DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks and amendments, filed 3/9/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 68-71, 73-74, and 76-78 under 35 USC 103(a) as obvious over Traidia and Roberts-Moore have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Traidia and Roberts-Moore in view of newly applied secondary reference Yang (CN 115256954 A).
The examiner is persuaded by applicant’s argument that Traidia and Roberts-Moore does not disclose the newly limitation amended of “comprising heating the first end to a first temperature and the first groove to a second temperature different from the first temperature”.
Yang makes obvious comprising heating the first end to a first temperature and the first groove to a second temperature different from the first temperature. Yang teaches:
The invention claims a composite material pipeline and pipe fitting construction method, in the edge sealing processing technique, the prepared composite pipe end face and the pre-prepared thermoplastic resin (resin and composite pipe base material are made of the same material) circular ring hot melting butt welding, when welding, using double-welding plate welding machine, two sides of welding temperature are different, circular ring contact surface temperature is 180 degrees centigrade to 220 degrees centigrade, the composite tube contact temperature is 130 degrees centigrade to 180 degrees centigrade, the heating duration is 10 min.
…
Compared with the prior art, the beneficial effects of the present invention are as follows: by edge sealing treatment, pipe hot melting butt welding, electric melting welding three processes, realizing non-metal reinforced connecting joint, realizing the same material of the pipeline, the same service life, high safety and reliability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized comprising heating the first end to a first temperature and the first groove to a second temperature different from the first temperature as taught by Yang in order to realizing non-metal reinforced connecting joint, realizing the same material of the pipeline, the same service life, high safety and reliability.
With respect to dependent claims 71, 72 and 75, the arguments do not specifically argue these claims and therefore the rejections have been modified to include Robert-Moore and Yang and are otherwise substantially maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 68-71, 73-74, and 76-78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traidia (US 20240263724 A1) in view of Roberts-Moore (US 20070200342 A1) and Yang (CN 115256954 A).
As to claim 68, Traidia discloses a method of heat welding a length of pipe (pipe 110 or pipe 112) with a coupling (coupler 120), wherein the coupling and the length of pipe are of a thermoplastic material (see paragraphs 0031 and 0065), the method comprising:
preparing (paragraph 0069, disclosing “Prior to friction welding, friction weld faying surfaces may undergo surface preparation in the factory (e.g., via grit blasting/sanding) to provide sufficient roughness and contact”; paragraph 0076, disclosing “According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the faying surfaces of the RTP pipe 310, 311 and thermoplastic tie layers 304 may be cleaned (e.g., using alcohol) before tight fitting the coupler 300 and RTP pipe together.”) a first end (“first end 111” or “second end 113”) of the length of pipe;
preparing (paragraph 0066, disclosing “For example, a thermoplastic powder may be thermally sprayed on a faying surface of the thermoset RTR coupler body (with sufficient surface preparation, e.g., sand blasting) or a thermoplastic implant may be applied while the thermoset RTR coupler body is in a partially cured (or uncured) state, followed by co-curing at the required temperature (below the melting temperature of the thermoplastic) to bond a thermoplastic tie layer to the RTR coupler body.”; paragraph 0076, disclosing “According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the faying surfaces of the RTP pipe 310, 311 and thermoplastic tie layers 304 may be cleaned (e.g., using alcohol) before tight fitting the coupler 300 and RTP pipe together.”) a first groove (formed by “wedges and “socket extensions”) of the coupling, wherein the first groove is configured to mechanically interface to an inner diameter (ID) (visible in Figure 2C) and outer diameter (OD) (visible in Figure 2C) of the length of pipe (see paragraph 0032, which recites that “where the size and shape of the socket extensions 122 are designed to mate with the open ends 111, 113 of the RTP pipe 110, 112.”);
heating the first end and the first groove to a weldable temperature (see paragraph 0077, disclosing “The fitted-together “functionalized” RTR coupler and RTP pipes may be subsequently jointed by applying sufficient heat (e.g., by electrofusion, induction welding, resistive welding process, or other type of welding appropriate to thermoplastic welding) to melt and fuse the thermoplastic layers to each other.” and paragraph 0078, disclosing “Upon application of an electric current, a magnetic field is generated which induces an electric current in the in the susceptor material 305 that will trigger (via Joule effect) heating of the susceptor material 305 and melting of the surrounding thermoplastic materials (thermoplastic tie layer 304 and RTP inner thermoplastic liner 312).”);
joining the first end to the first groove (paragraph 0077, disclosing “Upon cooling, a fully bonded and sealed joint is formed.”); and
permitting the first end and the first groove to cool sufficiently long to form a thermoplastic weld (paragraph 0077, disclosing “Upon cooling, a fully bonded and sealed joint is formed.”).
