DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of Remarks that Ro Sang Min is, thus, incompatible with a selection of resources unknown at the receiver.
Examiner disagrees. Claims 19 and 38 claim “wherein the selecting is at least partially unknown at the receiver”. Claims 19 and 38 do not claim “the selection of resources unknown at the receiver” as argued above. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the selection of resources unknown at the receiver) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The term “at least partially unknown” is very broad. The examiner interprets claims 19 and 38—wherein the selecting is at least partially unknown at the receiver, such as when a multi-antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data—as corresponding to Ro Sang Min et al. (see abstract).
Therefore, RO SANG MIN et al. teaches the limitation “wherein the selecting is at least partially unknown at the receiver”.
Applicant also argues on page 9 of Remarks that Yoshimura does not overcome the deficiencies of Ro Sang Min regarding the subject-matter as claimed.
Examiner disagrees. As argued above and mentioned in the previous office action, Ro Sang Min teaches a resource selector for selecting the resource elements from a plurality of resource elements of the wireless communications network, wherein the selecting is at least partially unknown at the receiver (see abstract: “a multi-antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data). Although Ro Sang Min does not mention the plurality of resource elements associated with a shared channel of the wireless communications network, Yoshimura teaches Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), PUSCH (Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH)) and a receiver configured to receive a PDSCH, based on detection of the PDCCH. The term “the selecting is at least partially unknown at the receiver” as claimed is very broad. The receiver of Yoshimura receives the PDSCH, based on detection of the PDCCH, not based on all the information of the selecting the resource elements from a plurality of resource elements.
Therefore, the combination of Yoshimura with Ro Sang Min is adequate to support ‘a resource selector for selecting the resource elements from a plurality of resource elements associated with a shared channel of the wireless communications network, wherein the selecting is at least partially unknown at the receiver’ as claimed."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-22, 24-25, 30, 38 and 40-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RO SANG MIN et al. (KR 20080086125 A) in view of YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. (EP 3681189 A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 38, RO SANG MIN et al. teach a transmitter configured for wirelessly (see KR 20080086125 A- - a transmitter of a wireless communication system using at least two multiple antennas) transmitting to a receiver (see KR 20080086125 A - the terminal) a signal using resource elements of a wireless communications network, the transmitter comprising:
a resource selector for selecting the resource elements from a plurality of resource elements in the wireless communications network, wherein the selecting is at least partially unknown at the receiver (see abstract- A multi-antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data. A resource allocator (707) sets a position of a variable common pilot as a data region according to the number of the transmission antennas, and if the number of transmission antennas is smaller than a certain number, the resource allocator maps data to the position of the variable common pilot. If the number of the transmission antennas is smaller than the certain number, a data generator (701) generates data in consideration of the variable common pilot. A transmitter transmits the position information of the variable common pilot and the data to a terminal).
RO SANG MIN et al. do not mention the plurality of resource elements associated with a shared channel. YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. teach a plurality of resource elements associated with a shared channel (see explanation above par. 0171: A fourth aspect of the present invention is a base station apparatus including: a transmitter configured to transmit a PDSCH, and transmit a PDCCH including scheduling information of the PDSCH in a CORESET; and a receiver configured to receive a PUCCH transmitted by using one PUCCH resource selected from one PUCCH resource set and including a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH, wherein the one PUCCH resource set is selected from multiple PUCCH resource sets associated with a PUCCH resource, based on at least some or all of a condition 1, a condition 2, a condition 3, a condition 4, and a condition 5, the condition 1 is a CORESET in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 2 is a search space in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 3 is a first beam parameter for the PDSCH, the condition 4 is a second beam parameter for the PDCCH, the condition 5 is a HARQ process ID associated with the PDSCH, and each of the multiple PUCCH resource sets includes one or more PUCCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AJA) to modify the plurality of resource elements associated with a shared channel of YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. to the method of RO SANG MIN et al. in order to meet requirements assuming three scenarios: enhanced Mobile BroadBand (eMBB), massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC), and Ultra Reliable and Low Latency Communication (URLLC) in a single technology framework).
