DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is responsive to the applicant’s filling an amendment on 5/13/2026.
The application has claims 1-20 present. Claims 1-3, 10 and 19 have been amended. All present claims have been examined.
Previous rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn as necessitated by the claim amendments.
This action is made Final.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11, 18-19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGINISHI YUICHI et al (JP2022014574A) in view of Laftchiev et al. (US 20210173377), Cohn (US 9881276) and Peck (US 20180286002) and STAHL MATTHIAS et al. (EP3252729A1) English translation.
In regards to claims (1, 10 and 19), SUGINISHI teaches a method for monitoring a production process, comprising: obtaining production data corresponding to production machinery utilized during the production process (see para 15-17, 93, 95: obtaining production data); obtaining operator data corresponding to an operator operating the production machinery (see para 15, 36-42: operator data); obtaining material data corresponding to material used by at least one of the operator or the production machinery in the production process (see para 18, 61, 82: material data); calculating a calculation data set based on the production data, the operator data, and the material data; and performing an analysis at least on the operator data based on results of the calculation data set (see at least para 82-83: uses obtained data to perform analysis).
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach applying machine learning techniques with sensor fusion to the calculation data set; wherein the analysis generates at least one of: time stamped operation status of the operator, cycle time durations of manual operation steps, walk path trajectory of the operator, completion status of manual operation steps, or quality status of manual operation steps; and using results of the analysis to automatically trigger work instructions for a subsequent step in the production process based on detected completion of a current step.
Laftchiev teaches applying machine learning techniques with sensor fusion to the calculation data set; wherein the analysis generates at least one of: time stamped operation status of the operator, cycle time durations of manual operation steps, walk path trajectory of the operator, completion status of manual operation steps, or quality status of manual operation steps; and using results of the analysis to automatically trigger work instructions for a subsequent step in the production process based on detected completion of a current step (see at least para 42-49, 56, 65, 82-85, 87, 97, 103, 106-107: teaches using sensor data and machine learning to analyzed received data from the multiple sensors (sensor fusion - data from different types of sensors) from user, environment and machines. Data is compared with historic data or learned data and make a determination based on the tasks performed in order to provide control for a next step/task based on the analyzed data. Para 79-80 also mentions example that the analyzed data generates determination based on quality of the steps, completion time of the steps taken by the human e.g. welding completion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Laftchiev, and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI, in order to use machine learning and multiple sensor data in order to analyze the users and machine task and determine next steps in process, since it improves the manufacturing process by using the collected data to improve performance and final product quality (see Laftchiev para 9, 14 and 80).
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach wherein the operator data is obtained based on a non-vision based sensor system comprising at least one of acoustic sensors, ultrasonic sensors, photoelectric sensors, or infra-red sensors deployed to monitor operator presence and hand movements at workstations.
Cohn teaches wherein the operator data is obtained based on a non-vision based sensor system comprising at least one of acoustic sensors, ultrasonic sensors, photoelectric sensors, or infra-red sensors deployed to monitor operator presence and hand movements at workstations (see at least Col 2 lines 38 to Col 3 line 27, Col 5 line 49-67: monitoring user presence, detecting hand location and movements within an area to determine user location and activity. Using ultrasonic sensors to monitor).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cohn, and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev, in order to use ultrasonic sensor data in order to analyze the users/operators data and task, since it enhances the system by incorporating sensor that provide reliable location and movement data in order to properly analyze the data.
SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev teaches output of instructions as taught above, but doesn’t specifically teach wherein the work instructions are displayed on-screen or projected as visual instructions for the operator.
Peck teaches wherein the work instructions are displayed on-screen or projected as visual instructions for the operator (see at least para 59: instruction to a worker can be provided in audio or displayed on a device for the worker to complete).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Peck and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev in order to provide visual instructions, since it enhances the system by providing means to facilitate how a user or worker receives instructions.
SUGINISHI teaches manual steps as taught above, but doesn’t specifically teach detect completion of operation steps, wherein the detected completion automatically triggers display of work instructions for a subsequent step without requiring operator input.
