DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in the application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on (1) November 28, 2023 ; and (2) September 23, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are directed to the abstract idea of: Claim 1 -: 1. A system comprising: ; and coupled and configured to cause the system to: extract transaction information data for a first data transaction with a transaction recipient; cause a feedback to be generated and inserted into a user interface that includes at least some of the transaction information data; receive first transaction feedback data based at least in part on interaction data generated based on interaction with the feedback; convert the first transaction feedback data and second transaction feedback data for one or more second data transactions with the transaction recipient into a feedback indication of user feedback for the transaction recipient; and transmit the feedback indication based at least in part on a request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient. (commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). ) Claim 2 -: 2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first data transaction comprises one or more of a finance transaction or a transaction pertaining to user data. Claim 3 -: 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction recipient comprises an entity that does not maintain a dedicated presence. Claim 4 -: 4. The system of claim 1, wherein first data transaction comprises one or more of a pending data transaction or a historical data transaction. Claim 5 -: 5. The system of claim 4, wherein the first data transaction is associated with a user account, and the user interface comprises one or more of a payment user interface for the pending data transaction or a transaction user interface that identifies the first data transaction and one or more other historical data transactions associated with the user account. Claim 6 -: 6. The system of claim 1, wherein is configured to cause the system to: generate a recipient account for the transaction recipient; and store the first transaction feedback data and the second transaction feedback data as part of the recipient account. Claim 7 -: 7. The system of claim 1, wherein is configured to cause the system to extract the transaction information data and cause the feedback to be generated and inserted into the user interface in response to an indication that encoded data pertaining to the first data transaction is. Claim 8 -: 8. The system of claim 1, wherein the request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient is generated based on one or more of a third data transaction initiated with the transaction recipient or of data associated with the transaction recipient. Claim 9 -: 9. The system of claim 8, wherein is configured... [id. at 7], transmit an instruction to insert the feedback indication into one or more of a payment user interface for the third data transaction or a feedback user interface associated with the of the data. (commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). ) Claim 10 -: 10. mobile comprising: ; and... [id. at 1], that is configured to execute to cause mobile: receive interaction data associated with a user interaction with a transaction recipient, the interaction data including at least some decoded data generated via a of data associated with the transaction recipient; generate, based at least in part on the at least some decoded data, a feedback request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient; transmit- the feedback request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient; receive- and based at least in part on the feedback request, a feedback indication including the user feedback; and cause the user feedback to be output mobile. (commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). ) Claim 11 -: 11. mobile claim 10, wherein the interaction data comprises an indication that the user interaction comprises one or more of an initiation of a data transaction with the transaction recipient or a user request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient. Claim 12 -: 12. mobile claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises a data transaction between mobile and the transaction recipient, and is configured to execute to cause mobile insert the user feedback into a payment user interface of the data transaction. Claim 13 -: 13. mobile claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises a user request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient, and wherein is configured to execute to cause mobile insert the user feedback into a feedback user interface mobile. Claim 14 -: 14. mobile claim 10, wherein mobile associated with a user account, and wherein is configured to execute to cause mobile: present a transaction user interface that identifies data transactions for the user account and includes feedback indicia for one or more of the data transactions; receive user input to feedback indicia to provide user feedback for a data transaction with the transaction recipient; and transmit, to a feedback service, the user feedback for the data transaction with the transaction recipient. Claim 15 -: 15. mobile claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises initiation of a data transaction between mobile and the transaction recipient, and is configured to execute to cause mobile: receive an indication of user input of transaction feedback regarding the data transaction to a user interface for the data transaction; and transmit the transaction feedback to a feedback service. Claim 16 -: 16. mobile claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises initiation of a data transaction between mobile and the transaction recipient, and is configured to execute to cause mobile: receive an indication of user input of transaction feedback regarding the data transaction to a user interface for the data transaction; receive an indication of user cancellation of the data transaction prior to completion of the data transaction; and transmit the transaction... [id. at 15], Claim 17 -: 17. mobile claim 15, wherein is configured to execute to cause mobile receive the indication of user input of the transaction feedback at one or more of while the data transaction is pending or within a threshold time period after conclusion of the data transaction. (commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). ) Claim 18 -: 18. A method comprising: receiving transaction data indicating an initiation of a data transaction between a user account and a transaction recipient; causing a feedback to be generated and inserted into a user interface for the data transaction; receiving first transaction feedback data based at least in part on interaction data generated based on interaction with the feedback; converting the first transaction feedback data and second transaction feedback data for one or more second data transactions with the transaction recipient into a feedback indication of user feedback for the transaction recipient; and transmitting the feedback indication based at least in part on a request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient. (commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). ) Claim 19 -: 19. The method of claim 18, wherein causing a feedback to be generated and inserted into a user interface for the data transaction comprises one or more of: causing the feedback to be inserted into the user interface while the data transaction is pending; or causing the feedback to be inserted into the user interface within a threshold time period after conclusion of the data transaction. Claim 20 -: 20. The method of claim 18, wherein the request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient is based on one or more of an initiation of a second data transaction with the transaction recipient or decoded data generated from data associated with the transaction recipient. (commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). ) . The identified limitation(s) falls within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance: b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
These limitation excerpts, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the grouping(s) of abstract ideas of: Certain methods of organizing human activity – since: feedback for transaction recipients as recited in the claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) as commercial or legal interactions, (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). Mental processes – since: the above-underlined as recited in the claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) as concepts performed in the human mind, (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Therefore, the limitations fall within the above-identified grouping(s) of abstract ideas.
While independent claims 1, 10, and 18 do not explicitly recite verbatim this identified abstract idea, the concept of this identified abstract idea is described by the steps of independent claim 1 and is described by the steps of independent claim 10 and is described by the steps of independent claim 18.
Claim 1: Particularly regarding the analysis under Step 2A of the Office's § 101 Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, independent claim 1 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of "at least one memory", "at least one processor", "control", and "graphical". However, independent claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the exception into a practical application because "at least one memory", "at least one processor", "control", and "graphical" of independent claim 1 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality that perform functions ("at least one memory; and", "at least one processor coupled … cause the system to", "extract transaction information data for … with a transaction recipient", "cause a feedback control to … the transaction information data", "receive first transaction feedback data … with the feedback control", "convert the first transaction feedback … the transaction recipient; and" and "transmit the feedback indication based … for the transaction recipient") that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or that recite generic computer and/or field of use functions that are recited at a high-level of generality that include only steps narrowing the abstract idea [Step 2A Prong I] (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, [Step 2A Prong II] adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- see MPEP 2106.05(f) (all or portions of the "at least one processor coupled … cause the system to", "extract transaction information data for … with a transaction recipient", "cause a feedback control to … the transaction information data", "receive first transaction feedback data … with the feedback control", "convert the first transaction feedback … the transaction recipient; and", "transmit the feedback indication based … for the transaction recipient" step(s)), and adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception -- see MPEP 2106.05(g) (all or portions of the "cause a feedback control to … the transaction information data" step(s)), and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -- see MPEP 2106.05(h) (all or portions of the noted step(s)). Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Furthermore, the additional method steps comprise or include: reciting additional elements in implementing the abstract idea that do not constitute significantly more than the abstract idea because they comprise or include well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (e.g. all or portion(s) of the "cause a feedback control to … the transaction information data", (insignificant extra-solution activity) steps), see Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, and/or that are otherwise not significant toward constituting any inventive concept beyond the abstract idea. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) For example regarding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, the cited rationale have recognized the following computer function as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. at 2359, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining "shadow accounts"); Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (updating an activity log), and a web browser's back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1418 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and the cited rationale have found the following type of activity to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: recording a customer's order, Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1244, 120 USPQ2d 1844, 1856 (Fed. Cir. 2016), restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 716-17, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1755-56 (Fed. Cir. 2014), and presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, independent claim 1 is ineligible.
Claim 10: Specifically regarding the analysis under Step 2A of the Office's § 101 Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, independent claim 10 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of "mobile device", "at least one module", "at least one processor", "scan of encoded data", "transmit, over a network", and "receive, over the network". However, independent claim 10 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the exception into a practical application because "mobile device", "at least one module", "at least one processor", "scan of encoded data", "transmit, over a network", and "receive, over the network" of independent claim 10 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality that perform functions ("A mobile device comprising", "at least one module; and", "at least one processor that … the mobile device to", "receive interaction data associated with … with the transaction recipient", "generate, based at least in … with the transaction recipient", "transmit, over a network, the … with the transaction recipient", "receive, over the network and … the user feedback; and" and "cause the user feedback to … via the mobile device") that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or that recite generic computer and/or field of use functions that are recited at a high-level of generality that include only steps narrowing the abstract idea [Step 2A Prong I] (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, [Step 2A Prong II] adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- see MPEP 2106.05(f) (all or portions of the "at least one processor that … the mobile device to", "receive interaction data associated with … with the transaction recipient", "generate, based at least in … with the transaction recipient", "transmit, over a network, the … with the transaction recipient", "receive, over the network and … the user feedback; and", "cause the user feedback to … via the mobile device" step(s)), and adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception -- see MPEP 2106.05(g) (all or portions of the "receive interaction data associated with … with the transaction recipient", "transmit, over a network, the … with the transaction recipient", "receive, over the network and … the user feedback; and" step(s)), and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -- see MPEP 2106.05(h) (all or portions of the noted step(s)). Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Moreover, the additional method steps comprise or include: reciting additional elements in implementing the abstract idea that do not constitute significantly more than the abstract idea because they comprise or include well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (e.g. all or portion(s) of the "receive interaction data associated with … with the transaction recipient", "transmit, over a network, the … with the transaction recipient", "receive, over the network and … the user feedback; and", (insignificant extra-solution activity) steps), see Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, and/or that are otherwise not significant toward constituting any inventive concept beyond the abstract idea. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) For example regarding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, the cited rationale have recognized the following computer function as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (2016) (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, (2014); Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citations herein Re: Claim 1, and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348, 113 USPQ2d 1354, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (optical character recognition); and the cited rationale have found the following type of activity to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: recording a customer's order, Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2016), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1. None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, independent claim 10 is ineligible.
Claim 18: Particularly regarding the analysis under Step 2A of the Office's § 101 Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, independent claim 18 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of "control", and "graphical". However, independent claim 18 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the exception into a practical application because "control", and "graphical" of independent claim 18 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality that perform functions ("causing a feedback control to … for the data transaction", "receiving first transaction feedback data … with the feedback control", "converting the first transaction feedback … the transaction recipient; and" and "transmitting the feedback indication based … for the transaction recipient") that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or that recite generic computer and/or field of use functions that are recited at a high-level of generality that include only steps narrowing the abstract idea [Step 2A Prong I] (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, [Step 2A Prong II] adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- see MPEP 2106.05(f) (all or portions of the noted step(s)), and adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception -- see MPEP 2106.05(g) (all or portions of the "causing a feedback control to … for the data transaction" step(s)), and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -- see MPEP 2106.05(h) (all or portions of the noted step(s)). Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 1 also applies hereto. Additionally, the additional method steps comprise or include: reciting additional elements in implementing the abstract idea that do not constitute significantly more than the abstract idea because they comprise or include well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (e.g. all or portion(s) of the "causing a feedback control to … for the data transaction", (insignificant extra-solution activity) steps), see Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, and/or that are otherwise not significant toward constituting any inventive concept beyond the abstract idea. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) See discussion above regarding Claim 1 for pertinent previously cited rationale finding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities. None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, independent claim 18 is ineligible.
Independent Claims: Nothing in independent claims 1, 10, and 18 improves another technology or technical field, improves the functioning of any claimed computer device itself, applies the abstract idea with any particular machine, solves any computer problem with a computer solution, or includes any element that may otherwise be considered to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
None of the dependent claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-20 when separately considered with each dependent claim's corresponding parent claim overcomes the above analysis because none presents any method step not directed to the abstract idea that amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception or any physical structure that amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 3: Dependent claim 3 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, "online" of dependent claim 3 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality. No additional element introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 7: Dependent claim 7 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, "scanned" of dependent claim 7 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality. No additional element introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 8 and 20: Dependent claims 8 and 20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, "scan of encoded data" of dependent claims 8 and 20 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality. No additional element introduced in these claims taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 9: Dependent claim 9 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, "scan of the encoded data" of dependent claim 9 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality. No additional element introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16: Dependent claims 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, "graphical" of dependent claims 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 recite generic computer and/or field of use components pertaining to the particular technological environment that are recited a high-level of generality. No additional element introduced in these claims taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 2: Dependent claim 2 adds an additional method step of "wherein the first data transaction comprises one or more of a finance transaction or a transaction pertaining to user data". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 2 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited step) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, Regarding Step 2B, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 2 is ineligible.
Claim 3: Dependent claim 3 adds an additional method step of "wherein the transaction recipient comprises an entity that does not maintain a dedicated online presence". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 3 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited step) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 3 is ineligible.
Claim 4: Dependent claim 4 adds an additional method step of "wherein first data transaction comprises one or more of a pending data transaction or a historical data transaction". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 4 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited step) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 4 is ineligible.
Claim 5: Dependent claim 5 adds additional method steps of "wherein the first data transaction is associated with a user account, and the graphical … and one or more other historical data transactions associated with the user account". However, the additional method steps of dependent claims 5 are directed to the abstract idea noted above and do not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method steps merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrow the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 1 above. Regarding Step 2B, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) For example regarding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, the cited rationale have recognized the following computer function as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, (2014); Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citations herein Re: Claim 1; and the cited rationale have found the following type of activity to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: recording a customer's order, Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2016), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, and presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2015), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, pertaining to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps. No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 5 is ineligible.
Claim 6: Dependent claim 6 adds additional method steps of "wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to", "generate a recipient account for the transaction recipient; and", "store the first transaction feedback data and the second transaction feedback data as part of the recipient account". However, the additional method steps of dependent claims 6 are directed to the abstract idea noted above and do not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method steps merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrow the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 6 is ineligible.
