 1, line 23 – col. 2, lines 18). This is echoed in Payne et al. (WO 2007/107767 A1) who teach that filled airspaces such as fiber wadding and open cell foam are not as effective as unfilled unventilated airspaces (pg. 5, line 26 – pg. 6, line 2), wherein either or both reference(s) would have made it obvious and motivated to form at least one sandwich panel layer as being unfilled and bounded by one or two inward-facing reflective metallic film layers.
Regarding Eulitz in view of Tschismar, optionally Thierry, and Remmele, Applicant does not argue Eulitz in view of Remmele.
However, as recited below, the Examiner believes that the inclusion of the (solid) extinguishant only within the space defined between the first and second faceplates (separated by the shaped core/spacer layer of Eulitz/Tschismar) (Fig. 3 [9]) and closer/closest to the battery cells (heat/sound source) (Fig. 3 [2]) [0009] and is not included in the second space defined between the second faceplate and third faceplates (separated by the other shaped core/spacer member of Eulitz/Tschismar) (Fig. 3 [7]), which includes the cooling agent system. This is believed to meet the conditions set forth by the claim as currently set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 & 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear a metal thin film is intended to be formed on the same faceplate that two different core members are joined/fused to, wherein the metal thin film is taught to be provided on faceplates 14a or 14b in Fig. 8, but as applied to Figs. 10 or 12 neither of those faceplates are connected to more than one core member 14c.
However, this becomes confusing in relation to claim 18, wherein the faceplate is stated to comprise a first faceplate and a second faceplate, wherein the first faceplate which would constitute one of the faceplates 14a or 14b.
Claims 1-4 & 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the Applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim is directed to “a sheet-shaped plurality of core members” in line 2 and then later references the “metal thin film that is disposed between the faceplate and the core member” [emphasis added by Examiner], when it should be directed to a specific core member or “one of the core members”.
Claims 2-3, 8, 10, 12, 14-16, 18 also contain the same antecedent basis issue.
Further regarding claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by the claimed “heat/sound source” as it relates to the core member that “receives sound/heat” from it. Don’t each of the core members (and faceplates) receive heat and/or sound when placed adjacent a sound source? Is that not the intention of the multilayered embodiment? The specification indicates this is in relation to a proximity to the heat/sound source. This is further complicated by the filling member being claimed as being “only in the space between the faceplate and the core that receives heat/sound” as it is unclear what that is limiting as there are no other spaces set forth within the claim. Furthermore, since the faceplate can be more than one faceplate, it is unclear what is limiting the space(s) defined by “only” (and where the metal thin film is intended to go).
Claims 4, 11, 13, and 17 are rejected for being dependent on an indefinite claim
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is directed to “a plurality of [the] core members” when claim 1 already comprises “a…plurality of core members”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0366281 A1) (hereinafter “Miller”).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-9, 12-14, and 17, Miller teaches a garment panel structure comprising prominences extending from at least one surface, such as discrete type domes or elongated linear type, or from both surfaces such that continuous undulation is defined [0012], wherein a first surface layer (core member) is attached to an second/interior layer by fusion bonding [0022, 0035], wherein the interior layer, which may be permeable/apertured can be further attached to a second layer having prominences extending in the opposing direction, which may be aligned or alternating [0095-0096], wherein the prominences may comprise within their interiors a resilient material such as a foam, fibrous batting (both inherently sound-absorbing), and/or phase change material [0024], and the interior surfaces of the prominences to reflect energy back toward the user and also on the interior material facing the prominences (positioned between the first surface layer and the interior/layer [0100], wherein the interior layer may further comprise phase change materials [0100], wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the filler material located only within the prominences on the second surface closer to the user (source of heat/sound) and the reflective arrangement including the prominences on the first surface include no fillers such that the effectiveness of the reflective arrangement not decrease.
Regarding claims 4 and 10-11, the elongated linear type apertures may have slit or cross-slit type apertures, along or obviously along a direction orthogonal to the linear direction, which may form a one-way valve for airflow within and through the fabric [0018-0019].
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sytz (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0144221 A1) (hereinafter “Sytz”).
Regarding claims 15-16, Miller teaches that both the filler material and the fabric may include phase change material.
Sytz teaches that a shapeable base fabric for a garment may include phase change materials to provide thermal management properties, antimicrobial agents to manage, control, or limit bacterial growth, and fire retardants (extinguishants).
It would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide other desired properties to shaped garments via added agents thereof.
