DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 12, and 13 have been amended. Claims 3 and 11 have been canceled. Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 12-15 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 07/10/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the claims have been amended and the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minowa (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0119864 A1) and Tanaka (US 4055235 A).
Referring to claim 1: Minowa teaches a roller assembly (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) having a first end and a second end (SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below);
a first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) to which the first end (SH-1 Figs. 1-A inserted below) of the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) is coupleable (shown in Figs. 1-3 and 1-A inserted below);
a second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) to which the second end (SH-2 Figs. 1-A inserted below) of the shaft is coupleable; and
a roller (4 Figs. 1-3), coupleable between (shown in Figs. 1-3) the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below), and having a cylindrical shape (shown in Fig. 3) in which the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) is insertable and rotatably supported (shown in Figs. 1-3) by the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) while the shaft is inserted,
wherein the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) respectively comprise a protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted below) that protrudes
parallel (shown protruding in Fig. 1-A with line PL parallel to shaft) to the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below)
toward axial ends (AE-1 and AE-2 Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the roller while the roller (4 Figs. 1-3) is coupled between the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below),
the protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted below) of the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) respectively protrude from the first support body and the second support body (SB-1 and SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below)
into a space (SP-1 Fig. 3-A inserted below) inside an outer circumferential surface of the roller (4 Figs. 1-3), and
the roller comprises accommodation grooves (4a Figs. 1-3) on the axial ends (AE-1 and AE-2 Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the roller (4 Figs. 1-3) the protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted below) of the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) being insertable into,
the accommodation grooves (4a Figs. 1-3) on the axial ends (AE-1 and AE-2 Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the roller (4 Figs. 1-3), respectively, such that while the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) is inserted into the roller, the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) is unexposed (the shaft is hidden inside the roller 4) to outside of the roller assembly
wherein the accommodation grooves (4a Figs. 1-3) face outer surfaces (OS-1 Fig. 3-A) and inner surfaces (IS-1 Fig. 3-A) of the protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted below) of the first support body and the second support body (SB-1 and SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) in parallel.
But is silent on the outer and inner surfaces of the protrusion are specifically circumferential.
Tanaka teaches analogous protrusions (31) which are specifically have outer and inner circumferential surfaces (OS-2 and IS-2 Fig. 4-A inserted below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protrusions Minowa with the circumferential surfaces as taught by Tanaka for the purpose of minimize the amount of material used in production while maintaining its structural strength, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Referring to claim 4: Minowa as modified teaches the roller assembly of claim 1, wherein the accommodation grooves (4a Figs. 1-3) are spaced apart from outer circumferential surfaces (outer circumferential surfaces of 6 and 7) of the protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) of the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above), respectively, in a direction perpendicular to the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above).
But is silent on the accommodation grooves are spaced apart from outer circumferential surfaces of the protrusion by specifically by 0.05 mm to 0.2 mm.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions that the tube connecting part can be along the circumference of the suction tube; further, the prior art teaches the accommodation grooves are spaced apart from outer circumferential surfaces of the protrusion. Therefore, modifying the roller assembly of Minowa to specifically have a distance of 0.05 mm to 0.2 mm, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the roller assembly of Minowa with reasonable expectations of success. It would have been obvious to have modified the roller assembly of Minowa by spacing the gap distance between 0.05 mm to 0.2 mm for the purpose of having the appropriate tolerance distance between the two objects to avoid unnecessary/ unintentional contact.
Referring to claim 7: Minowa as modified teaches the roller assembly of claim 1, wherein a coupling unit (3, 6, 8, 14, 15, 16 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) having a snap-fit structure (14 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above; 14 “extends through” 15 [0057]) is arranged in an outer portion (outer portion of SB-1 shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above), and a second engagement protrusion (top end of 6 of SB-2) is arranged (arranged via 15 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) on an outer portion of the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Referring to claim 8: Minowa as modified teaches the roller assembly of claim 7, wherein the coupling unit (3, 6, 8, 14, 15, 16 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) comprises: a beam (15 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) comprising a first engagement protrusion (top end of 6 of SB-1) and a pressing protrusion (pressing protrusion end of coil spring 8); and a bridge (16 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) to connect the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) to the beam (15 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) with a gap (gap between 16 and SB-1 shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) therebetween.
Claims 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minowa (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0119864 A1), Tanaka (US 4055235 A), and OTSU (JP 2001008864 A).
