DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered and the restriction election set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1.
1. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses A system for dynamic tow of a trailer comprising:
a kingpin:
(Ma [0019] The trailer 102 includes a kingpin assembly 120 configured to be coupled to the fifth wheel hitch 108 of the towing vehicle 100. When the towing vehicle 100 and the trailer 102 are coupled together, they may be characterized as forming an articulated vehicle 122.)
arranged on a proximal end of the trailer;
(Ma [FIG.1])
Ma: FIG.1
comprising a set of sensors configured to output a signal representing:
lateral forces (i.e. first direction) applied to the kingpin (i.e. the forces applied in extending or retracting distances between working components); and
longitudinal forces (i.e. second direction opposite the first direction [0040]) applied to the kingpin(i.e. the forces applied in extending or retracting distances between working components [0040]); and
configured to couple with a hitch (108 [0019]) of a tow vehicle (100 [0019]);
(Ma [0019] The trailer 102 includes a kingpin assembly 120 configured to be coupled to the fifth wheel hitch 108 of the towing vehicle 100. When the towing vehicle 100 and the trailer 102 are coupled together, they may be characterized as forming an articulated vehicle 122.)
(Ma [0037, 0040] The sensor(s) 660 are linked to the trailer 102 by the top plate 642 (see FIGS. 6B and 6C) and the magnet(s) 664 are linked to the kingpin 610 and the skid plate 620 (see FIGS. 5 and 6A-6C) by the base plate 636 (see FIGS. 6A-6C). The sensor(s) 660 may be arranged as an array or in a grid pattern. For example, the second sensor plate 646 may be lattice or grid shaped and configured to position the sensor(s) 660 (see FIGS. 6C and 6D) in a grid pattern. The sensor(s) 660 illustrated include the one or more front sensors 701, the one or more rear sensors 702, the one or more first side sensors 703, and the one or more second side sensors 704. The front and rear sensors 701 and 702 may be positioned to sense along first and second directions (illustrated by arrows 706 and 707, respectively) and the first and second side sensors 703 and 704 may be positioned to sense along third and fourth directions (illustrated by arrows 708 and 709, respectively). The first direction may be opposite the second direction and the third direction may be opposite the fourth direction...
Ma [0040] The springs 721-724 compress when force is applied to them as the first sensor plate 634 slides with respect to the second sensor plate 646. For example, the magnet(s) 711 move(s) closer to the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are compressed and farther away from the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are no longer compressed. Thus, the magnet(s) 711 move(s) in the first direction closer to the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are compressed and move(s) in the second direction farther away from the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are no longer compressed. The front sensor(s) 701 detect(s) a first strength (or magnitude) of a first magnet field that depends on a first distance between the front sensor(s) 701 and the magnet(s) 711. Optionally, the front sensor(s) 701 may determine the first distance.)
an interface comprising:
a joystick; and
(Ma [0069] A user may enter commands and information into the computing device 12 through input devices such as a keyboard 40 and pointing device 42. Other input devices (not shown) may include a microphone, joystick)
a kingpin interface configured to transiently couple to the kingpin and to transfer forces, applied to the joystick, into the kingpin; and
(Ma [0019] The trailer 102 includes a trailer assist assembly 110 (described below) configured to help propel the trailer 102 and reduce fuel consumption by the towing vehicle 100. The trailer 102 includes a kingpin assembly 120 configured to be coupled to the fifth wheel hitch 108 of the towing vehicle 100. When the towing vehicle 100 and the trailer 102 are coupled together, they may be characterized as forming an articulated vehicle 122.)
(Ma [0069-70] A user may enter commands and information into the computing device 12 through input devices such as a keyboard 40 and pointing device 42. Other input devices (not shown) may include a microphone, joystick.. The input devices described above are operable to receive user input and selections. Together the input and display devices may be described as providing a user interface.)
a controller configured to, during a first time period:
access the signal from the set of sensors;
(Ma [0047] Referring to FIG. 8, the trailer assist assembly 110 includes a trailer assist control system 810, one or more drive motors 814, and a power source 816. In the embodiment illustrated, the trailer assist control system 810 includes a computing device 820 and a drive system 822. The sensor(s) 660 send sensor signals to the trailer assist control system 810, which is configured to control the drive motor(s) 814.)
based on the signal, calculate a first direction and a first magnitude of a first force applied to the kingpin;
calculate a target left wheel speed of a left wheel of the trailer proportional to the first magnitude;
calculate a target right wheel speed of a right wheel of the trailer proportional to the first magnitude, the target right wheel speed differing from the target left wheel speed based on the first direction; and
(Ma [0056] The trailer assist assembly 110 may steer the trailer 102 by controlling differential speeds of the rear trailer wheels 510 either by selectively braking one or more of the rear trailer wheels 510, and/or by driving each of the rear trailer wheels 510 independently (e.g., with a separate one of the drive motor(s) 814) forward or in reverse.)
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that in order to drive by steering, vehicles are equipped with differential system (as disclosed above) in order to allow a speed difference between wheels so that when a car turns, the outer wheel may/must rotate faster than the inner wheel.
serve the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed to a drive system arranged proximal a distal end of the trailer opposite the kingpin (i.e. sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination [0049]).
