DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-29 in the reply filed on 30 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 30-38 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the movable bracket and the at least one massage stick being movable reciprocatingly on the lower track housing " in lines 6-7. Claim 9 provides for the movable bracket and the at least one massage stick being movable in the lower track housing but has not provided the structure for the at least one massage stick being movable on the lower track housing. That structure is provided in claim 15, therefore it is unclear if “in” or “on” is the intended limitation in claim 9.
Claims 10-15 inherit the same deficiency.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the at least one of the side walls" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 recites “one of the side walls” and claim 1 recites “side walls”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the thickness" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 17-29 inherit the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nippori Gift (JP 2004313689 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nippori Gift discloses a massage device, which comprises: a drive motor (Fugre 3, motor “2”); a drive wheel operatively coupled to the drive motor to rotate upon energization of the drive motor (Figure 3, Motor “2” drives rotary shaft “22” to rotate, which rotates inclined disk “30”, Paragraphs [0025] and [0028]), the drive wheel having an eccentric post situated thereon (Figure 3, An engaging protrusion “43” is provided near an outer periphery of the inclined disc “30” and connects the disc “30” to bearing “42”, Paragraph [0025]); a movable bracket (Figure 3, A bearing “42”, Paragraph [0025]), the movable bracket including one or more massaging elements rotatably mounted thereon (Figure 3, A finger pressure roller “41” made of a hard material is rotatably attached to the bearing “42”, Paragraph [0025]); a rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler (Figure 3, the engagement projection “43” reciprocates vertically in the guide hole “12” of support cylinder “11” as the inclined disk “30” rotates, Paragraph [0028]), the translation coupler being operatively coupled to the drive wheel and to the movable bracket (Figure 4 shows that the bearing “42” and the disk “30” are engaged with the guide hole “12” of support cylinder “11” by projection “43”); and an exterior sleeve defining a handle for a user to hold the massage device (Figure 3,An external surface of the device is defined by the case “10” and soft cap “7”, Paragraph [0025]), the exterior sleeve further defining an interior space in which the drive motor, drive wheel, movable bracket and rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler are disposed (Figure 3, The case “10” and soft cap “7” contain the motor “2”, disk “30”, bearing “42”, and support cylinder “11” with guide hole “12”); whereby, when the drive motor is energized, the drive motor, being operatively coupled to the drive wheel, causes the drive wheel to rotate, the rotating drive wheel, being operatively coupled to the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler, causes the movable bracket and the one or more massaging elements to move with a linear, reciprocating motion (Figure 3, When the device is on, the motor “2” rotates the rotary shaft “2”. When the rotary shaft “22” rotates, the inclined disk “30” rotates. The engagement projection “43” is engaged with the outer periphery of the inclined disc “30”, but because the inclined disc “30” is inclined with respect to the rotary shaft “22”, the engagement projection “43” reciprocates vertically in the guide hole “12”. As a result, the finger pressure roller “41” reciprocates while rolling on the inner wall surface of the soft cap “7”, Paragraphs [0025-0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 1, wherein the movable bracket includes a main body having a top wall and opposite lateral walls joined to the top wall (Figures 3 and 6 show that the bearing “42” has two side walls extending upward from either side of a base wall); and wherein the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is mounted on or forms a portion of the top wall of the main body of the movable bracket and defines an elongated slot in which the eccentric post of the drive wheel is received (Figures 4 and 6 show that the projection “43” is received through the elongated slot “12”, connecting the bearing “42” to the support cylinder “11” in which the elongated slot is provided).
Regarding claim 3, Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 2, wherein the one or more massaging elements include at least one massage stick, the at least one massage stick extending between the lateral walls of the main body of the movable bracket and being rotatable relative to the movable bracket (Figure 4, Finger pressure roller “41” is rotatably mounted between the side walls of the bearing “42”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nippori Gift (JP 2004313689 A) in view of Klaes (US 2273710 A).
