Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because black and white photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility patent applications, particularly Figs. 4-6. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “are” is erroneously included in the phrase “includes two first guide rails are spaced apart from” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-24, 27-28, 30, 33-35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDO (US-20100301711-A1) in view of VAN DRUTEN (EP-4021789-B1).
Regarding Claim 16, ANDO teaches a {generator} device for an electric bicycle (Generator Hub 10, Fig. 1), comprising:
an electric {generator} (Generator Hub 10, Fig. 1) having an axis of rotation (an axis “X” being illustrated in Fig. 2),
a first connector unit (Connector Body 36, Fig. 4) having a first motor connector (Terminal 52, Fig. 4) and a first connecting part (Protruding Portion 36c, Fig. 4) rigidly fixed to one another (as illustrated in Fig. 4),
the first connector unit (36) mounted on the electric {generator} (10) and electrically conductively connected to the electric {generator} (10) via the first motor connector (Connector Body 36 being mounted to Generator Hub 10 as illustrated in Figs. 3 and 4, and electrically connected to Generator Hub 10 through Terminal 52of Connector 22 as taught in Para. [0024]),
a second connector unit (“CU-2”, Fig. 4 Annotated) including a second motor connector (Connector Cap 37, Fig. 4),
wherein the first motor connector (52) is releasably pluggable into the second motor connector (37) transversely to the axis of rotation (X) such that an electrical conductive connection can be established and released directly between the first motor connector (52) and the second motor connector (37) (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated),
wherein the first connecting part (36c) outwardly surrounds the first motor connector (52) in at least one region (“RG”, Fig. 4 Annotated) and has an opening (“OP”, Fig, 4 Annotated) aligned with the axis of rotation (X), and wherein the first motor connector (52) is disposed on a radially outer face (“FC”, Fig. 4 Annotated) of the first connecting part (36c) (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated).
Although a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the generator of ANDO is analogous to and/ or could be replaced with a motor, ANDO does not teach an electric motor.
VAN DRUTEN teaches a motor device for an electric bicycle (Motor 116B, Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of ANDO and VAN DRUTEN in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ANDO’s generator device to include an electric motor as suggested by VAN DRUTEN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a bicycle with a means of propulsion that would beneficially make a more user-friendly device.
Regarding Claim 17, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that the first connecting part (36c) is rigidly fixed to a stator (Stationary Unit 43, Fig. 3) of the electric motor (as illustrated in Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 18, ANDO, as modified above, does not teach that the second motor connector has screw holes.
VAN DRUTEN teaches a motor connector (Adapter 3, Fig. 12; considered a motor connector in that it comprises Contacts 133 as taught in Para. [0096]) has a screw hole (illustrated in Fig. 3) for connection to a dropout of the electric bicycle (as illustrated in Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of ANDO and VAN DRUTEN in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ANDO’s generator device, as modified, to include a screw hole as suggested by VAN DRUTEN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a rigid connection to the frame that would beneficially make a more robust apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to duplicate the singular screw hole taught by VAN DRUTEN as mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960); see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 19, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that:
the second connector unit (CU-2) further includes a second connecting part (“PC-2”, Fig. 4 Annotated, being the lower protruding part of Connector Cap 37);
between the first connecting part (36c) and the second connecting part (PC-2) a form-fitted connection transversely to the axis of rotation (X) can be established and released (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated), and
when the form-fitted connection between the first (36c) and second (PC-2) connecting parts is established and released, the electrical conductive connection between the first (52) and second (37) motor connectors can be established and released (as understood by Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 20, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that:
the first connecting part (36c) has a first form-fitting element (the body of 36c, hereafter “FF-1”) and the second connecting part (PC-2) has a second form-fitting element (a hole “FF-2” which latches onto Connector Body 36 as taught in Para. [0033]), and
the first form-fitting element (FF-1) slidably connects with the second form-fitting element (FF-2) transversely to the axis of rotation (X) and thereby the form-fitting connection between the first (36c) and second (PC-2) connecting parts can be established (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated and taught in Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 21, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that:
the first form-fitting element (FF-1) includes two first guide rails (“GR-1”, Fig, 4 Annotated) spaced apart from one another and aligned transversely to the axis of rotation (X) (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated),
the second form-fitting element (FF-2) includes two second guide rails spaced apart from each other and aligned transversely to the axis of rotation (X) (Para. [0033] teaching that Connector Cap 37 latches onto Connector Body 36, it is understood to have corresponding features/ guiderails to engage with Protruding Portion 36c), and
the two first guide rails (GR-1) and the two second guide rails are displaceable into each other transversely to the axis of rotation (X) and are fixedly connectable to each other parallel to the axis of rotation (X) (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated and understood by Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 22, ANDO, as modified above, does not teach non-parallel guide rails.