See paragraph 0031-33, 0079, disclosing:
[0031] As shown, the connection system 100 includes a first RTP pipe 110 having a first end 111, a second RTP pipe 112 having a second end 113, and a coupler 120. The first and second ends 111, 113 of the RTP pipe are open and sized to fit against the coupler 120. In FIGS. 2A-C, for simplicity of the drawing, the multiple material layers of the RTP pipe are not shown. However, the first and second RTP pipe 110, 112 include multiple layers of materials concentrically layered around each other, where the inner surface 114 and the outer surface 115 of the RTP pipe are both formed by layers (an inner liner layer and an outer jacket layer, respectively) of thermoplastic material. Thermoplastic material forming the inner and/or outer surfaces 114, 115 of the RTP pipe may be selected from at least one of polyethylene (PE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), polyamide (PA), polyether ether ketone (PEEK), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polypropylene (PP), or other thermoplastic polymers known in the art.
[0032] The coupler 120 generally includes an annular body having a radial extension 121 and two socket extensions 122 extending in opposite axial directions, where the size and shape of the socket extensions 122 are designed to mate with the open ends 111, 113 of the RTP pipe 110, 112. According to embodiments of the present disclosure a radial extension may extend in a direction that is generally perpendicular to the direction in which an adjacent socket extension extends. However, other embodiments may include a radial extension extending in a different angle relative to the extension direction of the socket extension. As discussed in more detail below, the shape and orientation of a radial extension may be provided to correspond with a mating surface of a component (e.g., flange) used to mechanically connect the pipe to the coupler in the mechanical connection system.
[0033] The coupler body may be formed of an RTR material, which may include, for example, a reinforcement fiber (e.g., glass, carbon fibers, or other reinforcement fibers known in the art) in a resin matrix of a thermoset polymer (e.g., polyesters, vinyl-esters, epoxies, or other thermoset polymer known in the art). The socket extensions 122 are each functionalized to have thermoplastic connection surfaces covering the RTR material by joining a layer of thermoplastic material to the socket extensions 122, where the thermoplastic connection surfaces on the socket extensions 122 are designed to interface with thermoplastic connection surfaces on the RTP pipe 110, 112. In such manner, thermoplastic tie layers 130 can be provided between the socket extensions 122 and the ends 111, 113 of the RTP pipe 110, 112.
…
[0079] After cooldown from thermoplastic welding, the thermoplastic weld between the RTP pipe 310, 311 and the coupler 300 becomes effective, and the two RTP pipes 310, 311 are sealed and coupled together.
See also marked up Figure 2C, below:
Traidia, however, does not disclose that the groove is a contiguous annular groove concentric with the coupling, and does not disclose comprising heating the first end to a first temperature and the first groove to a second temperature different from the first temperature.
Roberts-Moore discloses a coupling wherein the groove is a contiguous annular groove concentric with the coupling. See marked up Figure 3, below:
See especially paragraph 0018 and 0058, disclosing:
[0018] The recess of the coupling is desirably an annular recess defined by an outer and an inner wall (or spigot). The inner wall desirably has a thickness of from 2.0 mm to 9.0 mm for use with pipes of outside diameters of 20 mm to 110 mm. Such sections are sufficient to prevent deformation, buckling or collapse during the welding/fusion process as well as providing the required level of pressure resistance should the pipe end not be fully inserted into the annular recess.
