DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amended claims 1, 16, and 23. Claims 1-14, 16-21, and 23-24 are currently pending.
The amendment to the claims filed on 09/03/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because claim 23 has the status indicator (Previously Presented) despite being amended. In the interest of compact prosecution, the claims were examined as though claim 23 had the correct status indicator of (Currently amended).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 09/03/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-9, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20-21, and 23-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley, of claims 4 and 17 in further view of Latthe, and of claims 10-11, 13, and 19 in further view of Wochele have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley does not disclose or suggest a cap sized and shaped, in a closed position, to abut the head surface and form a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap in a closed position. Applicant argues that while Nagao describes a cap (Fig. 11B, feat. 20; ¶0054), the cap includes a liner (21) which contacts a side surface (12A) of the nozzle (10A), instead of a portion protruding from the roughened surface corresponding to the claimed hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface. However, as discussed below, Nagao teaches an embodiment (Figs. 13A-B, feat. 20) in which the liner (21) of the cap (20) contacts a both a side surface (12B) and a portion (11B) protruding from the roughened surface corresponding to the claimed hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 2b, feat. 12Ba; Annotated Fig. 1, feat. C) in order to protect the nozzle from the environment while preventing contact between the cap and the roughened surface which could deteriorate the hydrophobicity of the hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (¶0207 and 0214-0215). Therefore, in combination with the teachings of Hanley with respect to the claimed head surface, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests a cap sized and shaped, in a closed position, to abut the head surface and form a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao et al. (US 2018/0042766 A1) in view of Dascanio et al. (US 7,435,241 B1) and in further view of Hanley (US 2004/0111070 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagao discloses an ophthalmic fluid delivery device (Figs. 2a-2b, feat. 2; ¶0050-0055 and 0088-0093), comprising: a nozzle wall (Figs. 2a-2b, feat. 10B; Figs. 5a-6b; ¶0115-0142; Annotated fig. 1, feat. A) having opposing interior (Annotated fig. 1, feat. B) and exterior (Annotated fig. 1, feat. C; Fig. 2b, feat. 12Ba) nozzle surfaces, the interior nozzle surface being spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a first direction (Annotated fig. 1, feats. B and C), the exterior nozzle surface configured to be directed toward the eye of the user during use of the fluid delivery device (¶0093: liquid is dripped from the exterior side 11Ba of opening 11B, which is on the same side of the nozzle wall as exterior surface 12Ba, and therefore, to deliver drops to the eye, the exterior nozzle surface 12Ba is directed toward the eye) at least one opening (Annotated fig. 1, feat. D; Fig. 2b, feat. 11B) through which fluid is configured to be selectively delivered to the eye of the user during use of the ophthalmic fluid delivery device (¶0093: 11B constitutes a nozzle opening through which a liquid stored in container 2 can pass and is dripped), the at least one opening being defined by an inner opening surface and extending through the nozzle wall from the interior nozzle surface to the exterior nozzle surface (Annotated fig. 1, feat. E), and a cap sized and shaped, in a closed position to form a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap (Figs. 13a-b, feats. 20, 21; ¶0207 and 0214-0215). Nagao further discloses that the exterior nozzle surface (Annotated fig. 1, feat. C; Fig. 2b, feat. 12Ba) has been treated with both surface roughening and fluorination in order to give it a higher liquid repellency, and therefore hydrophobicity, than the other parts of the nozzle, including the inner opening surface (Annotated Fig. 1, feat. E; ¶0099, 0104-0106, and 0161-0177).
Nagao doesn’t explicitly disclose that the exterior nozzle surface is configured to be at least hydrophobic or that at least a portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic. However, Nagao discloses that the exterior nozzle surface (Annotated fig. 1, feat. C; Fig. 2b, feat. 12Ba) has a low surface energy, resulting in high water repellency and a contact angle of greater than or equal to 90° (¶0099-0103 and 0109). A surface that provides a droplet contact angle greater than 90° is considered a hydrophobic surface, as supported by the evidence in Latthe 2014 (§2: Wetting Properties of a Solid Surface, paragraph 1). Similarly, Nagao discloses that at least the exterior-most portion (Fig. 2b, feat. 11Ba) of the inner opening surface (Annotated fig. 1, feat. E) has a high surface energy, resulting in low water repellency and a contact angle less than 90° (¶0099-0103 and 0109). A surface that provides a droplet contact angle less than 90° is considered a hydrophilic surface, as supported by the evidence in Latthe 2014 (§2: Wetting Properties of a Solid Surface, paragraph 1). Therefore, Nagao inherently discloses that the exterior nozzle surface is configured to be at least hydrophobic and at least a portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic. Please see MPEP §2112.