Regarding claim 4, Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 3, wherein the at least one massage stick includes a cylindrical main body an outer surface (Figures 3 and 4 show that finger pressure roller “41” is cylindrical with an outer surface) but fails to explicitly disclose the massage stick having a plurality of spherical pillars extending radially outwardly from the outer surface of the cylindrical main body. Klaes discloses a massage device of a roller type (Col 1, lines 1-2) and teaches a massage stick having a plurality of spherical pillars extending radially outwardly from the outer surface of the cylindrical main body (Figures 3 and 4, the surface of the roller “15” supports a plurality of pressure-transmitting fingers “22” formed integrally on or suitably fixed to said cylinder to project radially therefrom. The pressure transmitting fingers are cylindrical with convexed ends, Col 3, lines 4-10). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by Nippori Gift to include the massage stick having a plurality of spherical pillars extending radially outwardly from the outer surface of the cylindrical main body as taught by Klaes, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a desired pressure distribution (Col 1, lines 13-10).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 4, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein each spherical pillar includes a post joined to the outer surface of the cylindrical main body of the at least one massage stick, the post having a free end formed with a semi-spherical shape. Klaes discloses a massage device of a roller type (Col 1, lines 1-2) and teaches wherein each spherical pillar includes a post joined to the outer surface of the cylindrical main body of the at least one massage stick (Figure 3), the post having a free end formed with a semi-spherical shape (Figures 3 and 4, The surface of the roller “15” supports a plurality of pressure-transmitting fingers “22” formed integrally on or suitably fixed to said cylinder to project radially therefrom. The pressure transmitting fingers are cylindrical with convex ends, Col 3, lines 4-10). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift with each spherical pillar including a post joined to the outer surface of the cylindrical main body of the at least one massage stick and the post having a free end formed with a semi-spherical shape as taught by Klaes, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a desired pressure distribution (Col 1, lines 13-10).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 4, wherein the movable bracket includes at least one rod mounted to and extending between the lateral walls of the main body of the movable bracket (Figures 3 and 4 show that the finger pressure roller “41” is rotatably mounted to bearing “42” by a rod that extends through the roller “41” into both sides of the bearing “42”); and wherein the cylindrical main body of the at least one massage stick has a bore formed axially therethrough, the at least one rod being received by the bore of the cylindrical main body of the at least one massage stick such that the at least one massage stick is rotatably mounted on the at least one rod (Figures 3 and 4 show that the finger pressure roller “41” is rotatably mounted to bearing “42” by a rod that extends through the roller “41” into both sides of the bearing “42”).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nippori Gift (JP 2004313689 A) in view of Klaes (US 2273710 A), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Haddock (US 20210228437 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 4, which further comprises: a first housing section and a second housing section, the second housing section being joined to the first housing section (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, A soft cap “7” and a casing “10” are joined together and have a cavity between them), the first housing section and the second housing section, when joined together, defining a cavity therebetween, at least the drive motor being disposed within the cavity defined by the joined together first housing section and the second housing section (Figure 3, A soft cap “7” and a casing “10” are joined together and have a cavity between them. The motor “2” is disposed in the portion of the cavity that is within casing “10”, Paragraph [0025]). Nippori Gift fails to explicitly disclose the first housing section and the second housing section being disposed within the interior space defined by the exterior sleeve. Haddock discloses a pressure field stimulation device (Abstract) and teaches the first housing section and the second housing section being disposed within the interior space defined by the exterior sleeve (Paragraphs [0119-0120], Figure 13A, The sheath is tightly bound to the shaft “1302”. Shaft “1302” may include enclosure “1311” which has two portions ‘1314” and “1312”. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include the first housing section and the second housing section being disposed within the interior space defined by the exterior sleeve as taught by Haddock, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a continuous outer surface for hygienic reasons.
Regarding claim 8, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 7, which further comprises a battery, the battery being disposed within the cavity defined by the joined together first housing section and the second housing section (Paragraphs [0025] and [0029], Figure 3, Power is supplied to the motor “2” by a battery “5” which is also within the portion of the internal cavity that is in case “10”. In addition to the battery, a power supply adapter or the like for obtaining power from household power supplies may be used for the power supply). Nippori Gift fails to explicitly disclose that the battery is rechargeable. Haddock discloses a pressure field stimulation device (Abstract) and teaches that the battery is rechargeable (Paragraph [0144], Battery “1816” may be rechargeable,). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include a rechargeable battery as taught by Haddock, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of reducing the amount of consumable parts.
Claim(s) 16-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nippori Gift (JP 2004313689 A) in view of Wilson (US 3523524 A).