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-14, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thierry (GB 2496739 A) (hereinafter “Thierry”), optionally in view of Lu et al. (CN 110576643 A) (hereinafter “Lu”) and/or Ehlers (EP 2196308 A1) (hereinafter “Ehlers”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 9-14, and 17-18, Thierry teaches a multilayer heat and sound/acoustic insulation (panel structure) (pg. 12, lines 1-2) comprising at least one thermoplastic, such as polyethylene in an example (pg. 10, lines 10-14), sheet shaped corrugated core member(s) that can be porous (selectively formed holes) to allow for circulation (flow path) (pg. 2, line 35 – pg. 3, line 15) comprising at least one sheet shaped thermoplastic, such as polyethylene in an example (pg. 10, lines 10-14), film (faceplate), which can also be porous (pg. 12, lines 5-9) that is bonded by glue points or ultrasonic welding forming fusing portions (pg. 9, lines 1-4) forming a series of protruding points extending from both surfaces (inherently forming a groove orthogonal to the direction of bending) defining a plurality of channels which can be filled with air or a flexible air permeable material (inherently sound absorbing) (pg. 10, lines 30-33), wherein air-permeable materials are taught elsewhere to be open-cell foam and/or fiber batting (pg. 6, lines 6-8 & 15-17), wherein the films (faceplate) may be microperforated or metallized on the interior surface (pg. 12, lines 8-9).
Thierry does not explicitly teach the flexible air permeable material to be included “only in a space between the core member that receives heat/sound from a heat/sound source and the faceplate”.
However, Thierry teaches that channels (spaces) may be filled completely or in part by the flexible air-permeable material (pg. 10, lines 30-33), wherein in part is understood to mean that the channels may only have part of their volume filled or that only some of the channels may be filled (i.e. such as only space(s) defined between the core member that receives the sound/heat from a heat/sound source and the faceplate).
Furthermore, Lu teaches a double layer honeycomb sandwich structure for sound absorption having an upper and lower honeycomb panel layers, wherein the top and middle panels are perforated [0008], wherein the cavities defined by the upper layer honeycomb and the lower layer honeycomb are filled or not filled with porous sound-absorbing material [0013, 0027], wherein the upper honeycomb panel layer faces the noise source and the lower honeycomb panel layer faces away from the noise source, wherein the purpose of the design is to allow more noise to enter the structure convert some of the noise energy to heat energy and dissipate it, thereby reducing noise energy reflected at the panel [0014, 0028].
OR
Ehlers teaches a sandwich plate, wherein cavities may be selectively filled with sound absorbing material in one or more levels, wherein cavities with added sound absorbing material would be located closest to the sound source, which reduces material usage and cost [0008-0010, 0022-0023], wherein while demonstrated only a regional basis would have also been obvious to perform at the layer level when a sound source is not a point source as recited above. Furthermore, providing a wave-shaped material between two covers to provide a structure comparable to corrugated cardboard resulting in a high flexural stiffness and strength of the sandwich panel while also increasing the number of cavities available for improved sound absorption [0011, 0021], wherein panels subjected to particularly high stress further comprise a second sandwich panel layer, which also creates additional cavities, wherein the filling members usable for each layer may be different [0012-0013, 0029], wherein the sound absorbing material is advantageously foam as it is easy to process and has an adjustable specific gravity which allows for more adaptation and optimization, but may be other materials, either of which can be provided with flame/fire resistance [0014-0016, 0026].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to only fill an upper structured core sandwich panel with sound-absorbing material while leaving a lower structured core sandwich panel filled with a differing sound-absorbing material or unfilled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to assist in the primary goal of absorbing the entering noise [Lu], while only partially filling the cells to save on costs [Ehlers], wherein the third non-perforated film/faceplate would have been formed as the internally metallized faceplate of Thierry.
Claims 7-8 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thierry, optionally in view of Lu and/or Ehlers, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Takano (JP 2009-051016 A) (hereinafter “Takano”).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 15-16, the faceplate or core as comprising phase change material and/or extinguishant is not taught.
Takano teaches a thermoplastic resin sheet that contains blended therein a latent heat storage phase change material for the purpose of cooling or heat insulation usable as an interior decorative and/or building board material [0001, 0026-0027, 0046], wherein the resin may also be impregnated into a fibrous reinforcing base material, such as a nonwoven fabric [0064-0065], wherein the resin and heat storage material may additionally comprise a flame retardant [0032-0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a latent heat storage material and/or an extinguishant blended with the resin for the core and/or faceplate and/or the channel-filling air-permeable material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide cooling and heat insulation to maintain temperatures within a desired range for a long period of time and also increase fire retardancy [Takano].
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thierry, optionally in view of Lu and/or Ehlers, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ray et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0042981 A1) (hereinafter “Ray”), and optionally Orologio (U.S. Patent No. 6,322,873 B1) (hereinafter “Orologio”) OR Roithmayr (WO 2020/014721 A1) (hereinafter “Roithmayr”), respectively.
