DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Jan. 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
The 112(b) and 112(d) rejections have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims. Regarding the 103 rejections, the amendments have overcome the rejections in the last Action. New rejections are presented below.
On page 10 of the arguments filed Jan 28, 2026, Applicant argues:
For at least the reasons presented in the interview and without acquiescing in the Examiner's rejection, the cited sections of the applied references, whether taken alone or in any reasonable combination, do not disclose at least "a sensor attached to an external component of an aircraft, the sensor configured to generate sensor data representative of a detected condition, wherein the sensor data indicates a first temperature or a second temperature, wherein the first temperature does not equal the second temperature," and "an external housing attached to an exterior portion of an aircraft window of the aircraft, the external housing comprising: a digital- to-optical convertor configured to convert the sensor data into one or more optical signals, wherein the one or more optical signals have a first frequency based on the first temperature or a second frequency based on the second temperature, wherein the first frequency is not equal the second frequency," as recited in claim 1, as amended. Independent claim 17, as amended, recites similar features. Therefore, independent claims 1 and 17, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over the cited sections of the applied references.
Applicant focuses on the new limitations added to claims 1 and argues that this is not taught by the cited art, and Applicant argues that claim 17 “recites similar features.” On page 11 Applicant makes a similar argument for independent claim 9:
For at least the reasons presented in the interview and without acquiescing in the Examiner's rejection, the cited sections of the applied references, whether taken alone or in any reasonable combination, do not disclose at least "generating, by a sensor external to an aircraft, sensor data representative of a detected condition, wherein the sensor data indicates a first temperature or a second temperature, wherein the first temperature does not equal the second temperature, and "converting, by a digital-to-optical convertor, the sensor data into one or more optical signals, wherein the one or more optical signals have a first frequency based on the first temperature or a second frequency based on the second temperature, wherein the first frequency is not equal the second frequency, and wherein the digital-to-optical convertor is within an external housing attached to an exterior portion of an aircraft window of the aircraft," as recited in claim 9, as amended. Therefore, independent claim 9, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over the cited sections of the applied references.
Applicant focuses on the new limitations added to claim 9 and argues that this is not taught by the cited art. A new reference is used to teach the new limitations in the amended claims. See the rejections below.
On the top of page 11 Applicant argues that independent claim 1 and most of the claims dependent thereon are patentable:
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw the rejection of claims 1-4, 7, 8, and 17-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 based on ASHRAFI, AULET, HUYNH, and CABANISS.
On the top of page 12, Applicant argues that independent claim 9 and most of the claims dependent thereon are patentable:
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw the rejection of claims 9-13, 15, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 based on ASHRAFI, AULET, HUYNH, and ENGELEN.
On page 12 Applicant argues that dependent claims 6 and 14 are patentable because of their dependence on an independent claim:
Claim 6 depends from independent claim 1, and claim 14 depends from independent claim 9. Therefore, these claims are patentable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to their parent claims and for their additional distinguishing features recited therein.
On page 12, Applicant argues new dependent claim 22 is patentable because of its dependence from claim 1:
New claim 22 depends from independent claim 1. Therefore, new claim 22 are patentable for at least the reasons given above with respect to claims 1.
See the new rejections below.
On page 9, first paragraph, Applicant references the interview conducted on January 23, 2026. In that interview there was a discussion of the embodiment disclosed in [0005] of the application (see the Examiner’s interview summary mailed Jan 28, 2026), which teaches:
[0005] An external housing is attached to an exterior portion of a window of the aircraft using a flight-capable adhesive. Within the external housing is a digital-to-optical convertor and a transmitting optical device. The sensor uses an exterior data cable to provide the sensor data to the digital-to-optical convertor within the external housing, and the digital-to-optical convertor converts the sensor data into optical signals having a frequency and amplitude indicative of the sensor data. In particular, the digital-to-optical convertor can determine the frequency and amplitude of the optical signals based on the sensor data. As a non-limiting example, if the sensor is a temperature sensor, the digital-to-optical convertor can generate first optical signals having a first frequency and a first amplitude if the sensor data indicates a first temperature was detected, the digital-to-optical convertor can generate second optical signals having a second frequency and a second amplitude if the sensor data indicates a second temperature was detected, etc. Thus, the digital-to-optical convertor can generate optical signals having distinct frequencies and amplitudes for each detected condition. The transmitting optical device can transmit the optical signals through the window of the aircraft.
This embodiment teaches the use of an optical signal with a first amplitude and first frequency when a first temperature is detected, and the use of an optical signal with a distinct second amplitude and second frequency when a second temperature is detected.
