DETAILED ACTION
Other Reference: Flynn (US 20130227236) – method for storage allocation (0004).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-6, 9-16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangaraj (US 20170160976) and in view of Lee (US 20190187902) and further in view of Horn (US 20140181369) and Akavaram (US 20240402923)
Claim 1. Thangaraj discloses A storage device (e.g., a storage device , 0108 Fig. 6A-6E; Fig. 1) comprising:
a non-transitory storage medium having a first storage capacity and a second storage capacity (e.g., mapped storage units, unmapped storage units, bad storage units, and over-provisioned storage units , Fig. 6A-6E, 0108-0109; para 0069); and
wherein the first storaqe capacity is a first advertised capacity of the non-transitory storage medium (eg., 0022 Fig. 6 - declared storage capacity of the storage device);
a processor coupled to the storage medium (e.g., storage controller 124 is implemented by software executed on computer system 110., 0064, Fig. 1),
the processor being configured to:
identify a trigger condition; (e.g., in accordance with a determination that over-provisioning in the storage device is below a first threshold.,… the second threshold corresponds to a number of storage units that is approximately 5% of a number of storage units in the declared storage capacity of the storage device, 0071 Fig. 7)
based on identifying the trigger condition: identify the first storage capacity and the second storage capacity; identify a first amount (e.g., in accordance with a determination that the level of over-provisioning does not satisfy the first threshold (i.e., the level of over-provisioning is too low), …, changes to an unmapped portion of a declared storage capacity of the storage device… execute using the unmapped portion, since over-provisioning levels are too low to provide sufficient space , 0022);
identify a first amount to be added to the second storaqe capacity (eg., 0112 FIG. 6E, is less than over-provisioning 608D, FIG. 6D, due in part to additional increases in the number of bad blocks from bad blocks 610D, FIG. 6D, to bad blocks 610E, FIG. 6E).
reduce the first storage capacity based on the first amount (e.g., the unmapped storage units that are part of the declared storage capacity of the storage device are utilized as a substitute form of over-provisioning to compensate for a low level of over-provisioning in the storage device, in order to ensure that the storage device has access to an acceptable number of usable storage units (e.g., unmapped storage units 606E in addition to over-provisioning 606E) to continue executing necessary background memory operations., 0112); and
Thangaraj does not disclose, but Lee discloses
to generate a reduced first storage capacity (eg., 0065 Fig. 2-4 - memory controller 200 may secure available memory space from the system area 103-3 by moving the system data from the SLC block to the TLC block, and may allocate the secured available memory space of the system area 103-3 to the over-provisioning area 103-4 ; 0085] At step 605, the memory controller 200 may allocate available memory space secured from the system area 101-3 to the over-provisioning area 101-4.);
modify the second storage capacity based on the first amount (e.g., 0061 - when the size of the residual space 101-2 of the main data area becomes smaller than the threshold VOLTH, the size of the over-provisioning space 101-4 may become greater by securing available memory space from the system area 103-3 and allocating the secured available memory space to the over-provisioning space 101-4.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, providing the benefit of secure available memory space from the system area by moving the system data (see Lee, 0051).
Thangaraj in view of Lee does not disclose, but Horn discloses
wherein the processor being configured to modify the second storage capacity based on the first amount includes the processor being configured to: select a first memory block from a pool of memory blocks associated with the first storage capacity, wherein the first memory block stores data accessible to a computing device;. (e.g., 0019, 0020 - size of the overprovisioning portion 156 can be adjusted based on one or more of overprovisioning parameters, such as parameters 200 of FIG. 2. the size of the overprovisioning portion can be adjusted based on a combination of the overprovisioning parameters, such as, for example, a weighted average. The recovered storage capacity can be allocated for storing user data and/or for overprovisioning. )
and associate the first memory block with the second storage capacity (eg., 0020 Fig 3 - the data storage system 120 recovers an amount of storage capacity 170. The recovered storage capacity can be allocated for storing user data and/or for overprovisioning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, with Horn, providing the benefit of allocating storage capacity for overprovisioning can reduce the rate of wear by decreasing write amplification (see Horm, 0023).