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 1: Adapted from figure 2b of Nagao. A is the nozzle wall. B is the interior surface. C is the exterior surface. D is the opening. E is the inner opening surface extending from the interior surface to the exterior surface.)]Nagao does not disclose that the inner opening surface includes a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion, the hydrophobic portion being between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface, the hydrophobic portion being less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface, a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction, or that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap.
Dascanio teaches an ophthalmic delivery device (Figs. 4-4d, feats. 40 and 40’; Col. 3, line 33 – Col. 4, line 61) comprising a nozzle (Figs. 4-6b, feat. 44; Col. 4, lines 1-27) comprising a nozzle wall (Annotated fig. 2, feat. A’), interior surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. B’), exterior surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. C’), opening (Annotated fig. 2, feat. D’), and inner opening surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. E’). The nozzle has a hydrophilic portion (Figs. 6a-b and Annotated fig. 2, feat. 44a) and a hydrophobic portion (44b) such that a portion of the exterior nozzle surface (C’) is hydrophobic (44b; Col. 4, lines 1-27), in a similar manner to the nozzle of Nagao. The hydrophobic portion (Annotated fig. 2, feat. 44b) includes both the hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (C’) and a portion that protrudes into the inner opening surface (E’) such that the interaction between the hydrophilic portion (44a) and the hydrophobic portion (44b) inside the inner opening surface helps to trap fluid in the nozzle and prevent it from leaking (Col. 4, lines 1-15). Because Nagao teaches that the exterior nozzle surface has both a surface roughening treatment and a fluorination treatment to render it more hydrophobic than the rest of the nozzle (Nagao: ¶0099, 0104-0106, and 0161-0177), modifying the nozzle of Nagao to have a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion such that the hydrophobic portion is between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface would yield a nozzle in which the hydrophobic portion of the inner opening surface is less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Nagao so that the inner opening surface includes a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion, the hydrophobic portion being between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface, the hydrophobic portion being less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface in order to help trap fluid in the nozzle and prevent it
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 2: Adapted from figs. 6a and 6b of Dascanio. A’ is the nozzle wall, B’ is the interior surface, C’ is the exterior surface, D’ is the opening, and E’ is the inner opening surface extending from the interior surface to the exterior surface.)]from leaking as taught by Dascanio.
Nagao in view of Dascanio does not suggest a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction or that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap
Hanley teaches an ophthalmic fluid delivery device (Figs. 2A-4, feat. 110; ¶0031-0039) comprising a nozzle (114; ¶0031) with an opening defined by an inner opening surface (122) extending from inside the device to an exterior presentation surface (120). An indicia (144) comprising a raised annulus extends from the exterior presentation surface (120; ¶0039) in a direction opposite from the interior of the device and is spaced from and surrounds the opening (122). Because the indicia comprises a raised annulus, it defines a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface. Hanley teaches that the indicia advantageously indicates to a user the proper size of a droplet on the exterior presentation surface (¶0039). Hanley further teaches that the ophthalmic fluid delivery device may further include a flip-type lid (Figs. 2A-B, feat. 142) for protecting the exterior drop presentation surface (120; ¶0039) and opening (122) surrounded by the indicia (144). Hanley teaches that the drop presentation surface may be hydrophobic (¶0021) in a similar manner to the exterior nozzle surface disclosed by Nagao. Nagao teaches that a cap (Nagao: Figs. 13a-b, feats. 20, 21) may abut a protrusion (Nagao: 11B) protruding from the hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (Nagao: 12Ba), thereby forming a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap, in order to protect the nozzle from the environment while preventing contact between the cap and hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface which could deteriorate the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface (¶0207 and 0214-0215). Because the indicia (Hanley: Figs. 2A-B, feat. 144) protrudes from exterior drop presentation surface (Hanely: 120), the cap (Hanley: 142) abutting the indicia would form a moisture chamber and would protect the exterior drop presentation surface from the environment without deteriorating the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Nagao. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio so that it comprises a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction in order to indicate to the user the proper size of a droplet on the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Hanley and so that that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap in order to protect the exterior drop presentation surface from the environment without deteriorating the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Nagao.