Referring to claim 9: Minowa teaches the at least one roller assembly (Figs. 1-3) comprises: a shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) having a first end (SH-1 and Fig. 1-A inserted above) and a second end (SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above);
a first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) to which the first end (SH-1 Figs. 1-A inserted above) of the shaft is coupleable (shown in Figs. 1-3 and 1-A inserted above);
a second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) to which the second end (SH-2 Figs. 1-A inserted above) of the shaft is coupleable; and a roller (4 Figs. 1-3), coupleable between (shown in Figs. 1-3) the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above), and having a cylindrical shape (shown in Fig. 3) in which the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) is insertable and rotatably supported (shown in Figs. 1-3) by the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) while the shaft is inserted,
the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) respectively comprise a protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) that protrudes parallel (shown protruding in Fig. 1-A with line PL parallel to shaft) to the shaft toward axial ends (AE-1 and AE-2 Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the roller while the roller (4 Figs. 1-3) is coupled between the first support body and the second support body, the protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) of the first support body and the second support body respectively protrude from the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above)
into a space (SP-1 Fig. 3-A inserted above) inside an outer circumferential surface of the roller (4 Figs. 1-3),
and the roller comprises accommodation grooves (4a Figs. 1-3) on the axial ends (AE-1 and AE-2 Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the roller (4 Figs. 1-3) the protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) of the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) and the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) being insertable into,
the accommodation grooves (4a Figs. 1-3) on the axial ends (AE-1 and AE-2 Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the roller (4 Figs. 1-3), respectively, such that while the shaft (shaft between ends SH-1 and SH-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) is inserted into the roller, the shaft is unexposed (the shaft is hidden inside the roller 4) to outside of the at least one roller assembly; and at least one roller assembly accommodation unit (AU Fig. 2-A inserted above)
wherein the accommodation grooves (4a Figs. 1-3) face outer surfaces (OS-1 Fig. 3-A) and inner surfaces (IS-1 Fig. 3-A) of the protrusion (6 and 7 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) of the first support body and the second support body (SB-1 and SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) in parallel.
But is silent on a vacuum cleaner comprising: a vacuum cleaner body including a built-in motor configured to generate a suction force; a brush body, connectable to the vacuum cleaner body, and including a suction port to suck foreign substances from a surface to be cleaned; at least one roller assembly on a bottom surface of the brush body to cause the brush body to be rolling-moved on the surface to be cleaned; and at least one roller assembly accommodation unit arrangeable on the bottom surface of the brush body and having a structure corresponding to the at least one roller assembly such that the at least one roller assembly is able to be attached to or detached from the brush body, and wherein the outer and inner surfaces of the protrusion are specifically circumferential.
OTSU teaches a vacuum cleaner (1 Fig. 2) comprising: a vacuum cleaner body (2 Fig. 2) including a built-in motor (“electric blower” [0021]) configured to generate a suction force; a brush body (14 Figs. 2, 3, and 7), connectable (shown in Fig. 2) to the vacuum cleaner body (2 Fig. 2), and including a suction port (30 Fig. 3) to suck foreign substances from a surface to be cleaned; at least one roller assembly (65, 66, and 69 Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, 15, and 16) on a bottom surface (bottom surface of 14 shown in Fig. 7) of the brush body (14 Figs. 2, 3, and 7) to cause the brush body (14 Figs. 2, 3, and 7) to be rolling-moved on the surface to be cleaned; and at least one roller assembly accommodation unit (66 Figs. 1, 3, and 16) arrangeable on the bottom surface (bottom surface of 14 shown in Fig. 7) of the brush body (14 Figs. 2, 3, and 7) and having a structure corresponding (structure of 66 Figs. 1, 3, and 16) to the at least one roller assembly (65, 66, and 69 Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, 15, and 16) such that the at least one roller assembly (65, 66, and 69 Figs. 1, 3, 7, 8, 15, and 16) is able to be attached to or detached (“the small wheel portion 69 can be rotated and removed” [0066]) from the brush body (14 Figs. 2, 3, and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller assembly of Minowa with the vacuum cleaner assembly as taught by OTSU for the purpose of having the sufficient structure for accommodating and supporting the roller assembly.
Tanaka teaches analogous protrusions (31) which are specifically have outer and inner circumferential surfaces (OS-2 and IS-2 Fig. 4-A inserted above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protrusions Minowa with the circumferential surfaces as taught by Tanaka for the purpose of minimize the amount of material used in production while maintaining its structural strength, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Referring to claim 14: Minowa as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 9, wherein a coupling unit (3, 6, 8, 14, 15, 16 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) having a snap-fit structure (14 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above; 14 “extends through” 15 [0057]) is arranged in an outer portion (outer portion of SB-1 shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above), a second engagement protrusion (top end of 6 of SB-2) is arranged (arranged via 15 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) on an outer portion (outer portion of SB-2) of the second support body (SB-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above), and the coupling unit (3, 6, 8, 14, 15, 16 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) comprises: a beam (15 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) comprising a first engagement protrusion (top end of 6 of SB-1) and a pressing protrusion (pressing protrusion end of coil spring 8); and a bridge (16 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) connecting the first support body (SB-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) to the beam (15 Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) with a gap (gap between 16 and SB-1 shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) therebetween.
Referring to claim 15: Minowa as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 14, wherein the at least one roller assembly accommodation unit comprises: a first engagement step (first engagement step of SB-1 comprising of 15 and 16 on left Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) to support the first engagement protrusion (top end of 6 of SB-1); a second engagement step (second engagement step of SB-2 comprising of 15 and 16 on right Figs. 1, 2 and 1-A inserted above) to support the second engagement protrusion (top end of 6 of SB-2); and a pressing groove (pressing groove which accommodates 5 shown in Figs. 1, 2, 1-A, and 2-A inserted above) between (shown between in Fig. 2-A inserted above) the pressing protrusion (pressing protrusion end of coil spring 8) and the at least one roller assembly accommodation unit (AU Fig. 2-A inserted above).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minowa (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0119864 A1) and Tanaka (US 4055235 A), as applied above in claims 1 and 9, and in further view of Patmore (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0337334 A1).