In contrast, amended independent claims 1 and 9 use the term “or” several times, which results in a broad scope that does not require indicating different temperatures (“the sensor data indicates a first temperature or a second temperature”) and does not require different optical signals with different amplitudes and frequencies corresponding the different temperatures (“... the one or more optical signals have a first frequency ... or a second frequency ...”). Similarly, independent claim 17 has been amended to broadly recite the “optical signals have a frequency and amplitude based on the temperature”. Although no agreement was reached in the interview, and Applicant did not commit to any particular amendments, the Examiner notes that the amended claims are much broader than the embodiment discussed in the last interview. In other words, Applicant decided not to pursue the idea discussed in the last interview.
Finally, at the end of the first paragraph on page 9 Applicant states:
The Examiner also agreed to call Applicant's representative to resolve any remaining issues if the Examiner believes the application is not in condition for allowance.
The Examiner routinely initiates interviews if it seems likely to advance prosecution, and the Examiner does not doubt he said something to that affect in the interview. In this case, however, the ideas discussed in the last interview were not pursued by the Applicant. As a result, another interview on the same subject seems unlikely to be productive, and so the Examiner has not initiated an interview.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Failure to Further Limit
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1-4. 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0195054 (Ashrafi) in view of US 5,546,325 (Aulet) and US 2021/0247779 (Huynh) and US 2014/0207314 (Kou).
Regarding claim 1, Ashrafi teaches a data transmission system comprising:
a sensor attached to an external component of an aircraft, the sensor configured to generate sensor data representative of a detected condition (FIG. 2A: transceiver 210);
wherein the sensor data indicates a first temperature or a second temperature, wherein the first temperature does not equal the second temperature;
an external housing attached to an exterior portion of an aircraft window of the aircraft (FIG. 2A: housing associated with transceiver 210 and/or ROSA/TOSA 212), the external housing comprising:
a digital-to-optical convertor configured to convert the sensor data into one or more optical signals (FIG. 2A: transceiver 210 and/or TOSA 212);
wherein the one or more optical signals have a first frequency based on the first temperature or a second frequency based on the second temperature, wherein the first frequency is not equal to the second frequency; and
a transmitting optical device configured to transmit the one or more optical signals through the aircraft window (FIG. 2A: TOSA 212 transmitting through window 204);
an internal housing attached to an interior portion of the aircraft window (FIG. 2A: housing associated with ROSA/TOSA 214 and/or WiFi 216), the internal housing comprising:
an optical receiver configured to receive the one or more optical signals transmitted through the aircraft window from the transmitting optical device (FIG. 2A: ROSA 214);
an optical-to-digital convertor configured to convert the one or more optical signals received from the optical receiver into second sensor data (FIG. 2A: ROSA 214),
wherein the second sensor data is representative of the detected condition (FIG. 2A: signals inside the window are representative of the signals generated on the outside of the window); and
a data acquisition system internal to the aircraft, the data acquisition system configured to receive the second sensor data.
FIG. 2A is reproduced for reference.
Ashrafi teaches to transmit information from an external location to an internal location using optical signals through a window.
Aircraft Window.
Ashrafi at FIG. 2A illustrates a TOSA/ROSA on both sides of a window. Furthermore, it was known that aircraft have windows, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the teachings of Ashrafi can be implemented on a variety of windows, including aircraft windows.
External and Internal Housings.
Ashrafi at FIG. 2A illustrates a TOSA/ROSA on both sides of a window, and Aulet teaches that it was known for devices, specifically TOSAs and ROSAs, to include housings. See the bottom of col. 1:
(7) An electro-optic module, of the type referred to above, necessarily includes an electro-optic transmitter and an electro-optic receiver. That is, such a module typically includes a housing containing a transmitter optical subassembly (TOSA), a receiver optical subassembly (ROSA) and a pinned ceramic substrate bearing a number of semiconductor integrated circuit devices. Certain of these integrated circuit devices perform transmitter-related functions (and are hereinafter denoted the transmitter ICs) and certain of these integrated circuit devices perform receiver-related functions (and are hereinafter denoted the receiver ICs). The TOSA, which is electrically connected to the transmitter ICs, includes an electro-optic transducer, such as a semiconductor laser or a light-emitting diode (LED), which serves to convert the digital electrical signals generated by the transmitter ICs into corresponding digital optical signals. It is the combination of the TOSA and transmitter ICs which constitutes the transmitter of the module. Similarly, the ROSA, which is electrically connected to the receiver ICs, includes an electro-optic transducer, such as a PIN photodiode, which serves to convert received digital optical signals into corresponding digital electrical signals communicated to the receiver ICs. It is the combination of the ROSA and receiver ICs which constitutes the receiver of the module.
It would have been obvious that the transmitting and receiving apparatuses of Ashrafi can be implemented in a known manner, such as with external and internal housings, as taught in Aulet. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable.
External Sensor on an Aircraft.
