DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (KR102535501B1).
Shin reads on the claimed invention as follows (refer to the Figs. 4-10):
Claim 19. A method for connecting an interposer comprising a flexible substrate (F1 as numbered in Fig. 7) comprising first and second arrays of conductive rings (3a, 3b), the method comprising:
aligning (see footnote 3) the second array of conductive rings (3b) on the flexible substrate (F1) of the interposer with connectors (1a) of a first printed circuit board (1) comprising an array of connectors (1a; see Fig. 8) for coupling to a ball grid array device;
coupling (see [0041], [0042] and Fig. 8) the second array of conductive rings (3b) to the array of connectors of the first printed circuit board wherein each conductive ring in the second array of conductive rings is exposed1 such that each connector in the array of connectors of the first printed circuit board is electrically accessible for testing;
aligning (see footnote 2) the first array of conductive rings (3a) on the flexible substrate of the interposer with ball pads (pads on which solder balls 2a are formed; see Fig. 5) of a ball grid array device;
coupling (see [0036], [0037] and Fig. 5) the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device wherein each conductive ring in the first array of conductive rings is exposed (see footnote 1) such that each ball pad of the ball grid array device is electrically accessible for testing; and
Shin does not explicitly mention testing the ball grid array device 2 after being coupled to the first printed circuit board. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious the purpose of the process of Shin is to obtain a working device. Therefore, after performing the process of attaching the BGA device to the printed circuit board, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to test the BGA device 2, to ensure it is functioning properly.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Cluff (US5779488A) and Robertson (GB2353745A).
Shin reads on the claimed invention as follows (refer to the Figs. 4-10; limitations not disclosed by Shin are crossed out, below):
Claim 1. A method for connecting an interposer (see Fig. 7), comprising:
aligning2 a first array of conductive rings (3a) on a flexible substrate (F1) of the interposer with ball pads (on which balls 2a are disposed, Figs. 4 and 5) of a ball grid array device (2);
coupling (see [0036], [0037] and Fig. 5) the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device;
aligning3 a second array of conductive rings (3b on F1, Fig. 8) on the flexible substrate (F1) of the interposer with connectors (1a) of a first printed circuit board (1) comprising an array of connectors (1a) for coupling to the ball grid array device; and
coupling the second array of conductive rings to the array of connectors of the first printed circuit board (see [0041], [0042] and Figs. 8 and 9); and
Claim 2. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 1, further comprising:
removing,
Claim 3. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 2:
wherein the coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device comprises coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device without using a machine that generates evenly dispersed heat (see “soldering iron” in [0037]).
Claim 4. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 1, wherein the coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device comprises coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device using a soldering iron (see [0037]).
Claim 6. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 1, wherein a first pattern of the first array of conductive rings on the flexible substrate and a second pattern of the second array of conductive rings on the flexible substrate are substantially the same. Compare arrays of holes 3a and array of holes 3b on F1 in Fig. 7.
Claim 7. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 1, wherein each conductive ring in the first array of conductive rings and each conductive ring in the second array of conductive rings comprises:
a conductive material coated on walls formed by a hole through the flexible substrate, wherein the conductive material comprises a cylindrical hole and thereby forms the conductive ring at a surface of the flexible substrate. See [0011].
Claim 20. The method of claim 19, further comprising:
removing, before aligning the first array of conductive rings on the flexible substrate of the interposer with ball pads on
removing, after removing
Claim 21. The method of claim 20:
wherein the coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device comprises coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device without using a machine that generates evenly dispersed heat (see “soldering iron” in [0037]).
Claim 22. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 1, wherein, responsive to the second array of conductive rings being coupled to the first printed circuit board, each conductive ring in the first array of conductive rings is exposed (see footnote 1) such that each ball pad of the ball grid array device is electrically accessible for the testing of the ball grid array device, and each conductive ring in the second array of conductive rings is exposed such that each connector in the array of connectors of the first printed circuit board is electrically accessible for the testing of the ball grid array device.
Claim 23. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 22, wherein, responsive to the second array of conductive rings being coupled to the first printed circuit board, each conductive ring in the second array of conductive rings is exposed (see footnote 1) such that each connector in the array of connectors of the first printed circuit board is electrically accessible for the testing of the ball grid array device.
In Shin, a defective BGA device is replaced with a functional BGA device by means of the disclosed interposer. Therefore, the ball grid array device (2’) removed from the PCB is not the same ball grid array device (2) coupled to the PCB (1), and the Shin also does not disclose a first PCB being different from the second PCB. Rather, the BGA device 2 is mounted to the same PCB 1 from which the defective component 2’ was removed.
Cluff teaches (col. 1, lns. 19-29) that “[w]ith typical production boards that do not include conventional sockets, when failures occur during production and a certain electrical component is suspected of being a failed component, that component is removed and replaced with another component. The removed component is usually then soldered to another motherboard to determine if the failure relates to the motherboard or the particular component.”
