DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-20 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 7-12 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam does not teach the claimed invention because:
Dastgir discloses a microprocessor in a vehicle received an indication of a hazard event associated with a first passenger vehicle,
Karapantelakis does not tach a system where alerts are generated for use by, and sent to, the same remote safety alert system that determines which additional vehicles should receive the alert, and
Alam does not define an approach zone to a location where the alert was received.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this instant case, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Final rejection mailed on 10/01/2025, the rejection relied upon Dastgir to disclose a passenger vehicle (Dastgir: FIG 1 the vehicle 100a) comprising one or more sensors (Dastgir: FIG. 1-2 the sensing devices 40a-40n of the vehicle 100a) for receiving an indication of a hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle (Dastgir: FIG. 1 the sensing devices 40a-40n) based on a condition of the passenger vehicle itself (Dastgir: [0033]-[0035], [0038], [0042], [0047], and FIG. 1-2 the vehicle 100a: the sensing devices 40a-40n of FIG. 1 that sense vehicle conditions can include, but are not limited to, impact sensors, height sensors, vibration sensors, etc. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, a sensing device 134 senses the vehicle's response to interaction with a road hazard 135. As can be appreciated, a single sensing device 134 or multiple sensing devices 134 can be implemented in various embodiments).
Further, Karapantelakis discloses the hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle itself (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident. For example, the safety system may comply with one or more standards such as e-Call or ERA-GLONASS, or utilize wireless vehicle services such as Onstar. Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location), and sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system (Karapantelakis: the alert service 20) to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event (Karapantelakis: [0064]-[0071] and FIG. 1-2: Warning signals may be transmitted to all devices within the cell (i.e. broadcasted), or a subset (i.e. only vehicles, only vehicles travelling towards the accident, etc)).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir and Karapantelakis, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir to include the hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle itself, and sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event, as suggested by Karapantelakis. The motivation for this is to detect an accident based on one or more sensors associated with a vehicle in order to inform nearby vehicles accident information.
While the combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis discloses a remote safety alert system sending warning to vehicles travelling towards the accident (Karapantelakis: [0064]-[0071] and FIG. 1-2: Warning signals may be transmitted to all devices within the cell (i.e. broadcasted), or a subset (i.e. only vehicles, only vehicles travelling towards the accident, etc)) in response to an accident detected by the passenger vehicle itself (Dastgir: [0033]-[0035], [0038], [0042], [0047], and FIG. 1-2 the vehicle 100a: the sensing devices 40a-40n of FIG. 1 that sense vehicle conditions can include, but are not limited to, impact sensors, height sensors, vibration sensors, etc. and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident), the combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose the remote safety alert system sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time.
However, Alam discloses sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system (Alam: FIG. 1 the smart alert server 150) to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: the predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to include sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time, as suggested by Alam. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for determining proximity of devices of an emergency event/location.
On pages 12-17 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam does not teach the invention of claim 10 specifically the limitations of "determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, and if so, sending an alert to such of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles."
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this instant case, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Final rejection mailed on 10/01/2025, the rejection relied upon the combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to disclose a remote safety alert system sending a warning signal to vehicles travelling on a route (Dastgir: [0006], [0013], [0033]-[0034] and FIG. 2 the roadway 132: the selectively communicating is based on a lane location of the road hazard and a lane location of the second vehicle. In various embodiments, the category is a vehicle category and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident ) and headed towards the accident (Karapantelakis: [0064]-[0071] and FIG. 1-2: Warning signals may be transmitted to all devices within the cell (i.e. broadcasted), or a subset (i.e. only vehicles, only vehicles travelling towards the accident, etc)) or a hazard location (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the road hazard 133: as shown in more detail in FIG. 2, a sensing device 130 senses conditions associated with a roadway 132 along the vehicle's path (in front of the vehicle 100a, behind the vehicle 100a, to the sides of the vehicle 100a, etc.) and generate sensor data based thereon. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, elevation changes of a surface of the roadway 132 with respect to a defined plane. Such elevation changes can be indicative of a depth, an angle of an exiting wall, a height, a length, and/or a width of a road hazard 133) in response to a detected hazard (Dastgir: [0033]-[0035], [0038], [0042], [0047], and FIG. 1-2 the vehicle 100a: the sensing devices 40a-40n of FIG. 1 that sense vehicle conditions can include, but are not limited to, impact sensors, height sensors, vibration sensors, etc. and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident), the combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose the method steps of determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles.
However, Alam discloses the method steps of determining at the safety alert server (Alam: FIG. 1 the smart alert server 150) if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: he predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to include determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, as suggested by Alam. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for determining proximity of devices of an emergency event/location.
