DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is in response to the claims filed on October 13, 2025.
Status of claims: claim 4 is cancelled; claims 1-3 and 5-12 are hereby examined below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0030] – “the pivot shaft 20” must be amended to “the pivot shaft 10”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 3 – “second horizontal axis” should be amended to “first horizontal axis”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6 - the term “rigid” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rigid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, it is suggested “rigid” be deleted from the claims.
Further, claims dependent upon a rejected claim are rejected for at least being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2024/0110347 to Lamore.
Lamore discloses a boom gate including:
a pedestal 30 locatable on a surface 37 and a rigid elongate arm 34 to extend across an area to be temporarily blocked; (see annotated FIG. 1 below) (Note: “locatable on a surface” and “to extend across an area to be temporarily blocked” constitute intended use recitations.)
the rigid arm elongate arm having a free end and a fixed end, the fixed being pivotably attached to the pedestal (see FIGS. 1 and 2) and driven by a drive mechanism 24 to permit the rigid elongate arm to move between a generally horizontal position and a generally vertical position, preventing or allowing access past the gate, respectively, the rigid elongate arm including:
a first elongate portion defining a first horizontal axis; (see annotated FIG. 1 below)
a second elongate portion defining a second horizontal axis;
a first angled portion extending between the first horizontal axis and the second horizontal axis to connect the first elongate portion to the second elongate portion;
a second angled portion extending between the first horizontal axis and the second horizontal axis to connect the second elongate portion to a pivot shaft of the pedestal,
(Note: “to connect the first elongate portion to the second elongate portion” and “to connect the second elongate portion to a pivot shaft of the pedestal” constitute intended use recitations.)
the first and second axes being spaced away from each other to permit the gate to be used in combination with a traffic management barrier; (Note: “to permit the gate to be used in combination with a traffic management barrier” constitutes an intended use recitation) and
wherein the first elongate portion, the second elongate portion, the first angled portion, and the second angled portion remain fixed to each other and rotate about the fixed end. (claim 1)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd angled portion)][AltContent: textbox (1st angled portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second elongate portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (First elongate portion)]
Lamore further discloses wherein the first and second axes are parallel to each other (see figure above) (claim 2), wherein said first elongate portion is located adjacent said free end of said second elongate portion is located adjacent said fixed end (see figure above) (claim 3), wherein said second elongate portion is located further away from said surface than said first elongate portion to permit said rigid elongate arm to be extended across the area (see figure above) (Note: “to permit said rigid elongate arm to be extended across the area” constitutes intended use.) (claim 6), wherein said pedestal is locatable adjacent said barrier (see figure above) (Note: “locatable adjacent said barrier” constitutes an intended use recitation), (claim 7) wherein sad pedestal is adapted to be attached to said barrier. (see figure above) (Note: “adapted to be attached to said barrier” constitutes an intended use recitation.) (claim 8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamore, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 2015003628 to Barwick et al. (hereinafter “Barwick”).
Reinitz fails to disclose wherein the first elongate portion is manufactured from a carbon fiber composite.
Barwick discloses an arm formed from a carbon fiber composite. (see [0034])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first elongate portion disclosed in Lamore with a carbon fiber composite as taught in Barwick with a reasonable expectation of success in order to form the first elongate portion out of a strong and light material as well as since it has been held that choosing a specific material constitutes a simple matter of design choice. (claim 9)
Lamore fails to disclose wherein the second elongate portion in manufactured from a material other than carbon fiber composite.
Barwick teaches of forming an arm of material other than carbon fiber composite, such as aluminum. (see [0034])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second elongate portion disclosed in Lamore with a material other than carbon fiber composite, such as aluminum, as taught by Barwick, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to form the second elongate portion out of an inexpensive, light weight, and durable material as well as since it has been held that choosing a specific material constitutes a simple matter of design choice. (claim 10)
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamore, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 4219969 to Reinitz et al. (hereinafter “Reinitz”).
Lamore fails to disclose wherein the second elongate portion includes a coupling to receive the first elongate portion.
Reinitz discloses wherein the second elongate portion includes a coupling 20 to receive the first elongate portion. (see FIG. 3 below)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second elongate portion disclosed in Lamore with the coupling as taught in Reinitz with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for pivoting between the first and second elongate portions.
Lamore, as applied above, further discloses wherein the coupling includes fasteners 38 for removably receiving the first elongate portion. (claim 12)
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5720132 to Renner et al. (hereinafter “Renner”).
Renner discloses a boom gate including:
a pedestal 26 locatable on a surface and a rigid elongate arm to extend across an area to be temporarily blocked; (see annotated FIG. 2 below) (Note: “locatable on a surface” and “to extend across an area to be temporarily blocked” constitute intended use recitations.)
the rigid arm elongate arm 32 having a free end and a fixed end, the fixed being pivotably attached to the pedestal (see FIGS. 1 and 2) and driven by a drive mechanism 28,30 to permit the rigid elongate arm to move between a generally horizontal position and a generally vertical position, preventing or allowing access past the gate, respectively, the rigid elongate arm including:
a first elongate portion defining a first horizontal axis; (see annotated FIG. 2 below)
a second elongate portion defining a second horizontal axis;
a first angled portion 42 extending between the first horizontal axis and the second horizontal axis to connect the first elongate portion to the second elongate portion;
a second angled portion 44 extending between the first horizontal axis and the second horizontal axis to connect the second elongate portion to a pivot shaft of the pedestal, (see annotated FIG. 2 below)
(Note: “to connect the first elongate portion to the second elongate portion” and “to connect the second elongate portion to a pivot shaft of the pedestal” constitute intended use recitations.)
the first and second axes being spaced away from each other to permit the gate to be used in combination with a traffic management barrier; (Note: “to permit the gate to be used in combination with a traffic management barrier” constitutes an intended use recitation) and
wherein the first elongate portion, the second elongate portion, the first angled portion, and the second angled portion remain fixed to each other and rotate about the fixed end. (claim 1)
[AltContent: textbox (First elongate portion)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second elongate portion)][AltContent: arrow]
Renner further discloses wherein the second elongate portion is connected to the drive mechanism by a second angled portion extending back towards the second horizontal axis. (claim 5)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025 are moot due to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634