DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on [] is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the reference(s) given in the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Figs. 4-5 have element number 111a and Figs. 4 and 6 have element numbers 105 and 105a which are not mentioned in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 11, 15, 17, 22, 24-25, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 introduces on line 1, “at least one mobile device” and further recites “at least one mobile device” on lines 3, 7-8, 9, and 11 instead of reciting “at least one said mobile device.” Independent claims 13, 19, and 27-28 have the same issue.
Claims 5 ,11, 15, 17, 22, and 24-25 recite “at least one mobile device” instead of “at least one said mobile device.”
Claims 5 and 15 recite “when the device holder is damaged, malfunction, …” instead of “when the device holder is damaged, malfunctions, …”
Claim 7 recites “perform wireless charging of the other of the plurality of mobile devices” instead of “perform wireless charging of another of the plurality of mobile devices.”
Claim 27 introduces on lines 1-3, “a device holder,” “a beverage receptacle,” and “a motorized vehicle” but recites on lines 4-6, “a device holder,” “a beverage receptacle,” and “a motorized vehicle” instead of “the device holder,” “the beverage receptacle,” and “the motorized vehicle.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 11, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 20160036262 A1) in view of Amazon (“Wireless Charging Station with 6 USB Ports, 8 in 1 15W Dual Wireless Charger Station, 2 QC/2 PD USB Fast Charging Station, 80W Phone Charger for iPhone14/13/12/11/X/Samsung/Android/iWatch” Amazon < https://www.amazon.com/Wireless-Charging-Station-Charger-iPhone14/dp/B0B1DYBZ31 > Review posted June 17, 2022).
Regarding independent claim 1, Cheng teaches a device holder for wirelessly providing power to at least one mobile device (Fig. 1 and ¶[2]), comprising:
a housing having a vertically extending first device well (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: an electronic device is inserted into the opening 24 located between vertically extending walls, second sidewall 23 and clamping portion 2211);
a front surface in communication with the first or second device well (Fig. 1 and ¶[18]: wireless communication module 234 located in first sidewall 22 or other places),
a rear surface in communication with the second or first device well (Fig. 1 and ¶[18]), and
wireless charging circuitry adapted to wirelessly charge at least one mobile device inserted into the first and/or second device wells (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: wireless charging module 233 in second sidewall 23 charges electronic device); and
wherein upon placement of at least one mobile device within the first and/or second device well, the charging element front surface and/or rear surface perform wireless charging of the at least one mobile device (¶[19]).
Cheng does not teach a vertically extending second device well and a charging element disposed central to the housing and between the first and second device well.
Amazon teaches a vertically extending second device well (page 1) and a charging element disposed central to the housing and between the first and second device well (front charging element located between two phone holders, see Figure A1 below. Review dated June 17, 2022 on page 5/7 of reviews states “The product works really well … even through bulky phone cases”).
Figure A1
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the charging two phones at the same time in the charger of Amazon with the charging of a single device in the charger of Cheng to convenient charge multiple phones at the same time while using less space.
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches the device holder of claim 1, wherein the device holder is secured within a beverage receptacle of a motorized vessel (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 1, wherein the charging element wireless charging circuitry is adapted to wirelessly charge a plurality of mobile devices inserted into the first and/or second device well (Amazon page 1: two devices in two slots and charged at the same time).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 6, wherein the charging element front surface performs wireless charging of one of the plurality of mobile devices inserted into the first device well and/or the second device well and the rear surface perform wireless charging of the other of the plurality of mobile devices inserted into the second device well and/or the first device well (Amazon page 1 and Figure A1 above: front coil charges phone in front, and back coil charges phone in back).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng teaches the device holder of claim 1, wherein each of the device wells include a ramped member configured to bias at least one mobile device inserted into the first and/or second device well toward the charging element (Fig. 1 and [19]: clamping portion 2211 holds the device against the second side wall 23, wherein the wireless charging module resides in the second side wall 23).
Regarding independent claim 28, Cheng teaches a device holder for wirelessly providing power to at least one mobile device (Fig. 1 and ¶[2]), comprising:
a housing secured within a beverage receptacle of a motorized vessel (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle), the housing having a vertically extending first device well (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: an electronic device is inserted into the opening 24 located between vertically extending walls, second sidewall 23 and clamping portion 2211);
(Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: wireless charging module 233 in second sidewall 23 charges electronic device); and
wherein upon placement of at least one mobile device within the first and/or second device well, the charging element front surface and/or rear surface perform wireless charging of the at least one mobile device (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: wireless charging module 233 in second sidewall 23 charges electronic device).
