DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20180042059 A1) in view of Oren et al (US 20160205529 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al discloses an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005) comprising: a communication interface (the main components of the NAN device correspond to a NAN Discovery Engine, a NAN Medium Access Control, and NAN application programming interfaces for each application; paragraph 0073, 0076) and at least one processor (the processor may be configured to receive a service discovery frame from another NAN device; paragraph 0008) configured to: maintain an inactivated state of a Peer-to-Peer engine (Bluetooth or wireless fidelity peer to peer; paragraph 0003-0004), and control a Neighbor Awareness Networking engine in an activated state (the NAN device, which activates the NAN service and starts the NAN cluster, sets both the master preference value and the random factor value to 0 and, then, resets the NANWarmUp ; paragraph 0083), generate (generate on the NAN device 1, an association request frame may be transmitted to the NAN device2 ; paragraph 0161) sync complex data for a terminal device (the NAN master may transmit all of a NAN Sync Beacon frame, a NAN discovery Beacon frame, and a NAN service discovery frame; paragraph 0070, 0163) to search for the electronic device (the STA may search for and discover neighboring services prior to being connected to a service providing device; in addition, the STA may search or a service by using neighbor awareness networking ; 0064-0065), by adding P2P Information Element data to sync beacon data (the NAN Sync Beacon frame may be used for the synchronization of the NAN devices within the NAN cluster; in addition, the NAN discovery Beacon frame may be used for the purpose of performing advertisement in order to allow the cluster to be discovered by NAN devices that are not subscribed to the corresponding NAN cluster; paragraph 0071), and using a predetermined cycle (each of the NAN devices shall maintain its own TSF timer, which is used for NAN beacon cycle timing; paragraph 0089) in a predetermined discovery window section (the transmission of the NAN synchronization beacon frames corresponds to a distributed transmission; the NAN synchronization beacon frames may be transmitted from a discovery window section existing at intervals of 512 time units; paragraph 0089-0090) through a discovery window channel (one or more NAN devices may transmit synchronization beacon frames in order to help all of the NAN devices included in the NAN cluster to synchronize the clock; the NAN device may synchronize a clock during a discovery window; paragraph 0088-0089, 0093). The NAN device may start a new NAN cluster, or the NAN device may become the NAN master in accordance with the change in the master rank (paragraph 0087-0088).
However, Park et al, does not specifically disclose the features of outputting the sync complex data using a predetermined cycle in a predetermined discovery window section through a discovery window channel.
On the other hand, Oren et al, from the same field of endeavor, disclose the features of outputting the sync complex data (device 102 may include a controller 124, and device 140 may include a controller 154; devices 102, 115 and 140 may be capable of sharing, showing, sending, transferring, printing, outputting, providing, synchronizing, and exchanging content, data, and information, e.g., between application 154 and applications 125 and/or 126; note that devices 102, 115 and 140 may include a controller configured to control one or more functionalities of devices 102, 115 and 140, for example, one or more functionalities of communication, e.g., awareness networking communications, NAN communication and any other communication, between devices 102, 115 and 140 and other devices, and any other functionality; paragraph 0060-0061, 0080) using a predetermined cycle (read as: devices 102, 115 and 140 may perform the functionality of NAN devices, which may share a common set of NAN parameters, for example, including a common NAN timestamp, and a common time period between consecutive discovery windows; the NAN timestamp may be communicated, as part of a NAN beacon frame, which may be communicated in the NAN cluster; the NAN timestamp may include a Time Synchronization Function value, for example, a NAN cluster TSF value, or any other value; paragraph 0088-0089) in a predetermined discovery window section (devices 102, 115 and 140 may be configured to discover one another over a predefined communication channel ; the discovery scheme may include a plurality of contention-based discovery windows; paragraph 0077-0079) through a discovery window channel (communication during the discovery windows may be configured to enable time synchronization between Wi-Fi stations, e.g., devices 102, 115 and 140, so that STAs can find each other more efficiently during a discovery window ; paragraph 0079-0080).