Claim 7: Dependent claim 7 adds additional method steps of "wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to", "extract the transaction information data and cause the feedback control to be generated and … an indication that encoded data pertaining to the first data transaction is scanned". However, the additional method steps of dependent claims 7 are directed to the abstract idea noted above and do not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method steps merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrow the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 1 above. Regarding Step 2B, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) For example regarding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, the cited rationale have recognized the following computer function as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, (2014); Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citations herein Re: Claim 1, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 10, and a web browser's back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2015), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1; and the cited rationale have found the following type of activity to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: recording a customer's order, Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2016), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, and presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2015), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, pertaining to all or portion(s) of the "extract the transaction information data and cause the feedback control to be generated and … an indication that encoded data pertaining to the first data transaction is scanned" steps. No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 7 is ineligible.
Claim 8: Dependent claim 8 adds an additional method step of "wherein the request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient is generated based … transaction recipient or a scan of encoded data associated with the transaction recipient". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 8 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited step) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 1 above. Regarding Step 2B, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step.) For example regarding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, the cited rationale have recognized the following computer function as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 10; and the cited rationale have found the following type of activity to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: restricting public access to media by requiring a consumer to view an advertisement, Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, and presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2015), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, pertaining to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step. No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 8 is ineligible.
Claim 9: Dependent claim 9 adds an additional method step of "wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to", "transmit an instruction to insert the feedback indication into one or more of a … a feedback graphical user interface associated with the scan of the encoded data". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 9 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 1 above. Regarding Step 2B, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) For example regarding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, the cited rationale have recognized the following computer function as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 10; and the cited rationale have found the following type of activity to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: recording a customer's order, Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2016), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, and presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2015), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, pertaining to all or portion(s) of the "transmit an instruction to insert the feedback indication into one or more of a … a feedback graphical user interface associated with the scan of the encoded data" step. No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 9 is ineligible.
Claim 11: Dependent claim 11 adds an additional method step of "wherein the interaction data comprises an indication that the user interaction comprises one or … recipient or a user request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 11 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited step) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 11 is ineligible.
Claim 12: Dependent claim 12 adds additional method steps of "wherein the user interaction comprises a data transaction between the mobile device and the … the user feedback into a payment graphical user interface of the data transaction". However, the additional method steps of dependent claims 12 are directed to the abstract idea noted above and do not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method steps merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrow the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 12 is ineligible.
Claim 13: Dependent claim 13 adds an additional method step of "wherein the user interaction comprises a user request for user feedback associated with the … the user feedback into a feedback graphical user interface of the mobile device". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 13 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited step) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 13 is ineligible.
Claim 14: Dependent claim 14 adds additional method steps of "wherein the mobile device is associated with a user account, and wherein the at … to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to", "present a transaction graphical user interface that identifies data transactions for the user account and includes feedback indicia for one or more of the data transactions", "receive user input to feedback indicia to provide user feedback for a data transaction with the transaction recipient; and", "transmit, to a feedback service, the user feedback for the data transaction with the transaction recipient". However, the additional method steps of dependent claims 14 are directed to the abstract idea noted above and do not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method steps merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrow the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 14 is ineligible.
Claim 15: Dependent claim 15 adds an additional method step of "receive an indication of user input of transaction feedback regarding the data transaction to a graphical user interface for the data transaction; and", "transmit the transaction feedback to a feedback service". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 15 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 15 is ineligible.
Claim 16: Dependent claim 16 adds an additional method step of "receive an indication of user input of transaction feedback regarding the data transaction to a graphical user interface for the data transaction", "receive an indication of user cancellation of the data transaction prior to completion of the data transaction; and", "transmit the transaction feedback to a feedback service". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 16 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 16 is ineligible.
Claim 17: Dependent claim 17 adds an additional method step of "wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to", "receive the indication of user input of the transaction feedback at one or more … pending or within a threshold time period after conclusion of the data transaction". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 17 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 2 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 2 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 17 is ineligible.
Claim 19: Dependent claim 19 adds additional method steps of "wherein causing a feedback control to be generated and inserted into a graphical user interface for the data transaction comprises one or more of", "causing the feedback control to be inserted into the graphical user interface while the data transaction is pending; or", "causing the feedback control to be inserted into the graphical user interface within a threshold time period after conclusion of the data transaction". However, the additional method steps of dependent claims 19 are directed to the abstract idea noted above and do not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method steps merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrow the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps) and/or because the additional method steps comprise or include: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 1 above. Regarding Step 2B treatment of the evaluated additional elements individually and in combination, the same previously-stated legal authority and/or rationale supporting the grounds of rejection applied to the above Claim 1 also applies hereto. (E.g. These previously-stated grounds of rejection that were italicized when applied to the referenced previous Claim(s) apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps.) See discussion above regarding Claim 1 for pertinent previously cited rationale finding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, pertaining to all or portion(s) of the noted recited steps. No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 19 is ineligible.
Claim 20: Dependent claim 20 adds an additional method step of "wherein the request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient is based on … data generated from a scan of encoded data associated with the transaction recipient". However, the additional method step of dependent claims 20 is directed to the abstract idea noted above and does not otherwise alter the analysis presented above, and do not integrate the exception into a practical application, because the additional method step merely perform, conduct, carry out, and/or implement the abstract idea itself and/or only narrows the abstract idea (e.g. all or portion(s) of the noted recited step) and/or because the additional method step comprises or includes: evaluated additional elements individually and in combination for which the courts have identified examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application, as previously discussed regarding Claim 1 above. Regarding Step 2B, the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and the additional elements do not add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and the additional elements do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (E.g. The above-italicized grounds of rejection apply at least to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step.) For example regarding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, the cited rationale have recognized the following computer function as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, (2014); Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citations herein Re: Claim 1, and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, (Fed. Cir. 2014), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 10; and the cited rationale have found the following type of activity to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when it is claimed or as insignificant extra-solution activity: recording a customer's order, Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., (Fed. Cir. 2016), see previous legal citation herein Re: Claim 1, pertaining to all or portion(s) of the noted recited step. No additional step introduced in this claim taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, dependent claim 20 is ineligible.
§101 Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1-st Prior Art Category: Claims 1-6 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0117651 A1 of Davis; Stephen Moore, (hereinafter "DAVIS").
Claim 1, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 1 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 1 is an independent claim. DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 1 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 1, a system comprising: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 1 ¶ 2 • at least one memory; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "memory" pars. [0133], [0335], [0337], [0341], [0344]-[0347], [0352])
• 1 ¶ 3 • at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the system to: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "processor" pars. [0065], [0072], [0271], [0274], [0278]-[0279], [0282], [0284], [0288], [0290], [0293]-[0294], [0302], [0311], [0313], [0315], [0326], [0329]-[0330], [0335], [0340]-[0341], [0344]-[0346], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "processor 1802 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program[; a]s an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, the processor 1802 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, the memory" par. [0345]; see also "processor" [and] "memory" pars. [0335], [0341], [0344]-[0346] and e.g. "[f]IG. 18 illustrates a block diagram of exemplary computing device 1800 that may be configured to perform one or more of the processes described above[; o]ne will appreciate that one or more computing devices such as the computing device 1800 may implement the payment system 100[; a]s shown by FIG. 18, the computing device 1800 can comprise a processor 1802, a memory 1804, a storage device 1806, an I/O interface 1808, and a communication interface 1810, which may be communicatively coupled by way of a communication infrastructure 1812" par. [0344])
• 1 ¶ 4 • extract transaction information data for a first data transaction with a transaction recipient; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "network application 204 can receive the payment message 302 and use information provided by the payment message 302 to determine if the sender has a payment credential 306 on file[; f]or example, the network system 204 can use a network identifier (e.g., username or other ID) to lookup a user profile for the user in the user profile database 240 to determine if the user profile has a payment credential associated therewith" par. [0128] and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265])
• 1 ¶ 5 • cause a feedback control to be generated and inserted into a graphical user interface that includes at least some of the transaction information data; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the network application 204 can request that the recipient to provide a payment credential 336[; i]n particular, the communication manager 230 can send a prompt 330 to the recipient client device 104b to prompt the recipient to provide a payment credential 326[; t]he network application 204 can cause the communication manager 230 to send the prompt 330 prior to proceeding with the payment transaction" par. [0141] and e.g. "[t]he user interface manager 206 can provide, manage, and/or control a graphical user interface (or simply "user interface") that allows a user to compose, view, and send messages as well as send payments[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that facilitates the composition of a message, such as an instant message[; l]ikewise, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that displays messages received from other users" par. [0074]; see also "graphical user interface" pars. [0046], [0052], [0074], [0153], [0157]-[0159], [0162]-[0164], [0167]-[0168], [0173], [0177], [0198], [0228], [0312], [0314], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0325], [0327], [0332]-[0333], [0348] and e.g. "the network application 204 can send the payment message content 328 to the recipient client device 104b so that the client application 202 of the recipient client device 104b can post 329 the payment message content 328[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can add the text of the payment message 302 to a communication thread having messages exchanged between the sender and the recipient as a received message" par. [0139])
• 1 ¶ 6 • receive first transaction feedback data based at least in part on interaction data generated based on interaction with the feedback control; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the payment credential information 332, the network application 204 can associate one or more payment credentials 326 with the recipient based on the payment credential information 332[; o]ptionally, the network application 204 can generate a token 335 similar to the token 314[; t]he token 335 can map to the payment credential details and allow the network application 204 to retrieve the payment credential in response to subsequent payment requests" par. [0143] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 1 ¶ 7 • convert the first transaction feedback data and second transaction feedback data for one or more second data transactions with the transaction recipient into a feedback indication of user feedback for the transaction recipient; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 1 ¶ 8 • transmit the feedback indication based at least in part on a request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
Claim 2, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 2 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 2 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 1, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 2 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 2, the system of claim 1, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 2 ¶ 2 • wherein the first data transaction comprises one or more of a finance transaction or a transaction pertaining to user data. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the term "payment message" refers to a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "payment transaction" Abstract, pars. [0012]-[0013], [0015]-[0016], [0022], [0024]-[0025], [0028]-[0029], [0034]-[0035], [0040]-[0041], [0044]-[0045], [0049]-[0051], [0058], [0090], [0095], [0098], [0108], [0129], [0135], [0137], [0141], [0147]-[0148], [0161], [0170]-[0171], [0180], [0191], [0193]-[0194], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0210], [0213], [0215]-[0216], [0219], [0224], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0233]-[0234], [0236]-[0242], [0254]-[0255], [0262]-[0265], [0271]-[0276], [0278]-[0279], [0281]-[0283], [0296]-[0298], [0301]-[0312], [0315], [0317]-[0318], [0322]-[0324], [0326], [0330]-[0331])
Claim 3, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 3 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 3 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 1, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 3 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 3, the system of claim 1, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 3 ¶ 2 • wherein the transaction recipient comprises an entity that does not maintain a dedicated online presence. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a user can determine whether a desired recipient is a user of the system prior to providing sensitive financial information[; i]f the desired recipient is not a user of the system, the system can allow the user to request that the desired recipient enroll and verify that the recipient is enrolled prior to providing a payment credential" par. [0015] or "a user can determine whether a desired recipient is a user of the integrated message and payment system prior to providing sensitive financial information[; i]f the desired recipient is not a user of the integrated message and payment system, the integrated message and payment system can allow the user to request that the desired recipient enroll" par. [0044] or "the contacts user interface 404 can inform the user whether a co-user will be able to "instantly" receive a payment or whether the user may need to invite the co-user to enroll" par. [0161])
Claim 4, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 4 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 4 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 1, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 4 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 4, the system of claim 1, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 4 ¶ 2 • wherein first data transaction comprises one or more of a pending data transaction or a historical data transaction. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the user interface manager 206 can include "[p]ending..." or another signal to let the recipient know that the payment transaction is still pending" par. [0206] or "the user interface manager 206 can show a payment message 432 indicating the payment amount and an indication that the transaction is still pending (i.e., "[p]ending..." or another signal)" par. [0208] or "pending the sender providing a payment credential" par. [0209] or "pending until the sender provides a payment credential" par. [0213]; see also "pending payment" pars. [0210], [0262] and e.g. "historical data of other users of the social-networking system who have initiated payment events[; i]n one or more embodiments, the message analyzer 212 trains a machine-learning model using historical data" par. [0232] or "historical data of other users of the social-networking system who have gone through events, as defined by the system 100[; i]n one or more embodiments, the system 100 trains a machine-learning model using historical data" par. [0248] or "historical data of a user as an input for determining a probability score indicative of whether the user will undergo a particular event based on historical data" par. [0252]"historical actions and past user responses, or data farmed from users by exposing them to various options and measuring responses" par. [0381])
