DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35
U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows: The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosures of the prior-filed applications:
Provisional Application No. 63/401,502 (filed 08/26/2022), and
Provisional Application No. 63/419,569 (filed 10/26/2022),
fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. See MPEP § 211.05(I)(A). Therefore, the examiner considers the earliest effective filing date of the claims to be the filing date of the Non-Provisional application (8/25/2023). See MPEP 2152.01. If this applicant disagrees with the assessments below, they are respectfully requested to point to 112(a) support within the Provisional Application(s).
As per claims 1, 11, and 20, the claims recite the feature of (with emphasis added), “the first header including a plurality of bits indicating a data rate and an encoding scheme of a payload of the packet.” Support for this feature within the Non-Provisional Application is found in Fig. 9, see elements 804(1) and 804(b), corresponding to ultra-wideband (UWB) physical headers 1 (i.e., PHR1) and its encoding scheme (see pg. 24, lines 18-21 of the applicant’s specification. In their remarks, dated 12/22/2025 (see pg. 6), the applicant points to slides 26-33 of Provisional Application No. 63/419,569 as providing support for this feature. A thorough review of the cited slides of the Provisional Application ‘569 shows no disclosure for PHR1 containing “an encoding scheme of a payload of the packet.” The examiner notes that slides 27 and 28 Provisional Application No. 63/419,569 show bitmap tables for PHR1 and these tables indicate LDPC /CL7. However, nothing on these slides indicates that such encoding information is for the payload of the packet, as claimed. In other words, the features are not tied together within the disclosure. For at least these reasons, the examiner finds that the claims lack support under 112(a) in the Provisional Applications.
As per claims 4 and 14, the claims further recite repetition of the first header and second header. While the Provisional Applications discuss PHR repetition, the same deficiency with regard to the independent claims apply (i.e., no teaching of a first header and second header, respectively).
As per claims 5, 6, 15, and 16, the claims further define the encoding rates of the first and second headers, respectively. As with the independent claims, the Provisional Applications do not teach these features.
As per claims 9, 10, and 19, the claims further delineate fields that occur in the first and second headers, respectively. As with the independent claims, the Provisional Applications do not teach these features.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5 and 6 of the remarks, in regard to 35 USC 102, the applicant provides alleged 112(a) support for their invention in Provisional Application No. 63/419,569. Based on the applicant’s proposed effective priority date for the claims, the applicant contends that Qian does not qualify as prior art.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner kindly directs the applicant to the “Priority” section above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verso et al. (NPL U cited on pg. 2 of PTO-892, doc: 15-22-0467-01-04ab) in view of Qian et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0266862).
As per claim 1, Verso et al. teach a method comprising:
…a packet including a first header and a second header [Verso, slide 4, bullet 1, “This proposal reduces the overhead of having to send the PHR at the lowest supported rate by splitting the PHR into a rate header (PHR1) sent at a low rate and a main header (PHR2) sent at a high rate”, The UWB physical header (PHR, see slide 2, bullet 5 and slide 3) is split into a first header (PHR1) and a second header (PHR2). See also slide 9 showing an example packet with PHR1 and PHR2.], the first header including a plurality of bits indicating a data rate [Verso, slide 4, bullet 2 + sub-bullet 1, “PHR1 can be very short. Three bits is sufficient to specify all the rates being considered at TG4ab”, PHR1 includes 3 bits to indicate the data rate supported (see slide 4, table).] and an encoding scheme of a payload of the packet [Verso, slide 4, bullet 2 + sub-bullet 2, “ PHR1 can be very short. A fourth bit might be needed to signal LDPC if this affects the modulation of PHR2, otherwise indication of LDPC could be done in PHR2”, A 4-bit PHR1 includes a final bit to indicate whether LDPC (or an encoding scheme) is used.].
Verso et al. do not explicitly teach generating, by a first ultra-wideband (UWB) device, a packet…transmitting, by the first UWB device, the packet to a second UWB device.
