DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 14-17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (lines 21-22): “location proximate to an edge of the slot, respectively, without creating a short circuit, respectively, such that the antenna….” should read “location proximate to an edge of the slot
Claim 1 (line 23): “the first and second dies has” should read “the first and second dies have”.
Claim 2: recites “wherein the multiple bands comprise two bands”. However, claim 1 recites “multiple bands include a first band and a second band”. Should claim 2 be amended to overcome the 112(d) rejection, the same terminology regarding the first and second bands/two bands/dual bands should be used throughout the claims.
Claim 3: “wherein the two bands are Ku and Ka bands” should be amended to “wherein the first and second bands are Ku and Ka bands”.
Claim 4: “wherein the two bands” should read “wherein the first and second bands”.
Claim 10 (line 3): “the first die is operational and second” should read “the first die is operational and the second”.
Claim 10 (line 2): “pass band” should read “passband”.
Claim 14 (line 3): “second dies configured” should read “second dies are configured”.
Claim 16 recites the terms “plurality of dual-band RF radiating antenna elements” (line 2), “each antenna element” (line 3), “each dual-band RF radiating antenna element” (line 5), “plurality of antenna elements” (line 13), and “each antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements” (line 14). The same terminology should be used throughout the claim.
Claim 16 uses the terms “two bands” and “dual band” interchangeably. The same terminology should be used throughout the claim.
Claim 17 (line 6): “pass band” should read “passband”.
Claim 17 (line 4): “the location close to the edge of the slot” should read “the location proximate to the edge of the slot”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 5, 7-8, 15 and 19 are objected to due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plurality of antenna elements" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the slot is loaded with at least one integrated circuit die”. It is not clear if the integrated circuit die is an additional die, or if the Applicant intended to claim that the first and second dies are integrated circuit dies. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, claim 8 is interpreted as “wherein at least one of the first and second dies are integrated circuit dies”.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the first band is within the pass band of the first filter and the second band is within a stop band of the second filter”. However, claim 1, on which claim 10 depends, recites “a first filter and a second filter, with a passband for the first band and the second band, respectively, that are not equal to each other”.
It is not clear how the second band is within a stop band of the second filter (claim 10) while the second filter has a passband for the second band (claim 1). The second filters of claims 1 and 10 appear to relate to different embodiments of the invention: Figure 5B of the instant drawings shows a first (high pass) filter 512 and a second (low pass) filter 542 in a single die (the first filter 512 and second filter 542 have different pass bands), whereas figure 6B shows first (high pass) filter 641 in a first die 602 and second (also high pass) filter 651 in a second die 603. Clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the plurality of antenna elements” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 16 uses the terms “two bands” and “dual band” interchangeably, which is confusing. The term “the dual band” (line 12) lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “wherein the first band is within the passband of the first filter and the second band is within a stop band of the second filter, such that if a signal is within the passband of the first filter, the first die is operational and the second die is short circuited, and if the signal is within the stop band of the second filter, the second die is operational and the first die is open”. Claim 17 depends on claim 16 which recites the limitation “a first filter and a second filter, with a passband for a first band and a second band”, without specifying whether or not the first and second bands are equal. As stated above, if the first and second bands are equal, it is not clear how the second band can be within a stop band of the second filter (claim 17) while the second filter has a passband for the second band (claim 16). Clarification is required.
Claims 2-5, 7, 14-15 and 19 are rejected due to their dependencies.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 recites “the antenna is operable at multiple bands that include a first band and a second band”. Claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1, recites “the multiple bands comprise two bands” which allows for the inclusion of additional bands, and therefore fails to limit the subject matter of the claim on which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quarforth (US 2020/0083605 – of record; “Quarforth” or “Q”) in view of Baliarda et al. (US 2008/0316118; “Baliarda” or “B”).