STAHL teaches detect completion of operation steps, wherein the detected completion automatically triggers display of work instructions for a subsequent step without requiring operator input (see para 66: “If, for example, a sensor or a combination of several sensors of sensor system 10, 12, 14 and 16 detects the completion of a preparatory action at workstation 8 and/or, based on operating parameters of a kitchen appliance and/or several kitchen appliances of kitchen appliances 2, 4 and 6, the completion of a process of one or more kitchen appliances of kitchen appliances 2, 4 and 6 is detected, the processing unit 20 can automatically control the touch display 18 in such a way that, for example, the display of the touch display 18 switches to the next preparation step of the selected recipe.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of STAHL and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev in order to provide visual instructions when previous manual step is done, since it enhances the system by providing means to present each step, thus allowing the worker to quickly know what needs to be done.
In regards to claims (2 and 11), SUGINISHI teaches and wherein at least one of the production data, the operator data, or the material data is obtained from an existing system or database external to or internal to the production machinery (see para 16-17, 20, 82: “The controller 130 is a device that controls the operation of the production device 131. The controller 130 monitors information such as the time of operation start, operation status, non-operation status, and operation end of the production device 131, and transmits the information to the equipment operation history acquisition unit 223 of the work instructing device 200 via the network. The production device 131 is a device used for production, such as a numerically controlled machining device (NC device). In the above example, the controller 130 transmits the operation information of the production device 131 to the work instructing device 200, but this is not limited to this. The production device 131 itself may transmit the operation information to the work instructing device 200.).
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach wherein the production data, or the material data is also obtained based on the non-vision based sensor system
Cohn teaches wherein the production data, or the material data is also obtained based on the non-vision based sensor system (see at abstract and least Col 2 lines 38 to Col 3 line 27, Col 5 line 49-67: monitoring user presence, detecting hand location and movements within an area to determine user location and activity. Using ultrasonic sensors components to monitor and correlate workers’ data with production or material data (e.g inventory bin location and inventory item data)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cohn and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev in order to use ultrasonic sensor data in order to analyze the users/operators, production and material data, since it enhances the system by incorporating sensor that provide reliable data in order to properly analyze the data to determine that required steps are done.
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach wherein the production data, the operator data, and the material data are combined and analyzed to determine completion status of manual operation steps for the automatic triggering of work instructions.
Laftchiev teach wherein the production data, the operator data, and the material data are combined and analyzed to determine completion status of manual operation steps for the automatic triggering of work instructions.
(see at least para 42-49, 56, 65, 82-85, 87, 97, 103, 106-107: teaches using sensor data and machine learning to analyzed received data from the multiple sensors (sensor fusion - data from different types of sensors) from user, environment and machines. Data is compared with historic data or learned data and make a determination based on the tasks performed in order to provide control for a next step/task based on the analyzed data. Para 79-80 also mentions example that the analyzed data generates determination based on quality of the steps, completion time of the steps taken by the human e.g. welding completion. Thus, it combines all the data that is received to analyze it and make the determination).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Laftchiev, and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by STAHL, in order to use all data in order to analyze the users and machine task and determine next steps in process and combine it with Stahl automatic triggering, since it improves the manufacturing process by using the collected data to improve performance and final product quality (see Laftchiev para 9, 14 and 80).
In regards to claims (9, 18 and 20), SUGINISHI teaches further comprising: providing, as output, a user interface comprising results of the analysis of at least the operator data based on the results of the calculation data set (see para 82, 87-88: provides results when requested).
Claim(s) 3-8, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGINISHI, Laftchiev, Cohn and Peck and STAHL as applied to claims above (1-2 and 9-11) and further in view of Rumi et al. (US 2006/0224254) and Chaar et al. (US 20100017252).
In regards to claims (3 and 12), SUGINISHI teaches wherein the non-vision based sensor system comprises sensors deployed to monitor the operator (see para 18, 36-42 and 80: monitor data for operator).
Although SUGINISHI teaches receiving data about production machinery and materials (see para 15, 17, 18, 61, 82-84), it doesn’t specifically teach sensors deployed to monitor the production machinery and the material in the production process.
Rumi teaches sensors deployed to monitor the production machinery and the material in the production process (see para 33, 47 and claim 3: teaches using sensors to obtain machine data, material data and human data in a manufacturing environment).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rumi and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI in order to use the sensors to obtain the data, since it improves the manufacturing process data collection by facilitating how the data is obtained.
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach wherein sensor detection is triggered by operator presence or actions to indicate a change in status or measured data, which is converted to operation status related data.