Ashrafi teaches to use a transceiver 210 to sense signals on the outside of the window. Furthermore, it was known that aircraft can have sensors on the exterior of the aircraft to detect conditions and send the information into the aircraft where it can be used. See Huynh:
[0079] In some examples, the flight parameter determiner 420 obtains the flight parameters 450 that include inertial reference unit (IRU) data (e.g. airspeed, angle of attack, altitude, position), pitot static data, antenna readings, etc., and/or other airplane systems sensor data. The flight parameter determiner 420 can transmit the flight parameters 450 to the user interface of the cockpit 138 to provide navigational information and/or the status of aircraft roll operation control system 200 components to the pilot(s). In such examples, the flight parameters 450 can be generated by internal and/or external sensors that monitor aircraft conditions and environmental conditions.
[0080] In the illustrated example of FIG. 4, the FCC 142A-B includes the aileron controller 430 to generate and transmit commands to the autopilot actuators 236A, 236B to control the aileron actuators 230, 232. In some examples, the aileron controller 430 can generate commands based on the flight parameters 450 to control the autopilot actuators 236A, 236B. In such examples, the aileron controller 430 can generate commands based on the flight parameters 450 stored in the FCC database 440.
In other words, Huynh teaches that aircraft can have external sensors on the exterior of the aircraft that detect conditions and send the information into the aircraft where it can be used.
It would have been obvious that the data from the external sensors can be sent from the outside of the aircraft to the inside of the aircraft in a known manner, such as by using optical signals through a window as taught by Ashrafi. In particular, both are in the technical field of communications and the results would have been predictable.
Digital to Optical Converter.
Ashrafi teaches a TOSA 212 that converts an electrical signal to an optical signal. Furthermore, Aulet teaches that it was known for a TOSA to perform digital to optical conversion. See the bottom of col. 1:
(7) An electro-optic module, of the type referred to above, necessarily includes an electro-optic transmitter and an electro-optic receiver. That is, such a module typically includes a housing containing a transmitter optical subassembly (TOSA), a receiver optical subassembly (ROSA) and a pinned ceramic substrate bearing a number of semiconductor integrated circuit devices. Certain of these integrated circuit devices perform transmitter-related functions (and are hereinafter denoted the transmitter ICs) and certain of these integrated circuit devices perform receiver-related functions (and are hereinafter denoted the receiver ICs). The TOSA, which is electrically connected to the transmitter ICs, includes an electro-optic transducer, such as a semiconductor laser or a light-emitting diode (LED), which serves to convert the digital electrical signals generated by the transmitter ICs into corresponding digital optical signals. It is the combination of the TOSA and transmitter ICs which constitutes the transmitter of the module. Similarly, the ROSA, which is electrically connected to the receiver ICs, includes an electro-optic transducer, such as a PIN photodiode, which serves to convert received digital optical signals into corresponding digital electrical signals communicated to the receiver ICs. It is the combination of the ROSA and receiver ICs which constitutes the receiver of the module.
It would have been obvious that the TOSA of Ashrafi can be implemented in a known manner, such as to perform digital to optical conversion as taught in Aulet. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable.
Optical to Digital Converter.
Ashrafi teaches a ROSA 214 that converts a received optical signal to an electrical signal. Furthermore, Aulet teaches that it was known for a ROSA to perform optical to digital conversion. See the bottom of col. 1:
(7) An electro-optic module, of the type referred to above, necessarily includes an electro-optic transmitter and an electro-optic receiver. That is, such a module typically includes a housing containing a transmitter optical subassembly (TOSA), a receiver optical subassembly (ROSA) and a pinned ceramic substrate bearing a number of semiconductor integrated circuit devices. Certain of these integrated circuit devices perform transmitter-related functions (and are hereinafter denoted the transmitter ICs) and certain of these integrated circuit devices perform receiver-related functions (and are hereinafter denoted the receiver ICs). The TOSA, which is electrically connected to the transmitter ICs, includes an electro-optic transducer, such as a semiconductor laser or a light-emitting diode (LED), which serves to convert the digital electrical signals generated by the transmitter ICs into corresponding digital optical signals. It is the combination of the TOSA and transmitter ICs which constitutes the transmitter of the module. Similarly, the ROSA, which is electrically connected to the receiver ICs, includes an electro-optic transducer, such as a PIN photodiode, which serves to convert received digital optical signals into corresponding digital electrical signals communicated to the receiver ICs. It is the combination of the ROSA and receiver ICs which constitutes the receiver of the module.
It would have been obvious that the ROSA of Ashrafi can be implemented in a known manner, such as to perform optical to digital conversion as taught in Aulet. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable.
Data Acquisition System.
Ashrafi teaches that the transmitted data is received and used. Furthermore, Huynh teaches that the sensor data is sent to a user interface for use by the pilots of the aircraft (e.g., see [0079]). Therefore, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that there is a data acquisition system internal to the aircraft and configured to receive the second sensor data.
Temperature Sensor.