However, in an analogous art, Qian et al. teach generating, by a first ultra-wideband (UWB) device, a packet [Qian, ¶ 0115, “S101: A first communication apparatus generates a PPDU, where the PPDU includes a PHR field and a PHY payload field, the PHR field includes first PHR information and second PHR information, the first PHR information indicates a data rate of the second PHR information, a length of the first PHR information is less than n bits, and n is a minimum quantity of bits that indicate a data rate of the PHY payload field and whether the PHY payload field is encoded by using a first coding scheme”, The communication apparatus (see fig. 10, element 20, ¶ 0236) generates a PPDU (see fig. 4, step S101), including a first PHR information field and a second PHR information field (see also fig. 5, ¶s 0120-0123).]…transmitting, by the first UWB device, the packet to a second UWB device [Qian, ¶ 0116, “S102: The first communication apparatus sends the PPDU”, The communication apparatus (see fig. 10, element 10, ¶ 0236) transmits the PPDU (see fig. 4, step S102).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to merge the UWB communication apparatus of Qian et al. with Verso et al. By relying upon the UWB communication device of Qian et al., which transmits a similar PPDU, Verso et al. may explicitly perform an efficient way of supporting variable data rate in a physical packet header (see Verso, slide 11, bullet 1 and Qian, ¶ 0107) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 3, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. also teach wherein the plurality of bits indicate the data rate of the payload and the second header [Verso, slide 7, Left side Table, The PHR2 rate and the payload rate are the same, implying the information in PHR1 is used for both values.].
As per claim 5, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. also teach wherein the first header is encoded at a data rate which is different than the data rate of the payload indicated by plurality of bits [Verso, slide 7, Left side Table, The data rate of PHR1 (first header) may be transmitted at a rate smaller than the payload rate. See the statis 3.90 Mbps value compared to the increasing payload rate values.].
As per claim 6, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. also teach wherein the second header is encoded at a data rate which is half of the data rate of the payload indicated by the plurality of bits [Verso, slide 7, bullet 2, “PHR2 would be transmitted either at the full 100% rate or at a reduced 50% rate, depending on whether coding scheme used in data mode would be stronger than PHR2 performance, which depends on the advanced coding scheme that will be adopted ”, The PHR2 (second header) rate is 50% of the payload rate (see table on right hand side).].
As per claim 7, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. also teach further comprising selecting, by the first UWB device, the data rate for encoding the payload [Verso, slide 4, Table, The combined values of R2, R1, and R0 correspond to the indicated data rate, which begins at 1.95 Mb/s and concludes at 124.8 Mb/s (with reserved bits for higher values).].
As per claim 8, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 7. Verso et al. also teach wherein the data rate is selected from a range of data rates between 1.95 Mb/s and 124.8 Mb/s [Verso, slide 4, Table, The combined values of R2, R1, and R0 correspond to the indicated data rate, which begins at 1.95 Mb/s and concludes at 124.8 Mb/s (with reserved bits for higher values).].
As per claim 9, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. also teach wherein the second header comprises one or more bits indicating whether the packet is to be used for sensing or ranging [Verso, slide 8, “PHR2 Possibilities”, Bit 12 on the diagram indicates ranging. In addition, slide 10, bullet 3 contemplates additional fields for ranging, sensing, etc. The slide is titled PHR2 (second header) possibilities).].
As per claim 10, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. also teach wherein the second header comprises one or more bits indicating a payload length of the payload [Slide 8, “PHR2 Possibilities”, Bits 2-11 of the diagram of PHR2 (second header) indicate the payload length.] and a plurality of parity bits [Slide 8, “PHR2 Possibilities”, Bits 13-n of the diagram of PHR2 (second header) indicate the parity bits Cn-C0.], wherein a number of the plurality of parity bits is determined according to an 8-bit cyclic redundancy check [Verso, ¶ slide 8, “PHR2 Possibilities”, Bullet 1 [Wingdings font/0xE0] sub bullet 3, “Consider whether to change from SECDED to a pure error check, e.g., maybe an 8-bit CRC ?”, The concept of parity bits based on 8-bit cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is contemplated.].