Regarding claim 16, Nippori Gift discloses a massage device, which comprises: a drive motor (Figure 3, motor “2”); a drive wheel operatively coupled to the drive motor to rotate upon energization of the drive motor (Paragraph [0025] and [0029], Figure 3, Motor “2” drives rotary shaft “22” to rotate, which rotates inclined disk “30”), the drive wheel having an eccentric post situated thereon (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, An engaging protrusion “43” is provided near an outer periphery of the inclined disc “30” and connects the disc “30” to bearing “42”); a movable frame (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, bearing “42”), the movable frame including one or more massaging elements rotatably mounted thereon (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, A finger pressure roller “41” made of a hard material is rotatably attached to the bearing “42”); a rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler (Paragraph [0028], Figure 3, The engagement projection “43” reciprocates vertically in the guide hole “12” of support cylinder “11” as the inclined disk “30” rotates), the translation coupler being operatively coupled to the drive wheel and to the movable frame (Figure 4 shows that the bearing “42” and the disk “30” are engaged with the guide hole “12” of support cylinder “11” by projection “43”); and a handle for a user to hold the massage device (Figure 3, A case “10” at the bottom of the device), the handle defining an interior space in which at least the drive motor is at least partially disposed (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, The motor “2” is within the case “10”); whereby, when the drive motor is energized, the drive motor, being operatively coupled to the drive wheel, causes the drive wheel to rotate, the rotating drive wheel, being operatively coupled to the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler, causing the movable frame and the one or more massaging elements to move with a linear, reciprocating motion (Paragraph [0025-0028], When the device is on, the motor “2” rotates the rotary shaft “22”. When the rotary shaft “22” rotates, the inclined disk “30” rotates. The engagement projection “43” is engaged with the outer periphery of the inclined disc “30”, but because the inclined disc “30” is inclined with respect to the rotary shaft “22”, the engagement projection “43” reciprocates vertically in the guide hole “12”. As a result, the finger pressure roller “41” reciprocates while rolling on the inner wall surface of the soft cap “7”).
Nippori Gift fails to explicitly disclose a base plate, the base plate including a lower wall and a first side wall portion and a second side wall portion, the first side wall portion and the second side wall portion being joined to the lower wall of the base plate, the first side wall portion being disposed opposite the second side wall portion on the lower wall of the base plate, the lower wall of the base plate having a window formed through the thickness thereof, the movable frame being disposed in alignment with the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate, at least a portion of the one or more massaging elements projecting through the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate, the lower wall, the first side wall portion and the second side wall portion of the base plate defining an interior space. Wilson discloses a therapeutic device with a track having a pair of rails for guiding the path of travel of massaging roller (Col 1, lines 2-8) and teaches a base plate (Col 1, line 36, Figure 2, generally flat plate or table “10”), the base plate including a lower wall and a first side wall portion and a second side wall portion, the first side wall portion and the second side wall portion being joined to the lower wall of the base plate, the first side wall portion being disposed opposite the second side wall portion on the lower wall of the base plate (Figure 5, Two parallel struts “16” extend downward from flat plate “10”), the lower wall of the base plate having a window formed through the thickness thereof (Col 1, lines 37-38, Figure 5, An elongated opening “13” extends through the thickness of the flat plate “10), the movable frame being disposed in alignment with the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate (Col 1, lines 65-66, Figure 5, Clevises “40” which hold a roller shaft “42” on which a roller “44” is mounted are aligned within the opening “13”), at least a portion of the one or more massaging elements projecting through the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate (Figures 1-4, As the rollers “44” move along their paths, they extend upward and project through the opening “13” in the flat plate “10’), the lower wall, the first side wall portion and the second side wall portion of the base plate defining an interior space (Figure 5 shows that the parallel struts “16” and the plate “10” define an interior space). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include a base plate, the base plate including a lower wall and a first side wall portion and a second side wall portion, the first side wall portion and the second side wall portion being joined to the lower wall of the base plate, the first side wall portion being disposed opposite the second side wall portion on the lower wall of the base plate, the lower wall of the base plate having a window formed through the thickness thereof, the movable frame being disposed in alignment with the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate, at least a portion of the one or more massaging elements projecting through the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate, the lower wall, the first side wall portion and the second side wall portion of the base plate defining an interior space as taught by Wilson, since such a modification would provide a device with a desired shape using multiple walls rather than a cylindrical shape.