Robertson teaches a method of removing a BGA device from a substrate by mechanical means, without using heat, to facilitate rework if the BGA is improperly connected to the substrate (page 1, lines 5-8 and 25-38). A cutting apparatus is used to remove BGA device 102 from substrate 100 by cutting through the solder connections 112. No heat is used, thereby avoiding damage the circuit board and BGS package. See abstract, see page 4, ln. 30 to page 5, line 8.
In view of the combined teachings of Shin, Cluff and Robertson, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to remove from a second printed circuit board, in a non-destructive mechanical manner taught by Robertson, a BGA device 2 suspected of being defective, and to use the technique taught by Shin to couple the BGA device to a first PCB by means of a flexible interposer, and to test the first printed circuit board together with the coupled BGA device to determine if the BGA device is defective.
Claim(s) 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Cluff and Robertson, further in view of Uemura (US5722160A).
Shin further discloses the claimed subject matter as follows (limitations not disclosed by Shin are crossed out, below):
Claim 5. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 1:
wherein the coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device further comprises:
applying solder
wherein the coupling the second array of conductive rings to the connectors of the printed circuit board further comprises:
applying solder
Claim 8. The method for connecting an interposer of claim 1:
wherein coupling the first array of conductive rings to the ball pads of the ball grid array device further comprises attaching the ball grid array device to the flexible substrate using a solder
wherein coupling the second array of conductive rings to the connectors of the printed circuit board further comprises attaching the flexible substrate to the printed circuit board using the solder
Shin mentions soldering, such as with a soldering iron, but does not give more specific details regarding how the soldering is implemented, and does specifically mention using paste.
When soldering a BGA device to a substrate having through-holes, it is known from Uemura to apply a solder paste to a through-hole pad 3 (see Figs. 1A-1D), such that when heating is effected, such as during a reflow process, the solder balls 7 of the BGA device melt together with the solder paste, effecting a good solder bond (see ln. 44 in col. 4 to ln. 44 in col. 5).
In view of the teachings of Uemura, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to apply solder paste on the conductive ring 3a facing the balls of the BGA device, to facilitate soldering the balls 2a of BGA device 2 to the holes 3a of the first circuit board, with predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious that, although Shin uses a soldering iron to perform the soldering, this would still be effective in performing reflow of the solder paste, one connection at a time. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have also found it obvious to apply solder paste on the conductive rings 3b facing the connectors 1a on the PCB, to facilitate the soldering thereof, in a similar manner as between balls 2a and conductive rings 3a, with predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 22 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claim 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Shin does not teach the conductive rings of the second array of conductive rings being exposed, as claimed. Applicant argues “the ‘stepped stacked stricture ‘ as illustrated in Fig. 10 of Shin appears to prevent access (for testing) to some or all connection points on the PCB 1 and/or the BGA package 2.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection specifically identifies FPCB F1 as corresponding to the claimed flexible substrate. It should first be noted Shin has a numbering discrepancy. In Fig. 9, F4 is shown covering the other FPCBs over the substrate 1. In Fig. 8(1), F1 is first connected to the substrate, followed by F2 covering F1, F3 covering F1 and F2, and F4 covering F1 through F3. Fig. 7 shows the underside of the stack, it being clear that, when connecting the FPCBs to the BGA device 2, F4 is connected first, followed by F3 covering F4 and part of the BGA device 2, then F2 covering both F4 and F3 and a further part of the BGA device 2, and, finally, F1 covering the other FPCBs and the right side of the BGA device 2. However, the attachment order to BGS 2 is shown in Fig. 5, showing the opposite order of what was just described, i.e., F1 connected first, covering a left part of the BGA 2, then F2, then F3, and finally F4 attached to the right-most side of the BGA device 2. Therefore, Fig. 5(4) and 7 both show the underside of the stack of FPCBs, attached to the BGA device 2, but it can be seen the FPCB numbered F1 in Fig. 7 is the same one numbered F4 in Fig. 5(4). The rejection is based on the FPCB numbered F1 in Fig. 7. In Fig. 5, the correct numbering should be, F4, F3, F2 and F1, from left to right. It can be seen in Fig. 8 that F1 is soldered to the circuit board 1 before the other FPCBs. This is also visible in Fig. 10. Therefore, at least prior to soldering the remaining FPCBs to the circuit board 1, both conductive rings 3a and conductive rings 3b of FPCB F1 would be exposed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIVIUS R. CAZAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729
1 See Fig. 8, which shows flexible substrates F1 through F4, with the corresponding first array of conductive rings 3a of flexible substrate F1 being soldered to the ball grid array device 2. The opposite end of flexible substrate F1 has the second conductive array of conductive rings 3b soldered to the printed circuit board 1. Both the conductive rings 3a and conductive rings 3b of the flexible substrate F1 are exposed, such that testing of the ball pads and connectors is possible.
2 See [0036] and [0037], and Fig. 5. Clearly, holes 3a were aligned with the corresponding pads on device 2.
3 See [0041], [0042], and Fig. 8. Clearly, holes 3b were aligned with the corresponding connectors 1a on PCB 1.