Regarding claim 2, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 1, and Nagao further discloses that the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 2b, feat. 12Ba; Annotated fig. 1, feat. C) is configured to be at least hydrophobic via at least one of a micropattern or nano-sized features on the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0157-0159, 0178-0180, and 0186: hydrophobicity may be achieved by roughing the surface in a micropattern and chemical modification with fluorine).
Regarding claim 3, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 2, and Nagao further discloses that the micropattern on the exterior nozzle surface is defined by a plurality of micro-sized protrusions (Fig. 7; ¶0178-0180).
Regarding claim 5, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 1. Nagao further discloses that fluorine containing resins such as polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) may be used (¶0144). While Nagao discloses some disadvantages to the use of fluorine containing resins, this is merely a disclosure of a nonpreferred embodiment, which still constitutes relevant prior art. Please see MPEP §2123. Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley further suggests that the exterior nozzle surface is configured to be at least hydrophobic via forming the exterior nozzle surface form a material that is at least hydrophobic.
Regarding claim 6, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 1, and Nagao further discloses that the exterior nozzle surface is configured to be at least hydrophobic via a hydrophobic or superhydrophobic coating on the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0151-0159: the base polymer resin is chemically treated with a fluorine plasma to form an exterior coating of fluorinated polymer resin).
Regarding claim 7, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 6, and Nagao further discloses that the coating is covalently bonded to the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0158-0159).
Regarding claim 8, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 6, and Nagao further discloses that the coating may be composed of at least one of non-polar polymers, fluorinated polymers, and silicone materials (¶0158-0159: the coating comprises fluorinated polymers).
Regarding claim 9, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley discloses the device of claim 1, and Nagao further discloses that the untreated plastic resin forming the nozzle, including the interior nozzle surface, exhibits a contact angle less than 90° (¶0103), and is therefore hydrophilic. Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley further suggests that the interior nozzle surface is configured to be hydrophilic.
Regarding claim 12, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 1, and Nagao further discloses that that the untreated plastic resin forming the nozzle exhibits a contact angle less than 90°, and is therefore hydrophilic, and that the inner opening surface (Fig. 2b, feat. 11Ba; Annotated fig. 1, feat. E) remains untreated to maintain its low liquid repellency (¶0101-0103). Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley further suggests that the hydrophilic portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic via forming the hydrophilic portion of the inner opening surface from a hydrophilic material.
Regarding claim 14, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 1. Hanley further teaches that the inner opening surface (Figs. 2A-4, feat. 122; ¶0031) is a capillary tube that allows for non-gravitational presentation of a droplet of ophthalmic fluid (Fig. 2B, feat. 126; Abstract; ¶0001, 0005-0007, and 0033). The ophthalmic fluids delivered by the device may be any type of liquid, including aqueous liquids (¶0017). Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley further suggests that the ophthalmic fluid delivery device is a non-gravitational ophthalmic delivery device for delivering fluids having aqueous-based formulations.