VAN DRUTEN teaches first guide rails (the edges of Dropout Recess 33, Fig. 8) in a bicycle dropout (Dropout Recess 33 being disposed in a bicycle dropout as taught by Para. [0102] and as illustrated in Fig. 8) and second guide rails (the edges of Adapter 3 that insert into Dropout Recess 33, Figs. 4 & 7) that are aligned non-parallel to one another and approach one another radially inwards towards an axis of rotation (the edges of Dropout Recess 33 being disposed at a Dropout Angle 34 to each other- i.e. non-parallel- as illustrated in Fig. 8 and discussed in Para. [0108], the Dropout Angle 34 being arranged such that the edges approach each other in a direction that is disposed radially with respect an axis through Hole 30 about with a wheel of the bicycle is understood to rotate, as illustrated in Fig. 8; and the edges of Adapter 3 having a corresponding shape to the edges of Dropout Recess 33).
VAN DRUTEN further teaches that the Dropout Angle 34 of the Dropout Recess 33 is such that a hub with disc can be placed without the disc jamming against a caliper (Para. [0108]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of ANDO and VAN DRUTEN in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ANDO’s generator device, as modified, such that a first and second guide rail are each aligned non-parallel to one another as suggested by VAN DRUTEN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing an angled dropout recess such that assembly of a hub would be less likely to jam, as taught by VAN DRUTEN and discussed above, that would beneficially make more user-friendly system.
Regarding Claim 23, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that the second connector unit (CU-2) contains a carrier (Connector Cover 38, Fig. 4) that surrounds the second connecting part (PC-2) and the second motor connector (37) at least in regions towards the electric motor (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated).
Regarding Claim 24, ANDO, as modified above, does not teach a control board.
VAN DRUTEN teaches a controller (Processor 116A, Fig. 12) of the electric motor (Processor 116A and Motor 116B being connected as taught in Para. [0096]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of ANDO and VAN DRUTEN in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ANDO’s generator device, as modified, to include a control board as suggested by VAN DRUTEN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a device to control a motor that would beneficially make a more user-friendly apparatus.
Regarding Claim 27, ANDO, as modified above by VAN DRUTEN, teaches an electric bicycle (Bicycle 101, Fig. 1), comprising a motor device with substantially similar features to that of claim 16 (see the 103 rejection of claim 16 above for the teachings of VAN DRUTEN and motivation to combine them with the generator device/ electric bicycle of ANDO) and further teaches:
a wheel (Front Wheel 106, Fig. 1), a dropout (Front End 103b, Fig. 1) supporting the wheel (as taught in Para. [0022] and Fig. 1);
wherein the electric motor (10) with the first connector unit (36) is fixable to the wheel (106) and the second connector unit (CU-2) is fixable to the dropout (Second Connector Unit CU-2 being considered to be fixed to Front End 103b as it is a part of Connector 22 which is locked onto Hub Shaft 15 as taught in Para. [0026] and Hub Shaft 15 being fixed to Front Fork 102b as taught in Para. [0027];
ANDO, as modified above, does not teach a plurality of screw holes, but VAN DRUTEN does (see the 103 rejection of claim 18 above for the teachings of VAN DRUTEN and motivation to combine them with ANDO’s generator device, as modified).
ANDO, as modified above, does not teach a battery.
VAN DRUTEN teaches that an electric motor (116B) that is electrically conductively connected to a battery via a connector unit (Adapter 3, Fig. 12, considered a connector unit in that it comprises Contacts 133 and is connects Motor 116B and Battery 128 as taught in Paras. [0094]- [0096]) when installed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of ANDO and VAN DRUTEN in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ANDO’s generator device, as modified, to include a battery as suggested by VAN DRUTEN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a source of stored energy that would beneficially make a more user-friendly apparatus.
Regarding Claim 28, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that the second connector unit (CU-2) contains a carrier (Connector Cover 38, Fig. 4) that surrounds the second connecting part (PC-2) and the second motor connector (37) at least in regions towards the electric motor (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated), and the carrier (38) is rigidly fixed to the dropout (Connector Cover 38 being considered to be rigidly fixed to Front End 103b as it is a part of Connector 22 which is locked onto Hub Shaft 15 as taught in Para. [0026] and Hub Shaft 15 being fixed to Front Fork 102b as taught in Para. [0027]).