Regarding claim 30, RO SANG MIN et al. teach a transmitter configured for wirelessly transmitting to a receiver a signal using resource elements of a wireless communications network; wherein the transmitter is configured for using a core set for transmitting a first signal during a first time instance; wherein the transmitter is configured for using at least one additional resource from a pool of additional resources in addition to the core set for transmitting a second signal during a second instance of time without signaling the use of additional resource (see abstract: A multi-antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data. A resource allocator (707) sets a position of a variable common pilot as a data region according to the number of the transmission antennas, and if the number of transmission antennas is smaller than a certain number, the resource allocator maps data to the position of the variable common pilot. If the number of the transmission antennas is smaller than the certain number, a data generator (701) generates data in consideration of the variable common pilot. A transmitter transmits the position information of the variable common pilot and the data to a terminal).
RO SANG MIN et al. do not mention a pool of additional resources associated with a shared channel of the wireless communications network. YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. teach a pool of additional resources associated with a shared channel of the wireless communications network (see explanation above par. 0171: A fourth aspect of the present invention is a base station apparatus including: a transmitter configured to transmit a PDSCH, and transmit a PDCCH including scheduling information of the PDSCH in a CORESET; and a receiver configured to receive a PUCCH transmitted by using one PUCCH resource selected from one PUCCH resource set and including a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH, wherein the one PUCCH resource set is selected from multiple PUCCH resource sets associated with a PUCCH resource, based on at least some or all of a condition 1, a condition 2, a condition 3, a condition 4, and a condition 5, the condition 1 is a CORESET in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 2 is a search space in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 3 is a first beam parameter for the PDSCH, the condition 4 is a second beam parameter for the PDCCH, the condition 5 is a HARQ process ID associated with the PDSCH, and each of the multiple PUCCH resource sets includes one or more PUCCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AJA) to modify the pool of additional resources associated with a shared channel of the wireless communications network of YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. to the method of RO SANG MIN et al. in order to meet requirements assuming three scenarios: enhanced Mobile BroadBand (eMBB), massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC), and Ultra Reliable and Low Latency Communication (URLLC) in a single technology framework).
Regarding claim 20, RO SANG MIN et al. also teach wherein the transmitter is configured for determining resource elements to be used for transmission of the signal and for mapping at least one pilot symbol and at least one data symbol according to a predetermined rule to the resource elements (see abstract: A multi-antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data. A resource allocator (707) sets a position of a variable common pilot as a data region according to the number of the transmission antennas, and if the number of transmission antennas is smaller than a certain number, the resource allocator maps data to the position of the variable common pilot. If the number of the transmission antennas is smaller than the certain number, a data generator (701) generates data in consideration of the variable common pilot. A transmitter transmits the position information of the variable common pilot and the data to a terminal).
Regarding claim 21, RO SANG MIN et al. also teach wherein the resource selector is configured for selecting at least one of a plurality of predefined sets of resources for transmitting the signal (see abstract: A multi-antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data. A resource allocator (707) sets a position of a variable common pilot as a data region according to the number of the transmission antennas, andif the number of transmission antennas is smaller than a certain number, the resource allocator maps data to the position of the variable common pilot. If the number of the transmission antennas is smaller than the certain number, a data generator (701) generates data in consideration of the variable common pilot. A transmitter transmits the position information of the variable common pilot and the data to a terminal).
Regarding claim 22, RO SANG MIN et al. also teach wherein the resource selector is configured for selecting the at least one set from the plurality of predefined sets using a selection information indicating a subset of the plurality of predefined sets, wherein the transmitter is configured for selecting the set from the subset of predefined sets (see abstract: A multi-antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data. A resource allocator (707) sets a position of a variable common pilot as a data region according to the number of the transmission antennas, and if the number of transmission antennas is smaller than a certain number, the resource allocator maps data to the position of the variable common pilot. If the number of the transmission antennas is smaller than the certain number, a data generator (701) generates data in consideration of the variable common pilot. A transmitter transmits the position information of the variable common pilot and the data to a terminal).