Regarding claims 15-16, an extinguishant provided between the core and faceplate or contained by the core or faceplate.
Ray teaches a reflective insulation material having metal layers facing shaped core member(s), wherein the reflective insulation material contains a fire retardant [0055].
Furthermore, Orologio teaches an improved heat insulation laminate, wherein an extinguishant is contained in the cavities defined between the faceplate and the core layer, which can assist especially in cases of polyethylene.
OR
Roithmayr teaches a heat insulation laminate, wherein the first (facing) layer and second (core) layer are formed of non-polyethylene flame-retardant materials [0017] or at least one can include a further layer comprising fire protection materials [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide additional fire resistance either as a filler or as contained within the faceplate or core. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivate to provide fire resistance in at least one of only two known methods in the art [Ray], both of which are made explicit by Orologio OR Roithmayr.
Claims 1-3 & 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taxak et al. (WO 2021/113172 A1) (hereinafter “Taxak”) in view of Ragland et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 6,276,044 B1) (hereinafter “Ragland”), and optionally Thierry (GB 2496739 A) (hereinafter “Thierry”).
Regarding claims 1-3, 9, 14, and 17-18, Taxak teaches a composite article for automotive applications such as an engine compartment or another vehicle industry outside the automotive industry such as the aircraft industry [002, 0016-0017], used acoustic and/or thermal insulation [005, 0016-0017, 0020], wherein the article comprises at least one lofted layer comprising at least some thermoplastic components [0022-0026] and/or at least one molded layer having one or more continuous, linear undulations/corrugations and/or convex portions and/or concave portions comprising the same or similar materials as the lofted layer [0027-0034], wherein the layers are secured to each other using (ultra)sonic or vibration welding [0035], wherein two or more of the layers are shaped to form at least one layer of pockets by joining at the structured/protruding portions of a molded layer [0037, Fig. 5], wherein the pockets improve the sound absorption and optionally structural rigidity, wherein the pockets may be void or filled with secondary material to improve acoustic and/or heat insulation, such as foam or fibrous material [007, 0037, 0043-0044], and wherein at least some of the surfaces of the lofted layer(s), molded layer(s), or both may be metallized to provide infrared heat reflection [0039], wherein since a facing layer can be formed on an external side of the lofted layer, it would have been obvious for one forming a metallized layer on the lofted layer to form it on the internal surface.
Alternatively, Thierry teaches a multilayer heat and acoustic insulation (panel structure) comprising at least one thermoplastic sheet shaped corrugated core member(s) comprising at least one sheet shaped thermoplastic film (faceplate), which can also be porous (pg. 12, lines 5-9) that is bonded by glue points or ultrasonic welding forming fusing portions (pg. 9, lines 1-4) forming a series of protruding points extending from both surfaces defining a plurality of channels to allow for circulation (flow path) (pg. 2, line 35 – pg. 3, line 15), wherein the metallized (faceplate) surface facing the channels forms a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of insulating properties of the product (pg. 2, lines 23-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a metal thin film between a flat faceplate and a shaped core structure that comprises fusing portions also therebetween. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an internal low emissivity metallized surface is protected from dust and corrosion such that the flat metallized surface facing the air flow channels as a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of thermal insulating properties of the product [Thierry].
However, a core members comprising protruding portions attached to opposing surfaces of a faceplate and the sound/heat absorbing filling member being formed only in pocket(s) defined between a core member receiving sound/heat from a sound/heat source and the faceplate are not explicitly taught.
Ragland teaches an engine compartment housing comprising a plurality of structured layers (one of which would act as a faceplate) connected to each other by protruding portions forming a plurality of cavities, wherein when including filler materials in the gaps formed between layers, the materials may only be desirable between certain layers (col. 9, lines 42-45).
It would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide certain materials between certain layers, such as those needing additional assistance absorbing sound and/or heat (i.e. gaps closest to the heat/sound source).
Regarding claims 9-13, the lofted layer(s) and/or molded layer(s) may comprise nonwoven materials, which are inherently porous/apertured and allow the flow of air [007, 0026, 0032].
Regarding claims 15-16, the article is preferably fire- and/or smoke-retardant, materials (extinguishants) of which may be included in the lofted and/or molded layer(s) [0021, 0026, 0030-0032] and would have obviously been included in the secondary materials in the voids.
Claims 1-3 & 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taxak et al. (WO 2021/113172 A1) (hereinafter “Taxak”), in view of Ehlers (EP 2196308 A1) (hereinafter “Ehlers”) and Lu et al. (CN 110576643 A) (hereinafter “Lu”), and optionally Thierry (GB 2496739 A) (hereinafter “Thierry”).