Regarding claim 17, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 16, but fails to explicitly disclose the device which further comprises a first slide post and second slide post, the second slide post being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first slide post, the first slide post and the second slide post being disposed within the interior space of the base plate and extending transversely therein at least partially between the oppositely disposed first side wall portion and the second side wall portion; wherein the movable frame is reciprocatingly movable on the first slide post and the second slide post over the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate. Wilson teaches a first slide post and second slide post (Figures 3 and 5, Multiple roller shafts “42”), the second slide post being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first slide post (Figures 3 and 5, The roller shafts “42” of all the rollers “44” extends parallel to each other), the first slide post and the second slide post being disposed within the interior space of the base plate and extending transversely therein at least partially between the oppositely disposed first side wall portion and the second side wall portion (Figures 4 and 5 shows that the roller shafts “42” are within the space defined by the parallel struts “16” shown in figure 5 and the flat plate “10” when they move along their paths going into and out of the opening “13”); wherein the movable frame is reciprocatingly movable on the first slide post and the second slide post over the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate (Figures 4 and 5 show that each of the clevises “40” are moved on the roller shafts “42” along a pair of rails “48” which provide a track above and below the opening “13”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include a first slide post and second slide post, the second slide post being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first slide post, the first slide post and the second slide post being disposed within the interior space of the base plate and extending transversely therein at least partially between the oppositely disposed first side wall portion and the second side wall portion; wherein the movable frame is reciprocatingly movable on the first slide post and the second slide post over the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate as taught by Wilson, since such a modification would provide the ability to add additional rollers to the device.
Regarding claim 18, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 17, wherein the movable frame includes a first member and a second member, the second member being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first member, each of the first member and the second member having a bore formed axially therethrough (Figures 3 and 4 show that the finger pressure roller “41” is rotatably mounted to bearing “42” by a rod that extends through the roller “41” into both sides of the bearing “42”, which run parallel to each other), but Nippori Gift fails to explicitly disclose the first slide post being received by the bore of the first member of the movable frame, and the second slide post being received by the bore of the second member of the movable frame. Wilson teaches the movable frame includes a first member and a second member, the second member being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first member (Figure 3, Two clevises “40” each have a pair of auxiliary rollers “47” which are mounted on them by means of their respective shafts “42”. The pairs of auxillary rollers “47” are arranged on parallel axes), each of the first member and the second member having a bore formed axially therethrough (Figure 5, Each pair of auxiliary rollers “47” shares an axis with which their axial bores are aligned), the first slide post being received by the bore of the first member of the movable frame, and the second slide post being received by the bore of the second member of the movable frame (Figures 4 and 5, Each of the roller shafts “42” extend through the bores of their respective pair of rollers “47” on their respective clevis “40”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include the first slide post being received by the bore of the first member of the movable frame, and the second slide post being received by the bore of the second member of the movable frame as taught by Wilson, since such a modification would provide the ability to add additional rollers to the device.
Regarding claim 19, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 18. Nippori Gift fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the first member and the second member of the movable frame is cylindrical in shape. Wilson teaches each of the first member and the second member of the movable frame is cylindrical in shape (Figures 4 and 5, Each of the auxiliary rollers “47” of the two pairs of auxiliary rollers “47” is cylindrical in shape). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include wherein each of the first member and the second member of the movable frame is cylindrical in shape as taught by Wilson, since such a modification would allow the members to better move along the surface of the support cylinder.
Regarding claim 20, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 18, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the movable frame further includes a first side rail and a second rail, the second side rail being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first side rail, each of the first side rail and the second side rail extending between and being joined to the first member and the second member of the movable frame. Wilson teaches the movable frame further includes a first side rail and a second rail, the second side rail being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first side rail (Figure 3 and 4, Each clevis is mounted onto a pair of parallel side rails “48” by its respective pair of auxiliary rollers “47”), each of the first side rail and the second side rail extending between and being joined to the first member and the second member of the movable frame (Figures 3 and 5, Each of the side rails “48” is joined to both the first and second clevis “40” by their respective pair of auxiliary rollers “47”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include wherein the movable frame further includes a first side rail and a second rail, the second side rail being spaced apart from and disposed in parallel with the first side rail, each of the first side rail and the second side rail extending between and being joined to the first member and the second member of the movable frame as taught by Wilson, since such a modification would allow the movable frame and the roller to move with a varying distance from the axis of the drive wheel.