Claim 1: Quarforth discloses (figs. 1A & 1B, fig. 5 and fig. 8B) “An antenna (antenna portions 10) comprising:
an aperture having a plurality of multi-band radio-frequency (RF) radiating antenna elements (10) (see fig. 5), wherein each antenna element (10) of the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements is configurable to operate at any of multiple bands (¶71, “A preferred embodiment of a radiating element is a slot 14 with four tuning devices 16. Any number of tuning devices 16 greater than one coupled to a radiating element 14 can provide frequency of operation reconfigurability. Increasing the number of tuning devices increases the number of tuning states that the radiating element 14 can achieve”),
wherein each multi-band RF radiating antenna element comprises a slot (slot 14) (see ¶71) loaded with one or more tunable components (tuning devices 16), wherein at least one tunable component of the one or more tunable components is coupled across a width of the slot at a central portion of the slot (see fig. 1B); and
a controller coupled to the plurality of antenna elements to dynamically configure said each multi-band RF antenna element of the plurality of multi-band RF antenna elements to operate at each of the multiple bands at different times (¶59, “bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”),
wherein the controller is operable to control first and second resonances of the slot of each of the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements to obtain operation of the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements at each of the multiple bands by controlling the one or more tunable components of said each multi-band RF radiating antenna element including operating the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements at one of the multiple bands when tuning said each multi-band RF radiating antenna element with the at least one tunable component across the central portion of the slot (¶59, ““bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”; ¶60, “The tuning devices reconfigure the length of the radiating element in order to change the frequency of operation”; ¶64, “The switch 16 is controlled by a bias line 20, which controls the state of the switch 16 by applying a voltage or current”),
first and second dies containing first and second tunable components, respectively, of the one or more tunable components (¶71, “Each tuning device 16 may be a single FET transistor”; ¶77, “an integrated tuning device 62, as shown in FIG. 8B, may be used for each slot 14. The integrated tuning device 62 integrates multiple tuning elements into the integrated tuning device, which may be an integrated circuit or a monolithic integrated circuit. ”), wherein the first die is coupled across the width of the slot at the central portion of the slot and the second die is coupled across the width of the slot at a location proximate to an edge of the slot, without creating a short circuit, (see Examiner’s note below) such that the antenna is operable at multiple bands that include a first band and a second band (¶71, “Any number of tuning devices 16 greater than one coupled to a radiating element 14 can provide frequency of operation reconfigurability”), further wherein the first and second dies have a first and second signal path, respectively (as the first and second dies containing the first and second tunable components are located at different positions of the slot, they will have different signal paths),
and wherein the controller selects use of the first or second signal path of the first die or the second die, respectively, according to whether the slot is to be operating at the first band or the second band (¶59, ““bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”; ¶60, “The tuning devices reconfigure the length of the radiating element in order to change the frequency of operation”)”.
Examiner’s note: According to MPEP 2112.01, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Therefore, it is considered that the tunable components 16/second die placed at the edges of the slot 14 do not create a short circuit.
Quarforth does not disclose “with each of the first and second signal paths having a first filter and a second filter, respectively, with a passband for the first band and the second band, respectively, that are not equal to each other”.
Baliarda teaches (fig. 7 below) an antenna element having a slot (slot 6) configurable to operate at any of multiple bands (¶38, “the slot length can be tuned to resonate at a desired wavelength, such radiation is enhanced around such a particular wavelength. This can be used to increase the number of operating frequency bands of the wireless device”). The slot is loaded with one or more tunable components (¶43, “The component is a diode”), wherein at least one tunable component (10b) is coupled across a width of the slot at a central position of the slot (6); and a controller coupled to the plurality of antenna elements to dynamically configure the antenna element to operate at multiple bands at different times (¶44, “The switch or transistor can be connected to an electronic processor of the wireless device which can select the desired electric characteristic of the ground plane”). B also teaches (¶22) that the electric component may be a filter, and that any combination of electric components, such as a diode, a transistor, a switch, or any other kind of RF device can be used across the slot (¶36). B further teaches (¶42) “a filter will allow some frequencies to cross over the slot while rejecting others. As a result, the slot will change its resonant frequency and/or introduce a new non-harmonic resonance that might be used to tune multiple frequency bands in the wireless device”. That is, the filter may be a pass-band filter which can tune multiple frequency bands, that is, a first band and a second band that are not equal to each other.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth according to the teachings of Baliarda with each of the first and second signal paths having a first filter and a second filter, respectively, with a passband for the first band and the second band, respectively, that are not equal to each other. Doing so allows for some frequencies to cross over the slot while rejecting others. As a result, the slot can change its resonant frequency and/or introduce new non-harmonic resonance that might be used to tune multiple frequency bands in a wireless device (¶42 of B).