Oren et al, also discloses a first wireless device that transmits a service discovery frame in a Discovery Window, where the service discovery frame including an information element and availability information, the information element including one or more identifiers to identify one or more second wireless devices (abstract; paragraph 0096-0098). Furthermore, a first NAN device that wishes to exchange data with a second NAN device may send to the second NAN device an availability attribute to indicate the channels and the time slots, during which the first device is available to exchange data (paragraph 0055-0056, 0101). For instance, devices 102, 115 and 140, may be configured to use an awareness networking protocol, to exchange data, e.g., in addition to the exchanging of the service discovery frames (paragraph 0058, 0102-0103). In addition, devices 102, 115 and 140 may be capable of sharing, showing, sending, transferring, printing, outputting, providing, synchronizing, and exchanging content, data, and information, e.g., between application 154 and applications 125 and/or 126 (paragraph 0059-0060). Note that devices 102, 115 and 140 may be configured to enable time synchronization between device 102, device 115, device 140 and one or more other devices, e.g., performing the functionality of Wi-Fi stations, such that STAs can discover each other more efficiently and quickly (paragraph 0080-0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Oren to the communication system of Park in order to provide a method for synchronizing communications over robust peer-to-peer connection according to a timestamp of a neighbor awareness network beacon frame.
Regarding claim 2, Park et al discloses everything claimed as explained above in claim 1, except the features of outputting the sync complex data using a predetermined cycle in a predetermined discovery window section through a discovery window channel.
However, Oren et al, from the same field of endeavor, disclose the features of outputting the sync complex data (device 102 may include a controller 124, and device 140 may include a controller 154; devices 102, 115 and 140 may be capable of sharing, showing, sending, transferring, printing, outputting, providing, synchronizing, and exchanging content, data, and information, e.g., between application 154 and applications 125 and/or 126; note that devices 102, 115 and 140 may include a controller configured to control one or more functionalities of devices 102, 115 and 140, for example, one or more functionalities of communication, e.g., awareness networking communications, NAN communication and any other communication, between devices 102, 115 and 140 and other devices, and any other functionality; paragraph 0060-0061, 0080) using a predetermined cycle (read as: devices 102, 115 and 140 may perform the functionality of NAN devices, which may share a common set of NAN parameters, for example, including a common NAN timestamp, and a common time period between consecutive discovery windows; the NAN timestamp may be communicated, as part of a NAN beacon frame, which may be communicated in the NAN cluster; the NAN timestamp may include a Time Synchronization Function value, for example, a NAN cluster TSF value, or any other value; paragraph 0088-0089) in a predetermined discovery window section (devices 102, 115 and 140 may be configured to discover one another over a predefined communication channel ; the discovery scheme may include a plurality of contention-based discovery windows; paragraph 0077-0079) through a discovery window channel (communication during the discovery windows may be configured to enable time synchronization between Wi-Fi stations, e.g., devices 102, 115 and 140, so that STAs can find each other more efficiently during a discovery window ; paragraph 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 3, Park et al as modified discloses an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: add the P2P IE data to a rear end of the sync beacon data or a rear end of the discovery beacon data (the NAN device may transmit a NAN service discovery frame and a NAN synchronization beacon frame based on a contention between a discovery window start point and a discovery window end point; furthermore, the NAN device may transmit both the NAN service discovery frame and the NAN synchronization beacon frame within the discovery window ; paragraph 0093-0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Oren to the communication system of Park in order to provide a method for synchronizing communications over robust peer-to-peer connection according to a timestamp of a neighbor awareness network beacon frame.
Regarding claim 4, Park et al as modified discloses an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), wherein the at least one processor is further (the processor may be configured to receive a service discovery frame from another NAN device; paragraph 0008) to: synchronize (the transmission section of the NAN synchronization beacon frame (the transmission section of the NAN synchronization beacon frame may be configured by a NAN device that generates the NAN cluster) the discovery window channel and a P2P listen channel (one or more NAN devices may transmit synchronization beacon frames in order to help all of the NAN devices included in the NAN cluster to synchronize the clock; the NAN device may synchronize a clock during a discovery window; paragraph 0088-0089, 0093).
Regarding claim 5, Park et al, as modified discloses an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: based on receiving, from the terminal device through the communication interface, an NAN service request (perform an authentication procedure and an association procedure with the other NAN device based on a request from the other NAN device having received the TIM element, to receive a polling frame from the other NAN device, and to transmit data being buffered for the other NAN device to the other NAN device as a response to the polling frame; paragraph 0043-0044), perform NAN connection with the terminal device using the NAN engine (performing, by the first NAN device, an authentication procedure and an association procedure with the second NAN device on the basis of a request of the second NAN device having received the TIM element; paragraph 0043), and based (based on the capability information of the non-AP STA 305 and 355, the AP 300 and 350 may determine whether or not the non-AP STA 305 and 355 can be supported; paragraph 0052) on receiving, from the terminal device through the communication interface, a P2P service request (the association response frame 340 may include information on whether or not the association request frame 330 is accepted and the corresponding reason and capability information of the non-AP STA that can be supported by the corresponding AP; paragraph 0052), activate the P2P engine and perform P2P connection with the terminal device using the P2P engine (the NAN device, which activates the NAN service and starts the NAN cluster, sets both the master preference value and the random factor value to 0 and, then, resets the NANWarmUp ; paragraph 0083).