Cheng does not teach the housing having a vertically extending second device well and a charging element disposed central to the housing and between the first and second device well.
Amazon teaches a vertically extending second device well (page 1) and a charging element disposed central to the housing and between the first and second device well (front charging element located between two phone holders, see Figure A1 below. Review dated June 17, 2022 on page 5/7 of reviews states “The product works really well … even through bulky phone cases”).
Figure A1
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the charging two phones at the same time in the charger of Amazon with the charging of a single device in the charger of Cheng to convenient charge multiple phones at the same time while using less space.
Claims 2, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Amazon, and further in view of Hartelt (US 20160190817 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 1.
Cheng does not teach the device holder further comprising a shroud or cover coupled to an end of the housing, the shroud or cover capable of encapsulating the device wells.
Hartelt teaches a device holder further comprising a shroud or cover coupled to an end of the housing, the shroud or cover capable of encapsulating the device wells (Fig. 1 and ¶[15]: compartment 112 protects devices by covering them).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the compartment cover in Hartelt into the charger of Cheng prevent contaminants like water or dirt from getting to the devices.
Regarding claim 9, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 1.
Cheng does not teach the device holder further comprising a plurality of shroud portions coupled to an end of the housing, each of the plurality of shroud portions adapted to be received within one of the device wells, each of the plurality of shroud portions comprising stanchion members and connecting projections.
Hartelt teaches a plurality of shroud portions coupled to an end of the housing, each of the plurality of shroud portions adapted to be received within one of the device wells, each of the plurality of shroud portions comprising stanchion members and connecting projections (Fig. 2 and ¶[15, 21]: three compartments cover the devices, the compartments containing securing elements such as Velcro, straps, cords, zippers, rubber, and so on to secure the device).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the compartment cover in Hartelt into the charger of Cheng prevent contaminants like water or dirt from getting to the devices and to secure the devices from damage due any jostling motion.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 1
Cheng does not explicitly teach the device holder further comprising a connecting element capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source.
Hartelt teaches a connecting element capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source (Fig. 2 and ¶[8]: wireless charging base 102 has cable connecting to an electrical power socket).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the external power of Hartelt into the charger of Cheng to power the wireless charger.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Amazon, and further in view of Salter (US 20140203770 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 3.
Cheng does not teach lighted elements to indicate one or more parameters of the device holder.
Salter teaches lighted elements to indicate one or more parameters of a charger (abstract and ¶[3-4, 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the light sources of Salter into the charger of Cheng to let the user know the charging status of a chargeable device.
Regarding claim 5, Cheng in view of Amazon and Salter teaches the device holder of claim 4, wherein Salter further teaches the one or more parameters comprise when at least one mobile device is charging or fully charged (¶[18-19]), when at least one mobile device has been properly and/or improper placement within the first and/or second device well (¶[27]), when the device holder is damaged, malfunction or in need of service (¶[28]), and combinations thereof (abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Amazon, and further in view of Higaki (US 20210354562 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 1.
Cheng does not disclose the housing is constructed of a UV enhanced material.
Higaki teaches a housing is constructed of a UV enhanced material (¶[19]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the UV resistant material of Higaki into the device holder of Cheng to prevent damage to the housing from ultraviolet light.
Claims 10, 13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, and Folan (US 6570992 B1, published 5/27/2003).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng in view of Amazon teaches the device holder of claim 1.
Cheng does not teach wherein an end of the housing includes an insertion member to enclose the device wells.
Hartelt teaches wherein an end of the housing includes an insertion member to enclose the device wells (Fig. 1 and ¶[15]: compartment 112 protects devices by covering them using a zipper. Zippers close by interlocking insertion members.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the compartment cover in Hartelt into the charger of Cheng prevent contaminants like water or dirt from getting to the devices.
Hartelt does not teach the insertion member including tab portions in communication with the device wells.
