Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the Office Action dated 11/26/2025 the wire fixing component was incorrectly identified as “stopping portion 32”. The correct structure that was meant to be referred to is stopping portion 34 as shown in Fig. 11 of Zheng (US 20180375253). It can be seen in Fig. 11 that the terminal fixing portions 5 (wire fixing component) comprises fixing sheet body 52 that abuts against stopping portion 34 to keep it pressed against stopping wall 16 and preventing terminal 3 from moving to the front end of the first insulative housing thereby achieving the same result as the instant application. Further discussion can be found below in Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 regarding claim 1. The rejection of claims 1-10 and 14-17 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (US 20180375253).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a connector (Par. 0051, power connector 10) comprising: a body (Par. 0051, first insulative housing 1) having a terminal hole (Par. 0052, terminal receiving grooves 12), the terminal hole having a first end (see Fig. 11 above, first end 12a) and a second end (see Fig. 11; a above, second end 12b) wiring terminal fitted in the terminal hole, wherein the wiring terminal has a connection end (mating end 32, Fig. 11) and a wiring end (wire connecting portion 36, Fig. 11); and a wire fixing component (Par. 0051, terminal fixing portions 5) detachably connected to the body and located at the first end of the terminal hole (see Fig. 7), the wire fixing component having at least one wire passing groove (see Fig. 7 above, wire passing groove 5a), the at least one wire passing groove being aligned with the terminal hole along an axial direction of the terminal hole (see Fig. 11), and the wiring end of the wiring terminal abutting against the wire fixing component (stopping portion 34 abuts against fixing sheet body 52, Fig. 11) to prevent the wiring terminal from moving towards the first end of the terminal hole and entering the at least one wire passing groove (Par. 0071, “the terminal fixing portion 5 fixes the assembled terminal 3 and first insulative housing 1 through the fixing sheet body 52”, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least one wire passing groove (see Fig. 7 above, wire passing groove 5a) comprises a groove closed in a circumferential direction or a groove opened in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein a cross section of the wiring end (Par. 0054, wire connecting portion 36) is greater than a cross section of the at least one wire passing groove (see Fig. 7 above, wire passing groove 5a, see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the wire fixing component (Par. 0051, terminal fixing portions 5) is mounted to the connector through a buckle structure (see Figs. 7-9).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 7, wherein the wire fixing component (Par. 0051, terminal fixing portions 5) comprises a wire fixing body and a hook (see Fig. 7 above, hook 5a) integrally formed on the wire fixing body (see Fig. 7), the hook being engaged with a clamping portion (see Fig. 7 above, clamping portion 1a) on the body.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 8, wherein the buckle structure is formed by the hook and the clamping portion (see Fig. 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 9, wherein: the wire fixing body (Par. 0051, terminal fixing portions 5) is substantially U-shaped (see Fig. 7); and the at least one wire passing groove is formed on at least one side surface of a bottom part of the wire fixing body (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein a wiring end of the wiring terminal is provided with a terminal tip abutting with the wire fixing component (see Fig. 11-12 where wire connecting portion 36 abuts terminal fixing portions 5).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the at least one wire passing groove (see Fig. 7 above, wire passing groove 5a) comprises a plurality of wire passing grooves arranged in at least one row (see Fig. 7), the plurality of wire passing grooves in one row being arranged at intervals in a predetermined direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 20180375253), hereinafter Zheng, in view of Inaka et al. (US 20170294730), hereinafter Inaka.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 1.
However, fails to disclose wherein the wiring end is provided with an elastic claw, a stop part being disposed in the terminal hole, and the elastic claw abutting against the stop part to prevent the wiring terminal from moving towards the first end of the terminal hole.
Inaka teaches wherein the wiring end being provided with an elastic claw (Par. 0121, engaging portion 37), a stop part (Par. 0121, engaged portion 17) being disposed in the terminal hole, and the elastic claw abutting against the stop part to prevent the wiring terminal from moving towards the first end of the terminal hole (see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Inaka to modify Zheng to provide a wiring terminal wherein the wiring end is provided with an elastic claw and a stopping part to prevent the terminal from backing out of the terminal hole towards the first end. One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure connection between the terminal and the terminal receiving end after installation of said terminal and to prevent accidental removal of the terminal by mistake or during operation.
Regarding claim 6, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 2.
However, Zheng fails to disclose wherein the elastic claw and the wiring terminal are integrally formed.