Claim 2: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Quarforth teaches “wherein the multiple bands comprise two bands (¶71, “A preferred embodiment of a radiating element is a slot 14 with four tuning devices 16. Any number of tuning devices 16 greater than one coupled to a radiating element 14 can provide frequency of operation reconfigurability. Increasing the number of tuning devices increases the number of tuning states that the radiating element 14 can achieve”)”.
Claim 8: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Quarforth discloses “wherein at least one of the first and second dies are integrated circuit dies (¶77, “an integrated tuning device 62, as shown in FIG. 8B, may be used for each slot 14. The integrated tuning device 62 integrates multiple tuning elements into the integrated tuning device, which may be an integrated circuit or a monolithic integrated circuit”)”.
Claim 20: Quarforth discloses (figs. 1A & 1B, fig. 5 and fig. 8B) “a method comprising:
configuring, using a controller, each antenna element (antenna portions 10) of a plurality of multi-band radio-frequency (RF) radiating antenna elements to operate at a first band at a first time (¶59, ““bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”; ¶60, “The tuning devices reconfigure the length of the radiating element in order to change the frequency of operation”),
wherein each multi-band RF radiating antenna element (10) comprises a slot (slot 14) loaded with first and second tunable components (tuning devices 16) with the first tunable component coupled across a width of the slot at a central portion (see fig. 1B) as part of a first signal path and the second tunable component coupled across the width of the slot at a location proximate to an edge of the slot as part of a second signal path (see tuning devices 16 located at a central portion of the slot and near the edges of the slot. The tuning devices 16 are controlled by bias lines 20 that reconfigure the length of the slot 14 to provide different signal paths, according to the state of the tuning device);
and configuring, using the controller (bias lines 20), said each antenna element (10) of a plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements to operate at the second band at a second time (¶59, “bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”),
wherein the first and second bands are different (¶71, “A preferred embodiment of a radiating element is a slot 14 with four tuning devices 16. Any number of tuning devices 16 greater than one coupled to a radiating element 14 can provide frequency of operation reconfigurability. Increasing the number of tuning devices increases the number of tuning states that the radiating element 14 can achieve”),
further comprising controlling first and second resonances of the slot (14) of each of the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements (10) to obtain operation of the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements at each of the first and second bands by controlling the one or more tunable components (16) of said each multi-band RF radiating antenna element (10) including operating the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements at one of the first and second bands when tuning said each multi-band RF radiating element with the first tunable component (16) (¶71, “A preferred embodiment of a radiating element is a slot 14 with four tuning devices 16. Any number of tuning devices 16 greater than one coupled to a radiating element 14 can provide frequency of operation reconfigurability. Increasing the number of tuning devices increases the number of tuning states that the radiating element 14 can achieve”),
Quarforth does not disclose “with each of the first signal path and the second signal path having a first filter and a second filter, respectively, with a passband for the first band and a second band, respectively, and including controlling use of the first signal path or the second signal path for a signal based on the passband of the first filter or second filter according to whether the slot is to be operating at the first band or the second band”.
However, Baliarda teaches a controller coupled to the plurality of antenna elements to dynamically configure the antenna element to operate at multiple bands at different times (¶44, “The switch or transistor can be connected to an electronic processor of the wireless device which can select the desired electric characteristic of the ground plane”). B also teaches (¶22) that the electric component may be a filter, and that any combination of electric components, such as a diode, a transistor, a switch, or any other kind of RF device can be used across the slot (¶36). B further teaches (¶42) “a filter will allow some frequencies to cross over the slot while rejecting others. As a result, the slot will change its resonant frequency and/or introduce a new non-harmonic resonance that might be used to tune multiple frequency bands in the wireless device”. That is, the filter may be a pass-band filter which can tune multiple frequency bands, that is, a first band and a second band that are not equal to each other.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth according to the teachings of Baliarda with each of the first signal path and the second signal path having a first filter and a second filter, respectively, with a passband for the first band and a second band, respectively, and including controlling use of the first signal path or the second signal path for a signal based on the passband of the first filter or second filter according to whether the slot is to be operating at the first band or the second band. As a result, the slot can change its resonant frequency and/or introduce new non-harmonic resonance that might be used to tune multiple frequency bands in a wireless device (¶42 of B).
Claim 21: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 20.
