DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated August 5, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant assertions that “The frequency described in Rasmusson is related to the number of instances passengers have been dropped off at a location. Accordingly, Rasmusson does not describe nor suggest determining based at least on the signal associated with the drivable area and the simulated entrance procedure, a frequency in which a drivable surface is available for an autonomous vehicle to perform a simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area. Rather, Rasmusson merely describes counting the number of instances an event occurred. … Accordingly, no combination of Lin, Kentley, and Rasmusson describes nor suggest determining, based at least on the signal associated with the drivable area and the simulated entrance procedure, a frequency in which a drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to perform the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area, as is recited in Claim 1“; the Examiner respectfully does not agree.
The Examiner respectfully, does not agree because Rasmusson teaches the claimed frequency and viability score concept, as broadly as recited. Although the Applicant now specifies that the determination is based at least on the signal associated with the drivable area and the simulated entrance procedure, a frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to perform the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area; and output a viability score associated with the drivable area, based at least in part on the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface for execution of the simulated entrance procedure, the viability score indicating a viability of establishing the autonomous vehicle hub proximate the drivable area, this does not patentably distinguish the claims over Lin, Kentley, and Rasmusson. Lin discloses receiving signals from sensors associated with a drivable area. Kentley describes the simulation of an autonomous vehicle entrance procedure into certain areas. Rasmusson teaches frequency and viability score determination for locations based on the availability metrics derived from sensor and historical data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lin’s sensor inputs with Ketley’s simulation of vehicle entrance procedures and with Rasmusson’ s frequency based scoring with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain a predicted or simulated frequency of availability of a drivable surface for simulated vehicle entry since this represents the predictable use of known analytical techniques to improve site selection and the routing to autonomous vehicle hubs. In this connection, it should be noted that Kentley additionally discloses modelling or simulating a vehicle’s possible entrance/exit paths (trajectories) into the system, i.e., a simulated entrance procedure (see at least para. [0073] of Kentley which discloses “Planner 464 is configured to generate a number of candidate trajectories for accomplishing a goal to reaching a destination via a number of paths or routes that are available. Trajectory evaluator 465 is configured to evaluate candidate trajectories and identify which subsets of candidate trajectories are associated with higher degrees of confidence levels of providing collision-free paths to the destination”) into a drivable area or destination.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The combination of Lin, Kentley, and Rasmusson, when viewed under the broadest reasonable interpretation, discloses or renders obvious each of the recited limitations. Since the claims represent no more than the predictable ruse of prior art elements to improve autonomous vehicle hub location determination, the rejection to claims 1-20 has been maintained as outlined below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the objection to claim 8, the Applicant has amended the claim to overcome the objection. The objection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §101, the Applicant’s arguments are persuasive and the rejections under 35 USC §101 have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, the rejections to claims 1-20 have been maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0126415 A1) in view of Kentley (US 2017/0123421 A1) and further in view of Rasmusson et al. (US 2021/0056320 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses A method of determining a location (see at least para. [0077] which discloses “describes a geographic location of the ego vehicle 123. For example, the GPS unit 170 retrieves GPS data from one or more GPS satellites. In some embodiments, the GPS unit 170 is a DSRC-compliant GPS unit of the ego vehicle 123 that is operable to provide GPS data describing the geographic location of the ego vehicle 123 with lane-level accuracy”, *Examiner interprets that since processor 225 of the portable sensor apparatus function similar to the processor 125, as discussed above, then processor 225 will determine a location of the autonomous vehicle) of an autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0049] of Lin which discloses “the ego vehicle 123 and the remote vehicle 110 may include an autonomous vehicle” and see at least para. [0128] of Lin which discloses “cause the processor 225 to operate one or more sensors included in the roadside sensor set 163 to record roadside sensor data describing measurements of a physical environment proximate to the computer system 200 (e.g., a physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160). For example, the physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160 includes the one or more vehicles in the vicinity of the intersection managed by the roadside device 160“, *Examiner interprets describing physical environment measurements as determining the location of autonomous vehicles);