…
[0021] Various methods may be used to introduce heat to both the coupling and the inner and outer layers of the multi-layered pipe. In one alternative, heat is introduced by electromagnetic induction. The coupling with the pipe end received in the recess is surrounded by an electrically conducting coil. An alternating electrical current is passed through the coil. The passage of the current through the coil induces a current in the conducting layer of the pipe. This current causes local heating sufficient to melt the surrounding thermoplastic layers of the pipe and the thermoplastic of the coupling, thus the pipe and coupling become thermally bonded.
…
[0036] It will be appreciated that other means could be used to create heat in a metallic or other conductive layer which could, in turn, conduct heat to surrounding thermoplastic layers and a coupling. For example, current may be applied directly to the metal or conductive layer. The metal layer may also be employed to conduct heat from another heat source and to the thermoplastic layers and coupling. Other heating means and methods will no doubt occur to the skilled addressee without departing from the scope of the invention as defined by the appended claims.
…
[0043] The method of the invention provides a homogenous weld about the pipe end enclosing the ends of each of the layers of the pipe and which is less susceptive to thermal effects such as shrinkage or expansion often encountered in the use of mechanical fittings and which can ultimately result in leakage of materials carried in the pipe. As the bore of the pipe is included in the seal and the pipe end face isolated from internal fluid pressures of fluids conveyed through the pipe, the incidence of pipe end delamination is, consequently, eliminated. Enclosing of the pipe ends and in particular, the end of the metal layer also serves to prevent contamination of the contents of the pipe which might occur were the metal layer exposed to contents and to corrode and breakaway or dissolve in solution in the pipe contents.
…
[0045] The resulting joint is considerably more leak proof than joints provided by mechanical methods such as mechanical crimping.
…
[0058] In the left hand side of FIG. 3 there can be seen a multi-layered pipe of similar construction to that shown in FIG. 1. To the centre and right of the Figure is shown a coupling 35 which essentially comprises a hollow tubular moulding of thermoplastic material having an annular slot 36a, 36b provided in each end. The multi-layered pipe 37 is slotted into the annular slot 36a. The assembled pipe and coupling are positioned inside a primary induction coil 31 provided with an alternating current by current supply 34. As a consequence of the current 34 in. the primary coil 31, there is induced in a portion 32 of the central metallic layer 3 of the multi-layered pipe 37 a secondary current. The secondary current in turn produces local heating which leads to a region 38 of local melting of the coupling 35 and the innermost and outermost thermoplastic layers 1, 5 of the multi-layered pipe 37. The molten layers bond and on removal of the assembly from the primary coil, there is provided a fully bonded pipe-coupling join. The process can be repeated with a second pipe in the second annular slot 36b to provide a securely joined pipe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a coupling wherein the groove is a contiguous annular groove concentric with the coupling as taught in Roberts-Moore such (1) that the bore of the pipe is included in the seal and the pipe end face isolated from internal fluid pressures of fluids conveyed through the pipe, the incidence of pipe end delamination is, consequently, eliminated; and in order to (2) prevent contamination of the contents of the pipe which might occur were the metal layer exposed to contents and to corrode and breakaway or dissolve in solution in the pipe contents; and in order to achieve a (3) resulting joint [that] is considerably more leak proof than joints provided by mechanical methods such as mechanical crimping.
Yang makes obvious comprising heating the first end to a first temperature and the first groove to a second temperature different from the first temperature. Yang teaches:
The invention claims a composite material pipeline and pipe fitting construction method, in the edge sealing processing technique, the prepared composite pipe end face and the pre-prepared thermoplastic resin (resin and composite pipe base material are made of the same material) circular ring hot melting butt welding, when welding, using double-welding plate welding machine, two sides of welding temperature are different, circular ring contact surface temperature is 180 degrees centigrade to 220 degrees centigrade, the composite tube contact temperature is 130 degrees centigrade to 180 degrees centigrade, the heating duration is 10 min.
