DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant disagrees that Groups I and II are distinct given that both groups require a room temperature ionic liquid (RTIL) which is in contrast to the examiner’s proposed materially different method that uses an ethylene carbonate. Further, applicant argues that in light of the overlap in claimed subject matter between Groups I and II, the search and examination of the entire application can be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive given that claim 1 encompasses any electrolyte and is not limited to a RTIL. Further, it is the examiner’s position that there would be serious burden when examining both groups for the reasons set forth in paragraph 4 of the office action mailed 4/23/26.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being
drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely
traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the dopants". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 20200194786 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Wang et al. teaches in Figure 1 above, an ionic liquid electrolyte including lithium ions and a system, i.e. battery, for electrical energy production from chemical reagents in a compartmentalized cell includes: at least two electrodes, comprising at least one anode 110 and at least one cathode 120; at least one separator 130, that separates the anodes and the cathodes; and an ionic liquid electrolyte system 140 ([0041]). Given that the overall battery is thermally stable, and the anode and cathode are made from the same materials as presently claimed (see paragraphs 11-16 below), it is clear that the anode and cathode are necessarily thermally stable ([0030]).
Regarding claim 2:
Wang et al. teaches examples of metal-oxide cathodes include NMC and NCA ([0053]).
Regarding claim 3:
Wang et al. teaches metal oxide doping of the cathode to improve ionic mobility and conductivity ([0053]).
Regarding claim 5:
Wang et al. teaches the anode which comprises intercalated material, which comprise graphite or silicon ([0048]).
Regarding claim 6:
Wang et al. teaches the polyolefin separator is composed of polypropylene ([0055]).
Regarding claim 7:
Wang et al. teaches the electrolyte system preferably includes a lithium solute, i.e. lithium salt ([0064]) and ionic liquid solvents ([0058]).
Regarding claims 8-9:
Wang et al. teaches examples of preferred ionic liquids include: propyl-methyl-pyrrolidinium-FSI/TFSI; butyl-methyl-pyrrolidinium-FSI/TFSI; octyl-methyl-pyrrolidinium-FSI/TFSI and any combination thereof, i.e. RTIL ([0058])..
Regarding claim 10 and 12:
Wang et al. teaches a co-solvent, i.e. additive or diluent, may be a cyclic ether, such as tetrahydrofuran (THF) ([0066]). Given that Wang et al. teaches tetrahydrofuran identical to that presently claimed and RTIL identical that presently claimed, it is clear that the tetrahydrofuran would necessarily have viscosity lower than the RTIL.
Regarding claim 13:
Wang et al. teaches the electrolyte system may contain lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) or lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI) ([0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200194786 A1) in view of Laramie et al. (US 2023/0112241)
Wang et al. teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte battery as set forth above.
However, Wang et al. does not teach the dopants are chosen from Mg or Ti.
Laramie et al. discloses lithium ion battery ([0022]) comprising cathode made from LiNixMnyCozO2 (NMC), LiNixCoyAlzO2 (NCA) or LiFePO4 (LFP) ([0045], [0046]) and electrolyte made from room temperature ionic liquid ([0085]). The cathode is doped with aluminum or zirconium to alter the electrical properties ([0050]).
In light of the motivation for using aluminum or zirconium as dopants in a cathode disclosed by Laramie et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use aluminum or zirconium as dopants in the cathode of the ionic liquid electrolyte battery of Wang et al. in order to produce cathode with desired electrical properties.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200194786 A1) in view of Saruwatari et al. (US 20060204855 A1).
Wang et al. teaches an ionic liquid electrolyte battery as set forth above.
However, Wang et al. does not teach the additive and/or the diluent is chosen from a carbonate and an inorganic salt.
Saruwatari et al. discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte battery where the electrolyte comprises ionic liquid and lithium ions (Abstract). Saruwatari et al. teaches the electrolyte also includes an organic solvent, i.e. additive or diluent, which includes propylene carbonate ([0045]).
Further, Saruwatari et al. teaches the electrical conductivity of the nonaqueous electrolyte is expected to be increased by the addition of the organic solvent ([0044]), and if the addition amount of the organic solvent exceeds 50% by weight of the total amount of the nonaqueous electrolyte, it is difficult to obtain the effect of improving the safety of the nonaqueous electrolyte battery produced by the use of the ionic liquid ([0046]).
In light of the motivation for using an organic solvent including propylene carbonate disclosed by Saruwatari et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an organic solvent including propylene carbonate in the ionic liquid electrolyte battery of Wang et al. in order to increase the electrical conductivity and improve the safety of the nonaqueous electrolyte battery.
Conclusion
/MADISON ELIZABETH BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787