Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 7- 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by LI ‘678 et al. (US 2007/0211678 A1), hereinafter LI ‘678 . Regarding claim 7 , LI ‘678 discloses a method ( the same vendor/manufacturer or not , see ¶ 0039 ) , comprising: receiving a wireless communication frame at a device ( s ignal detector 502 may receive signal(s) communicated over the peer-to-peer network during a peer discovery interval , see ¶ 0 0 61 ) ; providing at least a portion of the wireless communication frame to a sequence correlator at the device ( providing the incoming signal to the comparator 506, see figure 5 ) ; providing a reference sequence corresponding to a peer device to the sequence correlator ( anticipated signal calculator 504 may generate current expected signal formats for each buddy peer , see ¶ 00 62 ) ; and determining whether a transmitting device associated with the wireless communication frame is the peer device based on whether an output of the sequence correlator includes a signal peak indicating a sequence-level correlation between a sequence in the wireless communication frame and the reference sequence ( comparator 506 may consider an energy level associated with signal(s) obtained with detector 502. Pursuant to this example, comparator 506 may assign a high probability to a detected signal with a high energy level that matches an expected signal format of one of the buddy peers , see ¶ 00 64 ) . Regarding claim 8 , LI ‘678 discloses generating the output with the sequence correlator without decoding individual bits of the wireless communication frame (d ecoding sequence linker 706 may utilize the fixed and predetermined rule to link together signal(s) from successive peer discovery intervals. Further, decoding sequence linker 706 may leverage knowledge of the function employed by an encoding sequence linker of a disparate wireless terminal to identify a sequence of signals from differing peer discovery intervals that correspond to one another , see ¶ 0073). Regarding claim 9 , LI ‘678 discloses the sequence in the wireless communication frame comprises an access address sequence ( the signal generator 210 may encode and/or send a signal in a peer discovery interval as a function of the unique identifier of wireless terminal 202 (WT ID), see ¶ 0048 ) . Regarding claim 10 , LI ‘678 discloses the sequence in the wireless communication frame comprises an advertisement address sequence (the broadcast signal includes ID of the wireless terminal 202 and a current time, see ¶ 0050 ) . Regarding claim 11 , LI ‘678 discloses the sequence in the wireless communication frame comprises a device identifier sequence (send a signal in a peer discovery interval as a function of the unique identifier of wireless terminal 202 (WT ID), see ¶ 0048 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI ‘678 in view of LI ‘021 (US 2019/0349021 A1). Regarding claim 12 , LI ‘678 fails to disclose providing a second reference sequence corresponding to the peer device to the sequence correlator, wherein determining whether the transmitting device of the wireless communication frame is the peer device further comprises determining whether the transmitting device of the wireless communication frame is the peer device based on whether the output of the sequence correlator includes the signal peak indicating the sequence-level correlation between the sequence in the wireless communication frame and the reference sequence and a second signal peak indicating a sequence-level correlation between a second sequence in the wireless communication frame and the second reference sequence. In the same field of endeavor, LI ‘021 a method of operating a digital radio receiver comprising; receiving a radio signal; passing said radio signal to a correlator for correlating said radio signal with a predetermined pattern to provide an output signal comprising a plurality of peaks separated in time; determining an amplitude of a first peak in the plurality of peaks; calculating a selection threshold based on said first peak amplitude; determining an amplitude of a second peak in the plurality of peaks; comparing said second peak amplitude to the selection threshold; and identifying the second peak as a correlation peak if the second peak amplitude is greater than the selection threshold ( see ¶ 0007-0014 ); the method further comprise of calculating a time separation between the first peak and the second peak in the plurality of peaks; and performing the comparison of the second peak amplitude to the selection threshold if the time separation is not an expected value or within an expected range ( see claim 2 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LI ‘021 ’s teaching in the method taught by LI ‘678 for use in operations such as symbol timing recovery and frame synchronization in radio communications . Regarding claim 13 , LI ‘021 discloses determining whether the transmitting device of the wireless communication frame is the peer device based on a separation, in time, between the signal peak and the second signal peak ( calculating a time separation between the first peak and the second peak in the plurality of peaks; and performing the comparison of the second peak amplitude to the selection threshold if the time separation is not an expected value or within an expected range , see claim 2 ) . Claim (s) 1, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI ‘021 , in view of SU (US 2019/0090293 A1) . Regarding 1 , LI ‘021 discloses a device, comprising: processing circuitry configured to: receive a wireless communication frame ( receiving a radio signal , see claim 1; the received signal may be arranged for Bluetooth Low Energy or other type of wireless communication, see ¶ 0053 and claim 6 ) ; provide at least a portion of the wireless communication frame to a sequence correlator at the device ( passing said radio signal to a correlator for correlating said radio signal with a predetermined pattern to provide an output signal comprising a plurality of peaks separated in time , see claim 1 ) ; provide a first reference sequence and a second reference sequence to the