Quarforth discloses “further comprising independently controlling first and second resonances of a slot of each of the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements to obtain operation of the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements at each of the first and second bands (¶59, ““bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”; ¶60, “The tuning devices reconfigure the length of the radiating element in order to change the frequency of operation”; ¶64, “The switch 16 is controlled by a bias line 20, which controls the state of the switch 16 by applying a voltage or current”)”.
Claims 3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quarforth in view of Baliarda, and further in view of Sazegar (US 2021/0203079 – of record).
Claim 3: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 2.
Quarforth does not disclose “wherein the first and second bands are Ku and Ka bands”.
Sazegar teaches a multiband antenna for use in satellite communications. The multiband antenna comprises an aperture antenna array which has antenna elements which operate in the Ku and Ka bands (¶28).
Sazegar therefore teaches “wherein the first and second bands are Ku and Ka bands”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth in view of Baliarda wherein the first and second bands are Ku and Ka bands, as taught by Sazegar. Doing so allows the antenna to be used in a single satellite communication system that can be used to communicate with ships (Ku) and with small on-the-move terminals (Ka).
Claim 14: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Quarforth discloses “wherein the first and second dies are configured to independently control first and second frequency bands, respectively, of the multiple bands (¶59, ““bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”; ¶60, “The tuning devices reconfigure the length of the radiating element in order to change the frequency of operation”; ¶77, “an integrated tuning device 62, as shown in FIG. 8B, may be used for each slot 14. The integrated tuning device 62 integrates multiple tuning elements into the integrated tuning device, which may be an integrated circuit or a monolithic integrated circuit”)”.
Claim 15: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Quarforth discloses (figs. 8A-8D) “wherein at least one of the one or more tunable components comprises a MEMS switch to change the electrical length of the slot (¶77, “the tuning device 62 may also be implemented using MEMs switches”)”.
Claims 4-5, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quarforth in view of Baliarda, and further in view of Stevenson et al. (US 2021/0050671 – of record; “Stev”).
Claim 4: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 2.
Quarforth does not disclose “wherein the first and second bands share the same receive, Rx, and transmit, Tx, radiating elements”.
Stev, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (¶163) that a communication system can have simultaneous transmit and receive paths (see fig. 27) and (¶164) that “antenna 2701 includes two spatially interleaved antenna arrays operable independently to transmit and receive simultaneously at different frequencies”. Stev therefore teaches receive Rx and transmit Tx radiating elements. As each radiating element (2103/2210) can be tuned/adjusted to two bands (17 GHz and 20 GHz), Stev teaches “wherein the first and second bands share the same receive, Rx, and transmit, Tx, radiating elements”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth in view of Baliarda such that the first and second bands share the same receive and transmit radiating elements, as taught by Stev. Doing so allows for full duplex communication, i.e., simultaneous two-way data transmission for improving real-time communication.
Claim 5: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Quarforth does not disclose, but Stev teaches, “wherein the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements (2103) comprises a first sub-array (T) of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements for performing Tx operations and a second sub-array (R) of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements for performing receive Rx operations, and the first (T) and second (R) sub-arrays are interleaved across the aperture (2101) (¶123; “antenna elements 2103 comprise both Rx and Tx irises that are interleaved and distributed on the whole surface of the antenna aperture”)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth in view of Baliarda, wherein the plurality of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements comprises a first sub-array of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements for performing Tx operations and a second sub-array of multi-band RF radiating antenna elements for performing receive Rx operations, and the first and second sub-arrays are interleaved across the aperture, as taught by Stev. Doing so allows a reduction in the size and weight of the antenna such that it is easier to be deployed on moving platforms such as ships, airplanes or satellites.
Claim 7: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Quarforth does not disclose “wherein at least one of the one or more tunable components comprises a varactor”. However, the antenna of Quarforth includes tuning devices (16) and bias lines (20) that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices (¶59).