Thangaraj in view of Lee and Horn does not disclose, but Akavaram discloses
format the non-transitory storage medium based on the reduced first storage capacity for generatinq a reformatted non-transitory storage medium having the reduced first storaqe capacity, wherein the reduced first storaqe capacity is a second advertised capacity of the reformatted non-transitory storaqe medium that is less than the first advertised capacity of the non-transitory storage medium. (eg., 0026 - the data storage device can reduce its reported capacity such that some memory blocks can be reallocated or repurposed as spare blocks to compensate for aging or failing memory blocks. In some aspects, the data storage device can report to a host the amount of spare blocks needed for one or more LUs, and then the host can relinquish some memory blocks to be reallocated as spare blocks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, with Horn, with Akavaram, providing the benefit of a data storage device can continue to be operable and fully functional when the device gets close to the device's designed lifetime by dynamically changing the storage capacity of the device (see Akavaram, 0026).
Claim 2. Thangaraj discloses wherein the first storage capacity is available to a computing device for storing data (e.g., declared storage capacity, which is the storage capacity available to a host (e.g., as represented by declared storage capacities 612A, 612B, 612C, 612D, and 612E in FIGS. 6A-6E), 0069).
Claim 3. Thangaraj discloses wherein the second storage capacity is for a background memory operation (e.g., the extra capacity of over-provisioning is not visible to the host , 0069 Fig. 6D; unmapped portion is maintained at a sufficient size that allows background processes (e.g., garbage collection) to execute using the unmapped portion, since over-provisioning levels are too low to provide sufficient space to handle all of the background processes., 0022).
Claim 4. Thangaraj discloses wherein the trigger condition includes a determination that the second storage capacity satisfies a criterion (e.g., when the solid-state drive has a low level of over-provisioning, 0022).
Claim 5. Thangaraj discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: and modify an attribute of the first memory block to associate the first memory block with the second storage capacity (e.g., the additional unmapped storage units are used as a substitute for over-provisioning, to provide space in which to perform background memory operations and, thereby, keep the storage device functioning , 0111-0112).
Claim 6. Thangaraj discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: identify an attribute of a first memory block; and based on the processor identifying the attribute, store data in the first memory block into a second memory block forming part of the second storage capacity (e.g., storage device may still have a certain quantity of unmapped storage units within the declared storage capacity of the storage device that are usable for storing data… instead of reaching end-of-life operations, the storage device repurposes (or temporarily uses) unmapped storage units that are part of the declared storage capacity of the storage device in order to compensate for a low level of over-provisioning within the storage device, 0070-0071).
Claim 9. Thangaraj discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:transmit a notification to a computing device based on the processor being configured to modify the first storage capacity (e.g., status message to the host system comprises a request that the host system unmap a portion of the storage device's storage capacity., 0026).
Claim 10. Thangaraj discloses wherein the first amount is based on a target associated with the second storage capacity (e.g., the unmapped portion is maintained at a sufficient size that allows background processes (e.g., garbage collection) to execute using the unmapped portion, since over-provisioning levels are too low to provide sufficient space to handle all of the background processes., 0022).