On pages 17-21 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam does not teach the limitations of "wherein the safety alert system sends an inbound safety alert to the first microprocessor when the location data indicates by a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time" because Alam does not teach that a determination should be made as to whether it is possible (via a roadway that a vehicle is not currently on, for example) to reach a location where an alert was provided within a predetermined time.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Final rejection mailed on 10/01/2025, the rejection relied upon the combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to already disclose wherein the safety alert system (Dastgir: FIG. 2 the data management module 150) sends an inbound safety alert to the first microprocessor (Dastgir: [0040], [0047], and FIG. 4-5: the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b) when the location data indicates by the safety alert system that any roadway route exists (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident) between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard (Dastgir: [0042], [0047], and FIG. 2-5: road hazard information is received at 310. In various embodiments the road hazard information includes the depth, the angle of the exiting wall, the height, the length, the width, and the geographic location of the road hazard as determined by the sensing devices 40a-40n and/or the controller 34. In various embodiments, the road hazard information includes vehicle response data as determined by the sensing devices 40a-40n and/or the controller 34 ) that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle (Dastgir: [0006], [0013], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 4-5: The detected road hazard is then localized based on data from the sensing devices and/or GPS data at 520. The road hazard information is then communicated to the remote computing system at 530 where it is categorized and stored at 540).
The combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time.
However, Alam discloses a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: he predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to include a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time, as suggested by Alam. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for determining proximity of devices of an emergency event/location.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Objections
The followings are reasons for claim objections:
Claim 17 recites “a first a microprocessor.” It should have been” a first microprocessor.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION – The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 6, 8, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre- AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 lacks antecedent basis for “the location of the passenger vehicle” in the limitations of “wherein the alert includes data corresponding to the location of the passenger vehicle.”
Claim 8 lacks antecedent basis for “the safety alert system” in the limitations of “wherein the microprocessor generates and sends to the safety alert system via the transmitter an additional alert containing additional information related the hazard event.”
Claim 17 lacks antecedent basis for “the vehicle” in the limitations of “wherein the first microprocessor sends location data regarding the vehicle to the safety alert system.”
Claims 18-20 are rejected because of being a dependent form of the rejected claim 17.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites the method steps of providing a safety alert server in communication with a plurality of passenger vehicles; receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard and a location of the first passenger vehicle; obtaining location and heading information at the safety alert server from at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles; and determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, and if so, sending an alert to such of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles.
The limitations of providing a safety alert server; receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard and a location of the first passenger vehicle; obtaining location and heading information at the safety alert server from at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles; and determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, and if so, sending an alert, as drafted, is a process at a safety alert server that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “at the safety alert server,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “at the safety alert server” language, “providing a safety alert server; receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard and a location of the first passenger vehicle; obtaining location and heading information at the safety alert server from at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles; and determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, and if so, sending an alert” in the context of this claim encompasses the user at the safety alert server manually determine whether to send an alert based on a detected hazard and vehicle locations.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a safety alert server to perform the providing; receiving; obtaining; determining, and sending steps. The safety alert server in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of the providing; receiving; obtaining; determining, and sending steps) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform all the providing; receiving; obtaining; determining, and sending steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dastgir et al. (Dastgir – US 20190248364 A1) in view of Athanasios Karapantelakis (Karapantelakis – US 2021/0287543 A1) and Alam et al. (Alam – US 2014/0354449 A1).
As to claim 1, Dastgir dsiclsoes a system for communicating alerts to or from a passenger vehicle comprising:
a microprocessor (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the controller 34)) in the passenger vehicle (Dastgir: [0028]-[0029], [0032]-[0034], and FIG. 1 the autonomous vehicle 100) receiving an indication of a hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle (Dastgir: FIG. 1 the sensing devices 40a-40n) based on a condition of the passenger vehicle itself ([0033]-[0035], [0038], [0042], [0047], and FIG. 1-2 the vehicle 100a: the sensing devices 40a-40n of FIG. 1 that sense vehicle conditions can include, but are not limited to, impact sensors, height sensors, vibration sensors, etc. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, a sensing device 134 senses the vehicle's response to interaction with a road hazard 135. As can be appreciated, a single sensing device 134 or multiple sensing devices 134 can be implemented in various embodiments) and generating an alert to a remote safety alert system (Dastgir: FIG. 2 the cloud computing system 140) in response thereto (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the controller 34: the road hazard vehicle control system 10 further includes a cloud computing system 140. The cloud computing system 140 can be remote from the vehicles 100, such as, but not limited to, a server system or other system as shown and/or may be incorporated into the vehicles 100. In various embodiments, the controller 34 communicates road hazard information including the identified road hazard and the location to the cloud computing system 140 via, for example the communication system 36 (FIG. 1). The cloud computing system 140 includes a data management module 150 and a datastore 160. The data management module 150, in turn, receives the road hazard information, selectively categorizes the road hazard information, and stores the categorized road hazard information in the datastore 160); and
a transmitter (Dastgir: FIG. 1 the communication system 36) used by the microprocessor (Dastgir: FIG. 1 the controller 34) to send the alert wirelessly to a remote safety alert system (Dastgir: FIG. 2 the cloud computing system 140) that sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5) determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5) to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event (Dastgir: [0028]-[0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5 the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b).