receiving, by one or more processors (Fig. 2, 225 and see at least para. [0100] which discloses “the roadside device 160 includes one or more of the following elements: a processor” and see at least para. [0110] which discloses “The intersection management system 162 includes software that is operable, when executed by the processor of the roadside device 160, to cause the processor of the roadside device 160 to execute one or more steps of methods 300 and 400 and example processes 500, 520, 550 and 600 described below with reference to FIGS. 3-6B. In some embodiments, the intersection management system 162 uses digital behavioral twins of connected vehicles to manage a flow of traffic through an intersection” and see at least para. [0117] which discloses “The processor 225 may have a structure similar to the processor 125 and provide functionality similar to that of the processor 125”) from one or more sensors (Fig. 1, 163 and 182 and see at least para. [0108] which discloses “The roadside sensor set 163 includes one or more sensors” and see at least para. [0105] which discloses “The roadside sensor data 166 includes sensor data recorded by one or more sensors of the roadside device 160“) associated with a portable sensor apparatus (Fig. 1, 160 with 163 and para. [0099] discloses “The roadside device 160” and Fig. 1 illustrates the portable sensor apparatus 160 includes a roadside sensor set 163, *Examiner interprets sensor apparatus 160 with sensor set 163 to be the portable sensor apparatus), a signal (see at least para. [0121] of Lin which discloses “The communication module 202 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 222“ and see at least para. [0125] which discloses “The data retrieval module 204 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 224”, *Examiner interprets that since Figure 2 of Lin illustrates the signal lines 222/224 connected to the intersection management system 162 that these signal lines carry signals associated with the intersection, i.e., the claimed drivable area) associated with a drivable area (see at least para. [0063] of Lin which discloses “the control data 137 includes data describing how to process the ego vehicle 123 through an intersection”, *Examiner interprets the intersection to be a drivable area since para. [0140] of Applicant’s specification describes a drivable area as an intersection. And see at least para. [0116] of Lin which discloses “The roadside sensor set 163 is communicatively coupled to the bus 220 via a signal line 239”, *Examiner interprets this signal line to send a signal associated with the roadside which is also the drivable area);
applying, by the one or more processors, the signal associated with the drivable area (see at least para. [0128] which discloses “when executed by the processor 225, cause the processor 225 to operate one or more sensors included in the roadside sensor set 163 to record roadside sensor data describing measurements of a physical environment proximate to the computer system 200 (e.g., a physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160). For example, the physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160 includes the one or more vehicles in the vicinity of the intersection managed by the roadside device 160. In this case, the roadside sensor data recorded by the sensors included in the roadside sensor set 163 can be used to determine one or more driving contexts“ and see at least para. [0136] which discloses “The managing module 206 can be software including routines that, when executed by the processor 225, cause the processor 225 to manage traffic in an intersection. In some embodiments, the managing module 206 can be a set of instructions stored in the memory 167 of the computer system 200 and can be accessible and executable by the processor 225. The managing module 206 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 281”, *Examiner interprets the use of the signal line 281 facilitate the processor’s 225 application of a signal associated with roadside/drivable area);
determine, based at least on the signal (see at least para. [0077] which discloses
“the GPS unit 170 retrieves GPS data from one or more GPS satellites. In some embodiments, the GPS unit 170 is a DSRC-compliant GPS unit of the ego vehicle 123 that is operable to provide GPS data describing the geographic location of the ego vehicle 123 with lane-level accuracy”, *Examiner interprets signals will be obtained from the GPS data regarding the autonomous vehicle 123 and note the processor 225 function similar to processor 125 and para. [0057] discloses “The processor 125 includes an arithmetic logic unit, a microprocessor, a general-purpose controller, or some other processor array to perform computations and provide electronic display signals to a display device. The processor 125 processes data signals”) associated with the drivable area, a drivable surface (see at least para. [0063] which discloses “The control data 137 of the ego vehicle 123 includes data for controlling an operation of the ego vehicle 123. For example, the control data 137 includes data describing how to process the ego vehicle 123 through an intersection” and see at least para. [0064] which discloses “a lane on which the ego vehicle 123 travels”, *Examiner interprets the intersection to be the drivable area and Examiner interprets this lane to be the drivable surface) on which an autonomous vehicle (Fig. 1, 123 and see at least para. [0049] which discloses “one or more of the ego vehicle 123 and the remote vehicle 110 may include an autonomous vehicle“) may travel to enter the drivable area;
determine, based at least on the signal associated with the drivable area (see at least
para. [0105] of Lin which discloses “the intersection management system 162 determines one or more driving contexts of one or more vehicles that are in the vicinity of an intersection managed by the roadside device 160”, *Examiner interprets this intersection management system 162 will direct the vehicle 123 to enter the intersection, i.e., the drivable area based on signals received vial signal lines 222/224 as illustrated in Figure 2 of Lin).