Regarding claim 24, RO SANG MIN et al. also teach wherein each predefined set comprises resources being exclusively associated with the predefined set (see abstract: A multi- antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data. A resource allocator (707) sets a position of a variable common pilot as a data region according to the number of the transmission antennas, and if the number of transmission antennas is smaller than a certain number, the resource allocator maps data to the position of the variable common pilot. If the number of the transmission antennas is smaller than the certain number, a data generator (701) generates data in consideration of the variable common pilot. A transmitter transmits the position information of the variable common pilot and the data to a terminal).
Regarding claim 25, RO SANG MIN et al. also teach wherein the transmitter is configured for temporarily using at least one additional resource from a pool of additional resources in addition to the set of resources for transmitting the signal (see abstract: A multi- antenna number selector (703) determines the number of transmission antennas according to a transmission mode of predetermined data. A resource allocator (707) sets a position of a variable common pilot as a data region according to the number of the transmission antennas, and if the number of transmission antennas is smaller than a certain number, the resource allocator maps data to the position of the variable common pilot. If the number of the transmission antennas is smaller than the certain number, a data generator (701) generates data in consideration of the variable common pilot. A transmitter transmits the position information of the variable common pilot and the data to a terminal).
Regarding claim 40, YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. also teach the transmitter adapted to transmit the signal based on a grant-free access to the shared channel (see par. 0171: a transmitter configured to transmit a PDSCH, and transmit a PDCCH including scheduling information of the PDSCH in a CORESET; and a receiver configured to receive a PUCCH transmitted by using one PUCCH resource selected from one PUCCH resource set and cluding a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH, wherein the one PUCCH resource set is selected from multiple PUCCH resource sets associated with a PUCCH resource, based on at least some or all of a condition 1, a condition 2, a condition 3, a condition 4, and a condition 5).
Regarding claims 41-42, YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. also teach the transmitter of claim 19, wherein the transmitter is adapted to include into the signal an identity information that allows for identifying the transmitter (see par. 0171: the first beam parameter includes at least some or all of a configuration at least used for resource element mapping for the PDSCH, and an index of an antenna port of a downlink reference signal quasi co-located (QCLed) with an antenna port of a DL DMRS associated with the PDSCH); wherein the identity information comprises an identifier identifying the transmitter as a part of information transmitted in the signal; or wherein the identity information comprises an identifier identifying the transmitter based on a selection of the resource elements out of an overall set of resource elements (see par. 0171: In the second aspect of the present invention, the first beam parameter includes at least some or all of a configuration at least used for resource element mapping for the PDSCH, and an index of an antenna port of a downlink reference signal quasi co-located (QCLed) with an antenna port of a DL DMRS associated with the PDSCH. In the second aspect of the present invention, the second beam parameter includes at least some or all of a configuration at least used for resource element mapping for the PDCCH, and an index of an antenna port of a downlink reference signal quasi co-located (QCLed) with an antenna port of a DL DMRS associated with the PDCCH. A third aspect of the present invention is a terminal apparatus including: a receiver configured to monitor a PDCCH in one or more CORESETs, and receive a PDSCH, based on detection of the PDCCH, wherein one first beam parameter for the PDSCH is selected from one beam parameter set, the one beam parameter set is given based on at least some or all of a condition 1, a condition 2, and a condition 3, the condition 1 is a CORESET in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 2 is a search space in which the PDCCH is detected, and the condition 3 is a second beam parameter for the PDCCH. In the third aspect of the present invention, the first beam parameter includes at least some or all of a configuration at least used for resource element mapping for the PDSCH, and an index of an antenna port of a downlink reference signal quasi co-located (QCLed) with an antenna port of a DL DMRS associated with the PDSCH. In the third aspect of the present invention, the second beam parameter includes at least some or all of a configuration at least used for resource element mapping for the PDCCH, and an index of an antenna port of a downlink reference signal quasi co-located (QCLed) with an antenna port of a DL DMRS associated with the PDCCH).