Regarding Claim 30, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that the first motor connector (52) plugs into the second motor connector (37) transversely to the axis of rotation (X) (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated).
Regarding Claim 33, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that:
between the first connecting part (36c) and the second connecting part (PC-2) a form-fitted connection transversely to the axis of rotation (X) can be established and released (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated), and
when the form-fitted connection between the first (36c) and second (PC-2) connecting parts is established and released, the electrical conductive connection between the first (52) and second (37) motor connectors can be established and released (as understood by Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 34, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that:
the first connecting part (36c) has a first form-fitting element (the body of 36c, hereafter “FF-1”) and the second connecting part (PC-2) has a second form-fitting element (a hole “FF-2” which latches onto Connector Body 36 as taught in Para. [0033]), and
the first form-fitting element (FF-1) slidably connects with the second form-fitting element (FF-2) transversely to the axis of rotation (X) and thereby the form-fitting connection between the first (36c) and second (PC-2) connecting parts can be established (as illustrated in Fig. 4 Annotated and taught in Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 35, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that the motor device comprises a thru axle (Skewer Rod 25c, Fig. 2; also appearing in Fig. 3 erroneously labeled as “25b”), the thru axle defining the axis of rotation (X) of the electric motor (10) and extending through the electric motor (10) and the second connector unit (CU-2) (as illustrated in Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 38, ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that the first connecting part (36c) is a protective cover extending partially around and protecting the first motor connector (Protruding Portion 36c covering and extending partially around Terminal 52 as illustrated in Fig. 4).
Claims 31 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDO and VAN DRUTEN in view of Chang (US-20220185407-A1).
Regarding Claim 31, ANDO, as modified above, does not teach first and second battery connectors.
Chang, in another electric bicycle (Transit Vehicle 110b, Fig. 3), a connector unit (illustrated as a part of Motor Cable 1020, Fig. 8) that comprises a second battery connector (the end of the illustrated connector nearest to Electric Motor 820, Fig. 8) for connecting the connector unit to a first battery connector (the distal part of the connector, relative to Electric Motor 820, Fig. 8) of a battery (Battery 606, Fig. 6) of the electric bicycle; and the second battery connector is electrically conductively connected to a second motor connector via a cable (the connector unit of Motor Cable 1020 connecting to Electric Motor 820 through another illustrated connector, Fig. 11).
The connector unit of Chang is arranged such that the second battery connector is connectable to the first battery connector via a plug connection (a plug connection being illustrated in Motor Cable 1020 if Figs. 8 and 11) (note: these teaching relate to claim 37, as discussed below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of ANDO, VAN DRUTEN, and Chang in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ANDO’s generator device, as modified, to include first and second battery connectors as suggested by Chang. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a releasable power connection between a battery and a motor that would beneficially make a more user-friendly apparatus.
Regarding Claim 37, ANDO, as modified above, teaches all limitations (see the 103 rejection of claim 31 above for the teachings of Chang and motivation to combine them with the electric bicycle of ANDO).
Claims 36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDO and VAN DRUTEN in view of WEN (CN-207078277-U).
Regarding Claims 36 and 39, (having different dependencies but similar limitations), ANDO, as modified above, further teaches that at least a portion of the first motor connector (52) is disposed at least partially within the second motor connector (37) when the first motor connector (52) is plugged into the second motor connector (37) (Terminal 52 being at least partially within Connector Cap 37 when they are plugged together as illustrated in Fig. 4).
ANDO, as modified above, does not teach that the first motor connector projects from the first connecting part.
WEN teaches, in another power connection arrangement for an electric vehicle (Abstract), a first motor connector (First Contact Block 133, Fig. 13) that projects from a first connecting part (First Fixed Block 12, Fig. 13) and is disposed at least partially within a second motor connector (Second Fixed Block 22, Fig. 8) when the first connecting part (12) and a second connecting part (Second Conductive Part 231, Fig. 8) are connected (Para. [0045] teaches that the First and Second Fixed Blocks 12 & 22 are fitted together to make an electrical connection, the Second Fixed Block 22 having recesses arranged such that First Contact Block 133 will be disposed partially within it as illustrated in Figs. 8 & 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of ANDO, VAN DRUTEN, and WEN in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ANDO’s generator device/ electric bicycle, as modified, such that a first motor connector projects from a first connecting part and into a second motor connector as suggested by WEN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of arranging electrical contacts such that they project into a corresponding connector that would beneficially ensure a reliable electrical connection.
Conclusion
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611