Claim 5, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 5 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 5 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 4, which is also a dependent claim, and thus the instant claim indirectly depends upon claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claims 4 and 1, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 5 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 5, the system of claim 4, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 5 ¶ 2 • wherein the first data transaction is associated with a user account, and the graphical user interface comprises one or more of a payment graphical user interface for the pending data transaction or a transaction graphical user interface that identifies the first data transaction and one or more other historical data transactions associated with the user account. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the system 100 can coordinate a transaction between one or more accounts of the sender user 102a and one or more accounts of the recipient user 102b via the payment network 115[; f]or example, in response to receiving a payment message from the sender user 102a, the server device(s) can communicate transaction information to process a payment using one or more components within the payment network 115[; a]lternatively, or additionally, the system 100 can maintain one or more user accounts directly, and therefore, the system 100 can coordinate a transaction, or a portion of a transaction" par. [0063]; see also "user account" pars. [0102], [0106], [0114] and e.g. "the systems and methods can allow a user to send a co-user(s) an electronic payment via a messaging interface that also allows for the exchange of electronic messages with the co-user(s)[; t]he integration of an electronic payment system and a messaging system can provide users with the ability to send and receive electronic payments within the flow of a conversation[; t]hus, one or more embodiments allow users to communicate about a payment transaction and conduct the transaction without having to open a separate application dedicated to electronic payments" par. [0012] or "[f]IGS. [] illustrate user interfaces for [] payment" pars. [0022]-[0027]; see also "payment [] interface" pars. [0012], [0039], [0052], [0077]-[0078], [0080], [0085], [0090], [0098], [0106], [0138]-[0139], [0156], [0159], [0161], [0169]-[0173], [0175]-[0180], [0183]-[0198], [0200]-[0201], [0204], [0206]-[0210], [0215], [0219]-[0223], [0228]-[0229], [0236]-[0240], [0255], [0257]-[0263], [0268]-[0269], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0332]-[0333], [0344] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "historical data of other users of the social-networking system who have initiated payment events[; i]n one or more embodiments, the message analyzer 212 trains a machine-learning model using historical data" par. [0232] or "historical data of other users of the social-networking system who have gone through events, as defined by the system 100[; i]n one or more embodiments, the system 100 trains a machine-learning model using historical data" par. [0248] or "historical data of a user as an input for determining a probability score indicative of whether the user will undergo a particular event based on historical data" par. [0252]"historical actions and past user responses, or data farmed from users by exposing them to various options and measuring responses" par. [0381])
Claim 6, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 6 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 6 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 1, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 6 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 6, the system of claim 1, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 6 ¶ 2 • wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "processor" pars. [0065], [0072], [0271], [0274], [0278]-[0279], [0282], [0284], [0288], [0290], [0293]-[0294], [0302], [0311], [0313], [0315], [0326], [0329]-[0330], [0335], [0340]-[0341], [0344]-[0346], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "[f]IG. 18 illustrates a block diagram of exemplary computing device 1800 that may be configured to perform one or more of the processes described above[; o]ne will appreciate that one or more computing devices such as the computing device 1800 may implement the payment system 100[; a]s shown by FIG. 18, the computing device 1800 can comprise a processor 1802, a memory 1804, a storage device 1806, an I/O interface 1808, and a communication interface 1810, which may be communicatively coupled by way of a communication infrastructure 1812" par. [0344] and e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 6 ¶ 3 • generate a recipient account for the transaction recipient; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[i]n the event that the recipient's user profile does not include a payment credential, the payment manager 236 can direct the communication manager 230 to send the recipient a message prompting the recipient to provide a payment credential[; t]he message may prompt the recipient to register a payment credential by providing one or more interactive fields that allows the recipient to provide payment credential details[; a]dditionally, or alternatively, upon determining that a recipient does not have a registered payment credential, the payment manager 236 can generate a temporary deposit 242[; i]n particular, the payment manager 236 can generate an account number and associate the account number with the recipient's user profile" par. [0112]; see also "a user profile/account for that user" par. [0133] or "payment status indicator 411 can indicate whether a given co-user is enrolled or capable of receiving or sending electronic payments using the system 100[; f]or example, the presence of a payment status indicator 411 next to the name of a given co-user can indicate that the given co-user has a payment credential associated with their account or profile with the system 100 or network application 204" par. [0159])
• 6 ¶ 4 • store the first transaction feedback data and the second transaction feedback data as part of the recipient account. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "network application 204 use information provided by the payment message 302 to determine if the recipient has a payment credential 326 on file[; f]or example, the network system 204 can use a network identifier (e.g., username or other ID) to lookup a user profile for the recipient in the user profile database 240 to determine if the user profile has a payment credential associated therewith[; i]f the recipient has a payment credential 326, the network application 204 can validate the recipient and/or the payment credential 326" par. [0140] "[u]pon receiving the payment credential information 332, the network application 204 can associate one or more payment credentials 326 with the recipient based on the payment credential information 332" par. [0143])
Claim 18, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 18 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 18 is an independent claim. DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 18 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 18, a method comprising: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "method" pars. [0005], [0028]-[0035], [0049], [0061], [0065], [0092], [0101], [0114], [0118], [0120]-[0121], [0151], [0203], [0270]-[0272], [0274], [0278]-[0285], [0287]-[0313], [0315]-[0333], Claims 1-19)
• 18 ¶ 2 • receiving transaction data indicating an initiation of a data transaction between a user account and a transaction recipient; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a messaging system that allows two or more users to send and receive messages as well as electronic payments[; f]or example, the systems and methods can allow a user to send a co-user(s) an electronic payment via a messaging interface that also allows for the exchange of electronic messages with the co-user(s)[; t]he integration of an electronic payment system and a messaging system can provide users with the ability to send and receive electronic payments within the flow of a conversation[; t]hus, one or more embodiments allow users to communicate about a payment transaction and conduct the transaction without having to open a separate application dedicated to electronic payments" par. [0012]; see also "receive [] message" pars. [0039], [0043], [0057], [0078], [0089], [0099], [0104]-[0105], [0128], [0215], [0359] or "receiving [] message" pars. [0039], [0046], [0061], [0063], [0084], [0086]-[0087], [0100], [0108], [0122], [0324] or "received [] message" pars. [0090], [0094], [0099], [0104], [0106], [0136], [0139], [0232], [0262] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "the system 100 can coordinate a transaction between one or more accounts of the sender user 102a and one or more accounts of the recipient user 102b via the payment network 115[; f]or example, in response to receiving a payment message from the sender user 102a, the server device(s) can communicate transaction information to process a payment using one or more components within the payment network 115[; a]lternatively, or additionally, the system 100 can maintain one or more user accounts directly, and therefore, the system 100 can coordinate a transaction, or a portion of a transaction" par. [0063]; see also "user account" pars. [0102], [0106], [0114] and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265])
• 18 ¶ 3 • causing a feedback control to be generated and inserted into a graphical user interface for the data transaction; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the network application 204 can request that the recipient to provide a payment credential 336[; i]n particular, the communication manager 230 can send a prompt 330 to the recipient client device 104b to prompt the recipient to provide a payment credential 326[; t]he network application 204 can cause the communication manager 230 to send the prompt 330 prior to proceeding with the payment transaction" par. [0141] and e.g. "[t]he user interface manager 206 can provide, manage, and/or control a graphical user interface (or simply "user interface") that allows a user to compose, view, and send messages as well as send payments[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that facilitates the composition of a message, such as an instant message[; l]ikewise, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that displays messages received from other users" par. [0074]; see also "graphical user interface" pars. [0046], [0052], [0074], [0153], [0157]-[0159], [0162]-[0164], [0167]-[0168], [0173], [0177], [0198], [0228], [0312], [0314], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0325], [0327], [0332]-[0333], [0348] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 18 ¶ 4 • receiving first transaction feedback data based at least in part on interaction data generated based on interaction with the feedback control; See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 1 Par. 6;
• 18 ¶ 5 • converting the first transaction feedback data and second transaction feedback data for one or more second data transactions with the transaction recipient into a feedback indication of user feedback for the transaction recipient; and See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 1 Par. 7;
• 18 ¶ 6 • transmitting the feedback indication based at least in part on a request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient. See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 1 Par. 8;
Claim 19, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 19 is rejected as being anticipated by DAVIS. Claim 19 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 18, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 18, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 19 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 19, the method of claim 18, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "method" pars. [0005], [0028]-[0035], [0049], [0061], [0065], [0092], [0101], [0114], [0118], [0120]-[0121], [0151], [0203], [0270]-[0272], [0274], [0278]-[0285], [0287]-[0313], [0315]-[0333], Claims 1-19)
• 19 ¶ 2 • wherein causing a feedback control to be generated and inserted into a graphical user interface for the data transaction comprises one or more of : Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the network application 204 can request that the recipient to provide a payment credential 336[; i]n particular, the communication manager 230 can send a prompt 330 to the recipient client device 104b to prompt the recipient to provide a payment credential 326[; t]he network application 204 can cause the communication manager 230 to send the prompt 330 prior to proceeding with the payment transaction" par. [0141] and e.g. "[t]he user interface manager 206 can provide, manage, and/or control a graphical user interface (or simply "user interface") that allows a user to compose, view, and send messages as well as send payments[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that facilitates the composition of a message, such as an instant message[; l]ikewise, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that displays messages received from other users" par. [0074]; see also "graphical user interface" pars. [0046], [0052], [0074], [0153], [0157]-[0159], [0162]-[0164], [0167]-[0168], [0173], [0177], [0198], [0228], [0312], [0314], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0325], [0327], [0332]-[0333], [0348] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 19 ¶ 3 • causing the feedback control to be inserted into the graphical user interface while the data transaction is pending; or Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the network application 204 can request that the recipient to provide a payment credential 336[; i]n particular, the communication manager 230 can send a prompt 330 to the recipient client device 104b to prompt the recipient to provide a payment credential 326[; t]he network application 204 can cause the communication manager 230 to send the prompt 330 prior to proceeding with the payment transaction" par. [0141] and e.g. "the user interface manager 206 can include "[p]ending..." or another signal to let the recipient know that the payment transaction is still pending" par. [0206] or "the user interface manager 206 can show a payment message 432 indicating the payment amount and an indication that the transaction is still pending (i.e., "[p]ending..." or another signal)" par. [0208] or "pending the sender providing a payment credential" par. [0209] or "pending until the sender provides a payment credential" par. [0213]; see also "pending payment" pars. [0210], [0262])
• 19 ¶ 4 • causing the feedback control to be inserted into the graphical user interface within a threshold time period after conclusion of the data transaction. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "timer for incrementing the payment amount 432[; s]pecifically, the user input detector can monitor a period of time since a selection of a selectable element 430a, 430b, 430c and determine that the payment amount 432 is final and process the transaction if the sender has not selected a selectable element 430a, 430b, 430c within an inactivity threshold" par. [0177] or "time elapsed after receiving the request[; t]o illustrate, act 1406 can involve detecting that the time elapsed after receiving the request satisfies a time threshold" par. [0300] or "time elapsed after receiving the request to initiate the payment transaction satisfies a time threshold" par. [0307] or "time since a selection of a selectable element 1100 of the plurality of selectable elements 1100[; t]he method 1600 can also include determining that the monitored period of time has met a predetermined inactivity threshold" par. [0317] or "time since a selection of a selectable icon of the plurality of selectable icons[; a]ct 1714 can further involve determining that the monitored period of time has met a predetermined inactivity threshold" par. [0331])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
2-nd Prior Art Category: Claims 7-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAVIS in view of U.S. Patent No. US 8,413,882 B1 to Nidamarthi; Lakshmi S. et al., (hereinafter "NIDAMARTHI").
Claim 7, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 7 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 7 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 1, the combined disclosures and teachings of DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI taken together render obvious the claimed subject matter of claim 7 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 7, the system of claim 1, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 7 ¶ 2 • wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 6 Par. 2;
• 7 ¶ 3 • extract the transaction information data and cause the feedback control to be generated and inserted into the graphical user interface in response to an indication that encoded data pertaining to the first data transaction is scanned. Reference (DAVIS: doesn't expressly and explicitly recite and cause the feedback control to be generated...interface in response to an indication that --- however NIDAMARTHI: clearly discloses, teaches, and/or suggests the feature -- e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12), [See Remarks Below]; (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "security codes, transfer or routing identification numbers, and bank information required for money transfers[; t]he user can also create an authorization code such as a personal identification number (PIN), or use a security code of a credit card, e.g., when providing only a single payment method, or provide some other authorization code" par. [0118] or "a card security code of the payment card (e.g., a Card Verification Value (CVV or CVV2)), a billing address (including street name, house number, city, state or province, zip code, country, etc.)" par. [0119] or "a security code, and a billing ZIP code" pars. [0190], [0201]; see also e.g. (NIDAMARTHI: e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12)); (DAVIS: doesn't expressly and explicitly recite is scanned. --- however NIDAMARTHI: clearly discloses, teaches, and/or suggests the feature -- as described previously in this paragraph)
With respect to above-noted claimed elements [1] "cause" and [2] "in response to an indication that encoded data" and [3] "is scanned" which are disclosed by NIDAMARTHI: the teachings and/or suggestions within the disclosure of DAVIS thus far relied upon fails to record within its writings an explicit and express recital of [1] "cause" and [2] "in response to an indication that encoded data" and [3] "is scanned" as recited in the claim being considered. However, herein relied upon are portions of the disclosure of NIDAMARTHI which sufficiently teaches the features appurtenant to the claimed invention as pointed out above with reference(s) to exemplary disclosures within NIDAMARTHI that teach and/or suggest the claimed features. At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the relied upon teachings of DAVIS by adding or substituting the features [1] "cause" and [2] "in response to an indication that encoded data" and [3] "is scanned" as taught and/or suggested by NIDAMARTHI, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. The addition or substitution of these known features by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have yielded predictable results that were plainly reckonable to that ordinarily skilled one person in the art at that time. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of DAVIS with these aforementioned teachings of [1] "cause" and [2] "in response to an indication that encoded data" and [3] "is scanned" sufficiently taught, suggested, and/or disclosed in NIDAMARTHI because that one skilled artisan having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would have had a motivation of having "mobile computing devices include laptop computers, tablet computers, and handheld telephones[; wherein e]xpansion of the capabilities of such mobile devices has increased opportunities for the user of a mobile device to participate in electronic commerce". (NIDAMARTHI: col. 1 lns. 26 - 34).