Cohn teaches wherein sensor detection is triggered by operator presence or actions to indicate a change in status or measured data, which is converted to operation status related data. (see at abstract and least Col 2 lines 38 to Col 3 line 27, Col 5 line 49-67: monitoring user presence and proximity, based on the signals the system determines status data, e.g. sleep mode or active mode, when the user is not at the location or is at the location).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cohn and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev in order to use ultrasonic sensor data for presence detection, since it enhances the system by incorporating sensor that provide reliable data in order to properly analyze the data to determine that required steps are done or not when the user is not at the required location.
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach wherein the operation status related data indicates completion of a current manual operation step.
Chaar teaches wherein the operation status related data indicates completion of a current manual operation step (see para 326: teache status change of steps, including manual steps. The status change provide notification of completion of the step).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chaar and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev and Stahl in order to indicate complete of a step with statu change data, since it enhances the system by facilitating indicating to the system when one step has been done in order to continue a process.
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach to automatically trigger display of work instructions for a next manual operation step.
STAHL teaches to automatically trigger display of work instructions for a next manual operation step. (see para 66: “If, for example, a sensor or a combination of several sensors of sensor system 10, 12, 14 and 16 detects the completion of a preparatory action at workstation 8 and/or, based on operating parameters of a kitchen appliance and/or several kitchen appliances of kitchen appliances 2, 4 and 6, the completion of a process of one or more kitchen appliances of kitchen appliances 2, 4 and 6 is detected, the processing unit 20 can automatically control the touch display 18 in such a way that, for example, the display of the touch display 18 switches to the next preparation step of the selected recipe.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of STAHL and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI as modified by Laftchiev in order to provide visual instructions when previous manual step is done, since it enhances the system by providing means to present each step, thus allowing the worker to quickly know what needs to be done.
In regards to claims (4 and 13), SUGINISHI teaches wherein the sensors monitor for presence of the operator or activities during the production process (see para 17: “The sensor 140 includes a device that acquires motion information of the worker who operates the production device 131, such as an acceleration sensor, a camera, a heart rate sensor, or a temperature sensor. 23-09-2025 - Page 8The sensor 140 monitors information such as the time of the worker's operation start, operation status, inactivity status, and operation end, and transmits the information to the worker behavior acquisition unit 222 of the work instructing device 200 via the network”).
In regards to claims (5 and 14), SUGINISHI teaches obtaining all the required data (see para 15-18), however, it doesn’t specifically teach wherein the non-vision based sensor system provides real time production information related to the operator, wherein the calculation data set comprises the real time production information.
Rumi teaches wherein the non-vision based sensor system provides real time production information related to the operator, wherein the calculation data set comprises the real time production information (see para 29, 127: all the data is obtained real time to be analyzed and use).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rumi and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI in order to obtain the data in real time, since it improves the manufacturing process data by assisting management getting real time reports with action recommends on machine design and function, people competence, input materials, machine set points and maintenance (see para 29).
In regards to claims (6 and 15), SUGINISHI teaches obtaining all the required data (see para 15-18), but doesn’t specifically teach wherein the non-vision based sensor system provides real time production information related to the operator, the production machinery, and the material during one or more phases of the production process.
Rumi teaches wherein the non-vision based sensor system provides real time production information related to the operator, the production machinery, and the material during one or more phases of the production process (see para 29, 127: all the data is obtained real time to be analyzed and use).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rumi and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI in order to obtain the data in real time, since it improves the manufacturing process data by assisting management getting real time reports with action recommends on machine design and function, people competence, input materials, machine set points and maintenance (see para 29).
In regards to claims (7 and 16), SUGINISHI teaches wherein production information related to the operator, the production machinery, and the material during the one or more phases of the production process is analyzed to provide information related to the one or more phases of the production process (see para 6, 12, 83 analyzed to provide information about production process e.g. production loss occurrence).
SUGINISHI doesn’t specifically teach real time production data.
Rumi teaches real time production data (see para 29, 127: all the data is obtained real time to be analyzed and use).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rumi and combine it with the teachings of SUGINISHI in order to obtain the data in real time, since it improves the manufacturing process data by assisting management getting real time reports with action recommends on machine design and function, people competence, input materials, machine set points and maintenance (see para 29).
In regards to claims 8 and 17, SUGINISHI teaches wherein the information related to the one or more phases of the production process is configured to troubleshoot or optimize the one or more phases of the production process (see para 4-7: generates instruction on the cause to troubleshoot and solve the issue).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIO M VELEZ-LOPEZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118