Folan teaches an insertion member including tab portions in communication with the device wells (Figs. 1-2 and Col 5, ll 37-40: projecting retention tabs 6 come into communication with retention portions, and can expand and engage with retention portions).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the tabs securing the microphone in Folan into charger of Cheng, modified by Hartelt, to make a secure attachment of the device with low possibility of accidental removal (Folan – Col 5, ll 40-43).
Regarding independent claim 13, Cheng teaches a device holder for wirelessly providing power to at least one mobile device (Fig. 1 and ¶[2]), the device holder disposed within a beverage receptacle of a motorized vessel (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle), the device holder comprising:
an inner housing having a vertically extending first device well (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: an electronic device is inserted into the opening 24 located between vertically extending walls, second sidewall 23 and clamping portion 2211);
a first charging element within the inner housing, the first charging element in communication with one of the device wells and including wireless charging circuitry adapted to wirelessly charge at least one mobile device inserted into the one of the device wells (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: wireless charging module 233 in second sidewall 23 charges electronic device);
a
wherein upon placement of at least one mobile device within the first and/or second device well, wireless charging of the at least one mobile device occurs via the first and/or second charging element (¶[19]).
Cheng does not teach a vertically extending second device well and a second charging element within
Amazon teaches a vertically extending second device well (page 1) and a second charging element within (front charging element located between two phone holders, and rear charging element located behind rear phone holder, see Figure A1 below. Review dated June 17, 2022 on page 5/7 of reviews states “The product works really well … even through bulky phone cases”), the second charging element in communication with the other of the device wells and including wireless charging circuitry adapted to wirelessly charge at least one mobile device inserted into the other of the device wells (pages 1-2: Dual Qi wireless charging station supplies power separately. The examiner interprets “in communication with” as “in contact with” such as in physical contact or being contained within the same housing structure).
Figure A1
Cheng does not teach a cover portion enclosing the device wells, the cover portion including tab portions in communication with the device wells to bias at least one mobile device inserted within the first and/or second device well towards the first and/or second charging element
However, Cheng teaches a clamping portion (Fig. 1 and ¶[16]: 2211) to bias at least one mobile device inserted within the first and/or second device well towards the first and/or second charging element (¶[19] claim portion 2211 holds device against wireless charging module 233 in second sidewall 23);
Hartelt teaches a cover portion enclosing device walls (Fig. 1 and ¶[15]: compartment 112 protects devices by covering them).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the compartment cover in Hartelt into the charger of Cheng prevent contaminants like water or dirt from getting to the devices while devices are clamped to the holder and being charged.
Hartelt does not teach tab portions in communication with the device wells.
Folan teaches an insertion member including tab portions in communication with the device wells (Figs. 1-2 and Col 5, ll 37-40: projecting retention tabs 6 come into communication with retention portions, and can expand and engage with retention portions).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the tabs securing the microphone in Folan into charger of Cheng, modified by Hartelt, to make a secure attachment of the device with low possibility of accidental removal (Folan – Col 5, ll 40-43).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, and Folan teaches the device holder of claim 13, wherein the device wells include a ramped member configured to bias at least one mobile device inserted into the first and/or second device well toward the first and/or second charging element (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, and Folan teaches the device holder of claim 13,
Cheng does not explicitly teach the device holder further comprising a connecting element capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source
Hartelt discloses a connecting element capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source (Fig. 2 and ¶[8]: wireless charging base 102 has cable connecting to an electrical power socket).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the external power of Hartelt into the charger of Cheng to power the wireless charger.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, and Folan, and further in view of Salter.
Regarding claim 14, Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, and Folan teaches the device holder of claim 13.
Cheng does not teach the beverage receptacle includes lighted elements to indicate one or more parameters of the device holder.
Salter teaches lighted elements to indicate one or more parameters of a charger (abstract and ¶[3-4, 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the light sources of Salter into the charger of Cheng to let the user know the charging status of a chargeable device.
Regarding claim 15, Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, Folan and Salter teaches the device holder of claim 14, wherein Salter further teaches the one or more parameters comprise when at least one mobile device is charging or fully charged (¶[18-19]), when at least one mobile device has been properly and/or improper placement within the first and/or second device well (¶[27]), when the device holder is damaged, malfunction or in need of service (¶[28]), and combinations thereof (abstract).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, and Folan, and further in view of Higaki.
Regarding claim 16, Cheng in view of Amazon, Hartelt, and Folan teaches the device holder of claim 13
Cheng does not teach the device holder is constructed of a UV enhanced material.