Claim 8, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 8 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 8 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 1, the combined disclosures and teachings of DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI taken together render obvious the claimed subject matter of claim 8 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 8, the system of claim 1, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 8 ¶ 2 • wherein the request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient is generated based on one or more of a third data transaction initiated with the transaction recipient or a scan of encoded data associated with the transaction recipient. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142]) (DAVIS: doesn't expressly and explicitly recite or a scan --- however NIDAMARTHI: clearly discloses, teaches, and/or suggests the feature -- e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12), [See Remarks Below]; (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "security codes, transfer or routing identification numbers, and bank information required for money transfers[; t]he user can also create an authorization code such as a personal identification number (PIN), or use a security code of a credit card, e.g., when providing only a single payment method, or provide some other authorization code" par. [0118] or "a card security code of the payment card (e.g., a Card Verification Value (CVV or CVV2)), a billing address (including street name, house number, city, state or province, zip code, country, etc.)" par. [0119] or "a security code, and a billing ZIP code" pars. [0190], [0201]; see also e.g. (NIDAMARTHI: e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12) and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265])
With respect to above-noted claimed element "a scan" which is disclosed by NIDAMARTHI: the teachings and/or suggestions within the disclosure of DAVIS thus far relied upon does not record within its writings the reciting explicitly and expressly of a scan as presented within the instant claim. Nonetheless, herein relied upon are portions of the disclosure of NIDAMARTHI which sufficiently teaches the feature appurtenant to the claimed invention as annotated above with reference(s) to exemplary disclosures within NIDAMARTHI that teach and/or suggest the claimed feature. At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the relied upon teachings of DAVIS by adding or substituting the feature a scan as taught and/or suggested by NIDAMARTHI, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. The addition or substitution of this known feature by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have yielded predictable results that were plainly reckonable to that one person of ordinary skill in the art at that time. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of DAVIS with these above-described teachings of "a scan" sufficiently taught, suggested, and/or disclosed in NIDAMARTHI because that one skilled artisan having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would have had a motivation of having "mobile computing devices include laptop computers, tablet computers, and handheld telephones[; wherein e]xpansion of the capabilities of such mobile devices has increased opportunities for the user of a mobile device to participate in electronic commerce". (NIDAMARTHI: col. 1 lns. 26 - 34).
Claim 9, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 9 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 9 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 8, which is also a dependent claim, and thus the instant claim indirectly depends upon claim 1, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claims 8 and 1, the combined disclosures and teachings of DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI taken together render obvious the claimed subject matter of claim 9 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 9, the system of claim 8, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a system" pars. [0005]-[0006])
• 9 ¶ 2 • wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 6 Par. 2;
• 9 ¶ 3 • transmit an instruction to insert the feedback indication into one or more of a payment graphical user interface for the third data transaction or a feedback graphical user interface associated with the scan of the encoded data. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "the systems and methods can allow a user to send a co-user(s) an electronic payment via a messaging interface that also allows for the exchange of electronic messages with the co-user(s)[; t]he integration of an electronic payment system and a messaging system can provide users with the ability to send and receive electronic payments within the flow of a conversation[; t]hus, one or more embodiments allow users to communicate about a payment transaction and conduct the transaction without having to open a separate application dedicated to electronic payments" par. [0012] or "[f]IGS. [] illustrate user interfaces for [] payment" pars. [0022]-[0027]; see also "payment [] interface" pars. [0012], [0039], [0052], [0077]-[0078], [0080], [0085], [0090], [0098], [0106], [0138]-[0139], [0156], [0159], [0161], [0169]-[0173], [0175]-[0180], [0183]-[0198], [0200]-[0201], [0204], [0206]-[0210], [0215], [0219]-[0223], [0228]-[0229], [0236]-[0240], [0255], [0257]-[0263], [0268]-[0269], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0332]-[0333], [0344]); (DAVIS: doesn't expressly and explicitly recite associated with --- however NIDAMARTHI: clearly discloses, teaches, and/or suggests the feature -- e.g. "[f]IG. 4B is an example illustration of one embodiment of a two-dimensional and optically scannable representation of encoded information containing customer feedback for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; a] guidance feature for satisfaction 450 instructs a user to select a QR code for satisfaction 452 if the user is satisfied[][; l]ikewise, a guidance feature for dissatisfaction 454 instructs a user to select a QR code for dissatisfaction 456 if the user is dissatisfied[][; i]n selecting one of QR code for satisfaction 452 and QR code for dissatisfaction 456, the user is able to provide immediate feedback with respect" col. 16 lns. 24 - 36), [See Remarks Below]; (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "security codes, transfer or routing identification numbers, and bank information required for money transfers[; t]he user can also create an authorization code such as a personal identification number (PIN), or use a security code of a credit card, e.g., when providing only a single payment method, or provide some other authorization code" par. [0118] or "a card security code of the payment card (e.g., a Card Verification Value (CVV or CVV2)), a billing address (including street name, house number, city, state or province, zip code, country, etc.)" par. [0119] or "a security code, and a billing ZIP code" pars. [0190], [0201]; see also e.g. (NIDAMARTHI: e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12))
With respect to above-noted claimed element "associated with the scan" which is disclosed by NIDAMARTHI: the teachings and/or suggestions within the disclosure of DAVIS thus far relied upon fails to record within its writings an explicit and express recitation of associated with the scan as recited in the claim being considered. Nonetheless, herein relied upon are portions of the disclosure of NIDAMARTHI which sufficiently teaches the feature apposite to the claimed invention as commented about above with quotation(s) of exemplary disclosures within NIDAMARTHI that teach and/or suggest the claimed feature. At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the relied upon teachings of DAVIS by adding or substituting the feature associated with the scan as taught and/or suggested by NIDAMARTHI, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. The addition or substitution of this known feature by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have yielded predictable results that were easily foreseeable to that one person of ordinary skill in the art at that time. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of DAVIS with these previously described teachings of "associated with the scan" sufficiently taught, suggested, and/or disclosed in NIDAMARTHI because that one artisan of skill having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would have had a motivation of having "mobile computing devices include laptop computers, tablet computers, and handheld telephones[; wherein e]xpansion of the capabilities of such mobile devices has increased opportunities for the user of a mobile device to participate in electronic commerce". (NIDAMARTHI: col. 1 lns. 26 - 34).
Claim 10, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 10 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 10 is an independent claim. The combined disclosures and teachings of DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI taken together render obvious the claimed subject matter of claim 10 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 10, a mobile device comprising: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329])
• 10 ¶ 2 • at least one module; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "any of components 206-218, 230-240, and 236-254 may be combined into fewer components, such as into a single facility or module, or divided into more components as may serve a particular embodiment [] FIG. 2 describes certain components as part of the client applications 202 and other components as part of the network application 204, the present invention is not so limited[; i]n alternative embodiments, one or more of the components shown as part of the client application 202 can be part of the network application 204 or vice versa" par. [0071] or "social-networking system 1902 may include a variety of servers, sub-systems, programs, modules, logs, and data stores[; i]n particular embodiments, social-networking system 1902 may include one or more of the following: a web server, action logger, API-request server, relevance-and-ranking engine, content-object classifier, notification controller, action log, third-party-content-object-exposure log, inference module, authorization/privacy server, search module, advertisement-targeting module, user-interface module" par. [0366] or "program modules may be located in both local and remote memory storage devices" par. [0341]; see also "profile storage module" par. [0119] or "one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices" par. [0338])
• 10 ¶ 3 • at least one processor that is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "processor" pars. [0065], [0072], [0271], [0274], [0278]-[0279], [0282], [0284], [0288], [0290], [0293]-[0294], [0302], [0311], [0313], [0315], [0326], [0329]-[0330], [0335], [0340]-[0341], [0344]-[0346], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329])
• 10 ¶ 4 • receive interaction data associated with a user interaction with a transaction recipient, the interaction data including at least some decoded data generated via a scan of encoded data associated with the transaction recipient; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "user input detector 208 can detect, receive, and/or facilitate user input in any suitable manner[; i]n some examples, the user input detector 208 can detect one or more user interactions with respect to the user interface[; a]s referred to herein, a "user interaction" means a single interaction, or combination of interactions, received from a user by way of one or more input devices" par. [0081] or "user input detector 208 can detect a user interaction from a keyboard, mouse, touch pad, touch screen, and/or any other input device" par. [0082] or "input detector 208 may additionally, or alternatively, receive data representative of a user interaction[; f]or example, user input detector 208 may receive one or more user configurable parameters from a user, one or more user commands from the user, and/or any other suitable user input[; t]he user input detector 208 may receive input data from one or more components of the communication application 202, from the storage on the client device 104a, 104b, or from one or more remote locations (e.g., the network application 204)" par. [0083] or "[u]pon detecting the user interaction with the payment element, the user input detector 208 can cause the user interface manager 206 to provide a user interface for creating a payment" par. [0085] or "system 100 can utilize user interaction information, such as information associated with comments or "likes" corresponding to the electronic message[; t]he system 100 can also utilize sharing data associated with one or more electronic messages (e.g., which users shared an electronic message with other users)" par. [0246] or and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265] and e.g. "[i]/O interface 1808 allows a user to provide input to, receive output from, and otherwise transfer data to and receive data from computing device 1800[; t]he I/O interface 1808 may include a mouse, a keypad or a keyboard, a touch screen, a camera, an optical scanner" par. [0348]); (DAVIS: doesn't expressly and explicitly recite at least some decoded data generated --- however NIDAMARTHI: clearly discloses, teaches, and/or suggests the feature -- e.g. "scanning function 120 of mobile computing device 118 is implemented as an application for capturing an image of reflected ambient light with a camera of mobile device 118 and decoding content of QR code or other 2-dimensional matrix barcode (such as Aztec.TM. barcode by Welch Allyn, Inc. or other data matrix bar code)" col. 5 lns. 32 - 45 or "a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information[; i]n embodiments including a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information, the encoded information may be reduced to a mere serial number that can then be transmitted back to a server" or col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12 or "causing a scanning function of a mobile computing device to read a machine-readable representation of encoded information [] and decode the encoded information, wherein the encoded information associates [] with a transaction; a signaling function for causing the mobile computing device to transmit, using the encoded information, an item of recipient reaction information to a server at a network location" Claim 15; see also Fig. 4B, Fig. 9 and DETAILED DESCRIPTION regarding Figs. 4B and 9, e.g. "[f]IG. 4B is an example illustration of one embodiment of a two-dimensional and optically scannable representation of encoded information containing customer feedback for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; a] guidance feature for satisfaction 450 instructs a user to select a QR code for satisfaction 452 if the user is satisfied[][; l]ikewise, a guidance feature for dissatisfaction 454 instructs a user to select a QR code for dissatisfaction 456 if the user is dissatisfied[][; i]n selecting one of QR code for satisfaction 452 and QR code for dissatisfaction 456, the user is able to provide immediate feedback" col. 16 lns. 24 - 36 or "[f]IG. 9 is an example embodiment of a user interface of a mobile computing device for implementing transaction-related feedback communication using machine-readable encoded information[; a]pplication interface 505 of mobile device 500 displays [] rating interface 900 for gathering user feedback[; a] set of rating buttons 910a-910f allows a user to provide standardized feedback[; t]oolbar 525 contains customer service request button 530, tracking button 535, social media button 540, reward points button 545, and contents button 550" col. 19 lns. 4 - 21), [See Remarks Below]; (DAVIS: discloses as described previously in this paragraph); (DAVIS: doesn't expressly and explicitly recite a scan --- however NIDAMARTHI: clearly discloses, teaches, and/or suggests the feature -- e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12), [See Remarks after Claim 8 Par. 2 herein for previously explained rationale or reasoned explanation supporting the finding of obviousness regarding the above-identified combination]; (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "security codes, transfer or routing identification numbers, and bank information required for money transfers[; t]he user can also create an authorization code such as a personal identification number (PIN), or use a security code of a credit card, e.g., when providing only a single payment method, or provide some other authorization code" par. [0118] or "a card security code of the payment card (e.g., a Card Verification Value (CVV or CVV2)), a billing address (including street name, house number, city, state or province, zip code, country, etc.)" par. [0119] or "a security code, and a billing ZIP code" pars. [0190], [0201]; see also e.g. (NIDAMARTHI: e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12) and as already cited in this par.)
With respect to above-noted claimed element "at least some decoded data generated via a scan" which is disclosed by NIDAMARTHI: the teachings and/or suggestions within the disclosure of DAVIS thus far relied upon does not record within its descriptions the reciting explicitly and expressly of at least some decoded data generated via a scan as required by the claim being considered. However, herein relied upon are portions of the disclosure of NIDAMARTHI which sufficiently teaches the feature applicable to the claimed invention as pointed out above with reference(s) to exemplary disclosures within NIDAMARTHI that teach and/or suggest the claimed feature. At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the relied upon teachings of DAVIS by adding or substituting the feature at least some decoded data generated via a scan as taught and/or suggested by NIDAMARTHI, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. The addition or substitution of this known feature by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have yielded predictable results that were plainly foreseeable to that ordinarily skilled one person in the art at that time. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of DAVIS with these aforementioned teachings of "at least some decoded data generated via a scan" sufficiently taught, suggested, and/or disclosed in NIDAMARTHI because that skilled one artisan having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would have had a motivation of having "mobile computing devices include laptop computers, tablet computers, and handheld telephones[; wherein e]xpansion of the capabilities of such mobile devices has increased opportunities for the user of a mobile device to participate in electronic commerce". (NIDAMARTHI: col. 1 lns. 26 - 34).