Lin may not explicitly disclose determining a location of an autonomous vehicle hub; a viability model, wherein the viability model is configured to: simulate a potential entrance procedure of one or more autonomous vehicles into the drivable area and consider the simulated entrance procedure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kentley does disclose determining a location of an autonomous vehicle hub (see at least para. [0166] of Kentley which discloses “fleet optimization manager 3820 may be configured to optimize the coordination of routing a fleet of autonomous vehicles 3830 in a road network 3850, which may include any number of autonomous vehicle(“AV”) stations 3852 a to 3852 c. An autonomous vehicle station may be a source of an inventory of autonomous vehicles from which an autonomous vehicle may be dispatched to service a transportation request, such as a request generated by a user 3802 a. Further, an autonomous vehicle station may be also be a destination or delivery location at which a vehicle may be repaired, maintained, stored, etc.”, *Examiner interprets the AV stations 3852a-c to be autonomous vehicle hubs and the location of the autonomous vehicle hub is determined by the fleet optimization manager 3820) comprising: a viability model (Fig. 28, 2800 of Kentley and see at least para. [0115] of Kentley which discloses “Diagram 2800 includes a simulator 2840 that is configured to generate a simulated environment 2803“), wherein the viability model is configured to: simulate a potential entrance procedure (see at least para. [0073] of Kentley which discloses “Planner 464 is configured to generate a number of candidate trajectories for accomplishing a goal to reaching a destination via a number of paths or routes that are available. Trajectory evaluator 465 is configured to evaluate candidate trajectories and identify which subsets of candidate trajectories are associated with higher degrees of confidence levels of providing collision-free paths to the destination”) of one or more autonomous vehicles (Fig. 28, 2830 of Kentley and see at least para. [0116] of Kentley which discloses an “autonomous vehicle 2830”) into the drivable area (see at least para. [0038] of Kentley et al. which discloses "FIG. 28 is a diagram depicting a simulator configured to simulate an autonomous vehicle in a synthetic environment, according to various embodiments”, *Examiner interprets this synthetic environment to include a drivable area) and consider the simulated entrance procedure (see at least para. [0079] of Kentley which discloses "Simulator 740 is configured to simulate operation of one or more autonomous vehicles 730, as well as the interactions between teleoperator manager 707 and an autonomous vehicle 730. Simulator 740 may also simulate operation of a number of sensors (including the introduction of simulated noise) disposed in autonomous vehicle 730. Further, an environment, such as a city, may be simulated such that a simulated autonomous vehicle can be introduced to the synthetic environment, whereby simulated sensors may receive simulated sensor data, such as simulated laser returns. Simulator 740 may provide other functions as well, including validating software updates and/or map data. Policy manager 742 is configured to maintain data representing policies or rules by which an autonomous vehicle ought to behave in view of a variety of conditions or events that an autonomous vehicle encounters while traveling in a network of roadways”, *Examiner interprets this as evidence that Kentley provides strong support for the simulation and surface determination aspects while considering the simulated entrance procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable sensor apparatus of Lin to include determining a location of an autonomous vehicle hub; a viability model, wherein the viability model is configured to: simulate a potential entrance procedure of one or more autonomous vehicles into the drivable area and consider the simulated entrance procedure as taught in Kentley with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively and safely position autonomous vehicles to enter intersections due to improved placement and more viable locations for a hub infrastructure. See para. [0116] and [0073] of Kentley for motivation.