Stev teaches, “wherein at least one of the one or more tunable components comprises a varactor (¶139; “modulate the array of tunable slots 2210 by varying the voltage to the diodes/varactors”)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth in view of Baliarda to wherein at least one of the one or more tunable components comprises a varactor, as taught by Stev. Doing so is the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Independent claim 16: Quarforth discloses (figs. 1A & 1B, fig. 5 and fig. 8B) “An antenna (antenna portions 10) comprising:
an aperture having a plurality of dual-band radio-frequency (RF) radiating antenna elements (10) (see fig. 5), wherein each antenna element (10) of the plurality of dual-band RF radiating antenna elements is configurable to operate at each of two bands (¶65, “slot antennas radiate power at a given frequency if they are sized appropriately. The tuning devices or switches 16 can change the effective length of the slot 14. So, for example, if the appropriate slot length for radiating at a frequency f is L, and if with a length of L/2 radiation is prevented, then by placing a switch in the middle of the slot 14, the slot can be switched from a radiating slot to a non-radiating slot. In the “open” state the effective length is L, and the slot radiates. In the “short” state the slot does not radiate. In the “short” state the slot does not radiate because the slot is changed to two L/2 slots and neither of them will radiate at frequency f”),
and each dual-band RF radiating antenna element comprises a slot (slot 14) (see ¶71) loaded with first and second tunable components (tuning devices 16), wherein the first tunable component coupled across a width of the slot at a central portion of the slot as part of the first signal path and the second tunable component coupled across the width of the slot (14) at a location proximate to an edge of the slot as part of a second signal path (see fig. 1B, where there is a first tunable component 16 located at a central portion of the slot, and another tunable component at the end of the slot – switches 16 can change the effective length of the slot, such that first and second signal paths are provided, depending on whether the switches 16 are on or off); and
a controller coupled to the plurality of antenna elements to dynamically configure said each antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements to operate at each of the dual bands at different times (¶59, “bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”),
wherein the controller is operable to independently control first and second resonances of the slot of each of the plurality of dual-band RF radiating antenna elements to obtain operation of the plurality of dual-band RF radiating antenna elements at each of the dual bands by controlling the one or more tunable components of said each dual-band RF radiating antenna element including operating the plurality of dual-band RF radiating antenna elements at one of the dual bands when tuning said each dual-band RF radiating antenna element with the first tunable component (¶59, “bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”; ¶60, “The tuning devices reconfigure the length of the radiating element in order to change the frequency of operation”; ¶64, “The switch 16 is controlled by a bias line 20, which controls the state of the switch 16 by applying a voltage or current”),
wherein the controller selects use of the first signal path or the second signal path according to whether the slot is to be operating at the first band or the second band (¶59, “bias lines 20 that provide individually-controllable voltages to the tuning devices 16”; ¶60, “The tuning devices reconfigure the length of the radiating element in order to change the frequency of operation”)”.
Quarforth does not disclose “wherein the two bands share the same receive (Rx) and transmit (Tx) radiating elements, with each of the first signal path and the second signal path having a first filter and a second filter, respectively, with a passband for a first band and a second band, respectively, of the dual band”.
Stev, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (¶163) that a communication system can have simultaneous transmit and receive paths (see fig. 27) and (¶164) that “antenna 2701 includes two spatially interleaved antenna arrays operable independently to transmit and receive simultaneously at different frequencies”. Stev therefore teaches receive Rx and transmit Tx radiating elements. As each radiating element (2103/2210) can be tuned/adjusted to two bands (17 GHz and 20 GHz), Stev teaches “wherein the two bands share the same receive, Rx, and transmit, Tx, radiating elements”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth in view of Baliarda such that the two bands share the same receive and transmit radiating elements, as taught by Stev. Doing so allows for full duplex communication, i.e., simultaneous two-way data transmission for improving real-time communication.
Stev does not teach “with each of the first signal path and the second signal path having a first filter and a second filter, respectively, with a passband for a first band and a second band, respectively, of the dual band”.
Baliarda teaches (fig. 7) an antenna element having a slot (slot 6) configurable to operate at multiple bands (¶38). The slot is loaded with one or more tunable components (10b) across a width of the slot at a central position of the slot (6); and a controller coupled to the plurality of antenna elements to dynamically configure the antenna element to operate at multiple bands at different times (¶44) B also teaches (¶22) that the electric component may be a filter, and that any combination of electric components, such as a diode, a transistor, a switch, or any other kind of RF device can be used across the slot (¶36). B further teaches (¶42) “a filter will allow some frequencies to cross over the slot while rejecting others. As a result, the slot will change its resonant frequency and/or introduce a new non-harmonic resonance that might be used to tune multiple frequency bands in the wireless device”. That is, the filter may be a pass-band filter which can tune multiple frequency bands, that is, a first band and a second band.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth in view of Baliarda and Stev according to the teachings of Baliarda with each of the first signal path and the second signal path having a first filter and a second filter, respectively, with a passband for a first band and a second band, respectively, of the dual band. Doing so allows for some frequencies to cross over the slot while rejecting others. As a result, the slot can change its resonant frequency and/or introduce new non-harmonic resonance that might be used to tune multiple frequency bands in a wireless device (¶42 of B).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quarforth in view of Baliarda and Stevenson (“Stev”), and further in view of Sazegar.