Regarding claim 16, Nagao discloses an ophthalmic fluid delivery device (Figs. 2a-2b, feat. 2; ¶0050-0055 and 0088-0093), comprising: a nozzle wall (Figs. 2a-2b, feat. 10B; Figs. 5a-6b; ¶0115-0142; Annotated fig. 1, feat. A) having opposing interior (Annotated fig. 1, feat. B) and exterior (Annotated fig. 1, feat. C; Fig. 2b, feat. 12Ba) nozzle surfaces, the interior nozzle surface being spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a first direction (Annotated fig. 1, feats. B and C), the exterior nozzle surface configured to be directed toward the eye of the user during use of the fluid delivery device (¶0093: liquid is dripped from the exterior side 11Ba of opening 11B, which is on the same side of the nozzle wall as exterior surface 12Ba, and therefore, to deliver drops to the eye, the exterior nozzle surface 12Ba is directed toward the eye) at least one opening (Annotated fig. 1, feat. D; Fig. 2b, feat. 11B) through which fluid is configured to be selectively delivered to the eye of the user during use of the ophthalmic fluid delivery device (¶0093: 11B constitutes a nozzle opening through which a liquid stored in container 2 can pass and is dripped), the at least one opening being defined by an inner opening surface and extending through the nozzle wall from the interior nozzle surface to the exterior nozzle surface (Annotated fig. 1, feat. E), and a cap sized and shaped, in a closed position to form a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap (Figs. 13a-b, feats. 20, 21; ¶0207 and 0214-0215); wherein the exterior nozzle surface is at least hydrophobic (Please see the discussion in paragraph 10 above) via at least one of a micropattern on the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0157-0159, 0178-0180, and 0186: hydrophobicity may be achieved by roughing the surface in a micropattern and chemical modification with fluorine); a hydrophobic or superhydrophobic coating on the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0151-0159: the base polymer resin is treated with a fluorine plasma to form an exterior coating of fluorinated polymer resin); a material forming the exterior nozzle surface being naturally hydrophobic or superhydrophobic; a chemical modification of the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0151-0159: the base polymer resin is chemically treated with a fluorine plasma to form an exterior coating of fluorinated polymer resin); and nanometer-sized features on the exterior nozzle surface; and wherein at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface is opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic (Please see the discussion in paragraph 10 above) via at least one of a hydrophilic coating on at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface; a material forming at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface being naturally hydrophilic (¶0101-0103: the untreated plastic resin forming the nozzle exhibits a contact angle less than 90°, and is therefore hydrophilic); and a chemical modification of the exterior nozzle surface. Nagao further discloses that the exterior nozzle surface (Annotated fig. 1, feat. C; Fig. 2b, feat. 12Ba) has been treated with both surface roughening and fluorination in order to give it a higher liquid repellency, and therefore hydrophobicity, than the other parts of the nozzle, including the inner opening surface (Annotated Fig. 1, feat. E; ¶0099, 0104-0106, and 0161-0177).
Nagao does not disclose that the inner opening surface includes a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion, the hydrophobic portion being between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface, the hydrophobic portion being less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface, a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction, or that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap
Dascanio teaches an ophthalmic delivery device (Figs. 4-4d, feats. 40 and 40’; Col. 3, line 33 – Col. 4, line 61) comprising a nozzle (Figs. 4-6b, feat. 44; Col. 4, lines 1-27) comprising a nozzle wall (Annotated fig. 2, feat. A’), interior surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. B’), exterior surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. C’), opening (Annotated fig. 2, feat. D’), and inner opening surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. E’). The nozzle has a hydrophilic portion (Figs. 6a-b and Annotated fig. 2, feat. 44a) and a hydrophobic portion (44b) such that a portion of the exterior nozzle surface (C’) is hydrophobic (44b; Col. 4, lines 1-27), in a similar manner to the nozzle of Nagao. The hydrophobic portion (Annotated fig. 2, feat. 44b) includes both the hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (C’) and a portion that protrudes into the inner opening surface (E’) such that the interaction between the hydrophilic portion (44a) and the hydrophobic portion (44b) inside the inner opening surface helps to trap fluid in the nozzle and prevent it from leaking (Col. 4, lines 1-15). Because Nagao teaches that the exterior nozzle surface has both a surface roughening treatment and a fluorination treatment to render it more hydrophobic than the rest of the nozzle (Nagao: ¶0099, 0104-0106, and 0161-0177), modifying the nozzle of Nagao to have a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion such that the hydrophobic portion is between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface would yield a nozzle in which the hydrophobic portion of the inner opening surface is less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Nagao so that the inner opening surface includes a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion, the hydrophobic portion being between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface, the hydrophobic portion being less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface in order to help trap fluid in the nozzle and prevent it from leaking as taught by Dascanio.