Higaki teaches a housing is constructed of a UV enhanced material (¶[19]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the UV resistant material of Higaki into the device holder of Cheng to prevent damage to the housing from ultraviolet light.
Claims 19-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Suzuki (US 20170093188 A1) and White (US 20100096521 A1).
Regarding independent claim 19, Cheng teaches a device holder for wirelessly providing power to at least one mobile device (Fig. 1 and ¶[2]), the device holder comprising:
a resilient housing comprising a top surface, a bottom surface, and enclosed by sidewalls (See Annotated Fig. 2 below: socket 10);
a device holder housing disposed within the resilient housing (Fig. 1: charging holder 20 disposed within socket 10), the device holder having a (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: an electronic device is inserted into the opening 24 located between vertically extending walls, second sidewall 23 and clamping portion 2211);
a beverage receptacle (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle);
(¶[19]);
wherein upon placement of at least one mobile device within (¶[19]).
Cheng does not teach the device holder having a plurality of device wells, each of the plurality of device wells configured for receiving at least one mobile device, and
each of the plurality of device wells including a charging element including wireless charging circuitry adapted to wirelessly charge at least one mobile device inserted into at least one of the plurality of device wells,
wherein upon placement of at least one mobile device within at least one of the plurality of device wells, the charging element perform wireless charging of the at least one mobile device.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate a second device well configured to receive at least one mobile device, the second device well including a charging element and wireless charging circuitry adapted to wirelessly charge the mobile device inserted into the second device well, wherein upon placement of the mobile device within the second device well, the charging element performs wireless charging of the mobile device. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Cheng does not teach a resilient housing including a connection element for receiving a removable power cell for supplying electrical energy to the resilient housing.
Suzuki teaches a resilient housing including a connection element for receiving a removable power cell for supplying electrical energy to the resilient housing (Figs. 1-3 and ¶[52]: cordless charger 50 comprises battery pack interface 52 and at least one rechargeable battery 56).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate cordless charger and rechargeable battery of Suzuki into the housing of Cheng to provide power without requiring an external power source (Suzuki – ¶[4]) and reducing clutter from power cables.
Cheng does not teach a beverage receptacle disposed on the resilient housing top surface.
White teaches a beverage receptacle attachable to a top surface (Fig. 2 and ¶[2, 7]: clip-on holder 10 with supporting spine 30 to hook on a rail 100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to attach the beverage receptacle of White onto the resilient housing of Cheng to allow a beverage to be placed while using the vehicle cupholder for charging.
Regarding claim 20, Cheng in view of White teaches the device holder of claim 19, wherein White teaches the beverage receptacle comprises a plurality of beverage receptacles disposed on the resilient housing top surface (mere duplication of the use of clip-on holders 10 of White).
Regarding claim 23, Cheng teaches the device holder of claim 19, wherein the device holder is disposed within an interior chamber on one of the sidewalls of the resilient housing (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: charging holder 20 elastically mounted on the sidewalls of the socket 10. See also annotated Fig. 2 above).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Suzuki and White, and further in view of Salter.
Regarding claim 21, Cheng teaches the device holder of claim 19.
Cheng does not teach the device holder includes lighted elements to indicate one or more parameters of the device holder.
Salter teaches lighted elements to indicate one or more parameters of a charger (abstract and ¶[3-4, 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the light sources of Salter into the charger of Cheng to let the user know the charging status of a chargeable device.
Regarding claim 22, Cheng in view of Salter teaches the device holder of claim 21, wherein Salter further teaches the one or more parameters comprise when at least one mobile device is charging or fully charged (¶[18-19]), when at least one mobile device has been properly and/or improper placement within the first and/or second device well (¶[27]), when the device holder is damaged, malfunction or in need of service (¶[28]), and combinations thereof (abstract).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Suzuki and White, and further in view of Hartelt and Folan.
Regarding claim 24, Cheng in view of Suzuki and White teaches the device holder of claim 20, wherein the device holder is disposed within one of the plurality of beverage receptacle (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle),
Cheng does not teach the device holder including a cover portion enclosing the device wells, the cover portion including tab portions in communication with the device wells to bias at least one mobile device inserted into at least one of the plurality of device wells towards the charging element.