…
Compared with the prior art, the beneficial effects of the present invention are as follows: by edge sealing treatment, pipe hot melting butt welding, electric melting welding three processes, realizing non-metal reinforced connecting joint, realizing the same material of the pipeline, the same service life, high safety and reliability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized comprising heating the first end to a first temperature and the first groove to a second temperature different from the first temperature as taught by Yang in order to realizing non-metal reinforced connecting joint, realizing the same material of the pipeline, the same service life, high safety and reliability.
As to claim 69, Traidia discloses wherein the thermoplastic is high-density polyethylene (HDPE). See paragraph 0031 and 0065, disclosing:
[0031]…Thermoplastic material forming the inner and/or outer surfaces 114, 115 of the RTP pipe may be selected from at least one of polyethylene (PE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), polyamide (PA), polyether ether ketone (PEEK), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polypropylene (PP), or other thermoplastic polymers known in the art.
…
[0065] Examples of thermoplastics that can be used for a tie layer, include but are not limited to polyolefins (e.g., polypropylenes or polyethylenes), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketones (PAEK), polyethylenimine (PEI), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), polyethylene of raised temperature (PE-RT), aliphatic polyketone (PK), polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (and other polyaryletherketones), polyetherketoneketone (PEKK), polyamide 12 (PA12), polyketone (POK), and their carbon beads or short fiber reinforced grades, and other thermoplastic resins commonly used in the oil and gas industry.
Additionally, Roberts-Moore also discloses wherein the thermoplastic is high-density polyethylene (HDPE). See paragraph 0016, disclosing “Alternative materials for the innermost and outermost layers include but are not strictly limited to; MDPE, HDPE and PP. The innermost and outermost layers may comprise the same or different materials.” See also claims 3 and 4, reciting:
3. A method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the inner and/or outermost layers of the pipe comprise a material selected from the group consisting of polyethylene of raised temperature performance ("PE-RT") ethylene/octane copolymers, MDPE, HDPE and PP.
4. A method as claimed in claim 3 wherein the coupling also comprises a material selected from the group consisting of polyethylene raised temperature("PE-RT") ethylene/octane copolymers, MDPE, HDPE and PP.
As to claim 70, Traidia discloses wherein the thermoplastic is a thermoplastic that cannot be readily cemented. See paragraph 0065, disclosing:
[0031]…Thermoplastic material forming the inner and/or outer surfaces 114, 115 of the RTP pipe may be selected from at least one of polyethylene (PE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), polyamide (PA), polyether ether ketone (PEEK), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polypropylene (PP), or other thermoplastic polymers known in the art.
…
[0065] Examples of thermoplastics that can be used for a tie layer, include but are not limited to polyolefins (e.g., polypropylenes or polyethylenes), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketones (PAEK), polyethylenimine (PEI), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), polyethylene of raised temperature (PE-RT), aliphatic polyketone (PK), polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (and other polyaryletherketones), polyetherketoneketone (PEKK), polyamide 12 (PA12), polyketone (POK), and their carbon beads or short fiber reinforced grades, and other thermoplastic resins commonly used in the oil and gas industry.
As Traidia discloses using the same thermoplastic materials as instantly claimed, it also discloses a thermoplastic that cannot be readily cemented.
Similarly, Roberts-Moore also discloses wherein the thermoplastic is a thermoplastic that cannot be readily cemented. See paragraph 0016, disclosing “Alternative materials for the innermost and outermost layers include but are not strictly limited to; MDPE, HDPE and PP. The innermost and outermost layers may comprise the same or different materials.” See also claims 3 and 4, reciting:
3. A method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the inner and/or outermost layers of the pipe comprise a material selected from the group consisting of polyethylene of raised temperature performance ("PE-RT") ethylene/octane copolymers, MDPE, HDPE and PP.
4. A method as claimed in claim 3 wherein the coupling also comprises a material selected from the group consisting of polyethylene raised temperature("PE-RT") ethylene/octane copolymers, MDPE, HDPE and PP.
As Roberts-Moore also discloses using the same thermoplastic materials as instantly claimed, it also discloses a thermoplastic that cannot be readily cemented.