Dastgir does not explicitly disclose the hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle itself, and sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle warning system to implement the hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle itself, and sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event, as suggested by Karapantelakis, which discloses the hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle itself (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident. For example, the safety system may comply with one or more standards such as e-Call or ERA-GLONASS, or utilize wireless vehicle services such as Onstar. Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location), and sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system (Karapantelakis: the alert service 20) to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event (Karapantelakis: [0064]-[0071] and FIG. 1-2: Warning signals may be transmitted to all devices within the cell (i.e. broadcasted), or a subset (i.e. only vehicles, only vehicles travelling towards the accident, etc) ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir and Karapantelakis, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir to include the hazard event associated with the passenger vehicle itself, and sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event, as suggested by Karapantelakis. The motivation for this is to detect an accident based on one or more sensors associated with a vehicle in order to inform nearby vehicles accident information.
The combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time.
However, it has been known in the art of warning system to implement sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time, as suggested by Alam, which discloses sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system (Alam: FIG. 1 the smart alert server 150) to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: the predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to include sends the alert to one or more additional passenger vehicles/devices determined by the remote safety alert system to be in an approach zone to a location where the microprocessor received the indication of the hazard event within a predetermined time, as suggested by Alam. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for determining proximity of devices of an emergency event/location.
As to claim 2, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the system of claim 1, wherein the hazard event comprises an indication that the passenger vehicle is not safely operable (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident. For example, the safety system may comply with one or more standards such as e-Call or ERA-GLONASS, or utilize wireless vehicle services such as Onstar. Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location).
As to claim 3, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the system of claim 1, wherein the hazard event comprises an indication of damage to the passenger vehicle (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: Note that steps 106 and 108 may be dependent upon the severity of the accident (in embodiments where the severity is determined by the alert service 20). For example, if the severity is low, or below a threshold, the alert service 20 may determine that only those devices in the immediate vicinity of the accident (i.e. in the same cell as the accident) need to be warned. If the severity is found to be particularly low (e.g. such that risk to disruption is also low), in some embodiments the alert service 20 may determine that no further action is required, at least with regard to warning other users in the vicinity of the accident. If the severity is found to be moderate, the alert service 20 may determine that warning signals should be sent only to wireless devices in the immediate vicinity of the accident (e.g. in the cell in which the accident occurred). If the severity is found to be high, the alert service 20 may determine that wireless devices in the cell in which the accident occurred and wireless devices in neighbouring cells should receive warning signals. The levels of severity and the alert service response to them may be defined in accordance with the needs of the network operator).
As to claim 4, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the hazard event originates from a passenger vehicle safety system (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the controller 34: the road hazard vehicle control system 10 further includes a cloud computing system 140. The cloud computing system 140 can be remote from the vehicles 100, such as, but not limited to, a server system or other system as shown and/or may be incorporated into the vehicles 100. In various embodiments, the controller 34 communicates road hazard information including the identified road hazard and the location to the cloud computing system 140 via, for example the communication system 36 (FIG. 1). The cloud computing system 140 includes a data management module 150 and a datastore 160. The data management module 150, in turn, receives the road hazard information, selectively categorizes the road hazard information, and stores the categorized road hazard information in the datastore 160 and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident. For example, the safety system may comply with one or more standards such as e-Call or ERA-GLONASS, or utilize wireless vehicle services such as Onstar. Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location).
As to claim 5, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the hazard event is from an occupant of the passenger vehicle (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location.).
As to claim 6, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the system of claim 1, wherein the alert includes data corresponding to the location of the passenger vehicle (Dastgir: [0038]-[0039], [0042], [0044]-[0046], and FIG. 2-5: the controller 34 communicates road hazard information including the identified road hazard and the location to the cloud computing system 140 via, for example the communication system 36 (FIG. 1). The cloud computing system 140 includes a data management module 150 and a datastore 160. The data management module 150, in turn, receives the road hazard information, selectively categorizes the road hazard information, and stores the categorized road hazard information in the datastore 160 and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location).