Further regarding claim 1, Lin as modified by Kentley, may not explicitly disclose a frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to perform the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area; and output a viability score associated with the drivable area, based at least in part on the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface for execution of the simulated entrance procedure, the viability score indicating a viability of establishing the autonomous vehicle hub proximate the drivable area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rasmusson discloses a frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to perform the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area (see at least para. [0042] of Rasmusson et al. which discloses “The historical location features include the times of the pick-ups and drop-offs at those locations and the number, frequency, or percentage of pick-ups and drop-offs at those locations and times of total pick-ups and drop-offs for the area associated with the origin or drop-off”, *Examiner interprets the frequency of drop-offs and pickups to be the frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to enter the drivable area which is the pickup location or drop off location and to facilitate the drop-offs and pickups); and output a viability score (Fig. 5, 550 of Rasmusson et al. (US 2021/0056320 A1) and see at least para. [0044] of Rasmusson et al. which discloses “the computing device calculates a viability score for each available location… “where VS is the viability score) associated with the drivable area, based at least in part on the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface for execution of the simulated entrance procedure (see at least para. [0042] of Rasmusson which discloses “The computing device may record the historical data in association with each available location and use the historical data when calculating a viability score for each available location, as described below”, *Examiner interprets that since the frequency can be associated with historical data and that data is associated with the availability of a location then that is equivalent to the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface), the viability score indicating a viability of establishing the autonomous vehicle hub proximate the drivable area (see at least para. [0044] of Rasmusson et al. which discloses “The viability score may represent the feasibility of dropping off or picking up a user at the location. The viability score may be based on the autonomous-vehicle sensor data and the historical data and may be determined using a suitable algorithm … For example, it may be more important to find a location that is large enough, well lit, free of traffic, and close to the destination than it is to find a historically popular location”, *Examiner interprets this feasibility to indicate the viability of establishing an hub in the particular area that may be free of traffic and is a location large enough to accommodate a vehicle hub).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable sensor apparatus of Lin, as modified by Kentley to include
a frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to perform the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area; and output a viability score associated with the drivable area, based at least in part on the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface for execution of the simulated entrance procedure, the viability score indicating a viability of establishing the autonomous vehicle hub proximate the drivable area; as taught in Rasmusson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the best location for the autonomous vehicle to efficiently and safely utilize certain locations. See para. [0042] and [0044] of Rasmusson for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the one or more sensors may be used on the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0078] of Lin which discloses “The vehicle sensor set 182 includes one or more sensors that are operable to measure the roadway environment outside of the ego vehicle 123”).
Regarding claim 3, Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the portable sensor apparatus is installed proximate a proposed intersection (see at least para. [0005] of Lin which discloses “The intersection management system includes software stored in a roadside device. The roadside device may be proximate to an intersection of a roadway and responsible for managing traffic including various vehicles through this intersection” and see at least para. [0099] of Lin which discloses “The roadside device 160 can be a computing device located proximate to a roadway. For example, the roadside device 160 is a roadside unit or some other roadside infrastructure device having network communication capabilities”, *Examiner interprets this to be positioned at a proposed intersection).
Regarding claim 4, Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, 163/182 of Lin) include at least one of a camera, a LiDAR sensor, a radar sensor, and a sonar sensor (see at least para. [0109] of Lin which discloses “the roadside sensor set 163 may include one or more of the following roadside sensors: a camera; a LIDAR sensor; a radar sensor; a laser altimeter; an infrared detector; a motion detector; a thermostat; a sound detector, a curb feeler; a defect detector; a radar gun; a speed sensor; and any other type of roadside sensor” and see at least para. [0079] of Lin which discloses “the vehicle sensor set 182 may include one or more of the following vehicle sensors: a camera; a LIDAR sensor; a radar sensor; a laser altimeter; an infrared detector; a motion detector; a thermostat; a sound detector, a carbon monoxide sensor; a carbon dioxide sensor; an oxygen sensor; a mass air flow sensor; an engine coolant temperature sensor; a throttle position sensor; a crank shaft position sensor; an automobile engine sensor; a valve timer; an air-fuel ratio meter; a blind spot meter; a curb feeler; a defect detector; a Hall effect sensor, a manifold absolute pressure sensor; a parking sensor; a radar gun; a speedometer; a speed sensor; a tire-pressure monitoring sensor; a torque sensor; a transmission fluid temperature sensor; a turbine speed sensor (TSS); a variable reluctance sensor; a vehicle speed sensor (VSS); a water sensor; a wheel speed sensor; and any other type of automotive sensor”).