(Ma [0049] The trailer assist control system 810 uses the sensor signals received from the sensor(s) 660 to detect whether the towing vehicle 100 is dragging or pulling the trailer 102, and to detect that the towing vehicle 100 is not being pushed by the trailer 102. The trailer assist control system 810 may also use the sensor signals to determine when adjustments would help prevent the trailer 102 from jackknifing. In other words, the sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination. For example, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of propulsion force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to apply that amount of propulsion force to the rear trailer wheels 510. Similarly, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of braking force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 and/or the trailer brakes 520 to apply that amount of braking force to the rear trailer wheels 510. For example, to slow the articulated vehicle 122, the trailer assist control system 810 may instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to engage regenerative braking, which captures kinetic energy from the rear trailer wheels 510 slowing the articulated vehicle 122, uses the kinetic energy to generate electrical energy, and uses the electric energy to charge the power source 816.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1 as applied to claim 1 above.
7. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising the drive system:
arranged on the floor of the trailer proximal the distal end of the trailer opposite the kingpin;
comprising:
a passive axle comprising:
a passive left wheel; and
a passive right wheel; and
a driven axle adjacent the passive axle and comprising:
a left driven wheel;
a right driven wheel;
a left motor coupled to the left driven wheel; and
a right motor coupled to the right driven wheel; and
configured to, during the first time period (i.e. a period of operation):
trigger the left motor to drive the left driven wheel according to the target left wheel speed; and
trigger the right motor to drive the right driven wheel according to the target right wheel speed.
(i.e. drive by steering [FIG.8])
(Ma [0056] The trailer assist assembly 110 may steer the trailer 102 by controlling differential speeds of the rear trailer wheels 510 either by selectively braking one or more of the rear trailer wheels 510, and/or by driving each of the rear trailer wheels 510 independently (e.g., with a separate one of the drive motor(s) 814) forward or in reverse.)
Examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that vehicle components above (i.e. an axle, wheels, motors, and differential steering) fall within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient.
Therefore, the integration of these components would have been an obvious modification to the system of Ma. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide the vehicle structure necessary for traveling, controlling, and turning a vehicle.
Ma: FIG.8
8. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 7:
wherein the driven axle comprises a primary motor coupled to the left driven wheel and the right driven wheel; and
wherein the drive system is further configured to, during the first time period (i.e. a period of operation):
trigger the primary motor to drive the left driven wheel and the right driven wheel according to the first direction and the first magnitude; and
selectively trigger the left motor and the right motor according to a difference between the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed.
(i.e. drive by steering [FIG.8])
(Ma [0056] The trailer assist assembly 110 may steer the trailer 102 by controlling differential speeds of the rear trailer wheels 510 either by selectively braking one or more of the rear trailer wheels 510, and/or by driving each of the rear trailer wheels 510 independently (e.g., with a separate one of the drive motor(s) 814) forward or in reverse.)
Examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that vehicle components above (i.e. an axle, wheels, motors, and differential steering) fall within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient.
Therefore, the integration of these components would have been an obvious modification to the system of Ma. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide the vehicle structure necessary for traveling, controlling, and turning a vehicle.
Ma: FIG.8
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Roll US-20040135345-A1.
2. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the (610) comprises:
a base (636):
arranged on the proximal end of the trailer;
Ma: FIG. 5, 6A
**** to couple the base to the trailer; and
(Ma [FIG.5-6])
Roll US-20040135345-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…defining a set of mounting bores configured to receive a set of fasteners”;
(Roll [0020] As best shown in FIG. 6, hinge bracket 12 comprises a single metal cast member having a pair of confronting welding flanges 21 capable of being welded to coupler 18. Hinge bracket 12 further includes two pairs of mutually opposed bores having a pivot mount receiving portion 22 located therebetween. Hinge bracket 12 includes bores 24 that partially define axis zz and bores 26 designed to receive removable locking hinge pin 29 as further described below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include defining a set of mounting bores configured to receive a set of fasteners with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Roll, for the benefit of fastening components together.
defining a first diameter;
(Ma [0028] The first sensor plate 634 is affixed to the base plate 636 and the slip material 638B and moves therewith as a unit. The base plate 636 is affixed to the upward facing surface 622 of the skid plate 620, and the skid plate 620 is affixed to the anchored portion 616 (see FIG. 7) of the kingpin 610.)
Ma: FIG. 7
a shank (FIG.6C):
extending from the base along a vertical axis;
configured to insert into a fifth-wheel hitch of the tow vehicle (i.e. The towing vehicle 100 also has a first connector (e.g., a fifth wheel hitch 108) [0018]);
defining a second diameter less than the first diameter;
defining a first sensor receptacle configured to intersect a longitudinal axis of the trailer (660, 646); and
defining a second sensor receptacle configured to intersect a lateral axis of the trailer (660); and
a head: arranged on a distal end of the shank opposite the base (632); and
defining a third diameter less than the first diameter and greater than the second diameter.
Ma: FIG. 5, 6A
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Bondaryk US-20190232992-A1.
3. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 2:
wherein the interface is configured to:
clamp (i.e. brace, hold, or band together) to the shank;
Ma: FIG. 1
****; and
wherein the kingpin further comprises:
a first sensor arranged in the first receptable and configured to output a first signal representing the first force along the longitudinal axis responsive to a longitudinal force input to the kingpin by the interface; and
a second sensor arranged in the second receptable and configured to output a second signal representing the second force along the lateral axis responsive to a torque input to the kingpin by the interface. (i.e. sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination [0049]).
