DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the response filed on April 16, 2026. In that response, claims 26, 27, 30-43,45, and 47 were amended and claims 28, 29, and 46 were cancelled. Claims 26, 27, 30-45, 47, and 48 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 26-46), and the species of a porous mesh backing (claims 28, 40, and 45) in the reply filed on September 25, 2025 is acknowledged. In view of Mooney (cited below), the restriction and species election requirements were withdrawn in the 10/20/2025 Office action. Pursuant to the procedures set forth in MPEP § 821.04(a), the restriction requirement between inventions Groups I and II, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 3/26/2025, is hereby withdrawn and claims 47 and 48 are rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: “or” in line 3 of limitation (b) is not followed by an alternative. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 27, 30-45, 47, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mooney (US 2008/0044900) in view of Turner (US 2011/0274666), Ghosh (Ghosh, K., et al., Cell adaptation to a physiologically relevant ECM mimic with different viscoelastic properties, Biomaterials 28 (2007) 671-679), and Hanjaya-Putra (US 2012/0225814).
Mooney teaches a patch graft or scaffold composition and a bioactive composition incorporated into or coated onto the scaffold composition for cell transplantation or graft (title; abstract; paras.0004-07, 0011, 0013-17, 0022, 0051, 0055, 0063, 0069, 0107, 0127, 0134). “The biocompatible scaffolds of the invention are useful in a broad range of in vivo and in vitro regenerative medicine and tissue engineering” (para. 0092; paras.0019, 0022), including as liver scaffolds and for “liver tissue regeneration” comprising hepatocyte growth factor (paras.0017, 0044, 0082, 0088). Official notice is taken that liver cancer, nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, and hepatitis among others in claim 27 are well-known and long-studied diseases of the liver. The “scaffold or scaffold device is the physical structure upon which or into which cells associate or attach” (para.0049; see para. 0132), and comprises a “biocompatible polymer matrix” such as a hydrogel of hyaluronic acid (paras.0049, 0051-52). The scaffold “incorporates or is coated with a bioactive composition including hyaluronic acid (paras.0006, 0052), and comprises “physical channels or paths through which cells can move more easily towards a targeted area of egress” (para. 0006).
Mooney teaches seeding the scaffold “with two or more substantially pure populations of cells” (para.0041), of the cell types recited in claims 34-39 (paras.0017, 0042, 0044, 0046), i.e., “[d]ifferent cell types, e.g., stem vs. differentiated,…optionally vary in phenotype, e.g., differentiation state, activation state,…[s]uch cells include but are not limited to, various stem cell populations (embryonic stem cells differentiated into various cell types), …mesenchymal stem cells, …epithelial cells,…” (para. 0044). Applicant discloses the “early lineage stage mesenchymal cells (ELSMCs) appropriate for patch grafts can be angioblasts, …, early stage stellate cells, or mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs), or mixtures of these.” (para.0137, pre-grant publication US 2018/0361027). The cells may be autologous or allogenic cells (para.0092), genetically modified (para. 0045), with maintained “stemness” (para. 0068), i.e., in a suitable medium.
Regarding “viscoelasticity sufficient to allow for migration …subject’s liver” in claim 26, limitation (a), Mooney teaches, “scaffold composition and/or bioactive composition temporally and spatially (directionally) controls egress of a resident cell or progeny thereof” (abstract; paras. 0004, 0127, 0154 “…allow the physical contact required for cells to migrate out of the device into the wound”).
Mooney further teaches scaffolds comprise multiple compositions and one or more layers (paras.0006, 0017, 0018, 0044, 0048, 0067, 0069-0071). One layer comprises a biocompatible, biodegradable material having a viscoelasticity sufficient to inhibit (or provide a barrier to) migration of said cell population in a direction of said backing: "[f]or example, the scaffold composition is differentially permeable, allowing cell egress only in certain physical areas of the scaffold… by selecting or engineering a material for greater or smaller pore size ... or viscoelasticity" (para. 0006, emphases added). Cell egress in “only”, i.e., limited, areas of the scaffold indicates non-egress in the other areas. Suitable scaffold compositions include polymers such as silk (para.0013).
Regarding claim 26, limitation “(b) a backing…having a viscoelasticity sufficient to inhibit a migration…away from the target tissue”, and claims 28, Mooney teaches a “semipermeable outer surface is provided by either using a composite material (e.g., nonporous silicone sheet placed on outer surface of porous device) or processing the device to create anisotropic porosity” (para.0154). As noted above, Mooney teaches the scaffold “incorporates or is coated with a bioactive composition including hyaluronic acid (paras.0006, 00490052) and therefore a skilled person would have understood that the outer surface may comprise a hydrogel for its benefits including an adjustable level of consistency, hydration, and/or porosity (para.0049).