Huynh teaches that aircraft can have external sensors on the exterior of the aircraft that detect conditions and send the information into the aircraft where it can be used. Furthermore, Kou teaches that it was known it use a temperature sensor on the outside of an aircraft. See:
[0061] The measurement systems 16 for example include sensors 22 for measuring exterior parameters of the aircraft, such as the temperature, the pressure or the speed, sensors 24 for measuring internal parameters of the aircraft, and of its different functional systems and positioning sensors 26, such as GPS sensors, inertial units, and/or an altimeter.
It would have been obvious that the external sensors taught in Huynh can be of a known type, such as a temperature sensor as taught in Kuo. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., aircraft sensors and communicating sensor data into the aircraft) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the external temperature sensor will provide sensor data indicative of temperature).
The Examiner notes that the claim broadly recites:
wherein the sensor data indicates a first temperature or a second temperature, wherein the first temperature does not equal the second temperature;
wherein the one or more optical signals have a first frequency based on the first temperature or a second frequency based on the second temperature; wherein the first frequency is not equal to the second frequency;
The Examiner notes that the claim uses the word “or” which gives a broad scope. A temperature sensor indicating temperature (as taught by Kuo) which is transmitted into the aircraft on an optical signal (as discussed above) is within the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Ashrafi teaches data transmission system of claim 1, wherein the second sensor data is representative of the detected condition based on an amplitude of the one or more optical signals received by the optical receiver.
Ashrafi at FIG. 2 illustrates a data communication system in which data is transmitted from a TOSA 212, through a window 204, to a ROSA.
Ashrafi teaches that data is transmitted from one side of the window and received and used on the other side of the window (see the discussion of claim 1). Claim 1 also discusses why it would have been obvious to use this system to transmit detected conditions. It would have been obvious that the received signal is “representative” of the detected condition because communication systems operate by sending data from one location to another so that the received data is “representative” of the transmitted data and the information is effectively conveyed.
Furthermore, optical signals have an amplitude (i.e., the intensity of the light). It would have been obvious that the data received via the optical signals is based on the characteristics of those optical signals (e.g., the intensity of the transmitted optical signal are within the sensitivity range of the receiver). It was also well known that the intensity of an optical signal can also be modulated to represent the data (i.e., amplitude modulation of data onto an optical carrier), and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the data received via the optical signals is based on the characteristics of those optical signals (e.g., the intensity of the modulation of the transmitted optical signal).
Regarding claim 3, Ashrafi teaches the data transmission system of claim 1, wherein the transmitting optical device comprises one or more lasers.
See Ashrafi:
[0086] The signals to be transmitted are passed through an amplifier 314 to amplify the signal for transmission. The amplified signal is provided to VCSELs 316 for optically transmitting the signal. The VCSEL 316 is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser that is a type of semiconductor laser diode with laser beam omissions perpendicular from the top surface. In a preferred embodiment, the VCSEL 316 comprises a Finisar VCSEL having a wavelength of approximately 780 nm, a modulation rate of 4 Gb per second and an optical output power of 2.2 mW (3.4 to dBm). In alternative embodiments the components for transmitting the optical signals across the window 204 may comprise an LED (light emitting diode) or EEL (edge emitting lasers). The different lasers enable different optical re-transmissions at different frequencies based on different characteristics of a window such as tint.
[0087] The VCSEL 316 includes a transmission optical subassembly (TOSA) for generating the optical signals for transmission from VCSEL 316 to VCSEL 318 located on the opposite side of the window 204. The VCSELs 316 and 318 comprise a laser source for generating the optical signals for transmission across the window 204. In one embodiment, the VCSEL comprises a Finisar VCSEL that provides a 780 nm optical signal having a maximum modulation rate of 4 Gb per second when running at 1 Gb per second and an optical output power of 3 mW (5 dBm). The TOSA includes a laser device or LED device for converting electrical signals from the amplifier 314 into light signal transmissions. Transmissions from the the outside VCSEL 316 to the inside VCSEL 318 and an associated receiver optical subassembly (ROSA).
In other words, Ashrafi contemplates the use of lasers in the data transmission.
Regarding claim 4, Ashrafi teaches the data transmission system of claim 1, wherein the transmitting optical device comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs).
See Ashrafi:
[0086] The signals to be transmitted are passed through an amplifier 314 to amplify the signal for transmission. The amplified signal is provided to VCSELs 316 for optically transmitting the signal. The VCSEL 316 is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser that is a type of semiconductor laser diode with laser beam omissions perpendicular from the top surface. In a preferred embodiment, the VCSEL 316 comprises a Finisar VCSEL having a wavelength of approximately 780 nm, a modulation rate of 4 Gb per second and an optical output power of 2.2 mW (3.4 to dBm). In alternative embodiments the components for transmitting the optical signals across the window 204 may comprise an LED (light emitting diode) or EEL (edge emitting lasers). The different lasers enable different optical re-transmissions at different frequencies based on different characteristics of a window such as tint.