Regarding claims 6, 7, Park et al discloses a terminal device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005) comprising: a communication interface (the main components of the NAN device correspond to a NAN Discovery Engine, a NAN Medium Access Control, and NAN application programming interfaces for each application; paragraph 0073); and at least one processor configured (the processor may be configured to receive a service discovery frame from another NAN device; paragraph 0008) to: receive (the NAN device2 may receive the TIM frame and may recognize the presence of buffered data that are to be transmitted to the NAN device2 in the NAN device1; paragraph 0102), through the communication interface (the NAN device is based on a physical layer; ; paragraph 0037, 0073), sync complex data or discovery complex data (the NAN master may transmit all of a NAN Sync Beacon frame, a NAN discovery Beacon frame, and a NAN service discovery frame; paragraph 0070) from an electronic device through a discovery window channel (one or more NAN devices may transmit synchronization beacon frames in order to help all of the NAN devices included in the NAN cluster to synchronize the clock; the NAN device may synchronize a clock during a discovery window; paragraph 0088-0089, 0093), wherein the sync complex data comprises Peer-to-Peer Information (Bluetooth or wireless fidelity peer to peer; paragraph 0003-0004) Element data added to sync beacon data (the NAN Sync Beacon frame may be used for the synchronization of the NAN devices within the NAN cluster; in addition, the NAN discovery Beacon frame may be used for the purpose of performing advertisement in order to allow the cluster to be discovered by NAN devices that are not subscribed to the corresponding NAN cluster; paragraph 0071), and the discovery complex data comprises P2P IE data added to discovery beacon data (the NAN Sync Beacon frame may be used for the synchronization of the NAN devices within the NAN cluster; in addition, the NAN discovery Beacon frame may be used for the purpose of performing advertisement in order to allow the cluster to be discovered by NAN devices that are not subscribed to the corresponding NAN cluster; paragraph 0071); and based on the terminal device supporting NAN connection, a communication interface (the main components of the NAN device correspond to a NAN Discovery Engine, a NAN Medium Access Control, and NAN application programming interfaces for each application; paragraph 0073, 0076) to request a Neighbor Awareness Networking service from the electronic device (performing, by the first NAN device, an authentication procedure and an association procedure with the second NAN device on the basis of a request of the second NAN device having received the TIM element; paragraph 0043-0044) based on the sync beacon data in the sync complex data (the non-AP STA 305 and 355 may transmit an association request frame 330 to the AP 300 and 350; as a response to the association request frame 330, the AP 300 and 350 may transmit an association response frame 340 to the non-AP STA 305 and 355; information related to the ability of the non-AP STA 305 and 355 is included in the association request frame 330, which is transmitted to the AP; paragraph 0052-0053).
However, Park et al, does not specifically disclose the features of controlling the communication interface to request a P2P service from the electronic device based on the P2P IE data in the sync complex data or the discovery complex data.
On the other hand, Oren et al, from the same field of endeavor, disclose the features of controlling (devices 102, 115 and 140 may include a controller configured to control one or more functionalities of devices 102, 115 and 140, for example, one or more functionalities of communication, e.g., awareness networking communications, NAN communication and any other communication, between devices 102, 115 and 140 and other devices, and any other functionality; paragraph 0060-0061, 0080) the communication interface to request a P2P service from the electronic device based on the P2P IE data (devices 102, 115 and 140 may perform the functionality of NAN devices, which may share a common set of NAN parameters, for example, including a common NAN timestamp, and a common time period between consecutive discovery windows; the NAN timestamp may be communicated, as part of a NAN beacon frame, which may be communicated in the NAN cluster; the NAN timestamp may include a Time Synchronization Function value, for example, a NAN cluster TSF value, or any other value; paragraph 0088-0089) in the sync complex data or the discovery complex data (devices 102, 115 and 140 may be configured to discover one another over a predefined communication channel ; the discovery scheme may include a plurality of contention-based discovery windows; paragraph 0077-0079; furthermore, communication during the discovery windows may be configured to enable time synchronization between Wi-Fi stations, e.g., devices 102, 115 and 140, so that STAs can find each other more efficiently during a discovery window ; paragraph 0079-0080).