Regarding claim 43, YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. also teach wherein the identity information comprises one of an identifier being indicated by a selection of the resource elements out of an overall set of resource elements and an identifier being indicated by a channel metric between the transmitter and a receiver of the signal (see par. 0171).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Yoshimura with Ro Sang Min also teach the transmitter adapted to use adapted to use the selected resources as resources of the shared channel and as being at least partially unknown as selected resources at the receiver (see par. 0171 and explanation in claim 19).
Regarding claim 45, YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. also teach wherein the selecting being at least partially unknown at the receiver causes the receiver to determine on its own, which resource elements have been used by the transmitter (see explanation above and par. 0171: A fourth aspect of the present invention is a base station apparatus including: a transmitter configured to transmit a PDSCH, and transmit a PDCCH including scheduling information of the PDSCH in a CORESET; and a receiver configured to receive a PUCCH transmitted by using one PUCCH resource selected from one PUCCH resource set and including a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH, wherein the one PUCCH resource set is selected from multiple PUCCH resource sets associated with a PUCCH resource, based on at least some or all of a condition 1, a condition 2, a condition 3, a condition 4, and a condition 5, the condition 1 is a CORESET in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 2 is a search space in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 3 is a first beam parameter for the PDSCH, the condition 4 is a second beam parameter for the PDCCH, the condition 5 is a HARQ process ID associated with the PDSCH, and each of the multiple PUCCH resource sets includes one or more PUCCH resources).
Regarding claim 46, YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. also teach wherein the selecting being at least partially unknown at the receiver avoids overhead required for signaling the selected resources (see explanation above and par. 0171: A fourth aspect of the present invention is a base station apparatus including: a transmitter configured to transmit a PDSCH, and transmit a PDCCH including scheduling information of the PDSCH in a CORESET; and a receiver configured to receive a PUCCH transmitted by using one PUCCH resource selected from one PUCCH resource set and including a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH, wherein the one PUCCH resource set is selected from multiple PUCCH resource sets associated with a PUCCH resource, based on at least some or all of a condition 1, a condition 2, a condition 3, a condition 4, and a condition 5, the condition 1 is a CORESET in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 2 is a search space in which the PDCCH is detected, the condition 3 is a first beam parameter for the PDSCH, the condition 4 is a second beam parameter for the PDCCH, the condition 5 is a HARQ process ID associated with the PDSCH, and each of the multiple PUCCH resource sets includes one or more PUCCH resources).
Claim 23 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RO SANG MIN etal. (KR 20080086125 A) in view of YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. (EP 3681189 A1) and further in view of CHATTERJEE, D et al. (CN 105580464 A).
Regarding claim 23, RO SANG MIN et al. do not mention wherein resources of a first and a second set of the predefined sets partially overlap. CHATTERJEE, D teach resources of a first and a second set of the predefined sets partially overlap (see document: 416 relates to processing elements using a signal metric to select time resource of the resource grid. can be multiple alternate modes to process a signal metric, the purpose is to select a time resource (periodic time unit (e.g. a sub-frame), the time resources and reduces selection transmission area are overlapped partly with currently assigned to the UE and the resource allocation is performed for the effective transmitter frequency sub-channel possibility of time resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AJA) to modify resources of a first and a second set of the predefined sets partially overlap of CHATTERJEE, D et al. to the method of RO SANG MIN et al. in order f to perform efficient communication with a user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 28, RO SANG MIN etal. do not mention wherein the resource selector is configured to select at least one additional set of the predefined sets for transmitting the signal. CHATTERJEE, D et al. teach the resource selector is configured to select at least one additional set of the predefined sets for transmitting the signal (see document: 416 relates to processing elements using a signal metric to select time resource of the resource grid. can be multiple alternate modes to process a signal metric, the purpose is to select a time resource (periodic time unit (e.g. a sub-frame), the time resources and reduces selection transmission area are overlapped partly with currently assigned to the UE and the resource allocation is performed for the effective transmitter frequency sub-channel possibility of time resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify resources of a first and a second set of the predefined sets partially overlap of CHATTERJEE, D et al. to the method of RO SANG MIN et al. in order f to perform efficient communication with a user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 29, RO SANG MIN et al. do not mention wherein the transmitter is configured for using a channel metric indicating a channel characteristic of at least a part of a channel from the transmitter to a receiver; wherein the resource selector is configured for selecting the set from the plurality of predefined sets dependent on the channel characteristic. CHATTERJEE, D et al. teach the transmitter is configured for using a channel metric indicating a channel characteristic of at least a part of a channel from the transmitter to a receiver; wherein the resource selector is configured for selecting the set from the plurality of predefined sets dependent on the channel characteristic (see document: 416 relates to processing elements using a signal metric to select time resource of the resource grid. can be multiple alternate modes to process a signal metric, the purpose is to select a time resource (periodic time unit (e.g. a sub - frame), the time resources and reduces selection transmission area are overlapped partly with currently assigned to the UE and the resource allocation is performed for the effective transmitter frequency sub-channel possibility of time resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify resources of a first and a second set of the predefined sets partially overlap of CHATTERJEE, D et al. to the method of RO SANG MIN etal. in order f to perform efficient communication with a user equipment (UE).