Claim 19: the modified Quarforth teaches the antenna of claim 16.
Quarforth does not disclose, but Sazegar teaches (¶28), “wherein the two bands are Ku and Ka bands”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Quarforth in view of Baliarda and Stevenson, wherein the two bands are Ku and Ka bands, as taught by Sazegar. Doing so allows the antenna to be used in a single satellite communication system that can be used to communicate with ships (Ku) and with small on-the-move terminals (Ka).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and addressing the 112(b) rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The pertinent prior art, as a whole, when taken alone, or in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 10, Quarforth (US 2020/0083605 – of record) discloses a first die having a first signal path and a second die having second signal path. However, Quarforth does not teach, or suggest, each of the first and second signal paths having a first filter and a second filter, with a respective passband for the first band and the second band (claim 1). Quarforth also does not teach “wherein the first band is within the passband of the first filter and the second band is within a stop band of the second filter, such that if a signal is within the passband of the first filter, the first die is operational and the second die is short circuited, and if the signal is within the stop band of the second filter, the second die is operational and the first die is open”.
Baliarda (US 2008/0316118) discloses a first signal path and a second signal path (see fig. 7) and a first filter and second filter having first and second passbands for tuning a slot (6) (¶42, “The component is a filter e.g. interconnecting opposite edges of the slot. Such a filter will allow some frequencies to cross over the slot while rejecting others.”). However, Baliarda does not teach, or suggest, “wherein the first band is within the passband of the first filter and the second band is within a stop band of the second filter, such that if a signal is within the passband of the first filter, the first die is operational and the second die is short circuited, and if the signal is within the stop band of the second filter, the second die is operational and the first die is open”.
Regarding claim 17, Quarforth discloses (fig. 1B) first and second dies containing the first and second tunable components, respectively (¶71, “Each tuning device 16 may be a single FET transistor”; ¶77, “an integrated tuning device 62, as shown in FIG. 8B, may be used for each slot 14. The integrated tuning device 62 integrates multiple tuning elements into the integrated tuning device, which may be an integrated circuit or a monolithic integrated circuit”), wherein the first and second dies are coupled across a width of the slot (14) at the central portion of the slot and at the location proximate to the edge of the slot (see fig. 1B) without creating a short circuit, respectively, such that the antenna is operable at the dual bands at different times (¶71, “Any number of tuning devices 16 greater than one coupled to a radiating element 14 can provide frequency of operation reconfigurability”). However, Quarforth does not teach, or suggest, “wherein the first band is within the pass band of the first filter and the second band is within a stop band of the second filter, such that if a signal is within the passband of the first filter, the first die is operational and the second die is short circuited, and if the signal is within the stop band of the second filter, the second die is operational and the first die is open”.
Baliarda discloses (fig. 7) first and second components (10a, 10b) coupled across the width of the slot (6) at the central portion of the slot and at the location proximate to the edge of the slot. Baliarda also discloses two filters with passbands for different frequencies (¶42). However, Baliarda does not teach, or suggest, “wherein the first band is within the pass band of the first filter and the second band is within a stop band of the second filter, such that if a signal is within the passband of the first filter, the first die is operational and the second die is short circuited, and if the signal is within the stop band of the second filter, the second die is operational and the first die is open”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks dated 01/14/2026) with respect to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-18 and 20-21 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in view of the new prior art (US 2008/0316118; Baliarda) cited in this Office action.
Conclusion
The European examination report dated 12/01/2025 disclosed by the Applicant’s IDS also discusses an additional reference and analysis that is considered highly relevant to the current Application. The Examiner specifically refers to Sievenpiper (US 2003/122721) as a reference that is indicated as highly relevant to the current Application.
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845