Regarding claims 1-3, 9, 14, and 17-18, Taxak teaches a composite article for automotive applications such as an engine compartment or another vehicle industry outside the automotive industry such as the aircraft industry [002, 0016-0017], used acoustic and/or thermal insulation [005, 0016-0017, 0020], wherein the article comprises at least one lofted layer comprising at least some thermoplastic components [0022-0026] and/or at least one molded layer having one or more continuous, linear undulations/corrugations and/or convex portions and/or concave portions comprising the same or similar materials as the lofted layer [0027-0034], wherein the layers are secured to each other using (ultra)sonic or vibration welding [0035], wherein two or more of the layers are shaped to form at least one layer of pockets by joining at the structured/protruding portions of a molded layer [0037, Fig. 5], wherein the pockets improve the sound absorption and optionally structural rigidity, wherein the pockets may be void or filled with secondary material to improve acoustic and/or heat insulation, such as foam or fibrous material [007, 0037, 0043-0044], and wherein at least some of the surfaces of the lofted layer(s), molded layer(s), or both may be metallized to provide infrared heat reflection [0039], wherein since a facing layer can be formed on an external side of the lofted layer, it would have been obvious for one forming a metallized layer on the lofted layer to form it on the internal surface.
Alternatively, Thierry teaches a multilayer heat and acoustic insulation (panel structure) comprising at least one thermoplastic sheet shaped corrugated core member(s) comprising at least one sheet shaped thermoplastic film (faceplate), which can also be porous (pg. 12, lines 5-9) that is bonded by glue points or ultrasonic welding forming fusing portions (pg. 9, lines 1-4) forming a series of protruding points extending from both surfaces defining a plurality of channels to allow for circulation (flow path) (pg. 2, line 35 – pg. 3, line 15), wherein the metallized (faceplate) surface facing the channels forms a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of insulating properties of the product (pg. 2, lines 23-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a metal thin film between a flat faceplate and a shaped core structure that comprises fusing portions also therebetween. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an internal low emissivity metallized surface is protected from dust and corrosion such that the flat metallized surface facing the air flow channels as a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of thermal insulating properties of the product [Thierry].
However, a core members comprising protruding portions attached to opposing surfaces of a faceplate and the sound/heat absorbing filling member being formed only in pocket(s) defined between a core member receiving sound/heat from a sound/heat source and the faceplate are not explicitly taught.
Ehlers teaches a sandwich plate, wherein cavities may be selectively filled with sound absorbing material in one or more levels, wherein cavities with added sound absorbing material would be located closest to the sound source, which reduces material usage and cost [0008-0010, 0022-0023], wherein while demonstrated only a regional basis would have also been obvious to perform at the layer level when a sound source is not a point source as recited above. Furthermore, providing a wave-shaped material between two covers to provide a structure comparable to corrugated cardboard resulting in a high flexural stiffness and strength of the sandwich panel while also increasing the number of cavities available for improved sound absorption [0011, 0021], wherein panels subjected to particularly high stress further comprise a second sandwich panel layer, which also creates additional cavities, wherein the filling members usable for each layer may be different [0012-0013, 0029], wherein the sound absorbing material is advantageously foam as it is easy to process and has an adjustable specific gravity which allows for more adaptation and optimization, but may be other materials, either of which can be provided with flame/fire resistance [0014-0016, 0026].
Furthermore, Lu teaches a double layer honeycomb sandwich structure for sound absorption having an upper and lower honeycomb panel layers, wherein the top and middle panels are perforated [0008], wherein the cavities defined by the upper layer honeycomb and the lower layer honeycomb are filled or not filled with porous sound-absorbing material [0013, 0027], wherein the upper honeycomb panel layer faces the noise source and the lower honeycomb panel layer faces away from the noise source, wherein the purpose of the design is to allow more noise to enter the structure convert some of the noise energy to heat energy and dissipate it, thereby reducing noise energy reflected at the panel [0014, 0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an intermediate faceplate member connected to a core member on both sides with additional first and third faceplates on opposing surfaces, wherein only an upper structured core sandwich panel is filled with heat/sound-absorbing material while leaving a lower structured core sandwich panel filled with a differing sound-absorbing material or unfilled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to assist in the primary goal of absorbing the entering noise [Lu], while only partially filling the cells to save on costs [Ehlers].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taxak, in view of Ragland OR Ehlers/Lu, optionally Thierry, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Pratt (U.S. Patent No. 3,668,052) (hereinafter “Pratt”).
Regarding claim 4, Taxak teaches that the overall shape can be contoured/bent [0018-0019].
