DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bassoli (US 2005/0286546) in view of Sheth (US 2013/0188632).
Regarding Claim 1, 8, 15, Bassoli discloses a system comprising: a first audio playback device; a second audio playback device; and a processor configured to: establish a group audio session between the first audio playback device and the second audio playback device, and after establishing the group audio session (Paragraph 0008, Figures 5-8). This is equivalent to the synchronization of playback among groups of devices. Bassoli discloses user interface to display a playlist identifying a plurality of songs, receive, via the user interface, a selection to initiate playback of a song of the plurality of songs, and in response to receiving the selection, cause the song to be simultaneously output by the first audio playback device and the second audio playback device (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7). Examiner submits that in the context of Paragraph 0072 and 0075, a song is simultaneously output amongst multiple playback devices. This is evidenced by window 703 displaying a playlist of songs available on the remote listened-to player identified by the image 701, and the selection of an item on that list transmits a request to the source player being listened to switch the playback to that selected other song. The source player may then display the request to its user who accepts or rejects the request. In this way, with the permission of the user, the song being reproduced by the source player can be remotely controlled by one or more of the listening players.
Bassoli does not disclose calculating a network latency value between the first audio playback device and the second audio playback device; playback time calculated based on the network latency value. However, Sheth discloses calculating a network latency value between the first audio playback device and the second audio playback device; playback time calculated based on the network latency value (Paragraphs 0043, 0061-0062, 0079). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify and improve the synchronous audio playback system of Paragraphs 0070-0075 of Bassoli, and since both Bassoli and Sheth identically disclose measuring network latency in order to ensure audio playback device synchronization amongst devices disclosed in Paragraph 0011, 0066 of Bassoli; and Paragraphs 0043, 0061-0062, 0079 of Sheth.
Claim 2, Bassoli discloses where displaying the playlist identifying a plurality of songs comprises: displaying, in the user interface of either the first audio playback device or the second audio playback device, the playlist identifying a plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 3, Bassoli discloses control of the song, or (ii) navigation to another song of the plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 4, Bassoli discloses receiving, by the processor via the user interface, a playback selection of the set of playback selections that enables playback control of the song, and controlling playback of the song by the first audio playback device and the second audio playback device according to the playback selection. (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 5, Bassoli discloses wherein displaying the playlist identifying the plurality of songs comprises: enabling a user to browse, via the user interface, a set of playlists comprising the playlist, receiving a selection, via the user interface, of the playlist from the set of playlists, and after receiving the selection, displaying, via the user interface, the playlist identifying the plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 6, Bassoli discloses wherein receiving the selection to initiate playback of the song comprises: receiving, by the processor via the user interface, a song selection of the song displayed in the user interface (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 7, Bassoli discloses wherein displaying the playlist identifying a plurality of songs comprises: displaying, in the user interface, (i) the playlist identifying the plurality of songs, and (i) a title of each song of the plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 9, Bassoli discloses wherein either the first audio playback device or the second audio playback device comprises the user interface (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 10, Bassoli discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: cause the user interface to display set of playback selections that enables (i) playback control of the song, or (ii) navigation to another song of the plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 11, Bassoli discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: enables playback control of the song, and control playback of the song by the first audio playback device and the second audio playback device according to the playback selection (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 12, Bassoli discloses wherein to cause the user interface to display the playlist identifying a plurality of songs, the processor is configured to: enable a user to browse, via the user interface, a set of playlists comprising the playlist, receive a selection, via the user interface, of the playlist from the set of playlists, and after receiving the selection, cause the user interface to display the playlist identifying the plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 13, Bassoli discloses wherein to receive the selection to initiate playback of the song, the processor is configured to: receive, via the user interface, a song selection of the song displayed in the user interface (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 14, Bassoli discloses wherein to cause the user interface to display the playlist identifying a plurality of songs, the processor is configured to: cause the user interface to display (i) the playlist identifying the plurality of songs, and (i) a title of each song of the plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 16, Bassoli discloses where displaying the playlist identifying a plurality of songs comprises: displaying, in the user interface of either the first audio playback device or the second audio playback device, the playlist identifying a plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 17, Bassoli discloses wherein the operations further comprise: control of the song, or (ii) navigation to another song of the plurality of songs. (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 18, Bassoli discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, via the user interface, a playback selection of the set of playback selections that enables playback control of the song, and controlling playback of the song by the first audio playback device and the second audio playback device according to the playback selection (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 19, Bassoli discloses wherein displaying the playlist identifying the plurality of songs comprises: enabling a user to browse, via the user interface, a set of playlists comprising the playlist, receiving a selection, via the user interface, of the playlist from the set of playlists, and after receiving the selection, displaying, via the user interface, the playlist identifying the plurality of songs (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Claim 20, Bassoli discloses wherein receiving the selection to initiate playback of the song comprises: receiving, via the user interface, a song selection of the song displayed in the user interface (Paragraphs 0070-0072, 0075, Figures 5-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKUR JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649