Oren et al, also discloses a first wireless device that transmits a service discovery frame in a Discovery Window, where the service discovery frame including an information element and availability information, the information element including one or more identifiers to identify one or more second wireless devices (abstract; paragraph 0096-0098). Furthermore, a first NAN device that wishes to exchange data with a second NAN device may send to the second NAN device an availability attribute to indicate the channels and the time slots, during which the first device is available to exchange data (paragraph 0055-0056, 0101). For instance, devices 102, 115 and 140, may be configured to use an awareness networking protocol, to exchange data, e.g., in addition to the exchanging of the service discovery frames (paragraph 0058, 0102-0103). In addition, devices 102, 115 and 140 may be capable of sharing, showing, sending, transferring, printing, outputting, providing, synchronizing, and exchanging content, data, and information, e.g., between application 154 and applications 125 and/or 126 (paragraph 0059-0060). Note that devices 102, 115 and 140 may be configured to enable time synchronization between device 102, device 115, device 140 and one or more other devices, e.g., performing the functionality of Wi-Fi stations, such that STAs can discover each other more efficiently and quickly (paragraph 0080-0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Oren to the communication system of Park in order to provide a method for synchronizing communications over robust peer-to-peer connection according to a timestamp of a neighbor awareness network beacon frame.
Regarding claim 8, Park et as modified discloses a terminal device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), wherein the P2P IE data is added to a rear end of the sync beacon data or a rear end of the discovery beacon data (the NAN device may transmit a NAN service discovery frame and a NAN synchronization beacon frame based on a contention between a discovery window start point and a discovery window end point; furthermore, the NAN device may transmit both the NAN service discovery frame and the NAN synchronization beacon frame within the discovery window ; paragraph 0093-0094).
Regarding claims 11, 12, Park et al discloses a method (fig. 11) of controlling an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), the method comprising: maintaining an inactivated state of a Peer-to-Peer engine (Bluetooth or wireless fidelity peer to peer; paragraph 0003-0004), and controlling (the corresponding TIM element may include medium access control address of the NAN device2 or a NAN TIM ID of the NAN device2; paragraph 0073) a Neighbor Awareness Networking engine in an activated state (the NAN device, which activates the NAN service and starts the NAN cluster, sets both the master preference value and the random factor value to 0 and, then, resets the NANWarmUp ; paragraph 0083); generating (generate on the NAN device 1, an association request frame may be transmitted to the NAN device2 ; furthermore, the transmission section of the NAN synchronization beacon frame may be configured by a NAN device that generates the NAN cluster; paragraph 0076, 0161) sync complex data (the NAN master may transmit all of a NAN Sync Beacon frame, a NAN discovery Beacon frame, and a NAN service discovery frame; paragraph 0070, 0163) for a terminal device to search for the electronic device (the STA may search for and discover neighboring services prior to being connected to a service providing device; in addition, the STA may search or a service by using neighbor awareness networking ; 0064-0065), by adding P2P Information Element data to sync beacon data (the NAN Sync Beacon frame may be used for the synchronization of the NAN devices within the NAN cluster; in addition, the NAN discovery Beacon frame may be used for the purpose of performing advertisement in order to allow the cluster to be discovered by NAN devices that are not subscribed to the corresponding NAN cluster; paragraph 0071); and using a predetermined cycle (each of the NAN devices shall maintain its own TSF timer, which is used for NAN beacon cycle timing; paragraph 0089) in a predetermined discovery window (the transmission of the NAN synchronization beacon frames corresponds to a distributed transmission; the NAN synchronization beacon frames may be transmitted from a discovery window section existing at intervals of 512 time units; paragraph 0089-0090) section through a discovery window channel (one or more NAN devices may transmit synchronization beacon frames in order to help all of the NAN devices included in the NAN cluster to synchronize the clock; the NAN device may synchronize a clock during a discovery window; paragraph 0088-0089, 0093).
However, Park et al, does not specifically disclose the features of outputting the sync complex data using a predetermined cycle in a predetermined discovery window section through a discovery window channel.
On the other hand, Oren et al, from the same field of endeavor, disclose the features of outputting the sync complex data (device 102 may include a controller 124, and device 140 may include a controller 154; devices 102, 115 and 140 may be capable of sharing, showing, sending, transferring, printing, outputting, providing, synchronizing, and exchanging content, data, and information, e.g., between application 154 and applications 125 and/or 126; note that devices 102, 115 and 140 may include a controller configured to control one or more functionalities of devices 102, 115 and 140, for example, one or more functionalities of communication, e.g., awareness networking communications, NAN communication and any other communication, between devices 102, 115 and 140 and other devices, and any other functionality; paragraph 0060-0061, 0080) using a predetermined cycle (read as: devices 102, 115 and 140 may perform the functionality of NAN devices, which may share a common set of NAN parameters, for example, including a common NAN timestamp, and a common time period between consecutive discovery windows; the NAN timestamp may be communicated, as part of a NAN beacon frame, which may be communicated in the NAN cluster; the NAN timestamp may include a Time Synchronization Function value, for example, a NAN cluster TSF value, or any other value; paragraph 0088-0089) in a predetermined discovery window section (devices 102, 115 and 140 may be configured to discover one another over a predefined communication channel ; the discovery scheme may include a plurality of contention-based discovery windows; paragraph 0077-0079) through a discovery window channel (communication during the discovery windows may be configured to enable time synchronization between Wi-Fi stations, e.g., devices 102, 115 and 140, so that STAs can find each other more efficiently during a discovery window ; paragraph 0079-0080).