As to claim 7, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 6 further comprising the system of claim 6, wherein the alert includes data corresponding to an orientation of the passenger vehicle (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: the warning signals may themselves contain information relating to the accident (e.g. obtained from the contents of the distress signal), such as one or more of: the location of the vehicle V4; a time (and date) of the accident; a vehicle type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. car, motorbike, van, lorry, public transport vehicle, etc); a propulsion type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. petrol, diesel, electric, hydrogen, natural gas, etc); a number of occupants of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; an indication of the direction of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; and an indication of a speed of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident).
As to claim 8, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the system of claim 1, wherein the microprocessor generates and sends to the safety alert system via the transmitter an additional alert containing additional information related the hazard event (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5: one or more instructions of the controller 34 are embodied in the system 10 and, when executed by the processor 44, are configured to receive the signals and/or the processed data from the sensing devices 40a-40n and processes the signals and/or data to determine whether a road hazard is present along the path of the vehicle 100a and if so, determine road hazard information. When a road hazard is determined to be present, the instructions are further configured to process additional data such as GPS data and image data to localize the road hazard, and then selectively control the vehicle 100a based on the location of the road hazard and the location of the vehicle 100a and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: he distress signal may comprise data related to the accident, such as one or more of: the location of the vehicle V4; a time (and date) of the accident; a vehicle type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. car, motorbike, van, lorry, public transport vehicle, etc); a propulsion type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. petrol, diesel, electric, hydrogen, natural gas, etc); a number of occupants of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; an indication of the direction of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; and an indication of a speed of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident).
As to claim 9, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the system of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is a radiofrequency transmitter (Dastgir: [0029], [0031], [0039], and FIG. 2: In an exemplary embodiment, the communication system 36 is a wireless communication system configured to communicate via a wireless local area network (WLAN) using IEEE 802.11 standards or by using cellular data communication. However, additional or alternate communication methods, such as a 5 g or dedicated short-range communications (DSRC) channel, are also considered within the scope of the present disclosure. DSRC channels refer to one-way or two-way short-range to medium-range wireless communication channels specifically designed for automotive use and a corresponding set of protocols and standards and Karapantelakis: [0020]-[0022], [0024]-[0027], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0040], [0059]-[0061], and FIG. 1-2: Upon detection of the accident, the processing circuitry automatically generates a wireless distress signal and transmits that distress signal using the wireless modem to the radio access node 14. The distress signal may comprise data related to the accident, such as one or more of: the location of the vehicle V4; a time (and date) of the accident; a vehicle type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. car, motorbike, van, lorry, public transport vehicle, etc); a propulsion type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. petrol, diesel, electric, hydrogen, natural gas, etc); a number of occupants of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; an indication of the direction of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; and an indication of a speed of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident).
As to claim 10, Dastgir dsiclsoes a method comprising:
providing a safety alert server (Dastgir: FIG. 2 the cloud computing system 140) in communication with a plurality of passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 2-5 the vehicles 100a-100b);
receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard and a location of the first passenger vehicle (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the road hazard 133: as shown in more detail in FIG. 2, a sensing device 130 senses conditions associated with a roadway 132 along the vehicle's path (in front of the vehicle 100a, behind the vehicle 100a, to the sides of the vehicle 100a, etc.) and generate sensor data based thereon. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, elevation changes of a surface of the roadway 132 with respect to a defined plane. Such elevation changes can be indicative of a depth, an angle of an exiting wall, a height, a length, and/or a width of a road hazard 133);
obtaining location information (Dastgir: [0038]-[0041], [0045]-[0047], and FIG. 1-5: vehicle information is received at 410. The vehicle information can include, but is not limited to, a tire size, a tire profile, a weight, a round clearance, a speed, and a location of the vehicle. In various embodiments, when a vehicle 100 includes more than one wheel and the wheels have different size or a trailer and a vehicle have different wheel sizes, the information for the smallest wheel is used. In various embodiments, other parameters associated with the trailer may be used in addition to or as an alternative to the wheel size) at the safety alert server from at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0038]-[0041], [0045]-[0047], and FIG. 1-5: The data management module 150 further receives vehicle information from other vehicles 100b and selectively communicates the stored, categorized road hazard information to the other vehicles 100b based on the received vehicle information. For example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b); and
determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles along any drivable pathway (Dastgir: [0033]-[0034] and FIG. 2 the roadway 132) to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5), and if so, sending an alert to such of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0028]-[0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5 the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b).