Nagao in view of Dascanio does not suggest a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction or that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap
Hanley teaches an ophthalmic fluid delivery device (Figs. 2A-4, feat. 110; ¶0031-0039) comprising a nozzle (114; ¶0031) with an opening defined by an inner opening surface (122) extending from inside the device to an exterior presentation surface (120). An indicia (144) comprising a raised annulus extends from the exterior presentation surface (120; ¶0039) in a direction opposite from the interior of the device and is spaced from and surrounds the opening (122). Because the indicia comprises a raised annulus, it defines a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface. Hanley teaches that the indicia advantageously indicates to a user the proper size of a droplet on the exterior presentation surface (¶0039). Hanley further teaches that the ophthalmic fluid delivery device may further include a flip-type lid (Figs. 2A-B, feat. 142) for protecting the exterior drop presentation surface (120; ¶0039) and opening (122) surrounded by the indicia (144). Hanley teaches that the drop presentation surface may be hydrophobic (¶0021) in a similar manner to the exterior nozzle surface disclosed by Nagao. Nagao teaches that a cap (Nagao: Figs. 13a-b, feats. 20, 21) may abut a protrusion (Nagao: 11B) protruding from the hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (Nagao: 12Ba), thereby forming a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap, in order to protect the nozzle from the environment while preventing contact between the cap and hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface which could deteriorate the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface (¶0207 and 0214-0215). Because the indicia (Hanley: Figs. 2A-B, feat. 144) protrudes from exterior drop presentation surface (Hanely: 120), the cap (Hanley: 142) abutting the indicia would form a moisture chamber and would protect the exterior drop presentation surface from the environment without deteriorating the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Nagao. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device suggests by Nagao in view of Dascanio so that it comprises a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction in order to indicate to the user the proper size of a droplet on the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Hanley and so that that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap in order to protect the exterior drop presentation surface from the environment without deteriorating the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Nagao.
Regarding claim 18, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 16, and Nagao further discloses that the exterior nozzle surface is configured to be at least hydrophobic via a hydrophobic or superhydrophobic coating on the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0151-0159: the base polymer resin is chemically treated with a fluorine plasma to form an exterior coating of fluorinated polymer resin), the hydrophobic or superhydrophobic coating being covalently bonded to the exterior nozzle surface (Fig. 7; ¶0158-0159).
Regarding claim 20, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 16. As discussed above, Nagao discloses that the untreated plastic resin forming the nozzle, including the interior nozzle surface, exhibits a contact angle less than 90° (¶0103), and is therefore hydrophilic. Nagao further discloses that the inner opening surface (Fig. 2b, feat. 11Ba; Annotated fig. 1, feat. E) remains untreated to maintain its low liquid repellency (¶0101-0103). Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley further suggests that each of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface are configured to be hydrophilic.
Regarding claim 21, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 16. Hanley further teaches that the inner opening surface (Figs. 2A-4, feat. 122; ¶0031) is a capillary tube that allows for non-gravitational presentation of a droplet of ophthalmic fluid (Fig. 2B, feat. 126; Abstract; ¶0001, 0005-0007, and 0033). The ophthalmic fluids delivered by the device may be any type of liquid, including aqueous liquids (¶0017). Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley further suggests that the ophthalmic fluid delivery device is a non-gravitational ophthalmic delivery device for delivering fluids having aqueous-based formulations.
Regarding claim 23, Nagao discloses a method (¶0014-0017: instillation of eye drops) comprising: accommodating a fluid in a holding chamber of a cartridge (Figs. 2a-2b, feat. 2; ¶0048-0055), wherein the cartridge comprises a nozzle having at least one opening (Figs. 2a-2b, feat. 10B; Figs. 5a-6b; ¶0115-0142; Annotated Fig. 1, feat. A), wherein the at least one opening is defined by an inner opening surface (Annotated Fig. 1, feat. E) and extends through a nozzle wall from an interior nozzle surface (Annotated Fig. 1, feat. B) to an exterior nozzle surface (Annotated Fig. 1, feat. C; Fig. 2B, feat. 12Ba), wherein at least a portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic (Please see Paragraph 10 above), wherein the interior nozzle surface opposes the exterior nozzle surface, the interior nozzle surface being spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a first direction (Annotated Fig. 1, feats. B and C), the exterior nozzle surface being configured to be at least hydrophobic (Please see Paragraph 10 above), wherein the cartridge further comprises a cap sized and shaped, in a closed position to form a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap (Figs. 13a-b, feats. 20, 21; ¶0207 and 0214-0215); directing the at least one opening toward an eye of a user (¶0093: liquid is dripped from the exterior side 11Ba of opening 11B, which is on the same side of the nozzle wall as exterior surface 12Ba, and therefore, to deliver drops to the eye, the exterior nozzle surface 12Ba is directed toward the eye); and selectively delivering the fluid through the at least one opening to the eye of the user (¶0014-0017 and 0093).
Nagao does not disclose that the cartridge comprises a flexible membrane, that the holding chamber is positioned between the nozzle and the flexible membrane, that the inner opening surface includes a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion, the hydrophobic portion being between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface, the hydrophobic portion being less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface, that the cartridge further comprises a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction, that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap, or actuating an actuator to depress the flexible membrane into the holding chamber thereby causing at least a portion of the fluid to be ejected from the holding chamber through the at least one opening.