(Ma [0049] The trailer assist control system 810 uses the sensor signals received from the sensor(s) 660 to detect whether the towing vehicle 100 is dragging or pulling the trailer 102, and to detect that the towing vehicle 100 is not being pushed by the trailer 102. The trailer assist control system 810 may also use the sensor signals to determine when adjustments would help prevent the trailer 102 from jackknifing. In other words, the sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination. For example, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of propulsion force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to apply that amount of propulsion force to the rear trailer wheels 510. Similarly, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of braking force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 and/or the trailer brakes 520 to apply that amount of braking force to the rear trailer wheels 510. For example, to slow the articulated vehicle 122, the trailer assist control system 810 may instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to engage regenerative braking, which captures kinetic energy from the rear trailer wheels 510 slowing the articulated vehicle 122, uses the kinetic energy to generate electrical energy, and uses the electric energy to charge the power source 816.)
Bondaryk US-20190232992-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…transfer longitudinal forces, input into the joystick, into the shank; and transfer torque, input into the joystick about the vertical axis, into the shank”;
(Bondaryk [0035] In some embodiments, the one or more handles 160 may have one or more user interface hardware components (not shown) integrated therein or coupled thereto, such as buttons, switches, joysticks, and/or the like that allow a user to navigate a user interface, to provide inputs for moving the hitch mounted robot system 100 (e.g., to automatically or semi-automatically drive the hitch mounted robot system 100), to lock one or more portions of the hitch mounted robot system 100, to provide commands that allow the hitch mounted robot system 100 to autonomously move, and/or the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include transferring torque to a shank or hitch using a joystick with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Bondaryk, for the benefit of providing commands that allow the hitch mounted robot system 100 to autonomously move, and/or the like.
10. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 1:
wherein the joystick ****;
wherein the kingpin interface comprises a clamp configured to transiently couple to the kingpin ****; and
wherein the kingpin is configured to couple to the hitch, the hitch comprising a fifth wheel arranged on the tow vehicle comprising a trailer tractor.
(Ma [FIG.5])
Ma: FIG. 5, 6A
Bondaryk US-20190232992-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…comprises an analog stick… and to transfer forces, applied to the analog stick, into the kingpin”;
(Bondaryk [0035] In some embodiments, the one or more handles 160 may have one or more user interface hardware components (not shown) integrated therein or coupled thereto, such as buttons, switches, joysticks, and/or the like that allow a user to navigate a user interface, to provide inputs for moving the hitch mounted robot system 100 (e.g., to automatically or semi-automatically drive the hitch mounted robot system 100), to lock one or more portions of the hitch mounted robot system 100, to provide commands that allow the hitch mounted robot system 100 to autonomously move, and/or the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include transferring torque to a shank or hitch using a joystick with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Bondaryk, for the benefit of providing commands that allow the hitch mounted robot system 100 to autonomously move, and/or the like.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of DiGioacchino US-20210139008-A1.
4. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 1:
further comprising an initial sensor arranged proximal the kingpin and configured to output an initial signal representing accelerations of the trailer at the kingpin; and
(i.e. sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination [0049]).
(Ma [0049] The trailer assist control system 810 uses the sensor signals received from the sensor(s) 660 to detect whether the towing vehicle 100 is dragging or pulling the trailer 102, and to detect that the towing vehicle 100 is not being pushed by the trailer 102. The trailer assist control system 810 may also use the sensor signals to determine when adjustments would help prevent the trailer 102 from jackknifing. In other words, the sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination. For example, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of propulsion force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to apply that amount of propulsion force to the rear trailer wheels 510. Similarly, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of braking force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 and/or the trailer brakes 520 to apply that amount of braking force to the rear trailer wheels 510. For example, to slow the articulated vehicle 122, the trailer assist control system 810 may instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to engage regenerative braking, which captures kinetic energy from the rear trailer wheels 510 slowing the articulated vehicle 122, uses the kinetic energy to generate electrical energy, and uses the electric energy to charge the power source 816.)
****.
DiGioacchino US-20210139008-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…wherein the controller is further configured to, during an initial time period preceding the first time period: interpret an initial acceleration of the trailer at the kingpin based on the initial signal; and in response to the initial acceleration of the trailer exceeding a threshold acceleration: set the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed to null; and serve the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed to the drive system”;
(DiGioacchino [0042] As the second iteration executes, the automated trailer brake gain determination process releases the trailer brakes by providing a null trailer brake torque 219, and the trailer wheel speed is seen to recover as there is no lock-up condition with the released trailer brakes. With the adjusted high (H) and low (L) trailer brake gain limits now of 5 and 0, respectively, and evaluation gain (G) of 2.5, the trailer brakes are applied. This second iteration evaluation gain of 2.5 also causes a lock-up condition as shown by the rapid speed drop of the trailer wheels and large speed differential from the tow vehicle wheel speed 619. As the third iteration executes, the automated trailer brake gain determination process releases the trailer brakes by providing a null trailer brake torque 219, and the trailer wheel speed is seen to recover as there is no lock-up condition with the released trailer brakes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include setting wheel speed to null in response to exceeding a threshold with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by DiGioacchino, for the benefit of preventing lock ups and/or unwanted dangerous driving conditions.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Daugherty US-11712937-B1 and Reiner US-5618084-A.
5. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising the drive system:
arranged on a floor of the trailer proximal the distal end of the trailer opposite the kingpin;
comprising:
a passive axle comprising:
a passive left wheel;
a passive right wheel; and
****; and
a driven axle adjacent the passive axle and comprising:
a left driven wheel;
a right driven wheel;
a secondary left brake system coupled to the left driven wheel ****;
a secondary right brake system coupled to the right wheel driven ****; and
As discussed in MPEP § 2144.04, in re Harza, the court upheld that even though the reference did not disclose a plurality of parts, the mere duplication of parts which achieve essentially the same function has been recognized as an obvious mechanical expedient and therefore has no patentable weight or significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
As such, while Ma discloses a brakes (520; [FIG.8]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the brake system could be duplicated in that another, secondary, set of left/right brakes could provide an alternative source for slowing down a vehicle or moving body.
a motor coupled to the left driven wheel and the right driven wheel; and
configured to, during the first time period:
trigger the motor to drive the left driven wheel and the right driven wheel according to the first direction and the first magnitude; and
****.
(i.e. drive by steering [FIG.8])
Ma: FIG.8
Daugherty US-11712937-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a primary airbrake system configured to couple to an airbrake supply of the tow vehicle”;
(Daugherty [c.2 ln.30] A typical semi-truck or tractor-trailer includes a cab or tractor 190 that is connected to a trailer 192 via a frame 194. The truck incudes a plurality of airbrake hoses 172, 174 and electrical cables 170 that are connected to ports on the cab rear wall for transmitting operational power and air to the trailer. The hoses and cable include gladhands 178, 180 and locking connectors 176 at their distal ends that are coupled with mating ports on the trailer. The hoses and cables could be color-coded for easier identification, i.e., the electrical cable could be green, the emergency brake hose could be red, and the service brake hose could be blue.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include airbrakes with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Daugherty, for the benefit of providing a system to transmit operational power [c.2 ln.30].
Reiner US-5618084-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…selectively operate the ****[[brake]] system to influence **** vehicle **** according to a difference between the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed”;
(Reiner [c.2 ln.30] This problem has been solved in accordance with the present invention by means of a method in which a braking effect of the retarder brake as a function of an absolute value of a difference between a wheel speed value derived from wheel speeds of at least one wheel influenceable by the retarder brake and a wheel speed value derived from wheel speeds of at least one wheel independent from influence of the retarder brake, and reducing the braking effect when the absolute value of the difference between the wheel speeds exceeds a prescribed limit value which is lower than the absolute value of the difference between the wheel speeds when one of the wheels has a tendency toward locking.)
(Reiner [c.2 ln.30] In this new method, the braking force of the activated retarder brake is already reduced before one of the wheels which can be acted on by the retarder brake starts to tend to lock in that this reduction already takes place when the absolute value of the difference between inter-axle wheel speed values exceeds a prescribed limit value which is smaller than the absolute value of the difference between the inter-axle wheel speeds when one of the wheels starts to tend to lock. As a result of this earliest practical reduction in the braking effect of the retarder brake, there is, in contrast with conventional systems in which the retarder brake is only switched off with an ABS signal which indicates the tendency to lock, no risk of excessively late switching off of the retarder brake owing to the comparatively slow reduction in braking torque of the retarder brake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include selectively operating the brake system to influence vehicle according to a difference between the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Reiner, for the benefit of significantly reducing a risk of reaching a locking point.
6. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising the drive system:
arranged on a floor of the trailer proximal the distal end of the trailer opposite the kingpin;
comprising:
a passive axle comprising:
a passive left wheel;
a passive right wheel; and
****; and
a driven axle adjacent the passive axle and comprising:
a left driven wheel;
a right driven wheel; and
a primary motor coupled to the left driven wheel and the right driven wheel; and
configured to, during the first time period:
trigger the primary motor to drive the left driven wheel and the right driven wheel according to the first direction and the first magnitude; and
****.
(i.e. drive by steering [FIG.8])
(Ma [0056] The trailer assist assembly 110 may steer the trailer 102 by controlling differential speeds of the rear trailer wheels 510 either by selectively braking one or more of the rear trailer wheels 510, and/or by driving each of the rear trailer wheels 510 independently (e.g., with a separate one of the drive motor(s) 814) forward or in reverse.)
Examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that vehicle components above (i.e. an axle, wheels, motors, and differential steering) fall within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient.
Therefore, the integration of these components would have been an obvious modification to the system of Ma. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide the vehicle structure necessary for traveling, controlling, and turning a vehicle.
Ma: FIG.8
Daugherty US-11712937-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a primary airbrake system configured to couple to an airbrake supply of the tow vehicle”;
(Daugherty [c.2 ln.30] A typical semi-truck or tractor-trailer includes a cab or tractor 190 that is connected to a trailer 192 via a frame 194. The truck incudes a plurality of airbrake hoses 172, 174 and electrical cables 170 that are connected to ports on the cab rear wall for transmitting operational power and air to the trailer. The hoses and cable include gladhands 178, 180 and locking connectors 176 at their distal ends that are coupled with mating ports on the trailer. The hoses and cables could be color-coded for easier identification, i.e., the electrical cable could be green, the emergency brake hose could be red, and the service brake hose could be blue.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include airbrakes with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Daugherty, for the benefit of providing a system to transmit operational power [c.2 ln.30].
Reiner US-5618084-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…selectively operate the ****[[brake]] system to influence **** vehicle **** according to a difference between the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed”;
(Reiner [c.2 ln.30] This problem has been solved in accordance with the present invention by means of a method in which a braking effect of the retarder brake as a function of an absolute value of a difference between a wheel speed value derived from wheel speeds of at least one wheel influenceable by the retarder brake and a wheel speed value derived from wheel speeds of at least one wheel independent from influence of the retarder brake, and reducing the braking effect when the absolute value of the difference between the wheel speeds exceeds a prescribed limit value which is lower than the absolute value of the difference between the wheel speeds when one of the wheels has a tendency toward locking.)