Dastgir does not explicitly disclose
receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard and a location of the first passenger vehicle,
obtaining location and heading information at the safety alert server, and
determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle warning system to implement receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard and a location of the first passenger vehicle, obtaining location and heading information at the safety alert server, and determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, as suggested by Karapantelakis, which discloses receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident. For example, the safety system may comply with one or more standards such as e-Call or ERA-GLONASS, or utilize wireless vehicle services such as Onstar. Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location) and a location of the first passenger vehicle (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location), obtaining location and heading information at the safety alert server (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident), and determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive along any drivable pathway (Karapantelakis: [0064]-[0071] and FIG. 1-2: Warning signals may be transmitted to all devices within the cell (i.e. broadcasted), or a subset (i.e. only vehicles, only vehicles travelling towards the accident, etc)) to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir and Karapantelakis, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir to include receiving at the safety alert server from a first of the plurality of passenger vehicles an indication that the first passenger vehicle has encountered a hazard and a location of the first passenger vehicle, obtaining location and heading information at the safety alert server, and determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, as suggested by Karapantelakis. The motivation for this is to detect an accident based on one or more sensors associated with a vehicle in order to inform nearby vehicles accident information.
While the combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis discloses a remote safety alert system sending warning to vehicles travelling towards the accident (Karapantelakis: [0064]-[0071] and FIG. 1-2: Warning signals may be transmitted to all devices within the cell (i.e. broadcasted), or a subset (i.e. only vehicles, only vehicles travelling towards the accident, etc)) in response to an accident detected by the passenger vehicle itself (Dastgir: [0033]-[0035], [0038], [0042], [0047], and FIG. 1-2 the vehicle 100a: the sensing devices 40a-40n of FIG. 1 that sense vehicle conditions can include, but are not limited to, impact sensors, height sensors, vibration sensors, etc. and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: Vehicle V4, which was involved in the accident, comprises an in-vehicle safety system (not illustrated) operative to generate and transmit an emergency distress signal in the event that the vehicle V4 is involved in a road accident), the combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose the method steps of determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle alert system to implement the method steps of determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, as suggested by Alam, which discloses the method steps of determining at the safety alert server (Alam: FIG. 1 the smart alert server 150) if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: he predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to include determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles apart from the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined drive time along any drivable pathway to the first of the plurality of passenger vehicles, as suggested by Alam. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for determining proximity of devices of an emergency event/location.
As to claim 11, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the method of claim 10, further comprising delivering the alert via the internet (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], [0034], [0058], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: According to an illustrative embodiment, the smart alert server 150 may be included within the same cellular network as the mobile switch 115, as shown in FIG. 1B. As an alternative, the smart alert server 150 may be provided as a third party device which is in communication with cellular network including the mobile switch 115 via, e.g., the Internet. In either case, the alerts are provided to the mobile communication devices via the cellular network).
As to claim 12, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the method of claim 10, further comprising delivering the alert wirelessly (Dastgir: [0029], [0031], [0039], and FIG. 2: In an exemplary embodiment, the communication system 36 is a wireless communication system configured to communicate via a wireless local area network (WLAN) using IEEE 802.11 standards or by using cellular data communication. However, additional or alternate communication methods, such as a 5 g or dedicated short-range communications (DSRC) channel, are also considered within the scope of the present disclosure. DSRC channels refer to one-way or two-way short-range to medium-range wireless communication channels specifically designed for automotive use and a corresponding set of protocols and standards, Karapantelakis: [0020]-[0022], [0024]-[0027], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0040], [0059]-[0061], and FIG. 1-2: Upon detection of the accident, the processing circuitry automatically generates a wireless distress signal and transmits that distress signal using the wireless modem to the radio access node 14. The distress signal may comprise data related to the accident, such as one or more of: the location of the vehicle V4; a time (and date) of the accident; a vehicle type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. car, motorbike, van, lorry, public transport vehicle, etc); a propulsion type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. petrol, diesel, electric, hydrogen, natural gas, etc); a number of occupants of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; an indication of the direction of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; and an indication of a speed of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident, and Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: the predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
As to claim 13, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the method of claim 10, further comprising sending the alert from the safety alert server to a cloud computing platform (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5: The cloud computing system 140 can be remote from the vehicles 100, such as, but not limited to, a server system or other system as shown and/or may be incorporated into the vehicles 100. In various embodiments, the controller 34 communicates road hazard information including the identified road hazard and the location to the cloud computing system 140 via, for example the communication system 36 (FIG. 1).).
