DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claims: 1, 8, 15; the rest is unchanged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new primary reference is currently being used in the present rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. “Automatic liver tumor localization using deep learning-bases liver boundary motion estimation and biomechanical modeling (DL-Bio)” American Association of Physicists in medicine, 2021, pg.7790 – 7805 in view of Kuusela et al. (US 2021/0304866 A1; Sep. 30, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Shao et al. disclose: A method comprising:
receiving, by a processor, an attribute of a radiation therapy treatment plan for a patient and at least one medical image of the patient (pg.7791 col2 2nd para.);
executing, by the processor, an artificial intelligence model (pg.7790 Abstract) to predict deformation data for at least one internal structure of the patient using the attribute and the at least one medical image (pg.7790 Methods & Results), wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained in accordance with a training dataset comprising a set of participants and their corresponding deformation data (pg.7790 Methods & Results); wherein predicted deformation data comprises deformation vectors representing spatial movement or volumetric change of at least one voxel based on a biomechanical model of the patient's internal anatomical structures (pg.7790 Methods, pg.7796 col.2); and
outputting, by the processor, the predicted deformation data (pg.7790 Methods & Results).
Shao et al. are silent about: fine-tuned for the patient based on the at least one medical image.
In a similar field of endeavor Kuusela et al. disclose: fine-tuned for the patient based on the at least one medical image (para. [0099], [0117]) motivated by the benefits for a treatment that is patient specific and avoids overexposure of healthy tissues (Kuusela et al. para. [0009]).
In light of the benefits for a treatment that is patient specific and avoids overexposure of healthy tissues as taught by Kuusela et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shao et al. with the teachings of Kuusela et al.
Regarding claim 2, Shao et al. disclose: the deformation data corresponds to a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient (pg.7790 Methods & Results).
Regarding claim 5, Shao et al. disclose: transmitting, by the processor, the deformation data to a plan optimizer computer model (pg.7790 Purpose & Methods).
Regarding claim 7, Shao et al. disclose: the deformation data corresponds to one or more deformation vectors (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. disclose: A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receive an attribute of a radiation therapy treatment plan for a patient and at least one medical image of the patient; execute an artificial intelligence model to predict deformation data for at least one internal structure of the patient using the attribute and the at least one medical image, wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained in accordance with a training dataset comprising a set of participants and their corresponding deformation data and fine-tuned for the patient based on the at least one medical image, wherein predicted deformation data comprises deformation vectors representing spatial movement or volumetric change of at least one voxel based on a biomechanical model of the patient's internal anatomical structures; and output the predicted deformation data (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 9, Shao et al. disclose: the deformation data corresponds to a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient (pg.7790 Methods & Results).
Regarding claim 12, Shao et al. disclose: the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit the deformation data to a plan optimizer computer model (pg.7790 Purpose & Methods).
Regarding claim 14, Shao et al. disclose: the deformation data corresponds to one or more deformation vectors (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. disclose: A system comprising a processor configured to: receive an attribute of a radiation therapy treatment plan for a patient and at least one medical image of the patient; execute an artificial intelligence model to predict deformation data for at least one internal structure of the patient using the attribute and the at least one medical image, wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained in accordance with a training dataset comprising a set of participants and their corresponding deformation data and fine-tuned for the patient based on the at least one medical image, wherein predicted deformation data comprises deformation vectors representing spatial movement or volumetric change of at least one voxel based on a biomechanical model of the patient's internal anatomical structures; and output the predicted deformation data (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 16, Shao et al. disclose: the deformation data corresponds to a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient (pg.7790 Methods & Results).
Regarding claim 19, Shao et al. disclose: the processor is further configured to transmit the deformation data to a plan optimizer computer model (pg.7790 Purpose & Methods).
Claims 3-4, 6, 10-11, 13, 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. “Automatic liver tumor localization using deep learning-bases liver boundary motion estimation and biomechanical modeling (DL-Bio)” American Association of Physicists in medicine, 2021, pg.7790 – 7805 in view of Kuusela et al. (US 2021/0304866 A1; Sep. 30, 2021) and further in view Donghoon et al. “Deformation driven Seq2Seq longitudinal tumor and organs-at-risk prediction for radiotherapy2021 American Association of Physicists in Medicine, wileyonlinelibrary.com/journal/mp, pg.4784-4798.
Regarding claim 3, the combined references are silent about: the deformation data is a hyperparameter used by a second model configured to predict a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient.
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: the deformation data is a hyperparameter used by a second model configured to predict a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient (pg.4786 2.2) motivated by the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets (Donghoon et al. pg.4786 col.2 para. before last).
In light of the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 4, the combined references are silent about: transmitting, by the processor, the hyperparameter to the second model.
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: transmitting, by the processor, the hyperparameter to the second model (pg.4786 2.2) motivated by the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets (Donghoon et al. pg.4786 col.2 para. before last).
In light of the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 6, the combined references are silent about: adjusting, by the processor, at least one attribute of a radiation therapy machine in accordance with the predicted deformation data
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: adjusting, by the processor, at least one attribute of a radiation therapy machine in accordance with the predicted deformation data (pg.4787 Abstract, pg.4785 col.2 1., 2., 3.) motivated by the benefits for overcoming blurring issues (Donghoon et al. pg.4785 col.2 2.).
In light of the benefits for overcoming blurring issues as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 10, the combined references are silent about: the deformation data is a hyperparameter used by a second model configured to predict a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient.
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: the deformation data is a hyperparameter used by a second model configured to predict a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient (pg.4786 2.2) motivated by the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets (Donghoon et al. pg.4786 col.2 para. before last).
In light of the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 11, the combined references are silent about: the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit the hyperparameter to the second model.
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit the hyperparameter to the second model (pg.4786 2.2) motivated by the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets (Donghoon et al. pg.4786 col.2 para. before last).
In light of the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 13, the combined references are silent about: the instructions further cause the one or more processors to adjust at least one attribute of a radiation therapy machine in accordance with the predicted deformation data
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: the instructions further cause the one or more processors to adjust at least one attribute of a radiation therapy machine in accordance with the predicted deformation data (pg.4787 Abstract, pg.4785 col.2 1., 2., 3.) motivated by the benefits for overcoming blurring issues (Donghoon et al. pg.4785 col.2 2.).
In light of the benefits for overcoming blurring issues as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 17, the combined references are silent about: the deformation data is a hyperparameter used by a second model configured to predict a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient.
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: the deformation data is a hyperparameter used by a second model configured to predict a movement, volume expansion, or volume shrinkage of the at least one internal structure of the patient (pg.4786 2.2) motivated by the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets (Donghoon et al. pg.4786 col.2 para. before last).
In light of the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 18, the combined references are silent about: the processor is further configured to transmit the hyperparameter to the second model.
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: the processor is further configured to transmit the hyperparameter to the second model (pg.4786 2.2) motivated by the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets (Donghoon et al. pg.4786 col.2 para. before last).
In light of the benefits for best DIR performance across datasets as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Regarding claim 20, the combined references are silent about: the processor is further configured to adjust at least one attribute of a radiation therapy machine in accordance with the predicted deformation data
In a similar field of endeavor Donghoon et al. disclose: the processor is further configured to adjust at least one attribute of a radiation therapy machine in accordance with the predicted deformation data (pg.4787 Abstract, pg.4785 col.2 1., 2., 3.) motivated by the benefits for overcoming blurring issues (Donghoon et al. pg.4785 col.2 2.).
In light of the benefits for overcoming blurring issues as taught by Donghoon et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Shao et al. and Kuusela et al. with the teachings of Donghoon et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884