Regarding claim 21, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 18, wherein the movable frame includes at least one rod extending between and operatively joined to the first member and the second member of the movable frame, the one or more massaging elements being rotatably mounted on the at least one rod (Figures 3 and 4 show that the finger pressure roller “41” is rotatably mounted to bearing “42” by a rod that extends through the roller “41” into both sides of the bearing “42”, which run parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 22, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 21, wherein the one or more massaging elements rotatably mounted on the at least one rod of the movable frame are rollers (Paragraph [0025], Figures 3 and 4, The reciprocating element is a finger pressure roller “41”).
Regarding claim 23, modified Nippori discloses the massage device of claim 22, wherein at least one of the rollers rotatably mounted on the at least one rod of the movable frame has one of a cylindrical shape and a frustoconical shape (Figures 3 and 4, The finger pressure roller “41” is cylindrical).
Regarding claim 24, modified Nippori discloses the massage device of claim 18, wherein the rotational movement-to linear movement translation coupler is mounted on one of the first member and the second member of the movable frame (Paragraph [0028], Figures 3 and 4 show that the two sides of the bearing “42” are connected to the vertical slot “12” by the engaging projection “43” which extends through the guide hole “12”).
Regarding claim 25, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 24, wherein the rotational movement to linear movement translation coupler includes a main body having an elongated slot formed therein (Paragraph [0025-0028], Figure 3-4, The rotational movement is transformed into vertical reciprocating movement by means of an elongated slot “12” in support cylinder “11”); and wherein the drive wheel includes an axial surface (Figure 3, An inclined disk “30”), the eccentric post being mounted on the axial surface and extending outwardly therefrom (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, An engaging protrusion “43” is provided near an outer periphery of the inclined disc “30” and contacts the disk “30”, extending radially outward from an outer region of the disc “30” to bearing “42”), the eccentric post of the drive wheel being received by the elongated slot formed in the main body of the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler and reciprocatingly movable therein when the drive motor is energized (Paragraphs [0025-0028], Figure 3, The engagement projection “43” reciprocates vertically in the guide hole “12” when the device is on as it is driven by the rotation of disc “30” resulting from activation of motor “2”).
Regarding claim 26, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 25, wherein the movable frame generally resides in a plane (Figures 3 and 4); and wherein the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is positioned on the one of the first member and the second member of the movable frame such that the elongated slot of the main body of the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is disposed to extend substantially perpendicularly to the plane in which the movable frame generally resides (Paragraph [0028], Figures 3 and 4, The sidewalls that make up the bearing “42” extend outward from the plane of the guide hole “12”. Bearing “42” is connected to the slot by protrusion “43” which extends through the guide hole).
Regarding claim 27, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 25, wherein the movable frame generally resides in a plane (Figure 3 and 4, The sidewalls that make up the bearing “42” extend outward from the plane of the guide hole “12”). Nippori Gift fails to explicitly disclose wherein the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is positioned on the one of the first member and the second member of the movable frame such that the elongated slot of the main body of the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is disposed to extend substantially co-planarly with the plane in which the movable frame generally resides. Wilson teaches wherein the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is positioned on the one of the first member and the second member of the movable frame such that the elongated slot of the main body of the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is disposed to extend substantially co-planarly with the plane in which the movable frame generally resides (Figures 1 and 4 show that during the horizontal portion of its path defined by rails “48”, the clevis “40” is nearly coplanar with longitudinal slot “13a”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include wherein the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is positioned on the one of the first member and the second member of the movable frame such that the elongated slot of the main body of the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler is disposed to extend substantially co-planarly with the plane in which the movable frame generally resides as taught by Wilson, since such a modification would allow the movable frame and the roller to move with a varying distance from the axis of the drive wheel.
Regarding claim 29, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 16, wherein the handle is formed as an exterior sleeve, the exterior sleeve defining an interior space in which at least the drive motor and the drive wheel are disposed (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, An external surface of the device is defined by the case “10” and soft cap “7” which contain the motor “2” and disk “30”). Nippori Gift fails to explicitly disclose the sleeve being joined to the base plate. Wilson discloses the sleeve being joined to the base plate (Col 1, lines 36-38, Figure 2, Flat plate “10” is covered by a resilient pad “12” preferably made of foam or rubber). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift with the sleeve being joined to the base plate as taught by Wilson, since such a modification prevent the sleeve from moving into the rollers during use.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nippori Gift (JP 2004313689 A) in view of Wilson (US 3523524 A), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Haddock (US 20210228437 A1).