Pratt teaches a corrugated core sandwich panel of reinforced plastics (col. 1, lines 5-13), wherein the corrugated core is bonded to first and optionally second facesheets, wherein the peaks and/or valleys of the corrugated core comprise transverse (orthogonal to direction of forming thereof) slits/slots such that the member can be formed in an arcuate shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention forming a sandwich panel comprising at least one faceplate and a core comprising a plurality of protruding portions as continuous corrugations to provide slits/grooves in at least one of the peak or valley portions orthogonal to the direction of shaping thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the curved shape as improved/allowed along the corrugations due to the slits as claimed [Pratt].
Claims 7-8 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taxak, in view of Ragland OR Ehlers/Lu, optionally Thierry, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Takano (JP 2009-051016 A) (hereinafter “Takano”).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 15, the faceplate or core as comprising phase change material and/or the core as comprising extinguishant is/are not taught.
Takano teaches a thermoplastic resin sheet that contains blended therein a latent heat storage phase change material for the purpose of cooling or heat insulation usable as an interior decorative and/or building board material [0001, 0026-0027, 0046], wherein the resin may also be impregnated into a fibrous reinforcing base material, such as a nonwoven fabric [0064-0065], wherein the resin and heat storage material may additionally comprise a flame retardant [0032-0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a latent heat storage material and/or an extinguishant blended with the resin for the core and/or faceplate and/or the channel-filling air-permeable material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide cooling and heat insulation to maintain temperatures within a desired range for a long period of time and also increase fire retardancy [Takano].
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-12, 15-16, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eulitz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0313130 A1) (hereinafter “Eulitz”) in view of Tschismar (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0004808 A1) (hereinafter “Tschismar”), optionally Thierry (GB 2496739 A) (hereinafter “Thierry”), Remmele et al. (DE 102010055614 A1) (hereinafter “Remmele”), and Ehlers (EP 2196308 A1) (hereinafter “Ehlers”).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, 10-12, and 16, Eulitz teaches a battery housing for an electrically powered vehicle that is lightweight in comparison to metallic materials [0003, 0008], comprising one or more walls as comprising a two- or multi-layer sandwich structure, wherein at least each of the layers comprises a thermoplastic and one of the layers comprises a plurality of linear (continuous corrugation) and/or punctiform connections such that a selectively welded/integrally bonded connection (Fig. 2B [18]) is formed between the core (first) and faceplate (second) layers, wherein at least one of the layers is fiber-reinforced [0014, 0026, 0029-0030, 0043], wherein the connections provide at least one sandwich cavity that allows for a cooling medium to be stored (filling member) and/or circulated [0005-0007, 0044-0045, 0050], wherein the faceplates may further comprise selectively formed holes [0046] and may also comprise an organosheet comprising a plastic material with conductive filler for fire protection [0032, 0049].
However, a metal thin film formed on at least one surface of the faceplate, wherein the metal thin film is positioned between the faceplate and core member.
Tschismar teaches a housing for a battery in an electrically operated vehicle, wherein the housing is formed to provide a double wall housing having a plurality of ducts, pores, and/or openings to allow the flow of air and/or fluid, which may further comprise thermally insulating porous bodies [0013, 0017], wherein the walls may comprise metal or plastic, wherein the latter preferably has metal layers provided on (internal and/or external) wall sections to improve heat transfer [0013].
In the event that the internal placement of the metal film between the shaped core member and a faceplate is not properly motivated: Thierry teaches a multilayer heat and acoustic insulation (panel structure) comprising at least one thermoplastic sheet shaped corrugated core member(s) comprising at least one sheet shaped thermoplastic film (faceplate), which can also be porous (pg. 12, lines 5-9) that is bonded by glue points or ultrasonic welding forming fusing portions (pg. 9, lines 1-4) forming a series of protruding points extending from both surfaces defining a plurality of channels to allow for circulation (flow path) (pg. 2, line 35 – pg. 3, line 15), wherein the metallized (faceplate) surface facing the channels forms a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of insulating properties of the product (pg. 2, lines 23-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a metal thin film between a flat faceplate and a shaped core structure that comprises fusing portions also therebetween. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an internal low emissivity metallized surface is protected from dust and corrosion such that the flat metallized surface facing the air flow channels as a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of insulating properties of the product [Thierry].
However, a core members comprising protruding portions attached to opposing surfaces of a faceplate and the sound/heat absorbing filling member being formed only in pocket(s) defined between a core member receiving sound/heat from a sound/heat source and the faceplate are not explicitly taught.
Remmele teaches a battery housing for electric vehicles [0002] as comprising plastic with at least two spaced layers forming at least one cavity therein, wherein multiple parallel cavities can be formed within a cavity [0011], or multiple cavities can be formed sequentially such as two cavities by three spaced layers [0024], wherein at least one cavity comprises flowing cooling liquid [0007] and/or at least one cavity comprises an extinguishant [0009], wherein the multiple cavities comprises a cavity with flowing cooling liquid and another cavity with extinguishing agent [0024-0027]. Applied to the layered structures of Eulitz at least one additional structured core (and third faceplate) would be needed to provide an additional sequential cavity.