• 10 ¶ 5 • generate, based at least in part on the at least some decoded data, a feedback request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a user can communicate with one or more other users using natural language phrases in electronic messages[; b]y using natural language detection, the message analyzer 212 can interpret the content of the messages to the other users[; i]f the user sends a request to initiate a payment transaction using natural language, the message analyzer 212 can infer the request from the natural language and provide the option to initiate the payment transaction[; a]dditionally or alternatively, the message analyzer 212 can provide an option to complete an initiated payment transaction" par. [0095]; see also "user [] request" pars. [0014]-[0015], [0043]-[0044], [0051], [0095], [0129]-[0130], [0171], [0199], [0207], [0215], [0247], [0255], [0257]-[0263], [0268]-[0269], [0276]-[0278], [0280], [0288], [0294]-[0295], [0297], [0300], [0302]-[0304], [0307], [0322], [0326], [0331], [0358], [0366], [0368], [0372], [0386], [0389], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 10 ¶ 6 • transmit, over a network, the feedback request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[a] "network" is defined as one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices[; w]hen information is transferred or provided over a network or another communications connection (either hardwired, wireless, or a combination of hardwired or wireless) to a computer, the computer properly views the connection as a transmission medium[; t]ransmissions media can include a network and/or data links which can be used to carry desired program code means in the form of computer-executable instructions or data structures and which can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer" par. [0338] and e.g. "a user can communicate with one or more other users using natural language phrases in electronic messages[; b]y using natural language detection, the message analyzer 212 can interpret the content of the messages to the other users[; i]f the user sends a request to initiate a payment transaction using natural language, the message analyzer 212 can infer the request from the natural language and provide the option to initiate the payment transaction[; a]dditionally or alternatively, the message analyzer 212 can provide an option to complete an initiated payment transaction" par. [0095]; see also "user [] request" pars. [0014]-[0015], [0043]-[0044], [0051], [0095], [0129]-[0130], [0171], [0199], [0207], [0215], [0247], [0255], [0257]-[0263], [0268]-[0269], [0276]-[0278], [0280], [0288], [0294]-[0295], [0297], [0300], [0302]-[0304], [0307], [0322], [0326], [0331], [0358], [0366], [0368], [0372], [0386], [0389], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20)
• 10 ¶ 7 • receive, over the network and based at least in part on the feedback request, a feedback indication including the user feedback; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the messaging graphical user interface 412 can include a communication thread 414 that includes electronic messages 416a sent from an account of a user of the communication device 400[; s]imilarly, the communication thread 414 can include electronic messages 416b received by the account of a co-user (i.e., "[j]oe")[; i]n one or more embodiments, the user interface manager 206 organizes the communication thread 414 such that new messages are added to the bottom of the communication thread 414 so that older messages are displayed at the top of the communication thread 414[; i]n alternative embodiments, the user interface manager 206 may organize the messages 416a, 416b in any manner that may indicate to a user the chronological or other relationship between the messages 416a, 416b" par. [[0163] and e.g. "[a] "network" is defined as one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices[; w]hen information is transferred or provided over a network or another communications connection (either hardwired, wireless, or a combination of hardwired or wireless) to a computer, the computer properly views the connection as a transmission medium[; t]ransmissions media can include a network and/or data links which can be used to carry desired program code means in the form of computer-executable instructions or data structures and which can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer" par. [0338] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 10 ¶ 8 • cause the user feedback to be output via the mobile device. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the messaging graphical user interface 412 can include a communication thread 414 that includes electronic messages 416a sent from an account of a user of the communication device 400[; s]imilarly, the communication thread 414 can include electronic messages 416b received by the account of a co-user (i.e., "[j]oe")[; i]n one or more embodiments, the user interface manager 206 organizes the communication thread 414 such that new messages are added to the bottom of the communication thread 414 so that older messages are displayed at the top of the communication thread 414[; i]n alternative embodiments, the user interface manager 206 may organize the messages 416a, 416b in any manner that may indicate to a user the chronological or other relationship between the messages 416a, 416b" par. [[0163])
Claim 11, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 11 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 11 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 10, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 10, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 11 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 11, the mobile device of claim 10, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329])
• 11 ¶ 2 • wherein the interaction data comprises an indication that the user interaction comprises one or more of an initiation of a data transaction with the transaction recipient or a user request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a user can communicate with one or more other users using natural language phrases in electronic messages[; b]y using natural language detection, the message analyzer 212 can interpret the content of the messages to the other users[; i]f the user sends a request to initiate a payment transaction using natural language, the message analyzer 212 can infer the request from the natural language and provide the option to initiate the payment transaction[; a]dditionally or alternatively, the message analyzer 212 can provide an option to complete an initiated payment transaction" par. [0095]; see also "user [] request" pars. [0014]-[0015], [0043]-[0044], [0051], [0095], [0129]-[0130], [0171], [0199], [0207], [0215], [0247], [0255], [0257]-[0263], [0268]-[0269], [0276]-[0278], [0280], [0288], [0294]-[0295], [0297], [0300], [0302]-[0304], [0307], [0322], [0326], [0331], [0358], [0366], [0368], [0372], [0386], [0389], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "initiation of payment transactions[; i]n other words, by integrating an electronic payment system and a messaging system, the system can allow users to initiate payments in a variety of ways[; i]n particular, the integrated message and payment system can allow user to initiate payments based on the context of a conversation rather than limiting payment initiation to a rigid predetermined process[; f]or example, the integrated message and payment system can infer payment events based on electronic messages exchanged between users[; s]pecifically, the integrated message and payment system can analyze electronic messages exchanged between two or more users to determine whether a payment event has likely occurred[; a]fter inferring the payment event, the integrated message and payment system can provide an option to initiate a payment transaction between the users based on the inferred payment event[; t]hus, in one or more embodiments, the integrated message and payment system can allow users to initiate payment transactions with other users based on messages exchanged between the users" par. [0041]; see also "initiate [] transaction" pars. [0007], [0013], [0015]-[0016], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0051], [0090], [0095], [0098], [0108], [0111], [0170]-[0171], [0204]-[0205], [0215], [0224], [0227]-[0228], [0236], [0241]-[0242], [0254]-[0255], [0265], [0272]-[0274], [0281]-[0282], [0297], [0303]-[0304], [0307], [0311], [0326]]; ( e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
Claim 12, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 12 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 12 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 10, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 10, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 12 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 12, the mobile device of claim 10, See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 11 Par. 1;
• 12 ¶ 2 • wherein the user interaction comprises a data transaction between the mobile device and the transaction recipient, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to insert the user feedback into a payment graphical user interface of the data transaction. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "embodiments provide a payment system integrated with a messaging system that allows two or more users to send and receive messages as well as electronic payments[; f]or example, the systems and methods can allow a user to send a co-user(s) an electronic payment via a messaging interface that also allows for the exchange of electronic messages with the co-user(s)[; t]he integration of an electronic payment system and a messaging system can provide users with the ability to send and receive electronic payments within the flow of a conversation[; t]hus, one or more embodiments allow users to communicate about a payment transaction and conduct the transaction without having to open a separate application dedicated to electronic payments" par. [0012] and e.g. "[t]he user interface manager 206 can provide, manage, and/or control a graphical user interface (or simply "user interface") that allows a user to compose, view, and send messages as well as send payments[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that facilitates the composition of a message, such as an instant message[; l]ikewise, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that displays messages received from other users" par. [0074]; see also "graphical user interface" pars. [0046], [0052], [0074], [0153], [0157]-[0159], [0162]-[0164], [0167]-[0168], [0173], [0177], [0198], [0228], [0312], [0314], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0325], [0327], [0332]-[0333], [0348] and e.g. "the systems and methods can allow a user to send a co-user(s) an electronic payment via a messaging interface that also allows for the exchange of electronic messages with the co-user(s)[; t]he integration of an electronic payment system and a messaging system can provide users with the ability to send and receive electronic payments within the flow of a conversation[; t]hus, one or more embodiments allow users to communicate about a payment transaction and conduct the transaction without having to open a separate application dedicated to electronic payments" par. [0012] or "[f]IGS. [] illustrate user interfaces for [] payment" pars. [0022]-[0027]; see also "payment [] interface" pars. [0012], [0039], [0052], [0077]-[0078], [0080], [0085], [0090], [0098], [0106], [0138]-[0139], [0156], [0159], [0161], [0169]-[0173], [0175]-[0180], [0183]-[0198], [0200]-[0201], [0204], [0206]-[0210], [0215], [0219]-[0223], [0228]-[0229], [0236]-[0240], [0255], [0257]-[0263], [0268]-[0269], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0332]-[0333], [0344])
Claim 13, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 13 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 13 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 10, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 10, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 13 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 13, the mobile device of claim 10, See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 11 Par. 1;
• 13 ¶ 2 • wherein the user interaction comprises a user request for user feedback associated with the transaction recipient, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to insert the user feedback into a feedback graphical user interface of the mobile device. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "user input detector 208 can detect, receive, and/or facilitate user input in any suitable manner[; i]n some examples, the user input detector 208 can detect one or more user interactions with respect to the user interface[; a]s referred to herein, a "user interaction" means a single interaction, or combination of interactions, received from a user by way of one or more input devices" par. [0081] or "user input detector 208 can detect a user interaction from a keyboard, mouse, touch pad, touch screen, and/or any other input device" par. [0082] or "input detector 208 may additionally, or alternatively, receive data representative of a user interaction[; f]or example, user input detector 208 may receive one or more user configurable parameters from a user, one or more user commands from the user, and/or any other suitable user input[; t]he user input detector 208 may receive input data from one or more components of the communication application 202, from the storage on the client device 104a, 104b, or from one or more remote locations (e.g., the network application 204)" par. [0083] or "[u]pon detecting the user interaction with the payment element, the user input detector 208 can cause the user interface manager 206 to provide a user interface for creating a payment" par. [0085] or "system 100 can utilize user interaction information, such as information associated with comments or "likes" corresponding to the electronic message[; t]he system 100 can also utilize sharing data associated with one or more electronic messages (e.g., which users shared an electronic message with other users)" par. [0246] or and e.g. "a user can communicate with one or more other users using natural language phrases in electronic messages[; b]y using natural language detection, the message analyzer 212 can interpret the content of the messages to the other users[; i]f the user sends a request to initiate a payment transaction using natural language, the message analyzer 212 can infer the request from the natural language and provide the option to initiate the payment transaction[; a]dditionally or alternatively, the message analyzer 212 can provide an option to complete an initiated payment transaction" par. [0095]; see also "user [] request" pars. [0014]-[0015], [0043]-[0044], [0051], [0095], [0129]-[0130], [0171], [0199], [0207], [0215], [0247], [0255], [0257]-[0263], [0268]-[0269], [0276]-[0278], [0280], [0288], [0294]-[0295], [0297], [0300], [0302]-[0304], [0307], [0322], [0326], [0331], [0358], [0366], [0368], [0372], [0386], [0389], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265] and e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "processor" pars. [0065], [0072], [0271], [0274], [0278]-[0279], [0282], [0284], [0288], [0290], [0293]-[0294], [0302], [0311], [0313], [0315], [0326], [0329]-[0330], [0335], [0340]-[0341], [0344]-[0346], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "any of components 206-218, 230-240, and 236-254 may be combined into fewer components, such as into a single facility or module, or divided into more components as may serve a particular embodiment [] FIG. 2 describes certain components as part of the client applications 202 and other components as part of the network application 204, the present invention is not so limited[; i]n alternative embodiments, one or more of the components shown as part of the client application 202 can be part of the network application 204 or vice versa" par. [0071] or "social-networking system 1902 may include a variety of servers, sub-systems, programs, modules, logs, and data stores[; i]n particular embodiments, social-networking system 1902 may include one or more of the following: a web server, action logger, API-request server, relevance-and-ranking engine, content-object classifier, notification controller, action log, third-party-content-object-exposure log, inference module, authorization/privacy server, search module, advertisement-targeting module, user-interface module" par. [0366] or "program modules may be located in both local and remote memory storage devices" par. [0341]; see also "profile storage module" par. [0119] or "one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices" par. [0338] and e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329] and e.g. "[t]he user interface manager 206 can provide, manage, and/or control a graphical user interface (or simply "user interface") that allows a user to compose, view, and send messages as well as send payments[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that facilitates the composition of a message, such as an instant message[; l]ikewise, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that displays messages received from other users" par. [0074]; see also "graphical user interface" pars. [0046], [0052], [0074], [0153], [0157]-[0159], [0162]-[0164], [0167]-[0168], [0173], [0177], [0198], [0228], [0312], [0314], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0325], [0327], [0332]-[0333], [0348])
Claim 14, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 14 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 14 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 10, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 10, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 14 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 14, the mobile device of claim 10, See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 11 Par. 1;
• 14 ¶ 2 • wherein the mobile device is associated with a user account, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the system 100 can coordinate a transaction between one or more accounts of the sender user 102a and one or more accounts of the recipient user 102b via the payment network 115[; f]or example, in response to receiving a payment message from the sender user 102a, the server device(s) can communicate transaction information to process a payment using one or more components within the payment network 115[; a]lternatively, or additionally, the system 100 can maintain one or more user accounts directly, and therefore, the system 100 can coordinate a transaction, or a portion of a transaction" par. [0063]; see also "user account" pars. [0102], [0106], [0114])
• 14 ¶ 3 • present a transaction graphical user interface that identifies data transactions for the user account and includes feedback indicia for one or more of the data transactions; Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "in FIG. 4B, the message input control palette or toolbar 422 includes a text input control 424a, a payment control 424b, a camera viewfinder input control 424c, a multimedia input control 424d, a symbol input control 424e, and a like indicator control 424f" par. [0167] or e.g[; f]ig. 4C, Fig. 4D, Fig. 4E, Fig. 4F, Fig. 4G, Fig. 4L, Fig. 4M, Fig. 5B, Fig. 5C, Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, Fig. 6C, Fig. 7A, Fig. 7B, Fig. 8A, all of which Figures illustrate a text input control, a payment control, a camera viewfinder input control, a multimedia input control, a symbol input control, and a like indicator control identical to "a text input control 424a, a payment control 424b, a camera viewfinder input control 424c, a multimedia input control 424d, a symbol input control 424e, and a like indicator control 424f", respectively or "the payment user interface 415 can provide the plurality of quick send selectable elements 430a, 430b, 430c, 430d for setting a payment amount" par. [0172] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "[t]he user interface manager 206 can provide, manage, and/or control a graphical user interface (or simply "user interface") that allows a user to compose, view, and send messages as well as send payments[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that facilitates the composition of a message, such as an instant message[; l]ikewise, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that displays messages received from other users" par. [0074]; see also "graphical user interface" pars. [0046], [0052], [0074], [0153], [0157]-[0159], [0162]-[0164], [0167]-[0168], [0173], [0177], [0198], [0228], [0312], [0314], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0325], [0327], [0332]-[0333], [0348])