[0087] The VCSEL 316 includes a transmission optical subassembly (TOSA) for generating the optical signals for transmission from VCSEL 316 to VCSEL 318 located on the opposite side of the window 204. The VCSELs 316 and 318 comprise a laser source for generating the optical signals for transmission across the window 204. In one embodiment, the VCSEL comprises a Finisar VCSEL that provides a 780 nm optical signal having a maximum modulation rate of 4 Gb per second when running at 1 Gb per second and an optical output power of 3 mW (5 dBm). The TOSA includes a laser device or LED device for converting electrical signals from the amplifier 314 into light signal transmissions. Transmissions from the the outside VCSEL 316 to the inside VCSEL 318 and an associated receiver optical subassembly (ROSA).
In other words, Ashrafi contemplates the use of LEDs in the data transmission.
Regarding claim 7, Ashrafi teaches the data transmission system of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical signals comprises visible light signals, ultraviolet signals, or infrared signals.
Ashrafi teaches that the optical signal can be approximately 780 nm. See:
[0086] The signals to be transmitted are passed through an amplifier 314 to amplify the signal for transmission. The amplified signal is provided to VCSELs 316 for optically transmitting the signal. The VCSEL 316 is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser that is a type of semiconductor laser diode with laser beam omissions perpendicular from the top surface. In a preferred embodiment, the VCSEL 316 comprises a Finisar VCSEL having a wavelength of approximately 780 nm, a modulation rate of 4 Gb per second and an optical output power of 2.2 mW (3.4 to dBm). In alternative embodiments the components for transmitting the optical signals across the window 204 may comprise an LED (light emitting diode) or EEL (edge emitting lasers). The different lasers enable different optical re-transmissions at different frequencies based on different characteristics of a window such as tint.
This is infrared and within the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Ashrafi teaches the data transmission system of claim 1, wherein a position of the external housing on the exterior portion of the aircraft window is aligned with a position of the internal housing on the interior portion of the aircraft window.
This can be seen in Ashrafi at FIG. 2A.
In particular, the ROSA/TOSA 212 on the exterior portion of the window is aligned with the ROSA/TOSA 214 on the internal portion of the window.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0001999 (Massa)
Regarding claim 6, Huynh teaches the data transmission system of claim 1, wherein the external housing is attached to the exterior portion of the aircraft window via a flight-capable adhesive.
Huynh teaches the use of sensors on the exterior of an aircraft. Furthermore, Massa teaches that it was known to use adhesives to adhere things to the exterior of an aircraft. See:
[0046] The coupling 220 may be adhered to the aircraft skin with an adhesive and those skilled in the art will recognize suitable adhesives for providing the stated functions, for example, epoxy resins or modified resins with hardeners such as epoxy novalac resin, acrylic resins, cyanoacrylates, UV-curable polymers, and other well-known adhesive resins. Additionally or alternatively, the coupling 220 may be attached to the aircraft skin via a mounting plate by clamping it with threaded bolts, fasteners, other threaded connections or a combination of any of those. A mechanical seal may also be provided to prevent leakage into the aircraft from outside atmosphere (e.g., silicone, rubber, etc.).
It would have been obvious that the external parts of the system can be connected to the aircraft in a known manner, such as with adhesive as taught in Massa. In particular Huynh and Massa are in the same technical field (e.g., aircraft) and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding the adhesive being “flight capable”, this would have been obvious. In particular, if adhesive is used to attach something to the exterior of an aircraft that is intended to stay on the aircraft during flight, it would have been obvious that the adhesive is suitable for or capable of flight of the aircraft.
Claim(s) 9-12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0195054 (Ashrafi) in view of US 5,546,325 (Aulet) and US 2021/0247779 (Huynh) and US 2014/0207314 (Kou).
Regarding claim 9, Ashrafi teaches a method comprising:
generating, by a sensor external to an aircraft, sensor data representative of a detected condition;
wherein the sensor data indicates a first temperature or a second temperature, wherein the first temperature does not equal the second temperature;
converting, by a digital-to-optical convertor, the sensor data into one or more optical signals,
wherein the one or more optical signals have a first frequency based on the first temperature or a second frequency based on the second temperature, wherein the first frequency is not equal to the second frequency, and
wherein the digital-to-optical convertor is within an external housing attached to an exterior portion of an aircraft window of the aircraft;
transmitting, by a transmitting optical device, the one or more optical signals through the aircraft window, wherein the transmitting optical device is within the external housing;
receiving, by an optical receiver, the one or more optical signals transmitted through the aircraft window,
wherein the optical receiver is within an internal housing attached to an interior portion of the aircraft window,
converting, by an optical-to-digital convertor, the one or more optical signals received from the optical receiver into second sensor data, wherein the second sensor data is representative of the detected condition; and
receiving, by a data acquisition system, the second sensor data.
