DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naidu (US 2021/0228126 A1) in view of Jones (US 2019/0160262) and White et al. (US 2020/0289791 A1).
With regard to claims 1-7, 14, Naidu teaches a catheter assembly comprising: a catheter adapter (Fig. 1B member 110) comprising: a distal end (Fig. 1B direction of 121); a proximal end (Fig. 1B direction of 120); a lumen extending between the distal end and the proximal end (Fig. 1B lumen through which 120 is inserted); and a proximally-directed side port arranged between the distal end and the proximal end, the proximally-directed side port in fluid communication with the lumen (Fig. 1B port 112, [0041]); a catheter secured to the distal end of the catheter adapter and extending distally from the catheter adapter (Fig. 1B member 111); a first fluid conduit having a proximal end coupled to the proximally-directed side port and a distal end, the first fluid conduit in fluid communication with the proximally-directed side port (Fig. 1B conduit 113); a needle free connector (Fig. 1B member 130) positioned at a distal end of the first fluid conduit, the needle free connector having a connector side port (Fig. 1B member 131); a second fluid conduit coupled to the connector side port (Fig. 1B member 141). Naidu does not disclose an elongated arm or a stabilization platform. However, Jones teaches using a stabilization platform for a fluid conduit extending along the arm from the inserted catheter which is beneficial to absorb movement of the patient and reduce the impact of movement by the patient to reduce unwanted forces translating to the cannula resulting in bruising, swelling, and dislodging (Figs. 3 and 5 member 20, [0057], [0070]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a stabilizing platform to retain the second fluid conduit along the patient in Naidu as Jones teaches this is beneficial for aiding in absorbing movement of the patient and reducing the impact of movement by the patient to reduce unwanted forces translating to the cannula resulting in bruising, swelling, and dislodging. Naidu and Jones do not teach an elongated arm to extend from the catheter adapter. However, White et al. teach a plurality of arms may extend between a catheter adapter and stabilizing platform to allow visualization of the insertion site and provides structural stability (Fig. 1 member 140, [0015], [0020], [0028]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plurality of elongated arms extending between the adapter and stabilization platform in Naidu and Jones as White et al. teach this is beneficial for providing enhance stability. As combined such arms intersect at the stabilization platform, the platform is spaced from the end of the arms attached to the adapter.
With regard to claims 10 and 11, see Jones [0022], an adhesive pad may be used to attach the platform.
With regard to claim 13, Naidu teaches a clamp (Fig. 1B 142) but in view of Jones it is not explicitly taught as to the placement of the platform relative to the clamp. However, there are a limited number of options for placement, the platform can be on one of two sides of the clamp. As such it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the platform between the clamp and connector port in Naidu as combined with Jones as this would yield the same predictable result of retention and there are only two potions for placement relative to the clamp.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naidu (US 2021/0228126 A1), Jones (US 2019/0160262), and White et al. (US 2020/0289791 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (US 8,795,256 B1).
With regard to claims 15-17, Naidu teaches a connector 143 (Fig. 1B) but do not disclose details of the connectors including that it is a force release connector with a disconnect connector, release feature, or valve. However, Smith teaches a breakaway connector which includes a disconnect connector 30, release feature 50, and valve 45 which allows for disconnect without stressing or jeopardizing an intravenous site (Fig. 2a, Col. 2 lines45-48). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a connection in Naidu as in Smith as this allows for disconnect without stressing or jeopardizing an intravenous site.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naidu (US 2021/0228126 A1), Jones (US 2019/0160262), White et al. (US 2020/0289791 A1), and Smith (US 8,795,256 B1) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Naidu (US 2020/0324100 A1).
With regard to claims 18 and 19, Naidu does not disclose what connector 143 attaches to. However, Naidu ‘100 teach lines which may be connected to one or a plurality of needless connector and multiple connectors may be provided as needed to facilitate coupling to various medical devices ([0041], Fig. 2A plural members 65, Fig. 4A single member 65). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect to a plurality of needle free connector ports in Naidu as Naidu ‘100 teach using multiple connectors as needed depending on desired connections to various medical devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783