Regarding claim 5, Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 2, 225 of Lin and see at least para. [0100] of Lin which discloses “the roadside device 160 includes one or more of the following elements: a processor” and see at least para. [0110] which discloses “The intersection management system 162 includes software that is operable, when executed by the processor of the roadside device 160, to cause the processor of the roadside device 160 to execute one or more steps of methods 300 and 400 and example processes 500, 520, 550 and 600 described below with reference to FIGS. 3-6B. In some embodiments, the intersection management system 162 uses digital behavioral twins of connected vehicles to manage a flow of traffic through an intersection” and see at least para. [0117] which discloses “The processor 225 may have a structure similar to the processor 125 and provide functionality similar to that of the processor 125”) determine the drivable surface (see at least para. [0063] of Lin which discloses “The control data 137 of the ego vehicle 123 includes data for controlling an operation of the ego vehicle 123. For example, the control data 137 includes data describing how to process the ego vehicle 123 through an intersection” and see at least para. [0064] of Lin which discloses “a lane on which the ego vehicle 123 travels”, *Examiner interprets the intersection to be the drivable area and Examiner interprets this lane to be the drivable surface) by inputting at least the signal (see at least para. [0121] of Lin which discloses “The communication module 202 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 222“ and see at least para. [0125] which discloses “The data retrieval module 204 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 224”, *Examiner interprets that since Figure 2 of Lin illustrates the signal lines 222/224 connected to the intersection management system 162 that these signal lines carry signals associated with the intersection, i.e., the claimed drivable area) associated with the drivable area (see at least para. [0063] of Lin which discloses “the control data 137 includes data describing how to process the ego vehicle 123 through an intersection”, *Examiner interprets the intersection to be a drivable area since para. [0140] of Applicant’s specification describes a drivable area as an intersection. And see at least para. [0116] of Lin which discloses “The roadside sensor set 163 is communicatively coupled to the bus 220 via a signal line 239”, *Examiner interprets this signal line to send a signal associated with the roadside which is also the drivable area).
Lin does not explicitly disclose a simulation model.
However, Kentley, discloses a simulation model (Fig. 28, 2800 with 2803 and 2840 of Kentley and see at least para. [0115] of Kentley which discloses “Diagram 2800 includes a simulator 2840 that is configured to generate a simulated environment 2803“).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable sensor apparatus of Lin to further include a simulation model as taught in Kentley with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively and safely position autonomous vehicles to enter intersections due to improved placement and more viable locations for a hub infrastructure because of efficient planning and forecasting. See para. [0116] of Kentley for motivation.
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses A portable sensor apparatus (Fig. 1, 160 with 163 and para. [0099] discloses “The roadside device 160” and Fig. 1 illustrates the portable sensor apparatus 160 includes a roadside sensor set 163, *Examiner interprets sensor apparatus 160 with sensor set 163 to be the portable sensor apparatus) positioned at a proposed intersection (see at least para. [0100] which discloses “the roadside device 160 includes one or more of the following elements: a processor (not shown in FIG. 1); an intersection management system 162” and see at least para. [0099] which discloses “The roadside device 160 can be a computing device located proximate to a roadway. For example, the roadside device 160 is a roadside unit or some other roadside infrastructure device having network communication capabilities”, *Examiner interprets this to be positioned at a proposed intersection) and comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 1, 163 and 182 and see at least para. [0108] which discloses “The roadside sensor set 163 includes one or more sensors” and see at least para. [0105] which discloses “The roadside sensor data 166 includes sensor data recorded by one or more sensors of the roadside device 160“); and
one or more processors (Fig. 2, 225 and see at least para. [0100] which discloses “the roadside device 160 includes one or more of the following elements: a processor” and see at least para. [0110] which discloses “The intersection management system 162 includes software that is operable, when executed by the processor of the roadside device 160, to cause the processor of the roadside device 160 to execute one or more steps of methods 300 and 400 and example processes 500, 520, 550 and 600 described below with reference to FIGS. 3-6B. In some embodiments, the intersection management system 162 uses digital behavioral twins of connected vehicles to manage a flow of traffic through an intersection” and see at least para. [0117] which discloses “The processor 225 may have a structure similar to the processor 125 and provide functionality similar to that of the processor 125”) configured to perform a method of determining a location (see at least para. [0077] which discloses “describes a geographic location of the ego vehicle 123. For example, the GPS unit 170 retrieves GPS data from one or more GPS satellites. In some embodiments, the GPS unit 170 is a DSRC-compliant GPS unit of the ego vehicle 123 that is operable to provide GPS data describing the geographic location of the ego vehicle 123 with lane-level accuracy”, *Examiner interprets that since processor 225 of