Dascanio teaches an ophthalmic delivery device (Figs. 4-4d, feats. 40 and 40’; Col. 3, line 33 – Col. 4, line 61) comprising a nozzle (Figs. 4-6b, feat. 44; Col. 4, lines 1-27) comprising a nozzle wall (Annotated fig. 2, feat. A’), interior surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. B’), exterior surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. C’), opening (Annotated fig. 2, feat. D’), and inner opening surface (Annotated fig. 2, feat. E’). The nozzle has a hydrophilic portion (Figs. 6a-b and Annotated fig. 2, feat. 44a) and a hydrophobic portion (44b) such that a portion of the exterior nozzle surface (C’) is hydrophobic (44b; Col. 4, lines 1-27), in a similar manner to the nozzle of Nagao. The hydrophobic portion (Annotated fig. 2, feat. 44b) includes both the hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (C’) and a portion that protrudes into the inner opening surface (E’) such that the interaction between the hydrophilic portion (44a) and the hydrophobic portion (44b) inside the inner opening surface helps to trap fluid in the nozzle and prevent it from leaking (Col. 4, lines 1-15). Because Nagao teaches that the exterior nozzle surface has both a surface roughening treatment and a fluorination treatment to render it more hydrophobic than the rest of the nozzle (Nagao: ¶0099, 0104-0106, and 0161-0177), modifying the nozzle of Nagao to have a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion such that the hydrophobic portion is between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface would yield a nozzle in which the hydrophobic portion of the inner opening surface is less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Nagao so that the inner opening surface includes a hydrophobic portion and a hydrophilic portion, the hydrophobic portion being between the hydrophilic portion and the exterior nozzle surface, the hydrophobic portion being less hydrophobic than the exterior nozzle surface in order to help trap fluid in the nozzle and prevent it from leaking as taught by Dascanio.
Nagao in view of Dascanio does not suggest the cartridge comprises a flexible membrane, that the holding chamber is positioned between the nozzle and the flexible membrane, that the cartridge further comprises a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction, that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap, or actuating an actuator to depress the flexible membrane into the holding chamber thereby causing at least a portion of the fluid to be ejected from the holding chamber through the at least one opening.
Hanley teaches an ophthalmic fluid delivery device (Figs. 2A-4, feat. 110; ¶0031-0039) comprising a nozzle (114; ¶0031) with an opening defined by an inner opening surface (122) extending from inside the device to an exterior presentation surface (120). An indicia (144) comprising a raised annulus extends from the exterior presentation surface (120; ¶0039) in a direction opposite from the interior of the device and is spaced from and surrounds the opening (122). Because the indicia comprises a raised annulus, it defines a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface. Hanley teaches that the indicia advantageously indicates to a user the proper size of a droplet on the exterior presentation surface (¶0039). Hanley further teaches that the ophthalmic fluid delivery device may further include a flip-type lid (Figs. 2A-B, feat. 142) for protecting the exterior drop presentation surface (120; ¶0039) and opening (122) surrounded by the indicia (144). Hanley teaches that the drop presentation surface may be hydrophobic (¶0021) in a similar manner to the exterior nozzle surface disclosed by Nagao. Nagao teaches that a cap (Nagao: Figs. 13a-b, feats. 20, 21) may abut a protrusion (Nagao: 11B) protruding from the hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface (Nagao: 12Ba), thereby forming a moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap, in order to protect the nozzle from the environment while preventing contact between the cap and hydrophobic exterior nozzle surface which could deteriorate the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface (¶0207 and 0214-0215). Because the indicia (Hanley: Figs. 2A-B, feat. 144) protrudes from exterior drop presentation surface (Hanely: 120), the cap (Hanley: 142) abutting the indicia would form a moisture chamber and would protect the exterior drop presentation surface from the environment without deteriorating the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Nagao. The device further comprises a squeezable container (Figs. 2A-3, feat. 112; ¶0031-0039) comprising a fluid holding chamber (116) inside of a cavity (118) defined by a flexible membrane sidewall (132) which surrounds the sides and bottom of the fluid holding chamber (116). The fluid holding chamber is further connected to the nozzle (114) such that the fluid holding chamber (116) is between the nozzle at the top of the device and the bottom of the membrane at the bottom of the device (132). To dispense eye drop fluid, the flexible membrane sidewall (Fig. 2B, feat. 132) is depressed by actuators, such as the user’s fingers, (134), which ejects fluid from the opening in the nozzle (126; ¶0032-0033). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio so that the cartridge comprises a flexible membrane, so that the holding chamber is positioned between the nozzle and the flexible membrane, so that the cartridge further comprises a head surface spaced from the exterior nozzle surface in a second direction and spaced from the at least one opening, the second direction opposing the first direction, and so that it includes actuating an actuator to depress the flexible membrane into the holding chamber thereby causing at least a portion of the fluid to be ejected from the holding chamber through the at least one opening in order to indicate to the user the proper size of a droplet on the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Hanley and so that that the cap abuts the head surface to form the moisture chamber between the exterior nozzle surface and the cap in order to protect the exterior drop presentation surface from the environment without deteriorating the hydrophobicity of the exterior nozzle surface as taught by Nagao.