As to claim 71, Traidia discloses wherein the thermoplastic is selected from the group consisting of polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), low-density polyethylene (LDPE), linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate (PC), and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF). See paragraph 0065, disclosing:
[0031]…Thermoplastic material forming the inner and/or outer surfaces 114, 115 of the RTP pipe may be selected from at least one of polyethylene (PE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), polyamide (PA), polyether ether ketone (PEEK), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polypropylene (PP), or other thermoplastic polymers known in the art.
…
[0065] Examples of thermoplastics that can be used for a tie layer, include but are not limited to polyolefins (e.g., polypropylenes or polyethylenes), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketones (PAEK), polyethylenimine (PEI), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), polyethylene of raised temperature (PE-RT), aliphatic polyketone (PK), polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (and other polyaryletherketones), polyetherketoneketone (PEKK), polyamide 12 (PA12), polyketone (POK), and their carbon beads or short fiber reinforced grades, and other thermoplastic resins commonly used in the oil and gas industry.
Similarly, Roberts-Moore discloses some of the same materials, such as HDPE, and PP. See the citations above to paragraphs 0016 and claims 3 and 4.
As to claim 73, Traidia discloses wherein preparing the first end comprises abrading the ID and the OD. See paragraph 0069, disclosing:
[0069] Prior to friction welding, friction weld faying surfaces may undergo surface preparation in the factory (e.g., via grit blasting/sanding) to provide sufficient roughness and contact forging force to promote heat generation during the rotary friction process and deposition of the thermoplastic tie layers onto the reinforced thermoset coupler ends. Surface preparation is important in friction welding components as it not only contributes to both the means of adherence between the faying materials, but also the frictional properties of the faying surfaces and therefore the rate at which frictional heat is generated in the joining process.
As to claim 74, Traidia discloses wherein preparing the first end comprises cleaning with a chemical solvent. See especially paragraph 0076, disclosing “According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the faying surfaces of the RTP pipe 310, 311 and thermoplastic tie layers 304 may be cleaned (e.g., using alcohol) before tight fitting the coupler 300 and RTP pipe together.”
As to claim 76, Traidia discloses wherein preparing the first groove comprises abrading the first groove. See paragraph 0066, disclosing:
[0066] A thermoplastic layer (which may include susceptors, if needed) may be bonded on connection (faying) surfaces of an RTR coupler (e.g., around the outer surfaces of the socket extensions) at the RTR coupler manufacturing stage, or after the manufacture and distribution of an RTR coupler body to an installation site. Various methods can be used to apply and bond the tie layers to a thermoset RTR coupler body. For example, a thermoplastic powder may be thermally sprayed on a faying surface of the thermoset RTR coupler body (with sufficient surface preparation, e.g., sand blasting) or a thermoplastic implant may be applied while the thermoset RTR coupler body is in a partially cured (or uncured) state, followed by co-curing at the required temperature (below the melting temperature of the thermoplastic) to bond a thermoplastic tie layer to the RTR coupler body. In one or more embodiments, the deposition of tie layers may be conducted in the factory at the manufacturing stage. Because the surface preparation of a substrate often conditions the final quality of a coating, a clean and controlled environment (e.g., dust free, temperature regulation, etc.) is advantageous, which is easier to achieve in the manufacturing site.
As to claim 77, Traidia discloses wherein preparing the first groove comprises cleaning the first groove with a chemical solvent. See especially paragraph 0076, disclosing “According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the faying surfaces of the RTP pipe 310, 311 and thermoplastic tie layers 304 may be cleaned (e.g., using alcohol) before tight fitting the coupler 300 and RTP pipe together.”
As to claim 78, Traidia wherein the length of pipe is reinforced. See paragraph 0001, disclosing “Reinforced Thermoplastic Polymer (RTP) pipes” and that “As shown, typical RTP pipe 10 includes an inner thermoplastic liner 12, a fiber reinforcement layer 14 layered around the inner thermoplastic liner 12, and an external thermoplastic jacket 16 layered around the fiber reinforcement layer 14.” See also paragraph 0028, disclosing “a connection system for joining two RTP (reinforced thermoplastic polymer) pipe may include an RTR (reinforced thermoset resin) coupler positioned between the ends of the two RTP pipe”.