Regarding claim 26, limitation “(c) a third hydrogel overlaid on a serosal surface of said backing…”, Mooney teaches addition of a first and second hydrogel coating (para.0069) and compartment layers (paras.0070-71) to control the cells. The release profiles from the scaffold devices are controlled by both factor diffusion and polymer degradation, the dose of the factor loaded in the system and the composition of the polymer (para.0078). With migration away from the target tissue being discouraged, the addition of a hydrogel layer on the opposite side of the backing away from the cells would be obvious to reinforce the backing of the scaffold and prevent cells from migrating away from the target tissue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Mooney specifically suggests adding layers to regulate cell locomotion (migration) (para.0018) and outer coverings (para.0154).
Regarding claim 43, Mooney discloses hydrogel “to conform to the wound and provide control over fluid transport, prevent infection, and allow the physical contact required for cells to migrate out of the device into the wound”, i.e., the treatment site (para. 0154; see paras. 0006, 0049).
Mooney does not specifically teach the viscoelasticity recited in claims 26, 31, 44, and 45.
Turner teaches methods of repairing diseased or dysfunctional organs, including liver, through “engraftment of cells from healthy tissue … admixed with gel-forming biomaterials and nutrient medium, signaling molecules and extracellular matrix components that can be made insoluble rapidly upon transplantation to form a graft” (abstract; see entire document, including title; Fig. 1 and accompanying text; paras.0005, 0007, 0011-13, 0036, 0052-61, 0064-80, 0084). The cells are delivered in “scaffolds that can be localized to the diseased tissue to promote necessary proliferation and engraftment” (para.0033; see para.0057). “Hyaluronans are one of the preferred materials.” (Para.0007; see paras. 0012-13). A graft “may be designed for placement onto the surface of an organ or tissue, in which case the graft would be held in place with a biocompatible and biodegradable covering (‘band aid’)” (para.0084, emphasis added; see paras.0008, 0015; claims 1-3, 19, 21-23, 28-29, 32-37, 39; Fig.1). Such covering comprises a “backing” to the scaffold.
Turner specifically teaches viscoelastic properties of its scaffolds, including “the insoluble complex of cells and biomaterials possesses a viscosity ranging from about 0.1 to about 100 kPa, …, and most preferably a stiffness from about 11 to about 3500 Pa” (para.0012, see paras.0016, 0087). “[T]he stiffness, viscoelastic properties and viscosity of KM-HA [Kubota’s medium-hyaluronic acid] hydrogels can depend on CMHA-S and PEGDA content. …These KM-HA hydrogels can yield shear moduli ranging from 11 to 3500 Pa with different PEGDA and CMHA-S concentrations when mixed in buffered distilled water, but these values can be modulated by using diverse basal medium like Kubota’s medium” (paras.0086, 0121; see Fig.4, paras. 0018, 0090 ). Turner claims a “tissue graft comprising cells admixed with one or more biomaterials to form a graft, wherein the components of the graft have a shear moduli ranging from 25 to 520 Pa” (claim 28).
Ghosh examines the effects of viscoelastic properties of hyaluronan/fibronectin hydrogels on cell behavior (Abstract). Ghosh discloses preparing hydrogels with viscoelasticity of 95, 550 and 4270 Pa and seeding human dermal fibroblasts (hDFs) on the hydrogels (Section 2.1,2.4). hDF migration speed significantly decreased as viscosity of the hydrogel increased (Section 3.3.1, Fig. 5). Ghosh suggests that softer hydrogels (e.g., 95 Pa) may be utilized to promote cellular migration, while viscosities of 550 Pa or higher promote cellular adhesion and proliferation (Section 3.3.1,4, Fig. 5). Furthermore Hanjaya-Putra teaches vascular lineage cell growth medium including an oligosaccharide-based hydrogel such as hyaluronic acid and a growth factor that promotes vascularization by vascular lineage cells (title; abstract; paras.0017, 0023). Hanjaya-Putra indicates that values of 650 +/- 180 Pa provide a rigid hydrogel, 75 +/-40 Pa for a firm hydrogel and 10+/-2 Pa for a yielding hydrogel (para.0035; see Figs.1A=1C). Cell migration is discussed as well (paras.0077, 0087, 0092, 0153, 0180).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mooney, Turner, and Ghosh and treat a liver disease or disorder by providing cell populations on a scaffold composition having a backing as Mooney teaches with viscoelastic properties as disclosed in Turner, Ghosh, and Hanjaya-Putra as recited in the instant claims. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because (i) all references are drawn to delivering stem cell-laden scaffolds to treat diseased tissues, (ii) Mooney teaches that its scaffolds are applicable to cell therapies in general, “enhance the viability of the cells and induce their outward migration to populate injured or defective bodily tissues [and] enhance the success of tissue regeneration” (para. 0004), and teaches multi-layer, porous scaffolds having only limited areas of cell egress, (iii) Turner teaches a “backing” layer for scaffold adhesion to internal organs such as kidney and the suitable viscoelasticity ranges of such applications, (iv) Ghosh suggests that softer hydrogels (e.g., 95 Pa) may be utilized to promote cellular migration, while viscosities of 550 Pa or higher promote cellular adhesion and proliferation (Section 3.3.1,4, Fig. 5), and (v) Hanjaya-Putra further guides ranges of viscoelasticity for rigid, firm, and yielding hydrogels for vascular lineage cell growth.