Ehlers teaches a sandwich plate, wherein providing a wave-shaped material between two covers to provide a structure comparable to corrugated cardboard resulting in a high flexural stiffness and strength of the sandwich panel while also increasing the number of cavities available [0011, 0021], wherein panels subjected to particularly high stress further comprise a second sandwich panel layer by adding a second core member along with a third faceplate on the opposing side of the now intermediate faceplate, which creates further cavities [0012-0013, 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a plurality of core members, each attached to opposing surfaces an interior faceplate by protruding portions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide multiple functions separated into different cavities such as one for cooling the batteries and the other for stopping problems such as fires that erupt from the area of the battery cells and optionally melts the most adjacent layer [Remmele; 0026], wherein the plurality of core/wave-shaped layers on both sides of an intermediate faceplate and outer faceplates provide high flexural stiffness and strength for high stress areas [Ehlers].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eulitz in view of Remmele, Tschismar, and optionally Thierry, as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Guo et al. (CN 111600057 A) (hereinafter “Guo”) and Pratt (U.S. Patent No. 3,668,052) (hereinafter “Pratt”).
Both Eulitz and Reichert/Eulitz teach continuous corrugations on a core but do not teach the grooves/slits as claimed.
Guo teaches composite material housing for a battery of an electric vehicle such that the composite material has a curved/arc shape [0005, 0007, 0009-0010] for maximization of visual and space-saving requirement [0004-0005].
Pratt teaches a corrugated core sandwich panel of reinforced plastics (col. 1, lines 5-13), wherein the corrugated core is bonded to first and optionally second facesheets, wherein the peaks and/or valleys of the corrugated core comprise transverse (orthogonal to direction of forming thereof) slits/slots such that the member can be formed in an arcuate shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention forming a sandwich panel comprising at least one faceplate and a core comprising a plurality of protruding portions as continuous corrugations to provide slits/grooves in at least one of the peak or valley portions orthogonal to the direction of shaping thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the battery housing as curved for maximization of visual and space-saving requirement [Guo] which is allowed along the corrugations due to the slits as claimed [Pratt].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eulitz in view of Remmele, Tschismar, and optionally Thierry, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Giere et al. (DE 102009050510 A1) (hereinafter “Giere”) and Nomura et al. (JP 2018-160419 A) (hereinafter “Nomura”), respectively.
Regarding claim 7, Eulitz teaches a battery housing for an electric vehicle as comprising a composite sandwich panel comprising at least one thermoplastic core layer having protrusions formed as corrugations thermally welded to an adjacent thermoplastic faceplate layer(s) to provide one or more cavities for storage and/or circulation of a cooling medium. While Eulitz teaches this cooling medium may be phase changing [0010], it is unclear if this is a latent heat storage material.
Giere teaches a composite sandwich element comprising plate-shaped outer layers connected to each other by a core that may comprise a curved structure such that it forms at least one chamber therein [0002, 0005-0006, 0016, 0019, 0029], wherein the device is usable in a vehicle as battery housing, such as lithium-ion type batteries [0039] with a temperature control element comprising latent heat storage materials comprising a phase change material [0003, 0005, 0015-0017, 0019] which may be additionally supported by an active cooling unit [0014, 0021], such that the device is very light, having good mechanical properties, and the battery/power source is able to be operated at an optimal temperature in a very specific range, independent of external temperatures [0012, 0037-0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention forming a sandwich panel to provide a latent heat storage material as the filling member/cooling medium as a replacement of or in addition to an active cooling/heating circuit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the panel as battery housing for an electric vehicle as a lightweight yet strong structure with temperature control properties [Giere].
Eulitz teaches a battery housing for an electric vehicle as comprising a composite sandwich panel comprising at least one thermoplastic core layer having protrusions formed as corrugations thermally welded to an adjacent thermoplastic faceplate layer(s) to provide one or more cavities for storage and/or circulation of a cooling medium.
Regarding claim 8, the thermoplastic materials forming the faceplate and/or the core are not taught to comprise latent heat storage materials.
Nomura teaches a battery case an electric motor vehicle, such as a lithium-ion battery [0001-0002], wherein it is necessary to keep the battery at a temperature within an appropriate range [0003-0004], wherein the case comprises one or more walls comprising a thermoplastic resin containing a phase change material [0011, 0026-0034, 0037, 0046], which can be further supported by an active cooling and/or heating system circulated therethrough [0012, 0018, 0039, 0043-0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention forming a sandwich panel to provide a latent heat storage material to the thermoplastic material core and/or faceplate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the panel as battery housing for an electric vehicle as a lightweight yet strong structure with temperature control properties [Nomura].