This claim is a method that generally corresponds to the operation of apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ashrafi teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second sensor data is representative of the detected conditions based on an amplitude of the one or more optical signals received by the optical receiver.
This claim is a method corresponding to the operation of apparatus claim 2 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, Ashrafi teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the transmitting optical device comprises one or more lasers.
This claim is a method corresponding to the operation of apparatus claim 3 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, Ashrafi teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the transmitting optical device comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs).
This claim is a method corresponding to the operation of apparatus claim 4 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, Ashrafi teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more optical signals comprises visible light signals, ultraviolet signals, or infrared signals.
This claim is a method corresponding to the operation of apparatus claim 7 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, Ashrafi teaches the method of claim 9, wherein a position of the external housing on the exterior portion of the aircraft window is aligned with a position of the internal housing on the interior portion of the aircraft window.
This claim is a method corresponding to the operation of apparatus claim 8 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 8.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2021/0143907 (Engelen).
Regarding claim 13, Aulet teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the optical receiver comprises a spectrometer, a photocell, or a camera.
Regarding the receiver comprising a spectrometer or a camera, this was known. For example, Engelen at FIG. 1 illustrates a visible light communication system including an optical receiver 102 that can include a camera.
See also, for example:
[0032] FIG. 1 shows a system 100 comprising a lighting device 101 acting as an illumination source and a receiving device 102. The lighting device 101 is a luminaire and may comprise one or more individual illumination sources (e.g. one or more individual LEDs or filaments). The lighting device (lamp) 101 may be portable such that a user can move it around an environment such as his home. In any case, the lamp 101 is arranged to act as an illumination source by emitting light, and to be able to modulate a signal in the emitted light to encoded data, as is known in the art of visible light communications.
[0033] The emitted light is detectable by the receiving device 102, e.g. a (mobile) smart phone, using a light sensor such as a photodiode or camera of the receiving device 102, and hence the (portable) lamp 101 is identifiable by the receiving device 102 using known coded light techniques.
[0034] Note that techniques for the transmission of data in general via a modulated light signal are known in the art. This applies to both the transmit and receive sides of the system. That is, it is known how to take an arbitrary data string such as a message and encode it as modulation in light, and it is also known how to capture this light at a receiving device and to decode the data such that, for example, the message can be read by the receiving device.
In other words, it teaches that cameras were known to be used as optical receivers in optical communication systems (e.g., to receive a decode modulated optical signals).
It would have been obvious that the optical receiver can be implemented in a known manner, such as including a camera. In particular, Engelen is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the optical receiver with a camera will operate as an optical receiver).
Although not relied on for this rejection, under “Conclusion” see US 2013/0336646 (Cabaniss) which teaches that it was known for an optical receiver to comprise a spectrometer and see US 6,353,491 (Tanaka) which teaches the use of photocells.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2021/0001999 (Massa).
Regarding claim 14, Huynh teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the external housing is attached to the exterior portion of the aircraft window via a flight-capable adhesive.
This would have been obvious in light of Massa. See the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0195054 (Ashrafi) in view of US 5,546,325 (Aulet) and US 2021/0247779 (Huynh) and US 2014/0207314 (Kou) and US 2021/0143907 (Engelen).
Regarding claim 17, Ashrafi teaches an aircraft comprising:
an aircraft exterior;
an aircraft window;
a sensor attached to the aircraft exterior, the sensor configured to generate sensor data representative of a detected condition,
wherein the sensor data indicates a temperature;
an external housing attached to an exterior portion of the aircraft window, the external housing comprising:
a digital-to-optical convertor configured to convert the sensor data into one or more optical signals,
wherein the one or more optical signals have a frequency and an amplitude based on the temperature; and
a transmitting optical device configured to transmit the one or more optical signals through the aircraft window;
an internal housing attached to an interior portion of the aircraft window, the internal housing comprising:
an optical receiver configured to receive the one or more optical signals transmitted through the aircraft window from the transmitting optical device,
wherein the optical receiver comprises a spectrometer or a camera; and
an optical-to-digital convertor configured to convert the one or more optical signals received from the optical receiver into second sensor data, wherein the second sensor data is representative of the detected condition; and
a data acquisition system configured to receive the second sensor data.
This claim is directed to an aircraft having an exterior and having a communication system similar to claim 1. Aircraft having exteriors were known in the art, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. Aircraft with communication systems and exterior sensors were discussed in claim 1.
Regarding the sensor data indicating temperature, Kou teaches that it was known it use a temperature sensor on the outside of an aircraft (see the discussion of claim 1).
Regarding the optical signals having a frequency and an amplitude based on the temperature, optical signals inherently have a frequency and an amplitude (e.g., a frequency and intensity of the optical waves). It would have been obvious that the optical signals transmitting the data from the temperature sensor are based on the data being transmitted (e.g., amplitude and/or frequency modulation of the data onto the optical carrier signal).