Regarding claim 28, modified Nippori Gift discloses the massage device of claim 16, but fails to explicitly disclose a flexible bottom cover disposed on at least a portion of the bottom surface of the lower wall and covering the window formed through the lower wall of the base plate; and wherein the at least portion of the one or more massaging elements which project through the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate engages the flexible bottom cover and deforms a portion of the flexible bottom cover outwardly when the movable frame and the one or more massaging elements move reciprocatingly relative to the base plate. Haddock discloses a pressure field stimulation device (Abstract) and teaches a roller being disposed within the interior space defined by the exterior sleeve (Paragraphs [0119-0120], Figure 13A, the sheath “1347” covers the roller “1304”) Haddock further discloses the roller “1304” is disposed to traverse a path under sheath “1347”, during usage. The roller “1304” is adjacent an interior side “1359a” of the sheath ‘1347” and the massage surface is the exterior side “1359b’ of the sheath. The roller “1304” may roll over the interior side “1359a” to reduce friction from otherwise rubbing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the massage device as taught by modified Nippori Gift to include a flexible bottom cover disposed on at least a portion of the bottom surface of the lower wall and covering the window formed through the lower wall of the base plate; and wherein the at least portion of the one or more massaging elements which project through the window formed in the lower wall of the base plate engages the flexible bottom cover and deforms a portion of the flexible bottom cover outwardly when the movable frame and the one or more massaging elements move reciprocatingly relative to the base plate as taught by Haddock, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a continuous outer surface for hygienic reasons and reduce friction from otherwise rubbing (Paragraph [0119]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 9, the claim incorporates the massage device of claims 1-4 and 7, and further claims the massage device comprises lower track housing, the lower track housing including a top wall, an open bottom situated opposite the top wall, and side walls extending between the open bottom and top wall, the top wall and side walls of the lower track housing defining an interior space in which the movable bracket and the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler are disposed, the movable bracket and the at least one massage stick being movable reciprocatingly on the lower track housing and within the interior space thereof, the lower track housing being disposed within the interior space defined by the exterior sleeve.
Nippori Gift discloses an interior space within which a movable bracket and the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler are disposed (Paragraph [0025], Figure 3, the space between support cylinder “11” and the interior surface of soft cap “7”). However, Nippori Gift fails to disclose the lower track housing, the lower track housing defining an interior space in which the movable bracket and the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler are disposed, and the movable bracket and the at least one massage stick being movable reciprocatingly on the lower track housing, the lower track housing being disposed within the interior space defined by the exterior sleeve.
Haddock teaches a lower track housing, the lower track housing including a top wall, an open bottom situated opposite the top wall, and side walls extending between the open bottom and top wall (Figure 13C, A threaded post “1310” has a U shaped spiral channel spaced apart by side walls and open on one side), the top wall and side walls of the lower track housing defining an interior space in which the movable bracket is disposed, the movable bracket and the at least one massage stick being movable reciprocatingly on the lower track housing and within the interior space thereof (Paragraph [0125], The pitch of the threads corresponds to the width of a roller “1304” which is disposed within the threads so that it can move up and down along the threads as they rotate clockwise and counterclockwise), the lower track housing being disposed within the interior space defined by the exterior sleeve (Paragraphs [0119]-[0120], The roller “1304” is disposed to traverse a path under sheath “1347”, during usage. The roller “1304” is adjacent an interior side “1359a” of the sheath “1347” and the massage surface is the exterior side “1359b” of the sheath). Haddock also teaches a rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler (Paragraph [0125], The roller “1304” is partially captured in a vertical opening “1324” in the enclosure “1311” which causes the roller “1304” to reciprocate up and down as it moves along the spiral channel in the threaded post “1310”).
However, Haddock fails to disclose the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler being disposed within the space defined by the top wall and side walls of the lower track housing. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nippori Gift to include the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler being disposed within the space defined by the top wall and side walls of the lower track housing because the movement-to-linear movement translation coupler of Nippori Gift already confines its bracket to a path. Further, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Haddock to include the rotational movement-to-linear movement translation coupler being disposed within the space defined by the top wall and side walls of the lower track housing because lowering the coupler into that space would interfere with the rotation of the threaded shaft which drives the moving part up and down.
Claims 10-15 are dependent on claim 9.
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/M.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791