• 14 ¶ 4 • receive user input to feedback indicia to provide user feedback for a data transaction with the transaction recipient; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "user may interact with any of the message input controls 424a-e in order to compose and send a message or a payment to one or more co-users via the system 100" par. [0169] or "the sender selects one of the quick send selectable elements 430a, 430b, 430c, 430d by tapping or otherwise selecting the selected element, the user input detector 208 can detect the selection" par. [0175] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 14 ¶ 5 • transmit, to a feedback service, the user feedback for the data transaction with the transaction recipient. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the client devices can communicate with server device(s) 108 via a network 105 [] the client devices 104a, 104b, 104n may directly communicate with the server devices 108, bypassing network 105" par. [0055] and e.g. "the message analyzer 212 can analyze messages in information feeds associated with the users, social network data (check-ins, user profiles, posts, likes, info about friends, etc.) messages in conversations between two or more of the users, text messages associated with the users, or any other electronic messages associated with the users to identify natural language or character strings associated with an event" par. [0096] "the user interface manager 206 can provide a notification (e.g., a pop-up window or other onscreen element) to ask the sender if the sender would like to initiate a payment transaction with the recipient" pars. [0228], [0236] or "the system 100 can utilize user interaction information, such as information associated with comments or "likes" corresponding to the electronic message[; t]he system 100 can also utilize sharing data associated with one or more electronic messages (e.g., which users shared an electronic message with other users)" par. [0246] or "the system 100 can infer a group event from a user's electronic message (e.g., a status message 800 within an information feed 900), as well as comments 902 and "likes" 906 associated with the electronic message" par. [0266] or "the system 100 can analyze the "likes" 906 for the status message" par. [0267] or "webpage or resource may include, among other elements, content, a selectable or other icon, or other inter-actable object (which may be implemented, for example, in JavaScript, AJAX, or PHP codes) representing an action or activity[; a]s an example and not by way of limitation, a third-party webpage may include a selectable icon such as "like, check in, eat, recommend," or another suitable action or activity[; a] user viewing the third-party webpage may perform an action by selecting one of the icons (e.g., "eat"), causing a client system 1906 to send to social-networking system 1902 a message indicating the user's action[; i]n response to the message, social-networking system 1902 may create an edge (e.g., an "eat" edge) between a user node 2002 corresponding to the user and a concept node 2004 corresponding to the third-party webpage or resource and store edge 2006 in one or more data stores" par. [0371] or "a user may "like, attended, played, listened, cooked, worked at," or "watched" a concept, each of which may correspond to a edge type or subtype[; a] concept-profile page corresponding to a concept node 2004 may include, for example, a selectable "check in" icon (such as, for example, a clickable "check in" icon) or a selectable "add to favorites" icon[; s]imilarly, after a user clicks these icons, social-networking system 1902 may create a "favorite" edge or a "check in" edge in response to a user's action corresponding to a respective action" par. [0373] or "as illustrated by "like" edge 2006 between the user and concept node 2004[; i]n particular embodiments, social-networking system 1902 may store an edge 2006 in one or more data stores" par. [0374] or "an advertisement may enable a user to "like" or otherwise endorse the advertisement by selecting an icon or link associated with endorsement[; a]s another example and not by way of limitation, an advertisement may enable a user to search (e.g., by executing a query) for content related to the advertiser" par. [0378] and e.g. "social networking system" pars. [0213], [0233], [0245], [0353] or "social-networking system" pars. [0037]-[0038], [0088], [0102]-[0103], [0117], [0119], [0232], [0248], [0353]-[0354], [0356], [0359]-[0363], [0365]-[0375], [0377]-[0386], [0388]-[0389] or "third-party system 1908" pars. [0354], [0356], [0358]-[0359], [0361], [0363]-[0364], [0366]-[0367], [0371], [0382], [0386], [0388] or "server device(s) 108" pars. [0055]-[0057], [0069]-[0070], [0072], [0102], [0126], [0205] or "payment network 115" pars. [0055], [0057], [0063]-[0065], [0067], [0069], [0108]-[0109], [0114], [0120], [0126], [0137], [0146]-[0148], [0150]-[0152] or "system 100" pars. [0054]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0061], [0063]-[0070], [0096], [0098], [0102], [0105], [0115], [0117], [0123], [0126]-[0127], [0153]-[0154], [0156], [0159], [0162], [0169], [0172], [0176]-[0177], [0180]-[0182], [0191]-[0193], [0197]-[0200], [0202]-[0203], [0205]-[0207], [0210]-[0215], [0217], [0219]-[0220], [0231], [0233]-[0239], [0241]-[0257], [0262], [0264]-[0269], [0344], [0353] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
Claim 15, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 15 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 15 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 10, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 10, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 15 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 15, the mobile device of claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises initiation of a data transaction between the mobile device and the transaction recipient, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329] and e.g. "user input detector 208 can detect, receive, and/or facilitate user input in any suitable manner[; i]n some examples, the user input detector 208 can detect one or more user interactions with respect to the user interface[; a]s referred to herein, a "user interaction" means a single interaction, or combination of interactions, received from a user by way of one or more input devices" par. [0081] or "user input detector 208 can detect a user interaction from a keyboard, mouse, touch pad, touch screen, and/or any other input device" par. [0082] or "input detector 208 may additionally, or alternatively, receive data representative of a user interaction[; f]or example, user input detector 208 may receive one or more user configurable parameters from a user, one or more user commands from the user, and/or any other suitable user input[; t]he user input detector 208 may receive input data from one or more components of the communication application 202, from the storage on the client device 104a, 104b, or from one or more remote locations (e.g., the network application 204)" par. [0083] or "[u]pon detecting the user interaction with the payment element, the user input detector 208 can cause the user interface manager 206 to provide a user interface for creating a payment" par. [0085] or "system 100 can utilize user interaction information, such as information associated with comments or "likes" corresponding to the electronic message[; t]he system 100 can also utilize sharing data associated with one or more electronic messages (e.g., which users shared an electronic message with other users)" par. [0246] or and e.g. "initiation of payment transactions[; i]n other words, by integrating an electronic payment system and a messaging system, the system can allow users to initiate payments in a variety of ways[; i]n particular, the integrated message and payment system can allow user to initiate payments based on the context of a conversation rather than limiting payment initiation to a rigid predetermined process[; f]or example, the integrated message and payment system can infer payment events based on electronic messages exchanged between users[; s]pecifically, the integrated message and payment system can analyze electronic messages exchanged between two or more users to determine whether a payment event has likely occurred[; a]fter inferring the payment event, the integrated message and payment system can provide an option to initiate a payment transaction between the users based on the inferred payment event[; t]hus, in one or more embodiments, the integrated message and payment system can allow users to initiate payment transactions with other users based on messages exchanged between the users" par. [0041]; see also "initiate [] transaction" pars. [0007], [0013], [0015]-[0016], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0051], [0090], [0095], [0098], [0108], [0111], [0170]-[0171], [0204]-[0205], [0215], [0224], [0227]-[0228], [0236], [0241]-[0242], [0254]-[0255], [0265], [0272]-[0274], [0281]-[0282], [0297], [0303]-[0304], [0307], [0311], [0326]]; ( e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "embodiments provide a payment system integrated with a messaging system that allows two or more users to send and receive messages as well as electronic payments[; f]or example, the systems and methods can allow a user to send a co-user(s) an electronic payment via a messaging interface that also allows for the exchange of electronic messages with the co-user(s)[; t]he integration of an electronic payment system and a messaging system can provide users with the ability to send and receive electronic payments within the flow of a conversation[; t]hus, one or more embodiments allow users to communicate about a payment transaction and conduct the transaction without having to open a separate application dedicated to electronic payments" par. [0012] and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265] and e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "processor" pars. [0065], [0072], [0271], [0274], [0278]-[0279], [0282], [0284], [0288], [0290], [0293]-[0294], [0302], [0311], [0313], [0315], [0326], [0329]-[0330], [0335], [0340]-[0341], [0344]-[0346], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "any of components 206-218, 230-240, and 236-254 may be combined into fewer components, such as into a single facility or module, or divided into more components as may serve a particular embodiment [] FIG. 2 describes certain components as part of the client applications 202 and other components as part of the network application 204, the present invention is not so limited[; i]n alternative embodiments, one or more of the components shown as part of the client application 202 can be part of the network application 204 or vice versa" par. [0071] or "social-networking system 1902 may include a variety of servers, sub-systems, programs, modules, logs, and data stores[; i]n particular embodiments, social-networking system 1902 may include one or more of the following: a web server, action logger, API-request server, relevance-and-ranking engine, content-object classifier, notification controller, action log, third-party-content-object-exposure log, inference module, authorization/privacy server, search module, advertisement-targeting module, user-interface module" par. [0366] or "program modules may be located in both local and remote memory storage devices" par. [0341]; see also "profile storage module" par. [0119] or "one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices" par. [0338] and )
• 15 ¶ 2 • receive an indication of user input of transaction feedback regarding the data transaction to a graphical user interface for the data transaction; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "user may interact with any of the message input controls 424a-e in order to compose and send a message or a payment to one or more co-users via the system 100" par. [0169] or "the sender selects one of the quick send selectable elements 430a, 430b, 430c, 430d by tapping or otherwise selecting the selected element, the user input detector 208 can detect the selection" par. [0175] and e.g. "[t]he user interface manager 206 can provide, manage, and/or control a graphical user interface (or simply "user interface") that allows a user to compose, view, and send messages as well as send payments[; f]or example, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that facilitates the composition of a message, such as an instant message[; l]ikewise, the user interface manager 206 can provide a user interface that displays messages received from other users" par. [0074]; see also "graphical user interface" pars. [0046], [0052], [0074], [0153], [0157]-[0159], [0162]-[0164], [0167]-[0168], [0173], [0177], [0198], [0228], [0312], [0314], [0318], [0321]-[0322], [0325], [0327], [0332]-[0333], [0348])
• 15 ¶ 3 • transmit the transaction feedback to a feedback service. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the client devices can communicate with server device(s) 108 via a network 105 [] the client devices 104a, 104b, 104n may directly communicate with the server devices 108, bypassing network 105" par. [0055] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "the message analyzer 212 can analyze messages in information feeds associated with the users, social network data (check-ins, user profiles, posts, likes, info about friends, etc.) messages in conversations between two or more of the users, text messages associated with the users, or any other electronic messages associated with the users to identify natural language or character strings associated with an event" par. [0096] "the user interface manager 206 can provide a notification (e.g., a pop-up window or other onscreen element) to ask the sender if the sender would like to initiate a payment transaction with the recipient" pars. [0228], [0236] or "the system 100 can utilize user interaction information, such as information associated with comments or "likes" corresponding to the electronic message[; t]he system 100 can also utilize sharing data associated with one or more electronic messages (e.g., which users shared an electronic message with other users)" par. [0246] or "the system 100 can infer a group event from a user's electronic message (e.g., a status message 800 within an information feed 900), as well as comments 902 and "likes" 906 associated with the electronic message" par. [0266] or "the system 100 can analyze the "likes" 906 for the status message" par. [0267] or "webpage or resource may include, among other elements, content, a selectable or other icon, or other inter-actable object (which may be implemented, for example, in JavaScript, AJAX, or PHP codes) representing an action or activity[; a]s an example and not by way of limitation, a third-party webpage may include a selectable icon such as "like, check in, eat, recommend," or another suitable action or activity[; a] user viewing the third-party webpage may perform an action by selecting one of the icons (e.g., "eat"), causing a client system 1906 to send to social-networking system 1902 a message indicating the user's action[; i]n response to the message, social-networking system 1902 may create an edge (e.g., an "eat" edge) between a user node 2002 corresponding to the user and a concept node 2004 corresponding to the third-party webpage or resource and store edge 2006 in one or more data stores" par. [0371] or "a user may "like, attended, played, listened, cooked, worked at," or "watched" a concept, each of which may correspond to a edge type or subtype[; a] concept-profile page corresponding to a concept node 2004 may include, for example, a selectable "check in" icon (such as, for example, a clickable "check in" icon) or a selectable "add to favorites" icon[; s]imilarly, after a user clicks these icons, social-networking system 1902 may create a "favorite" edge or a "check in" edge in response to a user's action corresponding to a respective action" par. [0373] or "as illustrated by "like" edge 2006 between the user and concept node 2004[; i]n particular embodiments, social-networking system 1902 may store an edge 2006 in one or more data stores" par. [0374] or "an advertisement may enable a user to "like" or otherwise endorse the advertisement by selecting an icon or link associated with endorsement[; a]s another example and not by way of limitation, an advertisement may enable a user to search (e.g., by executing a query) for content related to the advertiser" par. [0378] and e.g. "social networking system" pars. [0213], [0233], [0245], [0353] or "social-networking system" pars. [0037]-[0038], [0088], [0102]-[0103], [0117], [0119], [0232], [0248], [0353]-[0354], [0356], [0359]-[0363], [0365]-[0375], [0377]-[0386], [0388]-[0389] or "third-party system 1908" pars. [0354], [0356], [0358]-[0359], [0361], [0363]-[0364], [0366]-[0367], [0371], [0382], [0386], [0388] or "server device(s) 108" pars. [0055]-[0057], [0069]-[0070], [0072], [0102], [0126], [0205] or "payment network 115" pars. [0055], [0057], [0063]-[0065], [0067], [0069], [0108]-[0109], [0114], [0120], [0126], [0137], [0146]-[0148], [0150]-[0152] or "system 100" pars. [0054]-[0055], [0057]-[0059], [0061], [0063]-[0070], [0096], [0098], [0102], [0105], [0115], [0117], [0123], [0126]-[0127], [0153]-[0154], [0156], [0159], [0162], [0169], [0172], [0176]-[0177], [0180]-[0182], [0191]-[0193], [0197]-[0200], [0202]-[0203], [0205]-[0207], [0210]-[0215], [0217], [0219]-[0220], [0231], [0233]-[0239], [0241]-[0257], [0262], [0264]-[0269], [0344], [0353])