However, Cheng teaches a clamping portion (Fig. 1 and ¶[16]: 2211) to bias at least one mobile device inserted within the first and/or second device well towards the first and/or second charging element (¶[19] claim portion 2211 holds device against wireless charging module 233 in second sidewall 23);
Hartelt teaches a cover portion enclosing device walls (Fig. 1 and ¶[15]: compartment 112 protects devices by covering them).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the compartment cover in Hartelt into the charger of Cheng prevent contaminants like water or dirt from getting to the devices while devices are clamped to the holder and being charged.
Hartelt does not teach tab portions in communication with the device wells.
Folan teaches an insertion member including tab portions in communication with the device wells (Figs. 1-2 and Col 5, ll 37-40: projecting retention tabs 6 come into communication with retention portions, and can expand and engage with retention portions).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the tabs securing the microphone in Folan into charger of Cheng, modified by Hartelt, to make a secure attachment of the device with low possibility of accidental removal (Folan – Col 5, ll 40-43).
Regarding claim 25, Cheng teaches the device holder of claim 24, wherein each of the plurality of device wells include a ramped member configured to bias at least one mobile device inserted into at least one of the plurality of device wells toward the charging element Fig. 1 and [19]: clamping portion 2211 holds the device against the second side wall 23, wherein the wireless charging module resides in the second side wall 23).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Suzuki and White, and further in view of Hartelt.
Regarding claim 26, Cheng in view of Suzuki and White teaches the device holder of claim 19.
Cheng does not explicitly teach the device holder further comprising an electrical connector in the resilient housing capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source.
Hartelt discloses a connecting element capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source (Fig. 2 and ¶[8]: wireless charging base 102 has cable connecting to an electrical power socket).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the external power of Hartelt into the charger of Cheng to power the wireless charger when the batteries in the battery pack interface of Suzuki would run out of energy.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Hartelt.
Regarding independent claim 27, Cheng teaches a method of installing a device holder for wirelessly providing power to at least one mobile device (Fig. 1 and ¶[19]: wireless charging module 233 in second sidewall 23 charges electronic device) within a beverage receptacle of a motorized vessel (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle), the method comprising the steps of:
placing the device holder within a cavity of the beverage receptacle (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle); and
engaging the device holder with sidewalls of the beverage receptacle to prevent shifting of at least one mobile device placed within the device holder during operation of the motorized vessel (Fig. 1 and ¶[10]: socket 10 is placed in a cupholder in a vehicle).
Cheng does not explicitly teach feeding an electrical connector of a device holder through a bottom surface opening of a beverage receptacle, the beverage receptacle received within a selected surface of a motorized vessel;
placing the electrical connector of the device holder into an interior of the motorized vessel;
connecting the electrical connector of the device holder with an external power source of the motorized vessel; and
sealing the bottom surface opening of the beverage receptacle.
Hartelt discloses a connecting element capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source (Fig. 2 and ¶[8]: wireless charging base 102 has cable connecting to an electrical power socket).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the external power of Hartelt into the charger of Cheng to power the wireless charger.
Feeding the cable from below the beverage holder would be obvious to try for a person of ordinary skill in the art to reduce clutter on and around the socket 10 and charging holder 20. It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).)
Hartelt teaches sealing the bottom surface opening of mounting surface (Fig. 1 and ¶[15, 21]: compartment 112 protects devices by covering them from all directions).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the compartment cover in Hartelt into the charger of Cheng prevent contaminants like water or dirt from getting to the devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bowles (US 20230411998 A1, Filed 2023-06-23) teaches a connecting element capable of supplying electrical power to the device holder via an external power source (Fig. 6 and ¶[32]: power cord 22 extends out of charging body 10 for a connection to a source of power),
a plurality of shroud portions coupled to an end of the housing, each of the plurality of shroud portions adapted to be received within one of the device wells, each of the plurality of shroud portions comprising stanchion members and connecting projections (Fig. 8 and ¶[36]: staged opening 33 with first and second opening 34 and 32 on the mounting surface 30 receive the upper flange portion 15 and waterproof gasket 28), and
sealing the bottom surface opening of mounting surface (Fig. 8 and ¶[36]: staged opening 33 with first and second opening 34 and 32 on the mounting surface 30 receive the upper flange portion 15 and waterproof gasket 28).
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 May 20, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859