Regarding the receiver comprising a spectrometer or a camera, this was known. For example, Engelen at FIG. 1 illustrates a visible light communication system including an optical receiver 102 that can include a camera.
See also, for example:
[0032] FIG. 1 shows a system 100 comprising a lighting device 101 acting as an illumination source and a receiving device 102. The lighting device 101 is a luminaire and may comprise one or more individual illumination sources (e.g. one or more individual LEDs or filaments). The lighting device (lamp) 101 may be portable such that a user can move it around an environment such as his home. In any case, the lamp 101 is arranged to act as an illumination source by emitting light, and to be able to modulate a signal in the emitted light to encoded data, as is known in the art of visible light communications.
[0033] The emitted light is detectable by the receiving device 102, e.g. a (mobile) smart phone, using a light sensor such as a photodiode or camera of the receiving device 102, and hence the (portable) lamp 101 is identifiable by the receiving device 102 using known coded light techniques.
[0034] Note that techniques for the transmission of data in general via a modulated light signal are known in the art. This applies to both the transmit and receive sides of the system. That is, it is known how to take an arbitrary data string such as a message and encode it as modulation in light, and it is also known how to capture this light at a receiving device and to decode the data such that, for example, the message can be read by the receiving device.
In other words, it teaches that cameras were known to be used as optical receivers in optical communication systems (e.g., to receive a decode modulated optical signals).
It would have been obvious that the optical receiver can be implemented in a known manner, such as including a camera. In particular, Engelen is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the optical receiver with a camera will operate as an optical receiver).
Although not relied on for this rejection, see also the discussion under “Conclusion” of US 2013/0336646 (Cabaniss) which teaches that it was known for an optical receiver to comprise a spectrometer.
Regarding claim 18, Ashrafi teaches the aircraft of claim 17, wherein a position of the external housing on the exterior portion of the aircraft window is aligned with a position of the internal housing on the interior portion of the aircraft window.
This claim is similar to claim 8 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, Ashrafi teaches the aircraft of claim 17, wherein the one or more optical signals comprises visible light signals, ultraviolet signals, or infrared signals.
This claim is similar to claim 7 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, Ashrafi teaches the aircraft of claim 17, wherein the transmitting optical device comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs).
This claim is similar to claim 4 and is rejected as being obvious in light of the rejection of claim 4.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0143907 (Engelen).
Regarding claim 22, Ashrafi teaches the data transmission system of claim 1, wherein the optical receiver comprises a spectrometer or a camera.
Ashrafi and other cited art teaches the system of claim 1 (see the discussion of claim 1 above). Regarding the receiver comprising a spectrometer or a camera, this was known. For example, Engelen at FIG. 1 illustrates a visible light communication system including an optical receiver 102 that can include a camera.
See also, for example:
[0032] FIG. 1 shows a system 100 comprising a lighting device 101 acting as an illumination source and a receiving device 102. The lighting device 101 is a luminaire and may comprise one or more individual illumination sources (e.g. one or more individual LEDs or filaments). The lighting device (lamp) 101 may be portable such that a user can move it around an environment such as his home. In any case, the lamp 101 is arranged to act as an illumination source by emitting light, and to be able to modulate a signal in the emitted light to encoded data, as is known in the art of visible light communications.
[0033] The emitted light is detectable by the receiving device 102, e.g. a (mobile) smart phone, using a light sensor such as a photodiode or camera of the receiving device 102, and hence the (portable) lamp 101 is identifiable by the receiving device 102 using known coded light techniques.
[0034] Note that techniques for the transmission of data in general via a modulated light signal are known in the art. This applies to both the transmit and receive sides of the system. That is, it is known how to take an arbitrary data string such as a message and encode it as modulation in light, and it is also known how to capture this light at a receiving device and to decode the data such that, for example, the message can be read by the receiving device.
In other words, it teaches that cameras were known to be used as optical receivers in optical communication systems (e.g., to receive a decode modulated optical signals).
It would have been obvious that the optical receiver can be implemented in a known manner, such as including a camera. In particular, Engelen is in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the optical receiver with a camera will operate as an optical receiver).
Although not relied on for this rejection, see also the discussion under “Conclusion” of US 2013/0336646 (Cabaniss) which teaches that it was known for an optical receiver to comprise a spectrometer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0308044 (Heidler) teaches that it was known for a TOSA to perform digital to optical conversion. See:
[0089] FIG. 12 is a more detailed diagram of one embodiment of the DDS module 154 in FIG. 8 that can be provided in an RAU 14 to provide digital data services to the PDs 156(1)-156(Q) connected to the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q) and to provide power management for the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q), as described above. As illustrated in FIG. 12, the DDS module 174 includes a transmit optical sub-assembly (TOSA) 260 and a receive optical sub-assembly (ROSA) 262 to convert downlink optical digital signals 130D from the downlink optical fiber 135D to downlink electrical digital signals and convert uplink electrical digital signals to uplink optical digital signals 130U. A DDS switch 264 is provided to switch digital data services to the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q). The controller 176 is provided as a PoE PSE controller to manage power provided to the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q). A power interface 266 is provided to receive power from the power line 171 from the RF communications module 152. Switches 268 and light emitting diodes (LEDs) 270 are provided to allow configuration settings and to provide the status of the DDS module 174, respectively.