As per claim 11, Verso et al. teach a first device comprising:
…a packet including a first header and a second header [Verso, slide 4, bullet 1, “This proposal reduces the overhead of having to send the PHR at the lowest supported rate by splitting the PHR into a rate header (PHR1) sent at a low rate and a main header (PHR2) sent at a high rate”, The UWB physical header (PHR, see slide 2, bullet 5 and slide 3) is split into a first header (PHR1) and a second header (PHR2). See also slide 9 showing an example packet with PHR1 and PHR2.], the first header including a plurality of bits indicating a data rate [Verso, slide 4, bullet 2 + sub-bullet 1, “PHR1 can be very short. Three bits is sufficient to specify all the rates being considered at TG4ab”, PHR1 includes 3 bits to indicate the data rate supported (see slide 4, table).] and an encoding scheme of a payload of the packet [Verso, slide 4, bullet 2 + sub-bullet 2, “ PHR1 can be very short. A fourth bit might be needed to signal LDPC if this affects the modulation of PHR2, otherwise indication of LDPC could be done in PHR2”, A 4-bit PHR1 includes a final bit to indicate whether LDPC (or an encoding scheme) is used.].
Verso et al. do not explicitly teach an ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver configured to: generate a packet…and transmit the packet to a second UWB device.
However, in an analogous art, Qian et al. teach an ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver configured to: generate a packet [Qian, ¶ 0115, “S101: A first communication apparatus generates a PPDU, where the PPDU includes a PHR field and a PHY payload field, the PHR field includes first PHR information and second PHR information, the first PHR information indicates a data rate of the second PHR information, a length of the first PHR information is less than n bits, and n is a minimum quantity of bits that indicate a data rate of the PHY payload field and whether the PHY payload field is encoded by using a first coding scheme”, The communication apparatus (see fig. 10, element 20, ¶ 0236) generates a PPDU (see fig. 4, step S101), including a first PHR information field and a second PHR information field (see also fig. 5, ¶s 0120-0123).]…and transmit the packet to a second UWB device [Qian, ¶ 0116, “S102: The first communication apparatus sends the PPDU”, The communication apparatus (see fig. 10, element 10, ¶ 0236) transmits the PPDU (see fig. 4, step S102).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to merge the UWB communication apparatus of Qian et al. with Verso et al. By relying upon the UWB communication device of Qian et al., which transmits a similar PPDU, Verso et al. may explicitly perform an efficient way of supporting variable data rate in a physical packet header (see Verso, slide 11, bullet 1 and Qian, ¶ 0107) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 13, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 11. Verso et al. also teach wherein the plurality of bits indicate the data rate of the payload and the second header [Verso, slide 7, Left side Table, The PHR2 rate and the payload rate are the same, implying the information in PHR1 is used for both values.].
As per claim 15, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 11. Verso et al. also teach wherein the first header is encoded at a data rate which is different than the data rate of the payload indicated by plurality of bits [Verso, slide 7, Left side Table, The data rate of PHR1 (first header) may be transmitted at a rate smaller than the payload rate. See the statis 3.90 Mbps value compared to the increasing payload rate values.].
As per claim 16, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 11. Verso et al. also teach wherein the second header is encoded at a data rate which is half of the data rate of the payload indicated by the plurality of bits [Verso, slide 7, bullet 2, “PHR2 would be transmitted either at the full 100% rate or at a reduced 50% rate, depending on whether coding scheme used in data mode would be stronger than PHR2 performance, which depends on the advanced coding scheme that will be adopted ”, The PHR2 (second header) rate is 50% of the payload rate (see table on right hand side).].
As per claim 17, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 11. Verso et al. also teach wherein the UWB transceiver is further configured to select the data rate for encoding the payload [Verso, slide 4, Table, The combined values of R2, R1, and R0 correspond to the indicated data rate, which begins at 1.95 Mb/s and concludes at 124.8 Mb/s (with reserved bits for higher values).].