the portable sensor apparatus function similar to the processor 125, as discussed above, then processor 225 will determine a location of the autonomous vehicle) of an autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0049] of Lin which discloses “the ego vehicle 123 and the remote vehicle 110 may include an autonomous vehicle” and see at least para. [0128] of Lin which discloses “cause the processor 225 to operate one or more sensors included in the roadside sensor set 163 to record roadside sensor data describing measurements of a physical environment proximate to the computer system 200 (e.g., a physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160). For example, the physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160 includes the one or more vehicles in the vicinity of the intersection managed by the roadside device 160“, *Examiner interprets describing physical environment measurements as determining the location of autonomous vehicles) comprising:
receiving, from the one or more sensors associated with the portable sensor
apparatus (see at least para. [0108] of Lin which discloses “The roadside sensor set 163 includes one or more sensors that are operable to measure a roadway environment proximate to the roadside device 160”), a signal (see at least para. [0121] of Lin which discloses “The communication module 202 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 222“ and see at least para. [0125] which discloses “The data retrieval module 204 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 224”, *Examiner interprets that since Figure 2 of Lin illustrates the signal lines 222/224 connected to the intersection management system 162 that these signal lines carry signals associated with the intersection, i.e., the claimed drivable area) associated with a drivable area (see at least para. [0063] of Lin which discloses “the control data 137 includes data describing how to process the ego vehicle 123 through an intersection”, *Examiner interprets the intersection to be a drivable area since para. [0140] of Applicant’s specification describes a drivable area as an intersection. And see at least para. [0116] of Lin which discloses “The roadside sensor set 163 is communicatively coupled to the bus 220 via a signal line 239”, *Examiner interprets this signal line to send a signal associated with the roadside which is also the drivable area);
applying, by the one or more processors, the signal associated with the drivable area
(see at least para. [0128] which discloses “when executed by the processor 225, cause the processor 225 to operate one or more sensors included in the roadside sensor set 163 to record roadside sensor data describing measurements of a physical environment proximate to the computer system 200 (e.g., a physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160). For example, the physical environment proximate to the roadside device 160 includes the one or more vehicles in the vicinity of the intersection managed by the roadside device 160. In this case, the roadside sensor data recorded by the sensors included in the roadside sensor set 163 can be used to determine one or more driving contexts“ and see at least para. [0136] which discloses “The managing module 206 can be software including routines that, when executed by the processor 225, cause the processor 225 to manage traffic in an intersection. In some embodiments, the managing module 206 can be a set of instructions stored in the memory 167 of the computer system 200 and can be accessible and executable by the processor 225. The managing module 206 may be adapted for cooperation and communication with the processor 225 and other components of the computer system 200 via a signal line 281”, *Examiner interprets the use of the signal line 281 facilitate the processor’s 225 application of a signal associated with roadside/drivable area);
determine, based at least on the signal (see at least para. [0077] which
discloses “the GPS unit 170 retrieves GPS data from one or more GPS satellites. In some embodiments, the GPS unit 170 is a DSRC-compliant GPS unit of the ego vehicle 123 that is operable to provide GPS data describing the geographic location of the ego vehicle 123 with lane-level accuracy”, *Examiner interprets signals will be obtained from the GPS data regarding the autonomous vehicle 123 and note the processor 225 function similar to processor 125 and para. [0057] discloses “The processor 125 includes an arithmetic logic unit, a microprocessor, a general-purpose controller, or some other processor array to perform computations and provide electronic display signals to a display device. The processor 125 processes data signals”) associated with the drivable area, a drivable surface (see at least para. [0063] which discloses “The control data 137 of the ego vehicle 123 includes data for controlling an operation of the ego vehicle 123. For example, the control data 137 includes data describing how to process the ego vehicle 123 through an intersection” and see at least para. [0064] which discloses “a lane on which the ego vehicle 123 travels”, *Examiner interprets the intersection to be the drivable area and Examiner interprets this lane to be the drivable surface) on which an autonomous vehicle (Fig. 1, 123 and see at least para. [0049] which discloses “one or more of the ego vehicle 123 and the remote vehicle 110 may include an autonomous vehicle“) may travel to enter the drivable area;
determine, based at least on the signal associated with the drivable area (see
at least para. [0105] of Lin which discloses “the intersection management system 162 determines one or more driving contexts of one or more vehicles that are in the vicinity of an intersection managed by the roadside device 160”, *Examiner interprets this intersection management system 162 will direct the vehicle 123 to enter the intersection, i.e., the drivable area based on signals received vial signal lines 222/224 as illustrated in Figure 2 of Lin).