Regarding claim 24, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the method of claim 23. Hanley further teaches that the device used in the method may have metering protrusions (Figs. 2A-B, feat. 124) in order to ensure that the membrane is actuated with the right amount of force and travel in order to ensure that a droplet is dispensed from the nozzle at the correct volume, thereby overcoming the resistance posed by the nozzle (¶0032-0035). In the device suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley, a portion of this resistance is due to the hydrophobic portion of the interior surface of the nozzle. Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley further suggests that the step of actuating further comprises: actuating the actuator with sufficient force to overcome a hydrophobic resistance of the hydrophobic portion of the nozzle allowing at least a portion of the fluid to be ejected from the holding chamber through the at least one opening in order to dispense a metered volume of medication in the droplet as taught by Hanley.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao in view of Dascanio, in further view of Hanley, and in further view of Latthe et al. (“Superhydrophobic Surfaces Developed by Mimicking Hierarchical Surface Morphology of Lotus Leaf”, 2014).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the devices of claims 1 and 16. Nagao further discloses that the exterior nozzle surface may be configured to exhibit ultra high liquid repellency, with a contact angle close to 180° (¶0161-0165 and 0178-0180). Surfaces with a droplet contact angle close to 180° are considered to be superhydrophobic, as supported by the evidence in Latthe 2014 (§2: Wetting Properties of a Solid Surface, paragraph 1). Therefore, Nagao further inherently discloses that the exterior surface is superhydrophobic. Please see MPEP §2112. Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley is silent with respect to the sliding angle for a liquid droplet on the exterior contact surface.
Latthe teaches that surface structure of a lotus leaf comprises a hierarchical micro/nanostructure in combination with a low surface energy wax that grants it superhydrophobic properties with a contact angle of greater than 160° and a sliding angle lower than 5° which advantageously allows the surface to self-clean by causing water to quickly roll or slide of the leaf while carrying dirt and debris with it (Page 4257, lines 1-36). Latthe further teaches that this self-cleaning behavior can be mimicked by combining rough surface structures with low surface energy materials (Page 4257, lines 32-36). Latthe teaches that lotus leaf-like microstructures may be achieved using filter paper templated polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) to achieve superhydrophobic behavior with a water contact angle of 162 ± 2° and a sliding angle of 3° (Page 4269, lines 8-16). While Nagao teaches some disadvantages of employing fluorine containing resins such as PTFE as the plastic of the nozzle (¶0144), including a contact angle of 115° and difficulty molding the PTFE, these disadvantages are at least partly addressed by the filter paper templating method for preparing superhydrophobic PTFE taught by Latthe, which achieves a high contact angle as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzles suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley so that the nozzle is made of filter paper templated PTFE and has a sliding angle less than 45° for a liquid droplet on the exterior contact surface in order to allow the exterior nozzle surface to self-clean by causing water to quickly roll or slide of the leaf while carrying dirt and debris with it as taught by Latthe.
Claims 10-11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao in view of Dascanio, in further view of Hanley, and in further view of Wochele (US 2013/0075431 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Nagao in view of Dascanio, and in further view of Hanley discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose that the hydrophilic portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic via a hydrophilic coating.