As to claim 14, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the method of claim 10, further comprising sending the alert from the safety alert server to an emergency responder service (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0027], [0040], [0046]-[0047], and FIG. 1-3: The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location).
As to claim 15, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the method of claim 10, further comprising:
receiving at the safety alert server an indication of a hazard at a fixed location not originating from a passenger vehicle (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the road hazard 133: as shown in more detail in FIG. 2, a sensing device 130 senses conditions associated with a roadway 132 along the vehicle's path (in front of the vehicle 100a, behind the vehicle 100a, to the sides of the vehicle 100a, etc.) and generate sensor data based thereon. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, elevation changes of a surface of the roadway 132 with respect to a defined plane. Such elevation changes can be indicative of a depth, an angle of an exiting wall, a height, a length, and/or a width of a road hazard 133);
determining at the safety alert server if any of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles is within a predetermined time of and headed on a route (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: the predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts) toward the fixed location (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident), and, if so, sending a notification to such of the at least some of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0028]-[0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5 the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b, Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4, and Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5).
As to claim 16, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam discloses the limitations of claim 15 further comprising the method of claim 15, further comprising:
obtaining at the safety alert server driving characteristic data from at least a subset of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0008]-[0010], [0040], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 4-5: the data management module 150 further receives vehicle information from other vehicles 100b and selectively communicates the stored, categorized road hazard information to the other vehicles 100b based on the received vehicle information. For example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b);
determining by the safety alert server an inferred hazard location based on the received driving characteristic data (Dastgir: [0008]-[0010], [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5, Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: Upon detection that the vehicle has been involved in an accident (or, in some cases, upon manual activation by a user of the vehicle), the safety system transmits a wireless message containing information relating to the accident. For example, the wireless message may comprise the location of the vehicle V4. The system may initiate an emergency call carrying voice and/or data (including location data) directly to the nearest Public Safety Answering Point (i.e. an emergency call centre) to determine whether rescue services should be dispatched to the accident location, and Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: According to an illustrative embodiment, the smart alert server 150 calculates the speed and direction of travel of the mobile communication devices 101B, 101C, and 101D that are within the vicinity of the mobile element 105, based on the reported locations of the mobile communication devices 101B, 101C, and 101D. As an alternative, as indicated above, for those mobile communication devices having more advanced tracking capabilities, the speed and direction of travel of the mobile communication devices may be calculated by the mobile communication devices and transmitted to the smart alert server 150, along with the location information, via the mobile switch 115);
sending an alert from the safety alert server to at least one of the plurality of passenger vehicles (Dastgir: [0008]-[0010], [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5 and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident) within a predetermined time of and headed on a route toward the inferred hazard location (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: the predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
As to claim 17, Dastgir discloses a system comprising:
a first a microprocessor (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the controller 34) in a first passenger vehicle (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the road hazard 133: as shown in more detail in FIG. 2, a sensing device 130 senses conditions associated with a roadway 132 along the vehicle's path (in front of the vehicle 100a, behind the vehicle 100a, to the sides of the vehicle 100a, etc.) and generate sensor data based thereon. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, elevation changes of a surface of the roadway 132 with respect to a defined plane. Such elevation changes can be indicative of a depth, an angle of an exiting wall, a height, a length, and/or a width of a road hazard 133); and
a remote safety alert system (Dastgir: FIG. 2 the cloud computing system 140) having a communicative coupling to the first microprocessor (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5);
wherein the first microprocessor (Dastgir: FIG. 2 the vehicle 100b) sends location data (Dastgir: [0040], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 4-5: The vehicle information can include, but is not limited to, a tire size, a tire profile, a weight, a round clearance, a speed, and a location of the vehicle) regarding the vehicle to the safety alert system (Dastgir: Abstract, [0008]-[0010], [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], [0045], [0047], FIG. 1-2 the controller 34, and FIG. 4-5: the data management module 150 further receives vehicle information from other vehicles 100b and selectively communicates the stored, categorized road hazard information to the other vehicles 100b based on the received vehicle information. For example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100…for example, vehicle information is received at 410. The vehicle information can include, but is not limited to, a tire size, a tire profile, a weight, a round clearance, a speed, and a location of the vehicle. In various embodiments, when a vehicle 100 includes more than one wheel and the wheels have different size or a trailer and a vehicle have different wheel sizes, the information for the smallest wheel is used. In various embodiments, other parameters associated with the trailer may be used in addition to or as an alternative to the wheel size),
wherein the safety alert system (Dastgir: FIG. 2 the data management module 150) sends an inbound safety alert to the first microprocessor (Dastgir: [0040], [0047], and FIG. 4-5: the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b) when the location data indicates by the safety alert system that a location of a safety hazard ([0042], [0047], and FIG. 2-5: road hazard information is received at 310. In various embodiments the road hazard information includes the depth, the angle of the exiting wall, the height, the length, the width, and the geographic location of the road hazard as determined by the sensing devices 40a-40n and/or the controller 34. In various embodiments, the road hazard information includes vehicle response data as determined by the sensing devices 40a-40n and/or the controller 34 ) that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle (Dastgir: [0006], [0013], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 4-5: The detected road hazard is then localized based on data from the sensing devices and/or GPS data at 520. The road hazard information is then communicated to the remote computing system at 530 where it is categorized and stored at 540).