Lin may not explicitly disclose determining a location of an autonomous vehicle hub; a viability model, wherein the viability model is configured to: simulate a potential entrance procedure of one or more autonomous vehicles into the drivable area and consider the simulated entrance procedure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kentley does disclose determining a location of an autonomous vehicle hub (see at least para. [0166] of Kentley which discloses “fleet optimization manager 3820 may be configured to optimize the coordination of routing a fleet of autonomous vehicles 3830 in a road network 3850, which may include any number of autonomous vehicle (“AV”) stations 3852 a to 3852 c. An autonomous vehicle station may be a source of an inventory of autonomous vehicles from which an autonomous vehicle may be dispatched to service a transportation request, such as a request generated by a user 3802 a. Further, an autonomous vehicle station may be also be a destination or delivery location at which a vehicle may be repaired, maintained, stored, etc.”, *Examiner interprets the AV stations 3852a-c to be autonomous vehicle hubs and the location of the autonomous vehicle hub is determined by the fleet optimization manager 3820); a viability model (Fig. 28, 2800 of Kentley and see at least para. [0115] of Kentley which discloses “Diagram 2800 includes a simulator 2840 that is configured to generate a simulated environment 2803“), wherein the viability model is configured to: simulate a potential entrance procedure (see at least para. [0073] of Kentley which discloses “Planner 464 is configured to generate a number of candidate trajectories for accomplishing a goal to reaching a destination via a number of paths or routes that are available. Trajectory evaluator 465 is configured to evaluate candidate trajectories and identify which subsets of candidate trajectories are associated with higher degrees of confidence levels of providing collision-free paths to the destination”) of one or more autonomous vehicles (Fig. 28, 2830 of Kentley and see at least para. [0116] of Kentley which discloses an “autonomous vehicle 2830”) into the drivable area (see at least para. [0038] of Kentley et al. which discloses "FIG. 28 is a diagram depicting a simulator configured to simulate an autonomous vehicle in a synthetic environment, according to various embodiments”, *Examiner interprets this synthetic environment to include a drivable area) and consider the simulated entrance procedure (see at least para. [0079] of Kentley which discloses "Simulator 740 is configured to simulate operation of one or more autonomous vehicles 730, as well as the interactions between teleoperator manager 707 and an autonomous vehicle 730. Simulator 740 may also simulate operation of a number of sensors (including the introduction of simulated noise) disposed in autonomous vehicle 730. Further, an environment, such as a city, may be simulated such that a simulated autonomous vehicle can be introduced to the synthetic environment, whereby simulated sensors may receive simulated sensor data, such as simulated laser returns. Simulator 740 may provide other functions as well, including validating software updates and/or map data. Policy manager 742 is configured to maintain data representing policies or rules by which an autonomous vehicle ought to behave in view of a variety of conditions or events that an autonomous vehicle encounters while traveling in a network of roadways”, *Examiner interprets this as evidence that Kentley provides strong support for the simulation and surface determination aspects while considering the simulated entrance procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable sensor apparatus of Lin to include determining a location of an autonomous vehicle hub; a viability model, wherein the viability model is configured to: simulate a potential entrance procedure of one or more autonomous vehicles into the drivable area and consider the simulated entrance procedure as taught in Kentley with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively and safely position autonomous vehicles to enter intersections due to improved placement and more viable locations for a hub infrastructure. See para. [0116] and [0073] of Kentley for motivation.