(Reiner [c.2 ln.30] In this new method, the braking force of the activated retarder brake is already reduced before one of the wheels which can be acted on by the retarder brake starts to tend to lock in that this reduction already takes place when the absolute value of the difference between inter-axle wheel speed values exceeds a prescribed limit value which is smaller than the absolute value of the difference between the inter-axle wheel speeds when one of the wheels starts to tend to lock. As a result of this earliest practical reduction in the braking effect of the retarder brake, there is, in contrast with conventional systems in which the retarder brake is only switched off with an ABS signal which indicates the tendency to lock, no risk of excessively late switching off of the retarder brake owing to the comparatively slow reduction in braking torque of the retarder brake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include selectively operating the brake system to influence vehicle according to a difference between the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Reiner, for the benefit of significantly reducing a risk of reaching a locking point.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hammonds US-20060037787-A1.
9. Ma US-20200238990-A1 lacks the system of claim 1, further comprising the trailer:
comprising a first landing gear:
comprising a first leg coupled to a floor of the trailer along a first side of a longitudinal axis of the trailer;
comprising a set of wheels pivotably coupled to the first leg and configured to engage a ground surface below the floor of the trailer; and
configured to support the trailer; and
comprising a wheel actuator arranged on the first landing gear and configured to transition the set of wheels from a retracted position to an advanced position.
Hammonds US-20060037787-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an omnidirectional mule hitch;
(Hammonds [0040]. In its lowest position, the fifth wheel plate 60 is sufficiently disposed below the standard 48 inch coupling height to mount a trailer 300 with a landing gear 30 which is not fully extended or which has partially sunk into the ground (FIG. 3). The fifth wheel plate 60 can be elevated by the articulating arms 62 to a sufficient height to allow movement of a trailer 300 with sufficient clearance between the ground and the fully-extended landing gear 30 and to allow the trailer mule driver 400 an unobstructed view underneath the trailer 300 (FIG. 5).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include a landing gear with a wheel configured to support a truck and move positions with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Hammonds, for the benefit of providing a means for coupling large components by actuating pieces into orientation.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Beeson US-6222443-B1.
11. Ma US-20200238990-A1 lacks the system of claim 1:
wherein the interface further comprises a wireless transmitter configured to broadcast an identifier;
further comprising, a wireless receiver arranged on the proximal end of the trailer and configured to receive the identifier; and
wherein the controller is further configured to, during an initial time period preceding the first time period:
access the identifier from the interface via the wireless receiver; and
in response to verifying receipt of the identifier, enter a tow mode.
Beeson US-6222443-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for trailer hitch receiver coupling;
(Beeson [claim12] A system for transferring operational signals between a tow vehicle and a trailer, said tow vehicle having a primary controller coupled to a wireless transmitter disposed within one of a hitch or hitch receiver coupling connected to said tow vehicle, said controller preparing said operational signals and providing said signals to said transmitter for transmission to said trailer, said system comprising: a wireless receiver, said receiver disposed within one of a hitch or hitch receiver coupling connected to said trailer and receiving said operational signals from said transmitter;a secondary controller operatively coupled to said receiver, andwherein said receiver provides said received operational signals to said secondary controller.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include a wireless coupling system with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Beeson, for the benefit of enabling a system to recognize completion of hitching operations, ensuring integrity before driving.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Pieronek US-20200282965-A1.
12. Ma US-20200238990-A1 lacks the system of claim 1:
further comprising an inertial sensor arranged proximal the kingpin and configured to output an initial signal representing accelerations of the trailer at the kingpin; and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
during an initial time period:
pulse a primary motor to rotate a left driven wheel and a right driven wheel of the trailer by a rotation distance less than ten degrees of a full rotation;
access the initial signal representing an initial acceleration of the trailer at the kingpin from the inertial sensor;
interpret a distance between the kingpin and the drive system based on the initial signal; and
calculate a maximum wheel speed proportional to the distance; and
during the first time period:
calculate the target left wheel speed of the left driven wheel of the trailer less than the maximum wheel speed; and
calculate the target right wheel speed of the right driven wheel of the trailer less than the maximum wheel speed.
Pieronek US-20200282965-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a fault modulated trailer hitch;
(Pieronek [0043] FIG. 7 is a flow chart describing the calibration of wheel sensor (306, 307,308, 309) pulses so that a derived wheel speed (423) value matches the received vehicle speed (419) where calibration is either; manually initiated by user (711) via a user interface device or initiated automatically when a vehicle speed (423) value is consumed by brake actuator controller (102) within a braking message at the blue wire interface (109). The absolute difference between the wheel speed (423) and a vehicle speed (419) is calculated (701) and if difference exceeds a speed calibration threshold value (702) then calibration may be initiated. Additional calibration preconditions checked prior to calibration of the KPH Interval (418) table values include verifying: each brake output (125, 126, 127,128) is off (703); the actual tow vehicle speed (419) exceeds a minimum calibration speed threshold (704); and the wheel speed (423) of the fastest wheel minus the wheel speed (423) of the slowest wheel is less than a calibration tolerance value (705); then calibrate sensors (425) captures the received vehicle speed (419) value and wheel interval (421) values near the same point in time (706); averages said wheel interval values captured (707); divides the average wheel interval (421) value by said vehicle speed value to determine pulse time value, in clock ticks, per KPH (708) value and then; utilizes said pulse time value to populate the KPH Interval (418) table entries (709) with each calculated value, in clock ticks, for each vehicle speed value from 0 to 255 KPH. Once calibration is complete the captured wheel interval (421) values will result in the trailer speed (424) value matching, or nearly matching, a vehicle speed (419) value.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include a calibration with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Pieronek, for the benefit of ensuring captured wheel interval values will result in the trailer speed value matching, or nearly matching, a vehicle speed value [0043].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Presley US-3972543-A.
13. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 1:
wherein the set of sensors are configured to output signals representing vertical forces applied to the kingpin; and
wherein the controller is further configured to, during an initial time period preceding the first time period:
access a second signal from the set of sensors;
****
Presley US-3972543-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…detect a null vertical force applied to the kingpin based on the second signal; and activate a manual mode at the kingpin in response to detecting the null vertical force (i.e. no signal, not connected, no overriding input).”;
(Presley [claim.1] Apparatus for automatically eliminating a sway condition in a trailer vehicle towed by a tow vehicle …comprising a hitch connecting the trailer vehicle to the tow vehicle, sensing means on the hitch for providing signals corresponding to hitch lateral forces, and means connected to the sensing means and to the manual means for combining the hitch lateral force signals with the manual signals to increase the braking force on at least one wheel of the trailer vehicle for automatically eliminating a sway condition.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include a manual mode for connecting a hitch when no other signals are present with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Presley, for the benefit of allowing a system to recognize that a manual installation is being performed and that there are no signals from any other operation I/O.
Claim(s) 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1 and further in view of Bondaryk US-20190232992-A1 and Presley US-3972543-A.
16. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses A system for dynamic tow of a trailer comprising:
a kingpin:
arranged on a proximal end of the trailer;
comprising a first sensor configured to output a first signal representing a first lateral force applied to the kingpin;
comprising a second sensor configured to output a second signal representing a first longitudinal force applied to the kingpin;
comprising a third sensor configured to output a third signal representing a first vertical force applied to the kingpin; and
configured to couple with a hitch of a tow vehicle;
an interface comprising:
a joystick; and
****, into the kingpin; and
a controller configured to:
during an initial time period:
access the third signal from the third sensor;
****; and
during a first time period:
access the first signal from the first sensor and the second signal from the second sensor;
based on the first signal and the second signal, ****;
calculate a target left wheel speed of a left wheel of the trailer proportional to the first magnitude;
calculate a target right wheel speed of a right wheel of the trailer proportional to the first magnitude; and
serve the target left wheel speed and the target right wheel speed to a drive system arranged on a distal end of the trailer opposite the kingpin.
(i.e. sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination [0049]).
(Ma [0049] The trailer assist control system 810 uses the sensor signals received from the sensor(s) 660 to detect whether the towing vehicle 100 is dragging or pulling the trailer 102, and to detect that the towing vehicle 100 is not being pushed by the trailer 102. The trailer assist control system 810 may also use the sensor signals to determine when adjustments would help prevent the trailer 102 from jackknifing. In other words, the sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination. For example, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of propulsion force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to apply that amount of propulsion force to the rear trailer wheels 510. Similarly, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of braking force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 and/or the trailer brakes 520 to apply that amount of braking force to the rear trailer wheels 510. For example, to slow the articulated vehicle 122, the trailer assist control system 810 may instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to engage regenerative braking, which captures kinetic energy from the rear trailer wheels 510 slowing the articulated vehicle 122, uses the kinetic energy to generate electrical energy, and uses the electric energy to charge the power source 816.)
Bondaryk US-20190232992-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a kingpin interface configured to transiently couple to the kingpin and to transfer forces, applied to the joystick… calculate a first direction and a first magnitude of a first force applied to the kingpin via the joystick”;
(Bondaryk [0035] In some embodiments, the one or more handles 160 may have one or more user interface hardware components (not shown) integrated therein or coupled thereto, such as buttons, switches, joysticks, and/or the like that allow a user to navigate a user interface, to provide inputs for moving the hitch mounted robot system 100 (e.g., to automatically or semi-automatically drive the hitch mounted robot system 100), to lock one or more portions of the hitch mounted robot system 100, to provide commands that allow the hitch mounted robot system 100 to autonomously move, and/or the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include transferring torque to a shank or hitch using a joystick with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Bondaryk, for the benefit of providing commands that allow the hitch mounted robot system 100 to autonomously move, and/or the like.
Presley US-3972543-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…detect a null vertical force applied to the kingpin based on the second signal; and activate a manual mode at the kingpin in response to detecting the null vertical force (i.e. no signal, not connected, no overriding input).”;
(Presley [claim.1] Apparatus for automatically eliminating a sway condition in a trailer vehicle towed by a tow vehicle …comprising a hitch connecting the trailer vehicle to the tow vehicle, sensing means on the hitch for providing signals corresponding to hitch lateral forces, and means connected to the sensing means and to the manual means for combining the hitch lateral force signals with the manual signals to increase the braking force on at least one wheel of the trailer vehicle for automatically eliminating a sway condition.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include a manual mode for connecting a hitch when no other signals are present with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Presley, for the benefit of allowing a system to recognize that a manual installation is being performed and that there are no signals from any other operation I/O.
19. The disclosure of claim 19 is similar in scope to those disclosed in re claim 16 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
20. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the controller is further configured to:
based on the signal, calculate a first direction of the first force applied to the kingpin; and
calculate the second target speed of the second wheel of the trailer proportional to the first magnitude, the second target speed differing from the first target speed based on the first direction.
(i.e. sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination [0049]).