As per claim 18, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 17. Verso et al. also teach wherein the data rate is selected from a range of data rates between 1.95 Mb/s and 124.8 Mb/s [Verso, slide 4, Table, The combined values of R2, R1, and R0 correspond to the indicated data rate, which begins at 1.95 Mb/s and concludes at 124.8 Mb/s (with reserved bits for higher values).].
As per claim 19, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 10. Verso et al. also teach wherein the second header comprises one or more first bits indicating whether the packet is to be used for sensing or ranging [Verso, slide 8, “PHR2 Possibilities”, Bit 12 on the diagram indicates ranging. In addition, slide 10, bullet 3 contemplates additional fields for ranging, sensing, etc. The slide is titled PHR2 (second header) possibilities).], one or more second bits indicating a payload length of the payload, and a plurality of parity bits [Slide 8, “PHR2 Possibilities”, Bits 13-n of the diagram of PHR2 (second header) indicate the parity bits Cn-C0.], wherein a number of the plurality of parity bits is determined according to an 8-bit cyclic redundancy check [Verso, ¶ slide 8, “PHR2 Possibilities”, Bullet 1 [Wingdings font/0xE0] sub bullet 3, “Consider whether to change from SECDED to a pure error check, e.g., maybe an 8-bit CRC ?”, The concept of parity bits based on 8-bit cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is contemplated.].
As per claim 20, Verso et al. teach a first ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver comprising:
…a packet including a first header and a second header [Verso, slide 4, bullet 1, “This proposal reduces the overhead of having to send the PHR at the lowest supported rate by splitting the PHR into a rate header (PHR1) sent at a low rate and a main header (PHR2) sent at a high rate”, The UWB physical header (PHR, see slide 2, bullet 5 and slide 3) is split into a first header (PHR1) and a second header (PHR2). See also slide 9 showing an example packet with PHR1 and PHR2.], the first header including a plurality of bits indicating a data rate [Verso, slide 4, bullet 2 + sub-bullet 1, “PHR1 can be very short. Three bits is sufficient to specify all the rates being considered at TG4ab”, PHR1 includes 3 bits to indicate the data rate supported (see slide 4, table).] and an encoding scheme of a payload of the packet [Verso, slide 4, bullet 2 + sub-bullet 2, “ PHR1 can be very short. A fourth bit might be needed to signal LDPC if this affects the modulation of PHR2, otherwise indication of LDPC could be done in PHR2”, A 4-bit PHR1 includes a final bit to indicate whether LDPC (or an encoding scheme) is used.].
Verso et al. do not explicitly teach one or more processors configured to: receive, from a second UWB transceiver, a packet…and decode the packet according to the encoding scheme and the data rate.
However, in an analogous art, Qian et al. teach one or more processors configured to: receive, from a second UWB transceiver, a packet [Qian, ¶ 0115, “S101: A first communication apparatus generates a PPDU, where the PPDU includes a PHR field and a PHY payload field, the PHR field includes first PHR information and second PHR information, the first PHR information indicates a data rate of the second PHR information, a length of the first PHR information is less than n bits, and n is a minimum quantity of bits that indicate a data rate of the PHY payload field and whether the PHY payload field is encoded by using a first coding scheme”, The communication apparatus (see fig. 10, element 20, ¶ 0236) generates a PPDU (see fig. 4, step S101), including a first PHR information field and a second PHR information field (see also fig. 5, ¶s 0120-0123). The second communication apparatus (see fig. 10, elements 10 and 20, ¶ 0246) receives and parses PPDU (see step S103 and ¶ 0118).]…and decode the packet according to the encoding scheme and the data rate [Qian, ¶ 0116, “S102: The first communication apparatus sends the PPDU”, The communication apparatus (see fig. 10, element 10, ¶ 0236) transmits the PPDU (see fig. 4, step S102). The second communication apparatus (see fig. 10, elements 10 and 20, ¶ 0246) receives and parses PPDU (see step S103 and ¶ 0118).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to merge the UWB communication apparatus of Qian et al. with Verso et al. By relying upon the UWB communication device of Qian et al., which transmits a similar PPDU, Verso et al. may explicitly perform an efficient way of supporting variable data rate in a physical packet header (see Verso, slide 11, bullet 1 and Qian, ¶ 0107) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 2, 4, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verso et al. (NPL U cited on pg. 2 of PTO-892, doc: 15-22-0467-01-04ab) in view of Qian et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0266862) and Akhavan et al. (NPL X on pg. 1 of PTO-892, IEEE 802.15-22-0296-00-04ab).