Similarly, Roberts-Moore discloses wherein the length of pipe is reinforced. See paragraph 0011, disclosing “the multi-layered pipe including at least an outer and an inner layer of thermoplastic material and a central layer of metal or other conductive material which is no more than 2 mm thick”. This layer of metal or other conductive material also functions as a reinforced layer.
Claim(s) 71 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traidia (US 20240263724 A1) and Roberts-Moore (US 20070200342 A1) and Yang (CN 115256954 A) as applied to claims 68-71, 73-74, and 76-78 above, and further in view of Taraiya (US 20200039138 A1)
As to claim 71, Traidia discloses wherein the thermoplastic is selected from the group consisting of polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), low-density polyethylene (LDPE), linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate (PC), and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF). See paragraph 0065, disclosing:
[0031]…Thermoplastic material forming the inner and/or outer surfaces 114, 115 of the RTP pipe may be selected from at least one of polyethylene (PE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), polyamide (PA), polyether ether ketone (PEEK), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polypropylene (PP), or other thermoplastic polymers known in the art.
…
[0065] Examples of thermoplastics that can be used for a tie layer, include but are not limited to polyolefins (e.g., polypropylenes or polyethylenes), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polyaryletherketones (PAEK), polyethylenimine (PEI), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), polyethylene of raised temperature (PE-RT), aliphatic polyketone (PK), polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (and other polyaryletherketones), polyetherketoneketone (PEKK), polyamide 12 (PA12), polyketone (POK), and their carbon beads or short fiber reinforced grades, and other thermoplastic resins commonly used in the oil and gas industry.
Similarly, Roberts-Moore discloses some of the same materials, such as HDPE, and PP. See the citations above to paragraphs 0016 and claims 3 and 4.
However, while Traidia discloses wherein the thermoplastic is polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), Traidia does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermoplastic is low-density polyethylene (LDPE), linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE), and polycarbonate (PC). However, Traidia does suggest that the teachings can be extended to “other thermoplastic resins commonly used in the oil and gas industry.”
Taraiya is directed to welding and manufacturing of thermoplastic pipes. See paragraph 0001, disclosing “[0001] The present invention relates to a modification process for modifying a biaxially oriented pipe. The present invention further relates to a pipe joining process of the so-obtained modified pipes.” Paragraph 0120 discloses that the pipes of Taraiya may be used in the gas industry, teaching “[0120] The invention also relates to use of the joined pipe according to the invention for pressure pipes for gas, water and industrial applications or building and constructions applications such as scaffolding and roof support.” Paragraphs 0024-26 discloses the thermoplastic materials that may be used for these pipes, reciting:
[0024] Thermoplastic Polymer Composition
[0025] Preferably, thermoplastic polymer composition comprises a thermoplastic polymer selected from the group consisting of polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinylchloride, polyester, polycarbonate, polyamide, polyacetal, polyimide, polyvinylidene fluoride and polyether ether ketone and combinations thereof.
[0026] A preferred example of the thermoplastic polymer is polyethylene, such as high-density polyethylene (HDPE), linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE) and low-density polyethylene (LDPE), and particularly preferred is high-density polyethylene (HDPE). Another preferred example of the thermoplastic polymer is polypropylene, preferably random polypropylene.
Therefore, Taraiya teaches that linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE) and low-density polyethylene (LDPE), and polycarbonate would have been immediately recognized as other thermoplastic resins commonly used in the oil and gas industry and teaches that these materials would have been recognized as substitutes for polyethylene, polypropylene, HDPE and PVDF. Thus, Taraiya discloses that linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE) and low-density polyethylene (LDPE), and polycarbonate are known substitute materials for polyethylene, polypropylene, HDPE and PVDF which are disclosed in Traidia.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized low-density polyethylene (LDPE), linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE), and polycarbonate (PC) as substitute thermoplastics for polyethylene, polypropylene, HDPE and PVDF as taught by Taraiya in order to extended the teachings of Traidia to additional materials known to be used for pressure pipes for gas, water and industrial applications because these materials in Taraiya would have been immediately recognized as other thermoplastic resins commonly used in the oil and gas industry.