Heidler also teaches that it was known for a ROSA to perform optical to digital conversion. See:
[0089] FIG. 12 is a more detailed diagram of one embodiment of the DDS module 154 in FIG. 8 that can be provided in an RAU 14 to provide digital data services to the PDs 156(1)-156(Q) connected to the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q) and to provide power management for the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q), as described above. As illustrated in FIG. 12, the DDS module 174 includes a transmit optical sub-assembly (TOSA) 260 and a receive optical sub-assembly (ROSA) 262 to convert downlink optical digital signals 130D from the downlink optical fiber 135D to downlink electrical digital signals and convert uplink electrical digital signals to uplink optical digital signals 130U. A DDS switch 264 is provided to switch digital data services to the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q). The controller 176 is provided as a PoE PSE controller to manage power provided to the powered communications ports 158(1)-158(Q). A power interface 266 is provided to receive power from the power line 171 from the RF communications module 152. Switches 268 and light emitting diodes (LEDs) 270 are provided to allow configuration settings and to provide the status of the DDS module 174, respectively.
US 2017/0245945 (Zuhars) at FIG. 2 illustrates an optical communication system.
It teaches that cameras and photodiodes were known to be used as photosensors in optical communication systems. See:
[0034] Now referring to FIG. 2, the data 112 transmitted from the LEDs 103 is received by at least one photosensor 106 of a tracker 109. The tracker 109 is also capable of determining the position and orientation of a tracking array 101 and any object attached thereto using these photosensors 106 and any standard tracking, calibration and registration methods known in the art. It should be appreciated that the at least one photosensor 106 can be any detecting sensor known in the art, such as, but not limited to, a photodiode, CCD and/or CMOS camera. In at least one embodiment of the device, two or more photosensors 106 are arranged in a known configuration within the tracker 109. In a particular embodiment, there are two or more photosensors 106 dedicated to tracking and one or more additional photosensors dedicated to receiving the transmitted data 112. In at least one embodiment the tracker 109 is attached to a rigid structure with a base that can be placed in the operating suite as shown in FIG. 2.
US 6,353,491 (Tanaka) at FIG. 1 which illustrates an optical communication device including an optical receiver 2.
Tanaka teaches that photocells and photodiodes were known to be used as light receiving elements in optical communication systems. See the top of col. 5:
(6) The light emitting element 1 is formed by fastening the semiconductor laser chip 1a for irradiating laser beam B from the light emitting surface, its end face, on a submount 1b composed of a silicon substrate, etc. The light receiving element 2 comprises, for example, photodiode, photo-transistor, photocell, etc. And the light emitting element 1 and the light receiving element 2 are mounted to the optical axis of the rod lens 4 by fastening to the stem 6, respectively, with gold paste, etc. in such a manner that the light emitting surface and the light receiving surface are tilted at a specified angle. The reason why the light emitting surface and the light receiving surface must be mounted tilted at a specified angle with respect to the optical axis is that the receiving signal light from the light transmission line 5 does not reflect upon the light emitting surface or light receiving surface and does not return to the light transmission line again. Consequently, they should be tilted in such a manner that the reflected light does not enter the rod lens 4.
US 2013/0336646 (Cabaniss) teaches that it was known for an optical receiver to comprise a spectrometer. See, for example, FIG. 1 which illustrates a communication system including a transmitter 102 and receiver 104, with the receiver including a spectrometer 101.
See also:
[0024] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an optical communication system 100 in which embodiments of the spectrometer may be utilized for facilitating communications. As shown, the optical communication system 100 includes a light emitting device 102 that may comprise, for example, a laser source 102 for emitting ultrafast pulses, which generally refer to pulses under 1 picosecond in event duration, or a series a nanosecond lasers that are close in wavelength. The pulses emanating from the laser source 102 are received by an optical receiver 104 configured to process and analyze the received pulses. The optical receiver 104 includes a spectrometer 101 configured to perform spectroscopic angular differentiation of close wavelengths and intensities of electromagnetic radiation using various components.
It also teaches that this may be used in a free space optical communication system. See:
[0022] As will become apparent to those skilled in the art, embodiments of the spectrometer disclosed herein may be extremely small in size, thereby facilitating the integration of the spectrometer into existing free-space laser-based communications systems as a replacement to current methods of dividing spectral wavelengths through filter systems. Embodiments of the spectrometer as disclosed herein may also be coupled to fiber optical systems.
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634