Dastgir does not explicitly disclose
wherein the safety alert system sends an inbound safety alert to the first microprocessor when the location data indicates by a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle warning system to implement wherein the safety alert system sends an inbound safety alert to the first microprocessor when the location data indicates by the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle, as suggested by Karapantelakis, which discloses wherein the safety alert system sends an inbound safety alert to the first microprocessor when the location data indicates by the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle (Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027]-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], [0062], and FIG. 1-4: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir and Karapantelakis, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir to include wherein the safety alert system sends an inbound safety alert to the first microprocessor when the location data indicates by the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle, as suggested by Karapantelakis. The motivation for this is to detect an accident based on one or more sensors associated with a vehicle in order to inform nearby vehicles accident information.
The combination of Dastgir and Karapantelakis does not explicitly disclose a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time.
However, it has been known in the art of warning system to implement a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time, as suggested by Alam, which discloses a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time (Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: he predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir and Karapantelakis to include a calculation at the safety alert system that any roadway route exists between the first passenger vehicle and a location of a safety hazard that may be travelled by the first passenger vehicle within a predetermined period of time, as suggested by Alam. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for determining proximity of devices of an emergency event/location.
As to claim 18, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 17 further comprising the system of claim 17, wherein the safety alert system is notified of the safety hazard by a second passenger vehicle to which is it communicatively coupled (Dastgir: [0029], [0038]-[0040], [0042], [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2 the other vehicles 100b, and FIG. 3-5: one or more instructions of the controller 34 are embodied in the system 10 and, when executed by the processor 44, are configured to receive the signals and/or the processed data from the sensing devices 40a-40n and processes the signals and/or data to determine whether a road hazard is present along the path of the vehicle 100a and if so, determine road hazard information. When a road hazard is determined to be present, the instructions are further configured to process additional data such as GPS data and image data to localize the road hazard, and then selectively control the vehicle 100a based on the location of the road hazard and the location of the vehicle 100a and Karapantelakis: Abstract, [0019], [0027-[0028], [0034]-[0039], [0048], [0052], and FIG. 1-4: he distress signal may comprise data related to the accident, such as one or more of: the location of the vehicle V4; a time (and date) of the accident; a vehicle type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. car, motorbike, van, lorry, public transport vehicle, etc); a propulsion type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. petrol, diesel, electric, hydrogen, natural gas, etc); a number of occupants of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; an indication of the direction of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; and an indication of a speed of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident).