Claim 16, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 16 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 16 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 10, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 10, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 16 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 16, the mobile device of claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises initiation of a data transaction between the mobile device and the transaction recipient, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to: Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329] and e.g. "user input detector 208 can detect, receive, and/or facilitate user input in any suitable manner[; i]n some examples, the user input detector 208 can detect one or more user interactions with respect to the user interface[; a]s referred to herein, a "user interaction" means a single interaction, or combination of interactions, received from a user by way of one or more input devices" par. [0081] or "user input detector 208 can detect a user interaction from a keyboard, mouse, touch pad, touch screen, and/or any other input device" par. [0082] or "input detector 208 may additionally, or alternatively, receive data representative of a user interaction[; f]or example, user input detector 208 may receive one or more user configurable parameters from a user, one or more user commands from the user, and/or any other suitable user input[; t]he user input detector 208 may receive input data from one or more components of the communication application 202, from the storage on the client device 104a, 104b, or from one or more remote locations (e.g., the network application 204)" par. [0083] or "[u]pon detecting the user interaction with the payment element, the user input detector 208 can cause the user interface manager 206 to provide a user interface for creating a payment" par. [0085] or "system 100 can utilize user interaction information, such as information associated with comments or "likes" corresponding to the electronic message[; t]he system 100 can also utilize sharing data associated with one or more electronic messages (e.g., which users shared an electronic message with other users)" par. [0246] or and e.g. "initiation of payment transactions[; i]n other words, by integrating an electronic payment system and a messaging system, the system can allow users to initiate payments in a variety of ways[; i]n particular, the integrated message and payment system can allow user to initiate payments based on the context of a conversation rather than limiting payment initiation to a rigid predetermined process[; f]or example, the integrated message and payment system can infer payment events based on electronic messages exchanged between users[; s]pecifically, the integrated message and payment system can analyze electronic messages exchanged between two or more users to determine whether a payment event has likely occurred[; a]fter inferring the payment event, the integrated message and payment system can provide an option to initiate a payment transaction between the users based on the inferred payment event[; t]hus, in one or more embodiments, the integrated message and payment system can allow users to initiate payment transactions with other users based on messages exchanged between the users" par. [0041]; see also "initiate [] transaction" pars. [0007], [0013], [0015]-[0016], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0051], [0090], [0095], [0098], [0108], [0111], [0170]-[0171], [0204]-[0205], [0215], [0224], [0227]-[0228], [0236], [0241]-[0242], [0254]-[0255], [0265], [0272]-[0274], [0281]-[0282], [0297], [0303]-[0304], [0307], [0311], [0326]]; ( e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "embodiments provide a payment system integrated with a messaging system that allows two or more users to send and receive messages as well as electronic payments[; f]or example, the systems and methods can allow a user to send a co-user(s) an electronic payment via a messaging interface that also allows for the exchange of electronic messages with the co-user(s)[; t]he integration of an electronic payment system and a messaging system can provide users with the ability to send and receive electronic payments within the flow of a conversation[; t]hus, one or more embodiments allow users to communicate about a payment transaction and conduct the transaction without having to open a separate application dedicated to electronic payments" par. [0012] and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265] and e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "processor" pars. [0065], [0072], [0271], [0274], [0278]-[0279], [0282], [0284], [0288], [0290], [0293]-[0294], [0302], [0311], [0313], [0315], [0326], [0329]-[0330], [0335], [0340]-[0341], [0344]-[0346], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "any of components 206-218, 230-240, and 236-254 may be combined into fewer components, such as into a single facility or module, or divided into more components as may serve a particular embodiment [] FIG. 2 describes certain components as part of the client applications 202 and other components as part of the network application 204, the present invention is not so limited[; i]n alternative embodiments, one or more of the components shown as part of the client application 202 can be part of the network application 204 or vice versa" par. [0071] or "social-networking system 1902 may include a variety of servers, sub-systems, programs, modules, logs, and data stores[; i]n particular embodiments, social-networking system 1902 may include one or more of the following: a web server, action logger, API-request server, relevance-and-ranking engine, content-object classifier, notification controller, action log, third-party-content-object-exposure log, inference module, authorization/privacy server, search module, advertisement-targeting module, user-interface module" par. [0366] or "program modules may be located in both local and remote memory storage devices" par. [0341]; see also "profile storage module" par. [0119] or "one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices" par. [0338] and )
• 16 ¶ 2 • receive an indication of user input of transaction feedback regarding the data transaction to a graphical user interface for the data transaction; See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 15 Par. 2;
• 16 ¶ 3 • receive an indication of user cancellation of the data transaction prior to completion of the data transaction; and Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "the payment message generator 216 can allow the sender to cancel the payment, change the payment amount, or otherwise change one or more parameters of the payment" par. [0222]; see also "selecting a cancel option 816" par. [0258] or "the method 1400 can also include canceling the payment transaction" par. [0303] and e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142])
• 16 ¶ 4 • transmit the transaction feedback to a feedback service. See Prior Comment(s) at Claim 15 Par. 3;
Claim 17, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 17 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 17 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 15, which is also a dependent claim, and thus the instant claim indirectly depends upon claim 10, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claims 15 and 10, DAVIS discloses the claimed subject matter of claim 17 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 17, the mobile device of claim 15, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329])
• 17 ¶ 2 • wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one module to cause the mobile device to Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "a processor (e.g., a microprocessor) receives instructions, from a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (e.g., a memory, etc.), and executes those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes, including one or more of the processes described herein" par. [0335]; see also "processor" pars. [0065], [0072], [0271], [0274], [0278]-[0279], [0282], [0284], [0288], [0290], [0293]-[0294], [0302], [0311], [0313], [0315], [0326], [0329]-[0330], [0335], [0340]-[0341], [0344]-[0346], Claims 1, 12, 16, 20 and e.g. "any of components 206-218, 230-240, and 236-254 may be combined into fewer components, such as into a single facility or module, or divided into more components as may serve a particular embodiment [] FIG. 2 describes certain components as part of the client applications 202 and other components as part of the network application 204, the present invention is not so limited[; i]n alternative embodiments, one or more of the components shown as part of the client application 202 can be part of the network application 204 or vice versa" par. [0071] or "social-networking system 1902 may include a variety of servers, sub-systems, programs, modules, logs, and data stores[; i]n particular embodiments, social-networking system 1902 may include one or more of the following: a web server, action logger, API-request server, relevance-and-ranking engine, content-object classifier, notification controller, action log, third-party-content-object-exposure log, inference module, authorization/privacy server, search module, advertisement-targeting module, user-interface module" par. [0366] or "program modules may be located in both local and remote memory storage devices" par. [0341]; see also "profile storage module" par. [0119] or "one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices" par. [0338] and e.g. "perform payment transactions with others via software applications on one or more types of devices (e.g., desktop devices and mobile devices)" par. [0004] or "client devices include computing devices such as mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets)" par. [0060] or "client application 202 may be a mobile application that installs and runs on a mobile device, such as a smart phone or a tablet" par. [0073]; see also "mobile device" pars. [0158], [0312], [0324]-[0325], [0329])
• 17 ¶ 3 • receive the indication of user input of the transaction feedback at one or more of while the data transaction is pending or within a threshold time period after conclusion of the data transaction. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "user may interact with any of the message input controls 424a-e in order to compose and send a message or a payment to one or more co-users via the system 100" par. [0169] or "the sender selects one of the quick send selectable elements 430a, 430b, 430c, 430d by tapping or otherwise selecting the selected element, the user input detector 208 can detect the selection" par. [0175] and e.g. "the user interface manager 206 can include "[p]ending..." or another signal to let the recipient know that the payment transaction is still pending" par. [0206] or "the user interface manager 206 can show a payment message 432 indicating the payment amount and an indication that the transaction is still pending (i.e., "[p]ending..." or another signal)" par. [0208] or "pending the sender providing a payment credential" par. [0209] or "pending until the sender provides a payment credential" par. [0213]; see also "pending payment" pars. [0210], [0262] and e.g. "timer for incrementing the payment amount 432[; s]pecifically, the user input detector can monitor a period of time since a selection of a selectable element 430a, 430b, 430c and determine that the payment amount 432 is final and process the transaction if the sender has not selected a selectable element 430a, 430b, 430c within an inactivity threshold" par. [0177] or "time elapsed after receiving the request[; t]o illustrate, act 1406 can involve detecting that the time elapsed after receiving the request satisfies a time threshold" par. [0300] or "time elapsed after receiving the request to initiate the payment transaction satisfies a time threshold" par. [0307] or "time since a selection of a selectable element 1100 of the plurality of selectable elements 1100[; t]he method 1600 can also include determining that the monitored period of time has met a predetermined inactivity threshold" par. [0317] or "time since a selection of a selectable icon of the plurality of selectable icons[; a]ct 1714 can further involve determining that the monitored period of time has met a predetermined inactivity threshold" par. [0331])
Claim 20, EXAMINER's Analysis: Claim 20 is rejected as being unpatentable over DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI. Claim 20 is a dependent claim that directly depends upon parent claim 18, which is an independent claim. Further to and in conjunction with the disclosures and teachings of the prior art recited in the parent as applied to the limitations of claim 18, the combined disclosures and teachings of DAVIS and NIDAMARTHI taken together render obvious the claimed subject matter of claim 20 as follows and as explained below.
Regarding and as per CLAIM 20, the method of claim 18, Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "method" pars. [0005], [0028]-[0035], [0049], [0061], [0065], [0092], [0101], [0114], [0118], [0120]-[0121], [0151], [0203], [0270]-[0272], [0274], [0278]-[0285], [0287]-[0313], [0315]-[0333], Claims 1-19)
• 20 ¶ 2 • wherein the request for the user feedback for the transaction recipient is based on one or more of an initiation of a second data transaction with the transaction recipient or decoded data generated from a scan of encoded data associated with the transaction recipient. Reference (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "[u]pon receiving the prompt 330 to provide a payment credential, the recipient can ignore or close the prompt 330, which can cause the network application 204 to resend the prompt 330 after a predetermined amount of time, in response to a request from another user, or in response to a predetermined trigger (e.g., the next time the recipient logs into the client application 202)[; i]n any event, the recipient can enter payment credential information 332 using the recipient client device 104b[; t]he recipient client device 104b can send 334 the payment credential information 332 to the network application 204" par. [0142] and e.g. "initiation of payment transactions[; i]n other words, by integrating an electronic payment system and a messaging system, the system can allow users to initiate payments in a variety of ways[; i]n particular, the integrated message and payment system can allow user to initiate payments based on the context of a conversation rather than limiting payment initiation to a rigid predetermined process[; f]or example, the integrated message and payment system can infer payment events based on electronic messages exchanged between users[; s]pecifically, the integrated message and payment system can analyze electronic messages exchanged between two or more users to determine whether a payment event has likely occurred[; a]fter inferring the payment event, the integrated message and payment system can provide an option to initiate a payment transaction between the users based on the inferred payment event[; t]hus, in one or more embodiments, the integrated message and payment system can allow users to initiate payment transactions with other users based on messages exchanged between the users" par. [0041]; see also "initiate [] transaction" pars. [0007], [0013], [0015]-[0016], [0041], [0044], [0049], [0051], [0090], [0095], [0098], [0108], [0111], [0170]-[0171], [0204]-[0205], [0215], [0224], [0227]-[0228], [0236], [0241]-[0242], [0254]-[0255], [0265], [0272]-[0274], [0281]-[0282], [0297], [0303]-[0304], [0307], [0311], [0326]]; ( ); (DAVIS: doesn't expressly and explicitly recite or decoded data generated from a scan --- however NIDAMARTHI: clearly discloses, teaches, and/or suggests the feature -- e.g. "scanning function 120 of mobile computing device 118 is implemented as an application for capturing an image of reflected ambient light with a camera of mobile device 118 and decoding content of QR code or other 2-dimensional matrix barcode (such as Aztec.TM. barcode by Welch Allyn, Inc. or other data matrix bar code)" col. 5 lns. 32 - 45 or "a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information[; i]n embodiments including a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information, the encoded information may be reduced to a mere serial number that can then be transmitted back to a server" or col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12 or "causing a scanning function of a mobile computing device to read a machine-readable representation of encoded information [] and decode the encoded information, wherein the encoded information associates [] with a transaction; a signaling function for causing the mobile computing device to transmit, using the encoded information, an item of recipient reaction information to a server at a network location" Claim 15; see also Fig. 4B, Fig. 9 and DETAILED DESCRIPTION regarding Figs. 4B and 9, e.g. "[f]IG. 4B is an example illustration of one embodiment of a two-dimensional and optically scannable representation of encoded information containing customer feedback for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; a] guidance feature for satisfaction 450 instructs a user to select a QR code for satisfaction 452 if the user is satisfied[][; l]ikewise, a guidance feature for dissatisfaction 454 instructs a user to select a QR code for dissatisfaction 456 if the user is dissatisfied[][; i]n selecting one of QR code for satisfaction 452 and QR code for dissatisfaction 456, the user is able to provide immediate feedback" col. 16 lns. 24 - 36 or "[f]IG. 9 is an example embodiment of a user interface of a mobile computing device for implementing transaction-related feedback communication using machine-readable encoded information[; a]pplication interface 505 of mobile device 500 displays [] rating interface 900 for gathering user feedback[; a] set of rating buttons 910a-910f allows a user to provide standardized feedback[; t]oolbar 525 contains customer service request button 530, tracking button 535, social media button 540, reward points button 545, and contents button 550" col. 19 lns. 4 - 21, [See Remarks Below] and as already described in previous citation to this secondary disclosure within this same paragraph), [See Remarks after Claim 10 Par. 4 herein] and (e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12), [See Remarks after Claim 8 Par. 2 herein for previously explained rationale or reasoned explanation supporting the finding of obviousness regarding the above-identified combination]; (DAVIS: discloses e.g. "security codes, transfer or routing identification numbers, and bank information required for money transfers[; t]he user can also create an authorization code such as a personal identification number (PIN), or use a security code of a credit card, e.g., when providing only a single payment method, or provide some other authorization code" par. [0118] or "a card security code of the payment card (e.g., a Card Verification Value (CVV or CVV2)), a billing address (including street name, house number, city, state or province, zip code, country, etc.)" par. [0119] or "a security code, and a billing ZIP code" pars. [0190], [0201]; see also e.g. (NIDAMARTHI: e.g. "a method for implementing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information[; e]ncoded information is retrieved [] by invoking a scanning function of the mobile computing device (block 300)[; r]etrieval of encoded information will vary between embodiments[; i]n some embodiments, the scanning function is invoked by a retrieving function[; i]n some embodiments, a generic QR code reader will be used to capture a picture of a QR code using a camera included in a mobile device[; t]he QR code is then decoded by the generic QR code reader[; i]n other embodiments, a purpose-built application for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information captures a picture of a QR code using the camera included in the mobile device and extracts the encoded information" col. 13 ln. 54 - col. 14 ln. 12) and e.g. "a message that indicates payment information that allows the system to initiate a payment transaction[; f]or example, a payment message can include a data package that includes a payment amount, a sender, a recipient, a payment method, as well as additional information such as user provided text for a message" par. [0049]; see also "transaction [] recipient" pars. [0015], [0044], [0049], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0120]-[0121], [0124], [0129], [0148], [0171], [0181], [0197]-[0199], [0202], [0204]-[0208], [0210], [0215]-[0216], [0227]-[0228], [0230], [0236], [0241], [0262], [0265])
With respect to above-noted claimed element "decoded data" which is disclosed by NIDAMARTHI: the teachings and/or suggestions within the disclosure of DAVIS thus far relied upon does not record within its descriptions an explicit and express recital of decoded data as recited in the claim being considered. However, herein relied upon are portions of the disclosure of NIDAMARTHI which sufficiently teaches the feature appurtenant to the claimed invention as commented about above with quotation(s) of exemplary disclosures within NIDAMARTHI that teach and/or suggest the claimed feature. At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the relied upon teachings of DAVIS by adding or substituting the feature decoded data as taught and/or suggested by NIDAMARTHI, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. The addition or substitution of this known feature by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have yielded predictable results that were simply reckonable to that ordinarily skilled one person in the art at that time. At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of DAVIS with these aforementioned teachings of "decoded data" sufficiently taught, suggested, and/or disclosed in NIDAMARTHI because that one skilled artisan having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would have had a motivation of having "mobile computing devices include laptop computers, tablet computers, and handheld telephones[; wherein e]xpansion of the capabilities of such mobile devices has increased opportunities for the user of a mobile device to participate in electronic commerce". (NIDAMARTHI: col. 1 lns. 26 - 34).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPGPub No. US 20150052032 A1 by AHARONI; Eldad discloses TRANSACTIONAL MESSAGING SYSTEMS AND METHODS.