Oren et al, also discloses a first wireless device that transmits a service discovery frame in a Discovery Window, where the service discovery frame including an information element and availability information, the information element including one or more identifiers to identify one or more second wireless devices (abstract; paragraph 0096-0098). Furthermore, a first NAN device that wishes to exchange data with a second NAN device may send to the second NAN device an availability attribute to indicate the channels and the time slots, during which the first device is available to exchange data (paragraph 0055-0056, 0101). For instance, devices 102, 115 and 140, may be configured to use an awareness networking protocol, to exchange data, e.g., in addition to the exchanging of the service discovery frames (paragraph 0058, 0102-0103). In addition, devices 102, 115 and 140 may be capable of sharing, showing, sending, transferring, printing, outputting, providing, synchronizing, and exchanging content, data, and information, e.g., between application 154 and applications 125 and/or 126 (paragraph 0059-0060). Note that devices 102, 115 and 140 may be configured to enable time synchronization between device 102, device 115, device 140 and one or more other devices, e.g., performing the functionality of Wi-Fi stations, such that STAs can discover each other more efficiently and quickly (paragraph 0080-0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Oren to the communication system of Park in order to provide a method for synchronizing communications over robust peer-to-peer connection according to a timestamp of a neighbor awareness network beacon frame.
Regarding claim 13, Park et al discloses a method (fig. 11) of controlling an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), wherein the generating (generate on the NAN device 1, an association request frame may be transmitted to the NAN device2 ; paragraph 0161) the sync complex data or the generating the discovery complex data (the NAN master may transmit all of a NAN Sync Beacon frame, a NAN discovery Beacon frame, and a NAN service discovery frame; paragraph 0070, 0163) comprises: adding the P2P IE data to a rear end of the sync beacon data or a rear end of the discovery beacon data (the NAN device may transmit a NAN service discovery frame and a NAN synchronization beacon frame based on a contention between a discovery window start point and a discovery window end point; furthermore, the NAN device may transmit both the NAN service discovery frame and the NAN synchronization beacon frame within the discovery window ; paragraph 0093-0094).
Regarding claim 14, Park et al as modified discloses a method (fig. 11) of controlling an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), further comprising: synchronizing (the transmission section of the NAN synchronization beacon frame (the transmission section of the NAN synchronization beacon frame may be configured by a NAN device that generates the NAN cluster) the discovery window channel and a P2P listen channel (one or more NAN devices may transmit synchronization beacon frames in order to help all of the NAN devices included in the NAN cluster to synchronize the clock; the NAN device may synchronize a clock during a discovery window; the NAN device may transmit a NAN service discovery frame within a discovery window section; paragraph 0088-0089, 0093).
Regarding claim 15, Park et al as modified discloses a method (fig. 11) of controlling an electronic device (NAN device : performing data communication; paragraph 0005), further comprising: based on receiving from the terminal device an NAN service request (perform an authentication procedure and an association procedure with the other NAN device based on a request from the other NAN device having received the TIM element, to receive a polling frame from the other NAN device, and to transmit data being buffered for the other NAN device to the other NAN device as a response to the polling frame; paragraph 0043-0044)
, performing NAN connection with the terminal device using the NAN engine (performing, by the first NAN device, an authentication procedure and an association procedure with the second NAN device on the basis of a request of the second NAN device having received the TIM element; paragraph 0043); and based (based on the capability information of the non-AP STA 305 and 355, the AP 300 and 350 may determine whether or not the non-AP STA 305 and 355 can be supported; paragraph 0052) on receiving from the terminal device a P2P service request (the association response frame 340 may include information on whether or not the association request frame 330 is accepted and the corresponding reason and capability information of the non-AP STA that can be supported by the corresponding AP; paragraph 0052), activating the P2P engine and performing P2P connection with the terminal device using the P2P engine (the NAN device, which activates the NAN service and starts the NAN cluster, sets both the master preference value and the random factor value to 0 and, then, resets the NANWarmUp ; paragraph 0083).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641