Claim 11. Thangaraj discloses A method (e.g., a storage device , 0108 Fig. 6A-6E; Fig. 1) comprising:
the processor being configured to:
identifying, by a processor, a trigger condition (e.g., in accordance with a determination that over-provisioning in the storage device is below a first threshold.,… the second threshold corresponds to a number of storage units that is approximately 5% of a number of storage units in the declared storage capacity of the storage device, 0071 Fig. 7)
wherein the first storaqe capacity is a first advertised capacity of the non-transitory storage medium (eg., 0022 Fig. 6 - declared storage capacity of the storage device);
based on identifying the trigger condition: based on identifying the trigger condition; a first storage capacity and a second storage capacity of a storage medium; identifying, by the processor, a first amount (e.g., in accordance with a determination that the level of over-provisioning does not satisfy the first threshold (i.e., the level of over-provisioning is too low), …, changes to an unmapped portion of a declared storage capacity of the storage device… execute using the unmapped portion, since over-provisioning levels are too low to provide sufficient space , 0022) capacity (e.g., mapped storage units, unmapped storage units, bad storage units, and over-provisioned storage units , Fig. 6A-6E, 0108-0109; para 0069);
identifying, by the processor, a first amount to be added to the second storaqe capacity (eg., 0112 FIG. 6E, is less than over-provisioning 608D, FIG. 6D, due in part to additional increases in the number of bad blocks from bad blocks 610D, FIG. 6D, to bad blocks 610E, FIG. 6E).
reducing, by the processor, the first storage capacity based on the first amount (e.g., the unmapped storage units that are part of the declared storage capacity of the storage device are utilized as a substitute form of over-provisioning to compensate for a low level of over-provisioning in the storage device, in order to ensure that the storage device has access to an acceptable number of usable storage units (e.g., unmapped storage units 606E in addition to over-provisioning 606E) to continue executing necessary background memory operations., 0112); and
Thangaraj does not disclose, but Lee discloses
to generate a reduced first storage capacity (eg., 0065 Fig. 2-4 - memory controller 200 may secure available memory space from the system area 103-3 by moving the system data from the SLC block to the TLC block, and may allocate the secured available memory space of the system area 103-3 to the over-provisioning area 103-4 ; 0085] At step 605, the memory controller 200 may allocate available memory space secured from the system area 101-3 to the over-provisioning area 101-4.);
modifying, by the processor, the second storage capacity based on the first amount (e.g., when the size of the residual space 101-2 of the main data area becomes smaller than the threshold VOLTH, the size of the over-provisioning space 101-4 may become greater by securing available memory space from the system area 103-3 and allocating the secured available memory space to the over-provisioning space 101-4., 0061)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, providing the benefit of secure available memory space from the system area by moving the system data (see Lee, 0051).
Thangaraj in view of Lee does not disclose, but Horn discloses
wherein the modifying of the second storage capacity based on the first amount includes:selecting a first memory block from a pool of memory blocks associated with the first storage capacity, wherein the first memory block stores data accessible to a computing device; (e.g., 0019, 0020 - size of the overprovisioning portion 156 can be adjusted based on one or more of overprovisioning parameters, such as parameters 200 of FIG. 2. the size of the overprovisioning portion can be adjusted based on a combination of the overprovisioning parameters, such as, for example, a weighted average. The recovered storage capacity can be allocated for storing user data and/or for overprovisioning. )
associating the first memory block with the second storage capacity (eg., 0020 Fig 3 - the data storage system 120 recovers an amount of storage capacity 170. The recovered storage capacity can be allocated for storing user data and/or for overprovisioning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, with Horn, providing the benefit of allocating storage capacity for overprovisioning can reduce the rate of wear by decreasing write amplification (see Horm, 0023).
Thangaraj in view of Lee and Horn does not disclose, but Akavaram discloses
format the non-transitory storage medium based on the reduced first storage capacity for generatinq a reformatted non-transitory storage medium having the reduced first storaqe capacity, wherein the reduced first storaqe capacity is a second advertised capacity of the reformatted non-transitory storaqe medium that is less than the first advertised capacity of the non-transitory storage medium. (eg., 0026 - the data storage device can reduce its reported capacity such that some memory blocks can be reallocated or repurposed as spare blocks to compensate for aging or failing memory blocks. In some aspects, the data storage device can report to a host the amount of spare blocks needed for one or more LUs, and then the host can relinquish some memory blocks to be reallocated as spare blocks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, with Horn, with Akavaram, providing the benefit of a data storage device can continue to be operable and fully functional when the device gets close to the device's designed lifetime by dynamically changing the storage capacity of the device (see Akavaram, 0026).
Claim 12 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 2 above.
Claim 13 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 3 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 4 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 5 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 6 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 9 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 10 above.
4. Claims 7, 8, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangaraj (US 20170160976) and in view of Lee (US 20190187902) and Horn (cited above) and Akavaram (cited above), and further in view of Flynn (US 20130227236)
Claim 7. Thangaraj in view of Lee and Horn and Akavaram does not disclose, but Flynn discloses
wherein the processor being configured to identify the attribute of the first memory block includes the processor being configured to identify the attribute of the first memory block based on a first identifier, wherein the processor being configured to associate the first memory block with the second storage capacity includes associating the first memory block with a second identifier (e.g., eallocation module may be configured to modify a size of a block of logical identifiers associated with the data, and the reallocation module may be configured to move one or more of the logical identifiers to another region of the logical address space. Each region may comprise one or more blocks of logical identifiers within the logical address space. The reallocation module may be configured to combine a plurality of blocks allocated within a first region of the logical address space into a single, larger block of logical identifiers within a different region of the logical address space. Alternatively, or in addition, the reallocation module may be configured to reallocate a block of logical identifiers within a first region of the logical address space as one or more smaller blocks of logical identifiers within a different region of the logical address space., 0010)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, and Horn and Akavaram with Flynn providing the benefit of a translation module configured to manage a logical address space of a storage device, a partitioning module configured to segment the logical address space into a plurality of different regions, the individual regions having a different respective allocation granularity, and an allocation module configured to allocate logical identifiers within the regions in accordance with the allocation granularities of the regions. an interface module configured to provide for specifying a region of the logical address space in which to perform one or more of an allocation operation and a storage operation (see Flynn, 0009).
Claim 8. Thangaraj discloses
wherein the processor being configured to format the non-transitory storage medium include the processor being is further configured to switch operation of the non-transitory storage medium from a first operation mode to a second operation mode (eg., 0023 0125 Fig. 8 - changing the mode of operation of the storage device to a second mode of operation in accordance with a determination that the level of over-provisioning in the storage device)
Claim 17 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 7 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 8 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claims 1, and 11, Applicant argues that that the cited references do not disclose the amended limitations. The Office disagrees.
In the present OA, the updated combination of references render the amended limitations as obvious.
Specifically, Thangaraj discloses A storage device (e.g., a storage device , 0108 Fig. 6A-6E; Fig. 1) comprising:
wherein the first storaqe capacity is a first advertised capacity of the non-transitory storage medium (eg., 0022 Fig. 6 - declared storage capacity of the storage device);
identify a first amount to be added to the second storaqe capacity (eg., 0112 FIG. 6E, is less than over-provisioning 608D, FIG. 6D, due in part to additional increases in the number of bad blocks from bad blocks 610D, FIG. 6D, to bad blocks 610E, FIG. 6E).
Thangaraj in view of Lee and Horn does not disclose, but Akavaram discloses
format the non-transitory storage medium based on the reduced first storage capacity for generatinq a reformatted non-transitory storage medium having the reduced first storaqe capacity, wherein the reduced first storaqe capacity is a second advertised capacity of the reformatted non-transitory storaqe medium that is less than the first advertised capacity of the non-transitory storage medium. (eg., 0026 - the data storage device can reduce its reported capacity such that some memory blocks can be reallocated or repurposed as spare blocks to compensate for aging or failing memory blocks. In some aspects, the data storage device can report to a host the amount of spare blocks needed for one or more LUs, and then the host can relinquish some memory blocks to be reallocated as spare blocks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device having declared storage capacity and over-provisioning capacity as disclosed by Thangaraj, with Lee, with Horn, with Akavaram, providing the benefit of a data storage device can continue to be operable and fully functional when the device gets close to the device's designed lifetime by dynamically changing the storage capacity of the device (see Akavaram, 0026).
Applicant’s arguments for dependent claims are based on their respective base independent claims 1 and 11, which are addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAUTAM SAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135