Claims 13-14 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eulitz in view of Remmele, Tschismar, and optionally Thierry, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hu (CN 103730616 A) (hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding claims 13-14 and 17, the nonwoven fiber reinforcement is not taught to be carbon fiber or the extinguishant(s) is/are not taught to be foam and/or sound absorbing.
Hu teaches a battery box for an electric vehicle comprising a corrugated core sandwich panel, wherein the panel comprises in the space(s) between the (first and second) faceplate and the corrugated core member a fireproof filler such as sponge or foam that can also absorb vibrational energy [0016], wherein the corrugated core member can further include holes to help reduce weight and/or dissipate heat [0017]. The outer faceplates are formed from carbon fiber composite reinforcement [0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide carbon fiber as the nonwoven fiber reinforcement and sponge/foam as the extinguishant that additionally functions as shock/vibrational absorption. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide dual functions of cushioning shock from explosions and preventing spread of fire from the battery or a known fiber type for reinforcing fiber composite battery housing.
Claims 1-4, 9-14, & 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reichert (DE 102013015837 A1) (hereinafter “Reichert”) in view of Eulitz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0313130 A1) (hereinafter “Eulitz”), Nusier et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0233460 A1) (hereinafter “Nusier”), Tschismar (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0004808 A1) (hereinafter “Tschismar”), optionally Thierry (GB 2496739 A) (hereinafter “Thierry”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 15-16, Reichert teaches a battery housing for battery cells in an electric vehicle such as lithium ion batteries [0001-0003] non-metal such that it is a lightweight yet impact resistant sandwich structure [0008] comprising a plurality of continuous corrugations in a core and at least one flat covering/skin layer (faceplate) attached thereto [0004-0005], wherein the corrugations in the core between the facings provide a plurality of channels that allow cooling and/or heated air and extinguishant to be stored (filing member) and/or circulated [0006, 0010, 0014], wherein at least one of the core and skin/cover layer adjacent the batteries may have openings to provide flowpaths for the air conditions and/or tempering the battery cells with air.
However, Reichert does not teach the material forming the sandwich layers to be thermoplastic or the selectively formed fusing portion connecting the core and skin layer(s).
Eulitz teaches a battery housing for an electrically powered vehicle that is lightweight in comparison to metallic materials [0003, 0008], comprising one or more walls as comprising a two- or multi-layer sandwich structure, wherein at least each of the layers comprises a thermoplastic and one of the layers comprises a plurality of linear (continuous corrugation) and/or punctiform connections shaped by thermoforming such that a selectively welded/integrally bonded connection (Fig. 2B [18]) is formed between the core (first) and faceplate (second) layers, wherein at least one of the layers is fiber-reinforced [0014, 0026, 0029-0030, 0043], wherein the connections provide at least one sandwich cavity that allows for a cooling medium to be stored and/or circulated [0005-0007, 0044-0045, 0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a sandwich panel comprising layers of (fiber-reinforced) thermoplastics connected by a selectively formed fusing portion formed between the core providing the spacing of the layers and the layers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art for crash resistant, lightweight replacement materials for metal (steel or aluminum) meeting the requirements for stiffness, flexibility, pollutant emission, and fire protection [Eulitz].
However, one of the cavities/spaces adjacent the heat/sound source (battery) comprising a filling member, such as a heat(/sound) absorbing porous foam, and a metal thin film formed on at least one surface of the faceplate, wherein the metal thin film is positioned between the faceplate and core member are not taught.
Tschismar teaches a housing for a battery in an electrically operated vehicle, wherein the housing is formed to provide a double wall housing having a heating/cooling cavity containing a plurality of ducts, pores, and/or openings to allow the flow of air and/or fluid, which may further comprise thermally insulating porous bodies, such as foam/fiber fabric [0013, 0017], wherein the walls may comprise metal or plastic, wherein the latter preferably has metal layers provided on (internal and/or external) wall sections to improve heat transfer [0013].
In the event that the internal placement of the metal film between the shaped core member and a faceplate is not properly motivated: Thierry teaches a multilayer heat and acoustic insulation (panel structure) comprising at least one thermoplastic sheet shaped corrugated core member(s) comprising at least one sheet shaped thermoplastic film (faceplate), which can also be porous (pg. 12, lines 5-9) that is bonded by glue points or ultrasonic welding forming fusing portions (pg. 9, lines 1-4) forming a series of protruding points extending from both surfaces defining a plurality of channels to allow for circulation (flow path) (pg. 2, line 35 – pg. 3, line 15), wherein the metallized (faceplate) surface facing the channels forms a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of insulating properties of the product (pg. 2, lines 23-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a metal thin film between a flat faceplate and a shaped core structure that comprises fusing portions also therebetween and to provide a heat(/sound) absorbing (foam) filling member in a thermal conditioning fluid cavity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an internal low emissivity metallized surface for purposes of in order to improve heat transfer [Tschismar] and to protect the metal coating/layer from dust and corrosion such that the flat metallized surface facing the air flow channels as a wall with a very strong reflectivity or low emissivity which is an advantage in terms of insulating properties of the product [Thierry] AND to provide additional insulating properties to a temperature conditioning channel [Tschismar].