As to claim 20, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 17 further comprising the system of claim 17, wherein the first microprocessor is communicatively coupled to a safety system of the first passenger vehicle (Dastgir: Abstract, [0029], [0032], [0035]-[0042], and FIG. 1-2 the road hazard 133: as shown in more detail in FIG. 2, a sensing device 130 senses conditions associated with a roadway 132 along the vehicle's path (in front of the vehicle 100a, behind the vehicle 100a, to the sides of the vehicle 100a, etc.) and generate sensor data based thereon. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, elevation changes of a surface of the roadway 132 with respect to a defined plane. Such elevation changes can be indicative of a depth, an angle of an exiting wall, a height, a length, and/or a width of a road hazard 133 and Karapantelakis: [0020]-[0022], [0024]-[0027], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0040], [0059]-[0061], and FIG. 1-2: Upon detection of the accident, the processing circuitry automatically generates a wireless distress signal and transmits that distress signal using the wireless modem to the radio access node 14. The distress signal may comprise data related to the accident, such as one or more of: the location of the vehicle V4; a time (and date) of the accident; a vehicle type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. car, motorbike, van, lorry, public transport vehicle, etc); a propulsion type of the vehicle V4 (e.g. petrol, diesel, electric, hydrogen, natural gas, etc); a number of occupants of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; an indication of the direction of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident; and an indication of a speed of travel of the vehicle V4 at the time of the accident), and in response to an indication of a vehicle safety hazard sends an outbound alert to the safety alert system (Dastgir: [0038]-[0041], [0045]-[0047], and FIG. 1-5: The data management module 150 further receives vehicle information from other vehicles 100b and selectively communicates the stored, categorized road hazard information to the other vehicles 100b based on the received vehicle information. For example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b associated with an immediate or near immediate threat of the road hazard. In another example, the data management module 150 selectively communicates the road hazard information to other vehicles 100b based on a determined impact of the road hazard on the other vehicle 100b, Karapantelakis: [0020]-[0022], [0024]-[0027], [0032], [0034], [0036]-[0040], [0059]-[0061], and FIG. 1-2: The warning signals may be transmitted (e.g. broadcasted) to all wireless devices within the cells 12, 16, or only a subset of those devices. For example, the alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices embedded within vehicles or wireless devices travelling within vehicles (e.g. travelling at relatively high speed). The alert service 20 may initiate transmission of warning signals only to wireless devices that are near, or moving towards the location of the accident, and Alam: Abstract, [0017]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0030], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-5: the predefined proximity is just one example of a parameter. Another parameter may include travel time. That is, the smart alert server 150 may translate travel time into a location radius based on the relative speeds of the mobile element and the mobile communication devices. Thus, the smart alert server 150 may also determine to alert mobile communication devices that are approaching an area that is within the predefined proximity of the location of the mobile element 105 at a speed that is within a predefined range with respect to a speed of the mobile element 105 such that the mobile communication devices are within a particular travel time away from the approaching mobile element 105. In the case of an emergency vehicle, for example, mobile communication devices that are within a three minute travel time away from the location of the mobile element 105 may be provided with alerts).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dastgir et al. (Dastgir – US 20190248364 A1) in view of Athanasios Karapantelakis (Karapantelakis – US 2021/0287543 A1) and Alam et al. (Alam – US 2014/0354449 A1) and further in view of Nepomuceno et al. (Nepomuceno – US 10,872,379 B1).
As to claim 19, Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam disclose the limitations of claim 17 further comprising wherein the first microprocessor provides a notice to a driver of the vehicle when the inbound safety alert is received (Dastgir: Abstract, [0047], and FIG. 1-5: If the road hazard is too big at 570, the vehicle is controlled for example to adjust the suspension, selectively maneuver around the vehicle (e.g., by changing lanes, or moving within the lane), reduce speed, and or to generate notifications to occupants of the vehicle of the upcoming road hazard such that vehicle damage or occupant discomfort is reduced or avoided at 580), except for the claimed limitations of the system of claim 17, wherein the first microprocessor issues a command to the vehicle to disengage a driving assist feature.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle control to implement the first microprocessor issues a command to the vehicle to disengage a driving assist feature, as suggested by Nepomuceno, which discloses wherein the first microprocessor issues a command to the vehicle to disengage a driving assist feature (Nepomuceno: Abstract, column 4 lines 22-49, column 9 lines 16-column 10 lines 64, FIG. 1 and FIG. 6-7: the server 140 may access data stored in database 146 when classifying or identifying high risk or hazardous areas, execute various functions and tasks associated with transmitting a notification to the front end components 102 to facilitate automatically engaging or disengaging an autonomous vehicle control feature in the vehicle 108 as the vehicle 108 approaches or is already traversing an area, such as a hazardous area, or generating a virtual navigation map depicting the hazardous area or alerts of approaching hazardous areas) and provide a notice to a driver of the vehicle when the inbound safety alert is received (Nepomuceno: column 7 lines 45-62, FIG. 1, and FIG. 6-7: one or more of the applications or routines may generate and/or display a user notification indicating whether to automatically engage or disengage a particular autonomous vehicle control feature, and allow the user to accept or decline engagement or disengagement of the particular autonomous vehicle control feature).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Dastgir, Karapantelakis, Alam, and Nepomuceno it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the hazard detection and localization system of Dastgir, Karapantelakis, and Alam to include wherein the first microprocessor issues a command to the vehicle to disengage a driving assist feature, as suggested by Nepomuceno. The motivation for this is to improve vehicle safety and reduce vehicle collision.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Rosenberg, US 2007/0159354 A1, disclose intelligent emergency vehicle alert system and user interface.
Seigel, US 6,958,707 B1, discloses emergency vehicle alert system.
M Iyengar et al., US 2025/0316169 A1, discloses handling emergency vehicle alerts in cellular-vehicle-to-everything.
Conclusion
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685