USPGPub No. US 20240054472 A1 by Ambrose; Jason et al. discloses INTEGRATION OF MULTI-USER INTERACTIONS USING DATA LINKAGE.
USPGPub No. US 20140337150 A1 by Anand; Ramalingam Krishnamurthi discloses AUTOMATIC RECEIPT LOGGING AND NOTIFICATIONS FOR TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20190007363 A1 by BILLINGSLEA; Wes et al. discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR INITIATING, MAINTAINING, AND ANALYZING OF CONCURRENT STATEFUL MULTI-WAY CONVERSATIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20080121687 A1 by BUHOT; THOMAS discloses METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR DETECTING AN END OF TRANSACTION FOR CONTACTLESS TRANSACTIONS ON A MOBILE DEVICE.
USPGPub No. US 20150106243 A1 by Blackhurst; Jason P. et al. discloses AGGREGATION OF ITEM-LEVEL TRANSACTION DATA FOR A GROUP OF INDIVIDUALS.
USPGPub No. US 20160104159 A1 by Butterfield; John Hamilton et al. discloses OBTAINING RECIPIENT INFORMATION DURING AN ELECTRONIC REMITTANCE TRANSACTION.
USPGPub No. US 20160012422 A1 by Chitilian; Varouj et al. discloses HANDS-FREE TRANSACTIONS WITH A TRANSACTION CONFIRMATION REQUEST.
USPAT No. US 12148055 B2 to Cook; Ashley discloses Systems and methods for database management of transaction information and payment instruction data.
USPGPub No. US 20160117665 A1 by Davis; Stephen Moore discloses FACILITATING INITIATING PAYMENTS WITHOUT A PAYMENT CREDENTIAL.
USPGPub No. US 20160104133 A1 by Davis; Stephen Moore et al. discloses FACILITATING SENDING AND RECEIVING OF REMITTANCE PAYMENTS.
USPAT No. US 9342831 B1 to Davis; Stephen Moore et al. discloses Facilitating same day payment transactions.
USPGPub No. US 20160117666 A1 by Davis; Stephen Moore et al. discloses FACILITATING SENDING AND RECEIVING OF PEER-TO-PEER PAYMENTS.
USPGPub No. US 20160267447 A1 by Davis; Stephen Moore et al. discloses FACILITATING SENDING, RECEIVING, AND UPDATING OF PAYMENTS USING MESSAGE AND PAYMENT QUEUES.
USPGPub No. US 20180047086 A1 by Erez; Roy et al. discloses Gift Transaction System Architecture.
USPGPub No. US 20190188724 A1 by Fitch; Jennifer discloses FACILITATING PEER-TO-PEER TRANSACTIONS USING VIRTUAL DEBIT ACCOUNTS OF VIRTUAL WALLETS.
USPGPub No. US 20180365753 A1 by Fredrich; Paul et al. discloses DYNAMIC PROCESSING OF ELECTRONIC MESSAGING DATA AND PROTOCOLS TO AUTOMATICALLY GENERATE LOCATION PREDICTIVE RETRIEVAL USING A NETWORKED, MULTI-STACK COMPUTING ENVIRONMENT.
USPGPub No. US 20200058068 A1 by GANDHI; Rajeev Kumar et al. discloses DYNAMIC PROVISIONING AND INITIATION OF DATA EXCHANGES BASED ON AGGREGATED CONTEXTUAL INFORMATION.
USPGPub No. US 20180096350 A1 by GROARKE; Peter J. et al. discloses METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR CORRELATING MOBILE DEVICE LOCATION WITH ELECTRONIC TRANSACTION DATA.
USPGPub No. US 20160134633 A1 by Gaddam; Ajit et al. discloses MECHANISM FOR REPUTATION FEEDBACK BASED ON REAL TIME INTERACTION.
USPGPub No. US 20180276651 A1 by Gauli; Biraj et al. discloses SECURE SCANNABLE CODE SYSTEMS AND METHODS.
USPGPub No. US 20220261785 A1 by Godet; Jacques-Antoine et al. discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR COMMUNICATING TRANSACTION DATA BETWEEN MOBILE DEVICES.
USPGPub No. US 20150213431 A1 by Goldstein; Gerry et al. discloses Electronic Gifting System.
USPGPub No. US 20070005490 A1 by Gopalakrishnan; Kumar C. discloses Methods and System for Distributed E-commerce.
USPGPub No. US 20200097934 A1 by Grassadonia; Brian discloses Customized Transaction Flow.
USPAT No. US 7742994 B1 to Gupta; Vikas discloses Providing payments automatically in accordance with predefined instructions.
USPGPub No. US 20170178124 A1 by Havilio; Amir Mesguich discloses PROCESSING SECURE ELECTRONIC PAYMENT TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20160063608 A1 by Hawilo; Joey et al. discloses METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ELECTRONIC TRANSACTIONS BASED ON A REPLY MESSAGE.
USPGPub No. US 20190147467 A1 by Hawkins; Christopher John et al. discloses ROBUST MULTICHANNEL TARGETING.
USPGPub No. US 20180137480 A1 by Houghton, IV; Frank Pierce et al. discloses MOBILE DEVICE GESTURE AND PROXIMITY COMMUNICATION.
USPGPub No. US 20180315051 A1 by Hurley; Kevin Patrick et al. discloses FACILITATING PAYMENT TRANSACTIONS BETWEEN USERS OF A PLURALITY OF PAYMENT PROVIDERS.
USPGPub No. US 20120150611 A1 by ISAACSON; Thomas M. et al. discloses SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR PROCESSING FINANCIAL TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20090083225 A1 by Jacobs; Philip et al. discloses ADVERTISEMENT FILTERING AND TARGETING THROUGH USER-PREFERENCES.
USPGPub No. US 20150127541 A1 by Just; Richard S. et al. discloses WEARABLE TRANSACTION DEVICES.
USPGPub No. US 20140108249 A1 by Kulpati; Ashish et al. discloses INTEROPERABLE FINANCIAL TRANSACTIONS VIA MOBILE DEVICES.
USPGPub No. US 20200019962 A1 by LOCKE; Tyler et al. discloses MULTI-FUNCTION TRANSACTION CARD.
USPAT No. US 10102514 B2 to Laracey; Kevin discloses Payment processing methods and systems.
USPGPub No. US 20110208418 A1 by Looney; Erin C. et al. discloses Completing Obligations Associated With Transactions Performed Via Mobile User Platforms Based on Digital Interactive Tickets.
USPAT No. US 11783332 B2 to Madan; Amisha et al. discloses Method and system for facilitating secure card-based transactions.
USPGPub No. US 20180189781 A1 by McCann; Stephen John et al. discloses REAL-TIME APPROVAL AND EXECUTION OF DATA EXCHANGES BETWEEN COMPUTING SYSTEMS.
USPAT No. US 10672002 B2 to Mendoza; Epher et al. discloses Systems and methods for using nonvisual communication to obtain permission for authorizing a transaction.
USPAT No. US 11049096 B2 to Metral; Max et al. discloses Fault tolerant token based transaction systems.
USPAT No. US 8444048 B1 to Nidamarthi; Lakshmi S. et al. discloses System and method for providing transaction-related communication using machine-readable encoded information.
USPGPub No. US 20130060678 A1 by Oskolkov; Ilya et al. discloses ELECTRONIC PAYMENT SYSTEMS AND SUPPORTING METHODS AND DEVICES.
USPGPub No. US 20130060690 A1 by Oskolkov; Ilya et al. discloses ELECTRONIC PAYMENT SYSTEMS AND SUPPORTING METHODS AND DEVICES.
USPGPub No. US 20140040051 A1 by Ovick; Joseph Bjorn et al. discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS TO ENHANCE SECURITY IN TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20140040135 A1 by Ovick; Joseph Bjorn et al. discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS TO DIGITALLY SIGN TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20150302406 A1 by Pastore; Jeremy discloses METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR IMPROVING ACCURANCY OF MERCHANT AGGREGATION.
USPGPub No. US 20180246623 A1 by Peled; Daniel et al. discloses SECURE TRANSACTION INTERFACES.
USPGPub No. US 20200184478 A1 by Peled; Daniel et al. discloses SECURE TRANSACTION INTERFACES.
USPGPub No. US 20220180364 A1 by Peled; Daniel et al. discloses SECURE TRANSACTION INTERFACES.
USPGPub No. US 20160104251 A1 by Prakash; Gyan et al. discloses METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR MOBILE COMMERCE WITH REAL-TIME PURCHASE SUPPORT.
USPGPub No. US 20150161684 A1 by Raikula; Ronald discloses Multi-Sourced Charitable Contributions.
USPGPub No. US 20210081920 A1 by SPINA; MICHAEL et al. discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR DETERMINING A MODE OF FINANCIAL TRANSACTION BASED ON IDENTIFIERS ASSOCIATED WITH PARTICIPANTS OF THE FINANCIAL TRANSACTION.
USPGPub No. US 20140244498 A1 by Shishkov; Rodion et al. discloses BANK TRANSACTIONS FEED.
USPGPub No. US 20140236695 A1 by Shvarts; Simon et al. discloses TRANSACTION LOG FOR LOYALTY BASED OFFERS AND AWARDS.
USPAT No. US 8550361 B2 to Skowronek; Daniel P discloses Systems, methods, and apparatus to facilitate locating a user of a transaction device.
USPGPub No. US 20170169508 A1 by Song; Shuo et al. discloses ENABLING PEER-TO-PEER LOAN TRANSACTION.
USPGPub No. US 20220060559 A1 by Soni; Priteshkumar et al. discloses OPTIMIZATION OF ENCODING CYCLES FOR OBJECT RECOVERY FEED.
USPGPub No. US 20190102769 A1 by Tseretopoulos; Dean C. N. et al. discloses AUTOMATIC DIGITAL PERSONAL ASSISTANT INTERJECTION FOR DELAYING DATA EXCHANGE OUTCOMES.
USPGPub No. US 20170357973 A1 by VAN OS; Marcel et al. discloses USER INTERFACES FOR TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20230044203 A1 by VAN OS; Marcel et al. discloses USER INTERFACE FOR TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20170357972 A1 by VAN OS; Marcel et al. discloses USER INTERFACE FOR TRANSACTIONS.
USPGPub No. US 20150348029 A1 by VAN OS; Marcel et al. discloses USER INTERFACE FOR PAYMENTS.
USPGPub No. US 20120166261 A1 by Velusamy; Umashankar et al. discloses METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR DYNAMIC COUPON SHARING.
USPGPub No. US 20200334649 A1 by Veznedaroglu; Erol discloses SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR PAYING AND RECEIVING GRATUITIES.
USPAT No. US 7860755 B2 to Warner; Neil discloses Rating e-commerce transactions.
USPAT No. US 10810574 B1 to Wilson; Jesse et al. discloses Electronic audible payment messaging.
Sincerely,
/SLADE E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3696 03/30/2026