(Ma [0037, 0040] The sensor(s) 660 are linked to the trailer 102 by the top plate 642 (see FIGS. 6B and 6C) and the magnet(s) 664 are linked to the kingpin 610 and the skid plate 620 (see FIGS. 5 and 6A-6C) by the base plate 636 (see FIGS. 6A-6C). The sensor(s) 660 may be arranged as an array or in a grid pattern. For example, the second sensor plate 646 may be lattice or grid shaped and configured to position the sensor(s) 660 (see FIGS. 6C and 6D) in a grid pattern. The sensor(s) 660 illustrated include the one or more front sensors 701, the one or more rear sensors 702, the one or more first side sensors 703, and the one or more second side sensors 704. The front and rear sensors 701 and 702 may be positioned to sense along first and second directions (illustrated by arrows 706 and 707, respectively) and the first and second side sensors 703 and 704 may be positioned to sense along third and fourth directions (illustrated by arrows 708 and 709, respectively). The first direction may be opposite the second direction and the third direction may be opposite the fourth direction...
Ma [0040] The springs 721-724 compress when force is applied to them as the first sensor plate 634 slides with respect to the second sensor plate 646. For example, the magnet(s) 711 move(s) closer to the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are compressed and farther away from the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are no longer compressed. Thus, the magnet(s) 711 move(s) in the first direction closer to the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are compressed and move(s) in the second direction farther away from the front sensor(s) 701 when the spring(s) 721 is/are no longer compressed. The front sensor(s) 701 detect(s) a first strength (or magnitude) of a first magnet field that depends on a first distance between the front sensor(s) 701 and the magnet(s) 711. Optionally, the front sensor(s) 701 may determine the first distance.)
(Ma [0049] The trailer assist control system 810 uses the sensor signals received from the sensor(s) 660 to detect whether the towing vehicle 100 is dragging or pulling the trailer 102, and to detect that the towing vehicle 100 is not being pushed by the trailer 102. The trailer assist control system 810 may also use the sensor signals to determine when adjustments would help prevent the trailer 102 from jackknifing. In other words, the sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination. For example, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of propulsion force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to apply that amount of propulsion force to the rear trailer wheels 510. Similarly, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of braking force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 and/or the trailer brakes 520 to apply that amount of braking force to the rear trailer wheels 510. For example, to slow the articulated vehicle 122, the trailer assist control system 810 may instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to engage regenerative braking, which captures kinetic energy from the rear trailer wheels 510 slowing the articulated vehicle 122, uses the kinetic energy to generate electrical energy, and uses the electric energy to charge the power source 816.)
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma US-20200238990-A1, Bondaryk US-20190232992-A1, and Presley US-3972543-A, as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Tandy US-20070260385-A1.
17. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to, during a second time period:
access a fourth signal from the third sensor;
based on the fourth signal, interpret a first vertical force applied to the kingpin; and
based on the first vertical force:
(Ma [0037] The front and rear sensors 701 and 702 may be positioned to sense along first and second directions (illustrated by arrows 706 and 707, respectively) and the first and second side sensors 703 and 704 may be positioned to sense along third and fourth directions (illustrated by arrows 708 and 709, respectively). The first direction may be opposite the second direction and the third direction may be opposite the fourth direction. The first and second directions may be orthogonal to the third and fourth directions. For example, the first direction may be toward the towing vehicle 100 (see FIGS. 1-4 and 8) and the second direction may be away from the towing vehicle 100. The third direction may be toward a passenger side of the towing vehicle 100 (see FIGS. 1-4 and 8) and the fourth direction may be toward a driver side of the towing vehicle 100. By way of a non-limiting example, the sensors 701-704 may be implemented as four Hall Effect sensors. Such Hall Effect sensors may be configured to last millions of cycles and provide both longevity and repeatability.)
identify a coupling event at the kingpin with the hitch of the tow vehicle;
****.
Tandy US-20070260385-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for tow and trailer assembly combination;
(Tandy [0037] The tow-vehicle and trailer can include sensors for communicating with a tow-vehicle processor to detect and identify the existence of a trailer. The tow-vehicle computer can identify the existence of the trailer by plugging the lighting system of the trailer into the lighting system of the tow-vehicle, which is connected to the processor in the on-board computer of the tow-vehicle. The lighting system of the trailer includes a wiring harness with a plug that, when connected to the wiring harness of the tow-vehicle, provides a resistance that can be detected, when the connection is completed. Other integrated circuit systems and combinations of different types of integrated circuit systems, such as electrical and battery, can be used for identifying the trailer.
(Tandy [0068] For example, tow-vehicle sensors (100, 165, and 170) and trailer sensors (103) can identify the existence of the trailer when a connection is completed between the electrical circuit of the trailer, which is shown in FIG. 1 as a lighting system, and the electrical circuit of the tow-vehicle. The lighting system of the tow-vehicle (101) is depicted for connection to the electrical system of the trailer, in FIG. 1. The lighting system of the trailer can include: a left front lighting circuit (105), a right front lighting circuit (110), a left rear lighting circuit (115), and a right rear lighting circuit (120). The lighting system of the tow-vehicle can include a left front lighting circuit (125), a right front lighting circuit (130), a left rear lighting circuit (135), and a right rear lighting circuit (140). The plurality of sensors located on the tow-vehicle and trailer can include a device for detecting a completed electrical circuit, such as a voltmeter to measure voltage or an ohm meter to detect resistance. Other integrated circuit systems and combinations of voltmeters or ohm meters can be used.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ma to include detecting a tow hitch has been connected with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tandy, for the benefit of connecting electrical components together between trailer and hitch.