Applicant discloses “’viscoelasticity’ refers to the property of materials that exhibit both viscous and elastic characteristics when undergoing deformation” (para.0059, pre-grant publication US 2018/0361027), and refers to hydrogel rigidity or stiffness as “viscoelasticity (rheological) properties” (id., para.0250; see Fig. 2D, E, paras.0026, 0249-50, 0275). Therefore Turner’s shear moduli is considered a viscoelastic property, and the range of 25 to 520 Pa includes those in claims 26, 44, and 45. Ghosh also teaches softer hydrogels (e.g., 95 Pa) for promoting cellular migration and gels of higher viscosities over 550 Pa for cellular adhesion and proliferation (Section 3.3.1,4, Fig. 5). Hanjaya-Putra further guides similar ranges of viscoelasticity for rigid, firm, and yielding hydrogels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the rheological properties of the scaffold material as a result-effective variable. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (citations omitted). Optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Mooney does not teach an example wherein the specific patch graft embodiment precisely as recited in claim 26 was contacted with the liver of a subject’s to treat the subject’s liver disease or disorder. However it would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to do so. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because Mooney expressly teaches a scaffold coated with hyaluronic acid (paras.0006, 0052), “with two or more substantially pure populations of cells” (para.0041), e.g., “hepatocytes for liver tissue regeneration, repair or organ transplantation” (para.0017; see paras.0017, 0042, 0044, 0046), and comprises “physical channels or paths through which cells can move more easily towards a targeted area of egress” (para. 0006). The “scaffold composition and/or bioactive composition temporally and spatially (directionally) controls egress of a resident cell or progeny thereof” (abstract; paras. 0004, 0154 “…allow the physical contact required for cells to migrate out of the device into the wound”). Furthermore the scaffold comprises multiple layers (paras.0006, 0017, 0018, 0044, 0048, 0067, 0069-0071), including one having a viscoelasticity sufficient to inhibit (or provide a barrier to) migration of said cell population in a direction of said backing: "[f]or example, the scaffold composition is differentially permeable, allowing cell egress only in certain physical areas of the scaffold… by selecting or engineering a material for greater or smaller pore size ... or viscoelasticity" (para. 0006, emphases added). In other words Mooney teaches each of the specific limitations in claim 26.
Response to Arguments
Although new rejections are made above Applicant’s arguments are addressed now to the extent they have not been rendered moot and are relevant to the above rejections. Applicant's arguments filed April 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited art does not teach “(c) a third hydrogel overlaid on a serosal surface…”. (Remarks, 7, April 16, 2026.)
In response it is noted that Mooney teaches addition of a first and second hydrogel coating (para.0069) and compartment layers (paras.0070-71) to control the cells. With migration away from the target tissue being discouraged, the addition of a hydrogel layer on the opposite side of the backing away from the cells with viscoelasticity from 250 to 500 Pa would have been prima facie obvious to reinforce the backing of the scaffold in limitation (b) and to prevent cells from migrating away from the target tissue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Mooney specifically suggests adding layers to regulate cell locomotion (migration) (para.0018) and outer coverings (para.0154).
Double Patenting
Claims 26, 27, 30-45, 47, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US 12558457 (matured from 16/006482).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ’457 patent anticipate the present claims.
Claims 26, 27, 30-45, 47, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of US 11129923 in view of Mooney (US 2008/0044900).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ’923 patent anticipates the patch graft of the instant claims and Mooney teaches liver tissue regeneration and repair using such patch grafts in the form of scaffolds.
Claims 26, 27, 30-45, 47, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 32, 33, 35-37, 46-51, 53, 54, 59, 60, and 89-94 of copending Application No. 16/422,086 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to treating or engrafting cells of a solid organ by contacting the organ with the recited patch graft. The liver is a solid organ which is recited in both claim sets. The ‘086 application claims further limitations and therefore are narrower in scope than the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 26, 27, 30-45, 47, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10, 11, 15-18, 21, 28, 29, 32, 33, 39, and 40 of copending Application No. 16/006,460 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims sets are drawn to a method of engrafting stem cells into liver, wherein the method of the ’460 application’s claims anticipate the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants requested reconsideration of the double patenting rejection(s) in light of the amendments and requested that the provisional rejection(s) be held in abeyance. (Remarks, 8, April 16, 2026.)
The double patenting rejection(s) are maintained for the reasons discussed herein. They will be maintained until Applicant submits properly executed terminal disclaimer or arguments that effectively overcome the rejection(s).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614