Further regarding claim 8, Lin as modified by Kentley, may not explicitly disclose a frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to execute the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area; and output a viability score associated with the drivable area, based at least in part on the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface for execution of the simulated entrance procedure, the viability score indicating a viability of establishing the autonomous vehicle hub proximate the drivable area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rasmusson discloses a frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to execute the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area (see at least para. [0042] of Rasmusson et al. which discloses “The historical location features include the times of the pick-ups and drop-offs at those locations and the number, frequency, or percentage of pick-ups and drop-offs at those locations and times of total pick-ups and drop-offs for the area associated with the origin or drop-off”, *Examiner interprets the frequency of drop-offs and pickups to be the frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to enter the drivable area which is the pickup location or drop off location and to facilitate the drop-offs and pickups); and output a viability score (Fig. 5, 550 of Rasmusson et al. (US 2021/0056320 A1) and see at least para. [0044] of Rasmusson et al. which discloses “the computing device calculates a viability score for each available location… “where VS is the viability score) associated with the drivable area, based at least in part on the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface for execution of the simulated entrance procedure (see at least para. [0042] of Rasmusson which discloses “The computing device may record the historical data in association with each available location and use the historical data when calculating a viability score for each available location, as described below”, *Examiner interprets that since the frequency can be associated with historical data and that data is associated with the availability of a location then that is equivalent to the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface), the viability score indicating a viability of establishing the autonomous vehicle hub proximate the drivable area (see at least para. [0044] of Rasmusson et al. which discloses “The viability score may represent the feasibility of dropping off or picking up a user at the location. The viability score may be based on the autonomous-vehicle sensor data and the historical data and may be determined using a suitable algorithm … For example, it may be more important to find a location that is large enough, well lit, free of traffic, and close to the destination than it is to find a historically popular location”, *Examiner interprets this feasibility to indicate the viability of establishing an hub in the particular area that may be free of traffic and is a location large enough to accommodate a vehicle hub).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable sensor apparatus of Lin, as modified by Kentley to include
a frequency in which the drivable surface is available for the autonomous vehicle to execite the simulated entrance procedure to enter the drivable area; and output a viability score associated with the drivable area, based at least in part on the frequency of the availability of the drivable surface for execution of the simulated entrance procedure, the viability score indicating a viability of establishing the autonomous vehicle hub proximate the drivable area; as taught in Rasmusson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the best location for the autonomous vehicle to efficiently and safely utilize certain locations. See para. [0042] and [0044] of Rasmusson for motivation.
Regarding claim 9, Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the one or more sensors may be used on the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0078] of Lin which discloses “The vehicle sensor set 182 includes one or more sensors that are operable to measure the roadway environment outside of the ego vehicle 123”).
Regarding claim 10 Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the portable sensor apparatus is installed proximate a proposed intersection (see at least para. [0005] of Lin which discloses “The intersection management system includes software stored in a roadside device. The roadside device may be proximate to an intersection of a roadway and responsible for managing traffic including various vehicles through this intersection” and see at least para. [0099] of Lin which discloses “The roadside device 160 can be a computing device located proximate to a roadway. For example, the roadside device 160 is a roadside unit or some other roadside infrastructure device having network communication capabilities”, *Examiner interprets this to be positioned at a proposed intersection).
Regarding claim 11 Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the one or more sensors (Fig. 1, 163/182 of Lin) include at least one of a camera, a LiDAR sensor, a radar sensor, and a sonar sensor (see at least para. [0109] of Lin which discloses “the roadside sensor set 163 may include one or more of the following roadside sensors: a camera; a LIDAR sensor; a radar sensor; a laser altimeter; an infrared detector; a motion detector; a thermostat; a sound detector, a curb feeler; a defect detector; a radar gun; a speed sensor; and any other type of roadside sensor” and see at least para. [0079] of Lin which discloses “the vehicle sensor set 182 may include one or more of the following vehicle sensors: a camera; a LIDAR sensor; a radar sensor; a laser altimeter; an infrared detector; a motion detector; a thermostat; a sound detector, a carbon monoxide sensor; a carbon dioxide sensor; an oxygen sensor; a mass air flow sensor; an engine coolant temperature sensor; a throttle position sensor; a crank shaft position sensor; an automobile engine sensor; a valve timer; an air-fuel ratio meter; a blind spot meter; a curb feeler; a defect detector; a Hall effect sensor, a manifold absolute pressure sensor; a parking sensor; a radar gun; a speedometer; a speed sensor; a tire-pressure monitoring sensor; a torque sensor; a transmission fluid temperature sensor; a turbine speed sensor (TSS); a variable reluctance sensor; a vehicle speed sensor (VSS); a water sensor; a wheel speed sensor; and any other type of automotive sensor”).
Regarding claim 12, Lin, as modified by Kentley and Rasmusson, discloses wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 2, 225 of Lin and see at least para. [0100] of Lin which discloses “the roadside device 160 includes one or more of the following elements: a processor” and see at least para. [0110] which discloses “The intersection management system 162 includes software that is operable, when executed by the processor of the roadside device 160, to cause the processor of the roadside device 160 to ex