sequence correlator ( a predetermined pattern to provide an output signal , claim 1 ) ; identify a first peak and a second peak in an output of the sequence correlator, the first peak and the second peak generated based on correlations, respectively, between a first sequence and a second sequence of the wireless communication frame and the first reference sequence and the second reference sequence ( determining an amplitude of a first peak in the plurality of peaks; calculating a selection threshold based on said first peak amplitude; determining an amplitude of a second peak in the plurality of peaks; comparing said second peak amplitude to the selection threshold; and identifying the second peak as a correlation peak if the second peak amplitude is greater than the selection threshold, see claim 1 ) ; determine a time difference between the first peak and second peak (determining time different between the first peak and second peak, see claim 2) . LI ‘021 fails to disclose the identify a peer device based at least in part on the time difference. The same field of endeavor, SU disclose peer d iscovery procedure includes determining time-offsets in the received messages ( see ¶ 0177 ) for Bluetooth communication ( see ¶ 0060, 0120 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SU ’s teaching in the network taught by LI ‘021 to identify similar devices when performing paring process for sharing files or communication . Regarding claim 15 , LI ‘021 discloses a method, comprising: receiv ing a wireless communication frame ( receiving a radio signal , see claim 1; the received signal may be arranged for Bluetooth Low Energy or other type of wireless communication, see ¶ 0053 and claim 6 ) ; provid ing at least a portion of the wireless communication frame to a sequence correlator at the device ( passing said radio signal to a correlator for correlating said radio signal with a predetermined pattern to provide an output signal comprising a plurality of peaks separated in time , see claim 1 ) ; provid ing a first reference sequence and a second reference sequence to the sequence correlator ( a predetermined pattern to provide an output signal , claim 1 ) ; identify ing a first peak and a second peak in an output of the sequence correlator, the first peak and the second peak generated based on correlations, respectively, between a first sequence and a second sequence of the wireless communication frame and the first reference sequence and the second reference sequence ( determining an amplitude of a first peak in the plurality of peaks; calculating a selection threshold based on said first peak amplitude; determining an amplitude of a second peak in the plurality of peaks; comparing said second peak amplitude to the selection threshold; and identifying the second peak as a correlation peak if the second peak amplitude is greater than the selection threshold, see claim 1 ) ; determin ing a time difference between the first peak and second peak (determining time different between the first peak and second peak, see claim 2) . LI ‘021 fails to disclose the identify a peer device based at least in part on the time difference. The same field of endeavor, SU disclose peer discovery procedure includes determining time-offsets in the received messages ( see ¶ 0177 ) for Bluetooth communication ( see ¶ 0060, 0120 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SU ’s teaching in the network taught by LI ‘021 to identify similar devices when performing paring process for sharing files or communication. Claim(s) 2 -3 , 6, 16 -17 , and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of LI ‘678 - SU as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of YANG (US 2023/0269567 A1) . Regarding claim 2, the combination of LI ‘678 - SU fails to explicitly disclose the first sequence corresponds to an advertisement address and the second sequence corresponds to a device identifier of the peer device. In the same field of endeavor, YANG discloses that a Bluetooth advertising packet includes the following parts : a preamble (preamble), an access address (access address) , a protocol data unit (protocol data unit, PDU), and a cyclic redundancy check (cyclic redundancy check, CRC). The PDU may include the following parts: an advertising packet type, a reserved field, a transmitter address type , a receiver address type , a length field, a reserved field, an advertising device address, and advertising data (AD). A value of the advertising packet type may be a general advertising indication (ADV_IND) and indicate that the Bluetooth advertising packet shown in FIG. 6 A is of a general advertising type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YANG ’s teaching in the communication method taught by the combination of LI ‘678 - SU to provide an application-based short-range notification method, an electronic device, and a system, so that the electronic device can send/receive a short-range message more flexibly, conveniently, and effectively, and disclosure of user privacy can be avoided. Regarding claim 3 , LI ‘678 inherently discloses provide a third reference sequence to the sequence correlator; identify a third peak in the output of generated by the sequence correlator based on a correlation between a third sequence in the wireless communication frame and the third reference sequence; determine an additional time difference between the third peak and the second peak; and identify the peer device based at least in part on the time difference and the additional time difference ( passing said radio signal to a correlator for correlating said radio signal with a predetermined pattern to provide an output signal comprising a plurality of peaks separated in time , see ¶ 0009 ; inherent feature: comparing plurality of peaks and separated in time is should be obvious ) . Regarding claim 6 , the combination of LI ‘678 - SU fails to explicitly disclose the first sequence corresponds to an access address and the second sequence corresponds to a device identifier of the peer device. In the same field of endeavor, YANG discloses that a Bluetooth advertising packet includes the following parts: a preamble (preamble), an access address (access address) , a protocol data unit (protocol data unit, PDU), and a cyclic redundancy check (cyclic redundancy check, CRC). The PDU may include the following parts: an advertising packet type, a reserved field, a transmitter address type , a receiver address type , a length field, a reserved field, an advertising device address, and advertising data (AD). A value of the advertising packet type may be a general advertising indication (ADV_IND) and indicate that the Bluetooth advertising packet shown in FIG. 6 A is of a general advertising type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YANG ’s teaching in the communication method taught by the combination of LI ‘678 - SU to provide an application-based short-range notification method, an electronic device, and a system, so that the electronic device can send/receive a short-range message more flexibly, conveniently, and effectively, and disclosure of user privacy can be avoided. Regarding claim 16 , the combination of LI ‘678 - SU fails to explicitly disclose the first sequence corresponds to an advertisement address and the second sequence corresponds to a device identifier of the peer device. In the same field of endeavor, YANG discloses that a Bluetooth advertising packet includes the following parts : a preamble (preamble), an access address (access address) , a protocol data unit (protocol data unit, PDU), and a cyclic redundancy check (cyclic redundancy check, CRC). The PDU may include the following parts: an advertising packet type, a reserved field, a transmitter address type , a receiver address type , a length field, a reserved field, an advertising device address, and advertising data (AD). A value of the advertising packet type may be a general advertising indication (ADV_IND) and indicate that the Bluetooth advertising packet shown in FIG. 6 A is of a general advertising type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YANG ’s teaching in the communication method taught by the combination of LI ‘678 - SU to provide an application-based short-range notification method, an electronic device, and a system, so that the electronic device can send/receive a short-range message more flexibly, conveniently, and effectively, and disclosure of user privacy can be avoided. Regarding claim 17 , LI ‘678 inherently discloses provide a third reference sequence to the sequence correlator; identify a third peak in the output of generated by the sequence correlator based on a correlation between a third sequence in the wireless communication frame and the third reference sequence; determine an additional time difference between the third peak and the second peak; and identify the peer device based at least in part on the time difference and the additional time difference ( passing said radio signal to a correlator for correlating said radio signal with a predetermined pattern to provide an output signal comprising a plurality of peaks separated in time , see ¶ 0009 ; inherent feature: comparing plurality of peaks and separated in time is should be obvious) . Regarding claim 20 , the combination of LI ‘678 - SU fails to explicitly disclose the first sequence corresponds to an access address and the second sequence corresponds to a device identifier of the peer device. In the same field of endeavor, YANG discloses that a Bluetooth advertising packet includes the following parts: a preamble (preamble), an access address (access address) , a protocol data unit (protocol data unit, PDU), and a cyclic redundancy check (cyclic redundancy check, CRC). The PDU may include the following parts: an advertising packet type, a reserved field, a transmitter address type , a receiver address type , a length field, a reserved field, an advertising device address, and advertising data (AD). A value of the advertising packet type may be a general advertising indication (ADV_IND ) and indicate that the Bluetooth advertising packet shown in FIG. 6 A is of a general advertising type. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YANG ’s teaching in the communication method taught by the combination of LI ‘678 - SU to provide an application-based short-range notification method, an electronic device, and a system, so that the electronic device can send/receive a short-range message more flexibly, conveniently, and effectively, and disclosure of user privacy can be avoided. Allowable Subject Matter Claim s 4-5, 14, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 4 , when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: t he wireless communication frame includes one or more time-offset bits that determine the time difference between the first peak and the second peak. Regarding claim 5 , when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of : the third sequence corresponds to an access address of the peer device. Regarding claim 14 , when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: t he wireless communication frame includes one or more time-offset bits that determine the time difference between the first peak and the second peak. Regarding claim 18 , when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: t he wireless communication frame includes one or more time-offset bits that determine the time difference between the first peak and the second peak. Regarding claim 19 , when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of : the third sequence corresponds to an access address of the peer device. Conclusion Any response to this action should be mailed to: The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only: Mail Stop _____________ Commissioner for Patents P. O. Box 1450 Alexandria, VA 22313-1450 or faxed to: (571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Bob A. Phunkulh whose telephone number is (571) 272-3083. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. (first week of the bi-week) and Monday-Friday (for second week of the bi-week). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor CHARLES C. JIANG can be reach on (571) 270-7191. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /BOB A PHUNKULH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412