However, an additional unfilled core member on the opposite side of the intermediate faceplate is not taught.
Nusier teaches a battery housing having an additional corrugated impact absorbing member made of nonwoven (aligned) carbon fiber reinforced polymer attached to the enclosure walls [0007, 0013, 0028-0029, 0032], which provides crush space and protects the battery cells from collision/rupture [0003-0004,0026].
AND/OR
Ehlers teaches a sandwich plate, wherein providing a wave-shaped material between two covers to provide a structure comparable to corrugated cardboard resulting in a high flexural stiffness and strength of the sandwich panel while also increasing the number of cavities available [0011, 0021], wherein panels subjected to particularly high stress further comprise a second sandwich panel layer by adding a second core member along with a third faceplate on the opposing side of the now intermediate faceplate, which creates further cavities [0012-0013, 0029], wherein cavities with added sound absorbing material would be located closest to the sound source, which reduces material usage and cost [0008-0010, 0022-0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a second core member on the side away from the battery that is filled with a different filling member or remain unfilled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a battery housing wall with additional crush capacity [Nusier] AND/OR to provide the single layer sandwich structure with additional capacity to be subjected to high stress [Ehlers].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reichert in view of Eulitz, Nusier OR Ehlers, Tschismar, optionally Thierry, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of further in view of Giere et al. (DE 102009050510 A1) (hereinafter “Giere”) and Nomura et al. (JP 2018-160419 A) (hereinafter “Nomura”), respectively.
Regarding claim 7, Reichert/Eulitz teaches a battery housing for an electric vehicle as comprising a composite sandwich panel comprising at least one thermoplastic core layer having protrusions formed as corrugations thermally welded to an adjacent thermoplastic faceplate layer(s) to provide one or more cavities for storage and/or circulation of a cooling medium. While Eulitz teaches this cooling medium may be phase changing [0010], it is unclear if this is a latent heat storage material.
Giere teaches a composite sandwich element comprising plate-shaped outer layers connected to each other by a core that may comprise a curved structure such that it forms at least one chamber therein [0002, 0005-0006, 0016, 0019, 0029], wherein the device is usable in a vehicle as battery housing, such as lithium-ion type batteries [0039] with a temperature control element comprising latent heat storage materials comprising a phase change material [0003, 0005, 0015-0017, 0019] which may be additionally supported by an active cooling unit [0014, 0021], such that the device is very light, having good mechanical properties, and the battery/power source is able to be operated at an optimal temperature in a very specific range, independent of external temperatures [0012, 0037-0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention forming a sandwich panel to provide a latent heat storage material as the filling member/cooling medium as a replacement of or in addition to an active cooling/heating circuit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the panel as battery housing for an electric vehicle as a lightweight yet strong structure with temperature control properties [Giere].
Regarding claim 8, the thermoplastic materials forming the faceplate and/or the core are not taught to comprise latent heat storage materials.
Nomura teaches a battery case an electric motor vehicle, such as a lithium-ion battery [0001-0002], wherein it is necessary to keep the battery at a temperature within an appropriate range [0003-0004], wherein the case comprises one or more walls comprising a thermoplastic resin containing a phase change material [0011, 0026-0034, 0037, 0046], which can be further supported by an active cooling and/or heating system circulated therethrough [0012, 0018, 0039, 0043-0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention forming a sandwich panel to provide a latent heat storage material to the thermoplastic material core and/or faceplate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the panel as battery housing for an electric vehicle as a lightweight yet strong structure with temperature control properties [Nomura].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: Shaw et al. (WO 2008/047027 A1) teach a thin layered structure for heat insulation that also works as sound insulation comprising a shaped structured films having a plurality of protruding portions, each attached to one or more planar films (faceplates) by heat fusing/welding, the protruding portions defining cells between the structured film and the planar films, wherein at least one interior faceplates is metallized for reflectivity, wherein the formed/structured cells may be entirely/wholly or partially replaced by a material with a thermal conductivity lower than air, such as a different gas, a foam, or an aerogel.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Frank J Vineis can be reached at (571)270-1547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JEFFREY A VONCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 10th, 2026