18. Ma US-20200238990-A1 discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the controller is further configured to, during the second time period:
access a fourth signal from the first sensor and a fifth signal from the second sensor;
detect a first speed of the trailer;
detect a direction of motion of the trailer;
detect a first lateral force based on the fourth signal;
detect a first longitudinal force based on the fifth signal;
calculate a tractor-trailer angle based on the first longitudinal force and the first lateral force;
calculate a total applied force based on the first longitudinal force and the first lateral force;
calculate a first target preload force opposite the direction of motion of the trailer and proportional to the tractor-trailer angle; and
in response to the first speed of the trailer exceeding a first threshold speed, and in response to the total applied force falling below the target preload force, trigger the bogie to reduce torque output in the direction of motion of the trailer to decrease a first difference between the actual force and the target preload force.
(i.e. sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination [0049]).
(Ma [0049] The trailer assist control system 810 uses the sensor signals received from the sensor(s) 660 to detect whether the towing vehicle 100 is dragging or pulling the trailer 102, and to detect that the towing vehicle 100 is not being pushed by the trailer 102. The trailer assist control system 810 may also use the sensor signals to determine when adjustments would help prevent the trailer 102 from jackknifing. In other words, the sensor(s) 660 provide(s) information to the trailer assist control system 810 necessary for the trailer assist control system 810 to generate and/or maintain a suitable push-pull combination. For example, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of propulsion force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to apply that amount of propulsion force to the rear trailer wheels 510. Similarly, the trailer assist control system 810 may use the sensor signals to determine an amount of braking force needed and instruct the drive motor(s) 814 and/or the trailer brakes 520 to apply that amount of braking force to the rear trailer wheels 510. For example, to slow the articulated vehicle 122, the trailer assist control system 810 may instruct the drive motor(s) 814 to engage regenerative braking, which captures kinetic energy from the rear trailer wheels 510 slowing the articulated vehicle 122, uses the kinetic energy to generate electrical energy, and uses the electric energy to charge the power source 816.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The problem to be solved by the present invention may be regarded as how to improve trailer and hitch stability by limiting operations of a vehicle such that predetermined operational thresholds (i.e. speeds, directional force magnitudes) are maintained, ensuring the vehicle system is adapted to safely and efficiently maintain a towing relationship which a kingpin/trailer/hitch.
The closest available prior art at hand;
Carroll (US-10427732-B1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [claim.12] A method for signaling risk of jack knife, said method comprising the steps of: measuring, with force sensors, force on opposite sides of a trailing vehicle, that is trailing a leading vehicle; measuring aim angle at which tires on said leading vehicle, that steer said leading vehicle, are turned; measuring at least one of: a) angle difference between the leading vehicle and the trailing vehicle based on output from a plurality of position sensors; and b) centerline angle between a leading centerline of the leading vehicle and a trailing centerline of the trailing vehicle; and signaling jack knife risk based on force measured by one of said force sensors, said wheel direction sensor, and at least one of said angle difference and said centerline angle.”
Miller (US-10589728-B2) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [claim.4] The system of claim 1, further comprising a steer angle sensor configured to generate a steering signal indicative of an angle of rotation of a steering wheel of the tractor-trailer and wherein the controller is configured to estimate the lateral force acting on the wheel responsive to the steering signal.”
Goodarzi (US-20230286507-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0017] The method includes: receiving trailer profile information, the trailer profile information comprising a vehicle wheelbase distance (L), a vehicle's rear axle to hitch point distance (d), and a trailer rear axle distance (D); receiving a dynamic vehicle steering angle (δ) and dynamic hitch articulation angle (θ) while the vehicle is moving in a reverse direction; continuously calculating a maximum safe vehicle speed (v.sub.max) at which to proceed in reverse without jackknifing based on the trailer profile information, the vehicle steering angle (δ), the hitch articulation angle (θ), a predetermined safe time to jackknife (TTJ_ne), and a maximum hitch articulation angle (θ.sub.JK), wherein the safe time to jackknife (TTJ_ne) is a fixed calibratable time value that specifies a safety margin in time before a jackknife condition would be predicted to occur; comparing a current vehicle longitudinal speed (v) to the maximum safe vehicle speed (v.sub.max); automatically generating a speed correction signal to cause the vehicle to slow down below the maximum safe vehicle speed (v.sub.max) when the current vehicle longitudinal speed (v) exceeds the maximum safe vehicle speed (v.sub.max); and sending the speed correction signal to a vehicle motion control system to instruct the vehicle motion control system to reduce the current vehicle longitudinal speed (v) below the maximum safe vehicle speed (v.sub.max), wherein the vehicle motion control system controls appropriate vehicle actuators to reduce the current vehicle longitudinal speed (v).”;
A solution to the problem detailed above as proposed in claim(s) 14-15 of the present application is neither distinctly disclosed in, nor render obvious by, the available prior art at hand, and appears therefore to involve an inventive step.
As such, it should be noted that while the combination of references discloses aspects of the claimed limitations, the disclosure fails to fully capture the structure and interplay of the elements as recited in the claims. Therefore, upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious all the features of applicant’s invention as the features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art. As such, it is this examiner’s opinion that there lacks a sufficient nexus between the prior art and the instant application.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Schutt (US-20190225286-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0049] Various embodiments of the kingpin assembly as previously described herein include varied sensor arrangements, wherein some of the sensor arrangements may need to be calibrated or aligned to a zero position where the kingpin is prevented from rotating with respect to the fifth wheel hitch plate so that the sensors may adequately sense and monitor the true rotation of the kingpin relative to the associated housing, thereby allowing calculation of the forces exerted on the kingpin. ”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663