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RO SANG MIN et al. (KR 20080086125 A) in view of YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. (EP 3681189 A1) and further in view of AGASHE P (CN 100401651 C).
Regarding claim 26, RO SANG MIN et al. do not mention wherein the transmitter is configured for temporarily using a plurality of additional resources up to a predefined maximum data rate indicated by a maximum data rate information. AGASHE P teach the transmitter is configured for temporarily using a plurality of additional resources up to a predefined maximum data rate indicated by a maximum data rate information (see fig. 3: FIG. 3 illustrates for sending reverse and forward link signal transmitter 300 of FIG. channel data for transmission is input to the modulator 301 for modulation. modulation can be according to any known modulation technique, suchas Q, PSK or BPSK. data is encoded at a data rate in modulator 301. the data rate by a data rate and power level selector 303 selects. data rate selection may be based on feedback information received from the receiving destination. feedback information may include maximum data rate allowed. data rate of maximum allowed can be determined according to the calculation of the various known. among other considered factor, maximum allowable data rate generally based on channel conditions. data rate and power level selector 303 accordingly selects data rate in modulator 301. modulator 301 output by the signal expansion operation, and at block 302 the amplified, for emitted from antenna 304. data rate and power level selector 303 also according to the feedback information to amplify a power level of the transmission signal selection. the selected combination of data rate and power level for correctly decoding the received transmission signal at the destination. transmit power level may be limited within a predefined range. transmission power range with a lower limit and an upper limit. transmission power range of the limit may be based on rate as follows: if the channel is suddenly deteriorated, feedback information will increase the power. transmission power limit may be based on transmitter expected maximum power resources allocated to a single receiver). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AJA) to modify temporarily using a plurality of additional resources up to a predefined maximum data rate indicated by a maximum data rate information of AGASHE P to the transmitter of RO SANG MIN et al. in order to allow relatively high data rate and low energy consumption.
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RO SANG MIN Et al. (KR 20080086125 A) in view of in view of YOSHIMURA TOMOKI et al. (EP 3681189 A1) and further AGASHE P (CN 100401651 C) and further in view of CHATTERJEE, D et al. (CN 105580464 A).
Regarding claim 27, RO SANG MIN et al. and AGASHE P do not mention wherein the transmitter is configured for temporarily using the plurality of additional resources without signaling the use to a receiver of the signal. CHATTERJEE, D et al. teach temporarily using the plurality of additional resources without signaling the use to a receiver of the signal. (416 relates to processing elements using a signal metric to select time resource of the resource grid. can be multiple alternate modes to process a signal metric, the purpose is to select a time resource (periodic time unit (e.g. a sub-frame), the time resources and reduces selection transmission area are overlapped partly with currently assigned to the UE and the resource allocation is performed for the effective transmitter frequency sub-channel possibility of time resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify temporarily using the plurality of additional resources without signaling the use to a receiver of the signal of CHATTERJEE, D et al. to the method of RO SANG MIN et al. in order f to perform efficient communication with a user equipment (UE).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643