Wochele teaches a drop dispensing nozzle (Figs. 1-2c, feat. 14; ¶0030-0031) comprising a base frustum (20) and a tip frustum (30), which further comprises hydrophilic drop adhesion surfaces (32, 34, and 36). The base (20) and tip (30) frustums are both made of a weakly hydrophilic material such as high density polyethylene (HDPE) with a contact angle of 80°, and the drop adhesion surfaces (32, 34, and 36) are treated with a hydrophilic coating in order to advantageously enhance their contact angle to less than 5° and selectively enhance the adhesion to the drop adhesion surfaces (¶0031-0032). Modifying the inner opening surface of the nozzle suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley to include a hydrophilic coating as taught by Wochele would increase its hydrophilicity and enhance the adhesion of the ophthalmic fluid to the inner opening surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley so that the hydrophilic portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic via a hydrophilic coating in order to enhance the adhesion of the ophthalmic fluid to the inner opening surface as taught by Wochele.
Regarding claim 11, Nagao in view of Dascanio, in further view of Hanley, and in further view of Wochele suggests the device of claim 10. Wochele further teaches that one way of providing a hydrophilic coating is by plasma treatment with oxygen or argon, resulting in chemical modifications to the surface (¶0020). Because the hydrophilic coating is achieved by chemically modifying the surface, the hydrophilic coating layer would be covalent bonded to the rest of the material. Therefore, Nagao in view of Dascanio, in further view of Hanley, and in further view of Wochele further discloses that the hydrophilic coating is covalently bonded to the inner opening surface.
Regarding claim 13, Nagao in view of Dascanio, in further view of Hanley discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose that the hydrophilic portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic via a chemical modification.
Wochele teaches a drop dispensing nozzle (Figs. 1-2c, feat. 14; ¶0030-0031) comprising a base frustum (20) and a tip frustum (30), which further comprises hydrophilic drop adhesion surfaces (32, 34, and 36). The base (20) and tip (30) frustums are both made of a weakly hydrophilic material such as high density polyethylene (HDPE) with a contact angle of 80°, and the drop adhesion surfaces (32, 34, and 36) are treated with a hydrophilic coating in order to advantageously enhance their contact angle to less than 5° and selectively enhance the adhesion to the drop adhesion surfaces (¶0031-0032). Wochele further teaches that one way of providing a hydrophilic coating is by plasma treatment with oxygen or argon, resulting in chemical modifications to the surface (¶0020). Modifying the inner opening surface of the device suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley to include a hydrophilic coating provided by plasma treatment as taught by Wochele would increase its hydrophilicity and enhance the adhesion of the ophthalmic fluid to the inner opening surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley so that the hydrophilic portion of the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic via a chemical modification in order to enhance the adhesion of the ophthalmic fluid to the inner opening surface as taught by Wochele.
Regarding claim 19, Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley suggests the device of claim 16, but does not disclose that at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic via the hydrophilic coating on at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface, the hydrophilic coating being covalently bonded to at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface.
As discussed above, Wochele teaches a drop dispensing nozzle (Figs. 1-2c, feat. 14; ¶0030-0031) comprising a base frustum (20) and a tip frustum (30), which further comprises hydrophilic drop adhesion surfaces (32, 34, and 36). The base (20) and tip (30) frustums are both made of a weakly hydrophilic material such as high density polyethylene (HDPE) with a contact angle of 80°, and the drop adhesion surfaces (32, 34, and 36) are treated with a hydrophilic coating in order to advantageously enhance their contact angle to less than 5° and selectively enhance the adhesion to the drop adhesion surfaces (¶0031-0032). Wochele further teaches that one way of providing a hydrophilic coating is by plasma treatment with oxygen or argon, resulting in chemical modifications to the surface (¶0020). Because the hydrophilic coating is achieved by chemically modifying the surface, the hydrophilic coating layer would be covalent bonded to the rest of the material. Modifying the inner opening surface of the device suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley to include a hydrophilic coating as taught by Wochele would increase its hydrophilicity and enhance the adhesion of the ophthalmic fluid to the inner opening surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device suggested by Nagao in view of Dascanio and in further view of Hanley so that at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface is configured to be hydrophilic via the hydrophilic coating on at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface, the hydrophilic coating being covalently bonded to at least one of the interior nozzle surface and the inner opening surface in order to enhance the adhesion of the ophthalmic fluid to the inner opening surface as taught by Wochele.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARJUNA P CHATRATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781