Inaka teaches wherein the elastic claw (Par. 0121, engaging portion 37) and the wiring terminal (Par. 0068, first terminals 13) are integrally formed (see Fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Inaka to modify Zheng to provide a connector wherein the elastic claw and the wiring terminal are integrally formed. One would be motivated to make this modification to reduce manufacturing costs and reduce the chance of the elastic claw breaking during operation.
Regarding claim 16, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 1.
Zheng fails to explicitly disclose a motor.
However, motors are well known electrical devices that include connectors for providing electrical power. Incorporating a known connector into a known device for its known purpose would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the connector of Zheng in a motor as motors inherently require a connector to deliver power and the modification would involve no change in the connectors structure.
Regarding claim 17, Zheng discloses the motor according to claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16).
However, Zheng fails to disclose a connector further comprising: a circuit board, a jack being formed on the circuit board; and a wire connector having a pin engaged into the jack, a conducting wire connected to the wiring end of the wiring terminal being connected to the pin.
Inaka teaches a connector (Par. 0062, electrical connection apparatus 1) further comprising: a circuit board (Par. 0062, substrate 100), a jack (Par. 0080, engagement holes 30) being formed on the circuit board (see Fig. 1); and a wire connector having a pin (Par. 0089, second terminals 23) engaged into the jack, a conducting wire (Par. 0062, electrical wires 101) connected to the wiring end of the wiring terminal being connected to the pin (see Figs. 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Inaka to modify Zheng to provide a connector further comprising a circuit board with a jack being formed thereon and a pin engaged into the jack with a conducting wire connected from the wiring end to the pin. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow proper connection to a device that the connector is connected to and to facilitate electrical connection between the connector and device.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 20180375253) in view of Inaka (US 20170294730) and further in view of Kennedy et al. (US Patent 6,139,374), hereinafter Kennedy.
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses the connector according to claim 2, wherein the terminal
hole (Par. 0052, terminal receiving grooves 12) comprises a first hole section (see Fig. 11 above, first hole section 12a) and a second hole section (see Fig. 11 above, second hold section 12b), the connection end (Par. 0054, mating portion 32) being located in the second hole section, the wiring end (Par. 0054, wire
connecting portion 36) being located in the first hole section.
However, Zheng fails to disclose wherein the second hole section having a cross sectional area
greater than a cross sectional area of the first hole section to form a step at a connection between the
first hole section and the second hole section, and the stop part being formed by the step.
Kennedy teaches wherein the second hole section having a cross sectional area greater than a
cross sectional area of the first hole section (see Fig. 2) to form a step (Col. 7, line 21, shoulder 70) at a
connection between the first hole section and the second hole section, and the stop part being formed
by the step (see Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kennedy to further modify Zheng to
provide a connector wherein the terminal hole comprises two hole sections wherein the second hole
section has a greater cross sectional area than the first hold section forming a step where the stop part
is formed by the step. One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure that once the
terminal is inserted into the terminal receiving hole, the step formed by the connection between the
first and second hole sections creates a stopping part preventing the terminal from being removed from
the connector in the first hole section direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, allowability resides with the prior art taken alone or in combination not fairly showing, suggesting, teaching the connector according to claim 10, wherein the hook comprises a first hook formed at a free end of a first side wall of the wire fixing body, a second hook formed at a free end of a second side wall of the wire fixing body, and a third hook formed on the at least one side surface of the bottom part of the wire fixing body, as recited in claim 11, these limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination. Claims 12 and 13 are dependent on claim 11 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, allowability resides with the prior art taken alone or in combination not fairly showing, suggesting, teaching a connector comprising: a body having a terminal hole, the terminal hole having a first end and a second end; a wiring terminal fitted in the terminal hole; and a wire fixing component detachably connected to the body and located at the first end of the terminal hole, the wire fixing component having at least one wire passing groove, the at least one wire passing groove being aligned with the terminal hole along an axial direction of the terminal hole, and the wiring terminal abutting against the wire fixing component to prevent the wiring terminal from entering the at least one wire passing groove, wherein the wire fixing component is mounted to the connector through a buckle structure; wherein the wire fixing component comprises a wire fixing body and a hook integrally formed on the wire fixing body, the hook being engaged with a clamping portion on the body; wherein the buckle structure is formed by the hook and the clamping portion; wherein the wire fixing body is substantially U-shaped; wherein the at least one wire passing groove is formed on at least one side surface of a bottom part of the wire fixing body; and wherein the hook comprises a first hook formed at a free end of a first side wall of the wire fixing body, a second hook formed at a free end of a second side wall of the wire fixing body, and a third hook formed on the at least one side surface of the bottom part of the wire fixing body, as recited in claim 18, these limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination. Claims 19-20 are dependent on claim 18 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834