Claim(s) 72 and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traidia (US 20240263724 A1) and Roberts-Moore (US 20070200342 A1) and Yang (CN 115256954 A) as applied to claims 68-71, 73-74, and 76-78 above, and further in view of Hanselka (US 4876041 A).
As to claim 72, Traidia does not disclose wherein preparing the first end comprises facing the first end.
However, Hanselka discloses and makes obvious wherein preparing the first end comprises facing the first end. Hanselka teaches “Method for fusion joining first and second axially abutted thermo-plastic piping system component connection ends that are in axial and circumferential alignment” (see the abstract.) Hanselka teaches in column 14, line 28:
In terms of preparing the piping system component connection ends for fusion joining pursuant to the invention, it is important that the interfacing terminal edges be cut square. Further, it has been found that reducing the thermo-plastic material at the interface may provide for a better fused joint. For example, it may be helpful to bevel the outside of the interfacing terminal edges, so that the melt region includes a V-shaped groove. It may also be helpful to slightly bevel the inside of the interfacing terminal edges. Deburring the inside of the terminal edges may suffice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein preparing the first end comprises facing the first end as taught by Hanselka in order to provide for a better fused joint.
As to claim 75, Traidia does not disclose wherein preparing the first groove comprises facing the first groove.
However, Hanselka discloses and makes obvious wherein preparing the first groove comprises facing the first groove. Hanselka teaches “Method for fusion joining first and second axially abutted thermo-plastic piping system component connection ends that are in axial and circumferential alignment” (see the abstract.) Hanselka teaches in column 14, line 28:
In terms of preparing the piping system component connection ends for fusion joining pursuant to the invention, it is important that the interfacing terminal edges be cut square. Further, it has been found that reducing the thermo-plastic material at the interface may provide for a better fused joint. For example, it may be helpful to bevel the outside of the interfacing terminal edges, so that the melt region includes a V-shaped groove. It may also be helpful to slightly bevel the inside of the interfacing terminal edges. Deburring the inside of the terminal edges may suffice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein preparing the first groove comprises facing the first groove as taught by Hanselka in order to provide for a better fused joint.
Claim(s) 72 and 75 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traidia (US 20240263724 A1) and Roberts-Moore (US 20070200342 A1) and Yang (CN 115256954 A) as applied to claims 68-71, 73-74, and 76-78 above, and further in view of Andrew (US 5725724 A).
As to claim 72, Traidia does not disclose wherein preparing the first end comprises facing the first end.
However, Andrew discloses and makes obvious wherein preparing the first end comprises facing the first end. Andrew teaches “A facer for use with a plastic pipe butt fusion machine, the machine being of the type that supports two lengths of plastic pipe in spaced apart, end-to-end relationship. The facer has a housing supportable to a butt fusion machine that includes a driven gear rotatably with first and second paralleled facer plates affixed to opposed surfaces of the driven gear. Each facer plate has shapers that, when forced against the ends of plastic pipe shave off portion of the pipe so that the ends become uniform and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the pipe.” (see the abstract.)
Andrews, column 1 , line 33 teaches the benefits of facing, teaching that:
Machines for butt fusion of plastic pipes have long been used, A butt fusion machine typically includes a frame that supports a first clamp for holding the end portion of one length of plastic pipe and a second clamp for holding a second length of plastic pipe. At least one of the clamps is moveable. The two lengths of pipe to be joined are clamped into position with their ends spread apart. To prepare the pipe to be butt fused, it is important that the ends of the pipe be planar, with the plane of each end perpendicular to the pipe axis. For this reason, a device known as a "facer" is positioned between the two lengths of pipe. The racer has opposed cutting surfaces. When the lengths of pipe are positioned so that the opposed ends are in contact with the opposed facing surfaces of the facer machine, the facer is activated to rotate knives against each of the opposed ends.