As per claim 2, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of bits indicate whether low density parity check (LDPC) or constraint length 7 (CL7) encoding scheme is used by the first UWB device.
However, in an analogous art, Akhavan et al. teach wherein the plurality of bits indicate whether low density parity check (LDPC) or constraint length 7 (CL7) encoding scheme is used by the first UWB device [Akhavan, slide 12, bullets 1 and 2, “While we understand the benefits of LDPC codes, there are also added complexity and area cost. The required SNR margin between CL7-coded PHR and LDPC-coded Payload may become very narrow or even negative”, Slide 14 also shows to support CL7 as the baseline, with LDPC support being offered as well, which would be used to support the 124.8 Mbps rate (see slide 17).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the LDPC/CL7 functionality and solutions of Akhavan et al. into the combined system of Verso et al. (see bit C1, allowing to toggle LDPC and thus allow for another value) and Qian et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because coding gain is influential in PER and link budgeting (see Akhavan, slides 7 and 13) and would improve system performance with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 4, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the method of claim 1. Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the packet includes two repetitions of the first header and the second header.
However, in an analogous art, Akhavan et al. teach wherein the packet includes two repetitions of the first header and the second header [Akhavan, slide 12, bullet 3, “As such PHR may need additional protection, e.g., symbol repetition”, When contemplating the SNR margin and complexity of LDPC vs. CL7 (see bullets 1 and 2), the concept of PHR repetition is disclosed as a solution].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the LDPC/CL7 functionality and solutions of Akhavan et al. into the combined system of Verso et al. and Qian et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because coding gain is influential in PER and link budgeting (see Akhavan, slides 7 and 13) and would improve system performance with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 12, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 11. Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of bits indicate whether low density parity check (LDPC) or constraint length 7 (CL7) encoding scheme is used by the first device.
However, in an analogous art, Akhavan et al. teach wherein the plurality of bits indicate whether low density parity check (LDPC) or constraint length 7 (CL7) encoding scheme is used by the first device [Akhavan, slide 12, bullets 1 and 2, “While we understand the benefits of LDPC codes, there are also added complexity and area cost. The required SNR margin between CL7-coded PHR and LDPC-coded Payload may become very narrow or even negative”, Slide 14 also shows to support CL7 as the baseline, with LDPC support being offered as well, which would be used to support the 124.8 Mbps rate (see slide 17).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the LDPC/CL7 functionality and solutions of Akhavan et al. into the combined system of Verso et al. (see bit C1, allowing to toggle LDPC and thus allow for another value) and Qian et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because coding gain is influential in PER and link budgeting (see Akhavan, slides 7 and 13) and would improve system performance with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. teach the first device of claim 11. Verso et al. in view of Qian et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the packet includes two repetitions of the first header and the second header.
However, in an analogous art, Akhavan et al. teach wherein the packet includes two repetitions of the first header and the second header [Akhavan, slide 12, bullet 3, “As such PHR may need additional protection, e.g., symbol repetition”, When contemplating the SNR margin and complexity of LDPC vs. CL7 (see bullets 1 and 2), the concept of PHR repetition is disclosed as a solution].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the LDPC/CL7 functionality and solutions of Akhavan et al. into the combined system of Verso et al. and Qian et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because coding gain is influential in PER and link budgeting (see Akhavan, slides 7 and 13) and would improve system performance with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417