Referring to claim 5: Minowa as modified teaches the roller assembly of claim 1, but is silent on further comprising a friction member to surround the outer circumferential surface of the roller.
Patmore in an analogous roller assembly (70a Fig. 3) comprising a friction member (82 Fig. 3; “The wheel center 82 has a higher coefficient of friction than the wheel edges 84” [0028]) to surround the outer circumferential surface of the similar configuration roller (68 Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller assembly of Minowa with the friction member as taught by Patmore for the purpose of increasing the grip between the surface and the roller assembly.
Referring to claim 12: Minowa as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 9, but is silent on further comprising a friction member surrounding the outer circumferential surface of the roller.
Patmore in an analogous roller assembly (70a Fig. 3) comprising a friction member (82 Fig. 3; “The wheel center 82 has a higher coefficient of friction than the wheel edges 84” [0028]) to surround the outer circumferential surface of the similar configuration roller (68 Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller assembly of Minowa with the friction member as taught by Patmore for the purpose of increasing the grip between the surface and the roller assembly.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minowa (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0119864 A1) and Tanaka (US 4055235 A), as applied above in claims 1 and 9, and in further view of Kidd (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0207838 A1).
Referring to claim 6: Minowa as modified teaches the roller assembly of claim 1, but is silent on wherein a cross-sectional shape of the first end and/or the second end of the shaft is a polygonal or elliptic cylinder shape, and the first support body and/or the second support body facing the first end and/or the second end of the shaft comprises an insertion groove corresponding to the polygonal or elliptic cylinder shape of the first end and/or the second end of the shaft.
Kidd in an analogous roller assembly (shown in Fig. 1 and 2) and teaches wherein a cross-sectional shape of the first end (left end of 38 Fig. 2) and/or the second end (right end of 38 Fig. 2) of the shaft is a polygonal (polygonal shape shown in Fig. 2) or elliptic cylinder shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end of shaft of Minowa with the polygonal shape as taught by Kidd for the purpose of having an alternate fitting end of shaft which can be adjusted with a tool, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support body of Minowa with the first support body and/or the second support body facing the first end and/or the second end of the shaft specifically comprising an insertion groove corresponding to the polygonal or elliptic cylinder shape of the first end and/or the second end of the shaft for the purpose of maximizing the use of available space and ensuring there’s a secure fit between the support body and end of shaft, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Referring to claim 13: Minowa as modified teaches the vacuum cleaner of claim 9, but is silent on wherein a cross-sectional shape of the first end and/or the second end of the shaft is a polygonal or elliptic cylinder shape,
and the first support body and/or the second support body facing the first end and/or the second end of the shaft comprises an insertion groove corresponding to the polygonal or elliptic cylinder shape of the first end and/or the second end of the shaft, such the one end of either the first end or the second end of the shaft is attachable to and detachable from one of the first support body and the second support body that the one end of either the first end or the second end of the shaft faces.
Kidd in an analogous roller assembly (shown in Fig. 1 and 2) and teaches wherein a cross-sectional shape of the first end (left end of 38 Fig. 2) and/or the second end (right end of 38 Fig. 2) of the shaft is a polygonal (polygonal shape shown in Fig. 2) or elliptic cylinder shape and wherein either the first end or the second end (left end or right end of 38 Fig. 2) is attachable to and detachable from one of the similar configuration first support body and the second support body (14 and 16 Fig. 2) that the one end of either the first end or the second end of the shaft faces (shown facing in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end of shaft of Minowa with the polygonal shape as taught by Kidd for the purpose of having an alternate fitting end of shaft which can be adjusted with a tool, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support body of Minowa with the first support body and/or the second support body facing the first end and/or the second end of the shaft specifically comprising an insertion groove corresponding to the polygonal or elliptic cylinder shape of the first end and/or the second end of the shaft for the purpose of maximizing the use of available space and ensuring there’s a secure fit between the support body and end of shaft, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most relevant art is: Minowa (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0119864 A1), Tanaka (US 4055235 A) and OTSU (JP 2001008864 A).
Referring to claim 2: Minowa as modified teaches the roller assembly of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the protrusion in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the shaft, is spaced apart from the shaft to have a ring shape around the shaft.
OTSU teaches a protrusion (69b Fig. 1; “an engaging cylinder portion 69b which is substantially coaxially cylindrical and is rotatably fitted” [0032]) is spaced apart from the shaft (67 Fig. 1) to have a ring shape (“substantially coaxially cylindrical” [0032]) around the shaft (67 Fig. 1).
It appears the protrusion is located on one support body. Such a reconstruction would be extensive and would render the assembly of Minowa inoperable, and additionally, there is no motivation to do so. Thus, one would only arrive at the claimed invention by using improper hindsight reasoning knowledge gleaned only from the Applicant’s disclosure, and such a reconstruction would be improper.
For similar reasons claim 10 would also be allowable.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723