Andrew teaches in column 3, line 14:
Before fusing opposed ends of plastic pipes, each end must be cleaned and shaped so that it is in a plane perpendicular to the pipe axis. For this reason, a facer is employed, a facer being generally indicated by the numeral 30. In FIG. 1, facer 30 is shown in a storage position on cart 10--not in the position in which it is actually used. To provide a planar face on opposed ends of plastic pipe, facer 30 is manually lifted from its storage position and inserted into space 28 between clamps 20 and 22. While in space 28, lengths of plastic pipe are moved towards each other so that the opposed ends of the pipe contact opposed ends of the facer. The facer is then actuated to clean and shape the ends of the plastic pipe.
Facer 30 can be actuated electrically or manually in a way to be described subsequentially.
It is understood that facer 30 can be used with butt fusion machines that have appearances completely different than that of butt fusion machine 18 as shown in FIG. 1. FIG. 1 is illustrated only for the purpose of establishing an example of an environment in which the facer is used and FIG. 1 is not intended to imply a limitation to the use of the racer which will now be described with reference to FIGS. 2 and 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein preparing the first end comprises facing the first end because Andrew teaches in order to prepare the pipe to be butt fused, it is important that the ends of the pipe be planar, with the plane of each end perpendicular to the pipe axis.
As to claim 75, Traidia does not disclose wherein preparing the first groove comprises facing the first groove.
However, Andrew discloses and makes obvious wherein preparing the first groove comprises facing the first groove. Andrew teaches “A facer for use with a plastic pipe butt fusion machine, the machine being of the type that supports two lengths of plastic pipe in spaced apart, end-to-end relationship. The facer has a housing supportable to a butt fusion machine that includes a driven gear rotatably with first and second paralleled facer plates affixed to opposed surfaces of the driven gear. Each facer plate has shapers that, when forced against the ends of plastic pipe shave off portion of the pipe so that the ends become uniform and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the pipe.” (see the abstract.)
Andrews, column 1 , line 33 teaches the benefits of facing, teaching that:
Machines for butt fusion of plastic pipes have long been used, A butt fusion machine typically includes a frame that supports a first clamp for holding the end portion of one length of plastic pipe and a second clamp for holding a second length of plastic pipe. At least one of the clamps is moveable. The two lengths of pipe to be joined are clamped into position with their ends spread apart. To prepare the pipe to be butt fused, it is important that the ends of the pipe be planar, with the plane of each end perpendicular to the pipe axis. For this reason, a device known as a "facer" is positioned between the two lengths of pipe. The racer has opposed cutting surfaces. When the lengths of pipe are positioned so that the opposed ends are in contact with the opposed facing surfaces of the facer machine, the facer is activated to rotate knives against each of the opposed ends.
Andrew teaches in column 3, line 14:
Before fusing opposed ends of plastic pipes, each end must be cleaned and shaped so that it is in a plane perpendicular to the pipe axis. For this reason, a facer is employed, a facer being generally indicated by the numeral 30. In FIG. 1, facer 30 is shown in a storage position on cart 10--not in the position in which it is actually used. To provide a planar face on opposed ends of plastic pipe, facer 30 is manually lifted from its storage position and inserted into space 28 between clamps 20 and 22. While in space 28, lengths of plastic pipe are moved towards each other so that the opposed ends of the pipe contact opposed ends of the facer. The facer is then actuated to clean and shape the ends of the plastic pipe.
Facer 30 can be actuated electrically or manually in a way to be described subsequentially.
It is understood that facer 30 can be used with butt fusion machines that have appearances completely different than that of butt fusion machine 18 as shown in FIG. 1. FIG. 1 is illustrated only for the purpose of establishing an example of an environment in which the facer is used and FIG. 1 is not intended to imply a limitation to the use of the racer which will now be described with reference to FIGS. 2 and 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein preparing the first groove comprises facing the first groove because Andrew teaches in order to prepare the pipe to be butt fused, it is important that the ends of the pipe be planar, with the plane of each end perpendicular to the pipe axis.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK